Top 10 Countertop Convection Oven Reviews — Choose the Best One for Yourself

A countertop convection oven is a welcome addition to any kitchen and for very good reasons. Among them is the convenience, additional heating options and faster cooking experience these appliances provide. On the flip-side, though, when you’re ready to own one, you may be overwhelmed by all the options available out there. That is why we have a compiled a list of the 10 best countertop convection oven options on the market today to help you with your next purchase. They are the best because they consistently outperform the rest and will allow you to cook with more efficiency while using less time and energy.

Breville BOV800XL Smart Oven 1800 Watt Convection Toaster Oven

breville-bov800xl-smart-oven-1800-watt-convection-toaster-oven-with-element-iq

Housed in reinforced stainless steel, this countertop convection oven is a definitely a great addition to any kitchen. Breville BOV800XL Smart Oven 1800 Watt Convection Toaster Oven boasts IQ cooking technology that automatically adjusts the five independent heating elements thereby ensuring evenly cooking process. This countertop convection oven is well known for distributing heat evenly throughout the oven hence guaranteeing the user of more efficient cooking. To use this oven, simply place it on a flat and dry surface and make sure there is at least a distance of 10cm of space on both sides of the oven.

  • Features 9 pre-sets to choose from depending on the food you want to prepare including Pizza, Bagel, Toast, Roast, Cookies, Bake, Broil, Bake, Reheat, and Warm.
  • Boasts 1800 watt with 5 different Quartz heating elements. This oven easily adjusts the wattage of these heating elements for cooking flexibility.
  • Drip/crumb tray which makes it easier to clean between the cooking session as it can easily be accessed from the front of this appliance.
  • Equipped with back-lit, an easy to read LCD that usually calculates the correct temperature and time and illuminating orange when cooking or preheating and blue when the cycle comes to an end.

  • Product

Breville BOV800XL Smart Oven 1800-Watt Convection Toaster Oven with Element IQ

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Element IQ delievers the right power at the right time and when adjusted to taste, remembers; 9 present functions: Toast, Bagel, Bake, Roast, Broil, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Like just about everyone else in the free world, I grew up with a GE Toast-R-Oven. I cooked everything from toast (of course) to pizza bagels (a great discovery back in the 70s) to TV dinners and even baked fish in it. When the one I received as a gift when I bought my first house finely gave up the ghost, I replaced it with a $100 Hamilton Beach tabletop convection oven could bake a whole loaf of bread, two pies or a meatloaf. It even had a rotisserie with a spit you could impale a chicken on, though I never tested this feature. I used it for several years, and it did everything you would expect of a compact toaster oven- except make toast. The burners were just too far apart.Enter the Breville. Rather than the mechanical timer and temperature control of the Hamilton Beach (and the GE before it) this unit has fully electronic control that promises to be more accurate in both functions. It can handle (they say) a 12" pizza, and 4 slices of toast. So how does all this work in practice?As a toaster, it's great. It toasts more evenly than my $20 Target toaster, and the slide out crumb tray makes cleaning easy. Repeatability if excellent, and of course you can watch the bread/bagel/whatever as it toasts, keeping an eye out for burning. It compensates for heat buildup when you toast multiple items in sequence- a major help. Still, for close to $200 you expect more than just toast from a machine like this.I haven't tried baking a pie yet, but I did do some miniature muffins, and they came out fine. I haven't done any bread yet, as it's just too small to handle a standard loaf of the size I bake. Maybe I can make some buns or rolls in it.The timer function is a bit annoying in the way it works.
June 27, 2010
We have had this for about 9 months now and have been very happy with it! We've had no issues, clean up is a breeze and it's simple enough that my two daughters (8 and 11) can both use it with no issues. The pan that came with it is fine but I bought a set of pans separately that I like much better that included a sheet tray, rack, muffin pan, pizza stone, and roasting pan. We have toasted, baked, reheated, broiled and roasted all with great success. I love not having to run the "big oven" for small things and what a help at Thanksgiving!I personally do not find the beep overly annoying or too loud as other reviewers have stated and I am actually sensitive to loud or high pitched noises (I have retracted eardrums making some sounds painful). In my opinion it's better to be loud than too quiet for this application anyway. Maybe it's because I have two young girls or a barky chihuahua...but it's better to hear it than not...and really, it's not like it beeps for a long time...a second or two and it's over...not worth complaining about it in my opinion.I also don't have an issue with the handle sticking out too far. It certainly doesn't stick out past the edge of the counter or get snagged on anything and I'd rather there be room enough that my children (or me) don't accidentally hit the door with our fingers and get burned. There is room enough that that is not a concern.The rack not coming out automatically when you open the door is actually a feature I prefer. I am not incapable or lazy enough that I can't slide the rack out on my own when necessary and it only takes a second to accomplish. I find it annoying when you just want to pop the oven open to check what you are cooking that the whole thing slides out...
January 1, 2015
I was a bit disappointed when I opened the box, pulled out the oven, and saw a black mark on the left side of the oven. I suspect it was a spot where the power cord rubbed against the side during shipping. I was able to wash much of the darkness off, but a faint line remains. Check out the photo I posted and look for the dark perpendicular line in the middle. I'm already over it but wanted to warn you just in case it's a deal breaker for you. Ignore the other colors in the photo. Those are just reflections.Now to the cooking: First thing I did after following all the directions to prepare the oven for first use, was broil a 1.5" thick filet mignon. That thickness put it very close to the quartz cooking rods and I was a little nervous about how that would work out. As it turned out, it worked fine. The toaster oven's broiling setting out-performed my stove's broiler by far. I went by Omaha Steaks' cooking chart to determine the time and got a perfect result. Unlike my stove's oven, the door should be all the way closed when using the Breville's broiler. There was flaming a couple of times, but that had no adverse effect. Next time I'll remember to add some water to the broiler pan.After cooking the filet, I wiped the inside of the oven and the glass door to remove grease. It came right off with just a warm, damp cloth. I also wiped off the oven's rack and pulled out the crumb tray to see if it had any grease on it. I didn't expect to find any, but there was a strip of it along the outer lip. That, too, just wiped right off. I think that little bit of maintenance is all that's needed and it takes just about a minute or minute and a half.Speaking of the crumb tray, some here have mentioned how hard it is to get the tray into the oven.
February 2, 2012

