Top 10 Best Dumbbell Set Reviews — Achieve Your Fitness Goals

Weight lifting is one great way to burn more calories and lose weight. You can start small and get bigger as you become a pro. How does a dumbbell set sound for you? I think this is the right tool to start your weight lifting with. It comes in a variety of weights and picking one would not be such a hassle. But how do you ensure that you get the right dumbbell set for your needs? It is easy: you will need a few choices to choose from and a guide on to go about the choosing process. This post is all that you need; it highlights some of the available dumbbell sets and a guide on finding the best for you. Interested? Keep reading…

Da Vinci Neoprene Dumbbell Set

 

Da Vinci Neoprene Dumbbell Set

This Da Vinci dumbbell set is the king of comfort, durability, and just the piece to get the job done. They are made of cast iron and with a neoprene coat they give you a long life. They are dedicated to tone your back and shoulder muscles leaving you in perfect shape. At both ends, they are hexagonal-shaped to prevent rolling away. There are quite a number of colors to choose from.

  • Product
  • Specification

Da Vinci Pair of Neoprene Dumbbells with Non-Slip Grip, Choose Your Dumbbell...

Da Vinci Dumbbells are made of cast iron and are coated with Neoprene for durability, comfort, and to help protect you, the floor, and other fitness facility and equipment in case of drops. The ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I hadn't "worked out" in years but needed to get healthy again after surgery and a health scare.My doctor recommended a combo of weights and walking.These weights are perfect.Easy to grip and maintain it during your exercise routine.Arrived quickly, nicely packaged with each weight individually wrapped in plastic.When it was time to increase the weight amount, I ordered the same ones, only heavier.ATTENTION: If you're a beginner and not sure how many pounds to get I recommend going with the lighter choice.Five(5) pounds doesn't sound heavy but they are!Three(3) pounds will give you good workout.Go even lighter if you're elderly or not used to exercising. Remember, they come in a pair so the weight doubles.
May 3, 2013
These were the perfect gift for my wife. She had been using large cans of beans and found them awkward to hold. These are perfect and we can now eat the beans.
January 28, 2014
I did a job on my shoulder that requires physical therapy. Surprisingly, I couldn't find this size weight at Sports Authority so I went to trusty old Amazon to find them.There isn't much you can say about a small dumbbell, but I do like that they're coated with neoprene to protect them from the elements and to make them easy to grip. I live in S. Florida and do my workout and stretching outside. The high humidity here has definitely coated my iron weights with a patina of rust where the paint has worn off. The Da Vinci weights are coated with neoprene and will be unaffected by the outside humidity unless the covering is compromised. Since the covering is thick, I don't expect that to happen.It anyone is wondering how the neoprene feels in sweaty hands, the good news is that they're textured and easy to grip whether your hands are moist or dry.I'm very pleased with mine. My only gripe is a bit picayune. They only come in pink, which makes me feel like a bit of a wimp when I use them. On the other hand, I also ordered two and three pound weights which came in purple and green respectively. I think pink is a standard color for one pound weights as my physical therapists has these from a different company and they, too, are the same color as mine.If you need a small weight for exercise or PT, definitely put the Da Vinci Neoprene Dumbbells on your short list.
May 10, 2014

PROS:
  • Super tight grip that they will not slip
  • Comfortable in your hands and you can use them for long
  • Hexagonal shape to prevent rolling away
  • Made to last so that you will not be going shopping anytime soon

CONS:
  • They a bit expensive while you can get cheaper options elsewhere

back to menu ↑

Valeo Neoprene Dumbbells

Valeo Neoprene Hand Weights

This is a safety and efficient weight device that will become your lifting friend. The dumbbell set comes in plastic and will give you an excellent grip in your hand. It is suitable for a good number of exercises giving holistic fitness. To assure of its quality it comes with the manufacturer’s warranty.

  • Product
  • Specification

Valeo Neoprene Hand Weights

Rubber-coated hand weights provide comfortable, non-slip grip Enhance upper body strength, improve muscle tone, overall fitness, cardio Perform curls, tricep extensions, flies, other exercises Ideal ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 5 x 3 inches ; 3 pounds

Shipping Weight

3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I am a reluctant exerciser. I sit at the computer all day and when I get up...ouch my aching back. My doctor said get some small weights and use them or else! If you rest you rust.I bought these little cuties and now I spend 15 minutes at a time at least twice a day and feel stronger already. I am buying another pair for my 94 year old sister who wants to share the benefits.
March 13, 2009
I got these because I got the Jillian Michales 30 day shred and I knew I wouldn't be able to use my 5lb weights. These are great, and the texture is great because it doesn't slip around in your hands. Great little weights.
April 14, 2009
I'm a woman with have average size hands for a woman and I find that the diameter of these handweights is just a bit too large for comfort. I can manage them, but I just wish I could get a slightly better grip. Other than that I like the neoprene cover which absorbs sweat and makes them skid less.
September 11, 2012

