Best Deep Fryers — Top 10 Gorgeous Reviews for Your Easy Choice

If there’s one type of food that is most likely at the bottom of everyone’s healthy eats, it’s probably fried foods. However, this is probably the biggest mistakes that people make because, in the end, fat is good for you! It’s all about how you go about preparing your food. If you want to get the very best out of fried foods, the first tool that needs to be in your arsenal is a dedicated deep fryer. Not only does it offer numerous advantages for your kitchen, but it also comes recommended for weight watchers. We know all too well that your time is very valuable. As such, we have compiled a quick list of our top 10 most popular deep fryers present in the markets today and why your kitchen really deserves one of these bad boys.

Presto 05420 Fry Daddy Electric Deep Fryer

Presto 05420 FryDaddy Electric Deep Fryer

Introducing the sleekest, most convenient Fry Daddy, it’s time to take deep frying to an entirely new and unimagined level. Who said you need about 6 gallons of Mother Nature’s oil to enjoy a deep fried meal at home? With this state of the art deep fryer, you save both money and oil! Thanks to the Presto 05420 Fry Daddy Electric Deep Fryer design, the healthy and conservative chef can now use just 4 cups of oil to prepare a surprisingly large serving. If you’re very accurate and precise in your frying style, then this is just what the doctor ordered. The easy controls allow you to control each and every aspect, right at the heart of the deep fryer.

  • Product
  • Photos

Presto 05420 FryDaddy Electric Deep Fryer

Cool touch exterior. Removable non-stick pot for easy cleaning. Extra large viewing window. Basket handle doubles as an exterior control to lower food into the oil with cover closed. Charcoal filter ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've had one of these little fryer appliances since they first became popular in the seventies. The current model is the second one I've had, being larger than the original model that came out.For someone not needing to fry enormous amounts at one time, this little machine is ideal. It requires only a very small amount of vegetable oil. I've used it to fry chicken wings, quickly, to do french fries and onion rings, to do other smaller chicken parts, and it works beautifully. There is no thermostat; you just plug it in, wait 10 minutes, and the temp is 375. Having such a small amount of grease, it recovers heat more quickly than an electric skillet.When you are through, if you plan to reuse the grease you can simply let the machine cool, snap the plastic top on, the put the whole thing in the fridge. I don't fry that often, and when I do, I tend to fry a lot, so usually I just discard the oil. Such a small amount is used (usually no more than 3 cups starting out) that I don't feel bad about discarding the oil.The sides on this appliance are quite high, and splatter around the machine has never been a problem. I used common sense, though, when I fry, whether it's here or on the stove.I'm sure the all-enclosed auto-fryers that are out on the market are nice, and if I fried a lot I'd probably get one. However, I only fry once or twice a month, and for that, this little machine is perfect. I'd recommend one to anyone--durable, simple, and does exactly what it's designed for!
October 27, 2001
After spending more money on 2 faulty deep fryers (Rival is hit-or-miss for quality), I've finally settled on this little beauty.Pros:1.) Cheap and simple, a very compact and minimalist package overall. It is nothing more than a steel bucket with a heating element underneath.2.) Fries at 350 degrees, 25 short of "ideal" but safe for cooking with lard and lower smoke point oil. Try lard if you never have, you can still get it in supermarkets.3.) Milled steel bucket, cast aluminum base. Inside has a permanent synthetic non-stick surface. Clean up and changing oil is simple.Cons:1.) This fryer isn't for families with young children or dumb people. Hot oil is always dangerous to work around and this unit is a STEEL BUCKET FULL OF OIL. The outside is hot. The inside is hot. It's hot.2.) Doesn't have a lid to stop the occasional spatter.3.) The bottom and healing element are shielded, but it will still warm up your synthetic countertop. I have mine on an old wooden cutting board to avoid warping the plastic.
February 6, 2009
This 'review' is actually just a 'heads up' for anyone considering buying an electric fryer that has both the heating element(s) and the thermostat in/under the bottom of the fry pot.This design relies on the fact that 'hotter' oil rises up and away from the heat source, and up and away from the thermostat. This works very well when the oil is clean and clear.But you *might* have an issue getting your oil back up to temp after frying a few batches of breaded 'items' (ie: breaded fish or chicken pieces).Even a relatively thin layer of fried breading crumbs on the bottom of the pot creates an insulating 'blanket'. So when the heating element turns on, the relatively small amount of oil in the blanket heats up quickly, and can't move up thru the crumb layer quickly enough, and the thermostat senses the 'blanket' is up to temp, and shuts the heating element off. The thermostat does a great job of keeping the oil in the crumb blanket at the proper temp, but the main body of oil above the blanket takes a LONG time to get back up to the proper temp (since the thermostat is constantly turning the heating element off). And if the blanket is heavy enough, ambient heat loss will cancel out the small amount of heat escaping the blanket, and the oil will NEVER get up to proper temp!This 'issue' can be eliminated by scraping the bottom and stirring the oil vigorously between batches, OR by sifting out all the crumbs after every few batches.If you are deep frying in a pot on the stove, scraping the bottom and stirring also helps prevent the crumbs in the 'blanket' from burning. If they do burn, you will taste the burnt flavor in stuff you fry later, even if you fry the later pieces perfectly.Read more ›
October 13, 2011

PROS:
  • Built-in and preset thermostat for consistently perfect frying
  • Nonstick surface for easy cleaning
  • Built to North American Quality Standards

CONS:
  • Some customers claim the product tends to heat up real quick, even on the outside

back to menu ↑

2.6-Pound T-Fal Oil Filtration FR8000Ultimate EZ Clean Fry Basket Stainless Steel 3.5 l Immersion Deep Fryer

T-fal FR8000 Oil Filtration Ultimate EZ Clean Easy to clean 3.5-Liter Fry Basket Stainless Steel Immersion Deep Fryer, 2.6-Pound, Silver

If you consider yourself a serious foodie, nay, a dedicated lover of all things fried to perfection, then listen closely, because the FR8000 might just be what your home is missing. This mother of all deep fryers empowers even amateur cooks with the ability to male restaurant quality fried foods right in their very own kitchen. Of course, without all the hassle, bustle and paying someone to do what you could do 10 times better. This massive, 2.65 pound, 3.5-liter capacity, immersive deep fryer has the ideal size and bulk for larger family size dinners or food parties.

