Top 10 Best Recumbent Bike Reviews – Your Ultimate Guide

Investing in the best recumbent bike is a wonderful way to take your health to the next level in the comfort of your home. It is a great alternative for anyone who wants to either warm up the body for further workout routines, or for a solid workout in itself. Best of all, you can park the bike in front of your computer or TV and control your own entertainment while getting your cardio on. One of the most difficult tasks, though, is finding a brand and model that includes the ideal features at the right price level. There is a lot to consider. But the good news is that when buying a recumbent bike, you will see that there is something for everyone and you’re guaranteed to find one that fits within your budget range. To help you find the right match, we have listed what we feel are the best choices on the market currently.

Exerpeutic Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike 900XL With Pulse

Exerpeutic Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike 900XL With Pulse

Overview

This bike is best known for being sturdy and well priced. It has a low-cost and basic setup and doesn’t have a ton of whistles and bells besides a heart-rate monitor which is located in the handgrips. One thing that stands out about this recumbent bike is that it has a durable yet user-friendly design. Exerpeutic Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike 900XL With Pulse can accommodate up to 300lbs even though it only weighs 63 lbs.

Has extended leg stabilizers and a low center of gravity; features that are much needed to keep the bike in place even during your most intense workouts.

  • Precisely balanced V-belt drive, flywheel alongside an efficient torque cranking system for quiet and smooth operation.
  • Offers 8 levels of magnetic resistance allowing for a wide array of workout intensity, LCD display, and scan feature.
  • Equipped with foot straps which are meant to hold your feet in place so they don’t slip out while you’re pedaling away.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Exerpeutic 900XL Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike with Pulse

The Exerpeutic 900XL Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike with Pulse makes working out convenient on your body and your bank account.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

42 x 22 x 10 inches ; 70 pounds

Shipping Weight

70 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Updated Jan23, 2016.Still like this bike. Just noticed the comments asking for the table info. Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002VWJZ8SOriginal postI got this bike a month ago. So far I like it. Here are something I'd like to share. It might help you decide which one to buy.1. The seat is not comfortable enough for me to stay on the bike for 40 minutes. I put a pillow on the seat and it solved the problem (see the image I uploaded).2. Adjustable Seat: Not sure if I did it wrong, it's adjustable but after adjustment, you have to tighten the screw. It's not like the adjustable ones in the gym that you can adjust whenever you want. I'm OK with it since I'm the only person who use it.3. Assembly: Easy enough. I assembled it by myself. No difficulties.4. It's quiet and resistant is good. Easy to adjust.5. I work at home more than 40 hours a week. Plus driving kids to all kinds of activities, cooking meals etc. Sometimes it's hard to take 30-40 minutes to exercise. So I want to transfer some of my working hours to fitness hours. There's no book holder on console to hold the book or iPad. To buy one, the cost is about $25-$30. I searched high and low on Amazon and found a overbed table less than $60. Bought the table and now I have a bike work station (see image uploaded). I'm typing this review while cycling :)6. The console works fine. The pulse is accurate. It also tells you time, calories, distance which I don't care. No problem seeing the display.ThanksMichelle
May 11, 2013
TO SEE ALL OF THE LATEST UP-TO-DATE REVIEWS (THRU 1/4/2014), BE SURE TO CLICK ON THE "READ MORE..." LINK BELOW. :)Greetings!!!I spent a lot of time reviewing many machines and watching videos and I finally decided on this one.I have been riding recumbent bikes for 8 years and I have owned ones with lots of bells and whistles,and just simple manual machines for setting your own loads for intensive training.I just finished putting this together and it is a great performer. It has a very solid frame and themagnetic resistance load goes from very light to extreme load. It will challenge anyone wishing fora hard workout. The computer has the basics for letting you know distance, speed, elapssed time, caloriesburned (approx. only), etc. If you are not looking for programmed routines and just want a goodmanual riding machine, you will not be disapointed. I was very surprised at the solidness of this bike.It is also very quiet and will not interfere at all with watching TV.You get your money's worth and this is an excellent buy for this price. I paid $157.It does take a while to put together, but it is all very clear and you cannot put the wires together wrongdue to their male/female connections. Do not feel intimidated by the assembly and take your time and enjoy theexperience. When you finally sit down on it you will not regret it.I gave it 5 stars for the quality and ruggedness of the frame and the ease of use.If you are looking for a manual adjust magnetic resistance recumbent bike for a good price to quality ratio - you're here!!!Update: July 25, 2012 I have been using this recubent bike for 2 weeks now. It is definately quiet. You cannot even hear yourself pedaling.Read more ›
July 13, 2012
I am in the middle of a diet and exercise program, and have been aching to get a recumbent exercise bike since the beginning. I am keeping a blog about my weight loss and mentioned it several times. My parents took note of it and purchased this for me for Christmas 2011. I was real excited when I got it home and put it together.It assembled real well; it's straight-forward enough that for the most part you don't even really need directions. I used them anyway, though just for posterity's sake. It took about an hour and a half, maybe two hours to do by myself, and would've been quicker if I had been a bit more organized (half of that time was spent trying to find my tools again after moving to the next part).It's very quiet, and the tension settings are easily adjustable. The seat is fairly comfortable, and as long as you have the adjusters tightened correctly it makes no noise as you ride.The display is fairly simple; it displays the current distance, the time spent, your current heartrate, your mph, and how many calories you've burned for the workout. It also keeps a running count of your overall distance. It doesn't have any fancy programs or anything, it just comes on when you start pedaling. I like that because it's more like a real bike -- just get on and ride!The only issue I have is that adjusting the seat takes a little getting used to. There are three stabilizers for the seat, and I have yet to be able to adjust them without unscrewing them all completely and putting them back in. I'm sure that's just a learning curve thing though, and really doesn't detract from the experience at all.Long story short, I've had an excellent time with this bike so far, and would highly recommend it to anyone who's looking for a relatively inexpensive bike.
January 2, 2012
PROS:
  • Offers 3-year warranty on frame and 90-day warranty on parts
  • Easy to assemble, thanks to a step-by-step assembly guide
  • Built to maximize comfort and motivation through its oversized cushion, backrest, and LCD

CONS:
  • The attached step-by-step guide does not do a great job in explaining how to assemble the tension cable

back to menu ↑

Exerpeutic Folding Recumbent Bike 400XL

Exerpeutic Folding Recumbent Bike 400XL

Overview

Exerpeutic 400XL is not only compact but also portable and easy to assemble. It has a V-belt double drive transmission system and precisely balanced flywheel which makes for a smooth and quiet workout. Besides that, the bike is enhanced with a magnetic tension control system that can be adjusted for a maximum of 8 levels of resistance. Note that it has a semi-recumbent design that makes it easier for fitness enthusiasts weighing 300 lbs or fewer.

