Top 10 Best Orthopedic Dog Bed Reviews — Models Worth Buying

Dogs are usually great loyal companions to us, and one way to appreciate your pet’s loyalty is by getting it an orthopedic dog bed especially for ill and older dogs. The bed provides a perfect place where your pet can comfortably chill during the day and sleep at night. It soothes the aching joints, keeps your dog warm, and provides a solution for incontinence issues experienced by your aging pet. When shopping around for an orthopedic bed dog, there is a need for careful consideration so that you don’t end up purchasing an overpriced bed of poor quality that falls apart even before your dog can enjoy it. Currently, there is a wide variety of orthopedic dog beds available in the market, so this review will highlight the benefits and drawbacks of some brands, so you get to make an informed choice.

Brentwood 4-Inch Gel Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed

Brentwood 4-Inch Gel Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed, 100-Percent Waterproof

Overview

  • Dimensions:

Small: 22″ x 18″ x 4″

Medium: 34″ x 24″ x 4″

Large: 46″ x 29 x 4″

Extra Large: 54″x 35″ x 4″

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Brentwood 4-Inch Gel Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed, 100-Percent Waterproof

The Brentwood Gel Infused Memory Foam Dog Bed offers the best in comfort and support for your furry companion. This 4-inch bed has 2-Inch of gel infused memory foam that shape and conform to your ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

30 x 5 x 5 inches ; 9.2 pounds

Shipping Weight

10.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

DB-Black-LG

My dog and I love this bed. My dog was getting restless, getting up from her other orthopedic mattress bed, but she loves this bed, stretches out on her back with her legs up. She's a Greyhound, so she needs some padding. This bed hardly dips with her on it. It really supports her, plus it is cool, in the hot environment we live that is important. I like it because it washes easily.Three weeks after delivery, my dog had a urinary infection and wet it. I discovered the zipper would not work. I couldn't take off the cover, so I sprayed it down with water and laid it on chairs to dry. It was ready to use in two hours. I contacted customer service requesting a new cover with a workable zipper. It was an 888 number that had an answering machine. They called back in 20 minutes and will replace the cover. Now that's service! Impressive!
June 11, 2013
Excellent dog bed...both my dog and myself love it!Having a Senior Giant Breed Dog (almost 11 yr. old, 130 lb. Female English Mastiff), we have been through numerous "stuffing" beds (went flat too quickly & she could not get comfortable on) and even have tried the "egg crate" foam (torn up too quickly & did not provide support needed). This bed far surpasses anything I have bought in the past!I received the bed, opened it and it immediately expanded to it's 4" thickness. As soon as I placed it on the floor, she immediately went right to it and promptly laid right down and fell into a deep, restful, seemingly extremely comfortable sleep. Seems to provide just the right amount of support she needs for her elderly hips & joints. She got up off of it very easily & now races outside to do her "business" quickly & is the first in line to come back inside to assure none of the other dogs get to her bed before she does.No odor from bed when first opened. New arrival so washing has not been needed yet. Perfect size for her with room left over, even when she is stretched out. Great price for the quality.
October 3, 2013
Purchase: Large size & Chocolate colored bed for 12.5 yr old 3 legged dog.First Impressions: Literally as soon as I took the bed out of the packaging to put on the floor, she immediately laid down and slept on it the rest of the day! As for sizing, I wasn't sure what to get my dog, she's medium to large size: about 24" from base of neck to tail and weighs about 60lbs. I'm glad I got the Large since she does like to 'splay out' entirely on occasion and fits well (with a few inches to spare on every side). When she curls up on the large, there is room for another dog her size or smaller. If I had gotten the medium, she would probably have limbs hanging off if she splayed out, though if she curled into a ball all the time, she would have fit fine on the medium.About the packaging: it comes in a really long box all rolled up super vacuum sealed down air tight plastic (and taped), so I recommend unrolling it and letting it 'air out' for 10 min or so for the foam to 'fluff up' back to normal. It does stand 4" tall when measured and my dog does not 'touch the ground' even when sitting or laying on the foam (so it does hold up well). It also is a bit plastic sounding since it does have the water proof liner, but I'm perfectly okay with that since my dog sometimes gets carried away licking spots on her bed and soaking saliva through (so I'd rather not have her ruin the foam). The cover is fairly easy to get off, a bit tricky getting back on with the foam since it is a tight fit.Consensus: My dog LOVES her new bed (we've had it for a few weeks now) and even though her favorite spot to relax is on the couch, she now spends significantly more time on her bed than before. Overall I'm VERY happy with this purchase and so is my dog!
July 9, 2013
PROS:
  • The bed is completely waterproof, so it is well protected from spills, accidents and dirt.
  • It has a microfiber cover that is removable and easy to clean when necessary.
  • It is made of memory foam that conforms to your pet’s body curves, so your dog doesn’t suffer from aches.
  • The foam used to make this product is gel-infused, so it keeps the bed cool and comfortable for your pet.
  • It provides proper therapeutic support for your dog

CONS:
  • Replacement covers are only available in some sizes
  • It takes a lot of time for the foam core to dry in case it is washed

back to menu ↑

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed for Small Medium to Extra Large Pet with Washable External Cover and Waterproof Internal Liner + 2nd Bonus Replacement Case

 

Overview

  • Available sizes:

35″x 20″ x 4″

37″x 27″ x 4″

40″x 35″ x 4″

41″x 27″ x 4″

47″x 29″ x 4″

55″x 37″ x 4″

55″x 47″ x 4″

  • Material: luxury premium solid therapeutic memory foam pad, secured by a waterproof internal zipper cover and external durable MicroSuede cover 
  • Layers: Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed has two layers — Waterproof Taffeta fabric internal cover and a comfortable MicroSuede fabric external cover 
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed for Small Medium to Extra...

