10 Best Home Espresso Machine Reviews — Greatest in the Market

Having a home espresso machine in your home is the perfect way to having ready coffee in the house whenever you need it. The espresso procedure involves pushing hot water under compression through compacted coffee. Producing the pressure may undertake any of these three options: steam method, pump or manual mechanism. The machine is quite convenient for use because it does not require the application of any specific skills; it entirely controls the coffee making process.

Best Home Espresso Machines Reviews

De’Longhi EC155 15 BAR Pump Espresso and Cappuccino Maker

De'Longhi EC155 15 BAR Pump Espresso and Cappuccino Maker

With this amazing home espresso machine, you will always prepare the best espresso ever. De’Longhi EC155 15 BAR Pump Espresso and Cappuccino Maker is featured with amazing characteristics to ensure that you always have the most amazing  experience. Here are some of the features:

  1. It has a swivel frother that is meant to enable you to obtain a rich creamy lather when you are preparing your latte or cappuccino.
  2. Features a self-preparing functionality that reduces wastage of time because it does not have a startup operation.
  3. It is fashioned with the patented dual filter feature to ensure that you don’t get limited to ground coffee only but you can add the ground coffee in the filter and prepare coffee in an instant.
  4. It has a removable water tank that gives you all the needed convenience for cleaning.
  • Product
  • Photos

De'Longhi EC155 15 BAR Pump Espresso and Cappuccino Maker

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Espresso cups are smaller than regular cup because the normal amount for an espresso is around 1.5 fl oz.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I love espresso, and this little baby makes a great cup. Here are a few points that might be useful for you to know:Good points:*It doesn't take up too much room on the counter and looks nice with it's silver metal accents.*The water reservoir is a good size, you can make about 8-10 shots before you need to refill it, which is very easy to do, and there is a clear section behind the basket which shows the water level.*Fast heat-up time (only about a minute), good frothing wand, no wait time between frothing and brewing (though you do have to wait a little between brewing and frothing).Be warned:*Frothing wand is only 3 1/4 inches from the counter top. Not a big deal, I just went and bought a frothing cup that is about that height.*Distance from grounds basket to tray is only 2 1/2 inches, I usually use a small espresso cup.*Built-in tamper sucks, buy a good metal one.*You don't end up with a nice dry puck, the grounds basket is a watery soup after your espresso is made, so I dump it down the disposal.*You will end up drinking more espresso than you mean to, it's that good!Seriously, I chose this machine after a lot of online researching, and decided on this one based on its outstanding reviews and great price. What led me to it were the reviews of another DeLonghi, the EC140B, which is an older and less attractive model, but had reviews from people who had owned theirs for 6 and 10 years! I'm hoping that this one will have the same longevity.-----> UPDATE: I've now had this machine for 8 months and it started running very slow.Read more ›
April 23, 2007
I am Italian, born and raised. Moved to US at 30 yrs old. Moved to an area where there's no Italian-American influence, no chance of going out for an espresso. Only Starbucks... no thanks. Thought I could go by without espresso for 6 years (what was I thinking??? I don't know). Then sudden espresso cravings made me buy this espresso machine. De Longhi is a very common brand in Italy for any type of home appliances. I've had this machine for 6 months now, using it every day. It's awesome. Like the espresso cup you'd get in Italy "al bar". It gives a thick layer of "crema" on top of each cup.Here some answers to other reviewers' cons:* somebody wrote the water was not coming out and returned the machine: you need to bang the water tank real hard in position, otherwise it doesn't connect. It happened to me first time using it... I thought machine was defective too because coffee was not coming out. My husband banged it in there and started working right away.* ground basket is soupy: with espresso machines you have to fill the basket to its fullest, nothing like drip machines. You need to have coffee heaping out like an upside-down cone and then gently press it down with the tamper. Don't press too hard otherwise the water doesn't make it through.* built-it tamper sucks: this puzzles me. A tamper is whatever flat surface you have handy. In Italy people don't use tampers, considered a fancy thing for coffee shops. People just uses the back of a spoon to tamper the coffee down. The spoon that comes with this machine is perfect for that by the way. You just need a flat round surface of same diameter to have a great tamper. The built-in one works great. You only need a minor pressure otherwise you compact coffee too much.Read more ›
August 29, 2011
First, a couple of disclaimers:1. This is the first pump-driven espresso machine that we have owned.2. We generally drink cafe Americano, which is an espresso with a little added hot water (or cold water with an iced Americano). We make an occasional cappuccino and have thus used the steam wand, but not extensively.After doing a cost/benefit analysis in regards to our current cafe Americano habit (~10 per week), we realized that there would be some justification to buying a home unit. We first considered the Breville ESP8XL Cafe Roma Stainless Espresso Maker, but reviewers consistently lamented the unit's tendency to clog the filter, necessitating time-consuming cleaning. Also, not being completely sure that we would actually use the espresso maker, we balked at the $250 price tag.We also considered moving up to one of the superautomatico machines that grind, tamp, brew and dispose of the grinds, but we worried about the reliability of technology that had only recently hit the consumer-grade appliances. After reading zillions of reviews, we realized that every mid-priced machine had some glaring flaw and, in the end, we decided to buy an inexpensive pump-driven unit and wait for the technology to catch up before investing a huge chunk of change in an espresso machine. Moving our investigation to low-end espresso makers, we were impressed by the reviews of the DeLonghi EC155 and purchased it from Amazon.I put off writing a review in order to make sure that the DeLonghi was going to last until we had at least broken even on it. We received it in mid-July and since then it has produced about 200 double shots flawlessly. By my reckoning, that's about $400 worth of Americanos at the local cafe.Read more ›
January 1, 2008

PROS:
  • It has a pocket-friendly price compared to its amazing features.
  • It is quick in brewing and in less than 30 you will have a ready cup of espresso.
  • It has an overall attractive design that will give your kitchen an appealing appearance.

