Top 10 Best Drafting Table Reviews — A Guide to Finding the Perfect One

We set off to find the ten best drafting tables as sold by Amazon. If your work requires you to create artistic designs, one of these drafting tables will most likely come in handy. They are suitable for architects, drafters, interior designers, graphic artists and a myriad of other complex activities. You will notice that we included models in different designs to ensemble the décor of your room and match up your preferred price range. Read on to locate the best drafting table for you.

Eclipse Craft Center in Black

Studio Designs 13364 Eclipse Center, Black with White

 

This beautiful 3-piece drafting table by Studio Designs is the definition of affordability, convenience, and comfort. Studio Designs 13364 Eclipse Center, Black with Whitefeatures a table top that can be adjusted up to 40 degrees to create a comfortable workspace and keep all your supplies within reach. It has a 24-inch pencil ledge that easily slides up and then locks into place as needed. Additionally, the set has a set of three conveniently placed drawers for storage purposes when the table top is full of activity. It is also worth noting that it comes with a padded stool that’s just the right height for the table. With regards to construction, the drafting table has six-floor levelers made of durable heavy steel.

  • Product

STUDIO DESIGNS Eclipse Craft Center in Black / Black 13365

This 3-piece center by Studio Designs provides a comfortable work space and keeps your supplies easily accessible. The table top is adjustable up to 40 degrees and includes a 24

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The final product has been fine. The finish is good and all of the hinges and mechanical devices work without issue. My problem with the desk was when we started assembly. Holes were not drilled in 4 different spots that were supposed to have holes. One set was drilled on the wrong side which somewhat compromised the stability, but has not proven to be a problem yet. I made absolute sure I was following the directions when I discovered the problems. There was no doubt, they had just not drilled the holes. I got out my drill, put the holes where they belonged and the table went together as it was supposed to.I am a contractor and have built furniture as a hobby for several years, so I am not a novice at assembly or construction. Someone who is reluctant to drill into a brand new piece of furniture needs to be aware that it may be required for this set.
April 4, 2014
Hello!So, I got this today and after about 2 hours or so of work, it is together. Now, it would have gone faster, but we made some mistakes and they had some stuff backwards on the design sheet. Haha.So, overall, I had only a few problems. One was slightly bent metal, but I could easily bend it back as it was just the corner of a lip or something slightly out of place. I had one spot that they had forgotten to make screw holes for, but they were easy to do on my own as it went into the wood.The only BIG issue I had was that the main top had a badly damaged corner. Amazon, of course, made it right and, though all I wanted was a replacement top, is now sending out a new desk for free to replace the broken one without me having to send back the one I have (Yey! I didn't want to undo that much work!).The desk is sturdy and the small corner piece holds my Laserjet printer (not a lightweight printer!). I really like the white-top to the black.The drawers ARE material. They will give out/sag if you put too much weight. Put your heavy stuff on the holder below the main desk.All I can say is this; Take it slow when assembling. Don't rush or you may get stuff backward The picture is flawed a bit on step one, so be cautious of that.Otherwise, just have fun and enjoy your new art/work desk!Edit: Got the replacement... It too was damaged in the corner, but nowhere near as bad as the first, so I am keeping it, but I am taking a star from the review. You shouldn't spend that much money for a damaged product--twice.I already had to talk to another amazon representative because I was getting e-mails saying I had to return the product... They said they fixed that... Well, come next month, I'll either be charged another $120+ and have to contact them again with my saved transcripts, or I'll be good. I'll update come that time.
November 19, 2014
After receiving my Eclipse Center this week and being completely frustrated with the instructions I thought I would post my results to help those that run into the same problems.First off, there is a new set of revised instructions for this set dated Rev. 8.14.2014. Check the date of your instructions on the bottom right of the cover page. I received my Center on 2/24/2015, and my instructions were dated: Rev. 7.23.2013. The one major change I found was of course in Step 1. They moved Bar #5 from the back of the desk to the front (maybe for stability?!). So instead of being attached in the last hole in the back, as my Rev. 7.23.2013 instructions said, they now are installed in the first hole (right behind the triangle piece). They are attached to the same bar, just at the very front instead of the very back. Use the same screws #23 and install. This could be where other reviewers were saying that the manufacturer forgot to drill holes so they drilled them themselves.(SIDE NOTE: When I ran into this problem of no holes for bar #5, and mangled Drawer Frames (see below), I immediately called the Product Support Line: 866.942.0492 very mad, and not really expecting a response since I had to leave a voice mail. He called me back a couple of hours later, emailed me the revised instructions and said he would send me replacement drawer frames!)The second issue I ran into was on the MDF wood pieces, it looked like there were no holes to put the screws into. But what I think happened was that they put the black coating OVER the holes so it is just really hard to see them. If you look close, you can see the depression of where the holes are. So just press the screw in lightly, and then it will go into the hole.Read more ›
February 26, 2015

PROS:
  • At 35.75 inches W by 23.75 inches D, the eclipse craft center is definitely one of the most convenient workspaces you can get at a very affordable price
  • It has a smooth black finish that complements most home decors and leaves a simplistic but elegant look