40" Length X 35" Width X 4" Thick is excellent for medium to larger breed dog. The order comes with 1 Durable MicroSuede cover in brown color on all side, 1 waterproof internal zippered cover and 1 ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

40 x 35 x 4 inches

Shipping Weight

15 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I purchased this bed as a present for our Lab-Weim's first birthday. I had been waiting until this occasion to buy him a "nice" bed, because I knew at a younger age he would have just torn it to pieces.CUSHION: My fear was that the bed wouldn't have enough resistance to keep our big boy off the ground and that he would just sink to the floor, but that isn't the case with this bed. The pad is thick enough (and of high quality) so that he has lots of cushion between him and the hardwood floor. I'll admit that when we got the bed, I tested it out myself and it was very comfy!COVERS: This bed comes with a waterproof inner cover, and a durable denim outer cover. When I opened the bed, I immediately stripped off the inner cover and took it to the kitchen sink. I ran water over it, and sure enough, no water passed through! This was critical for us, because we have a kitten who thinks any kind of bedding is her litter box. I was also pleased with the outer cover, which has held up much better than the "fleece" stuff on other beds.SIZE: When I got the box in the mail, I was afraid I had ordered the wrong size, but then it puffed up quite nicely after removing it from the box. In fact, I was a little surprised at how large it was, and had to find a bigger spot to put it. I've included a picture of my 70 lb dog on the bed; he has enough room to stretch.SMELL: Yes, it was stinky at first. I took the covers off and put it in a room with the windows open for a solid week. It still has a s light smell, but not enough to be bothersome. I'm sure it will smell like stinky dog soon enough.Overall, very happy with the purchase. I only hope that the cushion holds up over time; I will try to update in a few months.***UPDATE*** It's been a few months now, and I'm still pleased with the purchase. The cushion hasn't sagged/compacted at all, still nice and thick. I've washed the cover a dozen times, and it has held up just fine.
November 2, 2011
I bought 3 of these for my 2 German Shepherds and my Chow/Golden Retriever Mix. The reviews here and the fact that I bought my parents a human version of this for their 49th anniversary, and they love it, helped me make the buying decision.The dogs, although they have not specifically commented, love these beds. You know a dog loves a bed when you sneak in while they are asleep and they are laying upsidedown, legs in the air, then wake while you watch them, and without moving an inch, they stare at you, trying to understand why you appear to be upsidedown.Another indication of their enjoyment of the bed is the fact that they are not restless at night. In the past, on a towel, a blanket, or another type of pillow, they moved around like a pauper in a pay toilet and made the associated grunts and groans. That has ended.I recommend this product!
June 19, 2010
I purchased the Orthopedic Memory Foam Extra Large Pet Bed for a 120 lb. German Shepherd puppy who is eight months of age. He is a special needs foster with Wobblers Disease and Stage 111 dyplasia in one hip, which is nearly dislocated but can't be treated surgically. He has a painful condition and difficulty laying down, standing up, and walking. He's on a pain management regimen and under a vets care, but he continues to grow, exacerbating his condition.We have a number of special needs pets and a great variety of beds acquired over years of caring for these very special pets. I'd recently been checking ortho beds at favorite online pet stores, and was fortunate to find this listing at Amazon. The reviews were very good, the quality appeared to be above average, and the price was a third of what I was paying retail for a similar product.Pro's: The first night I awaoke to an unfamiliar noise. Alarmed, I turned on the lights to see what might be the matter. The pained 120 lb. pup was snoring soundly on his new bed. Loud, but clearly very comfortable.A week later, we've experienced no reoccurance of the restless pacing, rearranging, and yelps of pain that went on every night before purchasing this bed. He sleeps soundly the entire night. It's actually a little challenging to get him up in the morning to come and eat breakfast. He'd rather stay on his new brown ortho memory foam bed.Thumbs up for pain management and quality of life (we are all sleeping through the night now and waking more refreshed, having learned to cope with the new snoring).Another big kudo is that he hasn't eaten the bed. He's consumed several expensive beds leaving the living room resembling a chicken plucking factory. Even "indestructible" beds are easy prey for a determined pup.Read more ›
August 13, 2011
PROS:
  • It comes with free bonus replacement cases for small, medium, and large sizes.
  • The inner cover is water resistant, so it keeps the foam protected and makes it easy to clean
  • The 4-inch thickness is perfect for medium and larger breeds of dogs.
  • It has two layers of fabric cover that help to secure the mattress pad from dirt and damage.
  • It is denser than the regular foam beds, so it can last for a long time if given proper care.
  • Most of the available sizes fit nicely in crates

CONS:
  • The zipper is not high quality and can easily come off.
  • The fabric on the bottom side is thin and does not provide the necessary grip

back to menu ↑

Milliard Premium Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed

Milliard Premium Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed and Anti-Microbial Waterproof Non-Slip Cover

Overview

Small 24 x 18 x 4 inches

Medium 34 x 22 x 4 inches

Large 40 x 35 x 4 inches

Extra-large 46 x 35 x 4 inches

  • Material: CertiPUR-US certified memory foam
  • Cover: waterproof layer and non-slip bottom
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Milliard Premium Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed and Anti-Microbial Waterproof Non-Slip Cover

