Best AO Smith Water Heater Reviews — Top 10 Models in 2017

Water heaters are a basic requirement for every home; however, they consume about 20 percent of the total energy usage of a household. Advanced technologies can reduce that usage dramatically whereas new regulations make improved energy efficiency obligatory. However, stiffer rules and choices can make acquiring your next water heater very complicated than ever. These best AO Smith water heater reviews are expertly evaluated and owner opinions used to identify the top tankless, gas, hybrid and electric water heaters as well as find the top AO Smith water heater that suits your requirements.

AO Smith (BTH-150) Tank-Type Water Heater With Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith BTH-150 Tank Type Water Heater with Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith (BTH-150) Tank-Type Water Heater With Commercial Natural Gas Product Details

  1. Intelligent control system featuring an LCD display
  2. Submerged combustion chamber comprising a helical heat exchange coil
  3. Powered anodes offer long-lasting tank protection in different water conditions
  4. PERMAGLAS ultra coat glass lining
  5. Vent Size: 3
  • Product

AO Smith BTH-150 Tank Type Water Heater with Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith Cyclone Xi BTH-150 Tank Type Water Heater Commercial Nat Gas 100 Gal 150,000 BTU Input High Efficiency.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a great product, but Amazon has the wrong price. Generally it sells for $5,600 to $6,500. Please look for other places to buy on line.
November 9, 2011
PROS:
  • Puts out a lot of hot water without running out
  • Saves about 30-50 percent energy costs
  • The heater is small and can be hung on the wall, setting up more floor space

CONS:
  • Lag time of 3 to 8 seconds to light up the burners and heat the water to the set temperature
  • Installation may be a huge project

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (PHPT-80) Residential-Electric Water Heater

AO Smith PHPT-80 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith PHPT-80 Residential Electric Water Heater Product Details

  1. Increased storage – The tank has high capacity storage to enable the heat pump to work efficiently than the other heating elements. This provides lower operating costs and higher energy efficiency, saving more money compared to lower capacity units
  2. Backup electric elements – Long-lasting heating elements, 240 V/2000 W lower and 240 V/4500 W upper, helps heat water while in hybrid and conventional electric modes
  3. Operating modes – Select from efficiency, electric or hybrid operating modes, to match heating requirements to various environmental conditions
  4. PERMAGLAS glass coating – This feature maximizes tank life and protects steel tank from corrosion
  5. VOLTEX offers the same amount of heated water at lower operating costs than a standard electric water heater
  • Product
  • Photos

