Top 10 Best Kohler Shower Heads — An Unbiased Review

A relaxing hot or cold shower can be extremely beneficial to your overall health! Hoping inside the shower and washing away the day’s stress is something that many people enjoy. There are many elements that can make a rejuvenating shower and one of the most significant ones is a good shower head. The right shower head should have the perfect amount of water pressure and the perfect shower spray area. In short, it should have the design and features that define your ultimate form of relaxation. If you’re searching for the best Kohler shower heads on the market, then you’re in the right place. We came up with a list of the top 10 Kohler shower heads according to consumer reports and reviews 2017. Read on to find out more.

KOHLER K-9245-BN Moxie Showerhead & Wireless Speaker

KOHLER K-9245-BN 2.5 GPM Moxie Showerhead and Wireless Speaker, Vibrant Brushed Nickel

One of the top-rated Kohler shower heads 2017. This shower head is one of the finest products you will ever come across. For just a small investment, you get the incredible quality of the Kohler brand and great personalization of your shower experience. The main feature of the K-9245-BN is the Moxie wireless speaker, which comes in four lively colors that you can pair or take with you on the go. Everyone can pair their personal playlist to a speaker in their preferred color — chartreuse, retro blue, original white, cherry red and navy blue. Aside from that, the spray face features 60 angled nozzles that deliver a full invigorating spray. It also has a water saving 2.5gpm spray that allows you to save water without sacrificing its performance. Installing the Moxie wireless speaker is a breeze. Simply remove your old showerhead and replace with the new Moxie.

  • Product
  • Photos
I thought this was a great concept: it was easy to install, looks nice, and the shower-head function works like a shower-head should. It's easy to operate and the way the speaker is held in place magnetically is pretty ingenious. I was able to synch it quickly to both an iPad 2 and an iPhone 5. I can't really speak to battery life, although I haven't had to charge it yet after using it for about 3-4 hours so far. The mono sound quality is acceptable and about on par with that produced by a decent clock radio.My main complaint, and it's a big one for me, is that the speaker JUST CAN'T GET LOUD ENOUGH. Even with the volume cranked all the way up on the iPad or iPhone, the speaker doesn't produce sufficient volume to cut through the water noise when the shower's running. Outside the shower I compared the relative volume of the Moxie speaker with the built-in iPhone speaker and, while the audio quality of the Moxie was much clearer, had better fidelity and was generally nicer to listen to, the volume it produced was actually less than the same content played on the iPhone's internal speakers (disclaimer: I don't own any actual audio level testing equipment, so this finding is subjective and was made, literally, "by ear").Perhaps your mileage may vary depending on the acoustics of your particular bathroom (I'm using mine in a glass shower enclosure with tile walls). Also, it might not be a problem if you just want some lower-level ambient music in the background, but if you want to rock-out or even just hear and understand what's being said in a podcast, on the news, or anything involving speech, you may be as disappointed with this product as I am.UPDATE: OK, to be fair to the product, I'm going to amend my review and give it a couple more stars. Why?Read more ›
May 5, 2013
Most of the reviews are from relatively new owners. I loved mine too when it was new. After a year and a half the volume has dropped to the point where I can no longer even hear the words (if you ever could with AC/DC!).When new, my wife complained it was too loud in the next room and worried about the neighbors complaining.To be clear: the same songs purchased from iTunes, played by the same iPhone 4, played thru the same iTunes Ap, listened to over and over, just getting quieter and quieter.Really wish I could find a resolution as I loved it when it was louder, but very disappointed now.Update:New iPhone 6, reloaded the Ap and it keeps getting quieter. Honestly don't bother with it anymore. Shower head works great, but so did my old one.
January 31, 2014
Got this for my husband for his birthday. He loves it! I was a little worried that the speaker wouldn't be loud enough because I had read other reviews complaining that it was hard to hear. But our speaker is plenty loud and works great.
December 19, 2013

PROS:
  • The showerhead has a silicone spray face that makes it easy to wipe off any mineral build-up
  • Moxie fits perfectly in your cup holder, making it easy to carry with you wherever you go
  • The magnetic speaker pops in and out for quick and easy recharging. It also has a USB included

CONS:
  • Does not include shower arm or flange

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-15996-CP Flipside 01 Showerhead

