10 Best Fold Up Bed Reviews — Choices Worth Your Money

A fold up bed offers both comfort and convenience and is a versatile alternative to the traditional bed. This type of bed is preferred in a variety of situations – from camping to vacation homes and even guest rooms indeed its list of uses is as boundless as it’s wondrous. One thing that stands out is that a fold up bed can significantly change one’s life for the better. In case you are planning to buy one, it’s important to first familiarize with different types, designs and offers available out there. This review talks about some of the top options one can consider going for.

Night Therapy Weekender Elite Folding Guest-Bed

 

Night Therapy Weekender Elite Folding Guest-BedPerfect option for dorm rooms, hotels, house guests, sleepovers, bed and breakfast inns, traveling and camping, this fold up bed by Zinus offers quick and convenient sleeping solution when you need it. Night Therapy Weekender Elite Folding Guest Bed gives a luxurious feeling at a very affordable price and comes with a premium high-quality pressure relieving comfort foam mattress for excellent comfort. In addition, it’s designed with a sturdy deluxe-steel folding frame with casters that are uniquely positioned to help you move the fold up bed easily.

  • This 4-inch mattress comes with an exceptional cover.
  • It boasts a worry-free one-year limited warranty and a bonus storage bag where you can store your bed sheets, pillow, and even blankets.
  • 3 inches of pressure-relieving comfort foam to provide you with great support and a 1-inch top layer made of fiber padding.
  • Made using the highest-quality of foam that is CertiPUR-US approved for content, durability as well as performance.
  • Product
  • Photos

Night Therapy Weekender Elite Folding Guest Bed with Bonus Storage Bag

Quick and convenient, this unique folding guest bed by Zinus is the perfect sleep solution when you need it. The bed neatly folds and includes a bonus storage bag, and the folding frame has swivel ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
love love love this bed i just knew it was not going to be comfortable, but to my surprise the first time i slept on it I actually overslept!!! The bed is so so soft and comfortable. I got rid of three air beds due to them deflating while i was sleep! but so glad i brought this bed this it is the best! u wont be sorry trust me buy this bed.
February 13, 2011
Judging from the compact storage size of this bed, I first thought it couldn't be as thick and plush as described. But it definitely is!! I'm so impressed with the little space it takes up in my closet when compacted and stored in it's included case. It was so easy to set up for my weekend guest; I just lifted the small case and unfolded the bed with the mattress. My guest was very impressed with the sleep quality and asked where I found it. I also received it within the estimated time frame.
November 17, 2010
The set up is a little strange having the fold the matress in to the back and securing it with the strap isn't always easy, but over all as a temporary bed it is perfect. I would much prefer to sleep on this over any air mattress. I just used normal twin sixed sheet, they were a little wide but it seems to tuck in alright and it looked fine.I am amazed at how easy (though akward) it is to pack up and shove in a closet while you don't need it.I would recomend this to a friend and allready have.
March 30, 2011
PROS:
  • Does not occupy huge space – compact
  • Offers great comfort
  • Long lasting

CONS:
  • The comfort of the mattress does not last very long

back to menu ↑

Coleman Queen Airbed Cot with 4D Battery Pump

Coleman Queen Airbed Cot with Side Tables and 4D Battery Pump

Do you usually find yourself camping out many times and in need of a portable fold-up bed that is comfortable enough to sleep on? If yes, the Coleman Airbed is one of the best choices for you in this situation. It has a lot of great features for camping and it is a breeze to assemble and take down. What’s more, the bed inflates/deflates easily and conveniently inside the storage bag.

  • The sturdy steel frame that holds up very well hence can support a weight of up to 600 pounds. This means that two people can use this fold up bed just like they would in any regular bedding structure.
  • Features 2-side tables with cup holders to keep drinks and your other personal things close on both sides of this bed.
  • 4D battery powered pump that helps in inflating and deflating the bed easily.
  • Versatile design to allow for both outdoor/indoor comfort and cot for elevated sleeping support to protect you against cold/damp seeping from the ground.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Coleman Queen Airbed Cot with Side Tables and 4D Battery Pump

Unfold added comfort for you or your guests with a Coleman Queen Airbed Cot with Side Tables and 4D Battery Pump. The versatile design allows you to sleep indoors or outdoors in elevated support with ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