  • The bike weighs just above 39 lbs and it is foldable into halves for easy storage.
  • It is equipped with an LCD display, which is easy to read as it displays multiple important data points on an interface that is easy for the eye.
  • The backrest and seat cushions are large and comfy and hence suitable for individuals of various body sizes.
  • It comes with a hand pulse monitor which measures your heart rate in real time and displaying the results on a monitor.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Exerpeutic 400XL Folding Recumbent Bike

Get all of the benefits of a high-grade recumbent exercise bike at home with none of the special sacrifice with the Exerpeutic 400XL Folding Recumbent Bike. This compact bike features a full-size ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

33 x 19 x 46 inches ; 43 pounds

Shipping Weight

53 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Origin

 China

Item model number

1110

As an apartment dweller I was so pleased to find this (thanks Sky Mall magazine for the idea, but bigger thanks to Amazon for having it at a great price with super saver shipping too). To be honest I was skeptical as to how sturdy this product would be and as to how much of a workout it would give. I have not been disappointed at all and in fact more pleased than I thought I'd be.It was easy to assemble, but must say that the instruction manual gives WAY too many diagrams of parts, etc. that aren't needed to assemble it and makes it look more intimidating to assemble than it really is. It comes with a wrench and Phillips head screwdriver/Allen wrench and that's all you'll need. It took me about 45 minutes to assemble, but had the instructions been simpler it would have been more like 30 minutes. I keep the tools handy and check the assembly points from time to time and give it a little snugging up, but it's not as if the bolts are really loose. It's just me being a tradesman's daughter and raised with the idea of preventive maintenance. It compacts and moves easily with the small wheels on the back - I can move it with one hand.And as far as getting a really good workout on this bike is concerned, by the time I'm hitting levels 4 and 5 I'm really feeling it and need to have a small hand towel nearby to use along with about 24 oz of water for a 60 minute workout. I typically cycle about 1500 miles each year so it's not as if I'm just starting to incorporate bikes into my fitness routine. The seat is very comfortable and the back support is wonderful. I don't find myself dreading the idea of finally getting to 60 minutes because of the comfortable seat and back.Read more ›
October 22, 2011
I have used this for a couple of days now and I believe there wont be any more surprises.Pros:Functions great - is a great exercise bike, without the front handle bar i can watch TV, play a game, or use a tray table to use a laptop.Quiet - i can use this right next to the wife while watching TV, its practically silent.Small - Folds into smallest footprint I've seen on a bike.Sturdy - pieces went together firmly and the whole thing feels stout (I am 245lbs and it doesn't feel flimsy under me)Cons:Material quality - while everything went together well, and the frame is well made, the plastic housing on the gearbox came cracked in a few spots and the back has stitching coming loose.Awkward moving - When folded up, it can be a bit awkward to move around.On the whole I am pleased with the unit, and it would get a perfect score if not for the minor blemishes in the cheap parts. Time will tell if anything starts to fall apart (could see the seat coming off its base plate).
December 4, 2011
This is a pretty good recumbent exercise bike, but...It is advertised for people up to 6' 2". That is my height and it is much too small for me. FYI I have a 32" inseam. Beware if you are over 6'.Like other reviewers' bikes, mine came with a damaged decorative plastic cowl. In fact, the flywheel initially rubbed noisily against the transparent part. Thanks to other reviewers who mentioned this could be adjusted by hand. After doing adjusting the transparent cowl, the gray plastic housing would not hold together (a stripped screw perhaps). The manufacturer or Amazon probably would have sent new parts, but I didn't want the hassle and just used heavy tape to hold it together. Looks fine.Because of the above, I would have sent it back but I didn't want to face the disassembly and attempting to repack it in the box. Probably a couple of hours of work to return it on top of the time invested already.Fortunately, another reviewer (Robert Bissett) mentioned in his review building up the seat with foam and in correspondence helpfully suggested that a yoga block or two (4" high) would be helpful. I experimented with a yoga block and it works well for me, although it looks weird. I'll post a photo. You may not believe that it feels ok but in fact it does for me. The "sit bones" fit on the single block as shown in the photo. I may need to do more but had a pretty good workout on it today using the yoga block on the stock seat. It feels MUCH better getting adequate leg extension.Also of note, the pulse monitor doesn't work. No matter, didn't intend to use it. Like another reviewer, I just count my pulse for six seconds and add a zero to get my bpm.Read more ›
January 26, 2013

PROS:
  • Sturdy as it’s built with sturdy leg stabilizers.
  • Easy to use and assemble.
  • Durable as it is made from durable materials.

CONS:
  • Its minimalistic size makes this model unsuitable for tall people above 6”0’.

back to menu ↑

Marcy ME-709 Recumbent Bike

Marcy ME-709 Recumbent Bike

Overview

Popularly known as the Marcy Mag Cycle, this recumbent bike would be an excellent exercise tool for anyone looking to lose weight, improve fitness level and tone up. It offers all kinds of benefits of a regular street bicycle alongside the added advantage that its pedals are intelligently located slightly below the seat level. Essentially, that means that during exercise your legs will be extended towards the front rather than beneath your body – and that way, less stress is placed on your ankles, knees and back.