KOHLER K-15996-CP Flipside 01 Showerhead, Polished Chrome

If you want to elevate the look and feel of your bathroom, look no further than the versatile Kohler Flipside showerhead. This contemporary Kohler shower head boasts a sleek design plus innovative Flipstream technology to give you four showering sensations and up your mood. Depending on how you want to relish your shower time, you get to experience a soft downpour, targeted massage, traditional full spray and exhilarating circular spray. The Flipstream technology allows you ease of use as you only have to turn the showerhead to its desired position. It flips to any position even if your hands are soapy. At 5-3/8 inches, the showerhead can comfortably fit most showers and features a 9.5 liter per minute flow rate. Inclusively, it is one of the best Kohler shower heads you will ever buy without having to dig so deep into your pockets.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-15996-CP Flipside 01 Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Flip stream Technology. Four unique, experiential spray patterns: Koverage, Kotton, Komotion, Kurrent. Adjustable angle for various user heights. 1/2" -14 NPT connection.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Let me preface this review by stating that I am writing it with the intent of helping the person who has read many showerhead reviews and is still on the fence.I am no stranger to residential showerheads. I have previously owned Delta, Standard, Speakman, and Giessdorf. In my current home, I have Grohe and Moen. What I prize in a showerhead is above average water flow and a water experience. "Above average water flow" means sufficient flow to thoroughly rinse away lathered body wash. A "water experience" means that you and your skin are rejuvenated after the shower. The Giessdorf, Grohe, Speakman, and Moen typically provided above average water flow after I removed the flow restrictor. My basis for the "water experience" was when I had the great fortune to stay at a six-star hotel; what an awesome shower they had. None of the showerheads that I previously purchased came close to that experience.That all changed with the K-15996-CP. I googled the Kohler brand because that was the first showerhead that I found by them. There were more negative reviews than positive, but I was really intrigued by the design. I decided to take the plunge.Kohler packaged the head in a cardboard box, not the standard plastic encasement. When I removed the head, it did not feel as heavy as I anticipated. It is not quite heavy enough to be all metal, but not light enough to be cheap plastic. I am sure that there is plastic, but it is not the lower-end, thin-walled plastic. Installation was easy. Yes, I know that it is very easy to install a showerhead. What I mean is that I was unsure if I were going to keep the showerhead so I did not use new piping tape from when I removed the Moen showerhead.Read more ›
December 31, 2010
I will preface my remarks with the fact that I have bought, no less, than 18 different showerheads prior to this one and I could have saved myself much anger and $$$ if I had come across this sooner. This is now the 4th one of these I have bought and my family and I are extremely happy with all of them. The installation is about 1 min and the flip aspect is a great engineering design. I installed these in my 6' walkin Kohler spa/shower, two normal full baths and one corner shower. In all situations they are performing in an exceptional manner. They have excellent pressure, coverage and patterns to fit all comers. This is by far the best showerhead I have come across. Kohler did an outstanding job with this one. Two I purchased from Home Depot and two through Amazon (for some reason HD will not ship these to New York State anymore...go figure). I have owned the oldest of these for over two years now with NO complaints. In fact, everyone who visits walks out of the shower saying they are going to get one of these units and replace the ones they have now. Do yourself a favor...don't waste money like I did...get one of these. BTW, I have 18 other showerheads, of all sorts and designs, floating around now if you have an interest! 🙂
July 16, 2012
My last showerhead was really old and crusty but had great water pressure. Eventually it broke so I snagged the Flipside. I was extremely disappointed with the water pressure. It was really unusable and San Diego has pretty decent pressure.I removed the showerhead and popped out the black and metal-mesh gasket at the top of the showerhead. Next I removed some cotton like fiber and under that was the green water saver low flow valve. Someone told me to drill a hole right through the center of the green valve and that's what I did.With proper water pressure the Flipside is a joy to use. I really don't like either of the "side" settings but the ones that use the whole circle are great. And the method of switching between settings is way better than turning a dial, though it does have drawbacks. If you don't tilt the showerhead down you might get hit in the face with water while switching.It gets four stars because other than the high price tag and the need to drill a hole through it the thing works great.
January 20, 2011

PROS:
  • The hand shower dedicates a single spray head surface to each of the 4 unique sprays
  • To change sprays, you only need to turn the head on its axis
  • Ergonomic design is extremely easy to use, even with hands full of soap
  • 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate

CONS:
  • Does not include shower arm and flange

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-10284-CP Forte Multifunction Showerhead

