Top 10 Calphalon Knife Set Reviews — Complete Buying Guide

Knives form a very crucial part of the kitchen. They are used in almost every other kind of cooking you are doing. You do not need one knife or two for your needs. In fact, a set is what does the job better; with a knife for each task. That means a set would be the most appropriate choice. Calphalon knife set has graced so many family kitchens and no complaints come from them. There is a knife for different task and a spare for that matter. If you need sharp, ergonomic and best quality knives then a Calphalon knife set is the perfect answer. To give you a heads up, here are 10 reviews to help make the right choice.

17-Piece Calphalon Contemporary Knife Set

Calphalon Contemporary Cutlery, Set with Knife Block, 17-Piece

17 pieces of very reliable knives are what you get from this Calphalon Contemporary Cutlery, Set with Knife Block, 17-Piece. They vary in inches and functions. The set is resistant to rust and does not stain as opposed to another kind of stainless material. The sharp edge is done with expertise and will last for long. The holder is made with the user needs in mind to give you a firm grip and remain comfortable in your hands. Each piece in this set comes with superior strength and you do not need to try hard to get whatever task you are doing. Super quality knives and for that, you get a lifetime warranty.

Admirable Features 

  • 17 pieces of full tang designed knives
  • Stainless German steel with high carbon
  • Ergonomic handles
  • Storage wooden block
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary Cutlery, Set with Knife Block, 17-Piece

Full tang design provides better balance and superior strength. Each knife is individually balanced for efficiency and comfort. Ergonomic grip handle uniquely contoured for one size fits all comfort. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
We've had these for 2 months. I waited this long to review them because I wanted to see if they would rust. I typically put the knives in the dishwasher, though I'm careful that the blades aren't rubbing against something else. The steak knives do sometimes come out of the dishwasher showing spots of rust that you can wipe off with a towel, but the kitchen knives do not. Stainless steel will do that, especially the cheap stuff. It isn't really rust, in the sense that it will eat through the knife. It's more like a stain. The two types of knives are made with different steel. The kitchen knives are German steel, shipped to China for forging. The steak knives are Chinese steel, stamped in China. I suppose China can make good steel, but this particular steel isn't as good as the German stuff. Having said that, the steak knives are very nice. They are partly serrated and partly straight blade, and cut through meat, cheese and veggies on your plate very well. The stamped steak knives are a hollow grind, but the kitchen knives are a convex grind, which are easier to keep sharp and have less drag when cutting through something thick, like when skinning a melon. Our last set of knives lasted us 20 years, but they were all stamped hollow grinds, which aren't as durable a grind, and don't take honing as easy as these do. An interesting comparison between our old, but trusty knives was how they sound. When you tap them on something, these Calphalon kitchen knives sound like a sword ringing against something, while the old knives and the Calphalon steak knives make a thud. No idea what that means, but it's intriguing.The Calphalon knives do take honing well. They seem to require different angles against the honing tool, depending on the knife, though.Read more ›
February 27, 2012
Never put these knives in the dishwasher - they will not be guaranteed by Calphalon for any reason whatsoever if they have been in the dishwasher, and believe me, they know if they have or haven't been in the dishwasher. There's a reason the mfgr. states do not put in the dishwasher. I, too, would love for Calphalon Contemporary to produce a boning knife.
January 8, 2014
I've had these knives in my kitchen for over four years now. The steel holds an edge extremely well. I sharpen mine with a diamond hone, go to a very fine Arkansas oil stone, strop with leather charged with chromium oxide then strop with plain veg. tanned leather. It takes about an hour to do about 5 knives. They hold an edge for a very long time if taken care of and I only have to sharpen them every year or so. I never run my knives through the dishwasher and take care to ensure that whatever I'm cutting on will be easy on the edge when it passes through.You should be aware that you may get a stain on the steel if you leave acidic juices on the blades for a long period of time (a darker spot not rust). This will always be the case with good steel. The more stainless the blade steel, the less it will hold an edge. There are pros and cons to everything and I would much rather have steel that holds a good edge.The steel was made in Germany and worked in China. That's how they're able to make a great product for a fair price. The cutting geometry is great. The only complaint I have is that potatoes and onions stick to the blade more than I'd like after the cut is made.Just so you know I'm not the average uninformed idiot reviewing this product (and not gloat in any way) I have a background in engineering, machining, metallurgy, carving (as a hobby) and product design.
October 9, 2015
PROS:
  • There is a knife for each task in the kitchen
  • They are stainless thanks to the German steel
  • Do not easily lose their sharpening edge
  • Ergonomically designed handles to make holding them comfortable