  • Has an oversized console which allows for easy monitoring of your speed, time and distance covered – and also the number of calories burned.
  • It comes with an adjustable seat, allowing for flexible pedal distance, which makes it suitable for both short and tall users (from 5 feet to well over 6 feet).
  • It has an 8-level magnetic resistance allowing for extremely quiet and smooth training sessions with easy transitioning across different resistance levels.
  • Designed with a gap between the arm rests to allow easy access even for larger built individuals. In addition, if more room is needed, the arms rests can be left off.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Marcy ME 709 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Reduce fat, increase stamina, and improve cardiovascular performance all with the Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike. This upright bike features 8 preset levels of resistance in a comfortable recumbent ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

31 x 22 x 12 inches ; 64 pounds

Shipping Weight

64 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I've been using this bike for about two years and I absolutely love it. I turn on the television and watch a movie or play video games and the time flies by! I honestly forget I'm riding it sometimes, though that depends how good the movie or video game is! I have to get up every 30 minutes to stretch and give my buttocks a break, but it's a very comfortable seat overall. I keep a pillow stashed between the seat and backrest for even more comfort. When I started, I was 400 lbs so there's no weight limit that I'm aware of. Easy to assemble, and you can adjust the tension from 1-8 to make your workout easier or harder. Plus, the legs rotate forward or backward, so you can ride in any direction you please. It also allows you to adjust the length from the seat to the pedals, so if you're short or tall you can adjust it to fit your needs. Also, it's relatively heavy but the bottom of the unit includes rollers, so it rolls across the carpet or hardwood flooring for easy storage. The unit is magnetic so it's very quiet--can't hear a thing when you're riding. The digital screen tracks time elapsed, calories burned, distance traveled and current speed; you can set it to rotate between these display options or set it to stick to a single option (for instance, if you only want to see time elapsed). I haven't replaced the batteries yet (I think they're two AA), so they seem to last forever. I don't use the handlebars or the sidebars--my knees kept hitting the handlebars so I removed them, making it easier to ride. My only suggestion: It could use a headrest, but if you put it in front of a wall or fashion a headrest on it like I did, you're set to kick back and watch the pounds melt away!I lost 60 pounds over the course of a few months doing no other exercise other than riding this recumbent bike in my room. Yeah, it's THAT good. Great exercise bike that's well worth the price!
May 9, 2010
My husband and I were looking for a style of exercise bike that was easy on the posterior and on the wallet. The Marcy recumbent Mag cycle is both! My husband and my teenaged son were able to put it together in less than an hour (if you don't count the time in laying out the parts and reading through the instructions first). There were 2 washers left over, so I am assuming that the manufacturer included extras.The monitor keeps track of the time that you spend exercising in each session, speed, distance traveled, calories burned, and it has an odometer. I was surprised about how quiet it is, as our previous upright exercise bike was quite noisy. The bike also has a dial to set the tension level (there are 8 levels).I was able to buy the Marcy bike on sale for $127 and with super saver shipping through Amazon I was able to get free shipping and handling. This turned out to be a much better deal than through Walmart dot com.
December 30, 2009
My wife loved the bike for about two weeks. Then she felt a periodic inconsistency in resistance related to her pedaling speed. A corresponding noise became increasingly annoying. At her request I opened it up and found that the flywheel axle pulley had been over-tightened during assembly causing damage to the ball bearings. The normally sealed bearing was crushed and the balls were falling out. While design is a factor, incorrect assembly is the greater culprit. I speculate that the other reviewers that have mentioned inconsistent pedal resistance have the same problem. I registered the product today on [...] and will be seeking a replacement part. These parts are all internal to the "Main frame" so I'm uncertain as to whether I'll receive just the bearing or an entire main frame. I will update this post with their response.Update:I apologize for the delayed response. I did get it fixed. I called the company and reported the problem and within days they sent me a new flywheel (magnetic resistance wheel) that included a new axle and bearings. I noticed that it was missing the appropriate washers (same as the original) to protect the axle bearing so it would have caused a similar problem again. I used one washer from the old axle and changed the assembly order. I called back their tech support and reported my findings and they were very gracious and said they would get immediate word to the factory.After installing the flywheel appropriately, it has given many hours of good service. My wife has thoroughly enjoyed it. That said, I couldn't recommend the product until I knew that the factory had corrected their assembly procedures.
April 6, 2011

PROS:
  • Firmly padded features like seats and armrests which are also ergonomically angled to provide comfortable workout positions.
  • Easy to assemble.
  • Durable and backed by 2 years limited warranty.

CONS:
  • Lacks a heart rate monitor.

back to menu ↑

Schwinn Recumbent Bike 270

Schwinn Recumbent Bike 270

Overview

Schwinn 270 is, without a doubt, the best recumbent bike on the market. It is suitable for anyone whether a novice or a fitness guru. The machine is loaded with great features and 29 programmed workouts plus the ability to download more items to make your exercise routine more fulfilling. In addition, it has an adjustable seat to allow for various postures. This seat has a ventilated back designed to allow for free flow of air while the individual is pedaling.

  • A friendly design and compact fit weighing 86.6 lbs and occupying a space of 27.7 inches width, 49.9 inches height, and 64 inches length.
  • Equipped with modern technology features like in-console speakers with MP3 or iPod player port, Bluetooth, USB data transfer and direct connection to MyFitnessPal.
  • Has a three-speed cooling fan, transport wheels for easy mobility and media shelf for a convenient workout experience.
  • Equipped with a heart rate monitor which is strategically placed on handlebar grips. This machine is also telemetry enabled for chest-strap capability.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Schwinn 270 Recumbent Bike