PROS:
  • Tight grip even when you are sweating
  • Comes with the manufacturer’s warranty to give the assurance that you are buying a quality product
  • It is a physically attractive dumbbell set
  • No assembling required: ready to use once you have it

CONS:
  • The diameter is a bit large for anyone with small hands

back to menu ↑

Adjustable Dumbbell Set

One Pair of Adjustable Dumbbells Kits - 200 Lbs (100lbs X 2pc)

This is a pair that comes in small size making it convenient to have them placed in your house. You can adjust them as per your needs and you will appreciate the ease of storage they offer. One Pair of Adjustable Dumbbells Kits will give you a range of exercises leaving in perfect form. To be honest this is a dumbbell set you cannot help but have it.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

One Pair of Adjustable Dumbbells Kits - 200 Lbs (100lbs X 2pc)

This set consists of a pair of brand new 200 lbs (100 lbs x 2 pc) adjustable dumbbells (10 lbs x 16pc, 5 lbs x 4pc, 2.5 lbs x 4pc, handle x 2pc, collar x 2pc). Not everyone who is interested in ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

205 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Just recieved these today. Nice deep knurling on the handles and rubber washers to keep the nuts from spinning loose so the weights don't fall off while lifting. Great for dumbell bench press or overhead press movements and they work fine for bicep curls, shrugs, triceps extensions or any other dumbell exercise you can think of. I still recommend tightening the nuts after each set or at least checking them for safety sake. Each dumbell can be adjusted from as little as 5 pounds to a full 100 pounds. A lot of potential weight combos and they don't take up the room or cost as much as a rack of hex dumbells. It would take the average guy a long time to out grow these monsters and if you do just add a set of 25 pound plates to each and make them real beasts.
June 21, 2012
My wife got me this set of adjustable dumbbells, and ever since they were delivered by the infallible USPS, my mass has just exploded through my clothing. My stretchy workout shirts are nearing the breaking point. I am talking to the lucky mofos that also want rediculous GAINS and stumbled onto this deal. These bad-boys are perfect for the animal that wants giant lats, imposing traps, mountains for pecs, and biceps that will stretch out the sleeves on all your tee shirts. Not only that, but you can use these beasts for lunges, dead-lifts, and squats, so you can grow your quads so big that you cant wear normal jeans. MC Hammer pants and birth control sold separately, and believe me, you are going to need them once you start lifting these hunks of iron to the sky.If you're still on the fence about buying these man-makers I suggest you jump off the fence and scream "Get to the Choppa!" on the way down. And maybe do a roundhouse kick with your scrawny little child legs and then click the "buy now" button and eat some steaks until they get to your door!High-Fives and "Do you even lift"s included in sale price.
December 17, 2014
Pro's:-Excellent weight capacity-Sturdy design-Low CostCon's:-Paint smears and can ruin clothes-The locking mechanism get slightly loosened after each set-The bar is rather long (20 inches)How to counter the cons:-Spray the weights with ClearSeal to prevent paint erosion-Get two smaller dumbbell handles to supplement your workout.Final thought:Most users will only use up to the full 200 lbs when doing chest workouts, so the shorter dumbbell handles won't hit your arms as much or have to be re-adjusted as often or with as much weight. By doing this you will have a really heavy set for your chest/arms, and a lighter set for your biceps/triceps. Overall this is an excellent product.
June 26, 2013

PROS:
  • Chrome-textured handles will give you a tight grip even in sweaty hands
  • Can be adjusted as you become better with more weights
  • This is a quality dumbbell set and will give you service for long
  • Easy to set and you will need no single tool

CONS:
  • The bar is quite long
  • The locking mechanism gets loose
  • The paint can easily smear on your body or cloth

back to menu ↑

PowerPak Adjustable Dumbbell Set

Universal PowerPak Adjustable Dumbbells with Stand - 4-45 lbs.

If you wanted some dumbbell set that comes with a guide then you just found one. Universal PowerPak Dumbbells are adjustable and you can build up your weight lifting prowess with this weight lifting beast. Free to stand and easy to set are some of the admirable features that will draw you to make the purchase. Do not worry about space at home for these ones are space efficient and will take the least of it. For safety and a perfect to exercise you have no single reason why this should not be the dumbbell set you should not go for.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Universal PowerPak Adjustable Dumbbells with Stand - 4-45 lbs.