59 x 22 x 78 inches ; 92.6 pounds

Shipping Weight

40.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

2000012376

My family and I have tent camped about 6 times a year for the last 7 years. We have gone through the "evolution of sleeping gear" starting with sleeping bags on the ground (ew), pads under sleeping bags (ew), cheap air mattress (sore back), expensive air mattress (ugh) and then finally....we found this bed. This is an excellent solution for the best sleep you are able to get when you are outside in the elements. Off the ground, firm for your back, and plenty of space. I (5'2' 120 lbs mom of two) can set this up w/ no help in less than 5 min minus blow up time. A trick i have found that works: set it up as soon as you get to your camp, air up the mattress as full as you can, then lay on it for a few minutes. Let it set for a couple of hours, this lets the material stretch so that you can fill it a little more which will keep it nice and tight through the night. I have had mine for 2 years, going camping in Beavers Bend, OK today as a matter of fact. Can't wait to break it out again!
November 1, 2013
This is exactly what we were looking for. Worked perfectly for us when camping and we set it up when we had guests over!!
July 21, 2013
Easy set up, queen size fitted sheet fits well. Holds my husband of 220 and I very nicely.You will enjoy it
February 27, 2014
PROS:
  • Provides double sleeping space
  • Durable structure
  • Backed up by a one-year limited warranty
  • Provides better support

CONS:
  • A bit more expensive than a typical air-bed

back to menu ↑

iBed in a Box Hide-Away Guest Bed

iBed in a Box Hideaway Guest Bed

This is a comfortable and convenient fold up bed that is perfect to offer over-night guests. iBed in a Box Hideaway Guest Bed has locking legs and a great spring support to make even those impromptu sleepovers feel comfortable and luxurious for friends and relatives. Contemporary and classic too, this guest bed can be stored easily underneath a bed or even in a closet until needed. The bed comes fully-assembled hence does not need any type of assembling you just have to unfold it and use it.

  • The frame of this bed is made from tubular steel hence it is very sturdy and durable too.
  • Comes with 2 inches foam mattress that comfortably sits 16 inches off the ground and is supported by such a flexible mesh that usually contours to the user’s body.
  • Easy to fold to 5.5 inches thick for purposes of easy storage and unfolds in a matter of seconds.
  • Great for kids and adults weighing up-to 275 pounds and comes with a bonus storage-bag.
  • Product

iBed in a Box Hideaway Guest Bed

Thousands of satisfied customers have been amazed at how well they sleep on an iBED. Provides better sleep, is more reliable, and quicker to set up than air mattresses. Arrives ready to use, no ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
ive been using this as my only bed for probably about 3 months now. i waited to post a review till i had some time to really try it out. the reason i purchased it is because i have a small living space, and needed something to sleep on that was comfortable for my back, but easily put out of the way so i could use the space for other things.firstly this is very comfortable. its not huge, but im just under 6' tall and medium build, and its just great for me.second, its very compact. the mattress slides through the legs and closes up, but i just fold it in half and place it up and down against the wall with the folded bed in front of it to hold it in place.third, its easy to set up and take down. the first couple times were a little odd since it was new, but now i fold it up in less time than it takes to make a bed. i do it every morning, and it leaves all that open space to use as needed.though it feels somewhat lightweight, the construction feels pretty sturdy. i just wouldnt try to get too acrobatic on it since it does have a weight limit. i was attracted to the lack of plastic parts. i cant stand nicely made metal devices that have important moving parts made out of plastic. its just a cheap and crappy way to make things. this bed is built well and the important moving parts are all metal. thank you ibed!!the springs seem to help a lot for comfort. they creak a tiny bit sometimes, but very little. the frame is surrounded by springs connected to metal rods that support a nylon mesh type material between them. havent noticed any problems after months of sleeping on it so i think it will hold up.so thats the story. great bed, im really glad i bought it. i slept on a futon for years, and i like this much more.Read more ›
December 6, 2013
This bed is perfect for what I need it for. It has nice support for the foam cushion. The set up takes less than two minutes. However, when opening the middle can spring closed again, so be aware when setting this up if doing it in a tight space, you could get a finger caught. The legs lock in place when set up, but they sometimes do not lock during the flip transition from opening. It is perfect when you get it set up and actually the frame is much more comfortable than all other trundle/cot type beds I use for guests at my bed and breakfast. It hides away under a normal bed frame and also can easily tuck behind a headboard if the bed is a couple inches away from the wall. It is as wide as half a queen bed frame when under the bed. I at first purchased just one, but then have purchased more since using the first one and liking it. This is very useful for my purposes as a spare bed that can be tucked away in my guest rooms. It is the best value for a twin bed that can be tucked away for storage. It has both the frame and the pad, so all you need to purchase is a twin sheet set and pillows. All the other twin trundle/cots I have seen are not this affordable that come with both the support and the sleeping pad.
July 10, 2015
Received folding bed promptly after ordering. Set up was easy right out of the box and even my son who is 6'3" found it comfortable. I got it to occasionally sleep in front of the woodstove which works well as it is very compact and folds easily to store behind a chair. Be careful when opening the frame for the first time as I was standing too close and my pants leg got caught in the middle hinge bracket and it cut a hole in them the size of a quarter.
April 2, 2013
PROS:
  • Can be used in guest rooms, vacation homes, for camping and even in condos
  • Easy to store
  • Budget friendly
  • Very durable

CONS:
  • A bit heavy

back to menu ↑

Linon Home Décor Luxor Folding Bed

Linon Home Decor Luxor Folding Bed with Memory Foam

Designed to provide ultra comfortable support for a restful night’s sleep, this is such a simple and easy-to-use fold up bed. Linon Home Decor Luxor Folding Bed with Memory Foam has a memory foam that allows you to sleep comfortably as it can contour easily to your body. It also sets up in mere seconds and is compact enough to store away in closets. You can use this bed as a lounger, extra bed, kid’s bed, guest bed or day bed.