CONS:
  • No self-sharpening feature
  • They are not supposed to be put in a dishwasher

back to menu ↑

18-Piece Simple Calphalon Knife Set

Simply Calphalon 18-Piece Cutlery Set

These are forged knives and their performance comes second to none. Their strength is one feature you will admire. Made if full tang design, they make everything easy on your hand and the cutting edge. The handles are suitably made to feel comfortable in your hand and triple riveted to give the durability. No rust or stain will remain on your knives. On the wood, each knife is clearly labeled for easy identification. To show you how serious is the quality of Simply Calphalon 18-Piece Cutlery Set, you get a lifetime warranty.

Desirable Features

  • 18 knives in full tang design for balance and strength
  • High carbon-German steel with no-stain properties
  • Triple riveted handles to give them durability
  • Labeled wooden block for easy identification
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon 18-Piece Cutlery Set

Forged knives classically designed for cutting performance. Full tang design provides better balance and superior strength. Each knife is individually balanced for efficiency and comfort. Handles are ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I LOVE these knives. They are excellent quality, very durable, have a nice weight and balance to them, and very sharp. My old set were stamped blades. This is my first experience with forged blades and I will never go back.The steak knives are stamped and the quality isn't comparable to the rest of the forged blades. But they are still decent quality and plenty sharp. It looks like this is common in the steak knives of a lot of forged knife sets. But my previous set of stamped blades didn't go through the entire length of the handle like these steak knives do. So the old ones, after time, broke where the stamped portion of the blade went into the handle. With these steak knives, that won't be a problem.Anyway, I love the chef knife and the paring knives especially. Very pleased with this set.
January 29, 2014
Very nice set of forged knives!! The knives are nicely balanced and have a stout feel. Only 2 drawbacks, the steak knives are stamped steel not forged and flimsy. The set is all Chinese not the much better German steel. They are still much better than anything I've have before!!
June 7, 2012
Ever stood in front of your cutlery set wondering which knife is the one you want? Calphalon has eliminated the guessing by engraving the knife size on the ends of each knife handle for easy identification. Gotta wonder why no one else is doing this. Love this set!
January 3, 2013
PROS:
  • No stains to worry about
  • Easy to sharpen knives
  • Come with a labeled storage block for easy identification
  • A versatile set with a piece for each task in your home
  • Each piece is balanced and powerfully designed
  • Ergonomic handles

CONS:
  • They are made in China so forget about Germany quality

back to menu ↑

Calphalon Knife Set with Classic SharpIn Technology

Calphalon Classic Self-Sharpening Cutlery Knife Block Set with SharpIN Technology, 12 Piece

Do you want knives that will stay sharp for a lifetime? If yes then Calphalon Knife Set with Classic SharpIn Technology set is the ideal choice for you. They come with a self-sharpening technology and they will be just like new all the time. Their comfort on your hand is touching as so is their balance and cutting power. You will not be troubled by stains thanks to the material used. The collection will offer you dicing, steak and chopping option leaving you with no need for any other knife. Each knife handle is labeled so picking the right one is no problem at all.

Admirable Features

  • 12 versatile knife pieces
  • Triple riveted handles
  • Labels for easy identification
  • No-stain high-carbon steel
  • In-built ceramic knife sharpeners
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Classic Self-Sharpening Cutlery Knife Block Set with SharpIN Technology, 12 Piece