CONS:
  • It does not have power indicators for water levels and power on.
  • It does not possess the auto shut down option.

back to menu ↑

Mr. Coffee ECM160 4-Cup Steam Espresso Machine

Mr. Coffee ECM160 4-Cup Steam Espresso Machine

Want to prepare a coffee shop kind of espresso at the convenience of your home? This Mr Coffee ECM160 is perfect for you to make your dream come true. It comes with the most amazing features to ensure that you can have the most excellent coffee in your home. Below are some of the astounding features of this machine:

  1. It comes with a removable drip catcher feature that facilitates easy cleaning of the espresso machine. You can remove the drip tray that holds coffee drips and clean it to ensure that the brewing space is kept neat.
  2. Most actual machines are usually heavy and bulky. As opposed to that Mr. Coffee ECM160 machine is quite light and small.
  3. It has a frothing arm that is featured to ensure that all your cappuccinos and latte are toped up with a tasty creamy froth.
  • Product
  • Photos

Mr. Coffee ECM160 4-Cup Steam Espresso Machine, Black

Make delicious coffeehouse style drinks at home with the Mr. Coffee

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've had this machine for over a year. I have tried other machines, even a pump. It makes good cappuccinos/lattes when the milk is steamed properly at the right temperature. If your only into espresso shots, I would go with a different pump driven machine.PROS-Inexpensive, Small-Frother is strong, plastic tip is removable-Quiet (then a pump machine)-Latte art hearts (SEE picture)CONS-Supplied tamper is just a slightly flattened end of the coffee scooper.-No frothing pitcher.-Multiple shots requires de-pressuring the machine.NOTESThere seems to be a lot of reviews stating it works fine in the beginning then after a while is poor or just stops. Ive noticed that during regular use, water starts to build up in the tank. This is because you never really use all the water in the tank per brew. This excess water I believe causes a problem. Either dump it out after, or what I do is, brew it out "before" I make a cappuccino as to warm up the machine on a cold start.There also seems to be a lot of reviews saying it's not real espresso or there is no crema. This is true. It's a steam driven machine they've been making this type of machine for years. It can not match the pressure or the amount of crema produced by a pump driven machine. BUT it can produce a decent 'steam' espresso w/ crema ready to be made to a latte/cappuccino. The problem with the reviewers is that there are so many factors involved in why are not producing crema or a good cup. It could be the bean, the grind, the tamp, perhaps it's a cold start, not enough water, or too much water, etc etc the list goes on. It's something you'll have to figure out yourself.Read more ›
January 4, 2009
Love this product. I read all the other reviews before buying, so I knew it didn't come with a steaming pitcher and ordered one to go with it. However, I didn't realize that it didn't come with an espresso tamper either. I would have ordered one had I known, now I have to wait for the one I ordered to come in and hope it fits this machine. Would have given it 5 stars, but as a former barista, I know that to make a good latte I need a steaming pitcher and a tamper. So for an espresso machine not to come with these items is like getting a pair of sneakers with no laces. I have had no problem with leaking, and as long as the user READS THE INSTRUCTIONS, they shouldn't have any problems either. For $40, I've already gotten my money's worth in the last week. And anyone interested in buying, I would say "GO FOR IT!!!" but order a steaming pitcher and espresso tamper along with it.Note: P.S. Get a 49mm espresso tamper to go with it. Doesn't fit "perfectly" but its as close as I could find that wouldn't be too big.
October 12, 2008
I bought this at Targét for $29, and it is freaking awesome. To the two reviewers above... if you actually read the manual you would know that the cord underneath the base can be unraveled to the desired length. This is to eliminate excess cord on your countertop.Anyway, I discovered I was spending almost $200 at Starbucks... a near crack habit. My previous espresso machine broke over the summer--a $300 Gaggia. Prior to the gaggia I had a krups.So I plunked down a few bucks for this one knowing I was taking a wee gamble. Usually you get what you pay for.Let me tell ya, this little machine is great. First, it is super super quiet. My previous machines were deafening especially when frothing. Secondly, it takes up little space. Third, it's fairly nice looking and matches our coffee maker. And of course last, it makes great lattés.So, don't waste your money on some huge hulking espresso machine that will only last a few years. This one does the job and won't cause ear trauma.
February 27, 2008

PROS:
  • It is quite easy to assemble and you won’t need some professional skill to put it together.
  • It does not consume much of your kitchen space because it is compact.
  • It comes with an affordable price to fit your budget.

CONS:
  • Being a steam machine, it doesn’t build up enough pressure as a pump espresso machine would do.
  • It does not come along with a frothing pitcher and the tamper is of a low quality it may need a replacement.

back to menu ↑

DeLonghi EC702 15-Bar-Pump Espresso Maker

DeLonghi EC702 15-Bar-Pump Espresso Maker

DeLonghi EC702 15-Bar-Pump Espresso Maker is specially designed to ensure that you enjoy a quality and sweet kind of coffee anytime you need it. Some of its incredible features are listed below:

  1. It features a cup warming tray that ensures you have a ready cup of coffee at all times.
  2. This machine is pump driven to enable you to obtain the best quality espresso from the ground coffee.
  3. With the patented filter feature you can use both the ground coffee and pods. This helps a fast preparation of latte or cappuccino.
  • Product
  • Photos