  • Boasts casters that allow you to move the bed easily.
  • Has a strong and durable metal tube frame and sturdy wood slat to provide you with excellent support.
  • The mattress features a top layer of memory foam and a luxurious beige damask fabric cover that is elegantly designed.
  • This fold up bed comprises of a mattress and a steel frame.
  • Product
  • Photos

Linon Home Decor Luxor Folding Bed with Memory Foam

The Ultimate Folding Bed is simple and easy to use. The bed sets up in mere seconds, while the thick mattress provides your guests with ultra-comfortable support for the restful night

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
While the construction of the black metal frame appears to be sturdy, the slats in the middle are a cheap heavy plastic that squeak with the slightest movement. I'm not sure if this will last very long, and definitely would not accommodate a larger person. The description states memory foam layer. I have a few memory foam items. I do not see memory foam in this mattress whatsoever. Definitely does not feel like memory foam. The bed was more like a camping cot. I had to purchase additional padding for the mattress in order to make it usable. Very disappointing.
May 6, 2011
I'm not guessing on this. I'm not saying there is no memory foam based on how the mattress feels. I cut open the mattress and looked. It is one piece of uniform foam. There is no difference between the top of the mattress and the bottom.
September 27, 2013
This is the most comfortable roll away bed I've ever tried! Mattress is firm and smooth. Great for kids or adults. Super happy with this purchase! Only took 10 minutes from box to made up bed. Thank you!!
October 5, 2011
PROS:
  • Can accommodate up to two individuals
  • Easy to assemble and fold up
  • Compact and comfortable

CONS:
  • Quite noisy when moving it from one place to another

back to menu ↑

Coleman 2000020271 ComfortSmart Cot

Coleman 2000020271 ComfortSmart Cot

The best fold up bed should be able to last for a very long time, come at a very reasonable price tag and have a very comfortable mattress. Luckily, this Coleman ComfortSmart Cot meets all these qualifications. It is inexpensive making it a great choice for those on a budget. It features a durable construction with a heavy duty steel frame capable of holding the maximum weight capacity of up to 275 pounds. It is also very compact and can be folded up to fit in almost all types of car trunks.

  • When folded, this fold up bed measures 34.3 inches by 25.4 inches by 5.5 inches but when unfolded, it measures 69 inches by 25 inches by 15 inches. This makes it one of the smallest folding beds available.
  • Comes with a thick foam mattress and the bed boasts the spring coil suspension that offers superior comfort.
  • One year limited warranty.
  • The bed fits heights up to 5 feet and 7 inches while weighing 18.1 pounds only making it very lightweight.
  • Product
  • Specification

Coleman 2000020271 ComfortSmart Cot

2000020271 Features: -Bi-Fold frame. -Covered foam mattress pad. -Supports up to 250 lbs. -Spring construction for a bed-like feel. Product Type: -Cot. Generic Dimensions: -Comfortably fits a person ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