PROS:
  • One year limited warranty
  • Designed from the most durable materials
  • Small magnets on the sides of this appliance door pull the wire rack halfway from the oven when the door is opened to prevent burns when removing food from the oven

CONS:
  • A good number of users think that the warranty period should have been better (1 year is too short for such an expensive oven)

back to menu ↑

Oster Large Capacity Countertop 6-Slice Digital Convection Toaster Oven

Oster Large Capacity Countertop 6-Slice Digital Convection Toaster Oven

With an extra large interior capacity, this countertop convection oven is ideal for large families. Oster Large Capacity Countertop 6-Slice Digital Convection Toaster Oven can fit up to 13-inch by 9-inch pan thereby giving you a true second oven convenience. It has a stainless steel finish frame with interior light and sees through door allowing to easily monitor your food as it cooks. It also boasts two-rack position which enables you to place your meals at the best level for great cooking.

  • 6 slice toaster oven boasting convection technology which means there is an evenly distribution of heat for faster cooking.
  • User-friendly digital control panel and manual for smooth operation.
  • Adjustable broil for both high and low heat broiling with 150 to 450 degrees temperature range.
  • Various cooking functions including Pizza, Convection Bake, Toast, Bake, Broil, Defrost, and Warm.

  • Product

Oster Large Capacity Countertop 6-Slice Digital Convection Toaster Oven, Black/Polished Stainless, TSSTTVMNDG

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; large interior holds 13" by 9" pan, whole chicken, casseroles, roast and ham; 150-450° temperature range, Adjustable broil for low-heat broiling, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've been on a quest since last November to find a convection toaster oven that works like it should. So far I've tried four others and none of them worked like they should. I've gone through 2 Black & Decker ovens, a GE, and the last one was a Hamilton Beach. Now this one works like its supposed to. It's easy to set the cooking time and temperature on it. The presets for CONVECTION BAKE and BAKE is 350 degrees and 30 minutes. It has a preset for PIZZA that is 400 degrees for 20 minutes. A DEFROST setting is for 150 degrees for 30 minutes. It also has a preset for WARM 30 minutes but the book doesn't say what the preset temp is for that and it doesn't show in the display. After testing it I found that it gets too and holds at 175 degrees. The best aspect with this thing is that it actually gets to, and holds within ten degrees, the temperature that its set for! This is the only one out of the five that I have tried that will get to the temperature that its set for, and hold it within 100 degrees of that setting. Most of the ones that I've tried were off from 100 to 150 degrees, or more, of what they are set for. When using the convection setting it is nice and quiet. The Hamilton Beach that I tried last, the fan was so loud I could hear it running in the other room. This one is so quiet that I can barely hear it running while standing right in front of it. The other thing that I really like with this one is the inside light. It comes on automatically when you press the start button and it shuts off when the timer runs out. You can also turn it on and off with its own button. Its plenty bright enough to see how done what ever is cooking in it is and is something that the other toaster ovens should have.
May 7, 2011
I, like many others, researched and read reviews up the Kazoo. I purchased this product knowing some of its shortcomings, but none of the products reviewed seemed to be the perfect "10". The toaster oven is lightweight compared to others I have owned, and the outside seems to get very hot when the oven is on for any length of time. The first time I made toast (preset at the 3 setting), it burned. The ability to make 6 pieces of toast at one time is nice, but the toaster is so slow and takes a long time to toast. If you want fast toast and only a piece or two - get a conventional toaster. The reason I only gave it three stars is a safety issue. When using a large heavy (glass) dish, it is difficult to get your hands inside to pull out the pan. Your tendency is to pull out the rack the dish sits on with it. Big mistake. I had a meatloaf (some greasy drippings in pan) in a 9x13 glass dish and when the rack got to a certain point (it is lightweight), it dropped out of the groove holding it and the pan fell with it. I had the same thing happen with a glass pie plate I was removing, and the rack fell again. Lesson learned - not to use such a large pan I cannot get my hands safely in to remove the dish and not to pull the rack out with the dish. I do like the fact I don't have to turn my stove oven on for a small item I need to bake. I wish Oster would have provided some information on the use of the Convection oven with the toaster oven -nothing on their web site either. Even with reducing the cook time using the Convection mode, I did not get good results. The last thing I absolutely hate is having to adjust time and temperature. The timer is set for 30 minutes - you have to hit the button for each minute you want to reduce or increase the time.
December 23, 2010