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

Took my husband and I little over one hour to assemble. Excellent directions for each step, with things that could be put in place at the factory already done for us. No missing or faulty parts, well packed. Once the front and rear legs with two screws each are in place to make it stand on it's own you can add seat, handlebars, pedals and cowling. Electronics run through the uprights and go together with press fit connectors. In use, all electronics came alive once the supplied power supply was plugged in. Turns itself off after use. You can set up to 4 users by name, and track/record everything needed. Resistance adjustments require only a push of the up or down buttons. Very quite in operation with a comfortable seat that is easily adjusted with a single adjustment lever, so the seat can slide up/down it's track. Plug in to add your music player to feed the speakers. A quite fan that is a gentle breeze and not much more even on high.Update, this bike has been excellent in everyday use going on two months. The 25 one touch resistance levels are getting use as we are able to increase them as we progress. We also ordered the POLAR chest strap (get the uncoded one)and it links up to the telemetric enabled heart rate monitor with no drama. RegardsI thought that an update after six months of use would be helpful to some. This bike is still a joy! Easy to adjust with just the single lever between users. We have added some strips of tape on the rail so that different user position lock downs are quick and consistent. We also like that selecting users by name is quickly done, and your program starts automatically as soon as you begin to pedal. When your ride is over you push stop, and a cool down period begins that is optional. You can just walk away and it will turn itself off. My Kindle fits the book shelf and is steady for a good read that allows exercise time to pass before I know it which is a good thing. Regards
October 15, 2013
I encountered the same delivery problem as 2 other reviewers. When it arrived, the box was slightly damaged. While I did not notice until I finished the assembling the bike, there were cosmetic damage (2 end caps on the seat rail) on it. The reason I did not take any star off is because of the great customer service. After I call, the representative instructed me that the parts would be replaced. Although I have not received the parts yet, I feel the company would back its product.Pros:Easy to assemble (about 2 hours with one person)Great features including anything you are interested about your workoutVery quiet - I can watch TV in normal volumeComfortable seatEasy seat adjustment for many body sizeSpeakers are decentAdjustment on the base for uneven flooringAttractive designLove the ability to mount an ipad or kindle fire without additional accessoryLove the dual display because I can watch movie on my kindle fire and still keep track of progressAuto shut off after you stop exercisingReasonable price base on featuresCons (maybe more personal preference)LCD display is a little bright especially in a darker room; wish I can adjust brightnessSlight side to side shake on the seat when pedaling hardFan is too weak even at maximal strengthUSB charging slow (for my 8.9 kindle fire HD).Wish the water bottle holder in the front, but the holder is larger enough to put your phone and other itemsOther thought:I hope this will stand the test of time. I intend to keep it as long as possible. I will update if there is any durability problem.
October 18, 2013
**** UPDATE 12/4/2013 ****Schwinn customer service was top notch. After seeing my review they put a fairly generic response to call support (see below). Skeptical that phone support could/would fix the website, I called anyways, just after they closed. The next day however, a real person answered right away and put me in contact with the development team, who was able to recreate the problem (which was a rare a tricky bug that only happened if your longest workout was exactly at an hour mark, if my longest ride was 61 minutes then the problem wouldn't have been noticed). The support staff kept me in the loop the whole time including over the weekends. They also fixed all of the other errors that I had noticed. So while I'm going to keep my rating at 4 stars (I still wish the buttons were utilized better and the screen was dim-able... I would up it to 4.5 if I could), the customer support earns a solid 5 stars and will influence my future exercise purchases.As for the companion website itself... It's a visual view of your past workouts and achievements. I'd love to see it get expanded with more export options (LoseIt,FitBit,Etc.) and possibly a coaching module. Overall it's a simple but very nice dashboard and a lot easier to navigate than the LCD display.**** END UPDATE ****This is an attractive well built bike with some great features and just a few small problems. It took me a little over an 90 minutes to assemble it myself, if I had to build another and had a second set of hands I imagine it could be done in 30 minutes. Once it was built setting up the very bright control panel and first user was easy enough to do without instructions, but not exactly intuitive.Read more ›
November 19, 2013

PROS:
  • Assembling this bike is easy, all thanks to a step-by-step guideline that explains it all.
  • Built by a reputable manufacturer with a clean track-record since 1895.
  • Has an awesome console plus 29 programmed workouts.

CONS:
  • Despite providing chest strap capability, this accessory is not provided with the machine and one has to buy it separately.

back to menu ↑

Schwinn 230 Recumbent Bike

Schwinn 230 Recumbent Bike

Overview

The model 230 from Schwinn is a well constructed recumbent bike that gives fitness enthusiasts a variety of exercise plans. It has 20 levels of resistance, 22 built-in programs and data-cum-progress tracking technology to keep you challenged while providing you with a plethora of possibilities. Moreover, it has a large spacious seat and an LCD display that can track up to 13 data points.

  • Has a heart rate monitor that is located in the handles for easy tracking of heart rate for exercisers.
  • Built with an adjustable seat to provide adequate space for people of all body types.
  • Provides 20 different resistance levels giving the user a wide array of options in terms routines and exercise programs.
  • Protected by a multi-tiered warranty cover that provides for early malfunctions and defective parts replacement. The frame is also covered by 10 years.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Schwinn 230 Recumbent Bike

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Dual track two LCD window system allows you to monitor up to 13 different display feedbacks; Schwinn Connect goal tracking and data export keep ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

We have this entrance level recumbent bike Exerpeutic 900XL Extended Capacity Recumbent Bike with Pulse. It is very useful for a good cardio workout. But it has no programs, you cannot adjust the seat easily between users of different heights, and I found myself wishing often for a fan and especially a rack to put a smartphone or tablet.When I found out I had a chance to try the 230 (2013) I was very excited. From the product page here it sounded very well thought out with a lot of useful features. Very curious as to how it would perform in person. I can say overall, I am very impressed, it has exceeded my expectations. I will get into more detail below but I really like the quality of the resistance and switching from higher to lower. And the variety of programs are very useful.Set up is always a concern with exercise equipment. Schwinn actually did a good job here. As much as they practically could install in the factory they did. The frame from the drive mechanism all the way to the back is one (heavy and long piece). So the box is huge. The box had minimal damage. But inside pieces were packed very well and well-cushioned.It took my wife around 2-3 hours of very easy, laid-back assembly to get it done. Of note all the pieces lined up. She never had to work hard to have holes matched up. She only needed my help to hold a couple of pieces in place a couple of times. Overall, not an item to avoid because of setup fears. This is a relatively easy assembly with clear instructions.Once assembled I input my user information. It will store age, weight, height in your profile.Read more ›
October 27, 2013
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?) Nautilus Consumer Relations saysOctober 28, 2013Larry,I'm glad that you enjoyed the bike and that nearly everything met or exceeded your expectations. Only two users settings was a potential problem for you, the next level up (Schwinn 270) does have four users settings. I will contact our tech department about the iPad3 not charging.Thank you for your comments.Update on iPad charging: The console provides 500mA. When the iPad display is on it is not charging but does supply power for operating so the battery is not being drained. If you turn off the display, it actually charges but of course you can not see the charging indication then. I hope this helps.
March 17, 2015
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?) Nautilus Consumer Relations saysOctober 28, 2013Larry,I'm glad that you enjoyed the bike and that nearly everything met or exceeded your expectations. Only two users settings was a potential problem for you, the next level up (Schwinn 270) does have four users settings. I will contact our tech department about the iPad3 not charging.Thank you for your comments.Update on iPad charging: The console provides 500mA. When the iPad display is on it is not charging but does supply power for operating so the battery is not being drained. If you turn off the display, it actually charges but of course you can not see the charging indication then. I hope this helps.
October 30, 2013

PROS:
  • Hi-tech enabled and capable of accommodating various electronic devices.
  • Has vented seat that is ergonomically designed to ease pressure on people with lower back pain.
  • Durable frame which is easy to assemble.