AO Smith PHPT-80 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith Voltex Hybrid Electric Heat Pump PHPT-80 Water Heater Residential Electric 60 Gal 4500/2000 Watts 240 Volt 10 Year Limited Warranty.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I purchased this from Amazon 2 weeks ago because they had the best price and no stores stock this as a grab and go anyway. We intend to use this in heat pump mode only that is the reason we chose the 82 gallon model, the government electric version (Geospring) is only 50 gallons so you can easily find the need to run the expensive inductive heat elements. This water heater is branded "American Water Heater" but is imported from China by A.O. Smith and is also the same as the reliance heat pump model. I did know it was an A.O. smith product but I was unaware that it was made in China. After a quick disappointment I reminded myself that all of my American made water heaters have prematurely failed (6 or 7 years, like a clock), so maybe its time to try something different. Things to keep in mind would include the cold air that it produces; I am in Ca. so it's a good thing but might not be for everyone also the height is over 80 inches so it might not fit in some applications. I would not use this in a residential closet; a garage or large utility room would work much better. The noise is not that bad but I did notice that the filter is too restrictive and has plastic molding flaws that keep the air from moving freely. The noise is greatly reduced when the filter is off so I might call in for a new filter or make a better one on my own. It looks like it draws about 1100 watts when running and after a 15 gallon draw it runs for about 1:20 minutes to get back to 115f, but with 80+ gallons this should work fine for most applications in economy mode only. My stats are approximate but I will update when I have more time with it. Update...(3 months ownership) So far I have only seen a $30 increase in my electric bill vs $75 LP. I am also happy with the heater so far and with the $1000 premium paid over a conventional heater it should be close to a 2 year pay off.
April 29, 2012
I don't have gas at my house, so a tankless water heater was not an option. I didn't want to try to go solar nor did I want to install another inefficient water heater in my Phoenix, AZ baking hot (in the summer) garage. I needed 80 gallons for my family of 7. A construction foreman friend of mine suggested I look into hybrid (heat pump) water heaters, and I did. After tons of research, there are really only two 80 gallon hybrids that have both the quality and the right price points on Amazon and other places. One is the AO Smith Voltex and the other is the Stiebel Eltron ACC300 Accelera 300. The Accelera is rated higher and is little more pricey. It's German-manufactured and looks solid, but the extra $$ couldn't swing it for me. AO Smith is a product that is more readily serviced and has a great reputation in recent years for solid water heaters. Pexsupply.com had the AO Smith for $2132 with free shipping and great support, so I made my order through them. I employed a licensed plumber whom I trust for the install for $400. After installation two-weeks ago, I have been very impressed with the unit. I've been running the unit on Efficiency Mode (Heat Pump-only) since initial start up and we have had no issues with heat at any shower for all 7 of us. With a $201 annual electric rating, I am certainly looking forward to seeing this thing pay for itself in about 5 years here in Phoenix. My old 80 gallon had a $587 annual rating. The bonus is that it blows cold air over my garage work bench, and in the summer, that will be a God-send when my garage temps often reach 125 degrees.
February 26, 2013
I bought the Whirlpool version of this heat pump water heater chiefly because my power utility gave me a $1500 rebate, that and the $300 tax credit from Uncle Sam brought the price to a reasonable level from the $1900 I paid Lowe's. I spent another $150 on installation supplies and $125 for the vent kit from Pexsupply. I figure with what I have in it the price is the same as if I had bought a basic electric or LP unit. Except this one will run for $200 per year, not $450. A label clearly says Made in Mexico.I looked at other models such as Stiebel Eltron (too expensive) and the GE Geospring. The GE confused me as I had read every review I could find and wasn't sure if all the problems people had was related to the older gray unit or the new red units (supposively made in the USA). I figured AO Smith has their act together on other types of water heaters so why not this one.I picked the 80 gallon model so our usage would not drop the water level to the point where the 220v elements would kick in. So the heat pump only re-heats the water. The most efficient way.This thing is a beast, supposively 410 pounds and is over 7 feet tall! I put it on my flatbed utility trailer and had to use several 2x4's building braces for it. I was not sure it would make it home from Lowes in one piece. Slow and easy driving. At home three of us used an appliance dolley to unload it from the trailer and move it into the room. It doesn't fit under doors too well, you must lay it on its side. Make sure you have a couple helpers. Or better yet, get it delivered.I put this in a 10'x20' concrete bunker type unfinished, unheated room in my basement. By using this room I had to use a condensate pump, Amazon has lots to choose from.Read more ›
July 29, 2014
PROS:
  • Reduces water waste
  • Dramatically shortens the period for heating water
  • It improves the efficiency of the main water heater

CONS:
  • Costly water heater project
  • It needs a new 110 V or 220 V high amperage circuit

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (PXHT-52) Residential-Electric Water Heater

AO Smith PXHT-52 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith PXHT-52 Residential Electric Water Heater Product details

  1. 3-inch thick CFC-free foam insulation to trap external heat
  2. Blue diamond glass coating and industry-standard glass lining offer superior corrosion resistance
  3. Automatic Dyna-Clean II sediment cleaning system
  4. 4500 W Phoenix low watt density Incoloy steel
  • Product
  • Photos

AO Smith PXHT-52 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith Conservationist Maximum Energy-Efficiency PXHT-52 Water Heater Residential Electric 52 Gal Tall 4500 Watts 240 Volt 10 Year Limited Warranty.

