Top 10 Best Bread Machine Reviews — Making the Right Choice

If you are among the billions of people whose mornings are never complete without a hearty loaf of bread for breakfast, you’ve come to the right place. From centuries ago when the possibilities of wheat were being discovered to modern day methods of baking, bread has truly come a long way. However, commercial bread may not be as healthy, wholesome and nutritional as you think. To make things worse, it comes in plastic wrapping or papers that are really not good for you. That’s why many people prefer to make their own bread at home. But what about all the hard work involved? Aarrgh and that mess are enough to drive you crazy! Fortunately for us, bread lovers; technology always comes to the rescue to make life easier, sweeter and a whole lot more fun. Here’s our top 10 list of best bread machines in the market and why you need to get yourself a bread machine today.

Conair Cuisinart CBK-100 2 LB Bread Maker

Conair Cuisinart CBK-100 2 LB Bread Maker

The only things better than waking up to the sweet smell of freshly baked bread is sinking your teeth into the warm loaf. Thanks to the Conair CBK-100 2 LB Cuisinart Bread Machine, this has been made easier than before. All you have to now do here is add your ingredients in and either start the bread machine now or put it on a timer for later. After you input the settings, the bread maker mixes the ingredients, kneads the dough, gives it room to rise and then bakes it to perfection.

  • Product
  • Photos

Conair Cuisinart CBK-100 2 LB Bread Maker

Wake up to the smell of freshly baked bread with this programmable bread machine. Simply add the ingredients, choose from several options using the touch-pad controls, and it takes care of the rest. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
We bought this machine based on a recommendation from a friend at work and other reviews we read on Amazon. First of all, let me say that this is a great product. The recipes are easy to follow and the bread is outstanding. We brought the machine with us when we visited relatives over the holidays, and two of them are now going to get machines for their families.FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO WROTE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, AND THOSE WHO HAVE READ THEM, PLEASE READ THIS!! For my first loaf I went to the store to get flour. At the store I talked to the guy stocking the flour aisle about what kind of flour to use (note that the recipes specify "bread flour"). The grocery store guy and another woman who joined in the discussion assured me that I could use all purpose flour, so that's what I bought. The loaf came out so-so. It was quite dense, and the middle of the loaf was sunken instead of nicely puffed up (many of the negative reviews describe exactly this problem). So I googled "bread flour" and found out that it is significantly different from all purpose flour. It's higher gluten and protein content produces stretchier, chewier bread, but more importantly, it traps more of the carbon dioxide from the yeast so that the dough rises properly.Equipped with this information, I went back to the store and bought King Arthur BREAD FLOUR. What a difference! My son described it as a 1000% improvement. Every loaf since then has been outstanding.One more thing. The recipe instructions tell you to set the loaf size and crust color, then select the bread program (white, wheat, gluten free, etc.). You actually want to SELECT THE BREAD PROGRAM FIRST, then the loaf size and crust color, because setting the bread program first will RESET the loaf size and crust color to the defaults (2 lb. loaf, medium crust).
December 30, 2010
I really love this breadmaker. I have made about 200 loaves of bread in the last 16 months. Here are my tips for consistently making great bread:1. Be exact with your measurements. Weigh out ingredients. Each cup of flour should weigh 120 grams.2. The amount of liquid you need varies based on the humidity in the room. I usually add in one ounce less liquid than the recipe calls for and watch the dough kneading. This particular machine kneads initially for about 3-4 minutes, rests for a few minutes then kneads again. I wait until the first round of kneading is done, then check the consistency. If the dough is dry and hasn't formed into a ball, I add a spoonful of water and wait till it is kneaded for a minute, then reassess the dough. If the dough is wet (sticking to the sides, a pile of goo instead of a ball of dough), then add in bread flour one tablespoon at a time.3. Use quality ingredients. I use King Arthur flours and buy yeast in bulk.4. Add the ingredients in the order listed. Liquids first, then sugar/salt, then flour(s), then yeast. Don't let the salt touch the yeast.5. Use vital wheat gluten in whole wheat breads. One tablespoon VWG per cup flour.6. Use this book ([...]). Lots of great tips and recipes.7. Try the pizza dough recipe from the recipe manual included with the breadmaker. I have several family members that now use that recipe for their dough after having my pizza.8. I use the small setting for sweet breads, dinner breads, and breads for breakfast toast. I use the medium setting for sandwich bread. I have used the large setting, holy crap are those loaves big. Really too big to be useful.9.Read more ›
May 2, 2012
My wife has Celiac disease and a good gluten free bread is impossible to find ready made. We must bake our own bread if she is going to have a bread that tastes good. We have found the bread mix from Gluten Free Pantry is great. but our old bread machine, a Breadman Ultimate was not turning out a consistant product. It was less than a year old and quit working. Which turned out to be a blessing. Based on our experience with other Cuisinart products and the reviews on Amazon we decided on the Cusinart CBK-100. The gluten free cycle is perfect. It bakes the best gluten free bread we have ever had. We have used Gluten free pantry Sandwich bread mix and also Bob's Red Mill gluten free multigrain mix. WOW! THe bread is so good that I even like it. This bread is light and the crust is perfect. It even is easier to slice. If you are looking for a bread maker that turns out excelent gluten free bread this is the one to buy
August 28, 2009

PROS:
  • Up to 12 different preprogrammed menu options for bread machine
  • Clear window for direct visual
  • Handles incorporate stay cool tech to remain cool

CONS:
  • Control panel is a bit crammed with too many settings, but all the more power to the people

back to menu ↑

Panasonic Automatic SD-YD250 Bread Maker with Yeast Dispenser

Panasonic SD-YD250 Automatic Bread Maker with Yeast Dispenser, White

Panasonic ushers you steadily to the 22nd century where technology is much sleeker and compact. Nobody wants to fire up an entire oven just to bake one or two loaves of sweet bread. With the Panasonic Automatic SD-YD250 Bread Maker with Yeast Dispenser in your kitchen, all you have to do here is add your ingredients in and either set it for white, wholewheat or French bread. After you input the settings, the bread maker mixes the ingredients, kneads the dough, gives it room to rise and then bakes it to a puffy masterpiece.

