10 Useful Bench Grinder Reviews – Full Guide and Hands-On (2018)

RIKON Power Tools 80-805 8" Slow Speed Bench GrinderDo you want to have that tool sharp again?

If yes, pay attention to the products we want to show you. It is not only sharping that matters here!

You can make much more actions with a quality bench grinder. Deburring, shaping parts, rust removal and other options are possible with the best bench grinder. Next time when you need a quality product, consider our list because these are the best on the market.

No questions about it.

What Is a Bench Grinder?

A bench grinder is a grinding machine that usually operates with two abrasive wheels. Usage is mostly concentrated on grinding different types of tools, but the functionality goes further and you can shape, mold or change the material thanks to the well-structured abrasive wheels.

The grinder sits on the special type of feet that reduce the overall vibration and enhances the grinder functionality. An integrated motor gives rotation to the wheels and some grinders have buttons you can switch in order to change the number of rotations per minute.

The overall functionality of the grinder is very versatile, so the users can use it at home, for occasional grinding, or in industrial environments where the application is much more frequent.

WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8″ Bench Grinder

 WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8" Bench Grinder

 With this WEN bench grinder, everything is easier. You can finally get the best operations in one product. All the way from sharpening blades to cleaning tools, this bench grinder is ideal for you. Wen is one of the most reputable companies on the market that makes helpful tools, and this product is widely known to be one of the best products on the market.

The bench grinder is made to provide the best solutions when your tool needs some improvement. It is equipped with two 8-inch wheels that serve the full purpose. In addition, you get the product with 4.8-amp motor. This one is completely quiet. You no longer need to wake up the whole neighborhood when you want to sharpen some tool. In this case, the motor provides complete discretion.

What else is important here?

If you are one of those who like quality and good reputation, go for this Wen product. You get amazing rotating speeds of up to 3450 rotations per minute, which is quite astonishing. You can finally shape all the tools you want.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8" Bench Grinder with LED Work Lights and Quenching Tray

Remember when you spent all that money replacing dull rusty tools? From deburring ragged edges to cleaning objects to sharpening blades, the WEN 8-Inch 4.8A Bench Grinder helps resuscitate old worn ...

Start from: $80.53
amazon amazon.com
So purchased this to help keep my riding mower's three blades sharp. I purchased this with the WEN 4288 Cast Iron Bench Grinder Pedestal Stand with Water Pot and finally got around to unpacking them and putting it together today. Well, assembly was very easy, the stand took about 3 minutes (it's 4 set screws and one Philips screw) and it includes the hardware to mount the grinder as well. The grinder took a little bit longer to assemble, however it was pretty easy. Put the two safety guards on, the tool rests and the spark guard. That with mounting it on the stand took about ten minutes. The switch was in the "on" position after unpacking (the switch has a little dot on one side and that side depressed is on) so after plugging it in (on), that was a disappointment but not a concern. It powered up to full speed in about 5-6 seconds, and ran fairly smooth for about 3 min under no load before I turned it off. The light that is mounted on it is a great feature and one feature that I really like.On to the task at hand - sharpening the mower blades. Well, it worked. Worked much better than the pneumatic die grinder and file I had been using. However it was a under powered when more than gentle pressure was applied, and would bog down very quickly once the mower blade would towards the end and not rest on the tool rest fully supported. The amount of power is the reason for the single star docking, I wish it had more. That being said - for what I paid for it, the stand and the ease of use, it's still a solid little worker for the likely 4-5 times a year that I'll be using this thing. Would I recommend it - sure for my use mentioned above, would I buy it again if this one fails, no. I'd buy something with more power.The pictures are the boxes, the unit installed on the stand, the unit assembled on the stand.
March 1, 2016
In the interests of full disclosure... I am not mechanically inclined, so you must read this review from that perspective; others with more mechanical aptitude may be in a better position to evaluate shop equipment. I purchased this bench grinder because I occasionally have cutting blades to sharpen, but primarily because I had some buffing and polishing to do on some aluminum pieces from a car I recently purchased. I could have sent them out, but for less money I purchased this grinder, some buffing wheels and the requisite polish. Some assembly was required, but it takes only 5-10 minutes.With the above in mind, I found this bench grinder to be more than adequate. It is very quiet, does not vibrate and has sufficient power to perform the simple tasks I ask of it. It does not bind or slow down when moderate pressure is placed on a buffing wheel and the built-in light is very useful. The rubber feet hold it in place securely and I did not feel any need to attempt to secure it to a work top.In order to provide good access to the buffing wheel, I removed the shroud on one side and mounted the buffing wheel "bare". When mounted in this manner, I had more than adequate access to the buffing wheel, even with pieces over 2 feet long.I looked at a number of units before ordering this one and I'm very pleased with my purchase.
November 17, 2014
Seems to work fine so far. However it was missing the screws that hold the spark protector on. Luckily I hoard screws so I had no problem finding a couple that fit. The next issue was when I turned it on for the first time the motor hummed but nothing moved. Turning the wheels by hand produced a grinding noise. After taking the outer guards off and looking inside with a flashlight I realized that the screws that hold the arms for the eye protectors were too long and were rubbing against the grinding wheels. I added a couple of washers to the screws and the grinder powered up just fine.I used it to sharpen some chisels and a kitchen knife set that was so dull that the sharpening tools were useless. Afterwards a few passes through the knife sharpener was all it took to get the knives back to a 'like new' condition. Since this is what it's mostly going to be used for - I meets my needs perfectly.
April 25, 2017
Features:

  • Very powerful 4.8-Amp motor
  • Quenching tray that cools down the workpieces
  • Adjustable eye guards for better protection
  • Suitable for many kinds of tools

Conclusion

The Wen manufacturer provides us with the very quiet motor and powerful rotations. It also has protective eye guards that can serve multiple purposes. With this bench grinder, you get all you need for successful tool sharpening.

PROS:
  • Very effective motor that provides fast rotation and easy usage
  • Multiple purpose tool sharpening
  • Two 8-inch wheels for better performance
  • Reputable manufacturer

CONS:
  • Sometimes, you need more pressure to get the best tool sharpening
  • Extra safety measurements are required

Manual

WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8

WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8

Manual: WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8

Please make sure to read and understand this manual before use.

back to menu ↑

DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder

DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder

 In this case, you get an exceptional product. Many things are important here. DEWALT DW758 bench grinder runs on a 3/4 horsepower induction motor that provides 3,600 rotations per minute. This kind of ability is not usual on the market. That’s why you should consider this grinder next time when you need a good product.

You get more possibilities. First of all, this bench grinder is made for prolonged life and exceptional durability. It is all possible thanks to quality materials used to build the machine. The wheels are made to last in this case. In addition, we have a good 12-1/2-inch distance between the wheels, which ensures a better application.

Do you wonder what the best quality is here?

The handy usage of the grinder. With the weight of 39.5 pounds, you can easily transport the machine from one place to another. It also has a 16-inch diameter, which is completely manageable.

The users also get a warranty from the company. Dewalt ensures that all kinds of options are covered with the proper warranty. The company offers replacement of worn parts that are prone to damages. This way, you are completely covered in all situations that may occur.

In addition, you get a three-year warranty for all the possible defects made because of faulty materials or non-quality parts. In this case, it will be hard to find this kind of faulty materials, as we know that all the parts are made up to high standards.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder

Overload Protection: Maximizes motor life. Tool-Free Adjustable Guard: Provides quick guard installations and adjustments. The product is durable.