CONS:
  • Some customers complained that the part drawers are too flimsy, but that only depends on the amount of material you want to be stored in there

back to menu ↑

CraftMaster Deluxe Drafting Table

Alvin CraftMaster Art, Drawing, and Hobby Table White Base with White Top

 

CraftMaster Drafting Table by Alvin is yet another classic addition to your home workstation as far as arts and crafts is concerned. It boasts a sturdy tubular steel construction with a powder-coated finish that’s just hard to resist. Its laminate table top features rounded corners creating a comfortable workspace where you can keep your supplies within reach. The drafting table can be adjusted all the way to 30 degrees thanks to its one-hand tilt-angle mechanism. Additionally, it comes with two storage units with three drawers each. A plastic instrument tray and metal pencil ledge are also included. And you do not have to hurt your legs once you pull up your chair as there is 21 inch of legroom available.

  • Product

CraftMaster Deluxe Drafting Table Cherry Woodgrain Top/Black Base

Alvin CraftMaster drafting table has sturdy 11/2'' tubular steel construction with a powdercoated finish. The laminate tabletop has rounded corners.Drafting table features a onehand tiltangle ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought this for my girlfriend after reading the reviews here, which were very accurate. I had no problems with missing or damaged hardware. I thought I did, but some of the screws are just a bit longer than others, and it only goes together one way, so double check before you panic. It took about a half hour to set up and the instructions are clear. This is not one of those tall drafting tables. At the tallest adjustment, it is just barely over normal table height. This is no problem, but I bought it together with the chair Amazon recommended, the one with the circular foot rail, and the chair does not fit under the desk with the (optional) circle footrest extension in. No big deal, but just order yourself an adjustable height task chair and you will be fine. It actually exceeded my expectations at this price point.
August 12, 2009
First, the instructions and parts combination need a little improvement. But if you take your time, check off all the parts, and look carefully at the parts and the instructions, it will come together. You do have to be capable of critical thinking and have a logical, intelligent approach.As for a couple of reviewers crying about no stability, I find that not to be the case. Granted you need to be smart and use proper tools to assemble it; power drill/driver, screw driver, pliers, etc. Using basic skills, tighten everything, including frame to drawing board. Then, be sure all bolts are properly snugged and you won't have any problems with "instability." (If you only use the tools that come with the table, you'll have an unstable table!).The drawers are rather cheap plastic. While they are functional, they are still just cheap plastic drewers..For the price, this is a fine table and sufficiently sturdy to support drafting, drawing, painting or crafts activities with no problems. I've done all but the drafting and I love the table. And as I've already stated, no problem with stability, unwanted movement or the like.I recommend this table with no reservations beyond what is stated above.
July 25, 2009
I bought this table for myself as a hobby table for doing watercolors and calligraphy.I've had it over a year and love everything about it - the surface, the storage, thetilting, how easy it is to wipe clean and even that the top is white, so it doesn'tdetract from whatever I'm painting.It took me a while to decide on this table, and since I've had it, my daughter-in-lawand my husband both said they'd like one, too. I finally had to order one for my husband,after numerous offers from him to "trade" his wooden desk for it. LOLNow he uses his own table for doing stained glass. We both like the little lip at the bottomfor holding whatever tool you're currently using, and the drawers to keep other frequentlyused supplies nearby. It really does keep you organized!Best of all, when you walk into the room and see the table all set up and ready to go, itmakes you want to jump right in and create something.
November 27, 2010

PROS:
  • Height can be adjusted from 28-32 inches in the horizontal position making it comfortable and convenient to use
  • It ships ready to assemble and can be set up within minutes

CONS:
  • A couple of reviewers were crying of stability, though a majority of them didn’t have this complaint

back to menu ↑

Coaster Desks Drafting Table

Coaster Desks Artist Drafting Table Desk

This versatile drafting table from Coaster home furnishings will be another excellent addition to your home’s workspace. Coaster Desks Artist Drafting Table Desk features a generous table with a clean tempered glass top that easily tilts whenever you want to draw or read. Additionally, it has a lip at its lower end to ensure that your work is kept in place when the top is lifted. Its solid metal construction and sophisticated gray finish will definitely match up your home’s décor. A mini cabinet on the side is yet another noteworthy feature that makes this unit a must buy.