PROS:
  • Time and temperature can easily be adjusted with one-touch controls
  • Recognized as one of the best appliances of 2011 in a leading consumer research magazine
  • Comes with a sturdy baking pan

CONS:
  • The toaster oven lacks a non-stick interior hence hard to clean

back to menu ↑

Black + Decker CTO6335S Stainless Steel Countertop Convection Oven

blackdecker-cto6335s-stainless-steel-countertop-convection-oven-silver

Non-stick interior for easy clean-up, high and low oven rack positions for versatility, a baking pan, and removable crumb tray are some of the great features that make Black + Decker CTO6335S Stainless Steel Countertop Convection Oven a great option to invest in. Other unique features of this appliance include:

  • Extra deep interior that can easily accommodate 12-inch pizzas, whole chickens, casserole dishes among others.
  • 120 Minute timer that is great for broiling and toasting and ensures accurate results by making sure the oven turns off when the timer runs out.
  • 8 pre-set one-touch functions that are easy to use including cookies, bagel, frozen snacks, broil, potatoes, bake, pizza, and toast.
  • Boasts extra large digital display with stainless design and a two-year limited warranty.

  • Product

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Stainless Steel Countertop Convection Oven, Silver

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Product note: the logo design of this item may vary depending on when the product was manufactured; Extra-large digital display. Preset one-touch ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Just got this as a serious upgrade to a beat up toastmaster purchased from another retailer a few years back. I gotta say that thing chugged along, and is still working, but its a holy mess and it was time to send it packing. Otherwise it still works like a charm surprisingly.We just got some shiny new appliances, stainless steel grade, and the Toastmaster just didn't fit in anymore. Just so you know, this is not your mom's toaster oven. This thing is pretty big with lots of options, so have a decent sized counter space for it. It will need it. It cuts a nice profile though, and will work well looks wise if you have upgraded appliances. Also, this thing gets plenty hot, so give it some space towards the back, and keep any packaging you throw on your counter away from it and in a pantry.Getting back to the size for a second, my wife was a bit taken a back. She is used to smaller toaster ovens and is of the opinion that you don't need a toaster oven that looks its ready to blast off into space to make toast and bagels. Accept its also a convection oven, and there is the rub. If you are looking to save some money on a stove, you can save a lot by still getting something nice, but just not convection. Because convection ovens run you more money. So instead of spending an extra 250.00 on a convection oven we spent a quarter of that on this, and it does all the same things including baking, and even broiling a whole chicken! So you can keep it simple with this thing, or put it to the test and go make some home made cookies!I will tell you to be patient, at first, even if you are doing basic toasting, it seems to take forever and you will wonder what the heck is going on.
March 20, 2015

PROS:
  • Offers exceptional performance and style
  • Fast and even convection baking
  • This countertop convection oven is quite affordable
  • Boasts indicator light

CONS:
  • The rack does not automatically eject so you have to pull it yourself

back to menu ↑

Waring Pro TCO650 Digital Convection Oven

Waring Pro TCO6

With this easy to use and clean countertop convection oven, you can cook a pizza, bake, toast, convection bake and even broil. Waring Pro TCO650 Digital Convection Oven comes with easy to clean crumb tray, an oven rack, and baking for cooking convenience. When using this oven, you need to place it at a minimum distance of 6″ away from a combustible material, the wall or other cords.

  • It is 0.6-cubic foot hence large enough to hold six slices of bread or a 12″ pizza.
  • Easy to clean touchpad controls located just below the LCD display to give you a clear view of temperatures.
  • Powered by 1500 watts for fast and even cooking.
  • Digital 60 minute timer that ensures the oven shuts itself automatically once the timer stops counting.