Start from: $127.99
amazon amazon.com
The DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder is a defective design or just poorly manufactured with no quality control. I have worked with many grinders from industrial settings to home shops and this is the worst grinder I have ever used. I purchased 3 to use in a shop all 3 had excessive vibration one literally shook a 300 pound bench until tools on the bench were falling off the bench. 5 times the vibration of the worn out grinder it was supposed to replace. I removed the wheels to see if they were causing the imbalance, with no change in the vibration. The problem is inherent with the motor and bearings in the housing. In my opinion this product is a waste of time and money. Do-Not consider this a grinder it’s not even a good paperweight.
January 30, 2017
I read the negative reviews and should have heeded the warnings...but I ordered one anyway and it arrived today. My fears were heightened when I could see the grinding wheels wobble as I spun them by hand. Before messing with assembling the tool rests, shields, etc. I decided to plug it in and check the vibration. Sigh. Really, really disappointing. The vibration is amazingly obvious. This should be the easiest thing to QC at the factory--all they need to do is plug it in and run it.I was suspicious of getting an 8-inch grinder for a little more than $100. I only ordered this one because my brother has the same grinder and told me it works fine. He was here when I plugged the grinder in and he couldn't believe how poorly it ran. His tool is older so maybe he bought his when DeWalt still cared about quality. This makes me suspicious of ALL DeWalt tools.UPDATE: While waiting for UPS to pick up the grinder for return, we spent some time diagnosing the problem(s). The cone washers that hold the wheels are stamped and, as others have noted, they aren't necessarily flat/true. But we also found that the shoulder on the shaft that the inside cone washer seats against had a high spot on it. So even if I replaced or machined the cone washers, the wheel would never run true.These are simple machines: no gears or complex mechanisms, just a motor with an extended shaft. It's almost harder to make it wrong than to make it right. It's not a "made in China" problem. The Apple computer I'm using to write this review was also made in China and it's a beautifully crafted machine. It's a failure by DeWalt to ensure their products adhere to even modest QA/QC standards.
August 26, 2013
Most DeWalt tools are of good quality. This is better than average, but the price is, too, and I expect better from DeWalt.. Reading many of the reviews, I see a common complaint from many others, all about excessive vibration from one grinding wheel, the coarse, 36 grit.My 36 grit wheel has excessive run out, which creates vibration. It's serviceable, but the resulting vibration kills bearings. I will change out the wheel before it shorten's the tools lifespan. At this price, DeWalt ought to ship a better wheel, or charge $5 more, of you have too. This is easily fixed, yet DeWalt seems to be ignoring the problem. Not good for your reputation, folks.I've recently started purchasing more Bosch and other products over the DeWalt. They are well engineered and I've had better lifespan and performance from them. Too bad, I prefer to buy American, but I'm not paying 5 star prices for 4 star gear. Quit being cheap lazy and fix the wheels quality issue.
February 8, 2016
Features:

  • 3/4 HP induction motor for all kinds of grinding operations
  • Industrial cast iron base
  • 12-1/2-inch distance between the two wheels
  • Three-year limited warranty

Conclusion

It seems that Dewalt tries hard to obtain new customers with their warranty options. That’s the best part about this product. You can get multiple grinding operations and a very quality product, wrapped in a warranty paper. A good choice!

PROS:
  • Very powerful motor that runs on 3,600 rotations per minute
  • Useful warranty
  • Good maneuver options
  • Durable frame made of quality materials

CONS:
  • The machine is more adequate for more experienced bench grinder users
  • Requires more maintaining than other products

Manual

DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder User Manual

DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder User Manual

Manual: DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder User Manual

This instruction manual uses the following safety alert symbols and words to alert you to hazardous situations and your risk of personal injury or property damage

Dewalt Bench Grinder

back to menu ↑

SKIL 3380-01 6-Inch Bench Grinder

SKIL 3380-01 6-Inch Bench Grinder

 Looking for the bench grinder with stand that is completely safe is not always easy. You usually find good products, but not all of them are quality enough. In this case, the situation is different. We get the SKIL bench grinder with very useful rubber feet that ensure the stability of the grinder. An additional stand is not required here.

Do you know the best part?

You can use it in any kinds of environments, no matter if you operate in your garage or a workshop. Thanks to quality characteristics and a rubber stand, the usage is easy and convenient.

Bench grinder tool rest is made to provide good accuracy. Materials used here provide long durability, and tool rest is one of the most important things. When the wheels are adequately made, each tool grinding will be successful.

With a 2.1-amp motor, both wheels get adequate power. In this case, we have a medium and a coarse wheel, depending on your needs. For users who need more refined grinding, the wheels will provide good preparation. Knives, chisel edges and drill bits will be properly sharpened on a coarse wheel, while additionally shaped on a medium wheel.

LED light is the additional feature in this grinder, and that could be a real advantage in a low-light environment when we need some more support. There are also eye protectors for better safety.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
SKIL 3380-01 6-Inch Bench Grinder

Skil 3380-02 Grinder with LightSkil Benchtop Power Tools are Quality Tools at a Great Price!Skil 3380-02 Grinder with Light Features: 2.1 amp motor Built-In LED Work Lights Over Both Wheels Medium ...

amazon amazon.com
This seems to be an inexpensive grinder compared to some of the other brands, but the quality seems good. I mounted this on a piece of wood and then screwed the piece of wood into my bench for temporary use. I've only used it twice, but it works great. I then take out the two screws and put it away. The rest works fairly well, but it seems like if it was adjustable and I could set an angle to it, then I might get better sharpening. That being said, I tried to be as steady as I can and I'm happy with the results.
March 14, 2017
This is my first grinder. I do not use it for grinding but for wire wheeling and polishing.The unit does its job, but if you have to lean into even a little it bogs down very easily. A more powerful unit or a 8 inch unit would work better.Tool rests are horrible - too narrow and do not adjust well at all.
May 8, 2017
I've only used my grinder once (just got it), but so far I'm very impressed. The first thing I noticed is that it's very quiet -- almost silent, in fact. The next thing I noticed is that it's very solidly built. A few years back, I bought a smaller bench grinder from a discount store. It did OK, but I really notice the difference between that El Cheapo grinder and this Skil brand. The Skil feels like it could tackle almost any job with ease. Another thing I like is the rubber feet on the Skil. I don't have a work bench to mount the grinder to, so I was worried that I'd have a problem using it. Would it feel unsteady if it wasn't bolted down? The good news is, it DOES NOT feel unsteady -- thanks to the gripping power of the rubber feet, and to the heft of the grinder. I can imagine if one were doing very heavy-duty grinding, it would be best for the grinder to be bolted down. But I intend to use it for sharpening tools, knives, etc., so I think it will be fine just sitting on a countertop. I'm pretty safety-conscious when it comes to using powerful electric tools, so I wouldn't consider using it like this if it didn't feel right. But I have the sense that you'd quickly notice if the grinder were shifting or at all becoming unsteady. (By the way, the instruction booklet shows how you can bolt the grinder to a piece of plywood, and then use a couple of C clamps to temporarily secure it to your countertop. I'll go that route if the free-standing arrangement doesn't work out.) The point is, the grinder is working for me even though I don't have a proper workshop to use it in. That should be a "plus" for those considering a grinder but unsure about where they can use it.
June 13, 2013
Features:

  • 3450 rotations per minute
  • Two types of wheels provide more grinding solutions
  • Convenient usage
  • 1-amp motor

Conclusion

If you search for the bench grinder with balanced characteristics, this one might be a good choice. It has a good grinding ability, and more importantly, it provides safety options, with eye shields and LED lights.

