Top 10 Best Donut Maker Reviews — Most Popular Models

For millions of food lovers all over the planet, doughnuts are the absolute manifestation of the ideal treat. Sure, there are cakes, bread, pies and all sorts of baked goodies, but there’s just something about the good old-fashioned doughnut that your palate can’t seem to shake. Today, there are hundreds of different ways on how to bake a donut, but none really hits the spot like a treat from a donut maker. Their appliances are not only cheaper in the long run, but they help you take a healthier alternative to deep fried treats and make hot, fresh and sizzling donuts that will just melt in your mouth. Here is a review of the top 10 most popular donut makers in the market and why you need to buy your very own donut maker today.

Babycakes Multi-Treat Baker

Babycakes Multi-Treat Baker

 

 

Ever dreamed of making donuts so perfect that it would be a shame to eat them? That is specifically what you get with the Babycakes Donut Maker that works like a charm to deliver a sumptuous array of treats. You can go ahead and start off with some donuts for breakfast, make some cupcakes for a neat treat and finish off with some cake pops for dessert. This particular donut maker is highly versatile since you can use either regular old cake mix or follow the included recipe, start from scratch and bake your way to yummy goodness in a matter of 5 minutes.

  • Product

Babycakes Multi-Treat Baker

Baby Cakes - Multi-Treat Baker Convenient cord wrap Non-skid rubber feet 3 Interchangeable nonstick baking plates Recipe booklet with hints and suggestions Make 7 cupcakes 7 donuts or 12 cake pops ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought one of these to make treats for my grandsons, aged 4 and 5. We used it for the first time today, and it worked ike a charm. We started with the mini cupcakes. I mixed and baked, and they decorated. The cupcakes baked perfectly in 5 minutes, and they were delicious!!! The boys were delighted.I would recommend this over Easy Bake ovens hands down. It's cheaper, it's much more versatile, and you can use regular cake mix or make your treats from scratch using the recipes included in the instruction manual.This little appliance is so handy and versatile that I'm sure it will be used often. My daughter is already planning on making donuts for breakfast, cupcakes for lunchboxes and cake pops for parties. I think it would be great to keep batter in a squeeze bottle in the refrigerator for quick treats.I give this my highest recommendation
January 1, 2015
I originally wanted to purchase a simple, smaller cake pop maker for my kids for Christmas this past December. After looking at them online I found this one. One of my chief complaints from the one we had borrowed from a friend was that it was such a pain to clean!I LOVE that the plates just pop out with the release button. They are non-stick so a quick rinse in hot water with a little soap makes them quick and easy to clean up. My 8-year old can actually clean it up without a problem so we don't mind when the kids want to make a treat. I also love that they don't have to use the oven. This is a very controllable heat source for them to learn to use.It comes with a little recipe booklet too. I keep wanting to make my own mixes but haven't done it yet. We buy the $1 muffin or brownie mixes and they work out perfect.My personal favorite is making brownies-mmmm makes a nice crispy crust on all of them. no more fighting for the edge of the brown pan!I use this almost daily for my daycare. I can get away with making home made bran muffins because anything shaped like a doughnut HAS to be good right? that's what the little kids think so they gobble them right up.
January 22, 2015
This was a Christmas gift for my niece. It was very well made and I think we might have to purchase a few more. Most of these treat makers are specific to one size or style of treat. This one makes three different types. We were especially impressed with the heaviness of the cast inserts. Very impressive.
January 20, 2015

PROS:
  • Has indication lights for power and ready baked
  • Donut makes has nifty latching handle and non-skid rubber feet
  • Includes recipes for baking tons of treats

CONS:
  • Latches are a bit too clingy, but that is okay since we wouldn’t want your donut maker to snap open all of a sudden

back to menu ↑

Chef Buddy Hot Donut Maker, Mini

Chef Buddy Hot Donut Maker, Mini

I’ll be the first to admit; nobody likes those stale, stiff and flavorless week-old coffee shop donuts. They taste like baked sand and are really not even hot. With your very own donut makes, you do not have to put up with any of this anymore. Get yourself the Chef Buddy Mini Hot Donut Maker today and make sizzling, fresh and very nicely glazed treats right in the warmth of your kitchen.