  • Product

Coaster Desks Artist Drafting Table Desk

This handy drafting desk will be a nice addition to your home work space. A generous work top features a clean tempered glass top, with a lip at the lower end to keep your work in place while the top ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
It's a little bit shorter than I had perceived from the photos, but ultimately it looks great in my room, easy to clean, plus you can put a light under the desk and use it as a light table if need be.Nice desk, however took a while to put together (1.5 hours) with over 30 pieces of hardware and some unclear directions. Putting the drawers together was the biggest pain, since they're plastic, they'd start warping when I was trying to align them to press together. But the hassle was worth the final product. In addition, you will need a screw driver for some of the hardware. The screws work with both phillips and flat head.Also: DO NOT order this product from Visiondecor Furniture. It arrived very late (3 weeks after order date)
September 16, 2012
I am enjoying this new drawing table immensely. What I did not enjoy was putting those drawers together. The only reason I can think of as to why they are not preassembled is because it would slow their production down or to a complete stop. I mean, the drawer assembly consists of trying to fit hard, warped plastic to slide into 3 sides- each side fighting you all the way. Watch out or you WILL LOSE A FINGER. A friend was helping me put this together and she cut her finger horribly.I was able to get it together after about 20 minutes of cussing and fussing.The table is stable. Not wobbly at all. It is solid and the rest of it is produced just as well as much more expensive tables.All in all I give it a great review. It would be perfect if not for those drawers. Although they do come in handy.
July 20, 2013
I absolutely adore this table. I've been eyeing it for the past several months and finally bought it. Last year I bought a cheap drafting table from Michaels and returned it because it wobbled so much when I would erase. This is by far sturdier and so much more aesthetically pleasing. The angle of the table is easy to adjust and though the frame is solid, it is still light enough to maneuver without much strain.The drawer and side trays are more sturdy than other reviews led them on to be. The bottom drawer is well supported and doesn't budge at all. The trays are only attached by one side so I'd imagine if you put really heavy things in them, they'd bend over a bit, but I plan on just putting pencils and erasers in there so I'm not worrying.The aesthetics of this desk are absolutely amazing. The tempered glass is slightly tinted (which I thought would interfere with my intention of using the desk as a light box to do tracing work when I need to) but light shines through perfectly. Saves me from spending money on an $80 light box that that would be bulky and difficult to store.It was easy to assemble, the instructions weren't that bad, I put on a movie and it was quick and painless. Solid value with free shipping.. honestly, I've never seen anything better for the money.All in all, great desk!!
April 30, 2014

PROS:
  • It has a clean and contemporary design
  • Its solid construction means you will enjoy it for years
  • It is one of the sturdiest drafting tables. Does not wobble at all

CONS:
  • Has a small storage space with only one small mini-cabinet

back to menu ↑

13251 Deluxe Craft Station

Studio Designs 13251 Deluxe Craft Station, White Maple

The Deluxe Craft Station by Studio Designs is another drafting table that makes it to our top ten list. It features a huge and comfortable work surface plus a space to keep most of your supplies. The table top quickly adjusts all the way to 40 degrees to create a convenient position for you to work on. All you have to do to achieve your desired angle is to tip the top part of the table and lock it into place. It is also worth noting that the unit comes with 3 slide drawers and 4 side trays to give you ample storage space. A 24-inch pencil ledge is also available to slide up and lock into place as and when required.

  • Product
  • Photos

Studio Designs 13251 Deluxe Craft Station, White/Maple

Studio Designs' Deluxe Craft Station features a comfortably large work surface and a place to keep all of your various supplies. The table top easily adjusts in angle up to 40 degrees - just pull the ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Not only was this table simple to assemble, it proved to be exceptionally sturdy considering I'm completely inept at following directions. The drawers that accompany the unit glide easily and can hold an assortment of not-too-heavy items. The hot glue gun holder is particularly convenient.Seated on wheels, this unit glides easily over carpeting.An excellent craft table for young and old alike.The only downside is that neither my tall adjustable stool or adjustable desk chair were the right size. A great excuse to find a better chair!
July 25, 2006
My mother took up water color and drawing in her retirement. She cried when she saw the table on Christmas morning. It was more than she had ever imagined for herself. It was not horribly hard to put together but there were a couple of slightly marred corners from the shipping. Only cosmetic. All the parts were there and it looks and operates exactly as advertised. The only inconvenience is that in order to put the table top down from an elevated position, it has to be brought to it's highest point before it will "release" to go down. Other than that, it's absolutely a treat for any beginner and possible more.
January 16, 2007
We received this desk a few weeks ago (thank goodness for delivery to an upstairs apartment - the box is heavy!) and assembled it almost immediately (see below). Since that time the desk has been in use almost daily and is holding up well. Nothing has come loose, the surface is solid and doesn't move to much (on carpet) and the pen holders and drawers are functioning well. Even with the desk mostly being used by a 10 year old.Assembly wasn't "too bad" for an item like this. Other than a couple of places where you had to be careful to get bars the right way up, and trying to work out from the diagram which way the locking hinge goes, the desk was put together in about 40 minutes. Tightening up the bolts with the provided tools might be a bit tricky for some - but using tools I already had it was a snap. The trickiest part for us was really the plastic drawer assembly which, while snapping together solidly perhaps took a bit too much effort to snap together and was a little tricky to screw into the caddy provided.There are plenty of storage compartments, plus the lip at the bottom is a nice feature to stop pens rolling off. At a 30 degree angle, paper stays in place well.Therefore, even with a few niggles in assembly, for the price this is a great art desk.
November 26, 2012

PROS:
  • Has a cup holder and a metal frame holder for paint, glue gun, and any other accessories
  • Has four wheel casters with safe dual locking for a secure and mobile workspace
  • At 41 inches W by 24 inches D by 30.75 inches to 46 inches H, it is one of the most convenient drafting tables on the market today

CONS:
  • Many customers complained of problems during assembly, but after following instructions, they were able to set it up

back to menu ↑

42in Vintage Drafting Table

STUDIO DESIGNS 42in Vintage Drafting Table Rustic Oak 13305

The simple yet stylish design of the vintage drafting table by Studio Designs is one of the main reasons why customers flock to buy it. STUDIO DESIGNS 42in Vintage Drafting Table Rustic Oak 13305 has a spacious 42-inch workspace on an elegantly designed wood with inbuilt pencil ledge. Its antique finished top adjusts all the way to 90 degrees to offer you a comfortable and convenient workspace where you can also store your items. The drafting table is constructed with solid wood frame for stability and durability.