PROS:
  • The stability is improved with rubber feet
  • Protection is better with eye shields
  • Motor provides enough power to the wheels
  • Ideal for first-time users

CONS:
  • Plastic guards should have been made of a better material
  • Stone wheels vibrate more than expected in some situations

Pro Tip

Make sure that you use safety glasses while operating a grinder. It will add additional protection, along with eye shields on the grinder.


Jon
back to menu ↑

DEWALT DW756 6-Inch Bench Grinder

DEWALT DW756 6-Inch Bench Grinder

 The best part about DEWALT DW756 bench grinder is a powerful motor. It is a 5/8 HP induction motor with high capacity and powerful performance. You can finally use the grinder with improved functionality, thanks to this kind of motor power.

At the same time, the motor housing is made to last for long, especially when we consider other kinds of grinders. In this case, the materials are exceptionally good and reliable. Aluminum tool rests are made with huge attention, and you can be sure about the accuracy here. If you take a look at the wheels, you’ll notice 12-1/2-inch distance for additional performance.

What else is interesting here?

Rear exhaust ports are there for the smooth operation. Noise is successfully reduced even beside the fact that Dewalt usually makes grinders for industrial usage. In this case, the motor is quiet and your neighbors won’t hear any kind of operation from you.

When it comes to rotation speed, the Dewalt motor ensures 3,450 RPM, which is quite enough for daily usage. It is not the highest speed, but it is fast enough for different grinding operations. With this tool, you can think about industrial usage thanks to improved performance this grinder can deliver.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
DEWALT DW756 6-Inch Bench Grinder

The induction motor provides superior power for industrial grinding applications. Grinder has a rugged cast iron base and rests made of precision machined aluminum with rear exhaust ports in wheel ...

Start from: $94.99
amazon amazon.com
I have been searching for a good grinder for a while now.As half of my tools are Dewalt, I thought I should give the DW756 a try - what a disappointment! The motor casing is at the same level as the wheel (BTW, the picture Amazon has posted is in fact of the 8-inch one, so there are different proportions!!!), so when I tried sharpening a mulching mower blade (which has a small curvature) I was unable to, as I couldn't get the blade in the proper position. Also, this Dewalt looks as a fake one manufactured in the back of a shed somewhere in China - paint drippings, strange color, etc. This is a powerful grinder though, and it is probably excellent for grinding everything else other than oddly-shaped items.I also had the opportunity to try to the Porter-cable 6" Variable Speed Bench Grinder with Light - at Lowes for 80 bucks, the 6" VARIABLE SPEED BENCH GRINDER 1/5HP- CRAFTSMAN at Sears for 100 bucks, and the Delta 23-198 6-Inch Variable Speed Grinder with Toolless Quick Change on Amazon for 120. First of all, these are all almost identical, probably made by the same factory. The only differences are the wheel covers (some easier to take off - Delta; some a complete nightmare to replace - Porter Cable), the knobs (Craftsman), and some of the accessories. Oh, the Delta has a nice toolless system to change the wheels (I uploaded a picture there as well), but it doesn't change the fact that it is 40 bucks more expensive than the Porter and it is basically the same grinder. Of the three would recommend the Craftsman if on sale (the Porter can drive you nuts trying to reinstall those wheel covers), but all three seem toys compared to the Dewalt or the Palmgren.I also had the oportunity to the Palmgren 82061 6-Inch 1/3HP Bench Grinder with Wire Wheel, Dark Grey/Black, as there are some reviews mentioning its superiority over the Dewalt. Well, there is a huge improvement over the Dewalt indeed! There is superior craftsmanship - it feels and is very solid and well made. The wheel covers are thick cast aluminum compared to the shoddy Dewalt ones. The whole unit seems "svelte" - it is long and with a slim motor casing which allows for grinding or sharpening odd-shaped items (see the comparison pictures I uploaded). Also, this thing has very nice bearings - while the Dewalt would stop in a few seconds after being turned off (and whine while running), the Palmgren would still spin for a couple of minutes after turned off and it would run very quietly, with almost no noise. Also, there is a big difference in the resistance when spinning the wheels by hand between the two brands. There are two cons - one of the tools rests was not perpendicular to the wheel, and (as others noted) there is no wire wheel included as the title suggests. This is a great grinder and I definitely recommend buying it instead of the Dewalt!Oh, be safe and wear goggles!
December 5, 2012
I bought the grinder for sharpening my lawn mower blades (zero turn Kubota). I wish I would have bought the 8 inch version. The reason is because the grinder body gets in the way as it is nearly even with the grinder wheels. I may sell this and get the 8 inch. However, this grinder functioned fine as expected and would be great for other purposes likely. All in all, it worked fine for what I needed it for though.
July 31, 2014
Real nice grinder. Installing the accessories was a pain but doable. I lost a screw or washer in the process so I had to go to hardware store to replace them. I also installed the grinder on top of a WEN pedestal and 3" caster locking wheels and its very stable and convenient. I've only used it twice so far but the grinding wheels are straight when barely turning (well actually maybe they wobble 1/8" or less). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this grinder to others. I was considering getting a grinder twice as expensive but glad I didn't now.
December 19, 2015
Features:

  • High-speed material removal
  • Wheels distance is 12-1/2-inch
  • 5/8 HP induction motor
  • Three-year limited warranty

Conclusion

This bench grinder is not only made for average users. It is also effective for industrial use where the prolonged application requires exceptional quality. That is when the grinder comes to light as a very powerful machine.

PROS:
  • Effective wheels rotation gives additional results
  • Aluminum tool rests are completely accurate
  • The manufacturer maintains the unit and replaces worn parts
  • Industrial cast iron base
  • Good for industrial usage

CONS:
  • Wheel holders should be designed better
  • Heavier than other grinders

Manual

DEWALT DW756 Bench Grinder User Manual

DEWALT DW756 Bench Grinder User Manual

Manual: DEWALT DW756 Bench Grinder User Manual

This instruction manual uses the following safety alert symbols and words to alert you to hazardous situations and your risk of personal injury or property damage

Dewalt DW756 Bench Grinder Review

back to menu ↑

Delta Power Tools 23-197 8-Inch Variable Speed Bench Grinder

Delta Power Tools 23-197 8-Inch Variable Speed Bench Grinder

 Do you know that you can get a bench grinder with variable speeds?

It is possible with Delta grinder. You can easily switch from 2,000 RPM to 3,400 RPM, depending on your actual needs. This kind of possibility is not a usual characteristic, but, sometimes, we need more speed adjustments, and that’s what this grinder ensures.

Do you wonder what else is good about it?

The grinder has cast iron base for better durability and more grinding potential. It is not easy to keep up with vibrations sometimes, but this grinder offers low vibrations, especially thanks to the built-in materials. This kind of sturdy construction adds potential for better usage of the grinder.

If you are looking for additional safety, you can find it here, because the manufacturer installs safety shields in full size. These will be incredibly important during operation when your eyes need protection. There is also built in water tray that keeps the workpiece cool during grinding. All these characteristics make this grinder a good investment.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Last reviews
Delta Power Tools 23-197 8-Inch Variable Speed Bench Grinder

8 in. Variable Speed Grinder with two different grit wheels for sharpening and grinding. It also features a flexible work light, cast iron base for durability, and full size safety shields. Motor: 5 ...