The Universal PowerPak Adjustable Dummbells with Stand - 4-45 lbs. includes 2 adjustable dumbbells and a sturdy stand. The dumbbells replace 18 individual free weights in a single, space saving ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

26 x 17.5 x 13 inches ; 121 pounds

Shipping Weight

121 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

The Power-Pak 445 (PP445) by Universal (a division of Nautilus) is an adjustable dumbbell set that allows you to adjust the weight of the dumbbells from 4 to 45 pounds in 5lb increments. Traditional dumbbells are expensive. They typically sell for around $1 per pound, and take up a lot of room. If you're at a gym this isn't a problem. If you're working out from home, it is a real pain to store 7 or 8 sets of dumbbells, and bring them out and put them away after a workout. I am a big fan of adjustable dumbbell sets. Not only do you usually save money, but you get a lot more variety which makes your workouts faster and more efficient, and prevent clutter in your house. The only disadvantage to them, is that they're bigger than standard dumbbells, which can limit your range of motion in some exercises, and you can't drop them or be as rough with them as regular weights.Below are the major brands of adjustable dumbbells that Amazon sells in the 50 pound range. I've listed them based on a combination of popularity and rating based on what I think are the best to least best, with the Bowflex SelectTechs (which I'll refer to as BST) at the top. I currently use the BST and I think it is the best adjustable dumbbell option right now, so the rest of my review will compare the PP445 to them.1. Bowflex SelectTech 552 Adjustable Dumbbells (Pair) 5 to 52.5 lbs in 2.5 pound increments2. ...Read more ›
February 9, 2012
I was not sure if I should get the Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells or the Universal Power Pak. The Bowflex SelectTech 552 don't seem to be very durable. There are YouTube videos showing the plastic selector plates break easy and they show how to repair with glue since they are breaking so frequently. They also talk about ordering other parts on EBay for repairs, so apparently there are issues with other parts. They also say you need to set the dumbbells down gently in order not to break the plastic selector plates. I needed dumbbells that are durable. Sometimes I can't set dumbbells down gently due to I am exhausted after the set. You also have to set/adjust the weight on BOTH sides of each dumbbell. I thought the Bowflex may be nice since you can adjust in 2.5 lb. increments up to 25 lbs. But then I started thinking that I have never been able to adjust conventional type dumbbells in 2.5 lb. increments, so what's the point.Based on the aforementioned, I purchased the Universal Power Pak. The Universals have been great. You can set/adjust the weight on either side of each dumbbell, which is very convenient. They come with a stand, but you don't need to use the stand if you want to save space. You only need the trays the dumbbell rests in. The trays can sit on the floor, table, or mounted to the stand. I saw other reviews where some said they don't like the stand design because it doesn't use a pedestal. The stand design is great because it DOESN'T use a pedestal. The stand design allows you to more easily store stuff under it. Some other reviewer complained about the weight plates being noisy clanking together. I do not see this as a problem at all. They are quieter than the old school steel weight plates on a dumbbell hand bars I had been using. I hope this review helps others. It was very difficult for me to decide between the two types. I have been very happy with this purchase.
November 30, 2012
I considered the Bowflex 552's and these, the Bowflex 552's looked nicer, but were more expensive. I was going to buy the bowflex at $280 (at the time lowest I could find). I figured a $30 difference and I would make-do without a stand. Glad I did not, because after using these I realized the stand is a must have, and then would have been talking $170 difference. Here are the Pro's and Cons that I found between the 2.Bowflex-Pros 1.-Look cool 2.-2.5 weight increments at low rates Cons-1.-Cost 2. Occasionally "stick" 3. Need to turn both ends to adjust weightsUniversal 445-Pros 1. Come with stand 2. Only turn one end which makes changing weight easier and quicker 3. Less physcial plates so one less plate to "tetris" in 4. Price Cons-1. Adjust in 5 increments (I have not found an issue though) 2. Weights do shift-they are secure they just slide back and forth (I have gotten used to)I am happy with the Universal 445's and am glad I purchased rather than Bowflex, based on price and quicker weight adjusting. They also look cooler then in the pictures. The 5lb increments is fine for me, since I had been jumping like 10lbs with standard dumbbells.The only con I can think of is the shifting weight, which I could imagine drives some people nuts. Yes the weights shift, but that are still secure and they aren't going to fall off, I have confidence to do lifts with them over my head, face or crotch.
February 25, 2012

PROS:
  • Multiple colors to choose from
  • Comes with a workout guide
  • Saves on both space and money
  • You can adjust weight as you become better with more
  • It is ergonomically designed to bring out the best from you

CONS:
  • The weight shifts slight back and forth

back to menu ↑

PowerBlock Dumbbell Set

Power Block GF-SPDBLK24 Adjustable SpeedBlock Dumbbell

If you are tired of having to add weight manually then you need something that takes care of that nuisance. PowerBlock dumbbell set will give you that and more. You will just have to shift a pin to point to the exact weight you want to lift. It will save your time and help you build your prowess bit by another. Just a single pair of this set will be enough to give exercises for a dozen sets. The price is worth what it offers. Not forgetting that it will save you some space on storage.