  • Product
  • Photos

T-fal FR8000 Oil Filtration Ultimate EZ Clean Easy to clean 3.5-Liter Fry...

Make restaurant-quality fried food at home

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've had several deep fryers through the years and this is the best one ever! The immersion type heating element heats the oil fast and keeps it up to cooking temperature even with frozen foods. I used pure peanut oil for my first test frying with this fryer as I've have such good results using that oil in the past. It costs a lot more but is well worth it. My wife commented that the foods I cooked tastes as good as some better restaurants we go to.After the oil cooled, I just flipped the lever on the front and the oil was strained through the fine mesh stainless steel screen in the bottom of the stainless steel tank and into the plastic storage tank underneath.. There is a pour spout in one back corner of the plastic tank that makes it easy to pour the oil back into the jug it came in for storage. The plastic tank has a removable lid much like a Tupperware container making it easy to clean.Everything but the power cord and the heating element/control unit can go into the dishwasher! That right there is one of the best features ever. So, there isn't really much of a mess at all.The power cord is held on to the control unit with a magnet. I'm thinking it's probably a safety feature so if someone snags or pulls on the cord, it will just come off instead of dragging down the whole deep fryer.I think it's the one to own! Get yourself one!
December 7, 2014
This fryer will solve basically every problem you have with frying. I hated frying because of the huge mess. This fryer is so easy to clean just use it and then put it all in the dishwasher. It doesn't get grease all over the counter either. The only piece that can't go in the dishwasher is the heating element part which cleans off easily in the sink. The features work as described the oil filtration works well and creates no mess. The fryer it self performs flawlessly I have fried frozen foods straight from the freezer, doughnuts, chicken etc.Update 6/1/15Fryer gets used at least once a week and is still going strong no complaints!
March 3, 2015
After WEEKS of reviewing deep fryers, there are numerous reasons I ordered the T-fal FR8000 from Amazon on Saturday night. It arrived, with NO damage, on Wednesday. Thank you, AMAZON! I read ALL enclosed directions on Wednesday and put everything in the dishwasher except the heating element that same night. Thursday morning, I ensured everything was dry, put the unit back together and set up for my first time EVER using a deep fryer. Unit is not heavy and easy to move around. Since the deep fryer had small rubber feet on each corner, I decided to place the unit on my ceramic stove top in order to have use of the hood vent (from another reviewer). Safety is another reason I chose this model. I made sure that the cord reached the wall plug with room to spare and had the unit set up so that I had access to the reset button, if needed (another reviewer). The stainless steel colander was lined with paper towels for the fried chicken to rest. The 8x8 glass dish for the french fries was lined with paper towels-ready and waiting. I even had a place prepared for the hot see-through lid whenever I need to remove it from the unit. One of the main reasons I chose this unit: I have a small family and wanted the basket to be big enough for 3 meaty drumsticks and two meaty thighs because I did not want to have to cook a second batch of the same thing. After pouring the vegetable oil in half way between the min and max lines, I was ready! DH entered the kitchen and decided that he did not like my set up. Even after telling him that the instruction manual stated NO extension cords, he pulled out a power strip and plugged in the unit and then the wall informing me that a power strip is not an extension cord. (I researched this after dinner and it's true!) Fine. No problem.Read more ›
April 30, 2015

PROS:
  • Massive 2.65-pound, 3.5-liter capacity for large family dinners
  • EZ Clean patented oil-filtration system for convenient frying
  • More professional and healthier results

CONS:
  • This is the penultimate form of luxury and convenience in a deep fryer; we couldn’t find a single flaw

back to menu ↑

DF280 Waring Professional Pro Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless

Waring Pro DF280 Professional Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless

Looking for a quick, easy and convenient way to prepare a sumptuous array of delicacies? Maybe it’s your turn to host the guys over, or the holidays are just around the corner and you’ve got guests coming over. Well, you can now rest easy with the Pro DF280 Deep Fryer. These guys are so good at what they do, they had to include the name professional in their brand, twice! Now to the most exciting feature here; this three basket deep fryer lets you take some time to fry up to 3 different snacks at one go.

  • Product
  • Photos

Waring Pro DF280 Professional Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless

Need a quick way to prepare food for your family or for a special event? This three basket deep fryer allows you to cook up three different snacks all at once in this 1 gallon 3 basket deep fryer.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a really hard product to review. Unlike most reviews, I'm going to start with the negatives. This thing is cheaply made. The metal on the outside casing is razor thin. The lid has no filter. Unlike most competitors in this price range it has no oil drainage system, you just take out the vessel and pour the oil out.Now the oddities, it comes with 3 baskets, two small and one large. On the surface that's a nice touch. The reality is, you've got more stuff you need storage space for. And unless you want to keep the baskets submerged in the oil when you're not using it, you'll need store all 3 baskets.And, I know they all seem to be doing this, but I hate the controls at the back of the unit. Heat up the oil and try to set the timer and you risk getting burned from the steam coming out the vents.Now, this all sounds pretty negative. So why the 4 stars? Well because it actually does what it's supposed to do. This is the 3rd fryer I've bought in the past week. Spent $150 for a T-Fal that wouldn't get above 340 degrees. Then tried a De Longhi Roto fryer for $100. That would't get above 345. The Waring actually gets up to the advertised 375.Another nice feature is that the display actually shows the temperature as it's heating up. This gives you some idea of how much longer it's going to be before it's ready. Now I did find the temperature reading wasn't real accurate at the low end. But once it got up to about 325 it was within a few degrees.So the bottom line, if you're looking for fancy features, this is not the fryer for you. But if you want something that will actually fry your food the way it's supposed to be done, this is the way to go.
December 9, 2013
I purchased this as a replacement to a dead Krups, which no longer sells or supports fryers. So I'm not new to fryers. Before my purchase I did quite a bit of research before I settled on this one. I needed a large fryer for things like fish and chicken.I've had it about 3 weeks and put it through it's paces. I made Fish & Chips, Corn Dogs, Chili Rellenos, Fried Chicken. Fried Oysters, Fried Zucchini, Fried Mushrooms, Potato Chips, Fried Cheese Sticks and even Fried Twinkies.The only semi-down side is that I have to add more oil then Waring suggests. I added an extra 64 once bottle. It only raised the level about one inch. So plenty of room. After that is was great. I use peanut oil to fry. The unit heats up to 375 in about 15 minutes. It held the temperature very well. Everything I made came out great!I did not use the two small baskets, The only reason for those would be to fry two different things at the same time. I was able to use my dead fryer and some cheese cloths to filter the oil into.The Fried Twinkies had a good fry but are really carnival novelty food. Not something I would make again...in case you were wondering. 🙂
April 28, 2012
Just got it today and tried it out...I basically use a fryer for French fries and Fried Chicken (maybe occasionally other things) and so far, so good. Simple to assemble and, it does have a short cord, which for me is okay. It's a short distance from the fryer to the outlet. And the size looks good for when I make chicken, which is the main reason for buying a larger fryer.
January 26, 2015

