Top 10 Best Multi Tool Reviews — Your Ultimate Guide

The concept of combining several tools into a single multi-tool did not start recently. Throughout the human history, people have always looked for ways to improvise and commercialize tools. People are always in need of getting a single tool capable of handling several tasks. Multi-tools are the backbone of every outdoor gear. Multi-tools are useful and one every person must have whether a DIY fanatic or not. Multi tools are requisite equipment that can handle several tasks. There are hundreds of multi-tools in the market today.

Choosing the best multi tool gives you the best value for your money. In this article, we have reviewed some of the best multi tool models in the market over the years. Go through the various multi-tools as you look for once that best suits your needs. These are among the best multi-tools in the market currently and present you with the chance to get the best multi tool that suits your needs and gives you value for money.

Leatherman 830039 Wave Multi Tool with Leather/Nylon Combination Sheath

Leatherman 830039 Wave Multitool with Leather Nylon Combination Sheath, Silver

 

 

The 830039 Leatherman is an exceptional multi tool that comes with 17 tools capable of handling various tasks. The Leatherman comes with longer knives, longer wire cutters and strong pliers making it a good value for money. It is an essential multi-tool for any kind of job. The one blade function gives you the tool you want at a time. The pliers have been redesigned to withstand double the squeezing capability.

Features:

  • Multiple capabilities with 17 tools
  • One-hand operable features allowing you to open and operate one tool with one hand
  • Every tool on the multi-tool locks with the exception of the plier’s head
  • Materials: 420HC stainless steel and black oxide
  • Four exterior accessories that can be accessed even when the blade is closed
  • 25-year warranty
  • Product
  • Photos

Leatherman 830039 Wave Multitool with Leather/Nylon Combination Sheath, Silver

The most popular full-size Leatherman tool is now better than ever. Larger knives, stronger pliers, longer wire cutters and all-locking blades make the new Wave an essential piece of equipment for ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
One thing that chaps my hide is a cheap tool. I don't like 'em, I don't buy 'em and I avoid using them if I don't have to. Leatherman is well known for their quality and they don't disappoint here.Good Points:This New Wave is extremely well built.Resists torque/twisting that some other multi-tools don't.Nice heft, but not too heavy to slip in a pocket.Smooth and comfortable finish in the hand.A really nice selection of functional tools.Great tool locking, easy to release (but only when you want!)I've used several other multi-tools and beyond the novelty, I never really enjoyed the flip out style (Gerber) because it seemed a bit unstable and difficult to put back. And most of the others cut into the palm. The only detractor is the price, but I don't mind paying for quality and this baby delivers.
November 9, 2005
Although now retired, I spent my adult life in the Army (infantry) and law enforcement. A good multitool is indispensable in either profession. Over the course of my careers, I had numerous multitools. None of them compared to the Leatherman Wave.I received a Leatherman Wave last year as a gift, just in time for Hurricane Katrina. I spent some months in and around the disaster area doing rescue work, and can't tell you how many times I used this superb tool.Both of the knife blades, plain and serrated, were heavily used and I found them to be up to any task. They were razor sharp and kept a keen edge through the toughest jobs. The pliers and wirecutter performed very well, too. I occasionally used the saw blade and found it to be useful, as well. I used the screwdrivers from time to time and, although not as good as a dedicated screwdriver, they performed better than I expected.All in all, I am pleased with my Leatherman Wave and would not hesitate to highly recommend this superb tool to anyone in need of a tough, durable multitool.
July 28, 2006
Have had a lot of rust develop more than once on this even being carefull to keep it out of moist climates... Had much more luck with the Leatherman Charge tti. I find this to bulky for pocket carry but with the included clip it works for me. Not a quality tool in my opinion although among the better multi tools I have used. Not as many rust issues under same conditions with Charge tti.
October 11, 2013
PROS:
  • Well built
  • A nice selection of functional tools making it quite diverse
  • Great locking and easy to release
  • Smooth and comfortable finish on the hand
  • Resists twisting like most multi tools

CONS:
  • Price is high, but quality is great
  • Heavy weighing 20oz
  • Sharp edges when the tool is closed
  • The ruler is less useful

back to menu ↑

Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool

Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool [31-000749]

The Gerber Bear is a 12-inch stainless steel multi-tool and one of the best multi tool in the market. The Gerber has a rugged construction, external locking tools and spring-loaded pliers with an extra grip handle making it the one of the best multi tool for DIY fanatics. Individuals looking for a reliable and durable multi-tool can choose the Gerber Bear for its unique features that make it one of the best multi-tools for wild adventures.

