Top 10 Best Electric Heated Blanket Reviews — Getting It Right with the Choice

How easy was it for you to choose your electric heated blanket? I’m assuming that you already have one. If you don’t then I will tell you the answer. It is never easy to make the right choice. There are so many electric heated blankets and getting the right one for you will not be a ride in the pack. But that will not be a problem anymore since this guide is all you need. It expertly covers on the most popular choices for electric heated blankets; points out the most reviewed one and how to go about choosing the right one for you. But first, what are the best choices for you?

Soft Heat Luxury Micro-Fleece Low-Voltage Electric Heated Full Size Blanket

Soft Heat Luxury Micro-Fleece Low-Voltage Electric Heated Queen Size Blanket, Natural

 

This electric heated blanket is super soft on your skin. It is fitted with extra soft micro-fleece material for all the comfort you would ask for. Soft Heat Luxury Micro-Fleece Low-Voltage Electric Heated Queen Size Blanket, Natural has a patented edge since it comes with a low-voltage feature assuring you of safety and the promise the best night sleep even during the coldest winter night. The wires are so small and hidden for you to notice. This is one advantage for this super quality electric heated blanket.

  • Product
  • Photos
I purchased this wonderful warming blanket a month ago. I use it every night. Heats evenly. Extremely soft. It is true. You cannot feel any wires, turns off in 10 hours if you go to sleep and forget to turn it off. One problem, I do not want to get out of bed. Feels like the most expensive blanket on the market, but keeps you so very warm. I have purchased many warming blankets in the past and ended up dicarding them after one month or one season of use. Definately worth the money. You will not be sorry. If you are tired of getting into a cold bed or have a blanket that just does not feel soft and luxurious and first and foremost does not heat evenly, then what are you waiting for?
January 27, 2009
We bought the twin size blanket for our son who kept complaining about his bedroom being too cold. The blanket works very well, warms up the bed perfectly at just the medium setting and is very comfortable!! No wires that you can feel, the only difference from a regular blanket is just the feeling of a thin sheet of plastic layered within the blanket. We place the blanket on top of a flat sheet, and add a comforter over the blanket to weigh it down, since it is so light. Our child sleeps much, much better and no longer complains about his room being cold at night. Now we do not have to turn the thermostat way up to get his room warm while overheating the rest of the house!I think people who say that their Soft Heat blanket doesn't feel warm at all MIGHT have placed the blanket with the wrong side up. The manual says that the side with the 'Use and Care' instruction label on the blanket should be facing up, and that you must sleep under the blanket to experience the warmth. It is not the same as a heating pad and will not feel warm to the hand's touch.The pre-heating feature can be deactivated by any adjustment of the dial. For example, our blanket is set on level 5, and when we press the 'on' button, we then turn the dial to 6 and back down to 5 where it will stay. This prevents the blanket from preheating to Hi before settling at the level you want. The information is all in the manual -- read it, and the product should work fine for you!This SoftHeat microfleece blanket is made by Perfect Fit Industries (you can google their website to find product manuals). The Amazon website description says 'Luxury' microfleece, but the item I received from Amazon just said 'SoftHeat microfleece blanket' on the packaging, without the word 'luxury', so for those who want to do price-comparisons, I think this is probably the exact same product as 'SoftHeat' blankets sold elsewhere, and I think Amazon has the best price.
November 25, 2011
I ordered this in the king size (blue). After one night of use, it refused to stay on more than a few seconds. Amazon was great about the replacement, but the same thing happened with the replacement. I am returning for a refund and hopefully will find something more reliable.
October 22, 2010

PROS:
  • The conducting wires are barely noticeable and even distributed from head to toe
  • There are no hot or cold spots in this blanket that is something you will not find in many of the blankets reviewed here
  • It comes with a standard easy to use adjuster; It is non-computerized
  • It is perfectly safe with the low-voltage provision

CONS:
  • Some of the customers who purchased this electric heated blanket complained that it would not stay on for long. This is a defect that can not be corrected
  • It will not give you a long service after you buy it

back to menu ↑

Sunbeam Microplush Throw Electric Heated Warming Blanket

Sunbeam Microplush Heated Throw, Azure, TSM8US-R546-32A00

This is an intelligent electric heated blanket. Sunbeam Microplush Throw Electric Heated Warming Blanket will adjust heat according to the surrounding temperature. Its softness is nothing to compare and the comfort will make you want to stay in bed for longer. To assure you of its quality it comes with the manufacturer’s warranty. Sunbeam has been in the mattress business for more than a century now so you can trust them.