KOHLER K-10284-CP Forte Multifunction Showerhead, Polished Chrome

The Kohler K-10284-CP Forte showerhead allows you to have an incredibly personalized bath suite for the ultimate form of relaxation. This is one of the most versatile Kohler shower heads designed with end user comfort in mind. Its sleek lines and smooth edges match the design of most bathrooms while making the faucets easy to use and clean. It features four unique sprays that are dedicated to giving you an amazing experience. The wide rim makes it easy to rotate and adjust the shower head to your desired position. Additionally, it has a wide coverage spray that provides good overall coverage just like a traditional spray. The fact that it has soothing aerated sprays means that the water jet will be softened just slightly to ensure you enjoy a smooth spray. In case you want to increase the pressure, the revitalizing massage spray will do just that and more.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-10284-CP Forte Multifunction Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Forté faucets boast two key strengths: versatile design and effortless installation. To complement classic or contemporary spaces, Forté features a pair of tailor-designed handle styles - traditional ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I don't write many reviews. However, this one is worthwhile. It is as far as I can tell the same design of shower head that is in the Holiday Inn Express. How can a shower head be worth all that advertising for a hotel? Well, this one is! Whether you have low or high water pressure, this thing will work. It replaced a Delta head that was twice the price. My only complaint is that the rim is very wide, but the plus is that this makes the head rotate/adjust very easily with almost no effort (yet it stays in place where you aim it).
May 31, 2008
You can see the picture of the product for yourself, so there are just a few things I want to mention:(1) As you've probably read, it's a fairly substantially-sized showerhead. It's about 6 inches across at the widest part, and about the same length. If you currently have a short showerhead and are tall enough that your head hits it, this one could make things a little more cramped. For most people, this shouldn't be an issue.(2) It works very well. Our water pressure is a little lower than I'd like, and our last showerhead didn't deliver a great stream. This one, on the other hand, works like we've got normal/strong water pressure. Perfect.(3) My past experience with showerheads is that they are either somewhat stiff to move or don't hold their position well. This one does both well. Of course, showerheads aren't normally difficult to move, but this one glides so well you can't help but notice. My wife is significantly shorter than I am, so we're always adjusting it to our own preferences.Overall, if you like the look of this product (and we do!), I think you'll be very happy with the performance.
April 26, 2009
Like others, we first experienced this shower head when staying at a Holiday Inn Express. My wife remarked that she liked it. We both appreciate a nice hot shower in the morning. After looking around and reading some reviews I decided to buy one. It may be the best decision I've made in a while! We love it. It works even better at our house than I recall at the Motel. We have moderate water pressure but it sure feels great. It uses the same amount of water as our previous model but it feels like twice as much. I like the drench setting and my wife likes the massage setting now and then. It took less than 5 minutes to install if you don't count going to the basement to get my wrench and teflon tape. I highly recommend it!
February 4, 2011

PROS:
  • Transitional design compliments any décor
  • Features three unique spray settings
  • Prevents build-up of hard water
  • Easy installation
  • Durable construction to ensure it lasts long

CONS:
  • Does not include shower arm and flange

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-10282-AK-CP Forte Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead

KOHLER K-10282-AK-CP Forte Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

KOHLER K-10282-AK-CP Forte is one of the most innovative Kohler shower heads that utilizes pioneering technology to give you an intensified shower experience that will wash away all your day’s tiredness. With a completely new nozzle pattern, an air-induction system and an internal waterway design, you can rest assured that every drop of water creates an intense spray that heightens your shower experience. The technology infuses two liters of air per minute to deliver a strong full spray that hits your body with larger, voluptuous water drops. This showerhead integrates with its faucet to resist hard water while delivering 2.5 gallons per minute. Its vibrant color finish resists wear, tarnish and corrosions thus lending unrivaled elegance to your bathroom. With regards to convenience, it has an optimized spray face that features a clever nozzle geometry delivering a focused water coverage that not only minimizes water wastage but also increases cleaning performance.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-10282-AK-CP Forte Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Kohler K-10282-AK-CP Forte single-function Katalyst showerhead, Polished ChromeKatalyst uses cutting-edge technology to intensify the flow of water for a showering experience that is completely ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I did not purchase from Amazon but wanted to review. I purchased from Lowe's Home Improvement. This showerhead took under 2 minutes to install. The thing that took the longest was removing the green flow restrictor.First i took the screen and gasket out. Then All I did was take a pick from the set I have and removed the o ring inside the weird green restrictor. Dont let the tabs scare you, I thought they served a purpose too. They dont. I took a nail and inserted it into the little green slots all around and just tapped with a hammer to knock the tabs loose do this all around, turning it upside down every hit or two, to ensure no little pieces getting stuck.Once you have enough apart from the main green plastic sleeve, just simply pry the middle piece out with needle nose pliers. Voila! Proceed with your installation as indicated on instructions.As far as showerhead performance I must say that I am impressed. I got this on sale this weekend (11-1-15) at Lowes for $35. Strong smooth flow of water and I love the look and finish! Stellar deal! Highly recommend! Hope my review helps give me thumbs up if it was helpful!
November 1, 2015
Others have mentioned that this has no adjustments other than to swivel the shower head, so if you want pulsations or needle spray or LED lights this is not for you. I do think Kohler has been doing enough research to have engineered this as the showerhead equivalent of an Accord or Camry - not everyone will like it, but *almost* everybody will like it. And to be fair, it is described as a single-function shower head. The only adjustment I'd like to see would be a way to adjust the swivel tension. Right now it's perfect, but it's new. If it gets loose over time, such that the head sags/droops, there's no way to tighten it up. OK, I'm borrowing trouble here :-)I have to admit that I am almost as burned out on products advertising "cutting edge technology" as I am on the beyond-tired "green" schtick. When I read about a showerhead with cutting edge technology, I raise my eyebrow. When I read about a showerhead with cutting edge technology that "delivers a powerful, voluptuous spray that clings to the body with larger, fuller water drops" I wonder if I have accidentally clicked onto a pay-per-view site. I guess I should be thankful they didn't stick an "i" on the front and call it an iShowerhead. I showered with it this morning and can testify that the water drops were not larger, fuller or voluptuous. It was a great, comfortable shower though.Once you get past the marketing hyperbole, what we have here is a sharp looking bath accessory that fits into pretty much any decor without being either bland or overstated, and you get a pleasant shower out of the deal too. For me, it's a nice refresher to the look of a guest bathroom, maybe the easiest and cheapest item to swap out other than the towels. Below this price point what you find usually looks cheap. This looks good and works well. If it were really voluptuous I'd have given it 5 stars but hey...this is a showerhead!
May 26, 2012
Nice-looking, easy to install. The 2.5GPM with "air induction" creates a firm but not forceful flow, kind of like a massaging showerhead, but dialed back. It feels good to my skin: not too hard, but a nice tactile sensation. The firm flow makes it easier to rinse off than the more diffuse spray of my older Kohler.The "Forte" design is neutral-but-elegant and looks fine with my existing chrome Delta fixtures. The head swivels easily. There's no obvious intake for the air induction.Like other Kohler showerheads I've installed, this one comes in a cardboard box with paper directions, nothing else. But installation is a snap (no experience needed). A plumbers wrench is useful (pliers won't usually cut it), and get some "teflon thread tape" as well. That tape is a cheap, removable layer that goes on the threads before you screw the showerhead into place, and is about a buck for a small roll at my hardware store-- it helps prevent leaks from the shower-arm, since metal threads often won't perfectly fit for a water-tight seal.I like these "single function" Kohler showerheads. The simpler design is more elegant to my eyes, and I suspect that the fewer moving parts (versus a dial-a-spray model) mean the unit will last longer and has fewer internal surfaces to collect mineral deposits.Recommended.
September 20, 2012

PROS:
  • Katalyst air-induction technology ensures maximum air and water mix for a deep, even flow
  • Enhanced spray face with 66 nozzles delivering an intensive coverage of voluptuous water droplets
  • Minimizes inefficient overspray and increases cleaning performance
  • 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate

CONS:
  • Does not have Shower arm and flange

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-17493-CP Flipside 01 Hand shower

KOHLER K-17493-CP Flipside 01 Handshower, Polished Chrome

Featuring cutting-edge Flipstream technology, the Kohler K-17493-CP is the ultimate definition of a comfortable shower. It offers four showering sensations to suit your mood and preference. Designed to fit in both contemporary and traditional bathrooms, it is also perfect for a bathtub with children and pets, or to clean a bathtub. With your choice of four sprays, you will definitely be spoilt for choice as you decide on whether to indulge in the Koverage, Kotton, Kurrent or Komotion. The Koverage is a strong spray that is ideal for everyday use, while Kotton releases a thick, soft spray that resembles a downpour. The Komotion and Kurrent are perfect for massaging the body, with Kurrent presenting a targeted massage spray and Komotion delivering a full-face spray in circular patterns. This technology is so easy to use. All you have to do is revolve the showerhead on its axis to suit your desired position. It flips easily to any position you wish, even if your hands are filled with soap. Furthermore, its installation is a breeze. If you already have an adjustable wrench, you will be ready to shower in minutes.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-17493-CP Flipside 01 Handshower, Polished Chrome