Start from: $156.43
amazon amazon.com
Ordered this grinder to replace a little HF grinder I was given many years ago. I put the grinder on my work table when it arrived and fired up. It had a little vibration during the initial start but once it got up to full speed it ran smooth and quiet. Unfortunately, as many other reviewers have mentioned, the washers used to clamp the grinding wheels are stamped metal, and are really low quality. While the grinder ran smooth, the grinding wheels had a 1/4 total wobble side to side (1/8 in each way) as it spun. I took the covers off and watched the nut on the motor spindle. The nut always spun true so I was fairly confident the washers were just bad from the get go. Why Delta would make an otherwise fine tool and throw such cheap crummy washers on the thing is beyond me. Before sending it back, I decided to see if I could find alternatives to the washers, and sure enough a few minutes of Googling turned up some high quality replacements (Raptor Grinding Wheel Washers - Fifteen dollars a side). They were pricey, but I'm guessing probably cost as much as it would cost me to send the grinder back to Amazon. I will update the review when I get the washers and try them out.
February 4, 2016
Absolutely horrible quality. Where do I even begin? TLDR - save your money for a better grinder.This unit wobbles and vibrates like crazy. I had it sitting on my carpeted floor after assembly and flipped it on in the living room just to see it go. My whole living room started to shake and my coffee mug on my coffee table some 10 feet away started to vibrate across the coffee table. No exaggeration at all - the whole room was shaking.Both wheels had very high amount of wobble out of the box. I spent almost two hours trying to balance them by rotating the washers (more on them later) and eventually resorted to using paper shims. I managed to get most of the wobble out but not all. It was only after getting the majority of the wobble out that I noticed that the wheels are not drilled concentrically. The holes for the arbor are off-center which results in the face of the grinding wheel pulsating and the wheel is off balance. That's something that cannot be corrected. It was more than just a little bit of wheel dressing could take care of.About the aforementioned washers - they're the most crudely made stamped pieces of metal washers I've ever seen. They aren't machined, aren't ground flat, aren't even close to being true and square. This isn't a $35 harbor freight grinder. There's no excuse for that.The tool stands don't attach square to the wheel. There is about a 15 degree angle between the face of the wheel and the edge of the tool stands. One side of a tool stand could be almost touching the wheel, and the other side is an 1/8" away. Both sides. The adjustment mechanism is crude and inaccurate. You can't get the tool stands that close to the wheel anyway because of the aforementioned non-concentric holes. Oh, and one of the carriage bolts wasn't long enough to get the instructed washer and crush washer on to hold the tool stands. I had to leave them off because the tolerances on this tool are so sloppy that the bolts don't even fit right.The cheap plastic eye shields don't attach firmly at all. No matter how hard I cranked down on the thumb screws, they would still rattle around like a tin can.One of the threads for the spark arrestors was completely stripped and because of this the spark arrestor never was firmly attached.The light doesn't stay in position... it's just too top heavy. The vibration doesn't help any with that. Also, the electronics that are used for the variable speed are quite loud. Like a big transformer. The noise wouldn't be a big deal on its own, but it's just one more thing to add on top of it all.And on top of all that, the manual is worthless. After 20 minutes of trying to understand the manual, I just looked at a picture of the grinder and figured out myself how it all fit together. The written instructions are vague and make no sense, and the illustrations are so low quality that they're completely useless.Absolutely terrible quality. Save your money and buy a better one.
November 9, 2017
I was expecting Delta machines to still be made in the USA, this is made in China and arrived with a strong smell, like moth balls+ rubber. That cost a half star. It was well-packed. When assembling it, one of the carriage bolts had defective threads and I had to either go buy another or, as I did, get out a tap-and-die and fix it myself. Chinese quality control, sigh. Minus another half star. The instructions are clear, almost readable English, with good illustrations plus a great photo on the box. So no problem assembling, a few minutes other than fixing the defective screw. Small surprise: manual advises cleaning all parts with WD-40 before installing (spark guard, etc.). Amazon description does not list all features: + Water tray to help keep workpiece cool while grinding+ 5 year warranty (provided that the customer returns the product prepaid to a DELTA factory service center., register online!) * Wheel Speed: 2,000 to 3,400 RPM * Wheel Grit: 36 and 60 Grit Wheels * Cord Length: 6 feet + 2" plug (plugged in) Weight: 45.5 lbs. (Gross) * needs a 40 watt 120v bulb for a ceiling fan (high vibration). + Works excellently, very quiet, low vibration, seems safe, not sure how long the smell will last ... I would buy it again, despite the minor annoyances.
September 17, 2014
Features:

  • 5 Amp induction-type motor
  • Thumb screws for easy adjustment
  • Speed controls for more flexibility
  • Cast iron base for increased durability

Conclusion

If you need to have more control over your grinding operation, go for this product. It will give you more speed adjustment controls, so you can choose which speed perfectly corresponds to your working needs. Moving from 2,000 RPM to 3,400 RPM can make a real difference.

PROS:
  • Full-size safety shields are giving better protection
  • Speed adjustment is good for fine levels of control
  • Powerful 5 Amp motor provides enough rotation
  • Water tray is there to give you more safety

CONS:
  • Motor is really loud during operation
  • Technical manual is not completely clear and concise

Manual

User Manual

User Manual

Manual: User Manual

Please make sure to read and understand this manual before use.

back to menu ↑

JET 577102 JBG-8A 8-Inch Bench Grinder

 JET 577102 JBG-8A 8-Inch Bench Grinder

 With 19 inches, JET 577102 JBG-8A bench grinder will fit any space in your workshop. You no longer need to worry about the space, but there are also other positive facts about the machine.

36-grit and 60-grit wheels ensure maximum versatility. Users can easily sharpen, clean and remove rust from any kind of tools. In addition, you can protect yourself with large eye shields, especially in heavy-duty occasions.

The 1-horsepower motor provides enough power for 3,450 rotations per minute, and that will be quite enough for working on most tools. Stability is ensured with rubber feet that is not part of many grinders. But, in this case, you get this stability in the best manner.

Do you wonder about what makes this product special?

It is pre-lubricated ball bearings that are totally enclosed, which is a feature that will give more shape to any material.

You also get adjustable spark guards for better protection. If you need a reliable and easy-for-maintaining bench grinder, go for JET 577102.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
JET 577102 JBG-8A 8-Inch Bench Grinder

Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; Powerful 8-Inch bench grinder for industrial grade use; Pre-lubricated and enclosed ball bearings; Cast iron wheel guards and dust vents; One-piece ...