  • Product
  • Photos
My wife has fibromyalgia and the first thing she does in the evening is get wrapped up in this blanket in the evenings to relax. It really helps her. Great product.
April 28, 2010
We've had this product for over a month and has worked great until last night. Last night my wife was using it, when she smelled something burning. She started to look around her and noticed the thermostat dial had begun to melt and was burning. Sunbeam needs to be aware of this fire hazard as well as all of you who are considering purchasing this product.
December 11, 2013
I don't like the cold at all so I wanted a throw/blanket that would keep me warm, would be soft and wouldn't fall apart after a little bit of use.This throw met all my expectations and more. It's long enough for me to cover my feet up to my shoulders if I lie strsight or I can completely cover myself if I scrunch up a bit.The heating elements heat up quickly and the 3 hour auto off feature is really handy when I go to bed.I've washed it twice so far - both times in the washing machine and tumble dryer. It took very little time to wash. I followed the instructions but found I didn't need to iron it at the end (even better!)I love it!
January 3, 2010

PROS:
  • Safe warmth and one you can turn up to what you want
  • It is the softest blanket you will be coming across for a comfortable night sleep
  • For convenience, it comes with a 3-hour automatic off feature
  • It is big and you can easily take care of it since it is machine washable

CONS:
  • The thermostat is a fire hazard. Sunbeam should correct this
  • It cools off fast once it is off

back to menu ↑

Sunbeam’s Heat Throw Fleece

Sunbeam Fleece Heated Throw, Mushroom, TSF8US-R772-31A00

With this electric heated blanket, the winter cold will be the least of your problem. Sunbeam Fleece Heated Throw, Mushroom, TSF8US-R772-31A00 is precisely designed for comfort and keeps a good heat on you the entire night. It is an intelligent piece that will adjust to changes in temperature around you. A valid warranty from Sunbeam is a sure token for quality and reliability.

  • Product
  • Photos

Sunbeam Fleece Heated Throw, Garnet, TSF8US-R310-31A00

Curl up and relax, enveloped in the cozy warmth of this Sunbeam heated throw. Soft and cuddly fleece fabric fends off winter chills, while the Thermofine warming system senses and adjusts to deliver ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was very happy when I got this blanket, but less than a week later I am not so happy.Pros:- The blanket is less expensive than many electric blankets.- It's a good size. It is probably big enough to cover most of the top of a twin bed.- The fabric is soft.- I got the red one. It's a nice color. It looks like it does online.- It is warm. Not really hot, but it will definitely keep you warm.- There are three settings, low, medium and high.- It turns itself off after 3 hours.Cons:- I got it less than a week ago and it is already malfunctioning. The low and medium settings are fine, but the high setting will quickly stop producing heat. When I look at the control to see if it turned off, it shows a red light flashing on the high setting, rather than a solid red light as would be expected if it were on and functioning properly. This goes away if I unplug it, plug it back in, and then use a low or medium setting. If I choose high again, the problem repeats.- The cord detaches from the blanket quite easily. I have found that I have unplugged it accidentally. This is fairly annoying. (Not related to the first problem described.)After experiencing these problems I went online to view other consumer reports and found numerous complaints about Sunbeam products. If I had to do it over again I am sorry to say that I would not buy this blanket.
November 16, 2011
Wow...I just got this throw and I love it. It is so soft and I have not had it over the low setting. I got this because I am very cold natured and now have a roommate from up north that thinks 60 is warm while if it is below 75 I freeze. I only wish that they had the ability to turn off the automatic shut off. Other than that, I am very happy with this purchase. The cost here is about twice what I paid at the store tho so check out other places before you buy.
October 31, 2012
I got this when it was priced at $20, the blanket is very nice for the price. the wire is a little stiff, the fabric a little "plasticky", and the cords are placed at the bottom-middle of the blanket (the opposite of where my outlet is), but it gets very warm which is what I was worried it wouldn't do. I previously purchased a $60 twin sized electric blanket that only felt warm when another blanket was on top, this blanket gets warm without any added weight (so warm my chihuahua has to move after a while). I came back to buy another one as a Christmas gift and was surprised at the price jump. Did a little researching and then drove to my local Walmart and bought one for $19.99. I would recommend this item, especially at the $20 price, but probably not at $40+
December 7, 2012

PROS:
  • The power cord is long (6 ft) making it logistically good
  • It is auto sense to temperature; It will adjust according to your body and surrounding temperature
  • It will turn off after 3 hours; This makes it efficient on power usage
  • Easy to care since you can wash it in machine

CONS:
  • The high heat setting will stop working once you have it running for long
  • The cord easily gets detached from the blanket

back to menu ↑

Sunbeam’s Quilted Fleece

Sunbeam Quilted Fleece Heated Blanket with EasySet Pro Controller, Twin, Lagoon

It is created in thermofine heating system that senses and adjusts to surrounding temperature. Sunbeam Quilted Fleece Heated Blanket with EasySet Pro Controller is the perfect choice for unrivalled comfort and softness. The wiring is great and apart from the feel of a plastic fabric it will just feel like the traditional blanket. It will give you heat for 10 hours before it automatically turns off.