Knives stay sharp for a lifetime with the Calphalon Classic Self-Sharpening 12-pc. Cutlery Set featuring SharpIN Technology. Sharpeners are built right into the knife block, automatically sharpening ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This was exactly what I was looking for. I did not want a low quality, 18 piece set when I really only use 4-5 knives. This set has the essentials and is everything you need. I love the self sharpening stand, that sharpens my blades each time I pull it out. It cuts through just about everything like butter.For those of you who don't know, Calphalon is one of the big name brands in high quality kitchenware. This is an affordable way to get a Calphalon knife set that is stylish, effective, and practical.Great buy!
September 19, 2015
Best of the best. Sharp. Won`t rust because of the material that`s used. I`ve had this several months. I always let them soak for hours including over night. No rust. The feel is good. Good quality. Self sharpening works great. Good grip. Won`t slip in your hand. There are tactile markings where the handle meets the blade. Go read the review at Bed Bath and beyond. No complaints of rust or markings. 4 star.No bread knife was the lack of being 5 star.
October 31, 2015
I am almost totally disappointed with this purchase. Firstly, the depiction of the set shows a 15 piece Calphalon knife set when it is really a 12 piece knife set. Secondly, it has no bread knife and an empty slot for a bread knife, but the picture shows all knives with one knife removed. Thirdly, I ordered this set around mid-November and I waited. While I find the larger knives to be sturdy and well made, I find the shears and the steak knives to be somewhat lacking in sturdiness and durability. I have to mention that I was overwhelmingly disappointed to have to present this purchase, unopened to a friend as a wedding present. A present I thought was a 15 piece knife set, that turned out to be a 12 piece knife set with a picture of a 15 piece knife set when I checked my Amazon order in my profile trying to figure out why there is an empty slot in the block and only 12 knives. Way to piss off a good customer Amazon! Having to wait + only 12 knives when it appeared I'd be getting 15 = 1 unhappy customer.This ought to be a full complement of knives for the block. Not a set with one knife missing and the ad should show 12 knives in the picture, not 15, when it is a 12 piece set.
December 4, 2015
PROS:
  • Self-sharpening feature
  • The set comes with a lifetime warranty
  • Excellent balance and power
  • No stain at all

CONS:
  • Concerns on bad quality
  • Some complaints of missing bread knife

back to menu ↑

8-Piece Stamped Steel Calphalon Steak Knife Set

Calphalon Contemporary 8-Piece Stamped Steak Knife Set

Calphalon Contemporary 8-Piece Stamped Steak Knife Set is not your typical collection of knives. They are powerful, efficient and will beat any sort of stain. The grip in your hand is likable. You have all that you need for chopping, cutting, slicing and spreading. The sharp edge lasts for long and does not worry about rust. The quality is unrivaled and you can bet that on the lifetime guarantee once you make a purchase.

Features

  • Stain-free German steel high carbon material
  • Tapered edges to spine
  • Satin finish
  • Ergonomic handles
  • 8 tang full pieces each for a specific purpose
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary 8-Piece Stamped Steak Knife Set

Full tang design provides better balance and superior strength. Each knife is individually balanced for efficiency and comfort. Ergonomic grip handle uniquely contoured for one size fits all comfort. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The serrations on these knives are terrible. They do not cut. They rip and you have to put quite a bit of effort into doing it. That applies to pretty much any kind of food. A knife that can not cut a fried egg cleanly is not worth anything. And only half of the blade is serrated while the rest is as dull as any cheap knife. I bought these to replace a set of no-name serrated knives I bought 8 years ago which still cut very well but whose handles are now disintegrating from dishwasher cleaning. These calphalons stain in the dishwasher just as badly but cut nowhere near as well. I am back on the market looking for a decent set of general use knives.
October 1, 2009
I have a whole Calphalon knife set and I was surprised to be extremely disappointed with these steak knives. The steak knives have a really good feel however the small and tight serations cause meat to get stuck between the serations leading to a totally useless knife. Again, I love every Calphalon knife in my set except for these steak knives. I have no idea why the other users rate these as high as they have but please save your money and buy a different style Calphalon steak knife.
September 4, 2009
I was pretty disappointed in the henckle eversharps I got at bbb. These are much sharper, look & feel better in your hand. Sadly that goes for the rest of the set as well. I purchased a pretty expensive 5 star twin ja henck set and was a bit let down. It wasn't cheap by far. I picked up a calphalon chef and santoku knife for my mother last winter and loved them so much I bought myself and extra of each. They get way more use and were WAY cheaper.
September 29, 2013
PROS:
  • A versatile set that covers all your needs
  • No rust and stains
  • Keep sharpness for long
  • Beautifully made

CONS:
  • Complaints about the steak pieces (they don’t cut)

back to menu ↑

2-Piece Calphalon Knife Set

Calphalon Contemporary Cutlery, 2-Piece Paring Knife Set, 2-Piece

 

If you do not want a house full of knives then Calphalon Contemporary 2-Piece Fruit Vegetable Knife Set would exactly what you want. They are ergonomically designed to feel comfortable in your hand. They are powerful and convenient to use. They resist rust and no stain will be a bother. It is just what you want for your chopping and cutting needs.

