Top 5 Proform Elliptical Reviews — Choose the Best Elliptical Trainer

Proform elliptical trainers are some of the best you can choose for your workouts. It’s not a secret to anyone that working out is very important in boosting good health and staying healthy for that matter. Exercising really does not mean making time for the gym, which many people find challenging to do; with the right workout machine, you can now enjoy workout sessions right from home. There are so many health and fitness equipment out there you can invest in to enjoy a lasting solution to your workout needs. These trainers come with amazing features that make them easy to use and effective in delivering the desired results.

Proform is a popular innovative leader in fitness and it offers durable trainers that come complete with a design that makes them easy to store when not in use. The best part of all is that these machines are actually affordable besides being durable. Proform has front drive series, rear drive series and hybrid series all of which come with advanced and customizable features to give you a pleasant user experience. You can use the following Proform elliptical reviews to select a machine that will help train your target muscle groups and even make changes between endurance and performance training.

Proform Elliptical Trainers’ Highlights

Elliptical trainers by Proform have a number of features that make them outstanding. The frame is made of commercial gauge steel construction, making the trainers very sturdy, durable, and reliable. With the silent magnetic resistance technology, you get to quietly train while at home. Most of the models have a console that is iPod compatible and complete with a speaker system so you can make your training sessions a little entertaining and productive for that matter. The foot pedals, as well as the incline ramp, are some of the features you can customize to ensure that you remain most comfortable when training. Most of the Proform trainers have a lifetime warranty on the frame giving you confidence in the quality of your machine.

On the downside, some users find the front series a little uncomfortable; some of the users do not find that natural feel when using the machines. Also on the console, you might need to buy a wireless module, even though many of the trainers are fit enabled. Apart from the great warranty on the frame, some parts have as few as just 90 days of warranty on them.

All in all, Proform has won in designing elliptical trainers that are comfortable and durable. It has a variety of models you can choose from at varying prices. This means that every user gets the chance to select the best and affordable trainer for their individual needs. You do not have to worry about the trainer taking much of your space at home because most of the models are designed to fold up easily for storage. The silent operation of the trainers also makes them generally ideal for home use. Below are some of the best Proform elliptical trainers you can consider.

ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical Machine

ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical Machine

Overview and design. You will simply love the ride on Proform Hybrid Trainer whether sitting down or standing. It is a versatile trainer that can operate as a recumbent bike or elliptical and you still get to enjoy preprogrammed workouts to meet with your workout level needs. This trainer has an adjustable seat so you can find the perfect fit for you, textured footpaths for safe riding, integrated water bottle holder and wheels that make moving it from place to place easier for you.

Workout programs. It has a total of 16 unique workout apps that are pre-loaded and 16 different resistance levels. This trainer has both manual and interval training programs.

Monitoring.  The oversized LCD display screen helps you track and adjust the pace. It has iFit technology powered by Google Maps so you are able to take a training route anywhere you like in the world.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical Machine

Whether you're standing up or sitting down, the ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical Machine is going to give you an easy ride as you get closer to your fitness goals. This versatile trainer allows you ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