69 x 25 x 15 inches ; 14 pounds

Shipping Weight

16.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

2000020271

I like the cot, it's simple to open and set up, it's comfortable. It is not meant for anyone over 5'7", for your info- your feet will hang off. That's fine, I knew that when I bought it- BUT- the cot goes up on either side when set up because the middle leg is a tad too long or something. When you lay on it, it flattens out fine, but the middle leg is slightly off - it leans to one side-and doesn't lock into place like the end legs. I returned that cot, fearing premature breakage due to unnecessary strain on the middle brace, where the weight of the body is. See the photos to see what I mean.I ordered a replacement because I like the cot- and the second one came promptly, but it also did the same thing- the ends pop up when the middle leg is locked into place. It also looks like it was used and returned- see photo of gunk and scratches on leg brace, and how it is off level when laid down upon. It isn't as bad as the first one as far as leaning.I decided to keep it and just use it til it breaks, since I like the cot overall. It's very comfortable, mattress is on a tarpaulin on springs attached to the frame- Just be aware of the strain on the middle brace if yours does this.
January 7, 2016
I got this for my 5 year old because he always ends up sleeping with me. Now that I have this next to me, I'm not betting kicked and punched after he comes in. He loves it, and said he slept great. He said it was very comfortable and now he cant wait to sleep in it every night. That wasn't the point of me getting it. It is easy to fold up and store away, and the mattress fits right on the bottom when you fold it up, then you can use the strap to keep it closed. It does not take up much space at all when its folded up. You can store this anywhere that you have about 4-5 inches of space to slide it into. I'm sure this would be great for camping as well, but we are using it for home right now and it seems to be a great hit with my son. My 2 year old even got up there and fell asleep on it. I didn't expect that at all. He wanted to try it out when we took it out of the box, and he just climbed right up there covered up and went to sleep. My kids like to be comfortable, they are not going to fall asleep just anywhere, so if my kids are comfortable, then it's definitely a comfortable bed. I laid on it for a few minutes as well just to see if it was something I would be able to sleep on, and I do not like hard mattresses, I like sleeping on a cloud. This is not like sleeping on a cloud, but it is comfortable, I think if we were to use these for camping, I wouldn't have a problem sleeping on it for a few nights. The price is great too, we saw one similar at Walmart for $150. The mattress is easy to just wipe off for cleaning, but does not come off. I would have liked it even more if I could take the cover off to wash it, but I'm happy with the material and I can just wipe it off.Read more ›
February 27, 2015
I use this cot to sleep next to my bedbound mother. It sets up quickly, requires little floor space and folds up nicely with the mattress pad when the pad is positioned on the bottom side. Stable, sturdy and after 6 months’ use, the sleeping surface is not even beginning to sag, nor do I believe it will, and I have not heard it squeak once. The accompanying mattress pad is a bit thin, so I lay a folded quilt on top of the mattress and sleep well. When you consider most cots like this do not come with a mattress pad, no points deducted. A well made, quality product. Money well spent!
April 5, 2014
PROS:
  • Made of comfortable foam
  • Durable and sturdy for the price
  • Perfect fold up bed for occasional over-night guests, camping, kid’s sleepovers or dorm rooms
  • Inexpensive and does exactly what it needs to

CONS:
  • Small in size hence a large individual will not be in a position to sleep on this fold up bed comfortably

back to menu ↑

Sleep Master Traveler Elite Folding Guest Bed

Sleep Master Traveler Elite Folding Guest Bed

Another outstanding fold up bed choice everyone should consider is this high-quality bed from Zinus. Sleep Master Traveler Elite Folding Guest Bed is very convenient to set-up and is designed with a decent construction that allows for great sleeping support. The bed can be folded up in half thereby making it much easier to store when not in any use. You can also expect this bed to be strong enough for long-time use and long-time keeping as well.

  • Made from the highest-quality foam that is CertiPUR-US approved for content, durability as well for performance.
  • The mattress features two major layers one made of fiber padding that is 0.5 inches and the other one made of pressure-relieving comfort foam that is 2.5 inches.
  • Made of 14-inch sturdy and high-quality steel folding bed frame that is durable from pressure and rust.
  • Worry-free one year limited warranty.
  • Measures 31 inches by 75 inches by 17 inches when unfolded making it a compact model.
  • Product
  • Photos

Sleep Master Traveler Elite Folding Guest Bed

The Sleep Master folding guest bed by Zinus is perfect for overnight guests. 0.5 inch of fiber padding with a 2.5 inch base of Pressure Relieving Comfort Foam, ensures your guest will get a great ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
We have a super tiny little studio with room for only one twin bed. This folding cot was a perfect option to create a second sleeping area that can be easily folded up and placed in the corner during the day when the area is being used for other purposes.PROS1. It was shipped immediately when we ordered and arrived very quickly.2. It was well packaged and easy to open.3. When it's folded up, the mattress is placed inside on the bottom part of the cot where the legs fold down. A clamp holds it in the folded position. To use, simply release the clamp, remove the mattress, unfold and flip over the cot frame and lay the mattress on top.4. The mattress and canvas support frame attached by springs around the edges is very soft. There are no bars or other objects poking through the mattress.5. It's light and easy to move.6. It's surprisingly compact. We have managed to fold it up and place it behind a full length curtain where it is barely visible during the day.CONS1. It might be soft for some people who prefer hard mattresses. This can be easily remedied by placing a board underneath the mattress.2. It didn't arrive with the advertised carry bag.Overall, this cot is a great value for the money and I am super happy!
October 19, 2012
I came home on leave and was going to be staying at my parents house for a month- a month that I didn't want to spend sleeping on the couch. I bought this because of the price, hoping that it would be comfortable, and it was. It was very soft. I managed to sleep for a month on it comfortably, and it held up very well- with a two year old using it as his trampoline on a regular basis- for that time. It only takes about a minute to fold up and put away, or unfold and take out, if you're not storing it in the bag. I didn't store it in the bag while I was staying with my parents, because I was using it every night. It went easily back into the bag once it was time for me to put it into storage, though. An excellent product that I would recommend.
February 14, 2013
Its a cot. Its not going to walk the dog. But after buying, rebuying, and rebuying again various brands of air mattresses (punchline: they all freakin' leak. ALL OF THEM), I decided I needed a different option. So I bought one. And I have used it for 3 guests, for 12 nights of sleeping. Its pretty comfy and has remained so. One guest would come home and spontaneously and lounge on the cot/bed while we talked. Given that I have a couch, its telling that she chose the bed. It is also really easy to put away and take out. And its pretty compact. I live in an apartment with 1 closet. So the cot has to fit into a walk-in closet with shoes, clothes, hot water heater, blankets, coats, random knickknacks…you get the picture. It folds up so nicely and compactly. Its lovely. It won't change your life or cure cancer, but your guests won't wake up on the floor, taken out by a slow leak in an air mattress.
March 10, 2014
PROS:
  • Easy to store
  • Versatile and very comfortable ensuring you get a great night sleep
  • Light weight and easy to move
  • Affordable