  • Product
  • Specification

Power Block GF-SPDBLK24 Adjustable SpeedBlock Dumbbell

SportBlock 24 Features: Product Type: -Dumbbells. Quantity: -Set. Adjustable: -Yes. -SportBlock 24 dumbbells set. -Attractive silver finish complements modern decor. Weight Range: -

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

10.5 x 5 x 5 inches

Shipping Weight

48.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

SportBlock 3-24 lbs per hand

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

I wish I could give stars in halves; this product would get a solid 4.5 from me. Rounding up to a 5 would mean folks who aren't taking the time to read the review might assume that there's really no room for improvement, but there is.After reading this review you might think I work for Powerblock or something, but I don't. When you're spending between $150-400 on a set of "high performance" adjustable dumbbells, applying a bit of logic can go a long way for your satisfaction and safety.***AREAS THAT COULD USE IMPROVEMENT***To help counteract the perceived bias I might have, I'm gonna try something different; I'm going to start with the CONS of the Powerblocks.1. The magnets in the selector pin could be stronger. As a safety measure, there are magnets in the pin that hold it against the bars on the side of the weight stack, reducing the chance of it slipping out during an exercise. This makes a lot of sense, but the magnets are pretty weak. During some pretty basic exercises the magnets will come lose and lose their hold. Now don't get freaked out -- it's not like the pin flies out and it's scary to work out (there is an elastic band acting as a backup safety also). I'm talking like millimeters here; I can see that the pin has moved just enough where you can tell the magnets aren't holding. Rather than a whole bunch of cheap magnets within the pin, two small high-quality earth magnets would give a better hold while still being pretty easy to remove.2. The weight selection process can be a bit finicky on carpet or non-flat surfaces. Because there may be a bit of shift in the weight stack on carpet, sometimes it's tricky to stick the weight pin in correctly.Read more ›
October 6, 2009
The power block dumbbells is my first adjustable dumbbell set i have bought. I love the size of it as i can store it just about anywhere and yet be able to lift weight anywhere from 6-24 pounds. The only problem with it as others have mentioned is that you might mess up getting the pin in straight to adjust the weights but it is easy to figure out when u have messed it up. Another annoying thing about the dumbbells set is while ur working out the plate hit each other and u hear an annoying clunking sound
January 1, 2009
I really like this product because it is compact and not as cumbersome as the larger sets. For most people, this will suit their needs and they can get an upgradable set later on. The small size allows almost everyone to perform conventional exercises with proper form. With the larger PowerBlocks, this is a concern because of added bulk and length.The square shape of these dumbbells allows the manufacturer to put more weight in a smaller place. This makes these much smaller than other rounded adjustable dumbbells over the same weight range and increments.From a safety perspective, I also think these are the safest and most rugged adjustable dumbbells. However, this does not mean that nothing can go wrong. You need to be conscious of inserting the pins straight across and the pin mechanism right side up so the magnets engage to hold the pins together. There is a also a backup elastic band to prevent a plate from falling, but this might not save you in an overhead triceps extension.This product is rugged and well made. It is less likely to break then some other brands and the concept is simple behind how the adjustments work. In other words, there are less things to break or go wrong and I believe these can take a fairly hard fall and still be fine. I haven't dropped mine, but I base this assumption on the way they are designed and the quality of the materials and how they are put together.I would definitely purchase these if you do circuit training and want to keep your pulse up. If you become serious, you can buy an expandable set over a larger range later. This is great entry point product.
August 31, 2007

PROS:
  • A selecting pin gives you the easy way to increase your weight you are lifting
  • It has a padded handle to protect your wrist from any injuries
  • It will give you a maximum of 24 pounds on each hand. This will save you from buying different pieces for each weight you want
  • Customer-friendly price for what it is offering
  • Saves on space

CONS:
  • The magnet on the selector pin is a bit weak
  • Weight selecting process is tedious
  • They are not comfortable over the shoulders

back to menu ↑

PowerBlock Elite Dumbbell Set

PowerBlock Elite Dumbbells

Bringing your fitness exercise to your home is an exciting offer. You can have that if you choose Elite Dumbbell Set from PowerBlock. This one of a kind lifting piece with guaranteed durability and comfort. It will give you a range of exercise leaving with nothing to worry about muscle building.

  • Product
  • Specification

PowerBlock Elite Dumbbells

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Has weight range from 5-90 lbs. per hand; Replaces 28 pairs of dumbbells or 2565 lbs. of free weights; 10 year home use warranty.; Increments - 2.5, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