47 x 26 x 18 inches ; 135 pounds

Shipping Weight

135 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I've been looking for a new piece of exercise equipment for a few months, as I had spinal fusion surgery this past summer and was told by my orthopedic surgeon that I need to exercise regularly to get my back muscles back into shape. I had an old exercise bike for quite a few years, but trying to pedal without lumbar support was terrible. I've looked at quite a few elliptical machines and recumbent bikes (both on amazon & the local sporting goods store) but either the price was too high or the settings were too difficult for a novice. After reading a lot of the reviews I took a chance on this piece of equipment (the price was great, 2 for the price of 1) and the fact that most people complained about a "short stride" on the elliptical setting sold me. I am 5'2" (about 115 lbs.) but I have fairly short legs and an even shorter stride. Most of the machines I tried at the sporting goods store had strides so huge that I felt like I was going to get thrown off into the wall!! So here are some of the things I encountered after ordering this trainer (sorry if my list is a little long, but I wanted to give answers to a lot of questions I had before ordering):*It took 7 days to receive the purchase (I used the free shipping so I was expecting about a week to receive the order).*The box is HUGE (according to the UPS man 125+ lbs.) luckily I have a nice UPS man who rang my doorbell and asked where I wanted the box stored. He wheeled it right into the garage. My husband was able to unpack the box in the garage and bring the pieces up separately.*It took exactly 2 hours for my husband to put it together, and that includes looking for a piece that happened to be missing. He's not the handiest guy but he's put together his fair share of IKEA furniture.Read more ›
March 17, 2014
This product arrived in just one gigantic box the size of a small refrigerator. The UPS guy had extreme difficulty getting it up the stairs in front of the house and we had to go out and help him. It took the 2 of us 4 hours to put it together on a Saturday afternoon. I have assembled many products out of boxes and this was by far the most difficult one. If you have a power screw driver it might help. You should also consider paying a handyman to do the assembly for you. The product comes with an 800 number to call for a professional assembly but I am sure it will cost quite a bit. We were unable to get the heart rate monitor to work so I will try to use the manufacturer's warranty for that. Keep in mind that it will be very difficult to return this product due to it's weight and repacking challenges. We had to put a lamp near the trainer because the monitor has no back light. The trainer is completely silent and works well. The conversion from one to the other requires the removal of a hard to turn piece so you may have to keep some pliers handy.If you are really motivated for in home exercise that you can't go wrong with this hybrid trainer. I removed one star for the very difficult assembly. If the trainer could be delivered completely assembled I would give it 5 stars for sure. Very sturdy material and looks great in just about any room. Used it a few times so far and love it.UPDATE: Apparently it is impossible to use the manufacturer's warranty. I tried calling Proform and was on hold for 30 minutes before a live person answered. He then put me on hold for another 15 minutes and hung up. The same thing happened a second time. I called Amazon Customer Service and the Rep was treated the same way. His Manager also tried and was unsuccessful.Read more ›
March 3, 2013
Not great, but not bad.I just got this for my wife and myself.So, some quick stats on the two users for thisMe 6'2' 175 LbsWife is 5' 6" and her weight is well within normal weight for BMIWife disabled with a 5 lbs weight limit.We have had this unit for less than a week.Ordered this and the first hiccup was the "free shipping" was only available if you had amazon prime...So I signed up for the free trial. To bad the joke is on them, that box weighs 150 lbs give or take and we live in Hawaii, go go $12 for two day delivery.Box was delivered on time, but getting the FedEx guy to bring it inside just to inside the door, less than fun.The instructions were very easy to follow, its only 20 pieces give or take that need to be snapped together. I was able to put it together solo in just under two hours, after working a 32 hour shift.One of the fun parts of this machines layout is this: In places where if it breaks, you could sue, everything is very well made, to the point where you dont even need the three screws per join.In places where if it breaks, you could not sue, its so bad its not even funny. ( cup holder, monitor)They say it has a stride of 15", WATCH OUT, I work for people that are 80+ years old and have a longer stride than that. When I use it, its like I am shuffling, very uncomfortable. Over time I will get the hang of it, but make sure you take a look and see what a normal stride is for yourself.Livestrong.com has a nice article about stride length.AllEllipticals.com recommends 16- and 18-inch stride lengths for users 5 feet 3 inches or shorter. If you are between 5-3 and 5-7, select an 18- to 20-inch stride length.Read more ›
March 21, 2013

PROS:
  • Silent magnetic resistance
  • A deep, breathable, molded and perforated seat design
  • Cushioned, larger and adjustable foot pedals
  • Watts power meter
  • 2 in 1 design