Admirable Features

  • High quality stain-free German steel
  • Ergonomic handles
  • Long lasting blades and tapered cutting edge
  • Full tang design for efficiency and strength
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary Cutlery, 2-Piece Paring Knife Set, 2-Piece

Full tang design provides better balance and superior strength. Each knife is individually balanced for efficiency and comfort. Ergonomic grip handle uniquely contoured for one size fits all comfort. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
My paring knives had dwindled from 3 to one tiny one. So of course, now that I've bought replacements, the 2 lost ones will reappear. I really like these knives. Wicked sharp blades right out of the box. Well, actually out of a blister pack that was a bear to open. The handles are ergonomic, overall they are well-balanced. The longer one I would almost characterize as a utility knife, which is a complement. It's first task was to slice a bunch of cucumbers and onions for bread and butter pickles. I was able to easily get the super thin onion slices I want for pickles, and it went right through the tougher cucumber skins.
September 9, 2014
We have the Calphalon 17 Piece knife block set and found that we used the 4 1/2 inch paring knife the most. The knife block has a few extra slots so I bought these paring knives and they fit in my block. The 4 1/2 inch is a great size for cutting so many things. I like it so much, I'm tempted to replace the steak knifes in my block with paring knives. The 3 1/2 inch knife has the same great handle and feel with a shorter blade.We hand wash these knives and haven't had any issues with rust. The original has had 4 years of daily use and still looks new. It holds an edge pretty well but since it gets heavy use, I sharpen in every month or so. It's quick and easy to sharpen.Very happy with these knives.
September 19, 2014
I was in the dog house after I broke the paring knife we used to have (same one) so I had to replace it. The new one works like a charm too, and we the larger knife is an added bonus. Very good knives if you use them for their intended purpose!
May 19, 2014
PROS:
  • Long lasting cutting edge
  • Rust resistant and stainless steel
  • A very durable piece
  • Top quality pieces

CONS:
  • A set of two knives may not cover all your needs

back to menu ↑

18-Piece Calphalon Cutlery Set

Calphalon Katana Cutlery 18-Piece Knife Set

12 pieces of varying inches are diversified enough to give you what you want in your kitchen. These ones are made from the best material you can think if. They are resistant to rust and will not take a single stain. Calphalon Katana Cutlery 18-Piece Knife Set comes in a wooden block for easy storage and access. The handle is patented and gives you a comfortable grip at all times. This is a collection of knives you should be having at your home.

Features

  • Patented ergonomic handles
  • High precision handles
  • Bolster design for easy grip and control
  • 18 knives for different needs
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Katana Cutlery 18-Piece Knife Set

Set includes: 3-1/2-inch, paring knife 4-1/2-inch, paring knife 5-inch, nakiri (vegetable) knife 5-1/2-inch, honesuki (boning) knife 7-inch, santoku knife 7-inch, slicer 9-inch, bread knife eight ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I tried several different types of knives before I bit the bullet and just ordered these without being able to try them first. Among those I tried were the Wusthof Grand Prix II and Classic, J.A. Henkels Microedge and Classic, and Calphalon Contemporary. I was beginning to despair of finding knives that I liked.Pros:Well balanced, none of the knives feel unwieldy or precarious while cutting (I have small hands and my husband has large hands, neither of us have any problems with these knives).Sharp edge that holds up well, and the honing steel is easy to use to keep them at their sharpest.The blades are nice and sturdy, but not heavy.Good variety. The serrated utility works great on tomatoes, sausages, slicing sandwiches in half, etc. Chef's knife goes through large melons like they're nothing. Scissors work great (some other sets have really sub-par scissors).Aesthetics... a really beautiful knife set to have displayed on your kitchen counter.Cons:I do wish that it had a 8" or 9" Bread Knife, or at least had an extra slot in the block so you can add one to the set. However there are only enough holes for the included knives.I was disappointed that the steak knives weren't the Damascus Steel... they are just cheap stamped blades. They work fine, but for the price of the set it would be nice to have them all the same.I would highly recommend these knives. I love them!
July 3, 2012
I spent about a month looking around at various shops for a great set of knives. This is what I ended up ordering, They are razor sharp! The material is made of thirty-three layers of stainless steel, has an outstanding ability to retain an edge and proven strength with VG-1.Nothing feels better in your hand than these handles, they are not made for small hand though but for me they feel great. The material used to make the knife handle is much more important than you might think. Wooden handles have a tendency to rot or corrode. A corroded handle will make the blade fit loosely, which can be dangerous. These feel and great they are less likely to break than many other handles and are not overly heavy.The way that a knife handle is designed is important. The part of the blade that goes into the handle (called the tang) should go all the way through on both sides. Many knife tangs only go part of the way through the knife's handle or on one side. This may cause the blade to come loose, but this has a full tang. They are well balanced and you need that to make sure you don't cut your selfCutting with these tools is great since slicing is so easy.. I have tried with other knives, but never got as good of results as with this set. These are worth every penny, but do take care of them! They do need hand washing.
May 2, 2012
I bought this knife set from a local retailer because i wanted to see how thet felt in my hand before spending over $300 on knifes. I collect knifes and was really attracted to this set because of the high quality japanese vg10 demascus steel. I cannot tell you how shocked & disappointed i was when i got home to see that NONE OF THE STEAK KNIVES ARE VG10 STEEL & THEY DO NOT MATCH THE SET. the handles match but the blades are a cheap stamped blade, they are not sharp like the other knifes in the set & look completely different. This set was not & is not advertised this way and it seems to me like caphalon should give a matching set especially when the only discription for this item says its made from vg10 steel. Maybe i should of checked every knife in the set to make sure they were all made from the same vg10 steel but i have never in my lifetime bought a kitchen knife set that came with different steel in the knifes. Major disappointment!
October 1, 2015
PROS:
  • Quite a versatile collection with 18 pieces to choose from
  • Made from stainless steel
  • Resist rust
  • Ergonomic handles