Item model number

EL-ST2-70-MaParent

After years of collecting the old standard hex dumbells, and trying to maintain a home gym in the city in various apartments (usually in the common basement) I found the PowerBlock dumbells. For someone without a dedicated room (with lots of space) for their workout equipment, these are fantastic dumbells. They go up to 85 or 90lbs without the add-on kit, and they are super fast and easy to change the weight. They are pricey, but considering the amount of dumbells they replace, well worth it, for the right user.After using the PowerBlock setup for a couple years I came across IronMaster, another brand with adjustable dumbells. They go to 75lbs without the add-on kit, and cost a little less than the PowerBlock dumbells. I have BOTH in my home gym now, and I will go over the pros and cons of each for those of you trying to decide on a set up like this.PowerBlocks:Pros: Well made, comfortable grip, fast and easy to change the weight in 10lb increments, nice stand included, made in USA, ability to go up to 85-90lbs as is, and 120lbs with add-on. Excellent for exercises where you change weight quickly or frequently. Square dumbells don't roll.Cons: Funky design with 4 pillars around your hand/wrist. It works, but it makes me nervous at higher weights that if I were to drop them I could somehow catch my wrist in there and hurt myself. Difficult to quickly switch weights in increments smaller than 10lbs. This is a problem for many exercises. Although they are sturdy, and have never given out on me, they rattle and the plates move a little when you use them. Again, they seem sturdy but when doing shoulder or bench press it's a little disconcerting. You need to make sure the magnetic pins are fully inserted and in the right spot or disaster could ensue.Read more ›
March 3, 2009
As you can see, I don't write reviews unless I really love something. Like most Amazon shoppers, I did a lot of research before buying these. I considered the Bowflex, Universal, and the other classic Powerblock set. This is the newer Powerblock set that you can buy additional weights for if you ever need them, and is priced for less. This set is built very well, and the design is great. I can't imagine a reasonable scenario where they could break. It works simply, with no dialing or moving parts. There's a piece you slide between blocks like you would see on a weight machine. You can change weights as quickly as you can on those machines, just take it out and put it back. Another advantage these have is they can be used as push up bars, so you can do push/pull exercises that you can't do with other adjustable bells. And they are more stable as push up bars than hexagonal dumbells.I can't stress the durability aspect of these enough. There's just nothing on here that can easily break due to the strong materials and smart simple design. You can change weight amounts on both bells in literally about 6 seconds, without multiple dials to turn. With less weight, they are smaller, with more weight they get bigger, unlike other designs that basically remain the same size no matter if you're lifting 10 or 50 lbs. I fully expect my 2 year old son to be using these in high school. They are made in America and carry a 10 year warranty. If you are in the $300 budget range and are looking for a set that is durable, easily adjustable, and versatile, I highly recommend these.
January 3, 2014
Very stable, easy to adjust weights, and the flat ends make it easy to rest on your thighs and then kick up into position. Once you get the hang of it, adjusting the in-handle weights take 5-10 seconds for the pair. One really neat thing is that the PowerBlocks are actually shorter than the hex dumbbells at the same weight. The rubber-coated handle in the middle is very easy to grip, and the bars at the top are padded.Overhead, incline, and flat bench presses are very stable. The shorter length allows the weights to come closer together at the top of the contraction without clanging together. Control and stability on the up and down movements is excellent. The plate sections do not wobble or rattle. Bicep curls are great, and 1-arm rows are just awesome! I already maxed the 70lb set for those and could do more (maybe the expansion set needs to be ordered?!).There is only one minor issue: While the weights can be adjusted in 2.5 lb increments using the in-handle weights, there are 5 lb gaps in the sequence every 10 lbs, so that you have to go from 20 lbs to 25 lbs, 40 lbs to 45 lbs, etc. The simple solution if you need those in-between weights is to get a pair of 2 lb wrist weights (which I have).For anyone without any dumbbells, this is a no-brainer purchase. I already had 5 lbs - 30 lbs hex dumbbells, and this was still a great purchase. I use the hex weights for anything up to 30 lbs (generally only shoulder flys or drop sets) and the PowerBlocks for over 30 lbs (everything else). I looked at Iron Master and Core Fitness, but decided on PowerBlocks after getting feedback from friends at BodyBuilding.com. No regrets!
March 28, 2015

PROS:
  • 10 years of warranty is what comes your way once to make the purchase. This is a guarantee of quality
  • Offers a wide range of weights from 5-90 pounds per hand

CONS:
  • Not easy to switch weights
  • The plates are not tightly held in place and they will move as you use them

back to menu ↑

Cap Barbell Adjustable Dumbbell Set

CAP Barbell 40-pound Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Case

This 40 lb Dumbbell Set is a good choice for both beginners and professionals. Versatility is what makes it an exceptional piece that you should buy today. The grip is comfortable and you can on with exercise for as long as you want. It is not bulky but the perfect piece for the highest performance you can ask for.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

CAP Barbell 40-pound Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Case

This 40 lb dumbbell set is convenient and great for both beginners and the advanced fitness enthusiast. The different plate weights come in a plastic case and dumbbells can be adjusted according to ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