Start from: $270.54
amazon amazon.com
Excellent grinder, no question. It feels well made, spins true, and runs strong. A long time ago, and for several years, I sold stationary machinery, including Jet, and this grinder is a quality tool just like the ones I was selling back then. It remains an excellent choice.Now, regarding the issue that the grinder is made in Taiwan, which it is, it seems that many reviewers demand a made-in-USA grinder at a made-in-China price. Unfortunately you can't have it both ways. Thankfully, Chinese and Taiwanese manufacturing is excellent if such quality is ordered by the buyer, which in this case is Jet, and that is the situation here. In my opinion you can pay 4-5x the price for a USA-made Baldor grinder, or you can buy this Jet grinder for much less, but you're getting awfully similar quality with either option.
October 11, 2016
I needed a good grinder after I knowing better tried a 3/4 HP Harbor freight cheap grinder. You'd barely even touch the grinding wheel and the speed would drop off and the thing would stop. Not with this grinder. It gets up to speed quickly. And it's extremely quiet. Really surprised how quiet it is. And mine has zero wobble or vibration. So far so good. So I grabbed a horse shoe for some testing. This thing is amazing. I put a ton of pressure on the grinding wheel and it just chewed through the steel horse shoe. I'm sure it had to have slowed a little but honestly I didn't notice a RPM change. Or it speeding up when I removed pressure. No longer do I need to grind a little and then wait for the grinder to speed back up. This thing powered through even when I really applied some pressure to it. It was between this and a Baldor and I'm super happy I saved all that money and went with the Jet 1 HP 8". You wont find a better grinder and I'd be willing to bet it'll beat some of the extremely expensive grinders out there. I could not be happy with this thing.
August 1, 2018
I procrastinated on whether to spend the extra $100 and get the Jet 8" and it was worth every penny! It runs quiet, runs true and the ported outlets can easily be connected to transport the waste. I have used other brands over the past 20 years and they are OK, but....Not often that I get excited but this is a really great unit!
September 22, 2017
Features:

  • Plenty of power for heavy grinding
  • 8-inch wheels for maximum versatility
  • Cast-iron wheel guards
  • 2-year limited warranty

Conclusion

Small dimensions will give you more space reduction, and, more than anything else, the grinder will provide you with high functionality. Pre-lubricated bearings are good for overall maintenance, especially if you do not have a habit of extensive lubrication.

PROS:
  • Rubber foot prevents unwanted movements
  • Eye shields provide maximum safety
  • Minimum dimensions save a lot of space
  • Warranty covers most hardware parts

CONS:
  • Shafts have a slight runout in some versions
  • Tool rests are not quality enough

Manual

JET 577102 JBG-8A User Manual

JET 577102 JBG-8A User Manual

Manual: JET 577102 JBG-8A User Manual

This manual is provided by JET covering the safe operation and maintenance procedures for the JET JBG Series Bench Grinders. This manual contains instructions on installation, safety precautions, general operating procedures, maintenance instructions and parts breakdown.

JET JBG-8A 8-Inch Bench Grinder

back to menu ↑

RIKON Power Tools 80-805 8″ Slow Speed Bench Grinder

RIKON Power Tools 80-805 8" Slow Speed Bench Grinder

 Some parts of this grinder are incredibly good, like adjustable eye shields and heat build-up reduction. At the same time, we have white aluminum oxide wheels that are very useful and effective.

On the other hand, there are few downfalls, like troubles with assembly. You should be very skillful when you put the parts together because some users claim the functionality will suffer if you do not it well.

Once you make it, you’ll get a very useful device. It’s perfect to serve as a second grinder in your workshop since it does not provide much power (the motor gives 1750 RPM). Anyway, you can use Rikon grinder for less demanding situations when you need fast sharpening and tool maintaining.

Do you know what else you get here?

Complete quietness. The motor is very quiet and the operation is completely smooth. This way, you can work late at night without waking up all the people around you. This characteristic is very good, along with other advantages.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
RIKON Power Tools 80-805 8" Slow Speed Bench Grinder,

8" Slow Speed Bench Grinder. Powerful 1/2 hp Motor with 1750 RPM. Ideal for sharpening operations because it reduces heat build-up. Includes 1" x 8" 60 grit and 120 Grit white aluminum oxide wheels. ...

Start from: $134.99
amazon amazon.com
During assembly, I noticed that both eye shields had cracks around the mounting holes. Out-of-the-box, the left wheel was loose and it turned out the flanges for holding the wheel were bent, causing 1/4" runout--enough that the wheel could not turn because it would hit the wheel guard. Rikon's customer service department seems to be nonexistent, but when I also emailed the sales and parts departments I finally received a response.June 10 - emailed customer service; no responseJune 18 - emailed customer service; no responseJuly 2 - emailed customer service, sales, and parts departments; sales responded within 3 days and had parts to me within a weekIn the last email, I included the model #, serial #, my shipping address, and list of required parts. Rikon's sales department put in an order for the replacement parts and sent them out to me free under warranty.Somewhere in there I also contacted Woodcraft and they responded that I should call them back for a diagnosis. I didn't realize it originally, but Woodcraft's return policy is not as good as Amazon's; you have to pay return shipping even if the product is defective.Removing the bent flange was incredibly difficult...it took me about half an hour of wiggling and prying with a big screwdriver.More than a month after purchase, I was finally able to use the grinder, and it's nice aside from the annoying groove in the tool rest for the left wheel, for sharpening drill bits. I'll definitely be replacing that tool rest with something more usable.As mentioned in the WOOD Magazine review, the tool rests are a pain to adjust. Fortunately, there are plenty of aftermarket replacements you can buy, or you can make your own. Aside from those issues, the grinder seems like a well-made tool, and the included friable wheels and diamond dresser mean you can use it right out of the box--assuming, of course, yours doesn't come with any defective parts.
June 16, 2016
Yes it comes with a dressing tool and the 2 stone wheels - I asked (in the question section) if a 1.5 CBN would fit and got a yea and a nope answer - yes one could make it fit but safety would be sacrificed - there probably is a "guy" somewhere that could make it work; if you find him let me know. Fiddling with the end washers would be where I would start. (enlarge the picture and look at the small gap between the wheel and the guard). I wonder if all the wheel wobble reports are from folks that did not fully tighten the arbor nut fully down as I had to do. So I installed my 1 inch CBN and hand sharpened a couple of lathe tools. Easy and sharp - but I was wondering about the slow speed and it really is not a player for sharping - for reshaping a lathe tool it might be an issue but I'm new to wood turning. Tomorrow I plan to sharpen some wood carving tools I recently purchased. IMO this was a very good price for a quality product. It runs almost too quiet. Tomorrow I’m bolting it to a 2x12 and installing the powertech (one-way like) system (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SX54MH6/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_2). I would recommend this to a friend.
December 1, 2017
The grinder is good...The grinder is smooth, quiet and well made, but this is where it changes. I bought this grinder because it already had the wheel on it I needed and hoped this would let me use it without the extra cost of buying a grinder and then buying whhels as well. The wheel on the left side is so out that it wobbles nearly a quarter of an inch. There is just no way to true it up and I think it is even dangerous. I contacted Rikon and they said I should read the owners manual, like I hadn't already done so. Treated me like an idiot. I've been using grinders for over 50 years! I tried to explain what I had done to try to correct the problem and the tech said it was within specs and thank you for buying Rikon and that was it. I was looking at maybe a new Rikon lathe but not now.
December 26, 2015
Features:

  • Noiseless operation
  • Adjustable spark resisters
  • Anti-vibration rubber feet
  • 60 grit and 120 grit wheels

Conclusion

We have to be honest. This is not the highest quality bench grinder, but it will serve the purpose as an occasional grinder that you do not use too much. The grinder is not made for heavy usage, but affordable price and easiness of usage will make it desirable on the market.