CONS:
  • Limited warranty on frame as well as parts and labor
  • Shorter non-adjustable stride
  • Cannot be folded
  • No in-handle incline controls

back to menu ↑

ProForm Smart Strider Rear Drive Elliptical

ProForm Smart Strider Rear Drive Elliptical

Overview and design.  This is another good trainer from Proform that has silent magnetic resistance to offer you quiet operation. Proform Smart Strider has inertia enhanced flywheel and soft touch grips for the upper body. The pedals are ergonomic and oversized but adjustable so you can get the right fit for your desired workout. The water bottle holder offers convenience when training and you will also love the wheels mounted on the front to make it easier for you to transport your machine from one area to another. Optimum balance is achieved by the oversized levelers featuring on the trainer.

Workout program.  It features 18 digital levels and has an adjustable stride length of between 18 and 20 inches matching average height. The preset workout routines include hill climbing, cross training, fat burning, cardio and interval programs.

Monitoring. This trainer has an EKG grip pulse tracker that allows you to monitor heart rate. It is also compatible with chest strap heart monitor. The large LCD monitor displays distance, duration and speed making it easy for you to track your progress including calories burned.

  • Product
  • Photos

ProForm Smart Strider Rear Drive Elliptical

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Out-of-Box Easy Assembly- This revolutionary minimal assembly design makes set-up as easy as 1-2-3; Soft Touch Upper-Body Grips, 18 Digital ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • Space saver design
  • iPod compatible
  • Easy to view the monitor

CONS:
  • Limited warranty on parts and labor
  • Interference with the touchscreen console when using media on the tablet holder

back to menu ↑

ProForm 1110 E Elliptical Trainer

ProForm 1110 E Elliptical Trainer

Overview and design.  It is made from commercial gauge solid steel that makes the machine very durable. Proform 1110 E is a front drive trainer that has a power adjustable stride. It has a sleek design and uses smart technology to ensure that you reach the fitness objectives you have efficiently and quickly for that matter. Using the iFit enabled elliptical you can travel the word using Google Maps and even track your progress and compete with your fitness buddies. This trainer has quick touch handles which make give you control of the incline, resistance, and stride length.

Workout programs. It has 32 preset workout apps that automatically adjust the elliptical resistance so that your time is maximized to fetch you the desired results faster. The apps are easy to navigate so you can choose the kind of workout you want and you are ready to start. It also has 25 digital resistance levels. The levels give you the freedom to adjust workout resistance so you can increase your calorie burn and achieve higher intensity.

Monitoring.  The 7ʺ backlit display that is lit gives you an easy time reading clearly. The viewing angle is large and your height will therefore not interfere with your progress tracking as you continue with the workout. This display helps you keep track of distance covered, speed, heart rate, calories burned and the resistance.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

ProForm 1110 E Elliptical Trainer

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Made from commercial-gauge solid steel, this machine is built to last; Front Drive, 20"-22" Power Adjustable Stride; 32 lb. Effective Inertia ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