Create a highly functional kitchen workstation with the Prolific sink and its included accessories. This innovative stainless-steel sink is welded with basin ledges at three levels, so you can place ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
We've used this for over a year and it is great. Just the right amount of pressure & flow. Cleans easily, installs easily, and has 4 settings that are easy to access. Each of the settings varies in terms of how far the unit should be from your body for it to be effective.Beautiful & well-thought out design.--UPDATE: I just got ready to purchase another one and had read all of the reviews on materials (plastic / metal) and the fact that hose & bracket were not included.I wrote Kohler, and have pasted their response below.--The Flipside assembly is made of plastic. Due to the size of the unit, plastic has been the material of choice, thus none of the Flipside will be available in metal, no matter where they are purchased.Furthermore, the unit will be available with a hose and cradle assembly only through The Home Depot and Lowe's. That is the retail version and the model number will start with R i.e. R17492-CP.Should you purchase the shower head through a different distributor, you will have to purchase the hose and bracket separately.===There's the definitive word.
April 26, 2011
Did a quick install and test... Best shower I have used. (Tip: Pick up some Teflon tape.)Berry Plastics 700037 510w-1/2 1/2" x 520" Teflon Thread Sealant Imported Tape (1 Roll)
April 24, 2011
Made from faux metal otherwise known as chrome plated plastic this ingenious fixture seems to be lacking durability. Considering the item's price and the unique design Kohler should have constructed this of real metal. Ours was found to be cracked before it even arrived at our door. Kohler does make another version from brushed nickel, which may validate the extra expense.One important point to consider when purchasing hand held shower fixtures is wether they are made from plastic, or metal. A study done in 2009 by the University of Colorado found that harmful bacteria are more likely to be harboring within plastic fixtures and less prevalent within metal fixtures. You may not contract any immediate illness if you have a strong immune system, but the less harmful wee beasties the better.
January 24, 2010

PROS:
  • Sophisticated yet transitional design with horizontal, flowing lines
  • Uses Flipstream technology for ground-breaking mode-changing competences
  • Each spray has a steadfast face, delivering better performance and reducing compromise created by space limits
  • Advanced ergonomics transform the user’s interface with the product

CONS:
  • If you’re replacing your regular showerhead with the Flipside, you’ll have to buy the Kohler K-8593-CP Master Shower 72-Inch Metal Shower Hose for compatibility

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-72419-CP Multifunction Showerhead

KOHLER K-72419-CP Awaken G110 Multifunction Showerhead, Polished Chrome

The Kohler K-72419-CP showerhead is the ultimate definition of quality, design, and performance in a single product. It features an advanced spray performance that delivers three unique sprays to give you an invigorating and relaxed shower after a hard day’s work. They include a wide coverage, a targeted spray, and an intense drenching downpour. Additionally, it has a beautifully designed thumb tab that gives you the freedom to smoothly transition between the three sprays with a simple rotation. It is worth appreciating that the artful spray face was inspired by purposeful shower patterns, rhythms, and symmetries while the geometric style is an ideal fit for both traditional and contemporary bathrooms. In short, the K-72419-CP is one of the best Kohler shower heads in this category. It delivers superb performance and has an impressive price tag.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-72419-CP Awaken G110 Multifunction Showerhead, Polished Chrome

The Awaken showerhead brings Kohler quality, design and performance to your bath. Advanced spray performance delivers three distinct sprays - wide coverage, intense drenching, or targeted - while an ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I read the descriptions and specs provided very carefully before buying. This product is described as being METAL under the "material" portion of the technical details. I can't say how much metal is inside the shower head, but whatever is on the exterior face and sides of the shower head is PLASTIC. Maybe there are internal pieces that are metal, but I have no way of knowing.One of the reasons I purchased this shower head was because I felt that metal would be more durable. The other reason was that I had previously found Kohler products (generally speaking) to be well made. This product is lightweight and feels like it is predominately plastic. I felt like I had been played.It works well enough for its intended purpose if you don't adjust the spray. I find that you must hold the shower head still when you rotate the lever to change spray patterns ...or the whole head spins without changing the spray. Not a problem for me at 6'1" tall with long arms, but clearly a problem for my wife at 4'11" with short arms. Maybe it could be an excuse for us to shower together. Unfortunately it is more likely a pain in the butt for my vertically challenged wife. She probably won't be changing spray patterns much, if at all unless she showers with a step ladder.
December 30, 2014
Incredible shower head. After I used it I bought two more for the other showers in the house. The only complaint I have is that my unit leaked when I first installed it. After further investigation I realized that it was missing the gasket that seals where the pipe screws into the shower head. I robbed the one from the old shower head and the problem was fixed. Wasn't a big enough of an issue to take a star away, but wanted others to know in case there's leaked
February 21, 2015
Works well for a low-flow shower head. On the widest setting, the width of the spray is slightly reduced from what I am use to, but it was not significant enough to matter. We purchased this when I downsized to a smaller water heater. Our tankless went out and we had to switch to a unit with a lower GPM throughput. My old shower head was pumping out too much water and it wasn't hot. This one is just right.
January 19, 2015