  • Product
  • Photos

Chef Buddy Hot Donut Maker, Mini

Make fresh, delicious donuts right at home with the mini donut maker from chef buddy. This mini donut maker is fun for the whole family. Make anything from the classic glazed or frosted donuts, or ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Just used it for the first time and there is no mess to clean up at all. Each batch was done in 3 minutes so I was making banana bread donuts as fast as my 3 boys could eat them. The indicator light came on once it was preheated and I used my own timer to time each batch, even though the ready light came on about the time they were finished. Bought a soft lavender color to match the grays and cool whites in our kitchen, color is pretty close to the advertised color. Boys also want to make pancakes for breakfast, I'm sure we'll be baking more than just donuts!! One small batch made about 5 dozen, and eating these little guys is not only fun, but will take us a lot longer than if I baked a loaf of banana bread. So great help with portion control. Baking these for gifts will definitely be fun and original.Well worth my money so far!
April 28, 2015
I love this thing; fresh, warm baby donuts whenever you get the inkling. Plug in the Unit to pre-heat the plates, which takes about 4". The Green Power Light, only on the top of the Unit, will light.Mix up a recipe from the *Mini Donuts: 100 Bite-Sized Donut Recipes to Sweeten Your "Hole" Day (this Unit does not include recipes). Place the batter in the **Tuvolo Cupcake Pen or use a Silicone Pastry Bag or a Gallon Ziploc Bag (that you 'will' cut a hole in the bottom corner of, just not yet). The hot metal plates are slightly exposed on the sides of the Unit. The Top and Bottom of the Unit get 'Very Warm'. (If a young child is using this, I would suggest requiring them to use Two Lumps of Sugar Been Around The Block Oven Mitt and Potholder Set for safety.)Once the Unit is hot, (the Red Light, one each side, will light notifying you when it's pre-heated...the Red Light does NOT tell you the donuts are done cooking); carefully lift the HOT top (Manufacturer could have used more insulation between the heating units and the Unit's body).Read more ›
April 9, 2015
This is a great little donut maker. We have to be gluten-free (celiac disease) so we mostly make all our own treats. This cooks donuts up in 3 minutes, and is easy enough that my 11-year-old is able to use it by himself.
April 1, 2015

PROS:
  • Donut maker cooks up to 7 donuts
  • Cool touch handle for safe operation
  • 30 inches of cord for portability

CONS:
  • Donut maker does not have removable plates, but if it did, it might be more expensive

back to menu ↑

Nostalgia JFD100 Cake Pop and Donut Hole Bakery

Nostalgia JFD100 Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery with 25 Bamboo Sticks

When it comes to baking, some people either go big or go home. With the Nostalgia JFD100 donut maker, you get to go as big as you want right at the comfort of your home. This behemoth bakes a bedazzling 7 huge cake pops, donut holes and an ever increasing array of pastries, each more delectable than the last. The manufacturer really touched base here since customers get an injector with the donut maker to fill the donuts with a variety of jellies, chocolate, and cream.

  • Product
  • Photos

Nostalgia JFD100 Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery with 25 Bamboo Sticks

The Nostalgia Electrics JFD100 Cake Pop

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was hesitant to order this because I saw a recent review saying that the bottom of the device created muffin-like donut holes, but I decided to try it anyway. That reviewer must have a defective unit, because this creates ROUND donut holes as the top and bottom plates of the unit have round holes. I made cakepops using this and the top and bottom plates were shaped correctly and the result was cake balls the size of a regular donut hole (maybe 1.5" wide?). I used strawberry cake mix in a box (with no frosting added) and baked them for about 5-6 minutes in this unit, they came out light brown on the outside (but not crispy) and soft and moist on the inside. The cake balls fit onto a cakepop stick just fine, but I really recommend popsicle sticks because the cakepop is heavier than traditional sized cakepops and may be very top heavy. No complaints with how it performed, easy and simple.I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to make sure people were not put off by that other review because that person described the unit wrong. It will create cakepops like the Babycakes Cakepop Maker. This unit will make 7 large cakepops (instead of 12 small pops with Babycakes), they will be larger than traditional cakepops because it is obviously a donut hole maker. I did not make cakepops the traditional way with frosting in the batter, but the Babycakes Cakepop Maker works the same way as this unit and is made with regular cake mix as well. I added two pictures to the gallery to show the first cake balls and finished cakepops I made so you have an idea of what they look like.The only con is that it took me a batch to figure out how much batter to add to the wells. I found that pouring the batter to fill up the entire well worked best.Read more ›
May 16, 2011
A home delivery service sells a delicious breakfast product-sausage in the middle of blueberry muffin batter but round! Hmm! I bet my machine would do that better! My head began to dream of all the treats I could create with this new idea..bacon,cheese,veggies, in the middle of???? etc.And fruit bites would give a bite of dessert without a pan sitting around. I bought this maker because of a family tradition--Danish Ebelskiver (a round pancake that takes a specialty pan) with a filling of some applesauce. I have a smooth top stove so the original pan slid around and I never became good enough to enjoy making them often; my family loved them though.I discovered this baker at a local store yesterday and bought it, hoping to enjoy fresh donut holes and ebelskivers, fritters and beignet type of morning treats. The book mentions bite size brownies so that expands the machine's usage. I can think of many other uses.This morning, as a shortcut, I tried a small blueberry muffin and enjoyed these. The mix did well but lacks enough baking powder to rise to the top of the doughnut cavity, making them not brown correctly (a small thing since they are thoroughly baked). By using the spoon methodas suggested in the manual to turn them though, I had a dozen bite size muffins for breakfast--fast and easy with no cleanup! No smoke or grease!Considering a dozen donut holes would at least $2-$3 at a store, I was extremely happy with the results and I get to choose flavors not sold! This is a great item for making snacks or additions to lunch boxes.You could fill them directly with the filling since the batter rises of the center like lava brownies or a caramel filling. Or use the included syringe type filler to shoot a filling in later.Read more ›
October 23, 2010
This is a video of making my first batch of donut hole/cake pops using the Nostalgia Electrics JFD-100 Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery. I prepared a 1/2 box of Sof' Ella Pound Cake Mix, 17-Ounce (Pack of 6) and used the OXO Good Grips Medium Cookie Scoop to fill the wells.The first batch turns out near picture perfect; this batter is pretty dense so I think a lighter/regular cake mix would have yielded a more perfectly symmetrical round shape but these are pretty close as you can see. This being a thicker batter I am guessing this is what I can expect using other thick batters like for muffins, zucchini bread, etc.I used a couple of very helpful hints from other reviews:* I flipped the unit over using pot holders at about the 3-4 minute mark. IMPORTANT: the unit LOCKS closed if you apply a little pressure to the lid and this way you won't spill the contents or create a seam on the cakes. I practiced engaging and releasing the latch a couple of times before plugging it in so I'd have the hang of it without it being hot. To release the lid you have to pinch where the black latch meets the top lid at the front of the unit; the top and bottom are pretty hot at this point so I used a fairly thin pot holder to release the catch without burning myself.Read more ›
November 13, 2011