DeLonghi EC702 15-Bar-Pump Espresso Maker, Stainless

Enjoy delicious espresso made your way with De'Longhi's pump espresso and cappuccino maker. You can choose to brew ground espresso or E.S.E pods with the unique patented dual filter holder. The ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
After purchasing and returning a cheap Mr. Coffee steam espresso machine that produced nothing close to a real espresso, I decided to get serious about finding a solid "entry-level" espresso machine. I did an exhaustive (ie: ridiculous) amount of research, reading reviews at a myriad of sites, comparing prices, talking to friends who consider themselves "espresso experts", etc. What I found first is that you will never find 100% agreement on a given machine. Second, you have to establish your price range. It does seem that with espresso machines, the more you're willing to pay, the more you get, either in features, design, longevity or performance. For me, despite my friend raving about his newest $700 "it does everything except read the paper to you" machine, as a first time home machine buyer, I wanted to limit my first expenditure. So I set a max budget at $250 and learned about every possible option.I won't go through the reasons I didn't buy other machines and it is possible that many I chose not to buy would have been perfectly good. What I will tell you is that thus far, about 3 months and 100+ espressos later, I am extremely happy with my DeLonghi EC702. The bottom line is that it produces a perfect crema with a rich taste. The steaming wand, though not perfectly designed, works well and I can make excellent Lattes. I feel it is important to add that like any machine, it takes some practice to produce the perfect espresso. There are so many human variables that come into play - how long to let the pump run, proper warm-up time, type of coffee, the grind, how much you compact/tamp the coffee, etc. - that no two people will get the same results. However, the performance of this machine has been flawless. I have not experienced any leaks or problems.Read more ›
May 14, 2010
I have been making espresso at home for 30 years and have gone through 3 machines prior to purchasing the DeLonghi. The first was purchased in Rome in 1978 when home-brewed espresso in the US was a rarity. That machine lasted 10 years before the pump blew out and looking back it just made 'acceptable' coffee. I next purchased a Krups (from Amazon) and ran that one to death in 10 more years. It was a fine machine but not surprisingly, it did wear out. A good value for the price and I got a lot of service from it. Then I got a Braun which was totally serviceable for yet another 10 years....do these things all last 10 years? I guess so. When it was time to purchase another espresso maker, I chose the DeLonghi EC702. What a nice surprise! It heats up really quickly, and despite the owner's manual that says let it warm up for 15 minutes before you brew the first cup, I find you can get a perfect cup after only about 3 minutes of warm-up. Then, hit the 'milk steamer' button and in just one more minute it's hot enough to do the milk for a great cappuccino. The steamer nozzle is the first I've seen that can be EASILY dismantled (two small pieces to pull off) and rinsed. Former models had to be scrubbed with a scouring pad occasionally to scape off the residue left on the nozzle. This DeLonghi setup is far better and the steamer nozzle is always clean and ready for your next cappuccino. The drip tray (plastic with a metal grid) pulls off for easy cleaning too. Being a coffee-hound, I use the double-filter basket to make a single cup, although the photo shows two demitasse cups being filled side-by-side. Really, I'd recommend this machine without reservation.Read more ›
April 15, 2010
I purchased this item 2 months ago and have been using it daily ever since. Previous posters were correct on the steamer wand (it IS a bit restrictive, I suggest purchasing one of the smaller frothing pitchers rather than a big one). Also, it *DOES* put out a lot of water through the steaming/frothing wand when you first turn it on, but you can get around that (more on that later).It DOES produce a FABULOUS Espresso shot, Cappucino, Latte's, it tastes MUCH better than Starbucks to me and it only took me two attempts to get my technique down to where it's NOT a problem.1. Loading coffee. I use half and half Lavazza in the can with the mark on it that has the Espresso picture and half any local bean ground to a #3 setting in the store - my preference is for Blue Jamaican. Put the local ground half in FIRST, then put the Lavazza in on top of that.2. Tamping. This is NOT a "press as hard as you can" thing. I use the double size grind basket, and a full scoop looks just SLIGHTLY rounded ABOVE the top edge BEFORE I tamp it, using a light "tapping" force like I'd knock on a door lightly. Tamp it LEVEL with the top of the basket, then use your finger to wipe around the EDGE of the basket top to get rid of the grinds that are on the edges where it will seal. Keeping the seal clear of grinds will prevent leaking.3. Turning on the machine for warmup: I put it on STEAM first. This is important. Don't open the steam knob yet, just let it warm up and give you the green light in the STEAM setting. Put a towel under the steamer wand. Once the light is green, open the steam valve and watch the water come out of the wand for 5-10 seconds until it's all STEAM.Read more ›
June 26, 2010

PROS:
  • It is simple to use with the mastery of simple controls and indicators.
  • The covering is made of a stainless steel material that is attractive and easy to clean.
  • With its pump driven vs steam feature, you are able to make more regular shots from the coffee extraction.

CONS:
  • The built-in tamper is hard to reach and you are forced to buy a new one for more convenience.
  • The two heads deliver espresso inconsistently.

back to menu ↑

Nespresso Inissia Espresso Maker

Nespresso Inissia Espresso Maker

This machine comes in varying colors to suit your tastes. Nespresso Inissia Espresso Maker has marvelous features to give you the best cup of espresso coffee. Listed below are some of these features:

  1. With the Compact Brewing Technology feature the brewing process becomes faster and it can be completed in 25 seconds.
  2. It is designed with an automatic power of after an inactivity of 9 minutes.
  3. It has an easy insertion and ejection of capsules and this works with Nespresso coffee capsules only.
  • Product