20 x 9 x 8 inches

Shipping Weight

39.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

RSWB-40TPB

These are decent weights - carry case arrived damaged, it was replaced for us - the weights themselves are solid and easy to handle.Caveat: a 40 pound set is not much weight - I figured it would be plenty for me as I'm just getting into this, but actually my wife's outgrown them as well.Thing is, the bar weighs 5 pounds, you get 15 pounds of assorted weight for each of the two bars, total 40 pounds, this allows you to set up from 5 to 20 pound dual dumbbells or a single up to 35 pounds - not quite enough to get there from here.Plan on adding a few more 5 pounder or 10 pounders to it, is all - they are available separately so no big deal. I've set these bars up with 65 pounds of weights with no problem using 10 pounders.The bars are good quality and have rubber washers to lock the weights in place.For some exercises the 14 inch bars get in the way compared to simple hex dumbbells, and it does take a while to change weights between moves, but it's tolerable, especially compared to blowing $500 on adjustable weights with plastic adjustment tabs, no less.For the price, keep a couple sets around - you get more versatility in weight, and you get the ability to set up 2 sets for yourself at a time - allowing quicker workouts at the weight of your choosing without investing in a zillion separate dumbbells.Would definitely do again.
February 6, 2009
When originally considering this product I was very concerned with the number of negative reviews/comments that people were leaving about these dumbbells. After deciding to take the risk, I felt the need to write a review since I believe that the negative reviews are overblown and overly dramatic. I will hopefully address the main concerns that you as the prospective buyer are having while considering this product. If you don't care about the details I have a TLDR at the bottom =)1. Smell: These weights do not smells like daisies; no dumbbells do. However, the smell is NOT as bad as people are saying. I would highly recommend leaving these weights outside (and/or washing them) to let them air out and control the smell, but it is not immediately overpowering. When the package arrived I slowly opened the box waiting for a toxic stench to explode out, but it never came. It was not until I lifted a plate out of the box that I noticed the smell people mentioned (the chemical applied to prevent rust), and it was not very strong. I left mine in the garage to air out and noticed a slight change in the smell of the garage, but nothing extreme. I would certainly keep them out of the house to be safe, but for $40 a quick wash or airing out was worth it to me.2: Quality: If you are looking for professional dumbbells that are made of top quality materials then look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a solid set of starter weights, this is your product. I will say that the first time I removed a collar a small piece of metal broke off, but it did not affect the functionality of the piece. Also, I noticed someone mentioned that the collar lets the weights slide...this was incorrect in my experience.Read more ›
June 1, 2012
I priced and compared quality of this product with what was available locally and in my military retail exchange. I am glad I read some reviews here and especially noted the picture submitted by D.Wong. The sets I compared used 7.5 pound and 2.5 pound weights and hollow handles...this Amazon set uses 5 pound and 2.5 pound weights...sets I compared were all 40-pound...the difference is the solid handles. The 7.5 pound weights are also large in diamter, bulky and akward to use with some exercises. A bonus for me was being able to use the carrying case as a stable platform to place the assembled dumbbells...see picture. The quality on this set is excellent...it shipped quickly and without any damage.
February 19, 2011

PROS:
  • Its durability will amaze you
  • For high-performance needs; you have the right piece just for that
  • It is an ergonomic piece that will feel comfortable
  • Offer a range of weights giving a chance to built your capabilities one step after another

CONS:
  • The quality is not what would be the best for a professional
  • The handle lengths are not equal

back to menu ↑

SPRI Deluxe Dumbbell Set

SPRI Deluxe Vinyl Dumbbells (Set of 2)

You will have an array of colors to choose your dumbbell set from. These ones are durable thanks to the vinyl coat on them. To make your choice easier they are clearly marked for the weights. SPRI Deluxe Vinyl Dumbbells are what you need for every exercise you may ever want to do and such versatility would go a long way to making you holistically fit.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

SPRI Deluxe Vinyl Dumbbells (Set of 2)

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Comfortable, no-slip vinyl coating is easy on floors; Perfect addition to aerobics and step workouts; Can be held in hands while walking to boost ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

DB-1-P

Gosh, what smart thing can be said about dumbbells? Price was right. They arrived earlier than forecast. They settled right down in their storage space by the eliptical trainer without making a fuss. When I pick them up, they always feel the same, and they seem OK with the realization that one day they'll have to go out and sit in the Sun for several hours until some stranger comes along and gives my kids a buck at the garage sale they'll hold to get rid of all my junk after I've gone off to assisted living or the great Darkness that awaits us all.
February 1, 2013
Yep, this is indeed just ONE dumbbell. I made sure I read the order correctly and it said I would get a SET OF 2-- i.e. a total of 2 dumbbells but instead just got one. You'd think they would've fixed this error by now. 🙁 angry.
April 10, 2013
I only received one dumbbell despite the product description indicating that you will receive a PAIR. Not only did I receive only one dumbbell but it was broken as well. Before you buy this, make sure that they send you TWO dumbbells as it states in the description.
October 24, 2012

PROS:
  • They are comfortable in your hand with a very firm grip
  • They come in a variety of weights and you can customize your weight lifting routine as you deem fit
  • It is the kind of tool to add some intensity and dynamic to your workouts
  • The price is the best deal you are getting for such a great tool