  • Product
  • Photos

STUDIO DESIGNS 42in Vintage Drafting Table / Rustic Oak 13305

The classic design of the 42"Vintage Drafting Table by Studio Designs is reminiscent of turn-of-the-century furnishings. It features ample work space on elegantly distressed wood with a built-in ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I'm adding photos to show how it looks just out of the box (since there is a lack of those with this product page). I'm very glad I measured my old drafting table top before ordering, because the 42" is practically the same size I'm accustomed to; the 36" would have been too small.The product in its original/shelf box with a packing slip on it is what I received (another way of say there wasn't another shipping box it was packed in). It was pretty easy to take downstairs to my studio (if you have a carpeted staircase, it's even easier -- guide it with both hands and let gravity help you take it down, slide it across the carpet -- why strain yourself; it's the desk you're keeping, not the box :).I opened the package and its contents carefully in case I needed it for a return (stuff happens!). I inspected the pieces as I took them out. The only thing that was a slight concern: the upper right corner looked like it met a brick wall a couple of times before it was put in the box (I read on another review of similar damage). Thankfully, that's something I can modify just fine with sand paper and stain; everything else was assembly-ready.It took about two hours to put together, however, I'm meticulous on what I work on because I want it to last me a very long time, and I enjoyed putting the desk together. I made sure all parts were included before I started working by counting and checking them off with a pencil in the manual. The instructions are all visual (no step-by-step) over three pages, but that's up my learning alley. Afterward, it's very sturdy.Read more ›
April 29, 2015
My plans to use this table right out of the box came to a halt after I discovered the holes the "U" brackets go through on the stand were not completely drilled through. It's disappointing how I spent this money on such a nice table, put time into assembling the stand, and now I can't even connect the table top to use it. When I get the reordered stand parts, I will have to reassemble the stand. What a pain. May get it drilled myself because I'm so frustrated.Edit: Customer service for reordering the legs was fast and friendly (spoke to a real person) but AGAIN one of the U bracket holes was only partially drilled through. I mean, REALLY??
September 1, 2013
After reading the reviews about missing pieces and having to drill holes in the right spots I was a little worried it was going to be a hassle. I got my box and promptly counted all the pieces (all there) and crossed my fingers. I ended up with only one minor snag and a desk I'm really pleased with.The directions are just a few diagrams, no step by step part so if you get nervous about putting together furniture then just take your time going over them and use common sense. I've had plenty of experience assembling furniture so this wasn't too difficult to figure out for me and took me about 20 minutes (it's not too heavy so I didn't need any extra hands).The only part that didn't line up for me were the dowels that go in the feet. They didn't match the holes in the legs and the screw holes ended up skewed too so I didn't bother with them. The screws are long enough so I don't think it took away from the sturdiness of the table. I'm not sure if some people expect there to be large holes on the underside of the table for the brackets but since they're wood screws there are tiny starter holes you have to look for and its easy enough to twist the screws in with just a screwdriver. Same goes for the pencil ledge.The desk isn't very high so you may not need to get a stool for it. I'm tall (5'10) so if I have the table at a steep angle for drawing, a low chair works best. Even when I have it horizontal for my sewing machine I can sit on my yoga ball and I'm still not too low. If you already have a desk chair or even a dining chair around I'd say give that a try before thinking about getting a stool for it.All in all I'm pretty pleased with the desk, its a perfect fit for a small apartment and its a nice color wood.Read more ›
January 14, 2014

PROS:
  • At 42 inches W BY 30 inches D, the work surface is more than enough to do your job and keep all items within close reach
  • Its height can be adjusted from 34.5 to 46 inches to provide a convenient height that suits your likes

CONS:
  • The desk is not very high, and therefore one may be forced to look for a smaller stool

back to menu ↑

Comet Center with Stool

STUDIO DESIGNS Comet Center with Stool Silver Black 13325

Comet Center is another 3-piece drafting table by Studio Designs with a comfortable working space that keeps your supplies easily accessible. The table surface can be adjusted all the way to 20 degrees to suit your working needs. Additionally, it features a 24-inch pencil ledge that lets you slide the table and lock it into place as needed. It also has three adjacent drawers on the side to give you ample storage space plus a padded stool that’s just too comfortable you can even sleep in the middle of work.