Buy this item
amazon.com
Although I am sure this is a great water heater, I am rating it as a 1 and would have rated it at a 0 if I could. After ordering this water heater and having a plumber come to install it, I was told by the plumber that this is NOT a regular residential hot water heater. A regular residential hot water heater is called a "two phase" electrically. This one is a "three phase". This requires a heavier wiring into the house to support it. Most homes do not have this wiring. DO NOT get this water heater for a regular household. I now am having my plumber contact an AO Smith representative to see what can be done. All of which means a higher cost for the installation.I am VERY disappointed by this. All of this information should have been given in the details of this product so that a layman, as myself, can make an accurate selection. I will be very leary of the information given on a product again that is listed on Amazon.UPDATE - More info: I just called A O Smith about this issue. They said that the water heater is a 3 phase simultaneous unit and if it was bought off of Amazon.com it would not warranty the product as it is to be purchased from a AO Smith representative. A O Smith has not given permission to Amazon to sell its product - it is to be sold ONLY through an A O Smith distributorship. This item is sold under the name of "STATE" at the distributors.My plumber will be talking with an A O Smith rep this morning to see what can be done - will update.I would suggest anyone who needs information about water heaters and their care consult the manufacturer directly.SECOND UPDATE: I talked with Amazon directly. They were extremely accomodating and helped me through this difficult situation.Read more ›
June 17, 2013
Great product
January 15, 2015
So far so good! Seems like a good water heater.Easy to install. No leaks. Water is Hot!Not much else to say.Delivery was quick and easy.
February 19, 2013
PROS:
  • Low operating cost when installed in warm climates
  • Qualifies for tax incentives and rebates
  • Eliminates frequent cycling from the faucets

CONS:
  • Cost much more compared to other water heaters
  • Regular cleaning of the air filters to maintain working efficiency

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (BTR-200) Tank-Type Water Heater With Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith BTR-200 Tank Type Water Heater with Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith BTR-200 Tank Type Water Heater with Commercial Natural Gas Product Details

  1. Meets or exceed the standby loss requirements and/or thermal efficiency
  2. Electronic Ignition
  3. ASME Rated and CSA
  4. Vent Size: 6
  • Product

AO Smith BTR-200 Tank Type Water Heater with Commercial Natural Gas

AO Smith Master Fit BTR-200 Tank Type Water Heater Commercial Nat Gas 100 Gal 199,000 BTU Input. Meets or exceeds the thermal efficiency and/or standby loss requirements of the U.S. Department of ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
great now we have hot water all the time our hotel
March 19, 2014
Product, delivery, service, pricing, all excellent. Could not be more satisfied.
July 10, 2015
PROS:
  • Low upfront cost
  • Easy to install
  • No pumps or fans to burn out

CONS:
  • Less efficient; very expensive to operate
  • Must be flushed yearly with special chemicals to maintain energy efficiency and remove scale

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (EJCS-20) Residential-Electric Water Heater

AO Smith EJCS-20 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith EJCS-20 Residential Electric Water Heater Product Details

  1. Compact design
  2. Electrical connections and side-mounted plumbing
  3. Designed for installation through the electrical connections counter and side-mounted plumbing
  4. The tank features a durable and tamper-resistant brass drain valve
  • Product

AO Smith EJCS-20 Residential Electric Water Heater

AO Smith ProMax Specialty Electric EJCS-20 Water Heater Residential Electric 20 Gal. Compact design. Side-mounted plumbing and electrical connections. Designed for installation undera counter, in a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
arrived on time and intact; using it for kitchen and dishwasher and WIFE IS NOW HAPPY!!!!
April 10, 2016
PROS:
  • Proven reliable even after decades of use
  • Shorter time for heating water
  • It improves the efficiency of the main water heater

CONS:
  • Can be very expensive to run
  • Short tank life; not long-lasting

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (GDV-50) Residential Natural-Gas Water Heater

AO Smith GDV-50 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith GDV-50 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater Product Details

  1. FVIR compliant
  2. Uses outside air for Combustion
  3. DynaClean Dip Tube
  4. ASME Rated and CSA Certified tank relief valve
  5. Vent Size: 3-6
  • Product
  • Photos