PROS:
  • Bakes 7 treats at one go
  • Non-stick coating for easy and simple cooking
  • Includes filling injector for creative treats

CONS:
  • The large cake pops might be a bit top heavy on the bamboo sticks, but stronger Popsicle sticks should work fine

back to menu ↑

4 in 1 ZZ S6142A Sandwich, Waffle Plus Burger and Donut Maker with Detachable Set of Non-Stick Plates

ZZ S6142A 4 in 1 Sandwich Waffle Burger and Donut Maker with 4 Sets of Detachable Non-stick Plates, Black

For the starting chef or lover of all things baked looking to buy the ultimate appliance, this right here is everything you will ever need. The 4 in 1 ZZ S6142A Donut Maker not only makes sumptuous donuts but also gives you’re an interesting array of items to play around with. It can be modified with the ability to make sandwiches, waffles, burgers and anything else you can think of.

  • Product
  • Photos

ZZ S6142A 4 in 1 Sandwich Waffle Burger and Donut Maker with...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; 4 Sets of Detachable Heating Plates, Cook delicious Waffle, Burger, Donut and Sandwich in the comfort at home; Removable Non-stick plate surface for ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Great idea cheaply executed. The second time I used it the light stopped working so you have to guess when the surfaces are hot, or when the food is done. It's very small, more for children's meals or cutesy luncheon use. There is no flat griddle so, if you want say a grilled cheese on rye you sandwich is going to be mushed into a mess. Not really worth the price.
March 26, 2016
This kitchen device from ZZ comes with four different cooking plates – sandwich, burger, donut and waffle. I see myself using the sandwich and waffle plates the most. The burger plate will make three burgers (slider size) each 2.25 inches in diameter and the donut plate will make 8 donuts each 1.5 inches in diameter. Both the sandwich maker and waffle maker will make two products per session. The sandwich plate will divide the sandwich into two pocket-like sandwiches. The plates are not very thick or heavy, but hopefully they will hold up over time. They each (except the sandwich ones) come in their own cardboard sleeve.The plates are easily removed by sliding two clips on each plate. The two plate will fold down as it is held in place by two notches in the bottom of the unit. This is a nice touch. I have had other products like this that when you disengage the top plate it will fall quickly. The surfaces are nonstick but I still use cooking spray to prevent any sticking. The first time you use the product the instructions suggest lightly greasing the baking surfaces. There is a strong smell also present during the first use. The instructions also recommend not eating the food you make the first time.The handle stays cool during cooking and the unit is held close with a locking clip. The red light on the top of the unit lets you know that it is powered one and the green one lets you know (supposedly) when your item is done, although I use my eyes to let me know when it is done.Overall this a decent unit. I would have liked to see a little cookbook offering some simple recipes especially for the donuts. It comes with a one year warranty.Product sample provided for review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
April 9, 2016
died on the third use can only assume that an overheat switch killed it.. no instructions. orange light on - green light ready. turned out to be a VERY EXPENSIVE WAFFEL. missed my 30 day return window by 12 days.
February 13, 2016