  • Product
  • Photos

Sunbeam Quilted Fleece Heated Blanket with EasySet Pro Controller, Twin, Lagoon

Climb into your toasty bed and sleep soundly in quilted fleece softness. The exclusive Thermofine warming system senses and adjusts temperature to deliver.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have been sleeping under electric blankets for 50 years, and this is one of the better ones I've gotten. Which is amazing considering how good the price was. The controls are easy to use even in the dark. You can't push the wrong button because there is only one button - on and off. The amount of heat is controlled with a dial. And there is enough light to see the button to turn it off in the middle of the night. It is easy to find the button, the only button, in the dark as well. And enough light, but not too much, to change the setting in the middle of the night. But because the setting doesn't change every time you turn the blanket off, you are unlikely to need to do that once you find the setting you like.The blanket is heavy enough to sleep under, during a black out, without the electric part of the blanket. I just did that for 6 days because of Sandy. Why is that important to someone who will be using the heat? Because my experience has taught me that a blanket that can stand on its own will provide very even heat when it is turned on and you need even heat.Some people complained that they could feel the wires in the blanket. This is true. It is also true of every other electric blanket I've had over the last 50 years.Some people complained that the blanket wasn't perfectly soft. This is also true. I use a duvet cover, but if you use a top sheet you will have similar experiences to mine. Because it wasn't perfectly soft, it also wasn't slippery. It stayed where it was supposed to stay inside the duvet cover. I expect it stays where it is supposed to stay with a top sheet too. I consider that a plus.
November 5, 2012
I have owned 2 Biddeford electric blankets and a Sunbeam, so that is what I am comparing this blanket against. The biddeford blankets were always quick to heat up and the Sunbeam not so much, so I expected this blanket to take some time in heating up. It does, but does not get as hot as my Biddeford throw. That's alright, but the real problem is when I dial it down to low, I don't really notice a difference. Even with my other sunbeam, there was a clear difference between the different levels. There may be a slight difference, but low is WAY too hot for me. Off is too cold, so I am stuck all night turning it on, waking up in a sweat to turn it off, then repeating the cycle.The control knob seems stiff. This could be good because it will never get accidentally changed during the night, as the biddeford analog controls do. However, it does take me two hands - one to hold the unit, and the other to twist.As others have noted, there is a full foot of unheated space on both sides (widthwise) of the blanket. This is not a problem for me, but could nudge a queen blanket towards needing a king in some situations.If you live in an especially cold environment (read: your room gets down to 40F or less), this blanket may work well for you. I am not sure what to do with it as it is not defective, nor is it working well for me. Perhaps I will trade it with someone who has an old blanket that is more responsive.Update: Once I had this blanket for maybe a year, it instead developed the opposite problem. There's still little difference between the settings, but now I leave it on high because it barely gets warm.Read more ›
January 11, 2013
Ordered two. When we got them, one would heat up to be very hot at a low setting the other had to be on high to get just warm. After a month, one just stopped working. Going to buy another one that may be more expensive, but hopefully more durable.
March 5, 2013

PROS:
  • You can wash it in the machine and that gives you an easy demand for care
  • Will give you warmth for long before turning off after 10 hours
  • Saves on heat energy

CONS:
  • The control knob is a bit stiff
  • There are cold and hot spots all over the blanket

back to menu ↑

Biddeford Heated Blanket

Biddeford Blankets Comfort Knit Heated Blanket, Queen, Sage

This electric heated blanket has earned the nickname of the source of therapeutic warmth. This is not a joke as you will get this kind of warmth. Biddeford Blankets Comfort Knit Heated Blanket comes in 3 colors and you can sure find one that goes well with you. The controls are great so there is no reason you are not purchasing it.