  • Product
  • Photos

Panasonic SD-YD250 Automatic Bread Maker with Yeast Dispenser, White

Finally, a way to bring back the taste of freshly Baked, homemade bread, without the tiring process that comes with baking it. Baking the perfect loaf doesn't have to be a beating task now that this ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
[Between 4 and 4.5 stars]The Panasonic SD-YD250 is pretty much the state of the art in bread machine technology in mid-2003. It's one of the larger units around with a 2.5 lb. loaf capacity. This size will also eat up your counter or cupboard space: you need just under 14" of width and height, and 10" of depth, so keep that in mind when you order.The bread consistency is excellent. It's even pretty good in the "rapid" mode, though the results are a bit better in the standard bake mode so that's what I generally use. Also, the "rapid" mode for whole wheat or multigrain bread is 3 hours (vs. 5 hours standard), so it's not like you can start the machine at the beginning of a meal and expect completed bread before you leave the table. The fastest full cycle -- "rapid" bake mode for white bread -- is 1hr 55min.The SD-YD250 is quieter than most earlier bread makers; however, you'll still hear the clicking and whirring as it mixes and kneads the dough. It's a neat idea to wake up to the smell of freshly-baked bread but the machine isn't quiet enough to run in the bedroom unless you're a VERY sound sleeper.The options for this machine include the following:o basic/rapid bakeo immediate start/timer delayo white/whole wheat/multigraino sandwich (soft crust)o crust color light/medium/darko raisin (pause and beep to add fruit or nuts)o dough knead without bakeo bake without dough kneadNote that not all of these options can be combined. For instance: you only get crust color selection for white bread, and sandwich mode for white and whole wheat; multigrain bread always has a dark, tough crust (although the bread inside the crust is moist and well-textured).Read more ›
July 15, 2003
I purchased this machine as a replacement for a Philips bread machine I've had for a couple of years. It's the third bread machine I've purchased for myself, and had bought its predecessor (the SD-250) for my Parents some time ago. My Philips packed up (the bread tin broke away from its base), and they don't make spares, so I have to throw the whole machine in the bin - definitely won't buy another Philips anything. My parents have been most impressed with the Panasonic, and it's been personally recommended to me by other people, so after reading all the reviews on Amazon.com I decided to buy one.So, to the point, I'm thoroughly impressed with this machine. It is solid and quiet. I took the first loaf I made with it and sliced it to find an absolutely even loaf (even from the 1:55 rapid mode). All the other machines I've had have had some level of streaking or unevenness in the bread.As for all the other criticism of the recipe book for its use of weight rather than volume measurements for flour, it is a far more accurate way of measuring flour for any baking. Also the manual has since been updated (no doubt as a result of these criticisms), and now shows the approximate volume equivalents in all the recipes.
June 13, 2003
I bought this item because I was intrigued by the reviews of other buyers. I have to say that for the most part, I was not dissapointed. I will not repeat here what has already been said by others, but I would like to add a few observations of my own. Firstly, the item is extremely easy to use and clean. All the bread recipes included with it, come out very well. However, I would like to point out that what you in fact get, is a sandwich type bread. A very superior sandwich bread, but sandwich bread nontheless. The reason I mention this is that several people mention "crispy crust and tender crumb inside" especially on the french bread, which lead me to believe that this machine was capable of producing artisanal bread. This unfortunately is not true. The crust is a little crisp (certainly more crisp than a store-bought loaf), but this is NOT artisanal bread by any means (the kind that has rustic hard crust, and chewy crumb). I have tried many rustic recipes from other sources to achieve this type of bread in this machine, but thus far none have worked. Don't get me wrong. This machine might not have the capability to make a rustic loaf, but it still works extremely well with the type of bread it does make. In fact, when I can't make my own rustic bread by hand, I would much rather eat a loaf made in this machine than any I can buy at any supermarket or deli or even a bakery. The only store-bought loaves I actualy prefer are very fancy artisanal loaves from a specialty baker. Now, there is one thing about this machine that drives me absolutely nuts. The loaf pan is very vertical, so whenever you choose any size loaf other than the smallest, you get this ridiculously tall loaf, which I personaly find extremely annoying.Read more ›
December 8, 2006

PROS:
  • Automated addition of yeast for the perfect bake
  • Nonstick interior for easier bread removal
  • Multiple loaf size choices

CONS:
  • Some customers complain that this bread machine is loud when kneading the dough

back to menu ↑

Zojirushi Home BB-PAC20 Bakery Virtuoso Bread Machine with Gluten Free Menu Setting

Zojirushi BB-PAC20 Home Bakery Virtuoso Breadmaker with Gluten Free Menu setting

For chefs and bread connoisseurs alike, consistency is always something you strive to achieve. Thanks to the incredible combination of ingenuity and technology, Zojirushi BB-PAC20 Home Bakery Virtuoso Breadmaker with Gluten Free Menu Setting baked bread perfectly every time you try it. With 10 pre-programmed setting and a 13-hour delay, this is the ultimate Home Baker Supreme.