CONS:
  • No bread knife
  • The steak knives are made of cheap quality stamped steel

back to menu ↑

Calphalon 2-Piece Fruit and Vegetable Knife

Calphalon Contemporary 2-Piece Fruit Vegetable Knife Set

Your fruits and vegetables do not just need any knife. They need a piece specifically meant for that job. You have your perfect answer in this Calphalon 2-Piece Fruit and Vegetable Knife that comes in 2 pieces. They are made from the best stainless steel to keep away rust and any stubborn stains. The blade side remains sharp for longer so you can be sure you will not be shopping for another set any time soon.

Outstanding Features

  • Ergonomic handles with contours
  • Tapered cutting edges
  • Stainless German steel
  • Product

Calphalon Contemporary 2-Piece Fruit/Vegetable Knife Set

Full tang design provides better balance and superior strength. Each knife is individually balanced for efficiency and comfort. Ergonomic grip handle uniquely contoured for one size fits all comfort. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
These knives were great initially. Balanced, sharp, good price. Unfortunately, I've noticed that the edges are chipping after a couple of years of proper use. My henckels 4 star knives are still like new, and older. I treat my knives with TLC, use mostly for fruits and veggies, hand wash, etc. It's clear that the material is inferior (brittle; large crystals are breaking off).
February 18, 2012
Bought this set for my wife so she wouldn't use my CIA HydePark Masters, but I somehow end up using hers more than mines, not because the CIA's aren't good, but because the Calphalon's handles are really ergonomic and comfortable. Mind you, for the tough cutting jobs where I need my full speed, the big guns (or knives rather, you can't bring guns to a knife fight) still have to come out.The Calphalons don't hold their edge as long though, at least every 2 days they need a couple swipes on the steel to renew, something I don't have to do with my CIA blades, but then again, my 3.5" parer cost more than this whole set, so you do get what you pay for, which is very fair.All in all a sweet little set, but as I mentioned in another review, not everyone uses 6" utility knives anymore, they are a little 'in-between', so to speak. If you like that size, together with the paring knife (which is ideally sized), then this set is for you.
February 20, 2012
These are well balanced, easy to sharpen, hold up well to use and thing that the price to performance is really a great deal. There is a size, function and accesorries to make a well organized knife set for half the cost of some other brands.
August 18, 2014
PROS:
  • Keep their sharpness for long
  • They are ergonomically designed to give you a comfortable grip
  • No rust and stains
  • Give a long lasting service
  • An attractive design

CONS:
  • A set of 2 knives is not what a busy kitchen would require

back to menu ↑

20-Piece Calphalon Knife Set with SharpIn Technology

Calphalon Contemporary Self-sharpening 20-piece Knife Block Set, with SharpIn Technology (1922976)

20 knives are what you get if this your choice of the Calphalon Contemporary Self-sharpening 20-piece Knife Block Set, with SharpIn Technology (1922976). The versatility is not limited in any way here; there is a knife for every task you have to do. You should not worry about their sharpness for they remain cutting for long and you can as well add on their sharpness with the inbuilt sharpening technology. They are made of the best German quality steel so rust and stains will be no bother to you. Each handle is smoothly contoured to allow firm grip and convenience.