AO Smith GDV-50 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith Pro Max GDV-50 Water Heater Residential Nat Gas 50 Gal Recovery 45 Gal @ 90 42,000 BTU Input.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Received on time in good condition; just a few rub marks from moving around in the truck. The price was excellent, the seller was very helpful in answering questions I had. The only thing I don't really care for is the cover that goes on the outside of the house. The original one I have is heavy, round, and a dark brown color (looks more expensive) and the new one is a cheap silver aluminum rectangle type.
September 16, 2015
PROS:
  • Energy efficient
  • Never runs out of hot water
  • Relatively easy to install

CONS:
  • Newer models are expensive and can cost 2 to 3 times more
  • It requires venting reconfiguration and gas line

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (GPVT-40) Residential Natural-Gas Water Heater

AO Smith GPVT-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith GPVT-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater Product Details

  1. Natural Gas
  2. Equipped with C3-Technology
  3. Versatile power vent design
  4. Hot surface ignition
  • Product
  • Photos

AO Smith GPVT-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith ProMax Power Sidewall or Vertical Vent GPVT-40 Water Heater Residential Nat Gas 40 Gal Recovery 53 Gal @ 90 50,000 BTU Input .65 Energy Factor 6 Year Limited Warranty.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
bought this water heater propane version for a client new installed new April 2007, had no problem for three years, this house is only used 2 months out of the year. Then in April 2010 I had to replaced a failed gas valve, the following year I replaced the ignition system, then three months later another gas valve, finally two months ago I had to replace the gas valve again, noticed at that time there was leakage of the tank, called AO Smith they told me the warranty ran out in February 2013 . Thanks AO Smith, I will never install a AO Smith product again, I put in a Bradford White water heater yesterday. Peace.
July 5, 2013
We have installed a large quantity of these AO Smith Gas Water Heaters without any problems. Most of the time, when there is a problem with a WH, Furnace, AC etc. it would be the installers who make a simple mistake or a large one. Reading the installation instructions is a vital part of and a necessity to our installers to avoid call backs and allow the product to perform at the highest efficiency for the customer, among other issues.
March 3, 2014
PROS:
  • Enough hot water
  • Lower energy bills
  • Reliable

CONS:
  • High repair cost
  • Can waste a lot of energy if not equipped with the pilot-light

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (ENT-50) Pro-Max High Efficiency 50 gal Tall-Electric Water Heater

AO Smith (ENT-50) Pro-Max High Efficiency 50 gal Tall-Electric

A.O. Smith ENT-50 ProMax High Efficiency Tall Electric Water Heater, 50 gal Product Details

  1. PERMAGLAS glass coating maximizes tank life and protects the steel tank from corrosion
  2. DynaClean diffuser dip tube made from durable PEX cross-linked polymer helps reduce sediment and lime buildup while increasing hot water output
  3. CoreGard aluminum anode rod with a stainless steel core used to protect tank against corrosion for longer compared to ordinary steel anodes
  4. Durable and tamper-resistant brass drain valve. Product dimension is 60 inch in height
  5. Meets all the current regulations set by the NAECA, National Appliance Energy Conservation Act
  • Product
  • Photos

A.O. Smith ENT-50 ProMax High Efficiency Tall Electric Water Heater, 50 gal

The promax family of electric water heaters offers unmatched value and quality. The full product line meets the energy efficiency requirements set forth by the department of energy and qualifies for ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Just what I wanted, American made, efficient, and an easy install. Took longer to empty the existing one.
May 13, 2016
PROS:
  • Provides more accurate and reliable performance
  • Good temperature control
  • Fast hot water recovery

CONS:
  • Not enough hot water
  • The heat pump is tall (and wide in some cases) making the unit hard to fit

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (GCG-50) Pro-Max 50 gal Tall-Gas Water Heater