  • Product
  • Photos

Zojirushi BB-PAC20 Home Bakery Virtuoso Breadmaker with Gluten Free Menu setting

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Bakes a large traditional rectangular shaped 2-pound loaf; Gluten Free and Custom Menu settings will accommodate gluten free and organic baking ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Our trusty, 18-year-old Zo was still going strong when the non-stick coating began to peel. When no replacement parts could be found, we faced the inevitable and began to look for a worthy successor. After much research, other brands seemed to have serious issues we hadn't had with our old workhorse, despite its age (it was a hard act to follow!). Plunking down mega-bucks for the Virtuoso took much soul-searching, especially after so many negative reviews of its predecessor, but we checked Amazon's price daily and took the plunge when it went on sale, since it could be returned if it was a dud. Surprisingly, this machine actually has exceeded our expectations; even 100% whole wheat bread, which in the ancestor Zo could be iffy, is perfect. In both 2 lb. and 1.5 lb. loaves, the crust is just right - not tough or hard; the top is golden and even; every loaf/cake, complex or simple, has been almost freakishly flawless (true, you are paying for those double paddles and top heater, but do they ever make a difference!). In true Zo form, it's simple to use, very quiet and stable, and finished goodies slip right out with minimal holes and cleanup. Paddles remain in the pan, not the bread, and separate easily after briefly soaking the cooled pan in warm water. A "Shape" stage can be used to remove the dough to specially form it or remove the paddles before baking (the splines will remain, but the resulting holes will be much smaller without the paddles), and raising the lid will stop the machine temporarily without interfering with the program.Read more ›
February 3, 2012
I have owned bread machines ever since about 1987 at a cost then of close to $600! Since then I have had just about every brand at one time or another. My favorites have been made by Panasonic and Zojirushi. In short you really do get what you pay for in quality and durability. This new "Zo" is heavy duty and makes a truly excellent and normal shaped loaf. I say normal as most make slightly odd shapes that are a little too wide or too tall. The added top heater solves the small flaw the previous Zo had and that was the top would have less color than the rest of the crust. I have had this machine about 2 weeks and have already made 10 loaves. All have come out perfectly including 100% whole wheat.Our favorite is a rich egg bread also know as Challah and here is my personal recipe:2 Beaten Eggs with water to equal 10 oz- or 10 oz water and 0.90 oz of powered whole eggs14.85 oz BY WEIGHT bread flour (I highly suggest King Arthur!)1.5 t Salt2 T Sugar1/3 stick of butter (2.66 T or just cut a stick in 3 parts)1.5 t Yeast (buy it in bulk here or at Costco as grocery store prices are insane)Optional: 2 drops of egg yellow food color (I suggest AmeriColor available here)Set the machine to the quick or normal cycle, light crust, and hit start. DO NOT use the timer as eggs are perishable.Enjoy :-)UPDATE: 04-10-2012The machine is still going strong and has now produced well over 100 loaves of delicious bread. The pan has held up nicely and shows virtually no wear. In short this is a winner.Update 03-24-15Can you believe the machine is still working well!?!!Read more ›
December 16, 2011
I LOVE my new Zojirushi VIRTUOSO Bread Maker! It has my 'GLUTEN FREE' setting and is so quiet I have to get up close to it to make sure its mixing or kneading! (I read posts on bread makers in general that said they are extremely loud! Not so with the Zojirushi!) I've had it less than 48 hours and have made 2 perfect loaves of bread! The texture, flavor, crust, etc. has been perfect, so perfect in fact that you can't tell its GLUTEN FREE! Zojirushi has definitely brought 'breads & pastries" BACK into this Gluten Free household! I heartily recommend the 'Virtuoso' model to everyone - but especially those of us that must be GF! I am totally new to bread machines - and reading all the 'How-To's' about programming bread machines that didn't have a GF Cycle really turned me off as too complicated, too much hassel, why bother. I knew I wouldn't fool with all that; or, get so exasperated that I wouldn't bother to use it if it didn't have a pre-programmed GF cycle. The first loaf of bread I made was out of a GF recipe book and it was Cinnamon, Raisin, Walnut bread. I followed the recipe to a 'T' - placed the ingredients in the baking unit in the proper order as directed - and out came the most beautifully smelling, tasting and formed bread I have had since I became GF! Next, I grabbed one of those pre-packaged bread mixes with all the stuff in the bag; mixed up the wet ingredients, slapped everything in the banking pan in the prescribed order - and wondered if this would be as great as the first....OMG! It was! Now my husband has rushed out to get cheese and tomatoes so we can use it to make Grilled Cheese and Tomatoe sandwiches for dinner! Thank you Ziojirushi forbringing breads back into my house!Read more ›
January 29, 2012

PROS:
  • Takes it old school with a large and triangular shaped bread, just like grandma used to make
  • Incorporates a dual blade system for faster and more effective kneading
  • Bread Machine takes less than 2 hours to complete baking

CONS:
  • Since it bakes bread horizontally, it requires just a bit more room at the vents

back to menu ↑

Zojirushi Home Bakery Supreme BB-CEC20 2-Pound-Loaf Bread machine

Zojirushi BB-CEC20 Home Bakery Supreme 2-Pound-Loaf Breadmaker, Black

When it comes to matters of the stomach, Zojirushi BB-CEC20 Home Bakery Supreme 2-Pound-Loaf Breadmaker does not mess around in thine kitchen. Your one of a kind bread machine makes baking super easy and convenient, even for first-time bakers. The large viewing window lets you watch as the bread is being kneaded and then baked to a crisp, golden, mouthwatering breakfast delicacy.