CONS:
  • Not soft enough for some people

back to menu ↑

Milliard Folding Cot/Bed-74 by 31 Inch

Milliard Lightweight 74 by 31-Inch Folding Cot Bed with Mattress Mattress Color May Vary

Measuring 74 inches by 31 inches, this fold up bed manufactured in Italy is no doubt one of the best options you can get. It is larger than most fold up beds but superior in design and function. Used by a lot of luxury hotels and even resorts, Milliard Folding Cot/Bed provides optimal comfort and is sure to last for a very long period of time even with constant use. It is, therefore, a great choice for people expecting many guests.

  • Supported by a very strong and durable frame that can easily accommodate big individuals.
  • Comes with a very comfy 4-inch thick premium foam mattress that provides a lot of support.
  • Features four wheels on the bottom of the frame to allow the bed to be rolled away easily and stored.
  • Boasts a hinged-lock bar that keeps this fold up bed folded securely when not in use.
  • Product
  • Photos

Milliard Lightweight 74 by 31-Inch Folding Cot/Bed with Mattress (Mattress Color May...

The ideal solution to temporary sleeping accommodations. Whether its an unexpected sleep over guest, family reunion, dorm rooms or camping and traveling this super strong, yet very maneuverable ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
As i' m writing This review i' m laying on this cot. First off description states it measures 31"x 79". That is NOT accurate the actual size of bed / mattress which what matters the most " notice said bed not frame " is 30.5 x 71.5 which is way off than 79 stated. now i' m 6' tall 190 lbs big guy and my legs touch the frame almost unless i lay my head on the edge of the bed then they wont touch of course on my back. I slept on this cot tonight and woke up pretty rested of course it will take some getting used to. tossed and turned a little at first but then it was all good. the reason why i' m giving it 4 and not 5 not because of the misleading measurements but because the springs dip in pretty good when you are on top of it to flex and hold your weight. basically it sinks you in the bed not too much but it's noticeable. of course this might not be the case if you are 160 lbs or less. i would suggest they make the springs stronger to hold up the weight they are kind of flimsy and stretch too much for big adult. Other than that it's good value and pretty good cot for what's for and you can't go wrong for the price. it's even cheaper now than what i paid for it . so go for it if you need a good lightweight cot for a good price.If this was a helpful review to you click yes at the bottom.
July 12, 2013
Very dependable and pretty comfortable as well. Lightweight is right. Not heavy at all. Even my 10 year old can assemble and disassemble it just as fast as I can. Thanks.
April 3, 2013
This product must be for children because after several uses by adults the wheel broke (plastic) and frame bend. Not very sturdy for adult usage.
August 26, 2013
PROS:
  • Quick and easy to put together
  • Lightweight and supports weight of up-to 264 pounds
  • Very comfortable just like a traditional bed
  • Portable

CONS:
  • The mattress is not firm enough but you can put a wood board in between to make it firmer

back to menu ↑

Milliard Super-Strong Folding Roll-Away Bed

Milliard Super Strong Portable Twin Size Folding Rollaway Bed, with Wooden Slats and Comfortable Foam Mattress

This is yet another high-quality fold up bed from Milliard that also makes its place in this best fold-up beds list. It is manufactured with comfort, safety, and quality in mind to ensure you get maximum satisfaction out of it. Milliard Super Strong Portable Twin Size Folding Rollaway Bed comes included with a high-end memory foam mattress that offers a nice and comfortable sleeping experience. In addition, it is an ideal bed for surprise sleepover guests and an excellent roll-away for frequent travelers, college students and also apartment dwellers.

  • Measuring 38 inches by 79 inches, this bed features a 4-inch thick foam mattress.
  • 17-wooden slats to offer firm and flexible support to the mattress. This prevents sagging and also gets rid of that ubiquitous squeaking.
  • Features a metal frame that is made using square tubing for added durability and strength. It can, therefore, support people with a maximum weight of up to 264 pounds.
  • Four wheels allowing you to move the bed easily from one place to another and self-open legs for quick assembly.
  • Product
  • Photos

Milliard Super Strong Portable Twin Size Folding Rollaway Bed, with Wooden Slats...