  • Product

Waring Pro TCO650 Digital Convection Oven

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Capacity of .6 cubic feet, 1500 watts; Bake, convection-bake, broil, toast, and pizza functions; Holds 6 slices of bread or a 12-inch pizza. Digital ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I am a 76yo single guy that cooks because he has to and not necessarily because I love it. When my wife was alive and at home, we ate pretty well although rather plain. She had to go into a nursing home last year and passed away 7 months later so I am now living in low income housing on my own for the first time in 40 years. I had a cheap toaster oven (B & D I believe) that died. I read reviews for about 25 or 30 different toaster ovens on Amazon. When I found the reviews for the Waring toaster oven I was highly impressed. Of all the reviews I looked at the ones for the Waring were the best (and the most). Last night I heated up a pot roast (already prepare by Jack Daniels) and it came out perfect & this morning I did a bagle (after I learned the controls) and it also came out perfect. Not being used to these kind of controls, that presents a bit of a learning curve but not unconcorable. Besides, I believe that life is a dynamic experience anyway and, therefore we are on a perpetual learning curve.My remarks on some of the complaints. 1st the bell. I approve. I sometimes forget that I have something in the oven and the bell is a great reminder. The one person I felt had a legitimate complaint about the bell was the lady with the sleeping baby. It would be nice to have a hook on the door to pull the rack out but I don't care. I just use my ov-glove or a pair of tongs to pull it out. And speaking of racks, it would be nice to have an extra one but they can be purchased through the Waring web site for $21.00 as of 12/7/12. I don't think I have seen this next complaint for Waring but I have seen it for other toaster ovens. The complaint is that the oven gets hot on the outside!!!
December 7, 2012
We purchased this because our existing toaster oven wouldn't bake frozen meat items at the high temps that were called for. But now that we have had this nice little unit for over a month, I can report that not only does it bake properly, it also broils and toasts very well indeed.First assignment we gave it: baking frozen breaded fish patties. It performed admirably.The front panel buttons allow you to select easily between bake, broil, and toast. After selecting "bake", you then rotate the control knob to select the desired temp, in 25 degree steps. Then you depress the knob to select the time. You choose either "0" or "1" hour, then repress the knob again to select the minutes. You can rotate the knob in either direction, which makes selecting the minutes go faster, depending on the number you want. Then depress the "Start" button and it's off and running.A nice loud (but not too loud, in my opinion) electronic beep signals you when it's done, and the oven shuts off automatically. Yep, the oven got as hot as the fish bag called for, and the breaded fish fillets came out perfect - crispy on the outside, and sufficiently cooked on the inside.Next assignment: broiling shrimp, in the shell, that we had butterflied and marinated.Raised the rack to its highest position, depressed the "broil" button, pulled the door open slightly (there is a built-in detent to keep it open the correct amount, about 1 inch), waited a bit for it to come up to speed, then put the shrimp under the broiler and returned the door to its slightly ajar position. Set the timer for a couple of minutes, and began watching it carefully.
December 27, 2012
Very nice little oven!It toasts well and fairly evenly. Its great for personal pizzas, fish. I bought this because when checking my electric usage (hourly) it was clear my large electric oven was using by far the most electricity during the day. While I can run the laundry and dishwasher outside peak hours, I need to cook something. Its too early to say how much money this will save me, I'll try to report back in a month or two.The size is decent given how huge this is inside. I set mine on top of a wine fridge next to my counter so its not taking up any counter space. I flat right angle electric extension cord (Ziotek ZT1212597 Black 360-Degree Rotating 18-Inch Power Strip Liberator, 3-Pack) helps the reach and keeps my counter clean. This certainly pre-heats MUCH faster than full size oven. As I am generally cooking for one this is all I need, though you could cook for two, it has lots of room.I did purchase a separate baking set that is dishwasher safe, OvenStuff Non-Stick 6-Piece Toaster Oven Baking Pan Set, and happier with those because they are easier to clean.The controls are easy to use, however I took off one star because:1. it is too easy to screw up the clock setting, this should require pressing and holding the knob for 3-5 seconds since you do NOT change clock time often.2. when you rotate the knob to set minutes, it cannot be turned fast, it has to be slow or it "skips" advancement. This makes it a tiny bit tedious to set something for 20-40min (over 40 you can rotate backwards).. This is picky, but you have to use this control every time you use the oven.3. The presets work great for getting temp close to what you want and you can dial up or down, but they do not set a preset TIME...
February 11, 2013

PROS:
  • Toasts and bakes great
  • Keeps oven temperature consistent always
  • Automatically shuts itself

CONS:
  • The extras of this countertop convection oven including the crumb tray, rack, and baking pan are not dishwasher safe

back to menu ↑

Hamilton Beach 31103A Countertop Oven

Hamilton Beach 31103A Countertop Oven

With two oven racks, small baking pan, large enamel coated baking pan and excellent roasting and baking performance, this is truly a great countertop convection oven. Hamilton Beach 31103A Countertop Oven is small enough so it can easily fit on any kitchen counter but large enough allowing you to cook any meal. In addition, it comes with versatile cooking functions including roasting, baking cakes, broiling and even crisping cookies.

  • Boasts extra large interior capacity that easily fits two 12-inch pizzas, a 5 lb chicken, two cake pans, two 9-inch by 13-inch casseroles or two sheets of cookies.
  • Two-hour timer with automatic shut-off and audible tone
  • Slide out, full-width crumb tray and rotisserie accessories such as lift and forks with a rod.
  • Easy to read temperature and function dials located on the front of the control panel which can be adjusted desired temperatures and four preprogrammed settings including Rotisserie, Convection, Bake and Broil respectively.