  • Product
  • Photos

Zojirushi BB-CEC20 Home Bakery Supreme 2-Pound-Loaf Breadmaker, Black

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Dual-blade bread machine makes rectangular-shaped 2-pound loaves. Please refer the product videos and the User Manual before use.; 10 pre-programmed ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was fortunate to have my parents decide upon a bread maker as a gift to me and allow me to pick the model I wanted...knowing I'd spent the last year actually studying the art of bread making by hand from some pros and cookbooks.I had my doubts, however, that a machine could replace all I was learning to do......it can!Here are some highlights of why I chose this machine initially then I'll get down to what I know about it now having used it non-stop:STAINLESS:I had no intention of pulling a bread machine in and out of the cabinet each week so I knew for sure, if it was going to sit countertop, it needed to be stainless.LOAF SHAPE:I knew I wanted the shape of this loaf. Most turn out looking like an odd rocket with the top of the loaf on one of the small sides of the rectangle which screams "odd bread machine loaf" and every slice except the first few is all square edges. This machine actually bakes a loaf that makes it look like it came from a real bread pan. Not only do I prefer the soft top and crusty edges on each slice more, but it looks beautiful if you are entertaining and serve it or offer to bring bread at a potluck.Now, here's what I know now:SETTINGS:It also has a setting to make meatloafHOMEMADE:It DOES have a homemade course in case you want to totally change the settings for a loaf. You can program every single thing it does longer or shorter if you have some recipe of your own that you want to knead longer or shorter, sise longer or shorter, etc etc.SOURDOUGH STARTER:It has a cycle to help you make sourdough starter...just the starter with the recipe!CAKE:It has a cake setting and cake recipes. We made a great chocolate cake...Read more ›
July 27, 2010
I am an avid bread maker. this is my third machine. I hated to spend the money -- seems absurd to pay that much -- but it is amazing! No comparison with typical machines. (my last was a cuisinart. was ok, but not like this -- and didn't last long. six months of frequent use and it failed to properly mix. ) this one is easy to use. no need to get the temperature of the ingredients just right. the machines "preheats" to do that for you and get it just perfect. the bread quality is superior. I am absolutely in awe. I bought a bread machine recipe book to go with it and am finding it fun to experiment. I need not worry if it will be a flop! It bakes a beautiful loaf everytime. Treat yourself and your family!!
April 9, 2010
I am a fairly experienced baker who can modify recipes to use what is on hand and still end up with a tasty product - MOST of the time! Received my Zo two days ago, fully intending to make bread immediately upon receipt. After all, I owned a DAK bread maker for years and had consistently good results, even with the gluten-free recipes that I have begun using in the last two years.When I ordered the Zo, I also ordered "125 Best Gluten-Free Bread Machine Recipes" by Donna Washburn, Heather Butt, Mark Shapiro and Colin Erricsson. Both arrived quickly and in good shape. But when I unpacked the Zo and began reading the manual, I slowly began to realize that I'd entered a whole new realm of bread making. We aren't in Kansas any more, Toto... this was w-a-a-a-y more complicated than the days of making bread even by hand (which I hadn't done for years since the DAK was so extremely simple to use).The instructions for the Zo are very specific about the temperature and freshness of ingredients, as well as how they are put into the machine. With the DAK, I never worried about the temperature of any ingredients except that I tested the water on my hand to see if it was warm enough (but not too hot) to activate the yeast. Measuring was less than perfect, everything was dumped in together, I pushed a few buttons, and a few hours later, I had fresh bread. I was a little more careful with measuring for the gluten-free recipes, but still basically threw everything in the pot and walked away.Feeling a smidge intimidated by the Zo manual, I decided to read some of the recipes from the 125 Best book. Talk about going from the frying pan to the fire! These authors recommend warming the eggs to room temperature (seriously??Read more ›
May 19, 2011

PROS:
  • Incorporates a dual blade system for faster and more effective kneading
  • Bread machine bakes up to 2 pounds of amazing loaf
  • Includes free measuring cup, user manual and recipes

CONS:
  • Bread machine is very particular about order of ingredients and temperature

back to menu ↑

Russell Hobbs18036 Bread Machine with Fast-Bake Function

Russell Hobbs 18036 Breadmaker with Fast-Bake Function - White

Let’s just say it out loud; having plain tea or coffee in the morning is just not the same without a wheat based product to accompany it. What’s better that a freshly baked, steaming loaf of bread straight to your plate? With the Russell Hobbs18036 Bread Machine, you not only get to bake your own breakfast, you can also personalize it with raisins, seeds or cherries.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Russell Hobbs 18036 Breadmaker with Fast-Bake Function - White

Comes with 12 programmable functions and a 13 hour delay bake timer; Complete with a 7 minute power cut-off memory function; Has an automatic keep warm function for 1 hour; Large viewing window with ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.co.uk
Brand

Russell Hobbs

Model Number

18036

Colour

White

Item Weight

5 Kg

Product Dimensions

32.2 x 29 x 29.6 cm

Power / Wattage

660 watts

Material

Plastic

Special Features

Rapid_Bake_Function,Non-Stick,Timer,Viewing Window

item as described arrived in good time and so far is working well. Interestingly the programs appear to be different to our old Panasonic bread maker so recipes don't transfer; we will have to re-learn.
November 1, 2012
great item, I have changed some of the recipes as the basic bread recipe and cake recipe i did not like but on the wholeit is a great bread maker.fast deliveryI would recommend to anyone.
December 8, 2012
I have been really pleased with the results using this machine.Bread and cakes have all been very good. Not having any crust colour problems as have been reported by others.The small and medium size bread settings seem to produce a slightly better colour if you want a darker finish to your loaf.Very good value compared to some other models. A five ***** product.
January 10, 2011

PROS:
  • Large window for viewing baking progress
  • Full year manufacturer guarantee
  • Allows bread to sit warm for up to 1 hour after baking

CONS:
  • Might be a bit loud or noisy

back to menu ↑

Oster CKSTBRTW20 2-Pound Expressbake Bread Machine with 13-Hour Delay Timer

Oster 2-Pound Expressbake Bread Machine with 13-Hour Delay Timer, CKSTBRTW20

Everyone has their favorite type of bread, and how they like it. Do you like it crusty or soft? Maybe some raisins or peanuts in there? With the Oster CKSTBRTW20 2-Pound Expressbake Bread Machine, you can now go ahead and let your inner chef free with about 12 settings for baking. The large viewing window lets you watch as the bread is being kneaded and then baked to a crisp, golden, mouthwatering breakfast delicacy.