The MILLIARD Super Strong Portable Folding Rollaway Bed is the ideal solution for surprise sleepover guests. This concealable cot isn

Buy this item
amazon.com
I rarely write a review about the products I buy anywhere. However, this product really stroke a bad chord with me and I am writing this review to warn other potential customers about what I experienced.I bought a copy of this same bed a year ago almost around this time for the same price. The bed was sturdy enough to last a year of constant use without having any serious problems. As the bed frame was gradually getting bent out, a few of the wooden bars came off recently and so I decided to buy another copy of the same bed. After I opened the product this last weekend, I was shocked to see how low the quality of this product has come to in just one year.To be specific for those who are interested:-- The thickness of the wooden bars have gone from almost half an inch to maybe 1/3 or less. The new ones are of very low quality and in fact one of them broke right after I sat on the set up bed (with the mattress)!. Two others were creaking while the third one had a deep ridge on it which guaranteed it would not last even a day. And due to reduced thickness, the springiness of the bed is so bad one falls inside the bed when lying on it.-- The mattress itself has gone down in thickness and, worse, in strength of the foam. It was so bad that my back touched the woods a few times I tossed on the bed.-- The pieces of plastic that hold the wooden springs are of such low quality and are so flimsy that some of the wooden pieces were at the point of coming off right by sitting on it. When I tried to adjust one of the pieced to see if it would last long enough, it almost came off from the metal frame!Now, this same product had none of these issues just a year ago.Read more ›
October 8, 2013
OK - so we got this bed from Amazon for overnight guests, and frankly, couldn't be happier with it. It's lightweight, easy to move around, and quite comfortable. The mattress is thin, but quite firm, providing a lovely level of support. We've found that it can be folded up completely made up with comforter and pillows (with a little extra effort).The only negative thing we have to say is that the bed did NOT arrive with assembly / usage instructions. Therefore I'm going provide such below:The bed arrives with a small bag of parts which I'll inventory for you:1 assembly wrench4 black plastic caster wheels4 wheel nuts (with black caps on one side)2 silver colored stabilizer bars2 hinge bolts2 hinge bolt nuts2 black plastic lock bars (these hold the bed closed when folded, and may already be attached to the bed)4 squared off black plastic feetThe bed itself arrives as follows:Pre-folded, the bed has a crease end (where the mattress folds in half) and a terminus end (where the two ends of the folded mattress meet). The bed is incased/supported by a black metal frame with wooden slats. In the center of the terminus end of the frame the metal bars dip toward each other creating two 'handles' that also help keep the mattress in place when the bed is open.There are four legs on the bed, all four are pre-attached with pivoting rivets to the frame. Two legs are attached to either side of the crease end of the frame ('crease legs' ) and come folded up against the body of the bed. The crease legs come with a 'hinge bar' attached to one side.Read more ›
December 28, 2012
Arrived promptly, 90% assembled and was easy to install a few support brackets and wheels. Seems to be well made and sturdy. I like that is has wood slats instead of metal springs. They are firmer and don't squeak when you move. Has been used twice by houseguests weighing 150 and 170 lbs. and both found it very comfortable. It is an inch or two narrower than a twin bed but standard twin sheets fit just fine. I did put a padded mattress cover on it to ensure comfort. Was used in a carpeted room and it didn't move around at all. It's easy to fold up - the mattress does tend to stick up higher than the sides when folded, but you can smush it down enough to attach the crossbar which keeps it closed. Great purchase - worth the money - definately recommend.
August 11, 2012
PROS:
  • Curved slats for added comfort
  • The bed folds-up neatly up-right for storage along walls or in closets
  • Luxurious bed
  • Portable and very strong

CONS:
  • A bit pricey but a worthwhile investment

back to menu ↑

Lucid 4-Inch Folding Mattress

LUCID 4 Inch Folding Mattress - Twin Size

Available in a variety of sizes including Queen, Twin XL, Full XL, Twin and Full size, this fold up bed offers superior comfort and many features to enhance your/guests’ sleeping experience. LUCID 4 Inch Folding Mattress is designed with a very comfortable measurement hence can easily accommodate both young and even adult people with so much ease. It is very lightweight with the twin-size weighing just over 16-pounds only making it easy to carry around.