PROS:
  • Advanced spray engine offers 3 shower experiences: wide coverage, targeted spray, and intense drenching
  • Simple thumb tab enables users to have a smooth experience when changing sprays
  • Spray nozzles cover the whole area of spray head
  • 2.0 gpm shower head flow rate

CONS:
  • Does not come with a shower arm nor a flange

back to menu ↑

Kohler K-45123-CP Katalyst Showerhead

Kohler K-45123-CP Alteo Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Kohler Alteo is yet another shower head that makes it to our top 10 list. It boasts self-reliant smooth curves inspired by nature. It has an Alteo faucet collection that portrays elegance in a simple and attractive way. Designed to deliver exceptional performance at an approachable price, the Katalyst showerhead sports a design that matches a wide range of décor. Aside from that, it has a purposeful spray face with an ideal nozzle geometry that allows it to deliver a powerful spray of large water droplets. As such, it minimizes water wastage and heightens cleaning performance. Its air-induction technology ensures a maximum mixture of air and water for an invigorating downpour. In addition, it has spray nozzles that prohibit mineral build-up. Inclusively, its 2.5 gpm flow rate, corrosion resistance, and durability standards are what make it stand out among all other Kohler shower heads.

  • Product
  • Photos

Kohler K-45123-CP Alteo Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Kohler K-45123-CP Alteo Single-Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished ChromeWith sleek, confident curves inspired by nature, the Alteo faucet collection exudes a self-assured simplicity. Designed to ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Decent. It's probably a weird complaint but it's loud. Compared to the other shower heads we use it just is loud. Maybe because it's made (almost) entirely out of plastic? My other complaint is that there is a logo or cap dead center of the shower head so there are no spray holes there and since I'm short by the time the water reaches me it forms like a "donut" of water flow. I have to move my head from one side or the other to rinse. It's just slightly irritating. My husband who is tall doesn't seem to notice. So maybe just a problem for us shorties. 🙂
December 25, 2015
This showerhead is a bit different from anything I've ever owned. I've had rainhead showerheads before but this one does not shoot out a stream of plain hot water--there is a certain pulsating effect to it. It's rather refreshing and at 2.5gpm it's still enough to blast off dirt and grime and give you that calming pulsating feeling when the water hits you. It's almost like a mini massager in the head, but not quite. Plenty of water, the head moves around easily and looks nice.
August 28, 2015
This is my second Kohler Katalyst shower head. This gives great pressure even on upper floors. I'm not a fan of multi-spray shower heads, I just like consistent even spray. The only down side is, as other have said, the noise. The reason for this is the Katalyst funtion which aerates the water to increase pressure. Its not crazy loud, but loud enough you will notice. Its well made and attractive as well.
August 12, 2016

PROS:
  • It has an advanced spray engine featuring an easy-grip spray face that provides 3 alternate shower experiences: wide coverage, massage spray and soft aerated
  • MasterClean spray face is extremely easy to clean
  • 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate
  • Synchronizes with Alteo faucets and accessories

CONS:
  • Does not come with shower arm nor a flange

back to menu ↑

Kohler K-T396-4-BN Devonshire Rite-Temp Trim with Lever Handle

Kohler K-T396-4-BN Devonshire Rite-Temp Pressure-Balancing Shower Faucet Trim with Lever Handle, Vibrant Brushed Nickel

The Devonshire Rite-Temp Trim with lever handle features a simple yet elegant shower head with a sleek style to fit your bathroom décor. Kohler K-T396-4-BN Devonshire Rite-Temp Pressure-Balancing Shower Faucet Trim with Lever Handle, Vibrant Brushed Nickel satisfies all features of safety and comfort by giving you uniform temperature throughout your bath session. As such, you don’t have to keep adjusting the temperature to suit your taste every few minutes. In addition, it has a diaphragm design that eliminates contamination from hard water. The set comes fully equipped with a lever handle, showerhead, faceplate, shower arm, flange and finish of your choice. With all these features, you can rest assured that you will have nothing short of an invigorating and relaxing moment at the shower. Undoubtedly, it is one of the best Kohler shower heads available in the market today.

  • Product

Kohler K-T396-4-BN Devonshire Rite-Temp Pressure-Balancing Shower Faucet Trim with Lever Handle, Vibrant...