  • Product

Biddeford Blankets Comfort Knit Heated Blanket, Queen, Sage

Comfort Knit Heated Blanket featuring analog controller Twin/Full single control, Queen /King dual controlls, Therapeutic Warmth, Machine Washable, 5-year warranty in your choice of colors Cloud ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I LOVED this blanket when i got it. Since getting one as a Xmas gift I've loved electric blankets and this one was the best ever. It's very soft and more flexible than a traditional electric blanket. It worked well for about 11 months. I've never had a problem with Biddeford breaking unlike Sunbeam. At the end it wouldn't heat up unless I unplugged then replugged the cord at the base of the blanket. Annoying but the there was no piling since it's microfiber and that's the only reason I replaced my old Biddeford blankets.11 months old the plug at the base of the blanket caught fire. Luckily I was there when it happened and the plug was raised off the ground and not in contact with anything. I reacted by blowing it out and it reignited. I repeated blowing it out 3x before I could turn it off. Multiple emails to Biddeford (pictures of the burnt cord included) were never returned. I also purchased a second blanket for my husband before there were any problems with the old one. A week or two before the other one caught fire (and the blanket being less than 2 months old) I stepped on a portion of it that was on the floor and felt a shock go through my leg. I checked my foot and had a 1" black barb from the blanket embedded into my big toe. It was easy to remove but I will never purchase another Biddeford blanket.
June 11, 2012
I bought this blanket for my parents for Christmas. At first, they absolutely loved it. It was nice and warm and gave them a good night's sleep. Then, it stopped working. It worked very nicely for a total of 3 weeks before it died on us, and we took good care of it! We were careful to not get the cords tangled, we didn't put any heavy objects on top of the blankets, and we did not use it for more than 1 hour every night. I'd rather find another blanket that has a lifespan of more than a month.
January 22, 2012
This blanket is soft and warm. But beware, if you have any problems and try to contact Biddeford, you will be ignored. I have called Customer Service several times but only get an answering machine and never get a call back. I would not buy another Biddeford product.
January 1, 2014

PROS:
  • 5 years of warranty is an assurance of quality and goods service you will get from this electric heated blanket
  • Easy to care for since it is machine washable
  • It comes packed in zipper bag that you can use for other needs once you unpack it
  • Its warmth is therapeutic

CONS:
  • You have to keep replacing the cord to prevent the blanket from catching fire
  • Not the best choice if you want it to serve you for long

back to menu ↑

Ultra Soft Microfiber King Size Blanket

Soft Heat Ultra Micro-Plush Low-Voltage Electric Heated Triple-Rib King Size Blanket, Natural

It is an electric heated blanket that you can trust both on quality and safety. The micro-plush fiber is an assurance of comfort. You can bet on its safety with the low voltage that keeps you warm but not heated up. Soft Heat Ultra Micro-Plush Low-Voltage Electric Heated Triple-Rib King Size Blanket is energy efficient and comes with an auto power off in 10 hours. It is a good piece for the money.

  • Product
  • Photos
I bought this electric blanket because of an unusually cold winter where I live. I purchased this electric blanket for my bed, and got a sunbeam camelot electric blanket (twin size) for my couch\entertainment area. This blanket blows the sunbeam camelot out of the water. No comparison between this blanket and other types of electric blankets (Like comparing a Ferrari to a Pinto.)The blanket is extremely soft, smooth, and comfortable. The other reviews are right, there is a pre-heat function on this to where when it is first turned on, it will heat up the bed\sheets. The heat is SOFT, like the name makes you think. It's on the manual in all caps bold that the blanket WONT feel hot to the touch. DONT let this make you think it wont keep you warm. I had the best nights sleep EVER.PROS:-very soft cushy blanket-soft heat that keeps you warm and cozy all night (adjustable)-preheat and auto shutoff timer-good length wires-you can't feel the wires (I seriously can not find them... it must use magic :-P)-dual control (queen and king)-washable blanketCONS:-the blanket must be one side up/one side down.... and the side that must be up has a large white label on itOverall rating:This blanket is amazing. I highly recommend this luxurious feeling and heated blanket.
February 9, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this blanket. This was the third brand of blanket I ordered and it should have been the first. After having to return two blankets of another brand because they failed to work right and were constructed poorly, I wasn't sure what to expect. Before ordering this one I did a little research online and decided to order the best blanket I could find with the highest reviews. I found this. I may have spent a little more but WAY worth it. The other brands didn't even come close to the quality of SoftHeat. It is wonderful. It heats quick, evenly and doesn't get too hot. It gives off such a comforting heat. I don't know how I survived without it. I suggest to anyone looking or even considering a warming blanket to BUY THIS BRAND...you will not be sorry. IT IS A GREAT BLANKET. I think everyone should own one!!
January 25, 2011
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT. It is a complete waste of money. It looks nice and all of that but it worked LESS THAN A MONTH!!!!! It is completely useless! DON"T BUY THIS PRODUCT. A lot of folks write a review a few days after receiving the product. I didn't write this review until 45 days after using the product. My review would have been favorable in the first few days of use. I do like the blanket but it just didn't work.Nov 18 2012 UPDATEI emailed the manufacturer in an effort to use the 5 year warranty that comeswith the purchase of the Soft Heat Ultra Micro Plush electric blanket. I received a prompt response requesting model number and other such information that is present on the sticker attached to the blanket. Today I received notification that my replacement blanket has been shipped at their expense and I should receive it withing 7 to 10 days. I hope that the replacement blanket lasts longer than the one I originally purchased. Incidentally, the replacement blanket has a 5 yr warranty from the date of my original purchase. So for all the consumers that may have experienced the malfunction of their blankets please keep your receipts and contact the manufacturer for a replace. I will update this review only IF I experience problems with the replacement product.UPDATE April 4 2013I had a good experience as far as initially getting a replacement blanket. However, I have been using the replacement blanket for about 4 months and the cord that attaches to the bottom of the blanket is just about broken off. The white casing is coming apart from the copper wires and the copper wires are visible. Needless to say the blanket doesn't work anymore. I will be contacting the company again for another replacement.Read more ›
November 17, 2012