PROS:
  • Removable immersion style heating element
  • Digital timer for accurate frying
  • 2.3-pound food capacity stainless steel container

CONS:
  • This particular unit, unfortunately, lacks an oil drainage system

back to menu ↑

CDF-100 Compact Cuisinart 1.1-Liter Deep Fryer

Cuisinart CDF-100 Compact 1.1-Liter Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless Steel

When we talk of creating masterpiece works of art in the kitchen, several brands have stood up and passed the test of time. But when it really comes down to giving consumers compact, space and cost saving products, Cuisinart really stands a mile apart from the rest. Not only is Cuisinart CDF-100 Compact 1.1-Liter Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless Steel built to take up significantly less counter space, but it also fries several batches of food in the 1.1-liter capacity pot.

  • Product
  • Photos

Cuisinart CDF-100 Compact 1.1-Liter Deep Fryer, Brushed Stainless Steel

Cuisinart presents a deep fryer that takes up less counter space. Designed to fry batches up to 3/4 of a pound in just 1.1 litter of oil, this is great deep fryer even for spur-of-the-moment snacks ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Wow, I'm a big fan of fried foods, homemade French fries especially fried in Canola Oil. I've used industrial restaurant sized fryers and worked from a stove top. This little puppy is probably one of the best little fryers I've ever seen.Most of the negative reviews of this fryer can be solved by simply reading the instruction booklet. Number one complaint, the cord falls off. Well yes it does, and that is by design. The cord is held into its socket on the fryer side with a magnet. This is so you can unplug the unit without pulling the fryer over and burning yourself with hot oil. It's a common mistake, thinking the cord is broken. If you plug this in, attach the magnet end and don't move the fryer, it will not come unplugged.Number two complaint, the basket is flimsy and falls over itself. It does not do that if you install the handle correctly. You have to squeeze the two sides and slip the pins into two holes and under a tab - the handle will never ever move in this position.Here's what I love about this appliance, it uses a small amount of oil - around a quart / liter. We don't have fried foods very often, and I don't cook a whole chicken at once. It's just perfect for those side dishes - appetizer mozzarella sticks, egg rolls, jalapeno poppers, etc. You can do chicken fingers, fish sticks, donuts in here. Food cooks evenly and quickly. Heat up time is around 3 or 4 minutes. Cooking time varies a lot, but can be around 3 or 4 minutes.The cover is ingenious - it closes down tight around the top and the basket so no splashing of oil happens. Cook on the counter top with no fear of splashing oil everywhere. The carbon filter shouldn't be cleaned every use, and it prevents splashes from coming out of the lid.Read more ›
February 7, 2009
I confessed I read the 1 star reviews first, and had some reservations, but tried it anyway.First things first. My initial experience with deep fryers are with restaurant-grade fryers, at an uncle's restaurant when I was a kid. I thought: if the oil is so hot, let's throw something so cold into it and see what happens. So I tried an ice cube. You all know what happens next. Don't do it.Still, I had a chance to see how that thing worked. For those who are complaining about this heavily scaled down version, you have to remember that's just what this is.The filter in the lid (removable and washable) is greatly appreciated. In the past, my husband got annoyed when the air in our home smells greasy, even with all the fans running. This unit greatly reduces the odor of cooking oil frying. We use either peanut oil, soy, and safflower. Much less odor than corn or vegetable, but the filter helps even more! Remember to read the instructions and squeeze the basket handle in and release inside the "ring" for a proper stiff handle.The tininess of the unit is the real draw of this appliance. With the bigger deep fryers, you are left with tons of oil with nowhere to go. Those units (my neighbors have the larger ones) take up counter space, even if you decide to keep the oil in the fryer.Now, the gripes: Some people said it takes progressively longer to heat each time. I wonder if they are starting with fresh oil. The more you use the same batch of oil, the "dirtier" it becomes. Subsequently, it takes longer to heat. Alton Brown mentioned this on his special on frying.That dastardly magnetic power cord that is long enough to stretch across a nail head : It's a pain, but the designers are trying to look after you.Read more ›
May 26, 2011
This deep fryer is great for many reasons:1) First of all, it is small and fits nicely on a crowded kitchen counter. The ONLY way I would recommend positioning it is with the dial facing you, allowing for at least 6 inches of empty space on either side of the fryer. If you are using the basket, this is the only way you can simultaneously reach the basket handle and the lid handle without reaching over the hot oil and burning yourself. (I mention this because some people who wrote negative reviews complained about burning themselves, but you can avoid that by using the fryer in this position.)2) Secondly, the oil is heated by a heating element that is hidden away under the frying bowl. This means that there is no heating element directly in the oil for food to stick to or get stuck under. Therefore, you can just place your food directly into the frying bowl instead of placing it in the basket first. If you are adept at using wooden utensils (chopsticks, spoons, etc.), you will have no problem getting your food out, and you won't need the basket at all. I HIGHLY recommend using the fryer this way, since in my experience battered (i.e. shrimp) or soft (i.e. tofu) items will stick to the basket, but won't stick to the bottom or sides of the frying bowl. (The basket is useful if you want to fry batches of things that you know won't be sticky. For example, I used it to fry 4 spring rolls at a time, and it worked beautifully.)3) Thirdly, the lid and filter really do what they are supposed to do. The lid is NOT spring-loaded and not heavy, so opening and closing it is safe and easy. (The lid stays securely on the hinge if put on properly, yet will come off when you need to clean it.) The filter in the lid significantly decreases the odor released into the air.Read more ›
March 27, 2010