Devonshire® Rite-Temp® pressure-balancing shower faucet trim with lever handle, valve not included The Devonshire Rite-Temp® pressure-balancing shower faucet trim features decorative styling and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
On it's own, and unaltered, this shower head is "meh," at best. But once you remove the flow regulator, it's completely awesome.To do that, you need to remove the rubber gasket and screen first, and then you'll see the little green plastic regulator under that. I used a drill and small drill bit to cut away at the edges of the regulator until it broke into pieces that I could fish out with needle-nose pliers.Yes, it's a pain, but it's worth it. With the regulator in, forget about this thing.
June 14, 2014
I bought the Kohler K-T396-4 in January mostly because I liked the Devonshire series design and color. My bathroom was finally ready to use this week. I was/am disappointed by the flow from this shower head. There's nothing in the install guide about increasing the flow so I called the Kohler support site to ask if there was a flow restriction ring I could remove. They said no, this shower head deliver the standard 2.5 gallons per minute and cannot be adjusted. Turns out if you remove the shower head and take out the filter screen theres a small black grommet you can take out which seems to increase the flow a bit. I'm going to try it, but I'll probably end up just replacing the head with something else.I definitely would not buy this shower head again.
February 18, 2011
I like the rain shower head but I am disappointed in the quality of this shower faucet trim. I expected a match with my Devonshire sink faucets: the style is similar but the face plate and some other parts feel more like tin, get water spotted and are impossible to clean. I would not recommend.
October 27, 2011

PROS:
  • Quality material construction for stability and reliability
  • Kohler finishes resist tarnishing and corrosion, thus meeting and exceeding industry durability standards by over two times
  • Its technology ensures that water temperature is maintained within +/-3 degrees
  • It has a high-temperature limit that allows you to pre-set an ideal maximum temperature to avoid burning

CONS:
  • Water pressure is not up to mark in terms of cleaning performance

back to menu ↑

KOHLER K-965-AK-CP Purist Single Showerhead

KOHLER K-965-AK-CP Purist Single Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

The K-965-AK-CP Purist is one of the best Kohler shower heads thanks to its cutting-edge technology that intensifies the flow of water creating an amazing shower experience. With a new nozzle pattern, an air-induction system and an internal waterway design, you can rest assured that the system maximizes each water droplet to create a richer and powerful downpour that only goes to heighten your relaxation. By imbuing two liters of air per minute, the shower head gives you a voluptuous spray that adheres to your body with fuller water drops. It features strong geometric lines that add a modern yet classic look to your bathroom. Additionally, its spray face resists hard water build-up while delivering 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate. It also has a vibrant color finish that resists corrosion and tarnishing. Inclusively, it is one of the best Kohler shower heads you will ever buy.

  • Product
  • Photos

KOHLER K-965-AK-CP Purist Single Function Katalyst Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Katalyst spray technology with air induction ball joint. Optimized spray face for maximum performance. MasterClean spray nozzles prohibit mineral buildup for easy cleaning. 2.5 gpm. 1/2" - 14 NPT ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I owned this shower head for about a year. I loved the size, look, and shower experience. Unfortunately, after a year, I began to notice black mildew building up in the crevice around the seal that surrounds the showerhead. I believe that is due to the way the casing is designed to curve inwards toward the shower nozzles. When I went to replace this, I considered getting another just like it, because I had enjoyed the experience so much. Then I came across the Kohler forte single function shower head. It appeared to be the same size, and quality; but it flared outwards instead of curving inwards - and it was about half the price. I decide to take a chance and order it. I have been very happy with that decision. The experience is just as nice as the Purist, and they are roughly the same size. It also does not appear to be inferior in quality, despite the price difference. I also believe it will hold up better over time, due to the difference in design. I recommend anyone looking at this shower head at least consider looking at the forte as well.
February 25, 2014
The first time I ordered one of these, I loved the full body spray pattern. It's really luxurious.However the water pressure when limited to 2.5gpm is not sufficient to provide a good shower given the fact that this thing has 72 sprays. There was no obvious way to remove the 2.5gpm flow restrictor, and when I called Kohler, they said it was fixed and couldn't be removed, so I sent it back.I then did some research, and figured out how to solve the problem. You can remove the water filter (metal gauze with black ring around it), then you will see the permanent water filter (a green disk). You can then take a power drill and drill through the green disk to create a free flow of water. Use a vacuum to make sure you get all the debris out to prevent it clogging the head.After this modification, I tried the shower head and the spray was stronger. The shower now was one of the best I have had, and certainly the strongest given the water pressure in most modern houses.After modification - this shower head delivers, a strong, luxurious and full body spray that will leave you satisfied. A great product, that requires small modfication due to our big brother government.
October 16, 2010
I recently finished remodeling my shower area and removed the 1960's plastic wall tiles to then put up ceramic tiles. I wanted to keep the existing Kohler fixtures for hot and cold and also the faucet because they were solidly built and quite hefty because of the metal construction with chrome finish. The faucet outlet must weight at least 5 pounds! However, I wanted to update and upgrade the showerhead.In my search for a new showerhead to go well with my tile color (a sort of streak lined marbled black) I knew I wanted to stay with Kohler...but the design had to be basic to go with my 1960ish era fixtures.....and this model fit the bill!The only reason why I rated it four stars instead of 5 is because I was under the assumption it would be of metal construction with a chrome finish. I guess because of potential weight issues hanging off the shower arm, a larger faced shower head cannot be 100%solid metal...but at least the chrome ring or something could be metal to give the impression of a piece which doesn't feel so fragile when moving it? Please forgive my ignorance on the matter on what things cost now a day or what key words I should be entering into my search to ensure the showerhead would be of all metal construction. This unit is a chrome finished plastic....a great looking... chrome finished plastic 🙂
February 14, 2013