CONS:
  • There are complaints from customers who only received one piece instead of a pair
  • A very strong PVC smell that will take over your home for some days but it will go away

back to menu ↑

BowFlex 552 Dumbbell Set

Bowflex SelectTech 552 Adjustable Dumbbells (Pair)

You do not have to worry about exercise and storage space at home if you buy this one. Bowflex SelectTech 552 Adjustable Dumbbells (Pair) are economical in space. It is the new kind of dumbbell tool that will give you a range of 15 weights. Its unique design offers you the flexibility you will need for your training needs. Weight adjusting can be done in 2.5lbs, which gives you a steady weight up the lifting scale.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Bowflex SelectTech 552 Adjustable Dumbbells (Pair)

If you want to get a good strength workout at home, but don't have much space, the Bowflex 552 SelectTech Dumbbells are an ideal solution. Newly designed, the innovative pair of 552 SelectTech ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

24 x 23 x 14 inches ; 123 pounds

Shipping Weight

150 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

Item model number

100182

After a lot of consideration, I ended up purchasing these weights to use with P90X Extreme Home Fitness Workout Program - 13 DVDs, Nutrition Guide, Exercise Planner. The program calls for a lot of different weights, and I was tired of leaving 8 different dumbbells lying around on the floor of my den. After using these for roughly three months, I am very pleased with them, and with a few exceptions, they work great for P90X.CONSTRUCTION/DESIGN- As of 2/16/10, the model being sold on Amazon is the 2009 model, which came out in September 2008 and is the most current model available. There is no 2010 model, despite what many third party sellers claim (I have confirmed this with Nautilus). I have uploaded pictures of the version Amazon is selling, which comes with a black base plate. Amazon has lumped the reviews from the 2008 model in with this 2009 model, so read the reviews carefully. The 2009 model eliminates many of the complaints of the 2008, most specifically, it uses metal tabs on the weight plates to lock them in place. Construction is solid and it is very unlikely these will break. Although unlike traditional dumbbells, you can't drop these on the ground after a set. They are fairly sturdy, but I would be very nervous about dropping these from any height over about 5". The handle is ergonomic to fit the palm of your hand and the grip feels good and natural during lifting. The handle is thicker than a dumbbell and I prefer it to the thinner dumbbell handles.The weights have a dial on the end of them that you turn to select the desired weight.Read more ›
February 16, 2010
I got to say you guys aren't really fair with the way you kill it. People these are adjustable and you got to be careful when using them. Seriously.░░░░░Lets break it down, Pros/Cons mixed░░░░░❖ Number one complaint people have is that they aren't sturdy and I disagree, they are very well made and safe. You cannot drop them. It gives ample warning in the manual as there are moving parts and it simply isn't designed to take that much abuse. I often do work to failure however have till have the strength guide the dumbbells to a light landing on the floor this really shouldn't be an issue.❖ Another complaint people have is that you have to put them back on their stand at an exact angle which is true but I really never noticed as it really isn't that difficult.❖ Another complaint I have seen is that the weight is off I tested this and it was off by a couple of ounces, that rumor simply isn't true.❖ Another complaint that comes to my mind form # of people is that they are too expensive (if you can't find a deal) and too bulky with the lower weights (as the length stays the same) however you get used to adjusting to the size really quick, at least I did.░░░░░BOTTOM LINE░░░░░I am very happy with my purchase and am seeing great results so far. If you can find a good deal and trust yourself to never drop the things you should have no problems.***If you like this review, please mark this review as helpful below! Also, feel free to ask me questions by leaving comments. I will promptly reply. Thanks for reading***
July 4, 2015
I was torn between these and the PowerBlock dumbells I kept reading about. I had a chance to check out the 2008 and prior model Bowflex Select Tech's at Dicks Sporting Goods, and I remember thinking about how easy it was to spin the dials to adjust the weights.My only concern and hesitation was that a few reveiws mentioned the possibility of the weights rattling and people were worried they could fall off? I had not heard this before, so I researched it more and although the PowerBlock dumbells had gotten good reviews, I simply could not get past how ugly they were, and the fact that they used a magnetic pin to hold the weights in.I decided to spend the few extra dollars on these 2009 model Select Techs (assuming any prior issues they may have had were corrected) and boy am I glad I did, they are AWESOME! The dials, in my opinion, are ten times easier than the magnetic pins of PowerBlocks, and these Bowflex dumbells look ten times more fashionable (our gym equipment is on our loft, so yes my wife and I have a style standard). These dumbells are about 15 inches long, but neither of us have any issues with their size (I think the PowerBlocks were only a 3 inch difference anyways).We are 100% happier we bought these, and we bought the stand from Amazon to go with them also (it is better for your back if you lift dumbells from a standing position instead of from a squatting one). I hope you enjoy your SelectTechs as much as we enjoy ours!
November 4, 2008