PROS:
  • It is the safest electric heated blanket you will come across; That comes from the low voltage feature and the hazard-proof test done on the piece
  • No bulky wire and it feels comfortable on your skin as it would with a conventional blanket
  • It is soft so you can be sure of the comfort you are walking into
  • Automatically turns off heat after 10 hours

CONS:
  • This blanket is one side up and one side down

back to menu ↑

Silent Comfort Electric Heated Blanket

Silentnight Comfort Control Electric Blanket, Fleece - Double

Desiring to sleep comfortably and in warmth? This silent comfort electric heated blanket is your perfect answer. Silentnight Comfort Control Electric Blanket is a quality you can be assured of and a piece that is worth every dime you are paying for it. it is big if you are looking for a piece to cover your double bed.

  • Product
  • Specification

Silentnight Comfort Control Electric Blanket, Fleece - Double

Can be used all year round; 120 x 135cm - Fits a Double Bed; Fleecy Polyester covering a heating element; Machine washable; Guaranteed for 3 years

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.co.uk
Brand

Silentnight

Model Number

419802AMZ

Colour

White

Item Weight

1.5 Kg

Product Dimensions

38 x 36.6 x 18.8 cm

Material

Fleece/Polyester

I cannot fault the speed of this company's delivery service - excellent. Very impressed. Very well packaged item. A bit of a challenge to unwrap. I have a double bed and ordered a king size electric blanket: size 137cm x 165cm approx (54x65 inches). This fits my double bed perfectly. I had read other reviews and on their recommendation this was the best option. A gap is left for the pillow area. Tie cords are used to attach to the bed. One in the middle and 2 at either end. 3 heat settings. 1 - Low Heat, 2 Medium Heat and 3 - High heat level. 1 detachable lead. The leaflet states the blanket can be washed which is a bonus. Only had it on my bed a few days and I use heat setting no 2 and leave it on for 10 mins before I go to bed. 1 is too low for me, but this can be used as an all night option. I have purchased Silent night products before and have been very happy with them. Another Great British made item. Great value with the offer price too with free P&P fabulous.Please note the description states this is a Mattress Topper. It is actually an electric blanket.
October 5, 2012
I work nights and climbing into a warm bed after a long hard shift is fantastic. On the third setting it makes the bed so cozy.
April 16, 2013
Read this if you want a size recommendation!I got this delivered today, so this is just my initial impression...I took the advice of other users and ordered the King Size for my Standard Double bed. If I had ordered the Standard Double instead, it would have been too small and left a large unheated area all the way around the edges. The King Size is a good fit for my Standard Double mattress and the heated elements go to about four inches of the edges at the sides and bottom which seems perfect to me. The area under the pillows is not heated and this is quite normal for any brand of heated under blanket.The overall width is just right for the mattress and doesn't need to be folded over the edges.The ties are nylon cord, with taped loops to feed them through when you secure it to the mattress to prevent it moving around as you sleep. The place where the cords are sewn into place looks very fragile and this is why I've deducted one star. I suspect they will work loose quite quickly and I will have to make a repair at some point in the future. This doesn't concern me too much as 10 minutes with a sewing machine will put that right when needed.If I have any more to add after using it for a few months, I will update this review...
February 10, 2015