PROS:
  • One of the most versatile donut makers on the market
  • Includes detachable non-stick surface that is dishwasher safe
  • Donut maker incorporates power and preheating lights for the perfect temperature

CONS:
  • Be careful not to melt the plastic clips that hold the plates in place

back to menu ↑

Sunbeam FPSBMDM970 Multi Plate Dessert and Donut Maker

Sunbeam FPSBMDM970 Multi Plate Dessert Maker, Yellow

People, this is the 21st century and everyone is turning into much healthier alternatives. Deep fried foods are always unhealthy due to the excessive amounts of cooking oil used and extremely high temperatures involved. Today, millions of people are turning to donut makers and treat appliances that will ensure you get treats that not only taste great but also sit well with people with high cholesterol. Sunbeam FPSBMDM970 Multi Plate Dessert Maker is what you need.

  • Product
  • Photos

Sunbeam FPSBMDM970 Multi Plate Dessert Maker, Yellow

Bake up to six mini brownies or donuts at a time with this easy-to-use two-in-one dessert maker. The compact countertop appliance comes equipped with a handy on/off indicator light and two ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I received this as a gift from a friend this holiday season. I have made some great donuts so far. Steering clear of the recipes included in the instructional booklet, (a tip from users online), I found recipes by doing a search online. Recipes for donuts that include butter seem to be the best bet. It takes me about an hour from start to finish to prepare and create a whole batch of 10-12 donuts.Before putting the dough into the wells, I brush butter in them and it helps the donut brown nicely. Make sure not to overfill the wells, only fill halfway, or the mixture will bubble out the sides and create a donut with excess. I leave each batch in about 10 minutes to ensure the donuts are cooked through and the outsides are brown. If you don't add enough batter, your donuts will brown unevenly. If I'm making cinnamon sugar donuts, I dip the donuts into butter and swirl to get a coating, then dip them in a cinnamon sugar mixture to top them. These store very well in the fridge and freezer.I was skeptical about having to store donuts and losing flavor or texture in the process. To my surprise, popping these in the toaster oven make them spring back to life as if they were fresh out of the maker.I have enjoyed using this appliance so far and look forward to finding more recipes to try out to share with friends.*PS- (UPDATE 12/22) here are the ingredients for the Cinnamon Sugar donuts (my fave so far)Dry ingredients:1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour3/4 cup sugar2 teaspoons baking powder1/4 teaspoon salt1/4 teaspoon nutmegWet ingredients:1 large egg1/2 cup milk1/2 cup melted butter or 1/2 cup margarineCinnamon sugar mixture for tops (add more as necessary):1/2 teaspoon vanilla1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamonMix together, brush the wells with butter, then fill the wells up 1/2 way. Should produce 12 donuts.
December 18, 2011
LOVE this donut maker. It is very easy to use and works perfectly - donuts cook quickly and pop out easily, and the surface is easy to wipe off when cooking is done. I have also been experimenting with muffin mixes, etc. to make muffin 'donuts' for fun breakfasts - some mixes add a minute or so to the normal cook time, but that is still fast. My favorite recipe so far: one box butter recipe yellow cake mix with a teaspoon each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and mace (I leave out the oil so they are healthier - still delicious). Makes a really good traditional cake donut. So, so good...depending on what recipe or mix you use, the donuts have the potential to be a lot healthier than store-bought donuts as well since they aren't fried. The donuts are great the first day - fine the second day if you pop them in the microwave for a few seconds to warm them up.
December 14, 2010
After reading horror stories about other brands of donut makers scorching and baking unevenly, I decided on the Sunbeam model. I modified a couple of recipes to make low calorie cake donuts, and both are just wonderful. (They do not taste like waffles.) I have to say that I am perfectly satisfied with this donut maker, and it bakes very evenly with no scorching. Even when I ditzed-out and forgot about them for a couple of minutes while I was busy decorating the prior batch, they did not burn. So, this donut maker seems to be pretty forgiving. I don't have kids, but I think it would be a good choice for kids. The outside of it (yellow part) only gets warm, although the black cooking surfaces get real hot. My husband and I both think it is wonderful to have fresh, warm donuts with our morning coffee, and I gotta tell ya this is the most fun I have had with a new kitchen toy since my first Easy-bake oven! We make small batches only so that the donuts are always fresh. Yum!A handle for the lid would have been nice because lifting the latch is a little awkward, especially with an oven mit on. Here are a couple of small batch, low calorie recipes, using Splenda and limited fats. You can have a couple of donuts for a small meal or snack without blowing your diet. How fantastic is that!Read more ›
December 21, 2012

PROS:
  • Donut maker comes with interchangeable plates
  • Non-stick coating for quick cleaning
  • Indicator light for On and Off

CONS:
  • Careful not to fill the butter wells too much as this might cause a messy bake

back to menu ↑

Brentwood TS-250 Donut Maker

Brentwood TS-250 Donut Maker, Mini

Hands up if you always look forward to waking up in the morning and rushing to the donut store. Why would you waste a perfectly good morning on some stale, overnight treats when you could make a fresh batch right in your very own kitchen? And the great news is, you don’t need a tub of cooking oil and a master’s degree from the baking school. Just pop in some pre-mix and get ready to wow your taste buds with Brentwood TS-250 Donut Maker, Mini.