Milliard 4" Dog Bed offers the perfect combination of support with superior durability for the ultimate pet bed.; Memory foam achieves maximum relief and therapeutic comfort for arthritis and aching ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

34 x 22 x 4 inches ; 3.8 pounds

Shipping Weight

4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

DB-M

Love this bed! My dog LOVES this bed. Really good quality at a fair price. My only complaint, is that I didn't order TWO, because now I have to carry it up and down the stairs everyday because she's sad without it. She's not even sleeping in my bed anymore!...Not sure how I feel about that, I miss my cuddle bug! LolHighly recommend!
October 25, 2014
This is very comfortable and a huge upgrade from the $50 pet store bed my dog previously had (which after 3 years was majorly lumpy and uncomfortable). This seems like it will last much longer. I had trouble getting the right size, however and ended up with a larger bed than she needs. This photo shows my 50-pound lab mix curled up in the corner of the 40"x35"x4" size bed.
December 22, 2014
This bed is amazing! My dog (Great Dane/Lab mix) loves it. She's 14 and was in need of a bed that was better on her aging joints. She's had occasional accidents and this cover truly is waterproof. When you wash the cover, there's no shrinkage, so that was a pleasant surprise.
July 9, 2015
PROS:
  • It has a 100% waterproof liner that keeps the foam protected from liquids.
  • The cover is easily removable and can be machine-washed
  • It has a non-slip bottom that ensures the bed stays in place even when your dog is moving about.
  • It retains its thickness for a long time and gives firm support to your pet
  • The memory foam gives the bed that luxurious feel that you want for your dog
  • It is suitable for dogs of all ages
  • The bed is resistant to bacteria, mold, and dust mites so your pet will not develop allergic symptoms

CONS:
  • The cover is not durable and needs to be replaced with time.

back to menu ↑

FurHaven NAP Pet Bed Egg-Crate Orthopedic Pet Mattress Deluxe Dog or Cat Bed

FurHaven NAP Pet Bed Egg-Crate Orthopedic Pet Mattress Deluxe Dog or Cat Bed, Water-resistant base

Overview

  • Product
  • Specification

FurHaven NAP Pet Bed Egg-Crate Orthopedic Pet Mattress Deluxe Dog or Cat...

Give your best friend the support he needs with a luxuriously soft NAP pet bed Ultra Plush Deluxe Ortho Mat dog bed. Featuring deep, convolute (or "egg-crate") style foam core, this pet bed soothes ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

36 x 27 x 3 inches ; 3 pounds

Shipping Weight

2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

34408012

This dog bed is one of the best investments I have ever made! I can't tell you how many dog beds I have wasted my money on and my dogs don't even use it. Both of my dogs are OBSESSED with it! It is really easy to clean, and lasts for a long time.
January 13, 2016
My dog loves this bed. Even though she will fit on the bed, she sometimes lays sideways with her head on the wood floor. Probably to cool off or something. There was a problem with the packaging when it came. They cram the item in a plastic bag with lots of packing tape. I used a knife and barely escaped disaster. I mentioned this to the vendor and they say they are working on a solution.
November 19, 2015
When we first got it, we loved it but, after a couple weeks the foam all mashed down. My dogs still sleep on it but, the foam inside is of inferior quality (not dense).If you have a 'digger' the cover tears easy... ours is torn already.
February 15, 2015
PROS:
  • There is a wide variety of nice colors to choose from.
  • It promotes pet health by soothing pressure points and supporting joints.
  • The top surface is made of plush faux fur fabric that gives a smooth feel to your pet’s skin.
  • The design is suitable for older or disabled dogs.

CONS:
  • The cover tears easily when the dog plays with it.
  • A bit expensive as compared to other orthopedic dog beds in the market

back to menu ↑

First-Quality 6″ Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed

First-Quality 6 Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed Pure Premium Memory Foam Ideal for Aging Dogs Waterproof Helps Ease Pain of Arthritis & Hip Dysplasia 180 GSM Removable Washable Cover

Overview

  • Origin: USA
  • Refund: 1-year money back guarantee
  • Dimensions:

Small 24″x 18″ x 5″

Medium 36″x 24″ x 5″

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

First-Quality 6" Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed | Pure Premium Memory Foam |...

SUPREME COMFORT DESIGNED IN THE USA: Your pooch will love this 5" thick bed that gently cushions pressure points so seniors with arthritis, dysplasia

Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

24 x 18 x 5 inches ; 6.5 pounds

Shipping Weight

4.9 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

This is a nice 5” thick memory foam dog bed. Our dog is 25 pounds and is 7 years old and I wanted to protect her joints. The size of this bed is perfect 24” x 18”. She loves it!! She keeps going in her kennel to lay down now. The cover comes off easily for washing and has a good design with a zipper that opens all the way and it also has a waterproof lining to protect against spills. The bed is truly comfortable and my dog enjoys it more than their current standard beds. I highly recommend these beds. They're worth the money spent. I am very pleased with this product. If my review helped you in any way can you please click the like button! I received this for a discounted price for an honest and unbiased review.
September 10, 2015
I purchased this from Amazon and seller was Better World Pets LLC - the company that makes the bed. The bed is fabulous. GREAT quality and so far has not gotten "flat" and we are very pleased. I have older dog with arthritis and ACL injury and this bed has been better for him that any we have used. It also fits in crate nicely. I hope they are back in stock soon from this seller and I will be buying another one! I also wrote the company to ask a question and they replied right away from their website. Great company and best bed we have EVER bought!!UPDATE: I just took the cover off this bed to wash it.. I did not realize that it is soft vinyl on the back side of the velour top... that is AWESOME! The bed had gotten wet and nothing leaked through to the pad!! I already loved this bed and know it is the best we have EVER bought but this was a welcome surprise. It is also easy to get pad in and out of.. the end and side unzip.. at times it is hard to get pads back in (or out) and it can break the zipper. The longer we have this the better I like it.. we have had this one for several months and it still holds it's shape and works great. I also had some questions wrote the company and they got back to me within hours.. very pleased and hope they have these back in stock soon! GREAT product! I seldom ever do a review of anything and I buy a lot from Amazon but had to pass along this info.
October 31, 2015
I bought this 24 x 18" dog bed for my dad's 8yr old shih tzu rescue. I did a video of the opening of the package and to see his first reaction. He loved it!!!The bed comes folded and vacuum sealed in a smaller box then you would think. Once you open it and release the air from the bag the bed immediately puffs up. The directions do say to leave it be for up to 4 hours so it can continue to puff up, but in this case, Humphrey, my father's dog immediately took to it and fell in love.The material of the bed cover is super soft and smooth, a lovely velvety feeling. I love that the cover is removable and can be washed easily. Its also waterproof!!! The instructions also stated to give the dog a treat when he lays on it to get him used to it, but my dad's dog took to it right away and my father called me again this afternoon to tell me how much his dog is appreciating it.Please watch the video so you can see the unopening and hopefully get a better visual of the bed. This is an excellent bed and one you should definitely consider for dogs of all ages!I received this product at a disconted rated in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. A five star rating is never guaranteed unless the product is absolutely deserving of so.
September 11, 2015
PROS:
  • It is made of 100% memory foam fill so it is able to strike a balance between support and softness.
  • The washable cover zips along two sides for easier removal
  • It is suitable for dogs suffering from joint pains since the memory foam molds to the dog’s body for extra comfort.
  • The 5-inch thickness provides good support for your dog.
  • The bed is durable and does not easily flatten out.
  • It is big enough for the dog to sleep comfortably.
  • The price is pocket-friendly while offering great value at the same time.

CONS:
  • It produces a certain odor within the first few days of use, and this may cause discomfort to the dog.
  • The firmness of this orthopedic bed dog is not enough to give proper support to dogs that weigh above average.

back to menu ↑

Brindle 4 Inch Solid Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed

Brindle 4 Inch Solid Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed with Removable Waterproof Velour Cover

Overview

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Brindle 4 Inch Solid Memory Foam Orthopedic Dog Bed with Removable Waterproof...

Brindle fuses comfort and function in this superior dog bed breakthrough. Manufactured with identical materials and to the same specifications as $2000 mattresses. The orthopedic memory foam design ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

8.7 x 6.3 x 1.6 inches ; 1 pounds

Shipping Weight

2.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

BRSS22PB

In November 2011, our dog tore his ACL and had corrective surgery. He's recovered quite nicely, but the leg gets stiff easily after laying down. Various pads and blanket combinations helped but not completely.When considering this bed, price was an important consideration, but dog comfort was most important, and then sturdiness was also important. In the end, a review had to convince me my dog would use this bed and would provide enough cushion to alleviate his leg stiffness. That's a tall order. After reading many reviews, some noted the outer covering (velour in the product description) did not wear well, others noted the product was not truly waterproof, or that the bed was flat out of the box, and one review noted the product had a certain chemical odor.At some point, you have to just take the leap and hope for the best. Amazon's return policy makes changing your mind easier, but, at the end of the day, you want a bed for your dog that will provide a comfortable place to rest and alleviate or eliminate stiffness. Many other reviewers were quite satisfied and several described the support of the bed just such that I was willing to try it.I made the leap and share my findings here. I hope this review helps.Cover: First, the outer covering is washable and appears quite comfortable, soft, yet durable. As dogs are just naturally furry and oily, we use another pad as an overlay and wash that pad as needed. This protects the outer cover, so we'll notice much less cover wear. The cover does have a wrap-around zipper and looks easy enough to remove.Waterproof: Noted earlier, we use a separate cover as an overlay and, fortunately, our dog does not have incontinence problems.Read more ›
December 5, 2012
I wish this dog bed was sold in human size. The box is so small that I thought the wrong product has been sent. Great packaging with a nice design. The bed takes a few minutes to regain its shape. When it does, quite impressive. 4 inches of pure heaven for my lab. The bed is so soft and squishy around him but firm enough so he doesn't sink to the hardwood floor. He has three other beds but is always siting on his awesome Brindle Memory Foam. I wouldn't be surprised if he started dragging it around to the room he wants to be in. This dog bed has a soft removable cover, perfect for dirty dogs. I really like the added touch of the non-slip stuff on the bottom of the bed. That way it stays in place on my hardwoods. If my dog could, I think he would buy 3 more and replace the other dog beds in the house. Over time, I think that is exactly what we will do. LOVE THIS DOG BED. You will not be disappointed. The price of this bed is an amazing value. I was in PetSmart the other day and their CRAPPY dog beds were selling for $79. This bed is 100x better (softer/nicer cover, removable cover, memory foam, non-slip bottom...) and is less expensive.
October 26, 2011
I bought this for a couple of reasons. Mostly it was for my 10-year old German Shepherd who is starting to show signs of arthritis and needs a supportive bed. I was also tired of the "fill" beds that turn into a bag of lumps after a couple of months and have to be refilled. Lastly was the price - compared to the "T-Pedic" beds elsewhere this was a huge bargain...if the quality was good.So far I'm pleased. Other reviewers have noted a "chemical smell" - yep, it's there because it's foam and foam is a hydrocarbon product - but it's not overwhelming in the least and it reduces daily. The cover is soft velour, and the anti-skid nubs on the bottom work great on the hardwood floor to keep the bed from moving around.The ultimate test was: what would happen when I put this bed next to the preferred, comfy old bed? Answer: she went right to this one and fell fast asleep.The only problem I have with this bed is that my other Shepherd won't stay off it, so now I have to buy another one.Lastly, I have to say this in response to some of the other reviews: this is a FOAM bed. If your dog is a chewer or a digger, foam is not going to hold up unless you wrap it in chain mail.Pros:- Lightweight- Plenty of space for my 65lb. (or 95lb.) Shepherd to stretch out- Anti-skid nubs work well- The dogs really like it- No lumpy filling!- Can't beat the priceCons:- Have to buy another one for the young dog so the old one can get some rack time on this one2012-10-24 Update: I mistakenly gave 4 stars; updated to 5.2015-02-19 Update: After over two years, this bed is still in great shape.Read more ›
October 24, 2012
PROS:
  • The bed is firm without being stiff, so it is appropriate for aged dogs and also those suffering from arthritis.
  • It doesn’t produce that pungent smell that is so common in new foam orthopedic dog beds.
  • The cover is put tightly over the bed and is made of a material that is easy to clean.
  • The bed has a firm foundation that gives more support and ensures the bed does not sag in the middle
  • The bed is affordable and reasonably priced.
  • It is made of non-toxic materials that ensure good health of your pet and it is also suitable for dogs that exhibit allergic reactions.