Nespresso Inissia Espresso Maker, Black

Tiny foot print, compact, lightweight and equipped with an ergonomic handle, the new Inissia machine fits perfectly into any interior design. Nespresso began more than 25 years ago with a simple but ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Many reviews cover the basics (great espresso, same quality of pump and brew as the more expensive models, space-efficient), but most seem to miss one of the most important, sanity-saving advances from Nespresso, so here it is:>> You do not have to wait for the machine to warm up before you make your coffee selection.
August 27, 2014
If you've been looking for an automatic espresso machine with the minimum acceptable 15 bar (this is 19), for under $100 US, though pump driven, the new Inissia is the model you and I have been waiting for. You will soon find, that for the budget, this little gem was worth the wait!For comparison, the U is about $150 (depending on model, and without frother), the Essenza can be found for under $100 from time to time, and the rest of the line jumps up (eg. Pixie, others with milk frother options) to over $200 and well upwards from there.The coffee, if bought on Nespresso's website, ranges from .50 to .70, depending on whether you insist on pure Arabica (and you should!). Amazon and it's vendors do both better and worse than this, so you HAVE to shop if you want to maintain your budget. Because of the skyrocketing popularity of this line, there are many more fulfillment by Amazon and Prime options now if you hunt for them.Also, Sams and Costco have started carrying this line, but both of them locally (assuming Amazon charges tax in your area-- some fullfillment by do not), are a $40 savings on this Inissia at this writing if you buy on Amazon. Because Inissia does not have the downside of ruining cups with experimentation you find with the Essenza, it is already becoming hard to find.How can ANYONE deliver 19 bar, in a dependable machine, for under $100? Well, they can't. This machine costs about $290 to manufacture bare bones. So, yes, this IS razor and blade and you ARE married to buying the little cups from Nespresso. There is NO BETTER WAY to get low cost, high quality espresso, with the convenience of automated brewing as simple as drip, for far less than Starbucks, even with the razor/blade strategy.Read more ›
June 10, 2014
We bought that machine as gift for our American friend by Amazon.com cause buying it in Germany, pack it ourselves and then mail it to NY would double the price easily. For us Europeans this machine is cheaper in the states. It's 99€ (134.64$) here and $99 at Amazon.com.Service of Amazon is excellent as always. I didn't even need to register new.The machine itself does a wonderful job. The nespresso coffee is so easy to make and tastes good every time. You cannot ruin a cup, despite you use it for Lungo twice. That would make it watery.In my opinion the design is great. We have the Pixie, too. But this one looks even better. What I like about the Pixie is the illuminated capsules collecting box in white or red. Red if the capsule container is full or if the water container is empty. But do you really need this. After a while you know when you need to recycle the capsules and the water tank is not hidden so you can see easily if you need to refill water.If you're missing a manual. Don't worry. On YouTube you'll find instructions which are better than the little pictures and every step is explained perfectly. If you are doing this and you have some time left you can also check out the very funny commercials with Mr George Clooney!We buy the capsules at the nespresso store. We ordered online first but when you go to the store. You have it directly and they invite you for free tastings. Especially for the limited editions that makes sense.The machine comes with a little set of 16 capsules. That helps you to use your machine ASAP and you know which flavor you prefer. After a while you develop your personal taste. But to be honest. Nespresso makes it easy for you to like every flavor.Read more ›
July 6, 2014

PROS:
  • It saves on energy.
  • The pre-heating process is quite fast and you can make a cup of espresso in a few seconds.

CONS:
  • It is a bit noisy .
  • The cups used with these machines are expensive.

back to menu ↑

Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista Espresso Maker

Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista Espresso Maker

Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista Espresso Maker is perfectly designed to enable you to have an amazing encounter in brewing espresso. Its outstanding features are:

  1. You can easily brew shot after shot using the water reservoir.
  2. The drip catcher can be removed for cleaning.
  3. It has a one-touch control for one or double options for espresso drinks.
  • Product
  • Photos
Edited (07/19/14)I have gone through 2 of these machines in the past year and a half. Both of them died the same way - they seem to lose their pressurization capability and so can't brew coffee anymore.When the first one died after about a year of service, I gave it the benefit of the doubt. But now that the second one has conked out in just under half a year, I'll look for a different brand.And I've taken good care of both of them, especially when it came to descaling - not only do I have a home water softener, but I also used Durgol every 4-6 weeks.Original review - 5 stars (Dec 2012)I purchased this from the local Bed, Bath & Beyond since the price in store was the same as that on Amazon($199), but I could use a 20% coupon in the store. This was a 'blind' purchase - I couldn't find reviews for this product anywhere on the net, in fact I seem to the first person reviewing this on Amazon as well.I didn't know what to make of the Mr. Coffee brand (cheap/commodity brand in my opinion, maybe I'm mistaken) and the $199 price tag, but the feature set seemed to be good for the price - a 15 bar pump, a milk frother that automatically dispenses the milk into the serving, espresso/cappuccino/latte at the press of a button and a cleaning cycle for the frother. I've used the machine for a little more than a week now and can confidently say that this is one hell of an espresso machine.I've tried Illy and Lavazza in the machine so far, and the espresso comes out great - you won't believe the crema you get. Highly recommend it!Read more ›
January 5, 2013
I own a Krups Novo 2000 (Model 984) Plus Espresso/Cappuccino machine for about 13 years which I feel is pretty good except for the difficulty I have cleaning the frothing spigot and keeping it free of clogs. Therefore, when this Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista came up for review, I jumped at the chance to own it. What I found is that this is an absolutely WONDERFUL espresso, cappuccino, and latte maker and will now be my goto unit.The Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista has to be primed according to the instructions in the book before first use. After that it is ready to use.Here's what I love about this machine:- The instructions are comprehensive and very clear.- A few espresso, cappuccino and latte recipes are supplied for variations on these coffee drinks.- The entire unit is self-contained, meaning there is no need to purchase an external frothing carafe for the milk as one is provided that attaches to the unit.- I can brew a single or double shot of espresso, cappuccino, or latte with a single or double touch of one button.- It has a 15-bar pump which produces a lot of pressure for the froth.- There's the ability to brew a custom cup of espresso, cappuccino, or latte. Let's say I wanted to brew 5 ounces of espresso for my cappuccino or latte, I could hold the espresso button for 3 seconds and let it stop on its own at 5 ounces, then I could turn the frothing lever to the desired frothing level, and hold the cappuccino button for 3 seconds to create froth.- The control panel was easy for me to understand. For instance, the picture to the right of each button indicates what happens if you hold the button for 3 seconds.Read more ›
March 24, 2013
I bought this espresso maker for my wife as a gift. I chose this product because it seems to offer the most bang for your buck in terms of features.As I was researching espresso machines, I started to notice that a lot of the machines seemed time consuming. I have also heard many stories about families that have dumped big $$$ into an espresso machine, then stopped using it because it was too time consuming to actually make yourself a beverage. (I remember the first home espresso machine I ever saw in person. It took the owner 20+ minutes to make me a drink. I remember thinking that seemed ridiculous. I also remember that espresso machine sitting unused for years after the novelty wore off.) Knowing how busy my family is, I did not want to fall into this same boat.The Mr. Coffee Cafe Barista is great for a busy family. I can turn it on, press a few buttons, then return a few minutes later to a fresh brewed delicious espresso beverage. Not only is it convenient, but the beverage tastes great too. After you have finished brewing the beverage, cleanup is a breeze. Again, push a button, then the machine is cleaned. Also, the milk container easily separates from the machine and can be placed in the fridge to keep your milk fresh. I'm sure other espresso machines are great (and they better be for the price) but this one won out, hands down, in the convenience department.Another feature that was important to me was I DID NOT want a pod based machine. I have a pod based coffee maker, and the truth is we don't use it because the pods are really expensive. Yes it is convenient, but the cost will eat through the average checking account just about as quickly as a daily run to your favorite coffee spot.Read more ›
May 15, 2013