  • Product

Brentwood TS-250 Donut Maker, Mini

Skip the donut run and make your own at home! This 750-watt Mini Donut Maker from Brentwood(R) Appliances has a nonstick coating for healthier donuts--no deep-fat frying necessary! The TS-250 also ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I love this little machine because it's both Inexpensive and easy to use. Takes just minutes for the unit to heat up and makes perfect little donuts every time.I use a pastry bag or small ziploc bag with a small hole cut in the corner so that I can simply squeeze the batter into the ring and it saves on mess and time. Even gluten free recipes work well with this little guy.Tip: Don't overfill the rings (leave the middle portion visible and only fill to the lip of the bottom reservoir) as the batter should puff up on its own during cooking.
March 29, 2016
Love love love this! Makes donuts very fast so it's very convenient. I don't really pay attention to the red and green lights because with cake batter waiting for the light ended up with over cooked and very brown cake donuts. My only issue is when I spray the top half with cooking spray to prevent sticking. When the lid is open it drips down and creates an oily mess on the unit and all over the counter.
December 11, 2015
Too small, does not bake evenly. Does not produce realistically enough donuts, more like cakes. I've returned it. Would be a nice machine for 6 yrs old (under supervision) to play and get involved with cooking.
June 24, 2015

PROS:
  • Easy to clean non-stick surface
  • Housing and handle utilize cool touch technology
  • Cord wrap is convenient

CONS:
  • Heating plates might not exactly line up as expected

back to menu ↑

Ronco Donut Maker

Ronco Donut Maker

Now that you have your very own donut maker, it’s time to get cooking. However, kneading the dough might prove a bit tougher than most people think. The Ronco Donut Maker swiftly eliminates all rolling, cutting and even the forming of donuts by hand. It includes a hardy and durable plastic bowl that lasts longer and prepares dough flawlessly. Without even wasting a drop of batter, you will definitely be feeling like a pro in the kitchen.

  • Product

Ronco Donut Maker

Ronco Donut Maker Delectable donuts are just a dollop away ... with this convenient gadget. Eliminates rolling, cutting and forming donuts by hand. Featuring a durable plastic bowl for long-lasting ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Momma used to have an anodized aluminum cake donut dropper, made by West Bend, if I remember correctly. I was a little reluctant to buy something plastic to use around hot grease, but that turned out to be no real problem.The bug problem was the recipes that came with it. The batter was so thick, it didn't want to come out, and although I could coax it, I ended up with something shaped like a Funion - think of a donut that's all hollow and collapsed, and won't hold a round shape.When I mentioned this to my sister, she said Momma never used hers much because she wasn't happy with the results. They used to have a machine in the window of G. C. Murphy's downtown that worked this way, and it was *constantly* busy; people would come in to get a dozen donuts every time they went downtown, because the donuts were purely wonderful. I also keep getting these ads for "Lil Obits" equipment to build a carnival business around, so they must be succeeding as well. If the G C Murphy machine can make great donuts this way, surely I can as well. It's just sa matter of getting the recipe right.Currently, my recipe is 2 cups flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 3 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 2 ounces lard, a scant cup water,1 egg, and 1 teaspoon vanilla If you get your lard in a box, cut it into stickks like butter, and 2 ounces is 1/2 stick. Or if you're not health-conscious, a quarter cup of vegetable oil will work. The sugar in the recipe means your doughnuts turn very dark if overcooked, so don't let the french fryer get to hot. The recipe should be about the same thickness as cake batter, and you shouldn't go too far wrong simply using cake mix for your donuts.It takes some practice to learn how much batter to drop.Read more ›
January 18, 2015
I received this product brand spanking new in the box. Immediately me and my kids began to make donuts, this is the most easiest way to make homemade donuts ! and easy cleaning. My kids love this and I can't stop making donuts especially for movie night, and a afternoon snack.
September 11, 2013
I like to make donuts but making yeast donuts is a lot of work. I always thought batter donuts wouldn't taste as good until I tried apple cider donuts and they are now my favorite type of donut. If you want to make a whole bunch of donuts faster than what it would take to make yeast style, this is a good device. If you plan on making thousands of donuts, this is not the device. There was some learning on the get go to keep from making a mess all the time. If you use a spout to pour in the batter to the hopper with, no mess (don't use a spoon or ladle -- big mess). If you make donuts all the time, maybe get a more reliable product. But for the occasional donut maker (like myself), this is a great product.
September 9, 2013