250 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Origin

 China

Item model number

PFEL10112

The perfect gym quality machine for the home. I am completely impressed with the quality of this machine. I am used to commercial machines and this one fits the bill. Its 32lb fly wheel gives it the resistance and stability a good machine needs. It is surprisingly larger than I expected (mostly in height). It is roughly 5 1/2 feet long and 2 feet wide.I put the machine together for the most part by myself. I am 32 years old and 5'3. The machine is heavy so getting it out of the box and moving certain pieces required help, but for the vast majority of the install, no help was needed. It took me about 4 hours. Any elliptical would have taken me that long... they are all a pain to assemble.The controls are easy to navigate. The LED display looks great and is easy to read. I LOVE the placement of the fan. The 8" fan can be tilted up and down and has two speeds. It is a little loud but feels wonderful from a low angle.I couldn't find any information online regarding its ability to work in a backwards motion. It does. I wanted to add that incase anyone else wanted to know. Also, the drink holder is large enough for a full sized camelback bottle.
December 13, 2013
This is the UPDATE to my original post: I FINALLY received a working ProForm 1110E, a month+ after initially ordering it, and I just finished my first workout. Though there are a few essentials one must learn by reading the user manual, such as ensuring that the heart-rate monitor chest-strap is moistened prior to use and that the machine gets unplugged after every use, once in operation this machine offers a superior workout! It is BEYOND my expectation. The machine is very sturdy and operates even better than the machines I have been subjected to at Bally's. I couldn't be happier with it!!!Original Post (Rating: 1 Star)CAUTION when purchasing a Proform machine! They break during shipment and trying to contact customer service is TERRIBLE!My brand new elliptical that I waited two weeks for (because that is how long they take to deliver after purchase) arrived with the bottom bracket bent and the cup holder broken, rendering the machine useless.I called Icon and started a workout of patience- sitting on hold for over 30 minutes. Finally, a customer service representative said they would ship a replacement the following week. A week came and went, I received no notification of shipment.I called Icon again. Sat on hold for 45 minutes this time. When I asked if my replacement had been shipped, they said yes, to a different customer to fulfill their order! Then they told me I would have to wait another week for a machine to be available.A week came and went- no machine. Sat on hold again, another 45 minutes of my life down the drain. They say my machine has been available to ship for three days now, but hasn't, and they don't know why....?!Read more ›
January 8, 2014
I purchased this from a local sporting good store; sorry, Amazon, too many negative stories about shipping problems. Earlier, from the same store, I purchased a different model (the 19 E), but discovered that it was too big for the space I have, so I returned that one and bought the ProForm 1110 E. This model is quite a bit smaller than the other one, and fits fine.Pros:> Smooth action.> Very quiet, without the cooling fan running. With the cooling fan it is quite a bit louder.> Assembly, while not exactly speedy, went well enough. Everything fit as intended, though some of plastic trim was a challenge.> While not exactly small, it's a lot smaller than some of the units I've seen (and even purchased, briefly).> Seems solid, though I have not had it long enough to stress it as much as I'd like.> Adjustable ramp, resistance, and even stride.> It's got wheels which help to move it short distances. It's also quite massive, so you're going to get a workout if you move it.> Equipped with an iPad holder. Too bad I don't have an iPad, but I may get one some day.Cons:> Stinks! My exercise room smells like it was sprayed with toxic waste. I am presuming that the odor will eventually mellow out.> Water bottle holder is poorly positioned, unless you're under 3 feet in height.> The electronic display is somewhat primitive, and could use some jazzing up.> The instructions say you should unplug the unit after each use.That last Con is a serious flaw, IMHO. How difficult would it have been to supply an on/off switch? The instructions say that the electronics will have a shorter life span if you leave it plugged in, and without the electronics you can't adjust the ramp incline or the resistance.Read more ›
September 20, 2014

PROS:
  • 32 lbs flywheel
  • Digital quick incline
  • Includes wireless chest strap
  • Impressive warranty
  • Backward and forward motion
  • Power adjustable stride

CONS:
  • iFit enabled by subscription required
  • Heavy to move
  • Hard to reach bottle holder during workouts

back to menu ↑

Proform 10.0 CE Elliptical

Proform 10.0 CE Elliptical

Overview and design. This elliptical trainer is ergonomic and very comfortable for that matter. Proform 10.0 CE has a sturdy body frame and can withstand 27275-poundoad capacity, which is standard for elliptical machines. The rear wheel design and foldable nature of the machine make some of the best machine features. An instruction manual is included even though the machine is very easy to assemble: you won’t necessarily need a professional for the assembling. Also notable is the large step up pads making it ideal for lots of foot sizes and it adds to the comfort and stability of the machine.