PROS:
  • It can be used the year round for all seasons
  • You are getting a warranty for 3 years, which is a token of good quality
  • It’s big enough to fit in a double bed
  • Great heat and well distributed

CONS:
  • Unpacking it will present some problem
  • It leaves some space at the pillow area

back to menu ↑

Dreamland Intelliheat Blanket

Dreamland Intelliheat Harmony Double Heated Over Blanket with Dual Control

Luxurious comfort is what you are getting from this satin trimmed electric heated blanket. It is the kind that will keep you warm and comfortable on your bed probably giving you a reason to sleep for long. It is easy to take since it is machine washable. You can put Dreamland Intelliheat Harmony Double Heated Over Blanket with Dual Control in a dryer with no risk of creases.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Dreamland Intelliheat Harmony Double Heated Over Blanket with Dual Control

Ultra fast 5 minute heat up; Intelliheat technology; LED digital control; 6 temperature settings; Auto shut off timer 1hour

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.co.uk
Brand

Dreamland

Model Number

6970

Colour

White

Item Weight

2.7 Kg

Product Dimensions

45 x 45 x 9 cm

Material

Polyester

Moving to a King size bed, we needed to replace our 8 year old double duel control dreamland blanket.It was a good price on Amazon, and as usual, Amazon delivery was superb, but on unpacking the blanket from its inner packaging the first thing i noticed was the lack of an instruction book.The controls looked complicated, but i soon worked out how to use it. However, the design of the controls mean that they cant sit on the bedside tables as the back is curved and the on/off switch is on the back.So i had to hang them over the bed head for easy access. The down side of this is the fact that the LED control lights are very bright if left on all night and hinders sleep.The timer has just 2 settings and the heat 6 settings.But the blanket is warm, light and soft and the quick heat up is good and warms the bed in a matter of minutes.
December 11, 2011
This blanket does what it's supposed to do - keeps you warm and cosy all night. But two tiny critisisms. The controllers are designed to lie on the floor rather than the older type which sat on your bedside table. This means they can be trodden on and devoured by your hoover. The second point is the brightness of the blue LEDs. On a dual blanket, it effectively lights up the ceiling! So we tuck them under the bed, but it's all a bit of an effort bending down when you are our age!
November 18, 2011
Good bits:1. It has a setting for use before you get into bed, which heats the bed up in five minutes. It would be far too hot to sleep on this setting (and the instructions warn that it would be dangerous to do so) but it is very pleasant when you first get in.2. When I first started using electric blankets, many years ago, you were told not to put anything over them, other than a thin cover. This one specifically advises you to put a normal blanket over the top. Maybe this is true of all electric overblankets now, I don't know.Bad bits:1. Someone has found it necessary to justify their job by redesigning the control, which on previous blankets worked perfectly OK, with the result that it is now much more awkward to use. When you switch it on, you have to wait a few seconds while the handset indicates each setting in turn before settling down at the version you last had it on overnight, when what you probably want is the 'fast heat' setting referred to above. A more significant problem is that if you wake in the night because you have used too warm a setting, you can't just rotate a wheel on the side of the control, as you could with the previous blanket we used; first of all you have to locate the touch pad which controls the settings, then you have to keep pressing until it has gone all the way round the dial to the setting you want, which is probably one less than the one you had it on previously. By now you are wide awake.2. I don't know why, but the heating element on both this electric blanket and the one we had previously stop at about ankle level, so your feet are left to freeze.3. It's expensive (to buy. We haven't had it long enough yet to find out about running costs).
October 25, 2012

PROS:
  • In only 5 minutes you get your heat up
  • It is a smart electric heat blanket that will adjust warmth accordingly to your needs
  • You can opt for an auto shut up of either 1 or 9 hours
  • The wires are thin and evenly distributed to give you warmth all over
  • It is energy efficient
  • Easy to maintain since you only need to wash it over machine

CONS:
  • It is quite an expensive piece
  • The controllers lie on the floor instead of the bedside

back to menu ↑

Dreamland Double Heat Fleece

Dreamland Intelliheat Fleecy Heated Double Dual Under Blanket

Dreamland has a good offer on their Dreamland Intelliheat Fleecy Heated Double Dual Under Blanket. They have this one made to give you comfort and unmatched softness. In just 5 minutes it will be adequately warm making your night start on a positive note. If you only need one hour of heat you can have that. Still, you can let it run for 9 hours before it auto turns off.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Dreamland Intelliheat Fleecy Heated Double Dual Under Blanket