  • Product
  • Photos

STUDIO DESIGNS Comet Center with Stool Silver / Black 13325

This 3-piece center by Studio Designs provides a comfortable work space and keeps your supplies easily accessible. The table top is adjustable up to 20 degrees and includes a 24

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Overall this is a nice desk and stool set. The box was a mess but that wasn't a big deal. A couple of pieces had minor damage/defects: two of the drawer ledges were bent but it didn't impede the drawers from sliding in place or how they sat. One of the holes in the bottom of the stool seat must have been incorrectly drilled because I couldn't get the screw to tighten. Since it was the only one I just made sure the other 3 were tight. The corner of the desk had a slightly smashed edge and the surface had lifted up from the corner. That can be simply fixed with some super glue. The directions were pretty straight forward. I put it together in about an hour, maybe less. My daughter is 11 and a little over 5 feet tall and fits well under the desk. Raising the desk is pretty simple but lowering it requires you to push a part/knob/button in the hinge which is a little tricky so right now she keeps it in the down position. I already had a clamp light so I just added it to the desk. She keeps her drawing pencils and such in one of the drawers and some random Legos in another. Overall I'm happy with the purchase and my daughter was happy with the desk. I took off a star for the damages and such.
January 7, 2015
Very sturdy construction, looks good, great price.Assembly will take some time and you may have to persuade some parts to align.The drawers are cloth so they wont last forever but they are well made and no problems yet.The stool is about what you expect at this price, good for a child/teen but doubt it would hold an adult through continued use.
January 13, 2014
Although there were no reviews for this product when I purchased it, I took my chances and it turned out to be a good decision. This set seems to be of very good quality and very durable. I was expecting the drawers to be made of a heavier material, but they are made of cloth (which is not a problem because they serve their purpose and seem to hold up pretty well). This was a Christmas present for my husband who is starting to study drafting and design and the table is a good size for him to get homework done on and also work on his laptop. The stool is small but a good size for the desk and my husband can sit on it pretty comfortably. The reason I gave this four stars is that after putting the stool together, we noticed one of the legs seemed slightly uneven with the rest. It seemed like a small defect in this particular one. We fixed it very easily with a small round felt piece for chair legs/table legs (sold at Walmart, Target etc). The stool now sits perfectly flat without any other issues. My husband is very pleased with his new workstation.Overall, this is a great table for the price. If you are looking for something fancier, this probably isn't for you but I think it is great quality compared to some of the much more expensive sets out there (fairly easy to put together as well).
February 2, 2014

PROS:
  • It is made of durable gauge steel and six-floor levelers to provide enough stability
  • The work surface is 36 inches W by 23.75 inches D to provide you with ample space
  • Its height can be adjusted from 29.5 to 32.5 inches for convenience

CONS:
  • Apart from a few minor defects when shipping, it is a great buy for its affordable price

back to menu ↑

Drafting and Craft Counter Height Desk

Dorel Living Drafting and Craft Counter Height Desk, Espresso

This Counter Height Desk from Dorel Living doubles up exquisitely as a craft desk or a draft desk. It offers ample working space as well as storage space to cater for all your job needs. Its tilting design enables one to tilt the main table top while maintaining a side area that provides extra lighting and can be used for storage of your laptop and tools. Additionally, the surface has a handy lip that enables you to keep your things organized and within reach when the top is tilted.

  • Product
  • Photos

Dorel Living Drafting and Craft Counter Height Desk, Espresso

The counter height desk can be used as a drafting or craft desk and provides ample work space as well as convenient storage. its split-top design enables the user to tilt the main surface while ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I got this for my girlfriend for Christmas and along with speedy delivery, this thing is a beaut! I set it up myself (until the end) though the directions recommend two people to go at this together. Directions were really straight-forward and It really wasn't difficult to set up, it was just a bit time consuming. There were a few kinks with the pieces they shipped, one mini dowel rod on the front, top left corner - a support for the table - was broken and was no longer connected to the frame..I'm going to have to go back in with a long screw I guess for that. The other thing was with the tight corners and teeny screws, without a mini screwdriver, it took a lot of 45 degree turns to get the job done. The top was one of the last things to be put on which is pretty awkward and definitely the only place a second person is needed - to hold it upright while you screw the teeny screws from the other side.Aside from all that, this thing looks really nice. It's a great size but it's not bulky like most drafting tables. The storage under the table top is awesome, and having the flat table to the side is just what my girlfriend needed to for her laptop for her references. She usually would wheel up a set of crappy plastic drawers with her laptop on it when she used her other drafting table. This just has it all, great look, lots of storage, sturdy and a good size without being bulky.... I love it, she LOOOVES it.... I HIGHLY recommend!
December 5, 2012
My review of the Dorel Asia WM3514 Drafting and Craft Counter Height Desk, Espresso.Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. I took in account for the other reviews that said there were a lot of pieces and that they had damage, etc. That being said, Yes there were a lot of pieces.. But to my surprise, there were many pieces already together. the sides of the desk, for instance, were already in one piece. Did I feel this had to many pieces and was too much work, not really. I have made a few desks, an entertainment center, a few chairs, a bookshelf, etc. together in the past.. not really anything new. It always takes time to build something.. pay more money if you want it already constructed.. you get what you pay for. Anyway, as far as damage. I was concerned about this, especially when I received my package in the mail. The box looked like it had been through a war.. Luckily when I opened the box, I saw how neatly packed they pieces were and there was a lot of protection around the pieces as well. I had no damage to the items I received despite the box's outer appearance.After putting it together, I was disappointed about one aspect. I did not like that some of the inner wood attachment pieces were cheap and thin.. when I went to screw them in, a few cracked when I tightened them. That being said, be careful to not tighten the pieces more than needed, especially the inner pieces, after you attach all other pieces the inner pieces should be tight enough. Hope that helps.Read more ›
March 3, 2014
Looking for a reasonably priced drafting desk for my wife that draws and paints. I can't draw a straight line with a ruler and my stick figures look like spaghetti with sauce fell onto the paper 😉 we ultimately decided to go with this desk, the biggest factor was that it looked like real wood (its press wood) and has drawers for storage of the supplies. Frankly there weren't a lot of options in the cheaper realm as far as nice looking drafting desks goes unless you want to spent several hundred bucks..so for less than 140 bucks for a nice looking put together desk was ok. There are a few cons to this though. First the instructions were not the best in the world, there were some errors in the instructions and the drawings sometimes were hard to follow and even see what they were putting where. I have put press wood type pieces together before and had a much easier time, but unlike this brand which I hadn't ever heard of, I had always purchased Sauder or Bush brand of press wood furniture, whose instructions were better and clearer and actually better quality. After figuring the drawings out and getting it together it is a nice looking piece and will work for what we intended which is my wife drawing me nice pretty pictures.The biggest thing with this is the amount of pieces and screws and wood dowls and locking clamps and doo-dads that you have to put together to get to the final product. There are a ton of pieces and screws all with different ways to screw them in, Phillips head, hex wrench, flat head, etc. Way too many and way more than I remember from the time I put together Sauder or Bush pieces.Read more ›
January 24, 2014