PROS:
  • It makes espresso drinks with just at a touch of a button.
  • It has a removable milk reservoir that is refrigerated and quite convenient for storage.

CONS:
  • It cannot brew espresso drinks on a constant pressure.
  • It cannot make pleasant coffee from lightly ground coffee beans.

back to menu ↑

Breville BES870XL Barista Express Espresso Machine

Breville BES870XL Barista Express Espresso Machine

Breville BES870XL Barista Express Espresso Machine ensures that you enjoy coffee when it is fresh at its best. The following are some of its incredible features:

  1. Using the purge function feature it automatically regulates the temperatures for the best espresso brewing.
  2. Has a stainless steel grinder that ensures that espresso comes out in a great quality.
  3. It is featured with a 15 bar Italian pump and a 1600W thermos coil boiler system.
  • Product
  • Photos

Breville BES870XL Barista Express Espresso Machine

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; 15 Bar Italian Pump and 1600W Thermo coil heating system; Purge Function: Automatically adjusts water temperature after steam for optimal ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've had the Breville BES870XL for about a week now, and I'm thoroughly pleased with the product and the quality of the espresso it can make. I upgraded from a simpler machine and a separate burr grinder, and one of the attractive features of the BES870XL was the integrated grinder. The other thing that appealed to me was the ability to adjust lots of features.In the first few days, I experimented a lot with grind fineness (it can grind VERY fine - I'm quite pleased with the grinding function), the amount of grounds, and how hard I tamped the grounds. These three things, along with the amount of water (pre-programmed or manually controlled) can affect the extraction of the espresso. Since I like to obsess over coffee, I was quite happy to spend a few days figuring out just the right balance of these various things. My partner, however, was quite agitated that she couldn't simply make a decent espresso like we had been able to do with our previous machine. If you're impatient and don't like to experiment, this might not be the machine for you. However, after a few days I have now made some of the most delicious espresso I've ever drunk, and certainly the most delicious espresso I've ever made at home.Initially, we had problems with the pressure. The gauge never went past "pre-infusion" stage, into the ideal espresso extraction range. The espresso came out too runny and had little to no crema. Even at the finest setting, filling the portafilter as much as possible and tamping as hard I could, I couldn't get that gauge to get above the pre-infusion stage. If this happens (or has happened) to you, don't give up, just read on here. I called Breville and got great customer service.Read more ›
July 19, 2013
Hello, I thought I'd throw out a review for this espresso machine now that I have been living with it for 6 months with daily use.My background- I am not a hardcore espresso drinker. I had a $30 Mr Coffee machine, then when that started acting up replaced it with a $150 Cuisinart that served well for about 6 years. I used pre-ground coffee with those machines. I'm not one for straight up espresso or plain lattes/cappuccinos. I like my drinks sweeter- mint mochas, caramel, white raspberry, etc. I did work at a coffee cart for a couple years in college, though I was the first employee, so my training may have been lacking.I would say in general this is a great machine, assuming- 1. You have proper expectations, 2. The machine you get doesn't have a breakdown.For expectations, here's what I believe to be reasonable for this machine--It will make a mess. If you're looking for a mess free experience, you may want to double or triple your spending and look at fully automated machines.-You are not a hardcore espresso drinker who is looking for the perfect shot and the best components for the money. To get that, you should be looking at separate grinders and espresso machines most likely totaling more than this.-You are looking for convenience, but something that still leaves some room for experimenting.-You better be comfortable with having a 2 in 1 machine. If the grinder or the espresso machine goes kerplooey outside of warranty, you have half a machine left. You might look a little silly when friends come over. They'll be expecting something super fancy from you because of all the espresso machines on your counter...For me this machine has worked great.Read more ›
May 21, 2014
I have been using Breville Espresso Machines since 2004 exclusively. I am a bit torn on this review. I'm rating the Breville BES870XL experience.Pros- It makes fantastic coffee.- Customer support at Breville has been pretty good overall.- Solid unit.Cons- I cannot get one of these units to last much longer than 12-15 months. I upgraded to this unit around 2 1 1/2 years ago. After about a year it gave me warning signs it was having issues. The grinder stopped working for 1. So Breville sent me a completely reconditioned unit FREE of charge (shipping included). It was outside the warranty too.- After getting the reconditioned unit, it was a lemon from day 1. It was leaking. I took a video of the unit and sent it to the support team. I had the same rep...who again was awesome. He ended up sending me a brand new and updated unit...latest version of the machine. Again free of charge. No questions asked.- Ok...so it had been about 10-11 months into using the new unit when the annoying buzzing started to happen. I've been cleaning my unit and decalcifying it too. I contacted support about 1 month before my big Christmas party telling them what was going on. I even sent another video recording how the unit was working. 1) I don't like taking advantage of support and getting free products. That is not me. I just want a decent unit that will last for 5-6+ years. I bought my sister a Jura Espresso Machine that lasted about 9 years without a single problem FYI. Anyways, support began to drag their feet this time. That made sense, they gave me new unit "free" and now I'm complaining it is breaking. But still...I paid $600 not much more than 2 years ago. You'd think it would still last 2 years, right?Is that too much to ask that a unit last 5 years?Read more ›
December 1, 2014