Admirable Features

  • 20 knives each suited for a specific task
  • Comes with an inbuilt SharpIn ceramic sharpener
  • Forged from stainless Germany steel
  • Ergonomic hands with contours
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary Self-sharpening 20-piece Knife Block Set, with SharpIn Technology (1922976)

The Calphalon Contemporary Self-Sharpening 20-pc. Cutlery Set with SharpIN Technology features a block with built-in sharpeners that automatically sharpen straight edge knives with every use. Knives ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is my exact set and I love them--but--I got them much cheaper at my Belk department store--$179--originally $440--but with 1/2 price sale and extra coupon I got a good deal and jumped on it--maybe you could bring the price down a bit--lots of people love to cook!
November 5, 2015
I picked up the set for Christmas I love the look and feel of the knives. And most important the knifes are super sharp. My husband who is a chef and not easy to impress liked the knifes as well. However after only weeks of using the knifes the 6" boning knife broke. If it wasn't for the broken knife I would have given this set 5 stars.
January 14, 2016
The knives arrived as scheduled, were well packaged (each knife was separately wrapped) and were as depicted online. The knives have good heft and are certainly sharp, although one seemed dull and I used and external sharpener for touch-up. The built in sharpeners have worked so far and the instruction state "just remove and replace for sharpening". The serrated steak knives are great. Overall a great knife set.
February 20, 2016
PROS:
  • In-built sharpener take
  • Durable material
  • Top quality knives
  • There is every sort of knife you would want for your cutting, chopping, slicing and spreading

CONS:
  • Their asking price is a bit on the high end but worth the value you get back

back to menu ↑

Calphalon Precision Series 16-Piece Cutlery

Calphalon Precision Series 16-Piece Cutlery Set with Wood Knife Block

If you do not want to miss any sort of knife for you culinary needs then you have to choose this Calphalon Precision Series 16-Piece Cutlery Set with Wood Knife Block. The quality of material used here speaks for itself and you can trust that. There is precision in every piece and you will love how these knives get the job done. They stay shape for longer than any of the other Calphalon knife out there. It is not a hard choice to go for these knives since they do their job better and with high precision.

Desirable Features

  • Precision honing to keep the sharp edge for long
  • Bar-riveted handles
  • Stainless steel German steel
  • Label on handles for easy identification
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Precision Series 16-Piece Cutlery Set with Wood Knife Block

Engineered to exacting standards, Calphalon Precision Series Cutlery stays sharp over 20% longer than Calphalon Contemporary cutlery. Blades are precisely tapered for optimal edge retention and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a great set and I've seen the price drop below $200 on Amazon which makes it the best value in quality cutlery.The block itself is heavy and beautifully stained. The steak knives are gorgeous and razor sharp. For once, I feel like I have nicer steak knives than the high-end steak houses. The shears and honing steel are nice, but I haven't used them yet.The knives are German steel, made in China. The end of each knife is labeled so you know what to grab. The 8" Chefs knife is absolutely gorgeous. It's heavy, sharp, and feels balanced in the hand.Why 4 stars? Because it was impossible to get any precise information on the number of empty slots on the block and what knives to fill them with. Some people said 2, some people said 3. I even emailed Calphalon customer support. I'll make it easy for you: there are 3 empty slots - small, medium, and large. The large fits the 7" Santoku knife. The medium fits the 7" slicer or 6" serrated utility. The small fits the 4.5" paring knife. Simple as that. I mistakenly ordered the Santoku, Slicer, and Utility based on my interpretation of other reviews, and there is not enough room for both the slicer and the serrated utility.
May 1, 2015
We originally bought another brand name set in the same range and were disappointed. This set, however, is fantastic. The steel and weight are substantial. Even the steak knives, which are stamped and not forged, are heavy and well built. The main knoves are forged and have a great edge. My quick fave has been the 6 inch utlility knife which ends being used for almost everything. One thing we really like is that the block is arranged more horizontally (versus being long/deeper) so it doesn't protrude as far out from the wall when under our cabinets on the counter. The knife labels on the back of the knives is well executed and not tacky - and is useful to grab correctly on the first try.We're happy with these knives and think the purchase was well worth it.
May 26, 2014
For reference- I enjoy fine knives, and collect Randall Made knives. Randall Made knives are combat/hunting style knives of the highest quality. Basically, I am pointing out that I am willing to pay for quality. Last year we lost our set of Henckels knives, and needed to replace them. After a great deal of research we chose this set. We have now been using them since 11/2015. They are very sharp, and do not dull easily. In fact, we have yet to sharpen them. They also do not stain. We paid $212 for our set here on Amazon, and in my opinion this set is the equal of the more expensive forged Henckels knife sets, in the $350 and up range.
March 3, 2016
PROS:
  • Keep their sharpness 20% than any other knife set
  • They are made of the best quality German steel
  • Handles that allow for firm grip and comfort on your hand