PROS:
  • Deep fry basket that holds up to three-quarter of a pound
  • Nonstick die-cast bowl that is attached to heating element superior heating
  • Built to strict American quality standards

CONS:
  • Some customers claim the temperature dial is not as precise as you would like it to be

back to menu ↑

Hamilton Beach 35021 Deep Fryer with Cool Touch

Hamilton Beach 35021 Deep Fryer with Cool Touch, Black

Hands up if you ever saw something frying so beautifully you almost forgot how hot the pan was. I feel your pain guys; but fortunately, technology has caught up with the absent minded food lover and people who are generally tired of grabbing a hot pan and then spending the better part of an hour cursing away. Hamilton beach deep fryers are well known for their generous size and incredible amounts of versatile performance. In addition to the cool touch technology that prevents external heating, with Hamilton Beach 35021 Deep Fryer with Cool Touch, Black you can now fry the crispiest, mouth watering delicacies without the usual mess and oil spills.

  • Product
  • Photos

Hamilton Beach 35021 Deep Fryer with Cool Touch, Black

Hamilton Beach Deep Fryers are generously sized for greater versatility -- some even accommodating a whole chicken. What's more, you can fry crispy, mouth-watering foods without the mess you've come ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is the first fryer I've owned and I’m very pleased with it. The design (with the removable controls and heating element) allows the pan that holds the oil to be completely removed for draining and cleaning. As others have mentioned, the cord is short for safety reasons. The plug that goes into the back of the fryer is held in place by magnets so if you try to move it, it comes out. This isn’t a design flaw but another safety element. The unit is rather large compared to the size of the pan that holds the oil but that extra space provides insulation and keeps the exterior rather cool. I imagine the larger the capacity, the larger the unit is going to be. This is a good fryer for a one or two person household. P.S. It’s cheaper in a store and you may even find it on sale.
February 14, 2015
I have been a fan of Hamilton Beach for some time now. They offer a quality product that is well-built, lasts and performs year after year, after year. I've bought their food processors, blenders, waffle makers and I have never been disappointed. This fryer is no exception. It is well thought out for cleaning, easy to use, easy to store and gets the job done. I would recommend.
June 21, 2014
Excellent deep fryer.. Large basket, quick heat up time, even frying. I would recommend this to anyone that has more than 2 people to serve.
April 21, 2014

PROS:
  • Comes with a lid for mess free frying
  • Cool touch sides that will not burn your hands
  • 8 full cups of oil capacity

CONS:
  • Some customers claim that the Hamilton Beach 35021 Deep Fryer with Cool Touch has weak magnetic cord connections

back to menu ↑

Secura 1700-Watt 4 l Stainless-Steel with Triple-Basket and Electric Deep Fryer

 

Secura 1700-Watt 4 l Stainless-Steel with Triple-Basket and Electric Deep Fryer

Talk of the ultimate barbecue, cookout, bake out, fry out or whatever it is your cooking up, one brand really takes great care of their customers. If your only goal in the fry out is to go as big and as huge as possible, then you might want to consider Secura 4.2L 17-Cup 1700-Watt Stainless-Steel Triple-Basket Electric Deep Fryer, with Timer Free Extra Odor Filter.

  • Product
  • Photos

Secura 4.2L/17-Cup 1700-Watt Stainless-Steel Triple-Basket Electric Deep Fryer, with Timer Free Extra...

Secura Deep Fryer with 3 baskets and 4.2L capacity is perfect for a whole family or friends gathering together 4L capacity; Splatter-protecting lid; Magnetic safety plug; Removable oil tank; ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I use to have a restaurant and did not feel that a small home fryer would please me. I was wrong. This is a great unit. It is easy to clean, has a charcoal filter to help reduce odor and the thermostat is very accurate. I was very surprised when I turned the dial to 365 degrees, when the light went out I checked the oil with a thermometer and the temperature was perfect. I fried some red snapper and hush puppies today and it was perfect. It was so much easier than heating oil in a pot and trying to keep it at the proper temperature.I was a little concerned about ordering because I had read in other reviews about people cutting their hand on this unit. If that was a problem it seems that it is corrected now. I went all over this unit as soon as I opened it looking for a sharp edge and one does not exist. I have never heard of this brand before, and that bothered me, but this fryer is better than any other I have seen. Having the three baskets is nice and it is very easy to remove the handles and put the baskets and handles in the dishwasher. I highly recommend this one.
September 13, 2013
This deep fryer is perfect for all of your fried food needs. This deep frier comes with 3 trays 2 half trays and 1 full tray. It does require minimal assembly of putting the handles on the 3 trays which takes less than 2 seconds. on the inside of the deep frier on the right side it has a min and max fill line. This allows you to fill the deep frier with the correct amount of oil to not harm your self or create a mess. The left and right side of the exterior of the deep frier has handles so that you are able to easily carry the deep frier from place to place.One thing that you will love about this deep frier is the fact that when you set the timer for deep frier it actually turns off the whole deep frier when it stops. This allowed me the pleasure of starting the task of doing the rest of dinner instead of having to stand guard at the deep fryer like I have done with my other deep friers in the past. This deep frier also comes with a lid that has a nice window so that you are able to monitor your fried delights as they are getting fried.The top of the deep frier has 2 nobs that allow you to set the temperatures in Fahrenheit and to set the timer. This deep frier has 2 indicator lights on it to let you know that the deep frier is on and when the oil is at your desired temperature. This allows you to put the item of your choice into the hot oil instead of putting it into lukewarm oil and allowing you food to absorb the oil and taste only of oil and loose its actual flavor.When your food is at the desired crispness you can let it hang on the outer rim of the deep frier. The tray has hooks on the outside that will hook onto this part to allow you to hang the baskets to let the oil drain out of the trays. This definitely comes in handy with all of your deep fried foods.Read more ›
August 1, 2015
It is one of the best for reasonable pricing! cook evenly with large basket and encluding 2 small basket for different use. You will not be disappointed when you use it. Thanks secura for good products.
August 27, 2012

PROS:
  • Massive 4.2 liter capacity for bigger meals
  • Viewing window to get a glimpse of the frying process
  • Able to fry up to 3 different full sized treats

CONS:
  • This is among those more costly units, but you get full value for your worthy investment

back to menu ↑

Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer

Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer

Like most people, you must be tired of parting with your precious money at 3-star hotels that barely hit the palate right. With a decent deep fryer in your arsenal, you get to save your money and still have full control of every single dish that makes its way to your plate. Did you know that some deep fryers actually cost less that a top line dish in some hotels! That’s right, you pay someone to buy a deep fryer every time you eat out. Make sure you get the Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer and skip out on the restaurant.