  • Removable mattress cover with a zipper and can be machine washed making this mattress easy to care for.
  • Built-in handles for easy transport so you don’t have to put the mattress in a bag or carry it in your arms.
  • Easily doubles itself as a chair and a sleeper. Can be folded so you have a sofa style floor chair perfect for sitting around a campfire.
  • The foam of this mattress is CertiPUR-US approved thereby it’s safe for you and even for the environment.
  • Product
  • Photos

LUCID 4 Inch Folding Mattress - Twin Size

This folding foam mattress doubles as a sleeper and a chair, providing comfortable seating and serving as a convenient guest mattress in one; Perfect to use for sleepover guests, camping, cabins, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
(**NOW, with UPDATES!!! PLEASE READ THE STUFF AT THE BOTTOM.**)I was creating an Asian-style bedroom for myself so I wanted to try an Asian-styled sleeping option too. First I was looking at some of the more "traditional" Japanese floor futons filled with cotton and wool. Almost committed to buying one of those here when this product came up on one of my searches. Now I had seen the foam pad "shikibutons," but, those particular ones didn't look or sound that appealing. When I saw that this foam bed was made of **memory foam** instead of regular foam, that sounded much nicer. The intro price for this (got it for $86.99 + free shipping from Amazon) was pretty competitive with the other floor sleepers. What ultimately sucked me in completely was the fact that this product was covered by Amazon's guarantee. You've got 30 days to see if it...well...doesn't suck. Also the company that makes it offers a 3-year warranty. Most off-the-floor mattresses don't have that. Those factors helped me to make the final decision to buy.Now, here's the experience of a 5-foot 9-inch, 190(ish) pound male--Comfy Factor:After setting it up and sleeping on it for a few days I can say that it is EXTREMELY comfortable! (I'll throw in a YAY for that just like the 1st reviewer Miyoko.) 4 inches of **memory foam** is more than enough to feel great. The foam used in this feels like quality. It has enough firmness to keep me off the ground while still being soft enough to be cushy. I sleep on all sides but tend to be primarily a side-sleeper. I haven't felt the ground yet.Smells:The smell right out of the box wasn't bad at all. All **memory foam** has at least a slight smell but this was very mild.Read more ›
May 21, 2013
THIS IS NOT MEMORY FOAM. Its regular foamThis mattress came vacuum sealed in a carry on bag. Once you open the package the mattress will swell up and become firm. And you cannot stuff the mattress back into the bag. But the bag is of good quality and can be used for other purposes like, to carry a tent and a chair for camping. It takes about an hour for the whole mattress to come to its original dimensions as mentioned in the product description. (mine is a twin btw). There was tinge of smell which disappeared when left for bloating. I use it as a regular bed as I am used to the Asian lifestyle. Its very light (about 5 pounds) and can be lifted in one hand if you need to carry it. There are handles provided to lift it once you fold the mattress. Once folded, it can easily fit in a bedroom corner or in car's trunk/backseat. The foam is firm but soft enough for a good nights sleep. There will not be any feeling of sinking into the bed which is what I wanted. The 4" is quite thick enough for you not to feel the floor or the earth. Coming to the cleaning part. The foam can be removed from the covering. You can then damp wash the covering and let it dry if you have any spills on it. It is semi waterproof and can hold light spills. All in all , a good affordable mattress with warranty for daily use. It is a tad expensive but compared to other mattresses in the same playground, this one beats them all. This is priced at a hundred. I would say this is worth ten to fifteen bucks less than that. Hence the one star. (Price is one main factor for all my ratings and reviews)
March 14, 2014
My wife and I had purchased this product after careful research and found it to be a perfect fit for our needs. The other reviews which griped about the odor from the initial box opening proved to be somewhat true; there is a strong polyurethane odor initially, but quickly faded over several days. After 5 days it was unnoticeable. I am a large fellow (5' 10", 260 lbs) and did not 'bottom out' of this mattress. One reviewer was moping about the nylon net-like covering - this is one of the product's best features; it allows the cushion to breathe, and also to expand and contract without any 'whoosh' noise at all. In our small camper, the daytime 'sofa' fold suits us just perfectly. Two adults or three kids can sit on it most comfortably. The nylon outer covering comes completely off for dry cleaning. The overall feel and construction of this product is certainly of 5 star quality. The one question we had about this product we will now answer for others: the size of the individual segments for the full size bed: (as seen in the photo, starting from the bottom up) The bottom two segments are 53 inches wide by 26 inches deep. The top two segments are 53 inches wide, the bottom of the two smallest segments is 12 inches deep, the top one is 11 inches (the back slants back a bit for a back support). I would have to agree that the product makes a so-so 'sofa' but is a truly good bed.. and it's a true full size, not someone's interpretation of full size. We plan on purchasing a pillow top mattress cover to give it more of a 'home' feel, but we are very pleased at the thought and quality which have gone into the construction. We hope this information helps someone else along the way. Happy camping!
April 27, 2014
PROS:
  • Excellent for small spaces
  • 3-year warranty provided
  • Can be used a portable cushion or even a mattress topper
  • Easy to care for and maintain

CONS:
  • When right out of the box, the mattress has a mild funny smell. Fortunately, this smell usually goes away with time.

back to menu ↑

Lucid Roll-Away Guest Bed with 4 Inch Mattress

LUCID Rollaway Guest Bed with Memory Foam Mattress - Fold and Hide Away for Easy Storage - Rolling Cot with 4 Inch Mattress

Designed to provide excellent comfort when needed and to occupy quite a small space when not needed, this is surely a worthwhile investment. This fold up bed comes with a 4-inch memory foam mattress to provide you with comfortable whole night sleep. LUCID Rollaway Guest Bed with Memory Foam Mattress is very easy to assemble and roll-away for easier storage.