PROS:
  • It has durable construction and a gorgeous espresso finish
  • It has three shelves and two drawers for sufficient storage space
  • It has a tilting surface with a handy lip

CONS:
  • It comes with so many parts that you have to fix to get a drafting table; though this is by no means a deal-breaker

back to menu ↑

10050 Futura Craft Station

Studio Designs 10050 Futura Craft Station, Silver Blue Glass

This small but perfect drafting table from Studio Designs is great for crafting and drafting all thanks to its spacious tempered blue glass top. The glass surface adjusts all the way to 35 degrees. Studio Designs 10050 Futura Craft Station, Silver Blue Glass features one large pencil drawer, three slide-out drawers for supplies and four removable side trays for additional storage. Additionally, it has a 24-inch pencil ledge that slides up and then locks into place to keep all your pens and pencils safe. Its solid heavy-gauge construction and powder coated finish plus four levelers for stability make it an excellent addition to your home workspace.

  • Product
  • Photos

Studio Designs 10050 Futura Craft Station, Silver/Blue Glass

The perfect multi-functional contemporary table: Studio Designs' Futura Craft Station is great for drafting, drawing, or crafting on its large tempered safety-glass work surface. The table top angle ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I found this table at another seller for less than the price listed at amazon.com (including shipping) and bought it. It comes unassembled and the instructions are not the best but if you take your time it is possible to complete. The little side drawers are plastic and could be omitted to allow more leg clearance. The metal pencil drawer is large enough for most storage. The little plastic trays on each side of the table top are good for keeping current project tools easly available. I would have liked these trays to be wood (maybe I'll have some made).The support frame has enough clearance between it and the glass top to place linkable undercabinet flourescent lights to make the table into a light table. Make sure to buy a light fixture that will fit. I used 2 Lights of America brand model 7114 fixtures and a white poster board for a reflector. You could use the smaller model 7108 or use more fixtures for a larger illuminated area. Works as well as my light box. This is great for tracing your sketches to make ink drawings or other art forms like a colorized finished copy of a drawing (no lines on your color copy to erase or hide)(remember to put a plastic sheet protector, tranparency or other clear film between your original and color or ink project to prevent spill or leakage. Also, this is a glass top so don't use it for cutting or other projects that could scratch the surface.Over all I am vey pleased with this table. It has inspired me to draw again after years of making excuses.
September 22, 2009
This is an absolutely amazing desk for drawing and coloring! It looks much more expensive than it is. Top notch quality and not hard to assemble. It comes with it's own assembly tools, but you may want to grab a couple of your own for a couple of places. This desk will hold hundreds of pens and pencils. I have attached some photos to this review to show my set-up of how I'm using it. I love that I can put my color charts to the underside and just glance down to assess what color I'll need next, instead of blundering through papers. The drawers hold a lot. I have my polychromos pencils stacked double like the come in the tin for size reference. The tilt feature is a godsend for neck issues and just makes it effortless to spend hours drawing or coloring. Adult coloring has never been so much fun til now!
September 18, 2015
The instructions were a little vague, but the pictures really helped. I have plenty of experience with flat pack, but this could have come out backwards if I wasn't extremely vigilant.I love the glass top. Taping a drawing or painting to the surface, the glass makes sure it's secure- unlike particle board. I've put a small lamp under the desk to serve as a light box for tracing, and it works beautifully.The one thing that is keeping me from giving this desk five stars is the lower pencil catch. When at its lowest position, it still rests about three or four millimeters above the surface of the desk. If you're using a t-square, this is a huge problem for vertical lines. I know I could just get something to rest on the t-square, but that's just not how i like to do things.I love having the plastic bins on the right side, but didn't put them on the left. The drawer is fantastic. All around great product- but just know that if you plan on using a t-square, you'll miss out on some of the functionality.
February 14, 2011