CONS:
  • It is not suitable for dogs that like to chew or dig heavily.
  • While this orthopedic dog bed works perfectly for aging dogs, it may not be suitable for puppies

back to menu ↑

Go Pet Club Orthopedic Memory Foam Pet Bed

Go Pet Club Orthopedic Memory Foam Pet Bed

Overview

  • Available dimensions:

25″x 20″ x 4″

36″x 28″ x 4″

44″x 32″ x 4″

55″x 38″ x 4″

47″x 29″ x 4″

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Go Pet Club Orthopedic Memory Foam Pet Bed

Go Pet Club's high density 4" Orthopedic memory foam beds will keep your pets off your bed, for good. Our pet beds will not flatten overtime, as it is made of true solid 100% memory foam, not mixed ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

28 x 36 x 4 inches ; 8 pounds

Shipping Weight

8.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

Item model number

BB-36

I usually don't submit reviews until I've used a product for a few months, but since there were no reviews for this one, I wanted to let people know what to expect. The bed is exactly as described. The angle of the photo makes it appear thicker than it really is, but the description says it is 4" high and that is accurate to the item I received. The size is perfect for my 55 lb shepherd mix. While I sink right through to the floor if I sit on the bed, my dog does not. The bed supports him with plenty of give to spare. Unlike most beds in this price range, actual memory foam is used in this one, not eggcrate that breaks down with use. I have washed the suede-like cover twice so far and it is holding up well. It doesn't look prone to fraying like some other bed covers. I would recommend the delicate cycle, however. There is a second, waterproof cover that is easy to wipe down.To conclude, I'm very pleased with this. I just bought a house with hardwood laminate and ceramic tile flooring. My boy needed a soft, supportive bed to rest on and this fits the bill. I'm thinking of buying a second one so that I don't have to keep dragging it back and forth from the living room to the bedroom.Update: It's been 8 months since I wrote this review and I'm happy to say that this bed is still holding up. There was an oopsie with the zipper when my boyfriend was careless unzipping the suede cover, but I was able to fix it with some gentle tugging. So be careful with the zipper. I wash it once or twice a month. No fraying or holes yet, even though my dog is a "shuffler" who feels like he has to make the bed before he lies on it.12/19/14 Update: I bought a second bed for my new German shepherd puppy a few months ago.Read more ›
October 31, 2013
To all of those who complain about it actually being 4 inches thick, it's obvious they didn't bother reading the instructions. Like every real memory foam products, it takes time for the product to fully get back into the shape it was made to be after taking out of the box in compressed form. My dog bed grew to 4 inches within the 24 hours stated on the instructions and Stella, my dog who I just brought home from the rescue is already lying on it, making it her own. I was surprised how quick Stella took to it as I assumed it would take time for her to get used to the new memory foam scent that needs time to vent and dissipate. Guess I was wrong...happy to be wrong this time 🙂
March 29, 2015
Great, supportive bed for my 55 lb lab/pit mix! It is the perfect size for her to curl up or stretch out. It does not lose its shape or support. Great price too considering some similar beds can cost $100 or more!
January 4, 2015
PROS:
  • It is durable and does not flatten out even after use.
  • It has been made using orthopedic memory foam that will relieve pains in your pet’s joints
  • The top most layer is zippered and easily removable for cleaning and maintenance
  • It is shipped flat and compressed for convenience, but it puffs up in just a few hours
  • The bed has a firm foundation that gives more support and ensures the bed does not sag in the middle
  • It is suitable for dogs suffering from joint pains.