PROS:
  • A wide range of exercises to give all you need for a fit body
  • Weight switching is rapid and makes everything easy on your end
  • No need for multiple dumbbells cluttering your home space. Only this set will give you everything
  • You will be getting 2 years of warranty on parts and plates as a gesture for its quality

CONS:
  • The plates are not always secured; they can fall off
  • Quite expensive but offer the value for that cost

back to menu ↑

Hourglass Dumbbell Set

Tone Fitness 20-Pound Hourglass Shaped Dumbbell Set

Here is the best walking dumbbell set in the market right now. It is the shape and fitness booster that you have missed all this time. Tone Fitness 20-Pound Hourglass Shaped Dumbbell Set is neoprene coated to give you a firm grip and protect your floor. It is adjustable making it a versatile tool for wholesome fitness. It comes with a storage rack so you should not worry about that.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Tone Fitness 20-Pound Hourglass Shaped Dumbbell Set

The Tone Fitness neoprene dumbbell set is the perfect addition to any strength training routine. You can improve your appearance, strength, muscle to fat ratio, bone density and even your walking ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

14.2 x 10.8 x 5.5 inches ; 23 pounds

Shipping Weight

22.3 pounds

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

SDNHS-TN020

The weights themselves arrived blemish-free & in perfect condition. The little stand included (I call it a "tree") was easy to assemble. I've read some negative reviews regarding the tree but I've had no issues with it? I use it for display & storage purposes. Granted, if you try to carry the weights around using the tree, I'm sure it'll break. But that's not what it's intended for anyways. All you need is a screwdriver to put it together & you're done! Great quality, especially for the price.
March 2, 2015
I didn't plan the alliteration... it just worked out that way... but it's true all the same. The little rack fits compactly in a corner (oh, there I go again) in my living room, they're really cute and colorful (oh no) and comfortable to hold. I bought them to use with my Jillian Michaels 30 day shred video after learning that eventually I'd be doing jumping jacks while holding hand weights. I had lots of individual weights but not a single matching pair. These are perfect. Highly recommended, and a great price.
February 19, 2011
The quality was not what I expected...it had defected marks especially on both of my 2lb dumbbells. I wanted to contact the seller but there is no direct email address to contact the seller.
October 18, 2014

PROS:
  • It is a durable piece
  • Good grip and will work well both indoors and outdoors
  • It is compactly designed making it easy to travel with
  • The hourglass shape gives it a more comfortable feel than the conventional types

CONS:
  • There are customer complaints of defects on the 2lb dumbbells
  • The stand is not all that good

How to Choose a Dumbbell Set?

Now you know a few of the dumbbell sets and that gives you an idea where to begin the search. But that is not all; there is so much that goes into choosing the right dumbbell set. So, how do you choose the right piece for yourself?

  • Weight range: you will need a set that covers all your weight needs. Buying one weight at a time will be costly and you will have your space cluttered. You should go for a set with provisions for a wide range of weights.
  • Grip and comfort: safety is something that should come top as you buy your dumbbell set. You will need a piece with a good grip and comfortable in your hand.
  • Adjustability: switching from one weight to another should be easy for. There are dumbbells that come with a pin selector for weight increase as opposed to manually adding up the weights. Such a piece makes things easy for you.
  • Floor-friendliness: you need something that will be gentle on your floor and other surfaces. There are pieces out there that will not make a single scratch on your carpet.
  • The money you are paying for it: how much should you it cost you for a good dumbbell set? I would say as much as you can afford. But do not be carried away by the misconception that expensive is quality. There are cheap options that will be as good as the expensive one. You just have to choose right and for the money you can save for this tool.

Competition — The Best Reviewed Dumbbell Set

Of course, out of this top dumbbell set list, there is what is considered the best. To arrive at such a decision this post used the best customer reviewed dumbbell set. Da Vinci Neoprene Dumbbell Set took the day with 81% of customer reviews giving it a 5-star rating. This is agreeable since this piece is the champion in toning muscles. With various small weight options, it is the best choice for beginners. Durability and comfort are features you would want on your piece and here they are. Buying this Da Vinci will be the right decision and the value of your money will be exactly what you expected.

The Da Vinci’s dumbbell set may be the best reviewed by customers but that does not mean it is only in that slot. PowerBlock Elite Dumbbell Set is another piece that competes for the top spot. It is such a versatile weight lifting device. It comes with a wide range of weights to give you a way to build your way up the ladder. With a warranty of 1o years, you can trust everything they are saying about it. This is a worth bargain for every single shilling you are paying for it.

Are you now ready to bring a new dimension to your fitness endeavors? A dumbbell set would be the right kind of addition you should be thinking of. It is good for both beginners and professionals. If you had some hard time making the right choice I believe now you are not anymore. The reviewed pieces are among the best and you can make your pick now. You have been duly guided on what to look for as you go out shopping. Choose what suits your needs and cheers to that!

Sources:

Wikihow.com

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Wikipedia.org

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password