  • Product
  • Photos

Oster 2-Pound Expressbake Bread Machine with 13-Hour Delay Timer, CKSTBRTW20

Ideal for large families, this bread maker can make up to a 2 pound loaf of bread. The unit features 9 bread settings and 3 crust settings for a variety of breads, dough and jams. With the ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've had the Oster Expressbake Breadmaker for almost 7 months and have used it too many times to count. If it died tomorrow, I feel like I have had my money's worth out of it and would buy another. I have used the Basic, Quick, Whole Wheat, Dough, and Sweet cycles, and they all work perfectly and produce a wonderful loaf of bread. If you're new to bread making, I highly recommend the book 300 Best Bread Machine Recipes by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt. This book gives a lot of good hints and tips besides outstanding recipes. There are also good recipes on allrecipes.com. An electric knife to slice the loaf is also extremely helpful.I want to address some points brought out in other reviews. First of all, many bread recipe books recommend helping the beginning 5-minute mix (knead) by scraping down the sides with a silicone spatula. All you have to do is leave the lid up and as the blade is turning, scrape down the sides and help the ingredients mix. This will also help you to see if you need to add more flour or more water. Dough should circle the pan nicely and not get stuck on one side for too long. Dough with nuts or fruit in it needs to be a bit stickier than regular bread dough in order to help the nuts or fruit stay incorporated in the bread.Secondly, there IS an "add ingredient" tone (for fruits and nuts) that sounds on most of the bread cycles...even the Basic cycle.The instruction book that comes with the manual does not explain this, but the Quick cycle (sometimes called the Cake cycle) is not to make bread bake quicker. It is for breads without yeast...quick breads like banana bread. There is only one mix (knead) and no rising time in this cycle.Read more ›
June 19, 2012
Update 10/20/2012 - STILL works phenomenally well, and way better than the price might indicate!I am a father with four young children, and I bake bread 2-3x a week. I bought this in the summer of 2011 (albeit not from Amazon) and have used it at least 100x or so. I bought it for $60, and I can hardly believe the consistently excellent quality that this machine turns out. I mean...seriously, for $60? You'd expect the thing to be sub-par and not up to the task. The key with this machine (as with any other, I'd imagine) is to work hard on getting the dough ball correct. That's the only part that the machine cannot monitor. Almost invariably, I have to add an extra tbsp or so of water, although very occasionally extra flour is needed. Once you figure out the right additions, you're ready for the REAL convenience of owning one of these - the timer function! Get yourself perfected on 5-10 recipes, and all you've gotta do is measure out the ingredients into the bread pan, set the timer, and presto! Wake up the next morning to fresh bread! The recipe for frozen berry jam is also excellent, although I HIGHLY recommend that you allow the berries to soften a bit before starting because the edges of hard frozen strawberries scratched the non-stick coating a bit. Cleanup is a breeze too.A small tip (which would apply to all brands of bread machine): Make sure to take the kneading paddle out of the bread immediately after you drop the loaf onto your table. It almost always comes out into the loaf, and a tool is included to make removing it a simple task. Once removed, place it into the bread pan but do NOT put it back onto the kneading cylinder. The bread around the paddle will be moist, and if it dries onto the cylinder, it can be nigh impossible to remove.Read more ›
December 23, 2011
Bought: March 3, 2013 @ 59.99Date of this Review: November 12, 2015Status of this breadmaker: Showing its age but still chugging!I have been relocated by my company (together with my family) here in the US from Singapore. We moved to New Jersey around Nov, 2012 and we have been buying loaves of bread from our nearby supermarket daily @ $2.50 a pop 5 times a week. Over the couple of months we noticed that we are feeling a bit "down" thinking it was just us adjusting to the weather but we were also gaining weight every month. So, trying to be "healthy" we started reading the labels of each food we buy and noticed a LOOOOT of ingredients that looked like from a science fiction/medical drama series (see attached photo). So we thought of making our own bread from scratch but didn't want to spend a lot of time kneading and rising the dough everyday.Enter this bread machine and some research enabled us to save money and in turn saved our health. For the money saving part, we sourced the following ingredients:Walmart:Great Value Flour 25-Pound - $8 (37 servings)Great Value Powdered Milk 4-lbs - $16 (64 servings)Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar, 8 lbs - $5 (128 servings)Great Value: Vegetable Oil, 1 Gal - $5 (64 servings)Augason Farms Iodized Salt, 104 oz - $5 (623 servings)Amazon:Bob's Red Mill Gluten Flour Pack of 4 of 22-ounce each - $23 (83 servings)The Ready Store:SAF Premium Yeast 16oz - $7 (48 servings)Note: Per 1 serving denotes 1 loaf of 1.5 lb bread. So per serving of all combined ingredients above costs me $1.012! (Savings: $1.488). So in less than 2 months, I already made back the cost of the bread machine.Read more ›
November 12, 2015

PROS:
  • Has 3 crust settings for a personal touch to your bread
  • 13-hour delay to wake you up with fresh bread
  • Bread machine includes measuring cup and kneading paddle

CONS:
  • Manual might be a bit unclear about the quick cycle function in the bread machine

back to menu ↑

Hamilton Beach HomeBaker 29882 Breadmaker

Hamilton Beach HomeBaker 29882 Breadmaker, Black

With Hamilton Beach HomeBaker 29882 Breadmaker sitting snug in your kitchen, making bread will be a breeze. Whether you are making bread or kneading dough for pizza, cakes, and buns, this trustee bread machine will be right there to lend a few components. The large and clear viewing window lets you watch as the bread is being kneaded and then baked to a crisp, golden and mouthwatering breakfast delicacy that will have you hooked. The manual even includes drawings and some foolproof recipes for easy bread making.