  • Product

Hamilton Beach 31103A Countertop Oven with Convection and Rotisserie

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Maximum versatility - including rotisserie; Extra-large capacity - fits two 12" pizzas, two 9" x 13" casseroles, or two cake pans; Revolving ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I searched many places online for a counter top oven. I am single, live by myself, and there is no need to waste money and energy on a full-size oven. This one caught my eye due to the price, consistent reviews across several websites, and the stainless steel design. I tested out a hand-tossed pizza as my first meal and found it to be quite good, though I learned it is best to place the pizza on the bottom rack, turn the pizza around halfway through, and place it on either the rack 2nd from the top, or the top rack position so that the cheese is fully melted and the sauce is hot. My 2nd pizza was very good quality; crust was very crisp, cheese melted perfectly, heated thoroughly through and rather fast cooking time. I have also tried chicken nuggets which were absolutely perfect; juicy and piping hot on the inside, outside crisp and mildly crunchy. It will take some adjusting to find what rack setting works best for what food. You will have to get used to turning the food around halfway through cooking for proper quality. As a prior review noted, you will need to turn the temperature knob until the mark aligns with the end of the curved line just before the degree number to get proper temperature. If you want 400 degrees, you will need to turn the knob until the line matches the end of the curved line before the number 400. You get plenty of extras with the oven, and the baking pan is quite sturdy. The medium-sized rack for the broiling pan can also be used as a cooling rack. I have not tested the rotisserie yet. Why not 5 stars? Despite the quality of counter top cooking this oven provides, there are just enough little things that irk me to keep it from 5 stars. First, the oven is a bit dirty when you first open it.
February 11, 2012
Similar to other reviewers (such as Donna Ehler), I have had two of these defective ovens after HB replaced the original only to be sent another defective oven with the same defect. Here is my original email to HB:"Hi,This confirms my just concluded phone conversation with your customer support representative about my defective HB countertop convection rotisserie oven model: 31103 series: A262ICE. I bought it from Sears on 1/13/13 and from the beginning it was a cold oven, meaning it never heated up properly. The dial is marked for 450 degrees but it never gets hotter than 325-350. And it takes forever to heat up. The discrepancy between the dial temperature and the actual temperature is usually 100 degrees. Normally with toaster ovens, the heating rods will remain red until the oven reaches the desired temperature but this oven will cycle off well before the desired temperature is ever reached. The rods are seldom red hot even while I am waiting for it to heat up. It might reach its maximum temperature of 350 if I leave it on for 30 minutes or more. If I turn on the convection fan, the temperature will drop to 300. The oven is very frustrating and useless to cook pizza, biscuits, oven potatoes and many other things that require a high temperature. I believe the thermostat may be defective or the settings relating thereto are defective.I am forwarding my Sears eReceipt as well as a scan of my paper receipt as well as two pix. Please confirm receipt of this email and attachments. Thank you for your assistance in this matter."Then they sent another defective oven and here is my second email to HB:"On 4/22/13, I received the replacement HB rotisserie/convection toaster oven and I have been testing it out since then.
February 5, 2012

PROS:
  • Power indicator light
  • Non-stick oven interior hence easy to clean
  • Easy to read and use controls

CONS:
  • The accessories of this countertop convection oven are not dishwasher safe so you need to hand-clean them and dry

back to menu ↑

Cuisinart TOB-135 Deluxe Convection Toaster Oven Broiler

Cuisinart TOB-135 Deluxe Convection Toaster Oven Broiler

Boasting 0.6-cubic foot capacity that allows you to roast a 4 lb chicken, toasts 6-slices of bread, bake a 12″ pizza, roast a 1.5 lb tenderloin and toast four bagel slices, this countertop convection oven offers generous oven space for all your favorite cooking jobs. Cuisinart TOB-135 Deluxe Convection Toaster Oven Broiler boasts durable brushed stainless-steel construction and a non-stick interior making it easy to clean. In addition, it comes with a three-year limited warranty for your peace of mind after the purchase.

  • You can choose from 9 preset cooking functions including Toast, Defrost, Bagel, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat, Convection bake, Potatoes and Keep Warm.
  • A two-hour timer that allows for automatic shut-off, electronic dials plus LED buttons.
  • Includes a number of accessories such as a broiling rack, oven rack, recipe booklet, baking pan and a removable crumb tray that are convenient and easy to use.
  • Easy to use digital controls featuring large blue back-lit display for quick setting of function, temperature, and even cook-time.
  • Exact Heat sensor that ensures precise oven temperature is maintained throughout thereby allowing for perfectly cooked meals always.

  • Product

Cuisinart TOB-135 Deluxe Convection Toaster Oven Broiler, Brushed Stainless

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Spacious 0.6 cubic-foot capacity fits 6 slices of bread or a 12-inch pizza; 9 functions; Digital controls with large blue backlit display; electronic ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I chose this toaster oven after exhaustive research. Why so much time spent? Because I didn't research at all the last one I bought about three years ago. That one was a pricey Cuisinart; so I thought to myself as I grabbed it off the shelf at Bed, Bath & Beyond that it must be a decent product. What a mistake. It was the most illogical, irritating thing imaginable. There was no "On-Off" button, and no "On" indicator light of any kind, so you never actually knew if it was on or off. The only way to turn it on, apparently, was by setting the timer, which ran for all of three minutes. So, to cook an item for fifteen minutes, the timer had to be set five times! The only way to turn the thing off was by pulling the plug out from the wall.After that experience, I never thought I'd end up with another Cuisinart, but did; and so far, so good. This one is light years ahead of the one I just dumped, being well thought out and simple to use. It toasts, bakes, and broils very quickly. Another reviewer said it takes four minutes for toast. I'm not getting that at all. I think he might be looking at the "4" on the screen, which is for the shade of medium, and confusing that with minutes, I don't know.Another thing I like is that it has insulation on the sides and does not get too hot. In fact, the sides do not seem to get hot at all. This was a big consideration for me, as some of these things are like fire hazards. The glass door does get hot, so you can't touch that; but the handle is far enough away from the glass for this to be a problem.Several others complained about the size; and you can see my comments after one of these reviews. I think it is a standard size toaster oven. You can fit at least six very large baked potatoes.
March 12, 2014
Toaster ovens in my experience are good for a year or two than elements need to be replaced, knobs fall off, etc. So when I found the toaster oven I purchased at Overstock lasted seven plus years as a reconditioned item, I knew when I needed a replacement I'd be buying another from Cuisinart. My older oven still works, but it definitely is showing age as the light-dark dial for toast is toast (just spins) and the door no longer closes successfully. So I started comparing Cuisinart models and also sites to purchase from (narrowing it down to Overstock and Amazon). This Cuisinart TOB-135 came out the winner as it was a trifle larger than some others and also offered the preprogramming functions, including a cooking timer. Amazon also offered the best deal - at least $15 less than Overstock and with my Prime free shipping, purchasing from here was a no brainer!My only concern was my housemates admitted lack of electronic capability, but the way this Cuisinart is designed even an admitted technophobe was baking, toasting, and broiling with the simplest instructions from me - and the Cuisinart too. That's right this little toaster ovens controls blink to tell you what to do next. It could not be easier to learn to use. Toast comes out shaded the way I want, the baking function and auto timer shut off - fabulous. It's roomy enough for a smallish (4lb) chicken or even a small boneless leg of lamb - which is great when you don't want to use a large oven or heat up the whole house. I haven't yet tried the convection function, but plan to when I do some baking. One thing...definitely read the instructions as there are some handy tips there, including where and when to place the oven rack for the most successful cooking.This is a really solid toaster and so well constructed.
October 25, 2013