PROS:
  • Swiftly lays waste to rolling and cutting
  • Durable and resistant bowl
  • Also, makes pancakes as well

CONS:
  • The batter coats the device and only washing removes it, wasting a lot in the process

back to menu ↑

Bella Cucina 13466 Donut Maker

Bella Cucina 13466 Donut Maker

When it comes to baking great treats every time, consistency is the key here. If this is your game, then the Bella Cucina 13466 Donut Maker is the ideal product for you. With the ability to make an astounding 7 donuts, this particular donut maker is super easy to use and cleaning will be a breeze.

  • Product

Bella Cucina 13466 Donut Maker

Make delicious mini donuts at home, Healthier choice, no deep frying, Makes 7 mini donuts, Easy to use, Power and ready indicator light for easy cooking, Non-stick baking tray for easy clean up.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
We've tried a variety of recipes from the booklet that came the machine now, and we consistently get quite good donuts. I think the reviewers who gave this product such negative reviews weren't using the recipes it came with - those recipes were included for a reason!Most of our baking is gluten-free, and with simple GF flour substitutions in the basic recipes, I get soft, cakey donuts, which my son and his friends find quite satisfactory. I like that I can be done with the whole project - batter to bake to frost - in about 20 minutes. Much easier than making fried donuts in hot oil, which makes a mess out of the whole kitchen.My negative about this product would be the "glaze" recipes - they're wet, drippy and sticky, not what you want on finger food. Try either tossing the hot donuts in cinnamon sugar or making a simple chocolate frosting with melted semi-sweet chocolate, a dab of butter and 1 tsp. milk. That worked great.
January 27, 2011
I purchased this at Target after seeing a similar product at Thinkgeek. I followed the directions regarding cleaning and oiling, mixed up a batch of donut batter using their recipe, and started making donuts. My first batch was a little overcooked in the front and the ones in the back were a little undercooked. I figured out that this was because I took too long measuring out the batter, which gave the donuts I measured out first a longer cooking time. I threw the first cooked batch away anyway because the directions say that they may taste funny, and I filled the donut maker up again, quicker this time. The donuts came out perfect in under two minutes. They are moist, fluffy, and delicious. I covered them in powdered sugar and sent the wife off to work with tasty treats for her coworkers.If you can follow directions, this is a great product. You have to read carefully, or you will not fill the donut maker correctly and wind up with donuts that are overcooked on the bottom and raw on the top.
May 9, 2011
We have been wanting this maker for some time and let me tell you we are not disappointed! We have 2 kids 8 & 6 who love donuts and a mom (ME) who dislikes the fact that they are so bad for you. We just made our first batch and they came out perfect though I did add a splash more vanilla and a spoon full of sour cream to the Basic Donut Recipe. No I know what my kids are eating and what is in them! The reason the tops are coming out white on some peoples is because the did not fill them enough. If the batter dose not rise to the top it can not brown. There are instructional videos on YouTube that let you know exactly what you need to do. We love it and cant wait to make more 🙂
April 21, 2011

PROS:
  • Healthier alternative to deep frying
  • Makes up to 7 donuts at a go
  • Non-stick baking tray for an easy clean

CONS:
  • Glazed recipes might be a bit too wet and drippy, but some people like it that way

back to menu ↑

Norpro 3168 Donut Maker

Norpro 3168 Donut Maker

 

When it comes to the ultimate breakfast, nothing beats a versatile and multi-talented appliance for the whole family. The Norpro Donut Maker answers your sweet tooth prayers in the form of delicious and old-fashioned doughnuts, pancakes and even waffles. You also get some recipes and instructions for smooth operation.

  • Product

Norpro 3168 Donut Maker

Dispenses batter quickly and evenly! Perfect for making delicious old-fashioned doughnuts. Also, great for pancakes and waffles. Item measures, 7-inch/18cm tall by 4-3/4-inch/12cm diameter. Capacity, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
If you use a thin batter, this donut maker will work well for you. If your typical batter is thick, such as a coconut flour batter often is, this won't work at all. This is a light weight batter dispenser, seems to be well-made for the price. It simply didn't work for the purpose I wanted it for.
October 17, 2011
Cute little donut dropper. Doesn't work the best but is fun to use. Next time I'll try thinner batter than what I did. I made funny looking freaks. I didn't make 1 single normal looking donut. Fun to use with kids but don't plan to make professional looking donuts.
March 11, 2009
I guess I can't say it works great for donuts (never tried), but it's perfect as a pancake dispenser! Have been using this one for 10+ years, still looks & works great. Also like it when pouring cupcake batter, keeps the edges neat & clean...I give it short shots of batter for more volume control. It holds about 2-1/4 cups of batter at a time.
September 11, 2011