CONS:
  • Its back cushion is non-adjustable.

back to menu ↑

Sunny Health & Fitness Folding Recumbent Bike

Sunny Health & Fitness Folding Recumbent Bike

Overview

This Sunny recumbent bike model is a popular and highly rated folding bike that comes at a great price. One of the most outstanding features of this bike is in its high-tech display aspects and its ability to change sizes to accommodate most weights and body types using the adjustable seat feature of the bike.

  • Comes with an adjustable resistance system allowing you to easily change the difficulty of your workout.
  • Has easy folding and stop-away capabilities for easy storage and uses a belt drive for a quiet and smooth ride.
  • Features pedals with a non-slip surface and straps to keep your feet from slipping off.
  • Comes with a basic console for tracking and transport wheels for easy moving.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Sunny Health & Fitness Folding Recumbent Bike

Everybody wants a quality home gym, but the idea of all that cumbersome equipment taking up space turns a lot of good folks away. The Sunny Health

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

44 x 16 x 8 inches ; 40 pounds

Shipping Weight

40 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Well, before purchasing this product, you have to know about your height. 5-03, that's my height. After assembling and ready to ride, I realized that my feet were not long enough to reach the pedals... I disassembled the back supporter and handles attached to it and shifted down the saddle and finally I made it! However the plastic part between the saddle and metal is getting damaged every time I use the product because my weight bears down on it. It's too troublesome to disassemble again and pack it up because it takes too much time so I decided to keep it. Anyway, when you buy this product, make sure you're tall enough to use this bicycle. One more thing:I thought the span of the tension control is too easy for me; the highest number is like climbing the stairs at home- it is very mild. If you hope to excersise very hard, this model is not for you. I like the design because it takes less space and is easy to assemble. Just again, measure your height and your legs.
March 24, 2012
I want to start off with something that concerned me prior to purchasing - the height adjustments on the bike. Because everyone is proportioned differently, it's extremely difficult to tell you if you're tall enough, or too tall, without you actually sitting on the bike.I'm 5'1, I fit on the first, and second height settings. Also; one reviewer said you had to have the bike on the second setting of 4 in order to have the back seat, or hip handle bars. That is in fact, not true. I have mine on the lowest setting, and have both the seat, and bottom bars attached.Pros - Quiet, Useful display settings of speed and distance etc, Doesn't take up much room, Does exactly what it advertises.Cons - The seat, is extremely uncomfortable. Almost unbearable. After riding it (I usually go an hour) my pelvic bones are sore. I'm hoping over time I will get used to it, or I can purchase a seat cover because the padding on the seat just isn't cutting it for me, being butt-less and all. Also, I found it to be quite heavy, so my dreams of moving it onto my back porch for some scenery is no bueno. ("Hey, just get a real bike and go outside!!!")*Resistance wasn't a problem for me, and with biking, it really shouldn't be. All that matters is how quickly you're peddling, and how long you do it for.*I had no issues with my legs touching the hip handle bars, as I read someone else had.All around I actually do adore this bike. It works, and I can work out while reading, watching TV, or screaming off the top of my lungs along with my iPod (Which I couldn't/wouldn't do in a gym)
April 18, 2012
I've been looking for an exercise bike within my budget, and finding one with a small footprint was even better for my crowded apartment. It took me about an hour to put it together (handlebars, seat, peddles), some of the bolts are in tricky places and the tools they provide aren't the best, but it got the job done. I wound up taking off the handles under the seat, because unless you're skinny, they poke into your legs with each peddle downstroke.Pros: very quiet, doesn't take up much room at all, easy to move and yet sturdy, fairly comfortable up to at least a half hour of sitting, and adjustable seat height (four settings) is plenty high enough for me, something I was concerned about at 5' 11"Cons: recumbent handles are too close to the seat for comfort.Peddle resistance could be stronger although it's not so much an issue until I build up my leg strength, and it is fine for my needs (encouraging myself to exercise while watching TV, instead of sitting on the couch). There are 8 settings, 1 is no resistance at all, I usually have it set on 5 or 6, and bump it up to 8 towards the end of a half hour session.All in all, a great little bike and you can't beat the price.
March 17, 2012

PROS:
  • It’s quiet so it can be used at any time.
  • Constructed from high-quality materials making it more durable.
  • Easy to assemble as it comes mostly assembled.

CONS:
  • As compared to most recumbent bikes, the seat of this bike does not provide superior comfort but can always be enhanced with an extra seat cushioning.

back to menu ↑

Stamina Magnetic Resistance Recumbent 1350 Bike

Stamina Magnetic Resistance Recumbent 1350 Bike

Overview

This entry-level recumbent bike from the Stamina brand is a solid machine with one of the lowest price tags around. It features an easy to use LCD monitor that helps you track calories burned, time, speed and distance covered. Stamina Magnetic Resistance Recumbent 1350 Bike also has an easy to mount design with a comfortable padded seat to distribute your body weight evenly and comfortably.