Ultra fast 5 minute heat up; Intelliheat technology; LED digital control; 6 temperature settings; Auto shut off timer 1hour

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.co.uk
Brand

Dreamland

Model Number

6963

Colour

White

Item Weight

998 g

Product Dimensions

46.5 x 36 x 12.6 cm

Material

fleece

I do not like being too warm in bed, so it may seem strange for me to buy a heated underblanket. However, I work shift work, and so heating the house efficiently is awkward. I got my mother one last year, and she extols it virtues, so I decided to get one for myself. Best decision ever.I use the preheat and also maybe an hour on low. On a cold morning, I use an hour of low before I get up so that the central heating has a chance to kick in. Bliss.I got the size single and use it on a double bed (so it is lose on the base and not tied down). Apart from the controller being in the middle, I have had no problems with it moving around or creasing. Good size, too, both length and width.I would highly recommend this product. I would also recommend waiting for a good price - the price on this item fluctuates a lot on Amazon (£60 to £30 for the single), so if you can, then wait until it seems reasonable before snapping it up.
October 28, 2012
So there are already many reviews mentioning how wonderful and warm this blanket is and so I'm not going to go into any of those details. It heats up quickly, its warm throughout the night and seems like a good quality product that'll last for years to come. Overall does everything an electric blanket should. Below are the details that all reviewers have left out.1. The blanket fixes to the bed via tie cords. This is NOT a fitted blanket. There are 3 cords, one that ties around the middle of the bed and 2 on either end that loops around each end through the top loop of the blanket and around the other corner - this is all explained in the booklet provided. I was a bit disappointed that it was not a fitted blanket but it was my fault for not reading this in the product. The tie cords fit well once secured and so far the blanket has not moved much. This is the only negative point about the blanket, but it has not put me off giving a 5/5 rating so you can see how little it bothered me.2. The remote for controlling the blanket is on the right side. What this means is that when you are laid down on the bed with your head on the pillow facing up towards the ceiling, the controller is on the right hand side of the bed. This was perfect for me as this is where the plug is. If this is not the case for you then you should consider buying a plug extension.3. There are 6 settings for heating the blanket. 1) is the coldest and probably never be used 2) is apparently just if you get cold feet 3) is for normal sleeping temperature 4) is for those that want it more cosy 5) is the maximum temperature for really cold nights and lastly 6) is the program that is used to heat the bed to a maximum temperature within 5 minutes.Read more ›
September 26, 2012
This is a great electric blanket. They really have improved over the last few years. Size, comfort, pre-heat, timer all great. I read quite a few Amazon reviews and was glad I went with this one. Only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because I feel the description is slightly misleading. You can set it for 1 or 9 hours only, not anything in between. A really good buy though.
February 16, 2012

PROS:
  • A champion in saving power
  • Auto-shut after 1 and 9 hours
  • It is super soft and comfortable on your skin
  • Will give you heat in just 5 minutes

CONS:
  • The description is exaggerated. They say king size but it is less than that
  • The cord is way too short for your comfort

back to menu ↑

Trillium Electric Heated Travel Blanket

Trillium Worldwide Car Cozy 2 12-Volt Heated Travel Blanket (Navy, 58 x 42)

If you can’t stop travelling and you need to keep warm even outside, you will need an electric heated blanket that will give you warmth. Trillium heated blanket is kind of a blanket you need. Trillium Worldwide Car Cozy 2 12-Volt Heated Travel Blanket (Navy, 58 x 42) is intelligent and will give you warmth to your satisfaction. It is big enough to give warmth to 2 people so you should not worry if you are coming with a travel partner.

  • Product
  • Photos

Trillium Worldwide Car Cozy 2 12-Volt Heated Travel Blanket (Navy, 58" x...