PROS:
  • Heat build-up reduction makes it good for sharpening operations
  • Rubber feet provide less vibration
  • Very affordable price in comparison to other grinders

CONS:
  • Slow speed is not adequate for some tools
  • The wheel on the left side wobbles too much, which does not make it safe
  • Customer service is not responsive

Manual

RIKON Power Tools 80-805 User Manual

RIKON Power Tools 80-805 User Manual

Manual: RIKON Power Tools 80-805 User Manual

Operating a Bench Grinder can be dangerous if safety and common sense are ignored. The operator must be familiar with the operation of the tool. Read this manual to understand this Bench Grinder. DO NOT operate this Bench Grinder if you do not fully understand the limitations of this tool. DO NOT modify this Bench Grinder in any way.

Rikon 8 Inch Professional Low Speed Bench Grinder Tool Video

Pro Tip

Install the grinder parts properly, in order to avoid wobbling and extensive vibration of the bench grinder wheels.


Jon
back to menu ↑

POWERTEC BGSS801 Slow Speed Bench Grinder

POWERTEC BGSS801 Slow Speed Bench Grinder,

 These 80 and 120 grit aluminum oxide wheels are quite helpful, along with protective eye shields and tool rests. Good characteristics of POWERTEC BGSS801 do not end there. We also have cool running 1,725 RPM for making our tools save from overheating. Sometimes, the less rotation power is good for certain types of tools, especially sensitive ones. We can make them sharp again with this grinder.

What about other features?

There are plenty of them. All the way from the quiet 1/2 HP motor to the heavy gauge steel base, this POWERTEC grinder has it all. But, there are certain things to mention here. All of these parts are not made with high-quality materials, and users have some troubles using them.

Many reviews speak about high vibrations during the operation, and that is not quite good when it comes to bench grinders. We also have a bench grinder tool rest that is not made perfectly, but these flaws are part of the products in this price range.

Looking at the wide picture, this grinder can serve you for certain occasions when you need low-demanding applications and when you do not use it too often.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Last reviews
POWERTEC BGSS801 Slow Speed Bench Grinder, 8"

POWERTEC slow speed grinder is ideal for sharpening tools without generating the edge destroying heat that you get so quickly from 3450 RPM grinders. Wheels are 1" x 8", 60 and 120 grit.

Start from: $104.99
amazon amazon.com
I had to dock a couple of stars because things are pretty rough on here that could have made it a great machine if they'd handled them at the factory. The steel washers for the wheels aren't evenly stamped on center, so you get runout from there, the shaft had burs that were up against the back of the inside washer adding to the imbalance, the washers were warped in addition to being stamped off center. The indented tool tray isn't equal across the top surface, one side is higher than the other. Since it's primarily a tool sharpening grinder, it would be much better if they just left that one out and made two flat ones. If you have decent mechanical skills and a lathe you will probably be pretty happy with this grinder, once you handle a few little issues it does a good job. I sharpened some HSS bits for a tangential lathe tool after getting things mostly trued up (still has a little side to side wobble on the stones) and they came out very well. If you have decent mechanical skills, I wouldn't let it's shortcomings dissuade you from buying it.
April 28, 2017
Just got it and unpacked. Have not used it yet but will leave first impression. Seems well made, however, the wheels wobbled a lot when turned by hand. The inner flanges are bent, the outer ones seem flat so I swapped them around and the wheels now run truer. Turned it on and there is a little vibration but it does not walk! The shipping box was banged up a bit and open but all parts were present and well packed in styrene. Ill finish setting it up in the morning try it out.Ok, I've been using it for a while. Scrapped the wheel flanges because they are not flat, but on after market ones by Raptor and the wheels now run with berry little run out, much, much better. I use the Wolverine system for my lathe tools and this grinder now works well.
March 23, 2017
The grinding wheels are bad!The 120 wheel is way to soft to sharpen hss lathe tools, even benjamins best!It caused ruts in the wheel immediately.The wheels both are no where near true in a sideways fashion.I have been using a Rikon for a year, which is just fine.
May 8, 2017
Features:

  • Aluminum oxide wheels produce less heat
  • Slow speed grinder
  • Quiet 1/2 HP motor

Conclusion

At times when we need affordable grinders, this one might be a good solution. But only in the case when you plan to use it occasionally and for lighter operations. It won’t withstand heavy-duty usage, and that’s why it is not recommended for demanding users.

PROS:
  • Wide wheels make grinding easier
  • Hardware and casing is high quality
  • Good for the price

CONS:
  • Tool rests are not quality enough
  • Wheels have a good amount of wobble
  • Provides noticeable vibration at speed

Manual

POWERTEC BGSS801 User Manual

POWERTEC BGSS801 User Manual

Manual: POWERTEC BGSS801 User Manual

You will need this manual for safety instructions, operating procedures, and warranty. Put it and the original sales invoice in a safe, dry place for future reference.

back to menu ↑

Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinder

 Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinder

 When you think about Metabo, you think about quality. It is made to last and this unit completely proves it. You get an exceptional quality and long-lasting potential.

With 3,570 rotations per minute, there’s no room for average here. This kind of power provides complete sharpening of all kinds of tools you have. Shovels and axes will be perfectly sharpened, especially in in-house operations. On the other hand, this device can be also used in an industrial environment where more power is needed. A wide range of applications makes this grinder very versatile.

Will you be satisfied with the product?

Most probably, yes. You get robust protective covers and maintenance-free induction motor that is not seen in most grinders. In addition, the low-vibration system will save you a lot of time and effort to get your tool sharp again. Everything is designed with great attention to details.

The grinder is quite heavy (35.9 pounds) and it isn’t especially handy, but the heaviness adds another push to quality performance. You’ll notice less vibrations and the overall experience with the grinder will be better. For all these reasons, you should consider Metabo DS 200 next time when you need a quality bench grinder.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Last reviews
Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinder

Includes DS 200 8-in 4.8 Amp Bench Grinder - 619200420, 36P Normal Corundum Grinding Wheels, 60N Normal Corundum Grinding Wheels, Spark Protection Glasses, Work piece Support, Hexagonal Wrench.

Start from: $255.99
amazon amazon.com
Having read all of the horror stories with excessive vibrations due to too much shaft runout (shaft wobble) with Dewalt, Porter Cable, etc. grinders, I decided to put a little more money in in this Metabo product to replace a defunct Delta bench grinder. While I would love a made in the USA Baldor grinder, there was no way I could justify the $600-$1000 price tag since I'm not trying to make a living with my tools.After unpacking the heavy grinder the first thing I did was plug it in and turn it on. After reading the other reviews I expected it to be high quality and fairly vibration free and that's about my experience. There was some vibration and I must say I was just a tad disappointed but I thought the vibration was due to the grinding wheels themselves. I pulled the right hand wheel and measured the shaft runout at a maximum of .001" - well done factory. I reinstalled the wheel and measured the side-side wobble on it at .007" - not great but I'll live with it.Interestingly the grinder wheels are made in Germany and the rest of the unit is made in China. I timed the time it took for the grinder to come to a complete stop after turning it off and I was amazed when it took over 90 seconds to completely spin down. I think this is a hallmark of good bearings with lots of inertia from the spinning wheels and motor.Like others have observed, the eye guards aren't great - they are a little on the small side, but that's not an issue at all since I always wear a full face mask when grinding. The tool rests are way too small, so I'll look for a better aftermarket alternative. The wheel covers are cast aluminum and fairly heavy, another well done to Metabo.I would have given this product five stars if the wheels were more true, but wheels can be replaced; even so I can easily recommend this grinder to others.
January 2, 2014
In 2016 I purchased 4 of these Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinders and since then weve had to send back 2 to repair, 1 to replace since they couldnt repair it and, 2 more just went out on us this past week...We are a cutting die shop and we use these for thin steel.The problems were, ON/OFF button would no longer work, two of them just started smoking and, you have to manually spin the wheel on one to get it "going"...The local repair service man in my area (Los Angeles area) was hard to get a hold of and communicate with, kind of rude too.
December 19, 2016
This metabo bench grinder is not a Metabo quality tool. The grinder I received had very poor quality machine screws, the left Arbor was bent causing it to vibrate more than is acceptable. I do not believe this tool was made in Germany. Do not buy this tool just because it is Metabo. The quality is not there.
September 30, 2017
Features:

  • Quiet operation
  • Very useful 3,570 rotations per minute
  • Robust design for more functionality
  • Simple disc change

Conclusion

This bench grinder will be an ideal present for someone who likes manual work. It’s good for all lovers of quality units, and this advantage is completely ensured here. You can put this product high on the list of the top bench grinder options.