  • Includes an adjustable, heavy-weighted flywheel resistance and belt-drive train so you can easily pedal at the resistance level of your choice.
  • Offers a 90-day warranty on parts and 1-year warranty on frame, leveling stabilizer caps and oversized, weighted pedals.
  • Features 8 resistance levels to help you reach the optimal heart rate for fat burning.
  • It’s surprisingly quiet, easy to assemble and with a comfortable, padded upholstered vinyl seat with various handrails and seat positions.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Stamina 1350 Magnetic Resistance Recumbent Bike

The Stamina Magnetic Recumbent 1350 Bike gives you a great cardio workout in the convenience of your home. The workout is smooth and quiet so you can watch television or listen to music while you ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

35.6 x 18.3 x 9.8 inches ; 56.6 pounds

Shipping Weight

56.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Origin

 China

Item model number

15-1350

I bought this bike as cheaper alternative to the much more expensive retail exercise bikes on the market. The product description and price tag for this particular bike is exactly what I was looking for. However, I am now experiencing some buyer's remorse for going so cheap on price.To elaborate, this bike when it works is great. It is comfortable, quiet, and the digital monitor is nice. However, I guess I was unlucky and got a factory dud. After just one exercise routine the digital monitor stopped working when you started/stopped pedaling. You could reset it and it still not activate once you started pedaling. At this point I almost decided to send it back, but I decided to open up the case and take a peek inside. What I found was the little magnetic pickup had moved out of position and was too far away from the magnet that's attached to the pulley. It wouldn't trigger. The sensor itself is glued to a flimsy piece of plastic covered in a protective gel and held to the frame by a single screw. I tightened up the screw and it started working again, but only temporarily. The vibration of using the bike moved it out of place again and the monitor stopped working.This time I decided to tear it down again and fix it myself instead of going through the hassle of sending it back for an exchange. I had to drill and additional hole higher up on the frame to mount it properly and closer to the magnet. I then screwed it down with the original screw and put some CA adhesive on the plastic where it touches the frame. Now it works perfectly. Rock solid, but after my own toil.It is a less than ideal situation when you purchase a brand new product then have to tear it down and practically rebuild it. That is why I am giving this bike a 2 star rating.Read more ›
February 25, 2009
Just like a previous post mentioned, I purchased this bike as a cheaper alternative to the majority of recumbent bikes out there. I'm really happy to have one in the house now so that I'm now having to drive to the gym and back just to use their bike. Positives: it's quiet. I can watch TV and not be too distracted. It works fine. Negatives: It was pretty difficult for my husband and I to put together. We had to bend a few pieces to actually make them fit. You get what you pay for, as it's very rudimentary, but the picture doesn't lie to you so you really can't complain. The seat and overall bike is a bit wobbly but pretty unoticeable. Other than that, it serves its purpose and I'm happy I got the bike I've been wanting and I'm not having to feel guilty about spending a ton of money.
March 4, 2009
I bought this bike to use in my home while watching TV. It's super quiet. It's not a sophisticated model like you use in the gym, but it sure is a great substitute if the gym scene isn't for you. I was overwhelmed when I took it out of the box to put it together...but it went together in a snap (20 min.) I really love it & use it everyday. It suits my needs perfectly for strengthening/toning after having knee surgery. I recommend this bike as the best bang for your buck!
May 1, 2009

PROS:
  • Perfect for small spaces all thanks to its weight, size and the fact that it rolls for easy storage.
  • Easy to use, simple to move and very compact too.
  • Offers calorie burning cardiovascular movement and muscle building resistance.

CONS:
  • Lacks programmed workout routines which is a popular feature among most recumbent bike users.

back to menu ↑

Velocity Exercise Recumbent Exercise Bike (CHB-R2101)

Velocity Exercise Recumbent Exercise Bike (CHB-R2101)

Overview

Velocity CHB-R2101 is a recumbent bike with all the features you need to start exercising. The bike is featured with a comfortable seat and arm rest which is almost as comfortable as a good sofa. It’s also equipped with padded pedals, adjustable straps and a console that allows you to control the resistance level and for tracking purposes.

  • Eight manual resistance settings with an outer magnetic control for consistent resistance.
  • Two-way flywheel that offers a smooth ride, built in transport wheels for easy transport and storage as well as efficient pulse readers in the handlebars.
  • 90-day warranty on the monitor, five-year warranty on the frame and 30-day warranty on all other parts.
  • Measures 53” by 24” by 38”- compact enough to fit even in a small space.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Velocity Exercise CHB-R2101 Recumbent Exercise Bike

Get the exercise you need in the comfort of your own home with the Velocity Exercise CHB-R2101 Recumbent Exercise Bike! This bike features a reclined design that allows you more comfort as you pedal ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

36 x 23 x 11 inches ; 63 pounds

Shipping Weight

63 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

As a point of a reference this is the second Velocity Fitness Recumbent Bike that I have reviewed - the first Velocity Fitness Magnetic Recumbent Bike is an excellent choice for anyone who wants a nice but relatively inexpensive recumbent bike. The model in this review is roughly 1/2 the price, but that reduction does cause a notable drop in functionality. That is not to say that it a terrible recumbent bike... just that it is clearly an entry level model.Notes and Features-Assembly - The assembly is more difficult than needed. The directions consist of 5 small diagrams showing how the parts are assembled and what fastener to use. Unfortunately, they are less than clear and it can be difficult to decipher what bolt or screw to use. Others have mentioned two missing nut caps... but I am not sure they are actually *missing*. I think Velocity Fitness does not intend for you to use 4 nut caps to hold the seat assembly together (See video). Overall, the assembly was about 45 minutes, but it *should* only take about 15 minutes.Features - About a basic as you can get - this recumbent bike offers a pulse monitor (through the handlebars), a screw type tensioner for variable resistance in pedaling, adjustable seat (it actually can be made small enough to fit my 3 year old daughter), and a very basic indicator (time, odometer, pulse, and calories). There are no options for programs or training regimes.Ride - The bike feels somewhat sturdy, which was a bit of a surprise for this price point. I expected it to shake like crazy.Read more ›
January 6, 2013
I was very hesitant to buy this bike since it had no reviews but considering the cost and the free one day shipping, i thought how bad could it be?First of all, you will be missing two Cap Nuts that attaches the heart rate monitor to the bike... I had to take two cap nuts that attach the metal bar of the seat to the bike until I find a replacement.The assembly instructions? There are no instructions. It is literally a diagram that points to the pieces of the bike that you need to attach together and then goes to tell you all the features of the bike after you assemble it. Also they didn't include the two AAA batteries you need to turn on the console so I just used the batteries out of my TV remote...Deceptive Warranty. It has a limited warranty of 5 years on the frame, 90 days on the monitor (I'm thinking they meant the console?) and 30 days on all the other parts of the bike. Basically what they're saying is that after 30 days, if anything goes wrong with the bike, other than the frame or the console, you're out of luck.The seat is small and a bit uncomfortable but it isn't unbearable. I was able to sit through 30 minutes of exercise without much discomfort and the bike was very quiet while exercising, which would help if you plan to watch TV as well.It says that it has 8 difficulty settings but to me it feels like 4. This bike actually gave me a pretty decent workout on the highest setting when used for 20-30 minutes.The heart rate monitor takes a long time to calculate your current heart rate. So you have to hold on to the sensor for a while until it slowly counts your pulse rate from 70bpm all the way up to your current heart rate.The build construction is decent, it doesn't wobble much.Read more ›
November 22, 2012
Velocity Fitness Magnetic Recumbent BikeThis is a well made bike for the price. The cost of this bike including shipping is $149.00 at Amazon. You can spend that per month at your local fitness center.Assembly was fairly straightforward. No missing parts and no specialized tools were needed. I like the recumbent feature as it is much easier on my knees than the old bike I had. This bike also has wheels (really more roller than wheel) than makes it easier to move around. The distant adjustment works well as long as your intent is to keep the same distance consistently.This is not a $1000.00 bike for $149.00. This is an excellent choice for a single rider who plans on using it once a day for a short period of time. It does not feel like it would handle being used eight hours a day. It appears that multiple daily adjustments might tax the equipment but once it is adjusted it seems fine.Although the adage you get what you pay for always seems to be used in a negative way, I feel this bike exceeds what you paid in quality and durability just don't expect a $1000.00 cycle.
January 3, 2013