CONS:
  • The cover can be easily ripped if the dog chews on it
  • The sizes are odd, so they do not fit well in some crates

back to menu ↑

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed for Small Medium to Extra Large Pet with Washable External Cover and Waterproof Internal Liner + 2nd Bonus Replacement Case

Overview

  • Features: Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed has washable external cover, internal waterproof liner, extra replacement case, zippered covers
  • Available sizes: small, medium, large, extra large
  • Material: high-quality memory foam
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Premium Durable Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed for Small Medium to Extra...

40" Length X 35" Width X 4" Thick in size is excellent for medium to larger breed dogs. The order comes with 1 Durable Denim cover in navy blue color on all side, 1 waterproof internal zippered cover ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

40 x 35 x 4 inches

Shipping Weight

16 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I purchased this bed as a present for our Lab-Weim's first birthday. I had been waiting until this occasion to buy him a "nice" bed, because I knew at a younger age he would have just torn it to pieces.CUSHION: My fear was that the bed wouldn't have enough resistance to keep our big boy off the ground and that he would just sink to the floor, but that isn't the case with this bed. The pad is thick enough (and of high quality) so that he has lots of cushion between him and the hardwood floor. I'll admit that when we got the bed, I tested it out myself and it was very comfy!COVERS: This bed comes with a waterproof inner cover, and a durable denim outer cover. When I opened the bed, I immediately stripped off the inner cover and took it to the kitchen sink. I ran water over it, and sure enough, no water passed through! This was critical for us, because we have a kitten who thinks any kind of bedding is her litter box. I was also pleased with the outer cover, which has held up much better than the "fleece" stuff on other beds.SIZE: When I got the box in the mail, I was afraid I had ordered the wrong size, but then it puffed up quite nicely after removing it from the box. In fact, I was a little surprised at how large it was, and had to find a bigger spot to put it. I've included a picture of my 70 lb dog on the bed; he has enough room to stretch.SMELL: Yes, it was stinky at first. I took the covers off and put it in a room with the windows open for a solid week. It still has a s light smell, but not enough to be bothersome. I'm sure it will smell like stinky dog soon enough.Overall, very happy with the purchase. I only hope that the cushion holds up over time; I will try to update in a few months.***UPDATE*** It's been a few months now, and I'm still pleased with the purchase. The cushion hasn't sagged/compacted at all, still nice and thick. I've washed the cover a dozen times, and it has held up just fine.
November 2, 2011
I bought 3 of these for my 2 German Shepherds and my Chow/Golden Retriever Mix. The reviews here and the fact that I bought my parents a human version of this for their 49th anniversary, and they love it, helped me make the buying decision.The dogs, although they have not specifically commented, love these beds. You know a dog loves a bed when you sneak in while they are asleep and they are laying upsidedown, legs in the air, then wake while you watch them, and without moving an inch, they stare at you, trying to understand why you appear to be upsidedown.Another indication of their enjoyment of the bed is the fact that they are not restless at night. In the past, on a towel, a blanket, or another type of pillow, they moved around like a pauper in a pay toilet and made the associated grunts and groans. That has ended.I recommend this product!
June 19, 2010
I purchased the Orthopedic Memory Foam Extra Large Pet Bed for a 120 lb. German Shepherd puppy who is eight months of age. He is a special needs foster with Wobblers Disease and Stage 111 dyplasia in one hip, which is nearly dislocated but can't be treated surgically. He has a painful condition and difficulty laying down, standing up, and walking. He's on a pain management regimen and under a vets care, but he continues to grow, exacerbating his condition.We have a number of special needs pets and a great variety of beds acquired over years of caring for these very special pets. I'd recently been checking ortho beds at favorite online pet stores, and was fortunate to find this listing at Amazon. The reviews were very good, the quality appeared to be above average, and the price was a third of what I was paying retail for a similar product.Pro's: The first night I awaoke to an unfamiliar noise. Alarmed, I turned on the lights to see what might be the matter. The pained 120 lb. pup was snoring soundly on his new bed. Loud, but clearly very comfortable.A week later, we've experienced no reoccurance of the restless pacing, rearranging, and yelps of pain that went on every night before purchasing this bed. He sleeps soundly the entire night. It's actually a little challenging to get him up in the morning to come and eat breakfast. He'd rather stay on his new brown ortho memory foam bed.Thumbs up for pain management and quality of life (we are all sleeping through the night now and waking more refreshed, having learned to cope with the new snoring).Another big kudo is that he hasn't eaten the bed. He's consumed several expensive beds leaving the living room resembling a chicken plucking factory. Even "indestructible" beds are easy prey for a determined pup.Read more ›
August 13, 2011
PROS:
  • The memory foam of this orthopedic dog bed contours to the body shape of your dog and this provides excellent orthopedic support
  • It is soft enough to provide a luxuriously comfortable feel, yet it is firm enough for durability and correct body alignment.
  • The outer cover has extra stitching, so it does not easily tear.
  • The extra replacement cover helps a lot when you have to clean the original cover.
  • The beds are spacious enough for the dog to stretch out comfortable provided you select the right size for your pet

CONS:
  • This orthopedic dog bed tends to sink in the middle, but this only happens after a long life span.
  • The bed gets too warm at times, so this may hinder use during summer.

back to menu ↑

Big Barker 7″ Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra Large Breed Dogs (Headrest Edition)

Big Barker 7 Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra Large Breed Dogs (Headrest Edition)

 

Overview

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Big Barker 7" Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra...