PROS:
  • BPA free
  • Boasts wide array of cooking options to choose from
  • This countertop convection oven cooks food faster and more evenly

CONS:
  • The broil temperature is fixed at 500-degrees F

back to menu ↑

Oyama TRO-110C Turbo Convection Oven

Oyama TRO-110C Turbo Convection Oven

If you are looking for a beautiful countertop convection oven capable of simplifying most of your cooking chores by making it less time consuming, the Oyama TRO-110C Turbo Convection Oven is a great option. It can roast, bake, steam and even grill chicken quickly by using super-heated circulating air.

  • Comes with a 12-liter tempered glass cooking bowl that is high-temperature resistant and provides enough space for a wide array of foods.
  • Includes, an instruction manual for easy use, two wire cooking racks, recipes booklet and plate tong.
  • Two built-in separate dials that allows you to set your desired temperature and cooking time for convenience purposes.
  • Weighs 14 pounds only and comes with a glass that is easy to clean

  • Product

Oyama TRO-110C Turbo Convection Oven, 12 L, White

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Able to Bake, Grill, Steam or Roast; Attractive, easy to clean glass; 12 liter tempered heat resistant glass cooking bowl provides ample cooking space ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
It took me a few days to actually get interested in using my new oven. The directions are really lacking, so I wasn't sure where to start. There were only two recipes in the instruction booklet - lobster and crispy chicken. There wasn't even a standard instruction booklet diagram explaining the different parts in the box or how they fit together. Fortunately there are many similar models on the Internet, so I found directions in other brand's instruction booklets to fill in my knowledge gaps. One mysterious, extra piece turned out to be a handle to take the racks out when they are hot, but that took some Internet digging to figure out. It wasn't obvious what to use it for from looking at it, and it wasn't mentioned anywhere in the instruction booklet.Other than that, once I got over the where do I even start hurdle, the oven overall works great. Food generally cooks in less time than it takes to cook in our wall ovens, and I suspect at much less wattage. My first dish to try was roasted onions and potatoes and it turned out very tasty on my initial attempt. I love roasted potatoes, but I usually don't have a lot of roasted food over the summer because our built in ovens tend to heat up the whole house, which we try to avoid when it is 90 degrees or more outside. This turbo oven roasted my onion and potato dish well without heating up the surrounding areas in the kitchen. I wish I would have had this turbo oven to use at the beginning of summer.My second dishes to try were chicken breasts and pork chops. Again both came out very good even on my initial attempt. I did leave the pork chops in a bit too long and they got a little dry, but that was my fault and not the oven's. I let them simmer in gravy after taking them out of the oven and they moistened out well.
October 2, 2013
Just got this item yesterday. We made chicken, baked potatoes, and cauliflower in it for dinner last night and we absolutely love how it works and the way the food came out. Now we are just hoping the element lasts. We'll update this review as time goes on, but we are likely going to be using this at least five days every week. Wish I had purchased one before this.For our boneless, skinless chicken breasts last night, we pounded them to 1/2" thickness, coated them with a mixture of sour cream, a little olive oil mayo, then dredged them in panko bread crumbs with spices and a bit of olive oil. We put these on the bottom rack with four Idaho bakers in the skins on the top rack for 40 minutes at 400°F. Then we put in a partly wrapped foil pouch of cauliflower pieces with some cayenne for another 20 minutes. This was the best chicken we've had in years, and the potatoes and roast cauliflower came out great as well.Clean up was amazingly easy as we had lined the bottom of the glass bowl with a sheet of foil. Fast, easy, low energy consumption and great tasting food! Can't beat this for the price. Oh, and did I mention it also fun!?========================================================A few things to consider adding on.....First, we have used this to make some of the best chicken and fish (along with potatoes and veggies) we've had in years. We love it.Tonight we tried pizza for the first time and we used two items we got from Amazon.com that I thought would help and it turned out they did. So here is a recommendation for you for under $15 including shipping if you have Prime....We got the Winware 9" "Pizza Scream" (aluminum) and the 10" Cook Pro stainless mesh colander. Together under $15 including shiping, prime.
April 16, 2012