  • Product
  • Photos

Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer

Skip the restaurant and make your favorite fried dishes at home with the sleek stainless steel Aroma SmartFry XL. With three included fry baskets you can cook up one large batch of a single dish or ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
9/28/12 UPDATE: I am still loving this fryer! We used it last night to do chicken tenders, French fries and tater tots, and then put the lid on it, left it on the counter, and used it again tonight to fry fish sticks for the kids. Everything is so much crunchier and tastier because of the baskets; the food never rests on the bottom. I'm upgrading it to 5 stars (from 4)!ORIGINAL REVIEW, 5/26/12:We periodically deep fry chicken tenders for dinner, but we almost never have French fries at the same time because it would take forever with our little Fry Daddy. When I saw that the Aroma 4-quart fryer with two sizes of baskets was available, I grabbed it! We just tried it tonight, and I am already looking forward to using it again.To keep this from getting too wordy, I'm going to give you the pros and cons in bullet format:Pros:~ Easy to figure out how to use (simple manual)~ Heats up quickly enough and you can set the temperature (vs. the Fry Daddy's single temperature that is never displayed)~ Has a digital temperature display with built-in timer (but...see con)~ You can cook two different items at once if they use the same temp~ It has three baskets: one full-sized one and two half-sized ones~ It has a lid to keep oil from splattering, and you can see your food through it. It releases steam so be careful!~ After it's done cooking, you rest the baskets on the clips on the edge so the oil can drain...LOVE that!!! Feel like a real fry cook! LOL.~ The BIGGEST pro: The baskets keep the food from resting on the bottom and sticking to bits and pieces of other foods. Your food will taste FRESH!Read more ›
May 26, 2012
I am in deep fried heaven. I have owned several fryers over the years, from the simple fry daddy's to Emeril's flash fryer to T Fal digital top-of-the-line models. Dollar for dollar, this fryer works way better than any other I've used, hands down. Heat retention and temp control are key to crispy, light, and non-greasy food.The oil heats to the proper temp in about 20 minutes. After food is dropped, it only takes about 2 minutes to get the temp back up. The see-though lid is notched so that the fry basket can be raised and lowered or "jiggled" around with the lid on. The well is large enough to hold 2 small baskets or the one large basket but uses only a gallon of oil. It lifts out to pour out the used oil for straining or disposing and for easy cleaning ( once cooled of course.)The controls are simple to use. There are even some pre-programmed settings but I prefer to set my own temps and times. There are only a couple of recipes included and there's nothing to speak of on the web site. I'm glad I bought the cookbook "The Best Fryer Cookbook Ever" by Phyllis Kohn on Amazon. Awesome recipes!The only thing I DO NOT like about this fryer is the stupid magnetic cord that detaches from the back if you move it in the slightest. I understand the safety aspect, especially if there are children in the house, but it drives me crazy.
June 21, 2012
This is a great large fryer.Very simple to put together.An outer case made of stainless steel with handles.A main compartment that holds the oil, I am guessing it is steel that has been enamel coated.A heating element that slides into the main compartment, this contains the heating coils, control unit that sits on top and outside of the main compartment and a power cord that attaches via magnets (A safety precaution, so you don't tip it over with cord).A lid, that just lifts up and off, have a viewing window and some vents with filters built in.Unit comes with three baskets, One large basket that takes up most of the main compartment, and two half sized baskets in case you want separate baskets for frying separate items.The unit goes together easy and once you figure out how to use it, it really does a great job, my first fryer and I am pretty happy with it.But there are some drawbacks:The power cord is probably less than 2 feet long. I know this is a safety issue, but if you don't have power outlets nearby, it can be an issue.The control panel, is not in any way intuitive and is difficult to figure out, in fact the instructions in the manual doesn't even seem to correspond exactly to how the unit operates. I am pretty sure you can figure it out, but it takes some guessing. They could have really benefited form adding a few more buttons to simplify things. They built in some preset temperature and timers for certain foods, but you have to look them up in the manual any time you want to use them.Also sometimes the control unit will just not heat to the temperature you request.Read more ›
June 27, 2012

PROS:
  • Larger 4-quart capacity
  • Precise and accurate digital controls
  • Fully immersible and consistent heating element

CONS:
  • The XL ADF-232 Digital Deep Fryer is great, but it would have been better if they included a skimmer; just saying

back to menu ↑

DeLonghi D28313UXBK Roto Deep Fryer

DeLonghi D28313UXBK Roto Deep Fryer, Black Silver

No matter where your loyalties are, you can never go wrong with a DeLonghi D28313UXBK Roto Deep Fryer in your kitchen. With this bad boy, you can now enjoy tastier, crispier and much healthier food thanks to some out of this world features. The unit boasts of immense oil savings since you only use half the amount that traditional deep fryers require. De Longhi understands that cleaning up the mess and hot oil can be really daunting. That’s why they included their patented easy clean drainage system to take the worry out of the frying.