PROS:
  • Durable and resilient mixing bowl
  • Donut maker is also great for pancakes and waffles
  • Includes instructions and recipes

CONS:
  • Does not work well with overly thick batter

back to menu ↑

Nostalgia MDF200 Automatic Mini Donut Factory

Nostalgia MDF200 Automatic Mini Donut Factory

Ever craved a delicious donut but couldn’t muster the effort to get to the store? Or maybe you have guests and family coming over and want to save money on your baking. If you love your treats yummy and plentiful, then the Nostalgia Automatic Donut Maker is exactly what you need. This bad boy brings the entire factory right in your kitchen by producing a staggering amount of mini donuts, literally by the minute. Just fill the unit with batter and sit back, relax, and watch the magic happen.

  • Product
  • Photos

Nostalgia MDF200 Automatic Mini Donut Factory

The Nostalgia MDF200 Automatic Mini Donut Factory brings the donut shoppe into the kitchen! Make hot, fresh, delicious mini donuts in the comfort of your home. Just fill the hopper with donut batter ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Got this for Christmas. We have seen very similar ones of these working at fairs & some cafes. It takes a while to learn how to make the batter the right consistency to make good donut shapes, and some will scrunch a bit in the drop process if not properly mixed where there isn't really much of hole to where some may think it is just making blobs, but once you get past this learning curve, you can make very good donuts with this machine. The key is getting the right batter consistency (somewhat thicker than pancake batter) and helping the flipping process on some of the donuts. You do have to watch the donuts as they travel through the cooking process and flip some of them with an appropriate hot oil spatula to make sure they cook evenly on both sides. It is not a machine that you can just put the batter in and have donuts come out the other end like the description makes one believe. It does take a great deal of supervision and your own input into the process, for sure! Like I said, a learning curve that some may not be willing to put up with, but not really that bad for fresh mini bakery style donuts you can make at home. This machine is NOT a kid item due to the fact you really need to watch the process and somewhat multi-task to get the donuts to come through properly and working with the hot oil, and it takes longer than described as well to get the donuts to come out. Ours has worked fine as far as the conveyer pulling the donuts out, so far. Since we've only had it since Christmas, we haven't used it that much so an update will probably be coming later to this review if the conditions change, but for what it is, it is a fun weekend morning activity to make some fresh breakfast donuts and the aroma of such will definitely wake up the house.Read more ›
January 3, 2012
There are a few things you need to know before buying this product. It is certainly not perfect. As for all of the reviews stating that they would rather kill themselves than use this machine are false. There are directions for a reason. My girlfriend, my brother, and myself spent our time reading everything through several times keeping everything consistent such as the oil level. Some things do not work that well, the donut flipper does only flip them about half the time, but that is mainly because the oil level isn't filled up to the correct line or because the donut is too small or too big.There are several factors that can make these donuts fantastic or just plain disgusting and misshapen. If one thing goes wrong most likely the donuts will not be good. We found that the batter is the main cause for issues. The recipe makes relatively tasty batter, but ours came out with a very thick, almost pizza dough consistency. After reading the directions and TESTING the dispenser this was clearly way too thick. We added water, but I am sure there are other things to add that would make the dough taste the same, but still thinning it out.Another issue that I have seen is people complaining about the cooking of the doughnuts. If your batter is too thin the doughnuts will bigger as the dispenser lets out more dough. This causes them to not be cooked as much. If your batter is too thick then the doughnuts will be smaller causing them to be overcooked. These two key elements in the prepping and cooking process can easily ruin the doughnuts. That is why we stood by the machine the whole time and monitored the doughnuts as they were being cooked.I could go on for a while about how the doughnuts can go horribly wrong. As for the machine build quality itself. . .Read more ›
July 16, 2013
I was well aware that I wasn't purchasing a mini-donut machine that would compete with the $3000 machines at the fairs, what I was looking for was a functional toy of sorts that could make some edible treats and I could entertain the grand kids, and with that I was satisfied. I found the key to making the machine function properly was the proper batter consistency. If the batter is mixed too thin, the machine makes blobs (mini-funnel cakes)and if the batter is too thick, the machine won't drop a ring of dough consistently. After figuring out the right consistency, we were off and running, the trick I found was to add the milk last in small amounts until you can manually drop a ring by holding the dough dispenser in your hand over the mixing bowl and once you are satisfied, install the dispenser into the machine. All this sounds like a lot of work but it was entertaining for the kids and they enjoyed the treats and excitement of helping make the donuts. Basically I knew what I was purchasing and it was what I had expected for the money. The only draw back I could find was it was too slow, and the kids got excited waiting for the next donut to drop. When I made some donuts for adults one time I would manually press the dispenser to dispense dough so I had a string of donuts flowing through the machine continuously but I used a wood chopstick to flip the donuts because the machine has only two trays that cycle though the oil for cooking. Some suggestions: (1) Proper dough consistency,consistency,consistency (2)use a wood chopstick to correct mis-placed donuts and to flip ones that didn't flip over(3)place paper toweling in the catch tray to absorb excess oil from the donuts (4) Mix a half batch of dough each time, unless you are feeding a army and have all day to spend. Bottom line I was satisfied and got what I expected for the money and it was worth the fun factor.Lou
September 23, 2013