PROS:
  • Easy to clean because it has a removable water tank.
  • The stainless steel material keeps it shiny and appealing.
  • It is extra sturdy due to the high-quality materials that are used to design it.

CONS:
  • The drip tray gets filled very fast.
  • It sometimes spills some grind on the counter.

back to menu ↑

Capresso 303.01 4-Cup Espresso and Cappuccino Machine

Capresso 303.01 4-Cup Espresso and Cappuccino Machine

Experience the espresso real taste with this machine. Capresso 303.01 4-Cup Espresso and Cappuccino Machine contains one-of-a-kind features that are listed below:

  1. A cappuccino machine with a 4 cup capacity.
  2. It has brightened on and off switches.
  3. It is featured with a removable drip tray.
  • Product
  • Photos

Capresso 303.01 4-Cup Espresso and Cappuccino Machine

Experience the full taste of espressos, cappuccinos and lattes. The Capresso 4-Cup Espresso and Cappuccino Machine features an exclusive Coffee/Steam Selector that makes it easy to control both ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
For the money this is an excellent machine for non-commericial use. My spouse is totally hooked on lattes. We usually make 2-20 ounce lattes at one time; although, we have made 3 sets of 2-20 ounce lattes back to back. The Capresso is fast. The espresso is flavorful and hot. The steamer quickly heats the milk to perfection and creates as little or as much froth as you prefer.During the last 20 years, we have had 6 or 7 different espresso machines ranging from $40.00 to $180.00 in price. This one which retails for $105.00 (we paid less on Amazon)is the best. It is easy to use and creates exceptionally good coffee drinks.A word of caution for any machine you purchase: READ the INSTRUCTIONS. The directions for each machine differ slighty. My caffeine addicted hubby overfilled the water chamber on a very expensive espresso/cappuccino machine and broke it.The Capresso 303.01 is the machine I would recommend to friends and family. We are extremely happy with this machine.UPDATE January 2012: We are still loving this machine. After at least twice a daily use (sometimes abuse), it is just starting to act a little tired. The carafe was replaced due to human error. Apparently glass breaks when dropped into a sink. (Amazon had the least expensive replacement.) The steamer is still going strong. Recently I have noticed that the espresso is not brewing quite as hot as it had been for the first 2+ years. Other than that our espresso machine is functioning well. When this machine finally dies, I plan to replace it with another 303.01. The price is currently at an all time low.
July 6, 2009
I waited a few months before I submitted my review on this machine. The last machine I bought (a Mr. Coffee steam espresso machine) lasted only 3 months before it quit working. I'm happy to say that this machine makes perfect espresso every time. The steam wand works well for frothing and heating the milk, and you can also vary the strength of the espresso. To top it off, the whole unit is easy to clean. You can pop out the bottom shelf where the carafe sits and put it in the dishwasher.
October 6, 2009
So I bought this machine because of the price, expecting it to be a piece of junk or perhaps a surprise. As the directions in the box say, this is an entry level machine. After using it, I think they are correct, although that is not a bad thing at all.The espresso is very good, although it does not create much crema. I have had better espresso in Italy, but I really bought this to make cappuccinos with and $59.99 is cheaper than a flight to Florence. It is also very dependent on the type of coffee you use (I purchased Illy's espresso ground in decaf - amazing! I was very, very surprised with the quality of the coffee - yum!).I became very, very frustrated with the frother, even purchasing an aerolatte frother to see if I could live with that type of froth (btw - I can't. There's nothing like steamed froth). The frother seemed inconsistent at first. Most of that is my lack of experience frothing, which after reading online the various debates and instructions, perhaps the best advise was to buy a gallon of milk and get started because it does take some practice. BUT I had an amazing discovery, and perhaps this will help you too:1. I took off the plastic attachment and am just now only using the metal wand, and am having very few problems. I just couldn't seem to get the hang of the plastic gizmo which is supposed to make it easier. But the metal wand by itself works great!2. Start with cold milk and froth first (Don't follow the company's directions of heating the milk first and then frothing. Perhaps this is correct, but I couldn't get a consistent froth - either me or the machine, can't say.).Read more ›
January 3, 2010

PROS:
  • Can easily be cleaned because of the removable drip tray.
  • It has an adjustable coffee strength.
  • Possess a protective thumb guard to keep your hands safe.