  • Product
  • Photos

DeLonghi D28313UXBK Roto Deep Fryer, Black/Silver

Enjoy crispier and tastier food with the De

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I purchased this fryer 6 months ago. Previously I have owned two of the Delonghi Roto Fryer Model 895UX and have been supremely happy with them. My first lasted for at least 5 years, using it 4-5 days a week. The second unit was still working after 6 years of almost daily abuse, but I decided to treat myself to the newer model when my kitchen color scheme changed. I purchased the Delonghi Blk/Silver Model D28313UXBK six months ago, wrongly assuming that because it was more expensive, it would be an upgrade from the units had previously owned.Bizarrely, this unit does not have an On/Off switch or an attachable cup for draining the oil, both of which came with the older model. The timer is inconveniently placed below a puffy metallic sticker which not only is a nuisance to clean, it is so annoyingly reflective that it glows much brighter than the actual power indicator light. The power cord is much shorter than on my older models, limiting its' placement to within 12 or so inches of an outlet. The weird magnetic connector that attaches the cord to the unit itself, disconnects much too easily if the cord is slightly stretched or moved. I have to be very careful lifting the fry basket out of the fryer. The mechanism that allows the basket to spin occasionally releases from the handle without warning sending more than one batch of French Fries to the floor. But the worst is the spring opener for the lid which is so strong that if you're not careful, can send the lid literally flying off. The new lid and hinge are far less substantial than the older units, obviously made of a cheaper plastic. The hinge assembly has already broken on my unit.I really have a hard time understanding the decision making process that went on in the Board Room at Delonghi.Read more ›
March 31, 2012
UPDATE JANUARY 2013: Judging by some of the follow-up comments to my initial review, it appears DeLonghi finally has filters available (third-party, too) and has decided to support this fryer. They're not the first company to get ahead of themselves in a new product launch as appears was the case here. You should read the comments and pay particular attention to the dates they were written. New information always is good.While Delonghi may have a good idea with the introduction of the D28313 Roto Deep Fryer, here are several things about which a potential buyer should be aware.FIRST, many retailers are using descriptions of older model fryers in their advertising and descriptions of the D28313. For example, there is no included oil container in which to drain the used oil. The basket capacity is 2.2 lbs, not 1.5 lbs.SECOND, you might want to know the cost and availability of filters when considering this model. Delonghi parts lists one filter, P/N 5312510071. The cost is $15.90 for one filter, which includes shipping and handling. The same Delonghi customer service department representative told me the filter may be used twice if frying fish. That means you must factor in $8 per fish dinner, plus you must order and have on hand filters sufficient for your use.THIRD, there are no replacement filters available at any price. Delonghi doesn't have them and has no idea when they will. Filters for Series 5 and 8 fryers will not fit.FOURTH, the owners manual (with the unit and online) says not to use the unit with clogged filters, but the manual makes no mention of using the unit without a filter. But then, one of the benefits of a closed fryer, namely, low odor, immediately is lost. The owners manual is so vague ("... if your unit has ...Read more ›
June 20, 2011
Pros: Works very well-only in use for the past month but it does a very good job browning up fries, hush puppies, green beans and potato cakes without making them greasy. I like the oil changing tube as it makes a potentially greasy job fast and neat. After a bit of timing I learned how long to fry items before checking to see if they are cooked to my liking, a very minor issue. The device appears to be a good bargain, reasonable price and performance, again short-term experience. The temperature controller is a nice feature!Cons: The magnetic a/c power cord connection to the fryer's body needs to be designed better so it is more securely attached. I've used other mag connections with no issues but this one tends to be touchy wanting to disconnect from the fryer. I've learned to be very sure there is more than enough slack in the cord between the electrical outlet and the fryer. The window is useless as it fogs up and although the instruction booklet says it will automatically clear it doesn't. They should design a safety interlock to insure that the frying basket is in the up position before the lid can be opened. The instruction booklet is very clear about the need to raise and lower the basked only when the lid is closed but for safety reasons there should be an interlock.9.21.2012 Update- We've now used this appliance for about nine months. While the above is still relevant I must say I am more comfortable using it. The results make any minor "cons" worth dealing with; in fact they no longer impact on my opinion as I began to overlook them shortly after composing the above. I will say the fryer provides even, reliable, non-greasy foods regularly and we actually use it more than I ever thought we would.Read more ›
January 27, 2012

PROS:
  • Incorporates tilted, rotating basket for even fry
  • Safe, outer cool touch handle
  • Digital timer for accurate frying

CONS:
  • Some customers point out that the magnetic a/c cord could use a little more securing

back to menu ↑

Excelsteel 6 Quart Stainless Steel Stove-Top Deep Fryer

Excelsteel 6 Quart Stainless Steel Stove Top Deep Fryer

They say all is fair in love and war; I say both these things are very expensive. Apparently, the most customer friendly and manufacturer of user-friendly products agrees with me on that one too. Excelsteel gives you one of the most affordable and easy to use deep fryers that the markets have ever seen. This bad boy can tackle meals adequately in its six-quart capacity pot. Excelsteel 6 Quart Stainless Steel Stove Top Deep Fryer also maintains higher levels of hygiene and convenience in cleaning.

  • Product

Excelsteel 6 Quart Stainless Steel Stove Top Deep Fryer

6 quart stainless steel stove top deep fryer with endcapsulated base ensures faster

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I got this fryer, as opposed to an electric one, for cleanliness, I used it already a couple of times, the size is perfect for a small family cooking, the only flaw is the handle on the frying basket which opens when you turn it to empty it and you end up with food all over and maybe a bad oil burn, I figured a solution to this by inserting a clothespin in the middle of the handle, the company should insert something like this or warn people, anyhow you can do it and remove it when you wash the fryer. Otherwise is fulfilling it's purpose as I wish....frying.
March 8, 2013
Just purchased this a couple of weeks ago and used it for the first time last night. The food came out crisp and not at all oily. However, you gotta be careful with this one.The clip that lifts the basket while draining will drip hot oil onto your stovetop. We had a slight flame up which I wasn't expecting, but was able to blow out quickly.The handle will not stay in place. Every time my husband or I tried to dump the food out, the handle collapsed. He thought it was my technique so he tried and same thing happened. Yes, we had both locked the handle into place.You do have to be careful of your oil level.I don't think I will let my teenagers use this pan and I will probably go ahead and find a machine to use instead.
January 19, 2012
Simple magnet test can prove it. It is regular steel with a sort of chrome coat or something. Mine started chipping after few uses and now the bear metal is exposed. The pan started to rust on the chipped spots.Made in China, what else can I say...
December 7, 2012

PROS:
  • Super easy to use and clean
  • Stainless steel construction
  • Faster heat distribution

CONS:
  • Some customers claim the Excelsteel 6 Quart Stainless Steel Stove Top Deep Fryer is cheaply made

back to menu ↑

Proctor Silex 35041 Proctor Silex Professional Style Deep Fryer

Proctor Silex 35041 Proctor Silex Professional Style Deep Fryer, Stainless Steel

Here’s another one for the amateur and beginner chef who is very cost cautious. Like we established above, you do not have to spend way too much money just to find a decent deep fryer. With the 35041 Proctor Silex Professional pro Style Deep Fryer, you can now say goodbye to expensive, hotel treats and hello to homemade goodies. The 1.5-liter capacity pot is standard for a unit of this size and is perfect for single portions of a small serving for the entire family.