A.O. Smith GCG-50 ProMax Tall Gas Water Heater, 50 gal

A.O. Smith GCG-50 ProMax Tall Gas Water Heater, 50 gal Product Details

  1. Blue diamond glass coating and industry-standard glass lining offer superior corrosion resistance
  2. Self-powered, electronic gas valve utilizes thermopile to produce power required to operate the electronic gas control without using external power
  3. Internal microprocessor offers tighter differentials and enhanced operating parameters for faster heating response and precise sensing
  4. DynaClean diffuser dip tube made from durable PEX cross-linked polymer helps reduce sediment and lime buildup while increasing hot water output
  5. Meets all the current regulations set by the NAECA, National Appliance Energy Conservation Act
  • Product
  • Photos

A.O. Smith GCG-50 ProMax Tall Gas Water Heater, 50 gal

The ProMax family offers a wide range of water heating solutions-from models that help you qualify for gas utility rebates to high recovery models ideal for large families with high demand for hot ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Had this Installed today; This is the Brand and Model the Plumber had on his truck. Amazon's Price is about 200 cheaper than The Heating/AC/Pluming place charged. But they made a killing on the Install,
August 29, 2015
PROS:
  • Uses less energy
  • Costs less to operate
  • Reliable and efficient to use

CONS:
  • The heat pump is tall (and wide in some cases) making the unit hard to fit
  • High energy costs

back to menu ↑

AO Smith (XCVL-40) Residential Natural-Gas Water Heater

AO Smith XCVL-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith XCVL-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater Product Details

  1. DynaClean diffuser dip tube made from durable PEX cross-linked polymer helps reduce sediment and lime buildup while increasing hot water output
  2. Green-choice gas burner patented design decreases nitrogen dioxide emissions
  3. Coregard magnesium anode
  4. Push-button Piezo igniter
  • Product
  • Photos

AO Smith XCVL-40 Residential Natural Gas Water Heater

AO Smith ProMax XCVL-40 Water Heater Residential Nat Gas 40 Gal Short Recovery 41 Gal @ 90 40,000 BTU Input .59 Energy Factor 10 Year Limited Warranty.

Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a fantastic water heater. Easy to install, great performance. The shipping was exceptionally fast but it was damaged in transit. It had two large dents in the tank which were both cosmetic only. Dents were courtesy of UPS and their wonderful package handling.You won't get a better unit than an AO Smith!!
April 25, 2015
PROS:
  • Less standby heat loss
  • Very energy efficient
  • Reduces water wastage

CONS:
  • Requires proper location to install
  • More complex hence quite expensive to install this project

Tips on How to Choose the Best AO Smith Water Heater

Majority of the best AO Smith water heaters are exclusively designed with these features:

  1. DynaClean system – This self-cleaning system reduces the sediment build-up while increasing the performance of the heater. DynaClean system is also the standard feature for Promax models.
  2. Green-Choice gas burners are environment-friendly burners that are designed to reduce nitrogen dioxide emission.
  3. CoreGuard anode rod is the aluminum and magnesium rod with a stainless steel core for protecting the tank from any aggressive water action. This feature is used on both Promax and Conservationist series.
  4. Blue-Diamond glass coating – Used to protect the inner surface of the water tank from corrosion.
  5. Flame arrestor – Made from the fireproof material, Cordierite, which distributes air evenly to gas burner keeping the flame inside the combustion chamber.
  6. Permaglas coating – This is a long lasting and efficient corrosion protection in the water heating industry.

AO Smith water heater machines are specifically designed to heat potable water in various residential applications using all 3 popular fuel sources: solar, electric and gas while utilizing advanced and conventional tankless, tank and hybrid technology.

Hybrid Models

Hybrid technology is the latest technology usually used in  AO Smith water heater machines. The technology utilizes both gas and electric heating. NEXT-hybrid gas water heater uses both tank-type and tankless technologies, to ensure maximum transfer of heat for superior performance and high efficient hot water heating. Condensing design allows the NEXT-hybrid heater high 189 gallons cheaper PVC venting and first-hour delivery.

Voltex, the electric heat pump of AO Smith water heater machines is the only electrical unit which is Energy Star approved. Advertised as the green heater, it comes with the heat pump technology and environment-friendly refrigerant that reduces operating costs.