  • Features a spring support poly-deck that offers great support compared to wood-slat and wire mesh support that most fold up beds have.
  • Made with a heavy duty metallic frame that comes with a 25-year warranty.
  • The mattress of this fold up bed boasts a 1-inch layer of high-end memory foam and 3-inches of support foam.
  • Features 2-lockable wheels making it easy to move the bed and even lock it safely in place when in use.
  • The US approved CertiPUR memory foam that is free from harmful odors hence safe for kids too.
  • Product
  • Photos

LUCID Rollaway Guest Bed with Memory Foam Mattress - Fold and Hide...

Rollaway guest mattress is soft and ultra-supportive, with a medium-plush mattress featuring 1-inch of memory foam and 3 inches of support foam; Quickly pull out the bed for guests or children, then ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This bed is a great spare bed. Easy for storing in smaller areas, but folds out to a good size. It is very close to twin sized length with it being a little narrower than a standard twin. I use twin sheets with sheet grippers to hold them in place width wise. The mattress is nice and firm and comfortable. The bed has no hard braces across under the mattress, so nothing to irritate you when laying on it, but good support. I've laid on it and it's far better than I thought it might be.As one other reviewer stated, the four long braces have a bit of a sharp edge - it's from the metal mold and easily fixed. Use a metal file and it smooths those edges. Also, yes I found that the holes on the short braces for the wheels weren't large enough for the wheel bolts to go through, drilled them out a tiny bit and they fit perfect. Easy fixes to make this a great spare bed.We use it for the granddaughter's visits and she completely enjoys it. Overall we are completely pleased with this bed.
June 25, 2014
Great roll away bed for company. Very comfortable memory foam mattress and it doesn't make noises when you move around. Was easy to assemble and fits nicely in a closet for storage. Highly recommend!
April 12, 2014
The LUCID Rollaway bed was purchased to be used as an extra guest bed when family comes to visit. I was a little nervous about the setup after reading other people's reviews about holes not lining up, but I think that if there were any manufacturing issues at one point, they have since been resolved.Setup took just a few minutes and did not require any tools. The two legs at the bottom of the bed are already attached and just fold down. Two crossbars and four wheels are added once the legs are folded down. The cross bars keep the legs from folding back up and the wheel units are held in place with a wing nut that is easily tightened by hand. There are also four additional bars that are attached between each of the four pairs of legs to the bed. (Once attached, the legs will automatically raise and lower as you fold the bed up or down.) These are held in place with eight more bolts and wing nuts. I did run across a faulty wing nut (bad threading) in each of the beds that I ordered, but the package included an extra, so I had what I needed to complete setup. Once the four support bars are attached, the bed can be folded down and all that remains is to open the memory foam mattress and place it on top of the bed platform.A couple of notes/tips:1. Make sure to allow for a couple of days for the mattress to fully expand after setup. Much like other memory foam products, the mattress is vacuum sealed and will take a bit of time to fully expand. (Although I did test it after just a few hours and it was already very comfortable.)2. While allowing the mattress to expand, I'd suggest leaving it in the garage or in a well-ventilated room.Read more ›
December 19, 2015
PROS:
  • Has a durable construction
  • Very soft and super supportive
  • Easy to store

CONS:
  • Requires specialty cot sized sheets that are difficult to find in a local store

Tips on How to Choose a Fold-Up Bed

When searching for the right fold up bed, there are some key things to consider before you make any purchase. First, you will need to choose the right size. Consider the size of the fold up bed when unfolded. You also need to consider the type of bed material. Luckily, fold-up beds are made from a variety of materials so you will have many options to choose from. However, choosing flexible materials are better. Consider also buying a light-weight bed because it will be easy to move and even carry around. Another important thing to also consider is the top surface of the fold up bed. The cushioned-typed surface is by far much better because they provide great comfort.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

Made with high-quality steel folding frame and capable of folding in half for ease of movement and even storage, Sleep Master Traveler Elite Folding Guest Bed is no doubt the best fold up bed in this review. It has a mattress that features two layers one which is 2.5-inch of pressure-relieving comfort foam and a 0.5-inch of fiber padding thereby guaranteeing a great night sleep. It also boasts a one-year limited warranty and comes at a such a reasonable price.

Sources:

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password