CONS:
  • It makes the counter a little bit messy.
  • It takes a lot of time to heat up.

back to menu ↑

Cuisinart EM-100 1000-Watt 15-Bar Espresso Maker

Cuisinart EM-100 1000-Watt 15-Bar Espresso Maker

Cuisinart EM-100 Espresso Maker makes the perfect drinks. Its remarkable features include:

  1. The expresso maker contains 15 bars of pressure.
  2. It contains a steam nozzle.
  3. It comes along with a tamping tool.
  • Product
  • Photos

Cuisinart EM-100 1000-Watt 15-Bar Espresso Maker, Stainless Steel

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Espresso maker with 15 bars of pressure for perfect coffee drinks; Brews 1 to 2 cups from either ground espresso or pods; 53-ounce removable ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • It has a removable drip tray that increases the convenience during cleaning.
  • It contains a cup warming plate.
  • It is capable of adjusting the temperature of the heating system.

CONS:
  • The reservoir leaks plentifully.
  • It is noisy.

back to menu ↑

KRUPS XP1000 Steam Espresso Machine

KRUPS XP1000 Steam Espresso Machine

KRUPS XP1000 Steam Espresso Machine will make it possible to enjoy the best espresso you could wish for.

  1. 4-cup capacity for more people to taste delicious espresso drinks.
  2. Possibility to get great cappuccinos.
  3. Small size for more convenience.
  • Product
  • Photos

KRUPS XP1000 Steam Espresso Machine with Frothing Nozzle for Cappuccino, Black

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Easy to operate and very compact 4-bar steam espresso machine; 3 way switch knob and convenient steam nozzle to froth milk easily; Removable ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
To be clear, this is my first espresso machine. For years I have toiled out much hard earned money for that savory sweet espresso from coffee shops but always assumed the mystical process was somehow beyond my reckoning. Thanks to the college where I work having installed a Starbucks recently, I suddenly found myself spending too much there and figured that I would give it a go. Picking out an espresso machine leaves you with little in between, there are 40-100$ range models, and then you start getting fancy and pricey exponentially quick from there. As this was an experiment, I wanted something in the under 100 category and finally settled on this model after browsing the variety. We have had the machine for a little under a week but it has already earned its keep; here's my thoughts.Pros: Affordable, simple, nice looking, easy to clean, effective, quick.For the price, this machine is great, truly. It takes a little bit of practice to get the whole system down, but after about three or four uses I had it pretty much figured out. Now, after having made about a dozen drinks with it, from start to finish its takes under 10 minutes to make the drink and do a basic clean up. The instructions are a bit odd but with a little getting used to, it makes good and easy sense. A few things to keep in mind: only use as much water as you will use (don't overfill) and always let the steam run out when you shut the machine down (letting steam stay in the line will kill a steam system - I've done it to a steam mop personally). When you are done making the drink, unplug it. The element in the tank is super hot and while it seems really sturdy , leaving an element on with no water is very dangerous. After everything cools down a bit disassembly and clean up is really easy and quick.Read more ›
October 12, 2013
I have an espresso machine in my home already - I was looking for something that will let me have my favorite beverages at work too!And out of the box, this is an elegant and compact unit. It looks good on my countertop, and is unobtrusive on top of a file cabinet! It also has a very small footprint, which means its easy to stow away after I'm done with it.Be aware that although it won't take much space for storage, you'll want to have space around it when you are using it if you plan to use the steamer.The XP100050 is easy to use - it heats water quickly and produces a nice strong expresso brew in just a few short minutes! I should add that it is not a gourmet cup. There was no crema at all! But the brew was smooth and strong, making a terrific Latte. The steamer works very well, although it would benefit from a slightly larger arc or a swivel - it was just a bit too close to the side of the unit for my taste, but it works. The unit is easy to clean too.No espresso machine is silent, but this one works fairly quietly. The included carafe is convenient and holds a generous amount of beverage.The coffee filter cup is simple and straightforward - but I've noticed its a bit smaller than the small end of most tampers, so you'll need to use something else if you are only making a cup or two.I've given this item four stars - it does everything its supposed to, looks pretty good, is quiet and compact. I took one star off for the minor inconvenience of the steam nozzle being too tight a fit.
July 2, 2013
I have used Krups espresso machines for over five years and was very disappointed in this product. I bought this a few days ago and am extremely disappointed.I agree with several of the reviewers on here.Agree: 1) There's this oval-ly shaped shelf with a silver railing that serves no purpose whatsoever. Unless you imagine teeny little people hanging out up there and clutching the railing so they won't fall over. It makes it difficult to tell just where the filter holder fits underneath it. I had to tip it over and fill my way around. Good thing it wasn't hot yet!Agree and the worst part of the machine: 2) Let's hear a big sigh for this one...SIGH...the frothing tip is too close to the machine, and it's too far down to be able to put a normal size silver frothing mug underneath. The tip does a horrible job of frothing milk. If you can call it frothing (I never got it to froth), because I didn't get a bit of froth. In fact, it didn't even heat up the milk - just sorta warmed it up. I should give it negative 100 stars for this because the best part of an espresso machine should be the milk frother.Agree: 3) The lid to the water reservoir is just too large and a major design goof. It's designed to be palmed and turned one way or the other. But, you would have to have Schwarzenegger sized hands to be able to do so. I turned my hardest and still didn't get it closed enough. The steam was so hot it burned my hand when I tried to turn the knob from espresso to steam.Agree X2: 4) The knob on the left to switch between espresso, off and steam is too difficult to turn. It's very difficult. It's ridiculously difficult. And, because it sits directly beneath the lid, where all the hot steam is pouring out of, it makes it even more difficult to turn.Read more ›
July 28, 2013

PROS:
  • User-friendly, simple in operation.
  • Easy in maintenance.
  • Carafe pouring made simple.
  • Space for latte art creations.