Hamilton Beach HomeBaker 29882 Breadmaker, Black

29882 Features: -3 Easy steps: Add ingredients, select cycle, start. -Prepare healthy whole-grain bread - control the nutritional content of your bread. -Homemade bread without preservatives or trans ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • 12 different cycles on bread machine
  • Includes recipes and manual
  • Can bake bread without additives or preservatives

CONS:
  • Heavier and much larger footprint, but well worth it

back to menu ↑

Sunbeam 2-Pound Programmable 5891 Bread Machine

Sunbeam 5891 2-Pound Programmable Breadmaker, White

 

 

Ever wanted to create artisan bakery style bread in your oven but couldn’t? Don’t worry, you and me both. But not any more thanks to the Sunbeam Bread Machine that does the entire job for you. The instructions are pretty easy to follow and if you’re worried about overcooking the bread, this bread machine has a huge, clear viewing window.

  • Product

Sunbeam 5891 2-Pound Programmable Breadmaker, White

Want to come home to the smell of fresh bread in the evening Our breadmakers make many types of bread at the touch of a button.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Don't let the negative reviews here fool you. This bread machine itself is great, and I can't believe how inexpensive! I picked it up for under $40 at Walmart only to see it is now $34 here on Amazon. It makes 1.5 or 2 lb loaves, has a jam setting, a "raisin beep" (signal to add fresh fruit and other ingredients during the second kneading), bake only (like cakes) and dough only (to mix in machine then bake in oven). Also has up to 13 hour delay so you can wake or come home to fresh bread.It's the recipes that come in the booklet that are bad. They all have way too much yeast, which is a classic cause of fallen loaves. I can't imagine how they came up with recipes with so much yeast! To see what I mean, Sunbeam has all their bread machine instruction manuals available online at [...]ANYhoo, I strongly suggest that if you've never made bread by hand before, pick up a good all-inclusive intro to bread machine baking book that includes recipes (I think Better Homes and Gardens and Betty Crocker both have well-rated ones on Amazon). Usually the front of these books include bread baking basics, regardless of whether you are using a machine. The booklets that come with bread machines have only a few very basic recipes anyway, like a crockpot instruction book. This machine is a sturdy, capable tool to use with a descent book. It's too bad the included free one is a dud!Things to remember: you MUST measure carefully, even more so than with other baking. Don't use dry measure cups to measure your liquid ingredients. Fresh yeast AND flour are a must. Know that adding/substituting in yeast bread recipes is not as "OK" as with other baking.Read more ›
January 5, 2006
Not having owned a bread machine before, I did my online research and decided to try a reasonably priced "good-enough tester" machine... Well, I'm VERY glad that I decided to purchase this "more-than-good-enough" model!This particular model is reasonably quiet while in operation, beeps after the 1st rest to indicate that it's time to add the nuts/raisins, etc., and beeps after the baking cycle is completed (if the bread is not removed from the machine as soon as it's done, it might lose moisture during the auto keep-warm cycle). I've twice made the following recipe with pine nuts and twice made pistachio-raisin bread (from "the Big Book of Bread Machine Recipes")--delicious.The best part about this machine baking process is that it's not at all difficult in any way. Here is the typical baking process: Warm the liquid in a glass measuring cup in a microwave, stir in the salt/honey/sugar/butter in the warm liquid, pour the mixture into the baking pan, place the pan on the scale, adjust the scale to zero, add the required flour (1 cup flour = 4 to 4.5 oz), level the flour, add the yeast, twist to lock the pan into the breadmaker, plug in the breadmaker, select the crust color (best to try the "Light" color first), select the baking setting, after about 5 min. check the dough and add water/flour if necessary (very important step), remove the bread to a cooling rack as soon as it's done, then wipe the baking pan when it's cool enough. (It's helpful to have a portable timer on you to remind you to remove the bread, wherever you might be.)The clean up is SO MINIMAL that the bread tastes just that much better! And, whenever we want oven-baked loaves, I'd simply use the breadmaker's dough cycle to lessen the clean up and do the rest as usual.Read more ›
October 11, 2006
Buy this unit. It makes bread, is durable, and cheap enoughto throw away. Above all, it is SO EASY TO USE.This unit does what a breadmaker should do. I have now cooked over 200 loaves in 13 months. Very easy to use, minimal effortrequired. Has proven durable for me. I unplug the unit when not in use.My routine: pre pack six tubs with flour (50% white 50% whole wheat -- weighed on a weight watchers $10 scale ... which is much faster and easier than measuring the flour). Put in one cup of warm water, drop in one pre-packed tub (with flour, the smallest touch of salt, 1/2 the recommended sugar (brown)). Put in a dab of oil, and 1/2 the normal yeast for a firmer bread. Then add perhaps 1/2 a bananna or a peeled cored sliced apple, maybe some raisins, and some pecans. Best secret: Add a handful of frozen cranberrys. Choose program 5 (sweet), light color, 1.5 pound. Press start and come back three hours later.Great bread for toast. Everybody likes the end product. Much better than store bread for less than $1 per loaf including the cost of the machine. I have now saved over $300.We will never go back. I cannot find a reason to try any other machine. This unit does what is required.Now the real benefit. One family member has suffered from headaches for 25 years. They stopped on the day I started makingbread. Apparently the headaches were gluten related --- I cannot explain it but we tried some store bread on her and the headaches returned. The headaches were very severe. Go figure!- Laternser
November 26, 2005

PROS:
  • Makes huge 2-pound bread for the entire nuclear family
  • Bread machine comes with 12 cooking functions
  • LED display for convenience

CONS:
  • Can only be washed by hand

back to menu ↑

Zojirushi Home Bakery BB-HAC10 1-Pound-Loaf Programmable Mini Breadmaker

Zojirushi BB-HAC10 Home Bakery 1-Pound-Loaf Programmable Mini Breadmaker

 

College life can get really tough, especially why your room is small. Since you can’t place a mega oven in your dorm room (that would be absurd) how are we supposed to enjoy freshly baked goods? Well, fortunately for everyone, Zojirushi BB-HAC10 Home Bakery 1-Pound-Loaf Programmable Mini Breadmaker has heard our cries of dismay and sent an answer in the form of this petite bread machine. Now, you can bake a 1 pound bread and eat it all by yourself without having to share. Want another one? Bake it right there.