  • Product
  • Photos

Proctor Silex 35041 Proctor Silex Professional Style Deep Fryer, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Deep Fryers are generously sized for greater versatility -- some even accommodating a whole chicken. What's more, you can fry crispy, mouth-watering foods without the mess you've come ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is the pint sized version of Hamilton Beach 35200 Oil Deep Fryer, 8-Cup and Hamilton Beach 35033 Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Oil Capacity Deep Fryer, Silver. They all look similar because Hamilton Beach merged with Proctor Silex in 1990. We enjoy using the 12 cup model, but now that it’s just the two of us, I prefer this smaller size. It has the same great features of the larger models. I’ve included pictures comparing this fryer’s six cup basket to that of the 12 cup model. For anyone needing just one or two servings, it’s ideal. We usually make steak fries; it can fry about 15-20 at one time--perfect portion control for two people. A standard 40 oz. bottle of oil is just the right size to meet this fryer's capacity.Fried foods turn out great—evenly crisp and brown. The basket is wonderful—easy food removal and it hooks over the oil pot for further draining when frying is done. A convenient light clicks on when the oil has reached preset temps.We have had no problems with either fryer, and I’ve owned the larger one since 2012. These are moderately priced and do their jobs well. All come with a one year warranty.
October 23, 2015
Good things come in small packages, has never been more true than with this lil' fryer. The Proctor Silex 35041 is wonderful for one or two people. The space needed on your counter-top is comparable to a large skillet. It's black and stainless, which goes with all kitchen motifs. It is a breeze to assemble/disassemble - heating unit, oil reservoir, basket, basket handle, and the outside stainless body come apart making it so easy to clean. One of my biggest complaints about other fryers was never being able to get to all the parts to thoroughly clean all the grease. There were many times, with other fryers, I would've enjoyed having fries, but it just was not worth the trouble. This fryer is no trouble at all - heats up, cleans up and cooks quickly!So far we've had chicken tenders, chicken nuggets, battered fish, hush puppies and four different styles of fries - all have been quick, easy, and tasty. Here's a few things we do: always drop basket into heated oil (helps limit sticking), when using frozen food, put it out on paper towels (get excess water off), with real potato fries rinse and pat dryThis deep fryer is great for after school snacks, dinner for one or two, and testing new recipes. The small footprint and attractive design means it has a permanent spot on the counter-top. And lastly, at under 30$, you definitely get your money's worth! If you are shopping for a deep fryer, I highly recommend this one.
October 25, 2015
First of all let me say most of these things are not perfect. You can get enclosed deep fryers with filters for the oil, but they can be a mess to clean and maintain. You can get smaller ones that have limited control and are prone to splatter, cut at least they are not hard to break down and keep clean when done. I have an almost exact match to this, it's another brand and a bit larger, but the design is similar enough to say the same people may have made it.What it comes down to is this. I occasionally like to make french fries, or chicken tenders, or fried chicken and I like to not have to work that hard to clean up after. The size of this is good, more than enough to feed a family with multiple cooks, not so large as to use a gallon of expensive oil. While we talk about oil, remember to use peanut oil with this. It has a high smoke point, so it's less likely to cause a fire. Unfortunately there is a downside to this unit, that is temperature. On full I was only able to get the oil up to 341 degrees F. Ideally you need 375 degrees to deep fry.How to deep fry french fries: It might be nice to know one of the best ways to use this and that is french fries. You cut a couple large potatoes, russets preferred, into half inch slices then slice them the other way to make half inch fries. Soak them for about 20 minutes in water with some salt and pancake syrup, about a teaspoon of each. Lay them out on a kitchen towel, or paper towel and let them dry. Now, with the oil being heated to about 300 degrees, drop the fires into the oil for five minutes. Bring them up and drain the oil and dry with a paper towel, after drying you can chill them a little in the fridge or even freeze for later.Read more ›
October 24, 2015

PROS:
  • Compact, space saving design
  • Easy to assemble
  • Convenient draining of used oil

CONS:
  • You could get a little splatter here and there if the fry was a tad violent

Why Do I Need a Deep Fryer?

As much as everyone loves munching on freshly cut salads and greens, it is impossible to deny the crispy, crunchy goodness that is a well, deep-fried drumstick. Sure, the long-lived citizens of Crete who could share a thing or two about healthy living might not have drunk a glass of olive oil per day, but they happily consumed about three times as much oil as we do today. If you ask me, that is probably much more desirable than our currently misguided notions of less fat equals healthier lifestyle.

Now that we’ve established that fried foods are your friend, there is the minor issue normally associated with deep frying. Since this method involves submerging your food in deep oils and fats at very high temperatures, frying is thought of as a messy and risky way of doing things. Not only can things get sizzling hot in the kitchen, but sweltering, blistering droplets of oil can feel devastating if they come into contact with your skin. However, all these can be easily mitigated by some surprisingly simple methods such as a well-made deep fryer that is broad, deep and cleverly designed (i.e. all our top 10 most popular deep fryers).

So, why would anyone want to subject their foot to such a hot, sizzling and hazardous fate? Why does anyone need a deep fryer in the first place? Well, by using a reliable deep fryer, you get so many benefits it’s almost a crime not to deep fry everything in the fridge. Deep fryers help to seal in the taste of your food to maintain the flavor, tenderness, and moisture. Here are some other reasons why your kitchen deserves a deep fryer.

  • Faster Cooking Speed

There is no other method on the planet that does shorter work of food than using a deep fryer. Let’s take a trip back to your chemistry class. If you can remember the basic laws of thermodynamics, then you know that heat transfer occurs much quicker from liquid to solid as opposed to air to solid transfer. This means that hot oil automatically beats any type of dry fry, roasting, and normal cooking.