CONS:
  • A bit high priced

back to menu ↑

Black Calphalon 18-Piece Knife Set

Simply Calphalon 18-Piece Cutlery Set

Simply Calphalon 18-Piece Cutlery Set is quite an assortment of knives for all your kitchen needs. And they not just your typical knives, these ones are made from the best stainless steel. They are designed to give the best experience for your use and you will enjoy the time you are using them. Their ergonomic handles give you the comfort in your hand and whatever you are cutting, slicing or chopping will get a nice treat. Precision equals quality in this one of a kind Calphalon knife set and there is no reason why you should not buy it.

Admirable Features

  • 18 pieces of versatile knives
  • Full tang designs to give you durability on your knives
  • Stainless steel
  • 10-year warranty
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon 18 Piece Cutlery Set, Black

Designed for durability and precise handling, the Cooking with Calphalon 18 Piece knife block cutlery set includes a wide assortment of knives for every cooking need. Most pieces are forged from a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
So far, so good. Did not know this brand was made in China which is not known for making quality knives like tha US, Germany and Japan. Had I known, I would not have purchased.
July 17, 2014
Shopping early for Christmas... bought these knives for our dear friends who have had us over for a couple of amazing steak dinners. Unfortunately, they do not have a set of steak knives, so we ended up using all kinds of misc. cutlery and sharing. This Calphalon set looks well made and is nicely packaged -- a gift we'll be proud to give. Just a note to some of the reviewers of all the knives I looked at -- you DO NOT wash knives (even the most expensive ones) in the dishwasher. Of course, they got rust spots -- they're steel!
May 25, 2016
I love my knives..I feel like such a foodie when I use them
October 10, 2014
PROS:
  • They keep their sharpness for long
  • Best quality stainless steel
  • A warranty of 10 years as guarantee of quality
  • The price matches the value you are getting

CONS:
  • Quality complaints but overall this is a good set of knives

Why Choose Calphalon Knives?

There are quite a number of knife set brands out there. Making the right choice will thus be a hassle for you. But what if you could find a brand that offers nothing but the best knife sets? That is what Calphalon knife sets are all about. They offer competitive products and you should make a purchase today. But why should you choose a Calphalon knife set?

  • They offer top quality knives. They give you the best quality in the market today.
  • They have a variety to choose from: for whatever kitchen needs you may have you will find a perfect match for you. Each Calphalon knife set is specifically made with the user in mind.
  • Great prices for great value: their prices are competitive. They give you real valuable and you do not have to dig so much deep into your pocket. These knife sets are affordable.
  • No rust and stains: each of the knives in each is made from stainless German steel. They do not rust or stain.

Competition — Which Calphalon Knife Set is Best Reviewed and Why?

Are you now wondering on the Calphalon knife set to choose? Now that you have had the chance to go through the 10 reviews it is now time you narrow down your choice to one set. Without further ado, 20-Piece Calphalon Knife Set with SharpIn Technology is the best reviewed. Those who rated the set with 5 stars made it 89%. If you buy this set you will understand why everyone feels that this is the kind of knife set to have in the kitchen. First, there is a variety of knives in the set. You will get a knife for every task you have to do at home. The second reason is that these knives are top quality. They do not rust or get stains. They are ergonomically designed and you will not have any trouble with them in your hand. In your position, this is the knife set I would go for. But remember the choice is yours. Choose according to your needs and you will not be disappointed.

Having the right knife set in your kitchen is convenient. You will not want for any cutting needs. Now that you have been duly guided on the choices available for you, it is the time you make an informed choice. Grab your Calphalon knife set today and change your kitchen with efficiency.

Sources:

Calphalon.com

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password