PROS:
  • Affordable option
  • Easy to clean and use
  • Different temperature settings that gives the user so much flexibility in regards to what he/she want prepare the food
  • Simple but attractive design

CONS:
  • The cooking functions of this countertop convection oven are limited compared to the rest of the product in this review

back to menu ↑

KitchenAid KCO223CU 12″ Convection Countertop Oven

KitchenAid KCO223CU 12" Convection Countertop Oven

For its sleek modern design, great functionality and high capacity, this countertop convection oven makes food quickly and evenly. KitchenAid KCO223CU 12″ Convection Countertop Oven boasts a one-year hassle-free replacement warranty, a removable stainless steel crumb tray, two stainless-steel racks, and an easy to clean stainless steel broil pan with a grill that is ideal for warming, baking, and broiling. In addition, it offers you a full-size oven performance allowing you to broil a side dish, toast bread, bake pizza and even keep an already cooked dish warm.

  • 60 Minute timer to remind you when a dish is fully cooked so the oven can automatically shut itself off. This reduces the risk of overcooking and also serves a safety feature.
  • 12-inch capacity that is large enough to accommodate two 12-inch pizzas, 4 lb chicken, 6-slices of bread at once, four chicken breasts and much more.
  • The oven cavity boasts a nonstick coating that allows for effortless cleaning and can be used up to temperatures of 450-degrees with Convection Bake and Broil functions.
  • Boasts great design with silver handle and contour silver.

  • Product

KitchenAid KCO223CU 12-Inch Convection Countertop Oven with Silver Handle, Contour Silver

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Use your countertop oven to bake pizza, broil a side dish, keep an already cooked dish warm or toast bread.; Use the countertop oven just like a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
HOW TO REPAIR: My THIRD free replacement oven died the same as the others - no power - but this one did last just over a year, so no more free replacements. In case you are qualified to work on electrical appliances, here is how I repaired it quite easily. USE THESE UNSAFE INSTRUCTIONS AT YOUR OWN RISK. Remove the cover and unplug all the wires from the cheap little made-in-china circuit board. Make a note of which wire is plugged into TIMER IN (labeled on the circuit board, right next to the white relay). Connect this wire permanently to the black (hot) wire coming from the plug (I crimped their connectors together with pliers and taped it). Make sure all others removed connectors are safely stowed/taped but left unconnected. The oven should now work normally in most modes, but perhaps not broil. However, it now has NO SAFETY SWITCH, which prevents fire in case it doesn't shut off as it should. To replace this, I used a 'Woods 59008 Decora Style 60-30-20-10 Minute Preset Wall Switch Timer' (I wired it into an outlet box with an extension cord). So I turn on the wall timer, then turn on the oven timer. The wall timer works as a failsafe. So with the cheap transistor circuit completely removed, the oven works fine, and cycles normally with the thermostat. Should last years. Thanks KitchenAid!ANOTHER UPDATE: After about 6 months, the replacement stopped working too. So now I'm on my THIRD one of these. Clearly KitchenAid has quality control problems. At this rate I'll be getting free ovens for the rest of my life from them (since each replacement comes with a full warranty). This one had a similar problem - I think they have a kill switch in it that shuts it off after its been on for too long, but this kill switch malfunctions (by design?
December 11, 2010

PROS:
  • Easy to use controls
  • Offers great convection cooking capabilities
  • Safe to use even for children

CONS:
  • The countertop convection oven usually gets hot to touch during use

back to menu ↑

Frigidaire Professional Stainless Programmable 6 Slice Infrared Convection Toaster Oven

Frigidaire Professional Stainless Programmable 6 Slice Infrared Convection Toaster Oven

We all know Frigidaire makes some of the top rated kitchen appliances on the market and this Programmable 6 Slice Infrared Convection Toaster Oven is a great addition to their family of appliances. So if you want to take your cooking skills to a whole new level, you should consider investing in this great countertop convection oven. It boasts a sleek and very easy to use design making everything from reheating to dinner preparation a simple job.

  • Features 8-preset cooking options including Reheat, Broil, Bake, Toast and much more just at the touch of a button.
  • Uses Infrared rapid cooking technology to offer quicker preheating and cooking. This means there is less waiting any time you’re hungry for an entire meal or for a snack.
  • Easy to read Pro-select LCD display so you can view the different cooking settings clearly.
  • PowerPlus convection allowing to cook your food more evenly and faster together with PowerPlus preheat function to heat your meals fast thereby saving up on time.
  • Includes a baking pan, an adjustable cooking rack, user-friendly manual and fits up to six slices of bread.