The 60 and 80-gallon models are the two AO Smith water heater machines utilizing this technology. Additionally, they are both high efficient and eligible for tax credits.

Condensing Models

Power direct vent and VERTEX power vent are the top AO Smith gas water heaters. Both models have 50-gallon capacity; however, they have different delivery and thermal efficiency. AO Smith Vertex models have a maximum gas input of approximately 76,000 and 100,000 Btu, to deliver a lot of hot water (127 and 164 gallons) for high demanding homes.

Vertex heaters are also equipped with more advanced features like heavy-duty anode rods for low nitrogen dioxide, better rust protection, high efficient gas burner and sophisticated diagnostic tool.

High Efficient Models

EFFEX is a high efficient AO Smith gas water heater that uses the patented and exclusive pressurized heating chamber for effective heating. Effex water heaters are available in 2 sizes, 40 and 50 gallons that offer high energy factor.

EFFEX models are very sophisticated compared to conventional tank-type heaters because they use the powered anode rod and electronic ignition for better tank protection.

Conventional Models

AO Smith water heater machines use propane and natural gas as the source of fuel coming from the 2 popular series ProMax and Conservationist.

Both series utilize the AO Smith advanced and patented features. You can get models for all home sizes, low emissions, energy efficient, high recovery water heaters and economy models. Other than these, you can find the Specialty Vent models that are a reliable solution for any home.

With great advantages like various venting combination and installation flexibility; power direct vent, power vent, vertical venting and horizontal venting, as well as one/two-pipe system.

Electric Models

If LP and natural gas aren’t the right fit for your home, electric water heaters might be. The two series featuring electric models include wider ProMax series and smaller Conservationist series.

AO Smith water heater models belonging to the Conservationist series are specifically designed as highly efficient units with similar quality features like the gas-powered models. These are usually built for water supply in the whole house, while Promax also provides point-of-use and specialty designed models.

Tankless Models

AO Smith water heater models that feature the tankless technology can also be the right option for you, if you are looking for gas heaters that produce lots of hot water on every demand and with the continuous flow too.

AO Smith tankless tank units for home water heating are wall-hanging and small and are Energy star approved, thanks to its highly efficient operation. AO Smith water heater models from tankless series are specifically designed for outdoor and indoor installation and based on power and water flow can supply lots of hot water from small homes to large houses with many bathrooms.

In addition, AO Smith water heater models also have the answer for those searching for more ultra-efficient and power models. These condensing and non-condensing water heating units are eligible for tax credits by the government.

 Competition

AO Smith water heater reviews will help you get the best series from the biggest manufacturer of (HVAC) equipment in the US, AO Smith Water Heating Company. Search, review & select Effex, Promax, Vertex, Tankless, Conservationist, Voltex, Next, gas or electric powered. When looking for the AO Smith water heater models you’ll notice a comprehensive selection of electric and residential gas models with high quality and great features. There are various models for all households; efficient, affordable, expensive, big and small, green and eco-friendly, durable budget-friendly.

Regarding the AO Smith water heater reviews, it is indisputable that AO Smith (BTH-150) Tank-Type Water Heater With Commercial Natural Gas is the top water heater compared to the rest. No other tank compares to its brilliant standard features that include:

  1. Intelligent control system featuring an LCD display
  2. Submerged combustion chamber comprising a helical heat exchange coil
  3. Powered anodes offer long-lasting tank protection in different water conditions
  4. PERMAGLAS ultra coat glass lining
  5. Vent Size: 3

With the AO Smith (BTH-150) Tank-Type Water Heater With Commercial Natural Gas, you will be able to save about 30-50 percent energy costs, put out a lot of hot water on demand without running out and set up more floor space due to the tank’s reliable size.

All you need to know about AO Smith hot water heaters is clearly detailed in this review. Just find the water heater of your preference, that will suit your home as well as your requirements.

Sources:

ConsumerReports.org

Amazon.in

Ebay.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password