PROS:
  • Donut maker bakes perfect orbital donuts
  • Dispenses ready donut every 90 seconds
  • Easy view window to watch donuts baking

CONS:
  • If not careful, your donuts might come out misshapen

Do I Need a Donut Maker?

If you have to ask this question, then you might not be the baking connoisseur that we thought you are. However, it is always a joy yapping about how great a donut maker is and how it can change your life in the kitchen.

A reliable donut maker can be a very fun and handy inclusion to your collection of vibrant, compact kitchen appliances. Not only do you save some hard-earned bucks that would otherwise go to the coffee shop or donut store, a donut maker allows you to experiment with all sorts of things and be adventurous in the kitchen. Thanks to healthier recipes, you also change your lifestyle for the better by avoiding high cholesterol, deep fried treats. It is super important to watch that waistline these days, and a donut maker is a positive step in the right direction. Let’s take a closer look at why you need your very own donut maker today.

  • More Control Over Ingredients

As opposed to buying stale, store donuts that you have no idea when they were made or what the hell is in them, your very own doughnut maker lets you have full control of the ingredients as well as the baking process. While the ingredient list for a bunch of donuts is not exactly long, it is just as important to watch every element that you put in your body. Some people have allergies while some others just simply don’t like eating certain ingredients. With a donut machine, you get to eat exactly what you want and leave out what you don’t.

  • A Thorough Mixing

Kneading dough and batter by hand is quickly getting outdated as the baking process gets more automated. Today, the leading donut makers mix up the dough and even go as far as cutting and shaping the batter for your utmost convenience. When using the yeasted dough, only the best kneading and mixing will do to get the best donuts you could possibly bake. To ensure total mixing and the desired tenderness in your treats, always go for a great donut maker.

  • Saves You Money

Take out your calculator and run the numbers for this one. Store bought donuts are very expensive and not really worth what they’re selling for, especially when you include factors like low freshness and bad baking practices. In fact, buying 5 donuts is the equivalent of purchasing a pound of flour, which is enough to make a large batch of yummy treats for the whole family for the entire week. Instead of wasting a lot of money rushing to the nearest coffee shop for yesterday’s unsold donuts, get your very own donut maker and save a whole lot of dollars in the long run.

  • A Healthy Alternative

In addition to knowing exactly what ingredients are in your pastries, your very own donut maker presents a much healthier and safer alternative to conventional goodies. Your typical store bought donut goes through a large tub of cooking oil that could be recycled for unhealthy periods of time. Buying a donut maker empowers you to live a healthier lifestyle by avoiding deep fried foods that are full of calories and cholesterol. This is great for your heart and your waistline too. Baking with a donut maker also makes much less of a mess since everything is enclosed and cleaning the non-stick surfaces is a breeze. You do not get any of the messy splashing and spilling of oil.

Competition

Today’s list of most popular donut makers really brought their A game and made competition levels skyrocket. It was really tough to pick a winner, especially with products like the Babycakes Multi-Treat Baker that fulfills dreams of making donuts so perfect that it would be a shame to eat them. That is precisely what you get with the Babycakes donut maker that works like a charm to deliver a sumptuous array of treats. You can go ahead and start off with some donuts for breakfast, make some cupcakes for a neat treat and finish off the day with some cake pops for dessert. This particular donut maker is highly versatile since you can use either regular old cake mix or follow the included recipe, start from scratch and bake your way to yummy goodness in a matter of 5 minutes.

However, there can only be one winner here, and that is the Nostalgia MDF200 Automatic Mini Donut Factory. Ever craved a delicious donut but couldn’t muster the effort to get to the store? Or maybe you have guests and family coming over and want to save some cash on your baking. If you love your treats yummy and plentiful, then the Nostalgia Automatic donut maker is exactly what you need. This bad boy brings the entire factory right in your kitchen by producing a staggering amount of mini donuts, literally by the minute. Just fill the unit with batter and sit back, relax, and watch the magic happen.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password