  • Product

Frigidaire Professional Stainless Programmable 6-Slice Infared Convection Toaster Oven

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Rapid Cooking Infrared Technology; PowerPlus Convection; Pro-Select LCD Display,PowerPlus Preheat; 8 Preset Cooking Options; Please refer User Manual ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought the Frigidaire after my last toaster oven died (after about 2 years of use). The one thing I really disliked about my last toaster oven (Black and Decker) was the timing system. It had a tiny little knob that you turned to set the cook time. Well, for toast the difference between good toast and burnt toast was about 1/8" on that knob. Basically, I had to sit there and watch the toast otherwise it would get burned.So when I sent looking for a new toaster oven, a digital timer was a must. I was attracted to this unit because of its good looks and when I saw that it had a digital timer, I thought it was the perfect unit.Unfortunately on the toast setting the time is pre-set! In other words, if tell the oven that you have two slices and you want it lightly toasted, the time is pre-set to 4:10 (or something like that). If you bump the setting to medium toast, it is pre-set to 5:05 (approximately). Well wouldn't you know it, for me 4:10 is too light and 5:05 is burnt! Which means just like the last unit I have to stand there and watch it. To make matters worse, it takes a very long time to make toast. 5 minutes! On my old Black and Decker a minute or two was all it took.It's better as an oven -- large capacity and convection capability. In fact this could really double as your "main" oven if you are just cooking for 1-3 people (saving electricty and heat from a main oven). The convection capability works great, crisping up things like frozen chicken nuggets or fries.Although I prefer function over aesthetics, I have to admit this is a handsome unit. The stainless finish and blue LCD look very nice. In addition, Frigidaire has this "feature" which they call "infrared cooking" or something like that.
January 16, 2012

PROS:
  • For an infrared technology, this countertop convection oven is an affordable option
  • Offers various cooking options
  • Has a modern look

CONS:
  • No defrost-setting programmed into the appliance

back to menu ↑

Vonshef 12.5 Quart Premium 1200W Halogen Convection Countertop Oven Cooker

Vonshef 12.5 Quart Premium 1200W Halogen Convection Countertop Oven Cooker

Designed for use even in the smallest kitchens, this is a highly versatile countertop convection oven that allows you to bake pastries, bread or steam vegetables etc. With Vonshef 12.5 Quart Premium 1200W Halogen Convection Countertop Oven Cooker, you can also use Fry, Roast, Steam and Broil food. And with its halogen bulb, this countertop convection oven cooks faster and uses 75 percent less electricity compared to a convection oven.

  • Featuring 12.5-18-Quart capacity glass bowl, it can be used as an overflow oven when extra oven space is needed.
  • Boasts variable temperatures settings including defrosting and heating while distributing heat evenly.
  • This countertop convection oven comes with a 12-month manufacturers guarantee.
  • Includes accessories such as a single glove, a baking tray, oven height extender ring, four skewer forks, low food grill, lid holder, set of tongs, steamer tray, and high food grill.

  • Product

VonShef 12.5-Quart Premium 1200w Halogen Convection Countertop Oven Cooker complete with Accessories...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; The oven can be used to Roast, Bake, Broil, Steam and Fry food. Highly versatile oven that allows you to steam vegetables or bake pastries, bread etc. ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought this in April, 2014. Yep, I am just writing a review today. I really love this thing. I don't have a full kitchen, so no luxury like a stove to bake or broil (or fry) with.This thing was ok. I used it on a daily basis for many months baking/broiling and I loved it's convenience. One thing always irked me, the light would never turn off and on like on the commercials, and it seemed to take a while to cook, albeit perfectly. A quick 20 min test with an oven thermometer verified my suspicions. It never hit 300 degrees. Meh, I was ok with it, and kept on cooking. After about 8 months of daily use, I went to plug it in to cook something, and it popped (the plug) and scared me to death!. After I peeled myself off the ceiling, I examined the plug and saw had some black scorch marks around the prongs. Knowing this to be a bad sign, I promptly tossed it into my "check into this later" pile, and began searching for a new cord. I contacted the company in the UK, who let me know they didn't sell accessory parts like this. I searched on the internet but could find nothing like it. So, my little oven sat for months. I simply was not going to buy another one, because the one I had was perfectly fine, I just needed a replacement cord. (ok, I had my fingers crossed that it was perfectly fine)Last week, I was in the middle of moving my computers around and realized how very similar my monitor power cords were to the VonShef cord. I hit my trusty basket of "spare computer parts I can't bear to throw away" and found a massive heavy duty monitor power cord I had as a spare. I compared it, and the plug was identical. I fitted it, tested it, and it worked! I was back in business!
March 6, 2013

PROS:
  • Easily portable
  • Easy to operate and retains flavors and nutrients of foods
  • Affordable

CONS:
  • The self-cleaning function only cleans the bowl

Do I Need a Convection Oven?

If you love faster cooking so you can save on energy costs, then you really need a convection oven because a countertop convection oven will surely speed up your overall cooking time. Another reason you would need a convection oven is if you want your food to have a more natural taste and maintain its natural juices. On the other hand, if convenience, more heating options with consistent temperatures is what you are looking for in an oven, you definitely need a convection oven.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why

Looking at the features, pros and cons of each of these countertop convection oven options in this review, Cuisinart TOB-135 Deluxe Convection Toaster Oven Broiler is our top pick for the following reasons. First, it comes with 3-year limited warranty and brushed stainless-steel construction for a long-lasting performance. It is also BPA free with 9-preset cooking functions and two-hour timer for an efficient cooking process.

Sources:

Wikipedia.org

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password