This is the dog bed you asked us to make. It's the best thing you can buy for a big dog. After selling thousands of dog beds

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

48 x 30 x 7 inches ; 11 pounds

Shipping Weight

12 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

In this video I'm trying to demonstrate how sturdy this bed is. The lighting isn't perfect, but I hope you can see how my knees and elbows are putting a lot of pressure per square inch into this bed, and I'm not even coming close to being able to press down to the ground. It's a very supportive and comfortable bed.This particular bed is the XL size, which fits perfect for my German Shepherd. He loves the headrest and has plenty of room to stretch out. I highly recommend this bed.
December 17, 2012
I bought this bed because of the excellent customer reviews. I knew if I went for a cheaper one and it didn't work out that I would just end up coming back to this one and spending the money on it anyway. My 11 year old lab is having the usual lab problems that come up at that age. It is especially hard on her since she struggled with epilepsy a lot when she was younger and seemed to age rather quickly.The first night I was so excited to show her the new bed--then she didn't even sleep on it. I was disappointed and worried that it wasn't going to be able to help her. However, she has slept on it every night since then, and loves it. She used to be grumpy at bed time, not even wanting me to touch her at night, but now she wags her tail and happily waits for me to tuck her in. Twice since she started sleeping in this bed, she has gotten up on the couch during the day. It had been years since she had sat on the couch!My sweet old dog is one happy puppy after a good night's sleep.UPDATE: I have had this dog bed for a year now, and it is still wonderful. It is my 12-year-old lab's favorite place to spend her time. It is so easy to clean. I've really only needed to vacuum it and wipe it with a damp cloth. Haven't even had to take the cover off. The bed is still in good shape and just as perky as the first night she slept on it. I really think it helps her to get a good night sleep and get up in the morning with fewer aches and pain than she would have otherwise. She is also less grumpy at bed time than she was before we got the bed. I usually sit with her on it for a few minutes before she goes to sleep now, and we have some quality time while I talk to her and pet her before bed. I hate to see my little girl getting older, but I am happy to be able to spoil her in her senior years. This bed is so worth it!
February 11, 2013
Original review 9/2013:I own a 100 lb Rottweiler who has had ACL tears in both back legs which both required surgery. Its been a year since his 2nd surgery but with combined knee injuries, he has some pretty severe arthritis already, which I'm told will only get worse with age. As a result he has a hard time resting and it is very obvious when he's sleeping that he's just not comfortable. He tosses and turns all night, gets up, lays down, up-down, up-down, wanders around the room etc. and in the morning when he goes to get up, he's clearly very sore and stiff. I've only had the Big Barker bed for about a month now, but so far ALL of these issues have been eliminated. He sleeps through the night now; no more tossing and turning, no more up-downs or pacing the room and in the morning he gets up, stretches and moves on - no more a.m. limping and obvious soreness! He's "brighter", happier and has a lot more energy! Good sleep is a wonderful thing, even for dogs!I've owned several orthopedic beds in the past, most costing around $140 each and I've gone through 4 of them in 5 years. They always flatten out in the middle, creating that big sag in the center, which is clearly why the dog is so uncomfortable. This bed is expensive, yes and cost was a major concern for me too, BUT I thought well, I've already spend over $500 on other beds and I have nothing to show for it. Part of my decision to purchase Big Barker was their "no flattening" guarantee. I felt the product MUST be good if they were willing to offer such a warranty. You DO get what you pay for. This bed is without a doubt, far superior to any I've ever owned or seen before, for that matter and it should last my dog for the rest of his life.My dog took to the bed right away and he loves the headrest.Read more ›
September 9, 2013
PROS:
  • This orthopedic dog bed is hand crafted. It has proper weight distribution and ensures extreme comfort for your dog unlike some mass-produced mattresses in the market.
  • It provides sufficient space for your dog even-even it is in full stretch position.
  • The orthopedic dog bed retains its original shape, support, and comfort level even after many years of use.
  • It is made of non-toxic materials that ensure good health of your pet.
  • The bed is firm enough, and it reduces aches and pains for pets with arthritis, so your dog enjoys a quality life.

CONS:
  • It is not suitable for use by smaller dogs due to special calibrations.
  • It is quite expensive as compared to other dog beds but it gives value for the money.
  • The orthopedic dog bed is made of warmer materials so it may get too hot at times making the dog uncomfortable.

back to menu ↑

Big Barker 7″ Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra Large Breed Dogs (Sleek Edition)

Big Barker 7 Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra Large Breed Dogs (Sleek Edition)

Overview

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Big Barker 7" Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra...

This Is The Dog Bed Our Customers Asked Us To Make!