PROS:
  • It doubles up as a light table
  • Available in black, silver, white or clear glass
  • At 38 inches W by 24 inches D, it has a spacious work surface that can suit all your drawing and art activities

CONS:
  • The holes in the plastic sleeves are said to be small; They can hold brushes but not pens

back to menu ↑

10057 Futura Tower

Studio Designs 10057 Futura Tower, Silver Blue Glass

The Futura Tower from Studio Designs provides ample space to store all your supplies. With a table surface of 33 inches W and 21 inches D, you will certainly be treated to a grand workspace. It has a blue tempered glass top and a 24 by 9 inches lower shelf to offer you everything you could wish for. The table adjusts up to 40 degrees in six different angles to suit your preferences. Constructed of durable steel with powder coated finish, durability and stability aren’t out of the question. Additionally, it has a 24-inch pencil ledge that slides up and then locks into place as and when needed.

  • Product
  • Photos

Studio Designs 10057 Futura Tower, Silver/Blue Glass

With Studio Designs' Futura Tower, there's a place for everything. Office and arts supplies, notes, photos - the Futura Tower stores it all over a 33 W x 21''D blue tempered safety-glass work ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have been searching for a well engineered adjustable glass top drawing table for a couple of months... reading many reviews on different manufactured drafting/drawing tables, and the one consistent company that was always on top of many reviews I read was the "Studio Designs" drafting/drawing tables. Like some of the other reviewers here, I was going to purchase the economically priced Studio Designs "Futura Craft Table"... which I was totally fine with... but... when I found out about the "Tower" model, I started to think about the type of artwork I do. I use a lot of historical reference materials in my professional artwork, and was always having trouble keeping this material from cluttering up my work space... but still trying to keep the materials close enough to see all the fine details clearly, which was a constant frustration... but... with the added tower to the Futura table, and the attached cork board and the added magnates... this solved the problem for me by helping to hold all of my reference materials up and away from my work space, but still keeping them close enough to see all the fine details I require... It then became obviously clear to me, I had to purchase the Studio Designs Futura Tower model.The table arrived in a couple of days after I ordered it.(That's amazing in itself!) The box the table came in, was also well engineered to keep the glass table and all it's parts, secured from possible shipping damage. Again, another fine attention to detail from this company. After inspecting all it's parts... the assembly of the table was pretty straight forward... (except for the drawer assembly). The pictures isn't very clear in the instructions on how the "sliders" for the drawer are to be attached correctly.Read more ›
June 29, 2013
I searched quite a bit and was about to settle for either a cheaper version of the table from the same manufacturer (did not have the backboard nor the casing) or for a cheaper table from another manufacturer when I came across this table. I am glad I did. For the extra 50 bucks this has been a great purchase. Solid, sturdy, lots of space for your materials etc. My daughter loves it and now uses it not only for drawing but also sits there and does her homework and reading. It looks sleek and blends right in. It is a bit big so we did not put it in her bedroom and now this way even the boys are able to use it. Only wish it had a proper place for a light (but I have stuck a fluorescent light under the shelf and actually works really great for my daughter's needs).If you are in the market for a drawing / drafting / crafting/art table, this is really a good product.
March 23, 2011
I'm absolutely in love with this desk. I'm an art student and graphic designer and I needed a versatile desktop that could serve dual purpose for my space as a desk as well as an easel or light box. I stalked the reviews for this desk for quite awhile and finally ordered it last week. I placed my order on either late Thursday or early Friday and received my desk (in Hawaii!) exactly 5 days later the following Wednesday! It came well packaged and my delivery guy even helped me slide it inside my entryway when he dropped it off. I put it together and made space for it intermittently so it took me about 6 hours total time, but only about 2 on the actual desk. As long as you read carefully and follow the directions, there should be no assembly problems. My only complaint would have to be that the small wrenches that come as included tools are EXTREMELY difficult to use on the tiny nuts and bolts. This was the most time consuming aspect of assembly, and I'm a petite female with pretty small hands, so for someone with larger hands, it's going to be a pain in the butt screwing things tightly in certain areas. It was definitely worth it though! My only concern is military PCS's with this glass, but we'll see what happens!
November 15, 2014

PROS:
  • Has one combo magnetic, 2 cup holders and 4 removable art trays to add to its versatility
  • Has an extra-large pencil supply drawer
  • Has floor levelers on every leg to provide maximum stability

CONS:
  • Has so many parts that can make it quite difficult to put together

back to menu ↑

Martin Ashley Drafting Table

Martin Ashley Art-Hobby Table with Stool, White Top, 23-1.2-Inch by 35-1.2-Inch Size Surface

The Martin Ashley Drafting Table has a workspace that measures 23.5 inches by 35.5 inches. Its height can easily be adjusted from 26 to 30.5 inches for convenience and comfort when working. The table has boot guides which allow it to be tilted easily. It comes with a pencil trough for storing pencils, pens, brushes and any other items. Additionally, it features three drawers on one side and a foldable utility rack to provide extra storage space on the other side. You will be thrilled to know that it comes with a padded stool that is just the right size for its height.