  • Product

Zojirushi BB-HAC10 Home Bakery 1-Pound-Loaf Programmable Mini Breadmaker

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Programmable breadmaker produces 1 pound loaves of cakes or breads; Settings for cookie/pasta dough and fresh fruit jams; quick-bake cycle; 13-hour ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The Zojirushi BB-HAC10 breadmaker is terrific for couples, singles, or apartment dwellers wanting a small loaf of bread (1 LB). While at first, its price may be offsetting, it is a fantastic device and made of high quality materials. Most breadmakers are too large and end up being stored in the closet, but this machine is small, sleek, and bakes perfect loaves of bread. It is the same width as my toaster and is small enough to keep out on an apartment kitchen counter. The loaves on regular cycles take between 3:40-3:00 to bake, but it has a timer and a "keep warm" feature. It is quiet and an 8-year old could easily operate its simple push button controls.It has an even-heating element, and a good quality, heavy, non-stick baking pan, which is a snap to clean up. It has a pasta/cookie dough feature and a jam (!) feature. The tiny paddle is actually surprisingly efficient at making dough for cookies and such.One caveat: It bakes a small, vertical loaf of bread and a 1 LB loaf is smaller than you think it is. So the "rounded" part on top takes up about 1/4 of the entire loaf. Also, your bottom slice will have a gaping hole where the paddle bakes into it. While this is not much of a problem for a large 2 LB loaf, for this small loaf, it is a bit of a waste.We have had a Zojirushi since the early 90's and although we found it consistently made excellent bread, it wasn't getting used very often because it was large and the 2LB loaves simply weren't getting eaten. After downsizing, we found that this breadmaker is fabulous because it makes small enough loaves that you can experiment with tons of different recipes and throw away a botched recipe without feeling bad about waste.Read more ›
January 26, 2007
If you are like me, you will do a huge amount of research on the web before you make a purchase like this. Usually I get it down to a few brands, then one item, then I find the best price.Years ago I purchased one of the earliest commercial bread makers available to consumers. It was a thrill to have such a thing, as I love fresh bread, but I am also a well-known yeast killer. Needless to say, the technology was new... it worked for about a year, and only when making one recipe - Basic White Bread. I decided not to get it fixed (the price tag for repairs was over 100 bucks), and just wrote the whole idea off.Last fall - after about ten years had passed! - I decided to try again, only this time I had the internet on my side. I am so glad I looked as hard as I did! This little machine is fantastic.I've had my Zoji for about a month now and I've only had one failure - it was my fault, the water I put in was just too hot, and I killed the yeast (no new thing there). Otherwise, I've made about 13 successful loaves for myself, family & friends! My Challa loaf and my basic white have now been perfected. Wheat and quick breads turn out great, too.I've even figured out how to use the soft bread cycle and a sweet loaf dough, and remove it at just the right time, then roll the dough up with cinnamon or slice it and put layers of filling, whatever you can think of, then get it back in the pan quickly for the rest of the last rise and the baking. As long as you are prepared and do your math with the clock so you can work fast, this works great.The other plus is that the loaf size, at just a pound, is perfect for singles like me. I do not have to freeze so much extra bread, and it gets eaten before it gets stale or bad.Read more ›
February 22, 2009
I already owned the Zojurushi BBCCX20 (the 2-Pound-Loaf Bread Machine) for 2 years before deciding on buying the smaller model to adjust to changing needs. Unfortunately, I expected the same kind of "programmable" machine. The only thing programmable on the Zojirushi BB-HAC10 is the delay timer. Do not buy this machine expecting to control the time of rise, kneed and bake. Maybe I'm the only person who did use this feature on the other model, but it was truly useful for making spelt bread. The only way to make a nice spelt bread using this machine is the "Quick Baking Setting" and it cannot be combined with the timer. So impossible for me to make a spelt bread for breakfast.Things I do like :-The size of the machine is perfect, I store it in the cupboard.-The beep sound (for adding raisins, nuts, etc.) is not to long or annoying like the BBCCX20 which would wake me up in the middle of the night.-Easier to clean than BBCCX20. There are no nylon inserts in the bread pan to which bread sticks to.By the way, the first unit I received blacked out after 5 minutes. It was my first defective purchase from Amazon and replacement service was as perfect as I had read by other customers.
June 28, 2008

PROS:
  • 13-hour delay timer for that quick morning wake and bake
  • Multiple settings to get it just right; don’t want to burn any herbs and raisins in the bread
  • Bread machine has a viewing window and carrying hands

CONS:
  • Bottom part of the bread tends to have a gaping hole due to bread machine design

back to menu ↑

Oster 58 Minute 5838 Expressbake Bread Machine

Oster 5838 58-Minute Expressbake Breadmaker

Don’t get me wrong, ovens are great, but they are major energy wasters and take too damn long to cook a loaf. What you need is a handy bread machine that works twice as fast without wasting any of the power or ingredients. The great thing about the Oster 58 Minute Bread Machine is its consistency as well as versatility in the face of pressure. In just three easy steps of ingredients, mix and bake, it doesn’t get any better than this.