PROS:
  • Good for industrial use
  • Heavy construction reduces excessive vibrations
  • Very high rotation speed provides better performance
  • Functional for experienced users

CONS:
  • Prices for spare parts are very high
  • Not made in Germany, but in China

Manual

Metabo DS 200 User Manual

Metabo DS 200 User Manual

Manual: Metabo DS 200 User Manual

Reading the operating instructions will reduce the risk of injury.

Tuning Metabo bench grinder

10 Useful Bench Grinder Reviews – Full Guide and Hands-On (2018)

back to menu ↑

Porter-Cable PCB575BG 8″ Variable Speed Grinder with Work Lamp

 Porter-Cable PCB575BG 8" Variable Speed Grinder with Work Lamp

 Once you open the box, there are few parts to assemble here. Eyeshield and tool trays are parts included in the box and these are made of reasonably good quality. In addition, you have the light that is quite helpful in low-light environments. In this case, the bulb doesn’t come with the light, so you need to buy it separately.

Grinding is very good with this Porter-Cable PCB575BG unit. It’s a bench grinder with variable speeds from 2000 to 3400 rotations per minute. This serves well on occasions when you sharpen different tools. Some kinds of tools will require lower rotations due to specific heating potential, while other types of tools and knives will be ideally sharpened with much more rotations. Because of this versatility, you can adapt to different types of sharpening.

Better illumination is secured with 40-watt lamp that is fully adjustable. In addition, you get the smooth operation with 36 grit and 60 grit wheels that operate in quite mode. You can easily talk next to the fully working unit. It is easier to use it, which makes it suitable for the first-time users.

Will this work for me?

If you are a user who seeks for the good balance between quality and price, this product is a good choice. On the other hand, if you search for a more potent machine, choose some more quality unit. Porter-Cable PCB575BG will work well for average everyday users.

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
Porter-Cable PCB575BG 8" Variable Speed Grinder with Work Lamp

The PCB575BG includes a powerful 5.0 Amp induction motor that delivers variable speeds between 2,000 and 3,400 RPM, allowing users to choose the appropriate speed in order to increase productivity ...

Start from: $142.99
amazon amazon.com
 I've used a couple of grinders over the years and was interested in checking out this Porter Cable 5A, 8" Dual Grinder.Out of the box, you'll notice that the thing is well built and solid. There is some assembly required in the sense that you have to attach/screw on the eye shields and tool trays. Also, there is no light bulb included in the light so you have to provide the bulb. Other than that it comes ready to grind.One thing I immediately noticed was that you have to have the unit on, with wheels spinning, before the light will activate. This is a minor nuance and most would probably view this as personal preference, but I thought I'd point it out. Also, no mounting hardware is included for bolting this to a workbench. It's 45lbs on it's own so it's pretty sturdy without them, but for safety reasons you should definitely mount this thing as you don't want it tipping over when the wheels are spinning at full speed.As you'll notice from the video, the unit is QUIET. At full speed you can easily have a conversation with the motor going. Also, there is no vibration in the wheels or the motor itself. The last craftsman grinder I had, used to oscillate pretty bad when it got to full speed.Porter includes a dressing wrench which has it's own tray right in front of the unit. The dressing wrench is used to even out any high spots in each wheel as you start to grind on them.PROS:- QUIET-STURDY-COMES ESSENTIALLY FULLY ASSEMBLED-WHEELS ARE FULLY CHANGEABLE-REALLY EFFECTIVE SPARK CATCHCONS:- LIGHT DOESN'T HAVE IT'S OWN CIRCUIT- The eye shield mount is adjustable, but the way the instructions are setup, it only adjusts down into the wheel, which isn't desired.All in all, I'm satisfied with the performance of this unit. I sharpened up my lawn mower blades, my hedge trimmers, and a couple screw drivers with ease. The wheels remained solid and steady the whole time with little scarring on them. I'm still surprised how quiet this motor is.
April 8, 2016
The limp light stem makes the light accessory a dangerous nuisance. As others have noted the stone wobbles on the right side. The wobble causes the bulb to break after about 20 seconds, followed by it flopping against a grinding stone. Just throw the light and the plastic quench bowl away. And live with the wobbly stone. Or buy a different bench grinder.
October 17, 2016
Decent quality. The gooseneck lamp is not stiff enough to resist the vibration of the grinder at full speed and flops around. I also wish they didn't put that deep groove in the left rest. It is supposed to help with drill sharpening but it makes the rest useless when you just want to slide a tool left and right.These are things I can work around, but it would be better if I didn't have to tweak it.The variable speed is a nice feature and the grinder is very heavy. This design seems to be common across several brands. I would imagine they all come from the same factory.
November 8, 2017
Features:

  • Variable speed range of 2000 RPM and 3400 RPM
  • Easy drill bit sharpening
  • Adjustable 40-watt lamp
  • Wheel dresser included

Conclusion

So many parts are put in the box. A light, a wheel dresser, eye shields and much more is there when you open the package. The manufacturer really thought about everything when they packed the product. With all these quality parts, the unit seems to be quite popular.

PROS:
  • Wheels are fully changeable
  • Spark catch is very effective
  • Quiet operation of the motor
  • Sturdy construction adds additional quality

CONS:
  • Eye shields are not fully manageable
  • Neck for the light needs to be stiffer

Pro Tip

Make proper maintenance steps if you want your grinder to last longer.


Jon
Product NameImageRPMOverall RatingDetails
WEN 4282 4.8-Amp 8″ Bench Grinder 3,450 9 Check price
DEWALT DW758 8-Inch Bench Grinder 3,600 9 Check price
SKIL 3380-01 6-Inch Bench Grinder 3,450 8 Check price
DEWALT DW756 6-Inch Bench Grinder 3,450 10 Check price
Delta Power Tools 23-197 8-Inch Variable Speed Bench Grinder 3,400 7.5 Check price
JET 577102 JBG-8A 8-Inch Bench Grinder 3,450 9.5 Check price
RIKON Power Tools 80-805 8″ Slow Speed Bench Grinder 1750 8 Check price
POWERTEC BGSS801 Slow Speed Bench Grinder 1725 8.5 Check price
Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinder 3,570 9 Check price
Porter-Cable PCB575BG 8″ Variable Speed Grinder with Work Lamp 3,400 8.5 Check price

How to Choose – Buyer’s Guide

There are multiple options you must pay attention to before buying a bench grinder. Not all the products are quality on the market, but you should know what makes the best ones. Here are the things to consider.