CONS:
  • Frothing pitcher not included.
  • In case more espresso shots are required, the machine needs to be de-pressurized first.

back to menu ↑

Gaggia 14101 Classic Espresso Machine

Gaggia 14101 Classic Espresso Machine

Gaggia 14101 Classic Espresso Machine has top amazing features to suit your espresso tastes. They include:

  1. Power on/off switches.
  2. Design to use either ground coffee or pods.
  3. A brushed stainless steel that makes it attractive.
  • Product
  • Photos

Gaggia 14101 Classic Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Coffee/espresso machine with 72-ounce removable water reservoir; Stainless-steel housing; brass portafilters and grouphead for temperature ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • Produces minimal noise when pumping.
  • It has great milk – frothing capacity.
  • Has a durable structure that will give you a long term service.

CONS:
  • Removal of the tank required dissembling of other parts of the machine.
  • It takes rehearsal to produce quality espresso using this machine.

Types of Espresso Machines

Espresso machines come in different types that vary in quality and efficiency. Here are some of these types:

  1. Home Espresso Machine With Steam

This kind of machine is one of the oldest in the history of coffee making. The process involved in the preparation of coffee using this machine is remarkably cheap and convenient. The coffee is brewed using Moka pot that is quite efficient when it comes to saving on space.

An excellent espresso needs a high pressure of about 9 bars with hot water ranging from 195 -200 degrees. The Moka pot produces a low-quality coffee because only steam is used to create the pressure that is insufficient for extraction. The water produced from the extraction is usually too hot which embitters the brew and makes it harsh. This kind of expresso works perfectly for the third generation Europeans and Americans since they think it has the ideal taste.

If you need a machine on a small budget this pot is ideal for you because it is quite cheap. It consumes lesser space than an actual espresso machine and it can easily be stored in your kitchen cabinet. Moreover, Moka pots are designed beautifully and they can enhance the appearance of your kitchen to look better.

  1. Super Automatic Espresso Machine

This machine is super essential because of its two amazing parts: the brewing and the grinding part. Grinding is a very crucial step when it comes to coffee preparation. With a machine having a grinder at your home, you can be sure of having the best quality coffee with a satisfying taste. Grinding your coffee beans using your espresso machine is quite easier than doing it by hand or purchasing some pre-ground coffee from the stores.

This machine is able to grind the coffee beans into the required size, compress and mix coffee with a single knob control. With this amazing feature, you can conveniently prepare coffee at home any time of the day. It also has the ability to make several espresso extractions as well as an extensive number of drinks.

If you want a decaffeinated cup of coffee this machine is quite convenient because it has a bypassing feature where you can insert a pre-ground coffee in the chute while avoiding the internal coffee grinder in the machine.

  1. Home Espresso Machine With Rotary Pump

The rotary pump is usually used in machines that use a direct water line linking. It is quite convenient because when the pump is occupied the pump up brew pressure is acquired immediately. However, these rotary pumps on espresso machines run the danger of getting damaged when water is removed faster than coffee can block.

These machines with the rotary pump are highly preferred in cafes and coffee shops because they have the capacity to produce a lot of coffee ranging from 100 to 200 liter per hour.

If you want your rotary pump espresso machine to last longer you should consider using it for a single purpose because it gets damaged faster if it is used to perform double duty. You should also ensure that the water pressure is high at all times to prevent the rotary pump from being too noisy. Espresso machine with rotary pump (India/Australia) can be of a great quality and price and you can purchase it online.

  1. Air Pump Espresso Machine

Air pump machine is one of the newest coffee machines in the market. It uses compressed air to force out water into the ground coffee to produce espresso. You are supposed to provide hot water for the procedure to be complete. The compressed air normally comes from an electric air compressor, nitrogen or carbon dioxide containers.

Unlike other actual espresso machines the air pump machine is light and it can be easily moved to the location where you want to use it from.

  1. Fully Automatic Espresso Machine

The fully automatic machine works more conveniently when it is placed in a place where there are several people without the know-how on the use of the machine. This is likely to happen in the workplaces, coffee shops, espresso bars and restaurants where the person in charge will ensure that all drinks are of the same quality. It contains multiple buttons for coffee options like espresso, doppios, ristrettos and Americanos.

This machine is fairly easy to use: once you have it packaged properly you only need to add the ground coffee and enjoy a cup of your preferred kind of drink.

  1. Lever Espresso Machine

This is a traditional espresso machine of brewing coffee that requires rehearsal to avoid making errors in the preparation. It uses a lever that is pushed by a person to cause its inside piston to press against the water thus producing the extraction pressure.

With enough practice, you can brew some excellent drink from this lever espresso machine. Some experienced people can perform the action as well as a pump or even better. This machine is also a great kitchen equipment since it does not produce noise and it is beautifully designed to boost your kitchen look.

  1. Semi-Automatic Espresso Machine

This machine normally has an on/off switch meant to stop or start the espresso extraction. The procedure of using the semi-automatic espresso machine is very simple to follow: you just need to add some ground coffee to the portafilter, compress it and close the group grip into the group head.

When you are craving for a cup of an espresso drink you only need to place your cup under the portafilter and press the front panel control to extract the amount of drink you want to have.

The Best of the Best

Out of the listed home espresso machines, the Nespresso Inissia Espresso Maker has the highest rating of 4.5 stars with over 800 customer reviews from the Amazon product site. This is because of its outstanding features that make it produce high-quality espresso drinks. Now you know what you should use for your home coffee needs. Enjoy your day out shopping!

Sources:

Amazon.com

InfiniteReviews.com

MrCoffee.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password