Great for cars, trucks, RVs and boats, cold morning starts and long hauls, this blanket offers both comfort and warmth whether plugged in or not. Its 42 X 58" size is large enough for two people and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The main reason that I am writing a review on this item is because it only had 3 stars because some yahoo decided to write the only review - and he hadn't even purchased the item!! I almost overlooked this blanket because it had only scored three stars. At any rate, let me just assure you that you can buy this blanket with confidence. I was looking for a heated travel blanket, but absolutely could not find one in stores this winter. I took a chance on this blanket, and am very happy with it.The blanket is a lovely, soft, snuggly fleece material. It is a cute black and red plaid. It is a larger size than some of the other electric travel blankets. The plug has a green light that shows you when it is plugged in and on. It is nice because it has an automatic shut off timer on the on/off switch. It does not instantly heat up, but most full sized electric blankets do not do this anyhow either. When the blanket gets going, it provides a wonderful noticeable heat.The only downside is that it is not machine washable - only spot clean. I did not find any of the travel electric blankets that were machine washable though, so this is pretty much par for the course. I think that you may be able to hand wash the blanket as long as the 12 volt plug is covered and kept out of the water (my opinion only of course). The only reason I think this is from my prior experience with traditional electric blankets. You can machine wash those blankets, but it is because the electric plug disconnects. These travel blankets don't have a plug that disconnects... therefore the direction to spot clean only.
February 11, 2010
My boyfriend got me this blanket for Christmas because he was tired of either sweating or listening to me shiver every time we take a winter ride in the car. We own a small car and since he is bigger than me and usually driving, the heat seems to hit him much more directly. This resulted in a constant heat-up, heat-down battle that was only resolved with the purchase of this blanket. I didn't have any of the odor or fragility issues that some of the other reviewers did, so maybe I just got lucky but for now, we can leave the heat off or on low so that my boyfriend doesn't cook while I stay toasty warm underneath the blanket. Even though I have a fairly unique situation, this heated throw provided the perfect solution.
February 16, 2006
We bought these March 2005 for the kids to keep warm when first entering our cold vehicle in Colorado winters. The timer is a great feature especially if you have it plugged into an UN-switched power outlet. So far, they've been great. Cleaning is the only issue. No machine washing. Spot cleaning works fine though and everyone is still happy. Keep in mind that these are child size or maybe the leg area of an adult.
August 11, 2008

PROS:
  • It the best electric heated blanket that you can use for travel and camping
  • 8-foot long cord is enough to reach where you want it to
  • You can automatically time it for a switch off in 30 or 45 minutes

CONS:
  • It is shorter thus won’t be enough from head to toe
  • Only comes in one color: navy

How to Choose the Best Electric Blanket?

As we said in the opening statement, it is not easy to find the best electric heated blanket. There is so much to choose from. To make things easy for you here is how to choose the best electric heated blanket:

  • Get it right with the features: each electric heated blanket comes with different features (majorly the same features but a few differences). Go for the one with a long cord, intelligent heat control, even heating and much more as you would want.
  • Get the size right: there are small and large blankets. You should define the kind you want to suit your needs. A smaller size that does not cover your entire body is bad for you
  • The price you are paying: you should not pay more than the worth of your blanket. If it is something good then you should pay but each dime should be worth it. Go for something within your budget as well as one that will be good for your needs.
  • Quality and durability are must-have attributes: you need something worth your money. Such an electric heated blanket should be able to give a long period of service before it needs repair or before you go out to shop for another one.
  • Ease of care: you do not need an electric heated blanket that will need so much for care. A better piece will only require little care and give you good service for a long time.
  • Safety: you will need a blanket that will not be a fire hazard. It should give that assurance before you commit to buy it.

If you were not sure of the kind of an electric heated blanket to buy now you know better. Cold should not be a reason why you never sleep well. You have an answer to that and it is all about finding the best electric heated blanket. You have been provided with a few choices and what remains is to go for the one you find best. On how to choose the best you have been duly guided on that and you have no reason to get anything wrong. Enjoy your shopping and bring safe warmth to your bed.

Competition — The Best Reviewed Electric Heated Blanket

You have had a look at the 10 of the best electric heated blankets. It is time now you settle for one that will be the best for you. To give you the best electric heated blanket we will use ratings from customers who have bought it in the past. We will also base this on the electric heated blanket with the best features you would need. Sunbeam’s Heat Throw Fleece got the best review from customers. The manufacturer has been in the blanket business for 100 years and got it all right with this electric heated blanket. It is a smart piece that will give you the warmth you need and nothing more than what is comfortable. This makes it efficient on power use. Do not forget that it is a smooth and comfort blanket that will keep you longer on the bed.

Sunbeam may have been in the blanket business for many years but that does not give it autonomy. There are other great pieces you can buy for an electric heated blanket. A good example is Ultra Soft Microfiber King Size Blanket which is a real completion for the best-reviewed blanket in this top 10 list. This one is a luxurious piece that comes in a large piece. It is a perfect choice for anyone who wants moderate warmth as they sleep. When it comes to safety this is the electric heated blanket you can bet your money on. It is super quality and will use your power efficiently. There is not much not to like about this piece. If you make a purchase now I would assure you of quality, softness, and safety that is not all that common in other brands.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Wikipedia.org

Ebay.com

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars ,
(1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password