  • Rotations per minute

It’s not the same if your grinder runs on 1750 RPM or 3500 RPM. The difference is huge. And it also depends on the type of tools you want to sharpen. Go for lower rotation for knives and more sensitive tools that need careful managing, or choose higher rotation rate for more industrial and more professional grinding needs.

  • Motor

There are motors with a very potent power of 5 amp that can deliver more rotation to the wheels. It is good to choose this kind of motors because these are usually induction motors with higher speeds. Therefore, it is good to choose higher amp values.

  • Overall construction

A base is very important in bench grinders. If the base is made of cast iron, it is a certain sign of good production. However, it’s not the only part of a bench grinder construction, because we have rubber feet for more stability, quality body for more effective grinding and side materials that make the grinder complete. If all of these construction parts are made up to quality standards, you should consider buying that grinder.

Types of Wheels

In this kind of industry, many abrasive wheels have different purposes, but most of them fit into few categories. First of all, the bench grinder wheels differ in size. Most bench grinders support 8-inch wheels, but there are also many units that support 6-inch options.

It usually depends on the size of the grinder and that is where the difference plays an important role. You must know which size is adequate for your grinder, in order to replace the wheels correctly.

What else is important to know?

The materials, of course. Most wheels are made of aluminum, which provides average abrasion potential, ideal for low-demanding applications, such as tool sharpening and material removing. In this case, we have abrasion that can shape the steel and similar materials. Usually, there are Universal, HSS and Carbide.

With the well-maintained wheels, these can provide long-lasting functionality and proper durability. Changing the overused wheels is always a good option if you want to get proper abrasion as the first day when you bought the grinder.

Bench Grinder Accessories

Some important bench grinder accessories include:

A wheel dresser is good for dressing the surface of the grinding wheel. It brings back the original wheel shape and exposes the fresh grains for renewed abrasion potential.

A bench grinder pedestal stand is very important if you want some additional stability of the grinder. You can easily reach it if you use a bench grinder with stand. It is enough to fix the stand to the table or other working surface and start grinding with improved stability.

Polishing pads are another kind of accessories for grinding wheels. You can use it in the same manner as a wheel dresses, but, in this case, the pads serve as a polishing and dirt removal tool. Another option might be a bench grinder buffer wheel that is used for additional polishing.

Parts of a Bench Grinder

Just like with any other machine, we have relevant parts of a bench grinder that make the unit running. Pay attention to these parts, as each of them serves the special purpose here.

  • Tool rest

In most grinders, tool rest is usually very tightly located within 2 to 3 mm of the wheel. It serves to prevent slipping down of the workpiece, which happens when the tool rest is not adequately installed. The workpieces can go down between the wheel and the tool rest while making a damage. Grinding is more effective when the tool is resting on a tool rest.

  • Eye shields

Eye shields are plastic bench grinder attachments above the grinding wheels. They are installed with the intention to protect the user from sparks and small particles that are products of grinding. Without eye shields, the usage of a grinding machine won’t be completely safe.

  • Wheels

As we mentioned before, the grinding wheels are the most important parts of a bench grinder. For successful grinding, the wheels must be properly maintained with accessories so the functionality can be better.

  • Coolant

During grinding, the tool reaches very high heat that can be reduced with a proper coolant. In most situations, we have small containers of water that serve as tool cooling. On the other hand, there are certain wet type grinder wheels where the bottom of the wheel operates within a pan of water, which is a good cooling method.

How to Use

 When you get the grinder for the first time, you may probably need to put all the parts together. It doesn’t come completely assembled, so you need to connect certain parts. Adjust the tool rest, install the bulb inside the lamp (if the grinder has the lamp) and adjust the speed you want to use.

After you turn it on, let the wheels rotate for at least one minute, so they can catch the standard operating circle. After that, you are ready for grinding. Make sure that you have a coolant by your side, which is helpful in the grinding process.

Take the tool you want to sharpen and place the middle of the tool on the tool rest. That’s when the grinding starts. The wheel of the grinder will rotate while you slightly move the tool from the middle to one end, and to another end afterwards.

Make sure that you don’t touch any part of the wheel and use the tool rest to align the tool correctly. Grinding can take from few seconds to few minutes, depending on how sharp you want your tool to be.

Care and Maintenance

 In order to prolong the life of your bench grinder, you should undertake certain maintenance steps. These will help you save a lot of time and money in the future.

  • Check the bolts regularly – This might not seem an important maintenance step, but it could bring a huge difference. You’ll have fewer worries about grinder functionality if you regularly check bolts and nuts. In the process of grinding, some nuts and bolts can loosen a little bit and you can see them falling out. In order to avoid that scenario, check if all the nuts and bolts are completely secured.
  • Inspect the tool rest – Sometimes, the tool rest is too close to the wheel and this could damage both the rest and the wheel. Check occasionally if space between is too narrow and adjust it to the safe distance.
  • Dress the tool regularly – Dressing of the grinder wheels will remove all the rough portions that gather over the time. A proper dressing will also smooth the wheel and prepare it for future operations. It is important to use a wheel dresser or a polishing pad for this purpose.

Size and Noise

 Size of a bench grinder depends on many factors. Therefore, you can find 19-inch grinders that are among the smallest on the market, but equally effective as 22-inch or 25-inch grinders with the similar functionality. The size does not determine the quality of the unit, but it can noticeably save your space in a garage or a workshop.

Noise is unavoidable as it is a part of the motor construction. In this case, we have noisy motors that run on more rotations, and, as a result, the noise is much higher. If the motor is designed well, we’ll have a smooth operation without any noisy distractions.

Safety Tips

  • Always turn off the grinder before taking any maintenance steps
  • Be careful during grinding not to touch the rotating wheel with fingers
  • Assemble the grinder parts as per instructions
  • Install eye shields properly so you can protect better
  • Check if the tool rest is at the proper distance from the wheel

Warranty

 The bench grinders can come with a limited 2-year warranty on most parts. Sometimes, you’ll find a 3-year warranty that offers many possibilities, like parts replacement and full customer service coverage. Go for the best package that covers as many options as possible.

FAQ

Where to find spare parts for my grinder?

You can check the official service from the manufacturer first. If there is one in your city, go and check if the spare part is covered with warranty paper. If you do not have official representatives in your surroundings, go for online options and check the availability of the spare parts for your bench grinder.

I am a first-time user. What should I know about the usage of the bench grinder?

First of all, familiar yourself with the manuals you get in the retail box. Learn how to properly install the important parts and how to start the operation. It is important to follow the necessary instructions in the manual you have.

Will my grinder work with a cable different from the original one?

In order to maintain the quality operation, it is recommended to use original cable that is made for your bench grinder. Other cables may cause complications and damages to the unit.

10 Useful Bench Grinder Reviews – Full Guide and Hands-On (2018)
5 (100%) 1 vote
9.5 Total Score
Final Verdict

Our best choice from the list of the most powerful grinders is reserved for DEWALT DW756 6-Inch Bench Grinder. This go-to grinder has the potential to become a leading unit when it comes to quality and performance. Everything is packed here with a huge attention to details, and that is why we recommend this top brand to you.

Another winning place can be shared with Metabo DS 200 8-Inch Bench Grinder that comes with a powerful induction motor that is smooth and noiseless. No matter what kind of bench grinder you choose, pay attention to all the things we mentioned here, from the maintenance steps to buying guides.

Your grinding can be elevated to the next level once you choose the best bench grinder that will perfectly correspond to your actual grinding needs.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Register New Account
      Reset Password