Want to test this theory out? Let’s take a typical, 32-pound thanksgiving turkey (make that two) and cook them using different methods. One turkey gets the all inclusive, thanksgiving package including your old, trusted oven roast. For the other turkey, we’ll dip this in a sizzling tub of oil using our champion deep fryer up there. Now, here’s where the oven people get left behind because they still have like 8 hours before the turkey is anywhere near done. As for the deep fryers, let’s check out our bird!In just less than an hour, the deep fryer has churned out a beautifully done masterpiece that is perfect in every way. Almost hurts to eat it but c’mon, forks and skewers out, it’s time to feed.

  • Enhanced Flavors

Is there any question about it? I mean, are we seriously doubting the difference in tastes between a deep-fried drumstick and one that’s been simply boiled? Well, the jury’s out guys, and the taste bud police have officially declared that food cooked in the champion deep fryer always, I repeat, always tastes better that what you have on the stove and oven. However, this does not just happen by chance! The real reason why everyone goes loco for some fry is that the surrounding oils and fats do a marvelous job of tightly sealing in every hint of flavor in your deep fryer.

You hear that, oven people! Your turkey still has 7 hours to go and it is losing precious flavors by the minute. By the time it’s done, it might still taste relatively great, but I bet it’s nowhere near the deep fried turkey we just demolished right here. In fact, the oils and fats in a deep fryer actually introduce their own delicious flavors in the frying process. Making the entire ensemble simply irresistible to savvy and educated meat lovers.

  • Retained Tenderness

This could very well be one of the most important reasons to get out there and buy one of our deep fryers today. As opposed to oven roasts, barbecue, and other cooking methods, deep frying is the only technique that actually lets your food keep all its water locked inside. No matter what you pop in the deep fryer, it will always come out tender and rich in moisture, Oven cooked foods have this annoying tendency of drying out since the heating method also butchers every single drop of water in the oven.

Ever left your turkey in the oven for a few minutes longer than you were supposed to? I know, (terribly sorry about that), you probably had to deal with a burnt, tough bird that was so dry and coarse it was almost punitive to have to finish it all. However, ask anyone with a great deep fryer what happens when you forget to take out your food from the hot oil in time. The food might get a little crispy on the outside, but the innards will still be so soft and tender because the moisture had nowhere to go.

  • Great for Quick Appetizers and Desserts

If you’re a master chef, a novice baker or just the average food lover, then you undoubtedly know a thing or two about sumptuous appetizers and desserts. If there is one thing your deep fryer can do for you, then it’s introducing you to the creative and exciting world of the appetizers and desserts.

If you frequently eat out at restaurants and hotels, you know what I am on about damn it. They give you their delectable appetizers that are so delicious you could almost order them as the main course. In fact, research shows that even health nuts prefer a little deep fried appetizer to whet their tongues before they dive into the so-called much healthier alternatives. I became friends with a chef for one reason only; get some recipes to these incredible desserts and appetizers. In retrospect, I could definitely have used google, but where’s the fun in that? No matter what you pop in the deep fryer, it will always come out tender and rich in moisture. The good news is that with your very own deep fryer sitting in your kitchen, you will have immediate access to an endless and ever-expanding menu of the most delicious desserts and appetizers on the planet. The even better news is that since you are in full control of your kitchen, you can include exactly what ingredients your heart desires.

  • Vegetarians Can Get In On It Too

That’s right, who said deep frying is for avid meat lovers only? Today, vegetarians have an incredible lot to be thankful for. As a vegetarian, it’s tough enough staying away from meat without having to be taunted by all these roasted, baked and fried mouthwatering meats that are ever in your face. Well, I say nay to that. Vegetarians do not have to suffer anymore by eating bland and nasty vegetables all in the name of health. Also, if you didn’t realize it, plants are not really the best source for a full serving of essential fats and oils. So, where do you get these oils without having to dabble in a tasting of meats now and then?

I’ll be the first to say it. While not entirely unfounded, vegetarians tend to view all deep fried foods as unhealthy and basically bad for your health. However, in all my years of fiddling around with food, I have come to realize that it’s not entirely black and white; there are actually several shades of gray here. Don’t believe me? It’s a good thing that we have science to fall back to. Recent studies actually show that it is very beneficial to pop some veggies in your deep fryer, so long as you use extra virgin oil. That’s right, no more half baked potatoes and turnips from now on. Just grab a couple gallons of virgin olive oil and begin the deep fryer vegetarian revolution today. Once your deep fryer is all up and running, just look around and throw whatever you can find in there. Whether is potatoes, pumpkins, parsley, eggplants, radishes; the possibilities are endless. Hey, even I’m not a vegetarian, but the thought of some deep fried sweet potatoes really gets me hungry. Another benefit of using your deep fryer on vegetables is that in addition to ingesting much-needed oils, you also absorb antioxidants present in olive oil.

Competition

As always, picking a winner in our top 10 list of most popular deep fryers is an arduous task. On one hand, you have products that really offered superior features and performance; on the other, some offered customer friendly prices. For example, the Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer really stood out. Like most people, you must be tired of parting with your precious money at 3-star hotels that barely hit the palate right. With a decent deep fryer in your arsenal, you get to save your money and still have full control of every single dish that makes its way to your plate. Did you know that some deep fryers actually cost less that a top line dish in some hotels! Make sure you get the Aroma Smart Fry XL ADF-232 4-Quart Digital Deep Fryer and skip out on the restaurant.

However, we can only have one winner; and that is the T-Fal FR8000 Oil Filtration Ultimate EZ Clean 3.5-Liter Fry Basket Stainless Steel Immersion Deep Fryer. If you consider yourself a serious foodie, nay, a dedicated lover of all things fried to perfection, then listen closely, because the FR8000 might just be what your home is missing. This mother of all deep fryers empowers even amateur cooks with the ability to male restaurant quality fried foods right in their very own kitchen. Of course, without all the hassle, bustle and paying someone to do what you could do 10 times better. This massive, 2.65 pound, 3.5-liter capacity, immersive deep fryer offers the ideal size and bulk for larger family size dinners or food parties.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password