Workout programs.  It has 18 workout apps you can choose from not just to make your sessions more entertaining, but to choose the workouts that will drive you faster to your desired results. You can easily and quickly adjust the stride so you get the right fit or even change the workout to add more variety to the session. The 18 digital resistance levels so you can push your body to its limits as you progress.

Monitoring.  Using the 5 inch LCD display, you can monitor resistance levels, distance, time, pulse, speed and calories burned. The controls on the monitor are easy to access and use, hence finding needed data is swift.

  • Product
  • Photos

Proform 10.0 CE Elliptical

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; iFit Live Technology Compatible; Quickly adjust your stride from 16" to 20"; 18 Workout Apps; Compatible Music Port for iPod; 1-Step SpaceSaver ...

Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • iFit live technology that makes it possible for you to work out across the globe using Google Maps
  • Music port that is iPod compatible
  • One step space saver design that makes assembling and storage very easy for you
  • Silent operation
  • Has cooling fans for comfort

CONS:
  • No incline or ramp option
  • Low weight capacity
  • iFit membership required

back to menu ↑

Proform Endurance 520 E Elliptical Machine

Proform Endurance 520 E Elliptical Machine

Overview and design.  Workout sessions need not be boring anymore. With the Proform Endurance 520 E elliptical trainer, you can enjoy your favorite jams or even watch your favorite show or video, thanks to the tablet holder that keeps your tablet handy. This trainer offers a full body workout and you can, therefore, work the lower and upper body simultaneously and has15 lb. inertia enhanced flywheel and soft upper body grips for more control over your training. You are also able to track your progress so you are sure to reach your daily targets every time. The design is suitable for home use considering that the trainer is neither exceptionally lightweight nor  heavy hence you experience quality stride.

Workout programs. This trainer has 18 workout apps and 18 digital resistance levels to make your sessions customizable depending on your personal preferences. You can choose the suitable stride length from 18 to 20 inches depending on what you find the most ideal for that present moment of the training. It also has 20ʺ adjustable stride and 20-degree adjustable incline to improve your control and balance.

Monitoring.  It has an EKG grip pulse that allows you to monitor your heart rate as you continue training. The backlit display gives you an easy time clearly reading and tracking your progress. The monitoring features make sure your workouts are productive and healthy at the same time.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Proform Endurance 520 E Elliptical Machine

Mix up your workout routine with any of the 18 different pre-set apps on the Proform Endurance 520 E Elliptical Machine. This fabulous elliptical gives you a low-maintenance, full-body workout with ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