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

48 x 30 x 7 inches ; 11 pounds

Shipping Weight

11.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

We have a 90lb greyhound that has pancaked every bed we have ever bought for him, including some pricey ones. So when I found this one, I was really excited. It shipped quick, the bed seems to be absolutely great quality, but it is 7 inches tall. Our dog climbed on it, passed out, loved it for a day, then one night he must have 'fell off' while sleeping and now he is utterly terrified of it and will not go near it! He would rather lay on the hardwood floors... which cannot be comfortable for a boney greyhound. It is such a disappointment. So, I don't know how this bed will hold up over time, but I was impressed with the quality. But it may not be the best purchase for a very skiddish dog due to it's height. Also, I bought a size large, and it seems a little too narrow for my dog. If you have a large dog, you may want to go up a size.:(*UPDATE* While this particular bed was not right for my snooty dog, the company itself was utterly spectacular, had awesome communication, and accepted a return with a full refund due to my dog's psychological issues. Absolutely the best company I have dealt with yet, so please give the bed a chance!
February 5, 2014
This is the bed my wife and I chose after an extensive search for a new bed for our 8-year-old German Shepherd. Having a 70 - 80 lb. dog that frequently gets up during the night due to arthritis, we needed to find a very comfortable, supportive bed. We had tried various other beds in prior years, discovering that they were either too thin to provide support, or that the foam degraded after a few months of (even light) use; at this point, we knew that a thick, high-quality foam would be the best long-term route.This dog bed is absolutely fantastic: the foam is supportive, comfortable, and resilient. As always, our dog was leery of a new bed, but after a little coaxing she tried it and was quickly comfortable and asleep. Each night since it arrived, we've noticed that she sleeps longer and more comfortably, pacing less and less, preferring her bed over the couch (which is also fine, but not ideal for her). We've also noticed her arthritis symptoms diminish, as evidenced by additional energy and bouncing at the dog parks. This was well worth the expenditure and will repay us not only by obviating replacements, but by improving the quality (and duration) of life of our dog.In contrast to other dog beds we've purchased, this foam is clearly a top-grade product. It is noticeably more resilient than the foam used in most other dog beds we've examined and easily meets - if not exceeds - the manufacturer claims. The cover is also quite impressive and does, indeed, protect the foam nicely and simplify cleaning.Aside from the unusually high quality of the bed, the manufacturer stands out as being uniquely committed to their product. After ordering, I received an e-mail explaining how the bed was packaged and what to expect as it re-expanded (it is compressed for shipping).Read more ›
April 24, 2013
I have worked at animal shelters for the last 11 years. During that time, I have seen scores of different dog beds. I never saw anything like this bed until it arrived. It is absolutely, unequivocally, without reservation or hesitation the greatest dog bed I have ever seen. I have an old, rickety senior bulldog who weighs about seventy pounds. When I last bought him a fancy bed from a popular pet store chain, he sunk into the thing within about one day. When he first plopped down on it, he sunk. This thing, which arrived vacuum packed in a frighteningly small package, is amazing. It is enormous, and it does exactly what it claims to do. My bulldog looks like he's floating on the surface of it. I can lay down next to him when he's on it and neither of us sink. The bed is amazing. The orthopedic foam is actually orthopedic foam, and it is wonderful. The cover is very soft, and my old dog absolutely loves it. I hope this company stays in business for a long time and I hope their standards remain as high as they are now because they have an absolutely excellent product. Money well spent. Period. I am going to recommend their beds to people at my shelter.
November 22, 2013
PROS:
  • The orthopedic dog bed reduces pressure and pain on the dog’s joints so it can enjoy sleeping.
  • It has a 7-inch thickness, and this is a real benefit for dogs with severe joint or skeletal issues.
  • The manufacturers do not compromise on quality and materials, so this bed is durable.
  • Since it does not sag, it is suitable for use even by dogs that weigh above average.
  • It has been made using CertiPUR-US certified foam, so it is not harmful to your dog or to the environment.

CONS:
  • Cannot be used by smaller dogs
  • Some dogs are uncomfortable with the height.

Why Choose an Orthopedic Dog Bed?

If you have a dog, it is important that you own an orthopedic dog bed regardless of whether your dog is healthy, ill, or even aged. Dogs with health issues such as arthritis and hip dysplasia benefit most from these beds, but they are also suitable for use by dogs in any condition. Choosing an orthopedic dog bed keeps your pet from sleeping on the floor where they are prone to aching joints. It also helps your dog to sleep better and to have a more comfortable life.

How to Choose the Best Dog Bed?

Weigh your dog before you embark on purchasing an orthopedic dog bed. You also need to take its measurement from tail to nose especially if your dog likes to lie in full stretch position. This will help you choose the right size of the bed and one that is dense enough to comfortably support the weight of your pet without sagging. Failure to follow such consideration could lead you to buy a bed that is weak or thin. This could increase pressure points and worsen any aches and pains that your dog may have.

Determine the features that are most important when choosing an orthopedic dog bed for your pet. This is because different dogs have different orthopedic care requirements as dictated by their age and state of health. For example, a dog with arthritis may require a bed with thick padding to eliminate pressure points. Similarly, aging dogs and dogs with short hair may require a bed that has heating abilities. The features may also be determined by your dog’s preferences, for example, there are some dogs who would enjoy sleeping in a hooded bed while others prefer an open bed.

Another factor to consider is the budget that you have set aside for the purchase of the orthopedic dog bed. In as much as there are genuine orthopedic beds that are not so much expensive, there are also counterfeit beds and some manufacturers may be putting expensive price tags on them, so you need to be careful. Ensure that you are being given value for your money by confirming that the bed you choose is made using quality materials. This is also important for the health and safety of your dog.

Always ensure that you read manufacturer’s instructions and go through the available reviews before making the purchase. This is useful in increasing the durability of the bed because there are some that require special maintenance to last long.

Competition

Among the top ten orthopedic dog beds reviewed, Big Barker 7″ Pillow Top Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large and Extra Large Breed Dogs (Headrest Edition) scores the highest because it has extra features that add value to it. While it may be uncomfortable for smaller dogs, it has the best quality as seen in the manufacturer’s willingness to give a ten years guarantee. It is hand made, and so the buyer is assured that it has been made with the right materials and following the correct regulations. This orthopedic dog bed is worth the price.

Sources:

Ebay.com

ConsumerReports.org

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password