PROS:
  • Has a console that is easy to read and use.
  • Works quietly hence you can listen to music or watch your favorite TV program while exercising.
  • Great design and the seats can comfortably accommodate people of different sizes.

CONS:
  • Difficult to assemble for most people since there is no guide on how to assemble but only a diagram of the bike.

back to menu ↑

ProGear 190 Compact Recumbent Bike

ProGear 190 Compact Recumbent Bike

Overview

This is a very compact and lightweight recumbent bike offering comfort and quality build at an affordable price. It features eight resistance levels that can be easily adjusted via a tension knob. ProGear 190 Compact Recumbent Bike is also fitted with an LCD window display to keep track of your work progress, a heart pulse sensor to keep track of your heart rate and three-piece, high-torque cranking device to give you a smooth ride.

  • Oversized pedals with a strap and textured surface to provide your feet firm grip while your pedal.
  • Large and adjustable seat ranging from 5’2 inches to 6’2 inches, backrest and can carry up to 275 lbs.
  • Has v-ribbed belt which provides a quiet smooth ride throughout the workout.
  • Semi-reclined seat with side-positioned handlebars to provide a customized and comfortable workout.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

ProGear 190 Compact Recumbent Bike with Heart Pulse Sensors

The PROGEAR 190 Recumbent Bike will fold up and roll away when you are finished exercising. It is also designed to support up to a weight capacity of 275 lbs. Features like the high torque 3 piece ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

46 x 15 x 9 inches ; 47.2 pounds

Shipping Weight

47.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Origin

 China

Item model number

1113

I purchased this bike a week ago not through Amazon but a local retailer as it was easier for me to pick it up then have it delivered when I was not home. I usually get most of my stuff via amazon but I opted to get it shipped to a store instead. The box btw is compact where it will fit into a small car and is much smaller then for example the Marcy recumbent bike or any bikes that size.The unit came pretty much pre-assembled. When you open the box it looks like there are a ton of pieces but there are not. It is just how its laid out in the box. It is essentially 5 or 6 large pieces and a few screws laid out very clearly on a cardboard plastic wrapping covered sheet. There is the magnetic wheel part, 2 pedals, the handle bars, 2 pieces of the seat (the back support and seat itself) and the middle adjusting seat frame, LCD unit, the the main frame. It took my brother who is not mechanically inclined and quite slow about 25 minutes to put together. It worked like a charm once it was set up. Very easy to follow instructions. You can't mess this up.I bought it so that I could play video games with my xbox 360 controller or watch movies and get a little bit of a workout at the same time. I have a bad habit of sitting in front of the computer for long periods of time without moving so I wanted something that would help me get the blood pumping while I was playing a video game. The first time I used the bike for about 30 minutes I got quite a sweat. For reference I weigh about 190 lb. The max weight for this unit is 270lb.My only issue is that the seat is a little wide so that if you are slim or narrow the seat part might rub against your bottom thighs as its not narrow enough in the front like a bike seat.Read more ›
May 14, 2013
the product was well packaged; I received mine without any damage. I am a klutz and putting things together is very hard for me. When I opened the box, and saw the many parts I was sorely tempted to send it back. However I read the instructions and took every thing out of the box. I could see THEN that it was partly assembled, but I needed to put the seat components together, handle bars, connect the wires and install the computer. I also needed to put on the pedals and the straps. I use this product easily without the straps. I found the straps hard to put on due to ra.Interestingly the right pedal had to be put in clock wise, AND THE LEFT PEDAL HAD TO BE PUT IN COUNTER CLOCK WISE OR THE screw threads WOULD BE STRIPPED. The screws are all packaged together shrink wrapped and there is a diagram that shows what part each of the screws are for. You will need all the screws so do not lose any.Listen my fellow klutzes DO NOT DUMP OUT THE SCREWS TOGETHER IN A BUNCH. Although some screws seem similar, THEY CANNOT BE MIXED. You will have all the necessary tools to put it together. Please, please take time to read the instructions carefully, and as many times as it takes to understand them. You will also have good pictures of the screws needed for each part of the assembly. Only remove the needed screws per each stage of assembly of the product-LEAVE THE OTHERS ALONE! Use a small or sharp scissors to cut out the screws you need, leaving the others wrapped and undisturbed.I know there are many out there who could assemble this thing with their eyes closed, but I am NOT one of them. Little by little with a great deal of patience, the product was put together, and thus far works without a hitch, including the computer.Read more ›
August 22, 2013
Had knee replacement surgery right after my very bulky but expensive recumbent bike died. Figures, huh? Anyway, we bought this one mostly because it was smaller and lighter. There were some reviews that noted it "wasn't made for short people" but I figured we could work around it if it really was a problem. Well, it is a problem -- sort of. I am 5'3" and don't have long legs. At the shortest setting I was about a half inch shy of the pedals on full extension. Grabbed a couch decorator pillow, but it behind my back and it fits like a dream! And it's more comfortable than the seat back. Plenty of room on the bottom part of the seat, not 'hanging off' at all. The bike is comfy, works great and I am thrilled! One thing that is really cool is that you can lower the screen box if you have issues getting on the bike, makes it much easier to get on and off. I really like this bike and would definitely recommend it.
September 10, 2013

PROS:
  • Easy to fold and put away.
  • Provides a low impact workout which is a lot easier on joints.
  • The resistance levels are well labeled to make it easier to set the level you want.