67 x 30 x 18 inches ; 200 pounds

Shipping Weight

200 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

This machine replaced my old Nordic Track AudioStrider elliptical machine (note: Nordic Track/Proform are the same company) .-- my old machine had an arm snap off (at the weld) -- I pondered between replacing the part or replacing the machine... I decided to get a new machine.My old machine had the rear wheel, vs the front wheel. Otherwise they are very similar.Note: This model has a Nordic Track twin - E7.0 -- the differences are price (proform is less $), and the layout of the controls are slightly different.Why I chose this machine?--Price - on sale, plus discount & free ship.. made this a great deal. I bought from Proform, their price with additional discounts, and free shipping was less than a local store (the local store also did not have in stock, but Proform did and shipped quickly -- ordered Jan 5th - shipped the 7th - received the 15th).--Power adapter vs Power plug - most machines now have a power plug vs adapter (I preferred the adapter). The nice thing about the ones with a power plug they will also have an auto adjustable incline, models with a power adapter are a manual adjustment for incline.--Test Drive - after reading & reviewing (and examining online manuals) I liked this machine, I checked it out in store and it fit every need I had.--Assembly -Slightly tricky, a little bit of negotiation with the parts.. But it went together.--Note: make sure you have that rubber mallet.Hauling to 2nd floor - We opened the box on the main floor of our home, to carry the body of the machine to the upper floor -- it is heavy but not back breaking (for two to carry)--Size--This a (relatively) compact machine (in footprint) - but it does add height.Read more ›
January 17, 2015
Ease of Assembly (5/5)The elliptical comes with a relatively easy-to-understand manual with assembly instructions and diagrams. I did not feel stuck at any point during the assembly process. Loose parts (nuts, bolts, etc.) were well-packaged and came in one large pack. I'm 5'6" and 135 pounds, and it took about a good 3.5 hours to assemble this machine by myself. The manual says it's a 2-person job, but you can likely do it by yourself if you're taller than 5' and willing to struggle a bit. I recommend attaching the included wheels and moving the elliptical base to its final location before you continue assembling because the final product is 200lbs. There's a plethora of cardboard and packaging materials, so give yourself plenty of room to work.Features (3/5)I chose this elliptical mainly because of the $400-$500 price point. I knew the features were bare-bones going in. What you get is an elliptical with the following:-20-inch stride with a 15-lb flywheel-18 resistance levels-Heart rate monitor-Supposedly 18 work-out apps (I only see 12 based on the panel buttons)-3.5mm audio input and speakers-Built-in USB charging-Tablet and water holdersYou won't find a built-in fan, automatic incline adjustments, or personalized calorie tracking based on your weight and height. I actually prefer the manual incline adjustments since it means one fewer part that can break. More sophisticated tracking options can be unlocked if your purchase an iFit module, but that'll cost you a pretty penny for something that has ugly reviews on Amazon (aka avoid).Durability (4/5)For the most part, this machine feels solid.Read more ›
January 12, 2015
Purchased this elliptical on sale for $549.00, cash and carry, as my wife's Christmas present. From opening of box to fully assembled was about 3 hours for the two of us (saved the $69.00 assembly fee). You will have a hard time assembling with one person. Also, be sure to follow directions carefully, but they are not too complicated. All parts were included, well packed, and in excellent condition. Although we have not had the unit for long, it works great so far with no complaints. Very smooth and quite and gives you one heck of a workout. When in the low position, it is like running without the impact. In the incline position, it is like running stairs. Has a book stand, tablet holder, USB charging station, and MP3 hookup for built-in speakers. Also, auto programs and ability to connect wirelessly to Ifit.com. Great machine to go along with our 10-year old ProForm recumbent bike and 12-year old ProForm treadmill. I suggest trying one at a local sporting goods store before you buy - you will be surprised at the quality.
January 3, 2015

PROS:
  • Water bottle holder to conveniently keep your water where you need it most
  • SMR silent magnetic resistance that maintains the quiet around your home even as you train
  • Leveling feet and integrated tablet holder for your convenience
  • iPod and iFit compatibility so you can train from any place in the world
  • Lifetime warranty on frame

CONS:
  • Parts and labor warranty of 1 year
  • Limited iPod features support
  • Manual incline adjustments
  • 15 lbs flywheel limiting the smooth ride of the elliptical

Competition

The Proform elliptical review shows a tight competition between the top models from the brand. The ProForm Smart Strider Rear Drive Elliptical seems to be the users’ choice followed closely by the Proform Endurance 520 E and the Proform Hybrid Trainer. The product ratings on authoritative platforms such as amazon show indicate that the smart strider rear drive elliptical is more preferred even though the ratings for the rest of the trainers is just as impressive.

In conclusion, it would be justified to say that Proform has maintained the tradition of innovation and quality. It is not only a fine producer of treadmills, but it has also has managed to make a name for itself when it comes to weight benches, exercise bikes and elliptical machines. With one of the machines, you can be sure that you will get effective workouts possible. These trainers come with striking designs for performance and beauty too. You can choose a finish that you find most appealing to make a great addition to your home gym. The sturdy, durable trainers are easy to assemble, use and store when not in use and you, therefore, do not have to worry about the machine taking up most of your space because you can store it away.

Sources

http://www.ellipticalreviews.com

http://www.amazon.com/

http://elliptical-machines-review.toptenreviews.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password