PROS:
  • Katalyst air-induction technology ensures maximum mixture of air and water for a strong, even flow
  • Optimized spray face featuring 66 nozzles ensures a more focused spray of large water droplets
  • Minimizes wasteful overspray and gives maximum cleaning and hair-rinsing performance
  • 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate

CONS:
  • Does not include shower arm nor a flange

back to menu ↑

Kohler K-8507-CP Master Shower 3-Way Showerhead

Kohler K-8507-CP MasterShower Three-Way Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Kohler K-8507-CP Master Shower is one of the best Kohler shower heads thanks to its three-way relaxing spray that delivers a customized shower experience to ensure you get rejuvenated after a hard day. It has three different settings that you can choose from by simply rotating the easy-grip ring. Additionally, it features an easy-to-clean spray nozzle that resists hard water build-up. Rest assured that once you buy this product, you can enjoy a mind and body transformation right from the second you step into your shower. Without a doubt, it is only safe to say that it totally fits the description of one of the best Kohler shower heads in the market today.

  • Product
  • Photos

Kohler K-8507-CP MasterShower Three-Way Showerhead, Polished Chrome

Kohler K-8507-CP MasterShower Relaxing Three-Way Showerhead, Polished ChromeThe MasterShower three-way relaxing showerhead delivers a personalized showering experience. Three different settings are ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I like it. I don't love it! For the price I expected everything to be made out of metal, but the head is plastic. I only use one setting because the massage settings doesn't have enough water flow for me. Could have probably purchased a single use showerhead for less. Having said that, it does look nice and will probably last longer than lesser brand.
September 4, 2014
My wife's shower had a "rain" type head that she liked but never really enjoyed. I talked her into getting this which is what I have in my bath (only in chrome). She tells me everyday how much more she likes this one. Well worth the money to change it out.
February 18, 2013
This was a replacement for our original that delaminated at the head - better price than other stores as well.
October 18, 2012

PROS:
  • Multifunction showerhead provides a wide soft spray, soft aerated spray settings, and slow pulse spray.
  • Elastic spray nozzles are very easy to clean
  • Easy-grip ring allows for smooth swapping between spray options
  • 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate

CONS:
  • Does not include Shower arm nor a flange

Why Choose Kohler Shower Heads?

Kohler shower heads fall into five categories. Most of them have adjustable features that let users select the spray pattern and the intensity of the jets:

  • Single function showerheads
  • Multifunction showerheads
  • Single and multi-function hand showers
  • Body sprays
  • Rain heads

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

After all the searching, our Kohler Shower heads review was able to identify the KOHLER K-15996-CP Flipside 01 Showerhead as the best choice. This contemporary shower head boasts a sleek design plus innovative Flipstream technology to give you four showering sensations and up your mood. Depending on how you want to relish your shower time, you get to experience a soft downpour, targeted massage, traditional full spray and exhilarating circular spray. The Flipstream technology allows you ease of use as you only have to turn the showerhead to its desired position. It flips to any position even if your hands are soapy. At 5-3/8 inches, the showerhead can comfortably fit most showers and features a 9.5 liter per minute flow rate. Inclusively, it is one of the best Kohler shower heads you will ever buy without having to dig so deep into your pockets.

Sources:

Kohler.com

Consumerreports.org

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password