  • Product

Martin Ashley Art-Hobby Table with Stool, White Top, 23-1/2-Inch by 35-1/2-Inch Size...

Our drawing/craft/hobby table has a 23-1/2 by 35-1/2-inch top. An easy adjustable height (26 to 30-1/2-inch) and tilt also with boot guides. Includes pencil trough for holding pencils, etc. Has 3 ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
(I uploaded a photo of my desk)Ok, pros & cons!CONS:It took me about 3-4 hrs to assemble because the directions are unbelievably difficult, but it was worth the time.Although it's made to accommodate height adjustment mine just wont lift for some reason, no matter how much I tried.A lot of left-over screws & such which raises an eyebrow.PROS:It's sturdy & no matter how unlevel the floor is, each leg adjusts so it wont wobble.The tilt mechanism works wonderfully, it wont collapse on it's own w/ pressure (so draw away you Heavy-Handers!).The stool can take a LOT of weight. More than the average person if you put it together right.The drawers are cute & compact, perfect for fitting tons of pencils, erasers & the like.Not too heavy once put together so it can be moved rather easily.It just looks beautiful!There are two different H & W's for the table surface on this pg. Its definitely the smaller of the two. Yes, its only an inch difference, but I only add that because I was looking for a height that exactly measured the height of the paper I would be using (24in).All in all, I LOVE this desk. The Pros outweigh the cons. You wont regret buying it. View my pic!
September 23, 2010
I love to paint and draw but as I get older, 75 & counting, using my easels and holding up my arm for a lengthy period of time just isn't worth it. Of course, outdoors is a different matter; however, with this wonderful drafting table on my enclosed patio, the ability to tilt the top makes all the difference in the world. My comfort is highly rated and this table rates as high as my comfort. The little side drawers are at a perfect height on the left hand side and so convenient.I enjoy drawing with Rapidograph pens and finishing each pen & ink drawing makes it more fun now that the table can be tilted and the ease of use is fantastic. Also being able to paint a picture on a tilted flat surface really makes my art work more fun that I really thought possible. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!Thanks.One Very Happy & Satisfied Customer
September 4, 2011
We purchased this for my 5 year old who is really into art/drawing. We had no problems with the assembly, all parts were labeled correctly and instructions were easy to follow. Packaging was good and nothing arrived damaged. We have no problems raising or lowering the table. The drawers are very small but we added a side storage cart for her extra supplies. We also added a clip light. We are very happy with this purchase. It is very functional and will give my daughter room to grow. We uploaded a picture of our art center.
December 27, 2012

PROS:
  • Has an elegant melamine surface that compliments most decors
  • Its 3 drawers, utility rack and pencil trough provide a lot of space for storage

CONS:
  • Assembling it can be quite a task, but once you succeed setting it up, it is a great product

How to Choose a Drafting Table

Look for a drafting table that can be slanted. This way you wouldn’t have to lean forward all the time. It also helps to avoid back and neck problems in the future.

Obviously, you also need to consider the amount of work surface you will need. Whether you’re looking for a small drafting table or a big one is entirely up to your preferences.

If you’re buying a drafting table for home use, consider a lightweight table that can be easily moved around to create additional space. If you’re buying for an office environment, look for a heavier more durable one.

Look for a drafting table that can tilt to suit your different needs. Generally, most tables will tip from 30 to 40 degrees. If you want more tilt angle, be sure to look for one with a steeper tilt angle.

Besides the inclined surface, you may want an extra side table with a horizontal surface to store your stuff. If you want more space to store your laptop or a place to put your other accessories, then looking for a drafting table with a horizontal side table will be a great plus for you.

If you’re going to be spending long hours drawing or drafting, you do not want to be constantly banging your legs and knees on obstacles such as metal rods beneath the table. Check underneath the table for any obstacles before buying.

Consider the type of additional features you would like to have. Some tables have lockable drawers to protect your items. Others have armrests and footrests to provide maximum comfort. There are also in-built rulers and slide up pencil ledges that will come in handy in the course of your work.

Also, decide whether you’ll need a drafting table with adjustable height. Some people like to be seated when drafting so a table that can be adjusted to allow you to use a chair comfortably will be great. Fixed drafting tables offer a four-post design and are typically between 30 to 37 inches in height.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why

The 13251 Deluxe Craft Station is our number one pick in this review. It is a well-designed drafting table that consistently receives high ratings from customers on Amazon. It tops our list thanks to its unsurpassed standards in quality, durability, convenience, and comfort. It has been uniquely designed to give you the kind of high-end working space you deserve. With all its amazing features, it definitely makes for the ideal work partner for elite drafting comfort.

Sources:

Wikihow.com

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password