  • Product
  • Photos

Oster 5838 58-Minute Expressbake Breadmaker

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Bread machine bakes up to a 2-pound horizontal loaf in under an hour; User-friendly control panel; 13-hour delay bake; 1-hour keep warm; 8 settings ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have owned and used this breadmaker for 5 years now and there is no reason to get another one. The best part is it comes out with a loaf of bread that looks like a loaf of bread, not some tube of baked stuff.This one is reliable.As for making a good loaf of bread, one of the best hints I have found to follow is to measure your flour not by volume but by weight - a cup is 5 oz. This is what bakers do because all kinds of things can affect the volume of the flour you're measuring; moisture, settling, etc.
September 10, 2005
I have only one complaint about this machine: the bread is so good that I am averaging about one loaf every day during the week and about 3-4 loaves every weekend because we go through it so quickly, and there are only two of us! (Of course, we have guests who also eat it!) I have a suggestion, though: make up the dry ingredients (except for the yeast) ahead of time by measuring out the flour, salt and sugar and put into a zipper bag, labelling it as to which kind of bread it is. (We make about 3-4 varieties every week.) That way, you only have to grab the bag after putting in the liquid ingredients; and then, of course, there's the yeast. (Don't forget to keep room temperature water, butter, oil and eggs out on your counter as well.)I also invested into a bread slicer and slice the bread when it's still a bit warm and put into a bag immediately so then you can just grab and go when you need it, which also cuts down on crumbs throughout the week.
November 27, 2002
I am very pleased with this machine. I followed the extremely simple instructions and made a perfect loaf of bread the first time. The recipe book that came with the machine was too limiting for me so I bought two other bread machine cook books. The "Better Homes and Gardens Biggest Book of Bread Machine Recipes" is fantastic. I have learned a great deal about this machine: (1) using exact ingredients is critical (2) always add ingredients in the order suggested (3) the loaves come out of the pan easier if it is sprayed with cooking oil before adding ingredients (4) using the light crust setting is best for all kinds of loaves (5) the 1 1/2 pound loaf recipes are preferrable. I've used the bread machine at least three times a week since I purchased it and have tried every kind of bread possible. I have found nothing to complain about. The machine is quiet,powerful and remains stationary when operating. Great buy!
March 17, 2006

PROS:
  • Durable construction
  • Multiple settings for custom bake
  • Non-stick pan for easy removing

CONS:
  • Might be a bit noisy when mixing ingredients

How to Choose a Bread Machine?

Before spending your hard earned dollars on just any old bread machine, you need to sit quietly and consider the following factors.

  • Preferred Shape and Size of Your Loaves

Why settle for the conventional, rectangular shape that bread lovers are used to? You need to consider the space you have in your kitchen as well as the shape of bread you would prefer to eat every day. Some bread machines are vertical, others horizontal, and even the occasional rounded one. If you have a small family, 1 pound bread machine might be great, but if you have a large family with a healthy appetite, only 2 pound bread for you.

  • Desirable Features

When choosing a bread machine for your home, you want to get as many features in there as possible so as to enjoy an incredible baking experience.

  • Clear Viewing Window

One of the most common culprits to baking is curiosity. Bakers often want to take a sneak peek and see how the loaf is coming along. Opening the lid or oven disrupts the baking process and alters it, possibly ruining the masterpiece totally. A great bread machine incorporates a crystal clear viewing window for the inquisitive or first-time baker to keep track of the process from start to finish.

  • More Control and Options

You also want to pick out a bread machine that empowers you to experiment and be adventurous in the kitchen. Today, you can bake white, brown, whole grain and even artesian style bread. In addition, some bread machines also allow for different sizes of bread and even how crispy the crust should be. Other important features include delayed timer, alarms, gluten free bake.

  • Kneading Paddle

Almost every bread machine has a non-stick pan with a kneading paddle to bake your loaf. Typically, the kneading paddle gets left in and cooks with the bread, leaving the signature small hole at the bottom of the loaf. Even collapsible kneading paddles do leave their mark, but they are very useful.

Why Choose a Bread Machine?

If you still need to ask why you need a bread machine, the bread gods above must be really disappointed in you. Fortunately, we still have faith that you can be convinced. So, why does anyone need a bread machine? Here are just a few of the bazillion reasons why a bread machine should be the first appliance in your kitchen.

  • Wake and Bake

This is obviously the most important and delicious reason for owning a bread machine. Your entire day could take a turn for the better just by starting the day with a warm and poofy, freshly baked loaf of bread with your morning coffee. Today’s models allow you to set a timer that begins just a few minutes before you wake up ensuring you get up to a pleasant smelling loaf, all crispy and ready to eat.

  • Take Control of Your Ingredients

Most of the people who turn to a bread machine for help do so because commercial bread doesn’t give them a choice. Maybe you prefer something glutton free or without any preservatives. A great bread machine allows you to add your favorite spices, raisins, a hint of strawberry, chocolate, vanilla and even peanuts. For people with allergies, a bread machine is crucial since they decide exactly what does into the bread maker.

  • No Mess

The main reason why most people do not bake is because of the mess and the fact that you have to clean it up after. Since your bread machine does all the hard and dirty work in an enclosed mixer, yes, that’s right, even kneading the dough, you don’t even get a drop of flour or water on your kitchen.

  • Saves You Money in The Long Run

Whether you are buying bread or juice, it is always cheaper to make it yourself. Stores sell items at a very inflated price and thanks to taxes, your loaf costs way more than what was used to make it. With your very own bread machine, your bread is a direct result of your ingredients. All you need to do is buy a sack of flour, some ingredients and reap the full benefits of being your own bakery.

Competition

From different sizes to different brands, today’s list of top 10 most popular bread machines had an unbelievable lineup. Each bread maker displayed unique qualities and features that made it stand out. The Zojirushi Home Bakery BB-HAC10 1-Pound-Loaf Programmable Mini Bread Machine really made a mark. College life can get really tough, especially why your room is small. Since you can’t place a mega oven in your dorm room (that would be absurd) how are we supposed to enjoy freshly baked goods? Well, fortunately for everyone, Zojirushi has heard our cries of dismay and sent an answer in the form of this petite bread machine. Now, you can bake a 1 pound bread and eat it all by yourself without having to share. Want another one? Bake it right there.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password