CONS:
  • Unfortunately, the bike is not designed for standing on the pedals.

back to menu ↑

Phoenix Magnetic Recumbent Exercise Bike (99608)

Phoenix Magnetic Recumbent Exercise Bike (99608)

Overview

This is one of the best options for a person searching for a high-quality recumbent exercise bike at a friendly price. Phoenix Magnetic Recumbent Exercise Bike has quite a large electric monitor that displays calories burned, speed, time and distance and an adjustable frame capable of accommodating users of all heights.

  • Offers 8-resistance levels to choose from and a magnetic resistance design for a quiet workout.
  • Features a modern seating design that allows the user to stay in a relaxed and semi-horizontal position.
  • Includes pedals with secure foot straps as well as 90-day warranty on parts and one year warranty on frame.
  • Measuring 58” by 24” by 38” the bike has a compact design.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Phoenix 99608 Magnetic Recumbent Exercise Bike

Phoenix 99608 Magnetic Recumbent Exercise Bike - Additional InformationSimple hand dial adjusts resistance; choose from 8 resistance levels Smooth, magnetic resistance system reduces noise for a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

31 x 23 x 10 inches ; 64 pounds

Shipping Weight

64 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

The bike shipped promptly, was easily assembled by my husband in about 30 minutes, and is everything the other reviewers says it is. It is SILENT, even when I'm biking fast (well - fast for me is 20 miles an hour). It is built well and seems very solid, although you can move it around a room pretty easily. It does not wiggle or bounce you, which makes it nice for reading. It is also nice that the controls do not block your view to the television. The calorie counter is not accurate. It shows the same number burned in my first 30 minutes at 20 miles per hour, as it does for my second 30 minutes at 15 miles per hour. I still gave it 5 stars though, because without knowing your weight and body fat percentage, no machine will accurately tell you the calories burned. I got rid of an elliptical trainer to buy this, because in order to go fast enough to get a good cardio workout on the elliptical I had lots of hip joint and knee pain - not so initially, but my body adjusted and I just couldn't work up a sweat even on the highest tension without the joint pain. I am getting a great workout on this bike, set at a level 2 difficulty, with no joint pain. Because there are 8 levels, I will have no problem continuing to challenge myself without having to just go faster.
January 19, 2008
Overall the product is well built and can easily handle the advertised 250lbs. However, if you are on the high end of the weight scale and in some form of reasonable fitness the maximum resistance will not be enough for you.After having a few upright bikes I can say that this reclining model is much easier on your back and wrists. The padding on the seat does leave a little to desire, but it's easily bearable for 1hr rides.All needed parts were included and it went together in about 30 minutes.Like everything else in the world you get what you pay for. The computer frequently will not turn itself off even after hours of non-use. The dial to adjust the tension broke after the first day (springs back to max resistance when you set it). You can get around this with a little bit of tape to stick it where you want it. Realistically though, you won't be using this bike on anything but the hardest setting - so it's not that much of an impact for me.In summary, this is a great bike to buy if you don't have very strong legs, or are a casual exerciser. I'm not in fantastic shape but the hardest resistance is really a little too easy. It is made in China but does seem reasonably well engineered. The faults with it can easily be overlooked (unlike other bikes the resistance is set mechanically, the computer could completely die on this bike and you wouldn't miss out on anything). It seems like it will be fairly durable, when/if it does break mechanically I will probably try a different model in the same price range.
September 6, 2008
This bike isn't noisy, nor does it take up a lot of space. I actually use it without the handle bars, which makes it even more compact. I also end up moving this bike around a lot (I'll move it near my computer to watch a movie, or closer to a light to read), and have had no issues- it's not as heavy as one might expect from an exercise machine.I've had no problems with the time/distance attachment on the bike; it's very accurate. Just be careful, because the little box will fall if one knocks it by accident. Also, it's helpful to have two people when adjusting the length of the bike, I found it difficult to push together on my own. My final comment and reason for the 4 stars (not 5): Don't expect to spend more than a half-hour at a time on this bike, the seat isn't really cushioned for long usage... and it's really not super-comfortable in general- however, it is easy to add some pillows here and there.
November 26, 2007

PROS:
  • Very durable and sturdy due to its tough tubular steel frame.
  • Very quiet even at high resistance levels and speeds.
  • Easy to assemble and lightweight.

CONS:
  • It lacks the wide array of great features found on some higher-end recumbent bikes models.

How To Choose the Best Recumbent Bike

One aspect to consider when choosing the best recumbent bike is the wheel size. In most scenarios you’ll find bikes 20” or 700c rear wheels and 16” or 20” front wheels. Bikes with this type of wheel size offer better gearing and are very efficient.

Another aspect to consider is the seat since comfort is key if you want to enjoy the ride. And since seats of these bikes come in various shapes and sizes, choosing a bike with a seat that fits you well is advisable. The seat can either be adjustable, cushioned or made from slung material or hard pan base.

The other thing to keep in mind is the wheelbase which can either be short or long. Bikes with short wheelbase tend have a responsive steering and are lightweight and are the most preferred. The size of the bike is also very important and should be determined by the storage space available. A bike that folds easily is a better option but if you don’t have problems with storage space, size is not a determinant factor.

Competition — Which One Is the Best Among All

Looking at the features, pros and cons of these 10 recumbent bikes, there is no doubt that Schwinn 270 is the best recumbent bike. This is because it is equipped with modern technology features such as in-console speakers with iPod player port, direct connection to MyFitnessPal, MP3 player, Bluetooth and USB data transfer. Another unique feature that makes it the best is the 29 programmed workouts that prevent boredom.

Sources

IceBike.org

ConsumerSearch.com

USA-HomeGym.com

RecumbentExerciseBikeGuide.net

 

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password