Features:

  • 12 components in a single multi compact tool
  • Light weight with a comfortable design
  • Spring loaded for a simplified one hand usage
  • Military-grade nylon sheath
  • Bear Grylls’ Priorities of survival
  • Ergonomic textured rubber grip
  • Product
  • Photos

Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool [31-000749]

The product of collaboration between Gerber and survival expert Bear Grylls, the ultimate multitool provides 12 stainless steel weather-resistant components. Its rugged construction, spring-loaded ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I am in the military and the multi-tool is the most important non issue item that you carry on you from day to day because you always need to fix things as they become broken and things come up. You can't always carry around a tool kit with you, and this is just an amazing, functional one that has everything that you need and easy to get to and use. The grip is awsome. I have had lots of different multi tools in the past. leatherman's are horrible, actually had the pliers break off in mission once. Most Gerber's tend to rust and it makes the sliding function difficult. SOG has been my go to but big and bulky and really expensive, so when it got lost (pretty sure stolen) I replaced with this after being really happy with a bear knife I had purchased and I think this is probably teh best of his line. A must have.
February 16, 2011
Im in the Navy and work on a lot of computer equipment, I have gone through MANY gerbers before buying this one and so far its my favorite. It hasnt rusted like my others and it isnt stiff or to lose. The grip is great. I have found my self actually moving more and more away from my knife and more into using this gerber. The blade is sharp and hasnt dulled on me yet. I highly recommend this as it is durable and i used it every day of deployment and its still in a new condition.Thanks Bear for this AWESOME product!
March 27, 2011
The only other multi-tool I've owned is an SOG Specialty Knives & Tools S61-N EOD PowerLock. While I like my PowerLock, I wanted something that was lighter, smaller, and more convenient, and this fits the bill. It's only about an ounce lighter than the SOG, but it's nearly an inch shorter, which makes it easier to carry around. More importantly, having all the tools accessible on the outside is much more convenient than the PowerLock. Both have a locking mechanism, which I consider a necessity, but this is one area where the Gerber comes short. Unlike the PowerLock's gentle but effective lever and flat spring, the Gerber has a sliding lock with a compression coil spring. It's stiff and can rub your fingers raw with overuse, and I worry about how well it will hold up with age. While the Gerber doesn't have the range of tools of the PowerLock, it does have the most important ones. The flat Phillips head screwdriver doesn't look impressive, but it's worked when I needed it. I haven't tried the combined can opener/bottle opener yet, which is the other one I think looks iffy.Others have pointed out that this is identical to the Gerber Suspension Butterfly. There's at least one difference, in that it has a rubberized grip rather than the open one of the other Gerber tool, which I consider an improvement. It may also have better weatherization, as other reviewers have noticed that it seems less prone to rusting than other Gerber tools, but that's anecdotal, so I can't be sure of this. In any case, the price was lower when I bought it, so the cost differential was considerably less. It's a good tool, overall, and I've found it worth the price.
April 4, 2011
PROS:
  • Easy to use
  • Comes with amazing functional tools
  • Great design and light weight
  • Has a simplified one hand use that makes usage easier
  • Mildew resistant making it quite durable
  • Survival pockets and rescue instructions

CONS:
  • The blades are short
  • Head screwdriver is oddly shaped
  • Bulky and takes time to get into the nylon case
  • Construction is not great as other multi-tools like Leatherman

back to menu ↑

Leatherman — Wingman Multitool Stainless Steel

Leatherman - Wingman Multi-Tool, Stainless Steel

The Leatherman Wingman is another exceptional product making it one of the best multi tool to check out this year. Made from the best multi tool manufacturer in the industry, the Wingman is an ideal choice for adventurous people. It comes with the Leatherman patented one hand opening and spring action jaws for easier operation. It is covered by the Leatherman’s 25-year warranty making it one of the best multi tool in the market.

Features:

  • Stainless steel handle
  • Features 14 functional tools
  • Lightweight measuring just 7 oz
  • 420 stainless steel handle
  • Backed by a team of designers, assemblers and manufacturing crews from Oregon
  • Product
  • Photos

Leatherman - Wingman Multi-Tool, Stainless Steel

Real heroes are the guys who are prepared for anything. Someone in the office can't open an important letter? Cut your way through his confusion with your handy blade. A lady is desperately trying to ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
There have been excellent reviews of both the Leatherman Wingman and Rebar, as well as all the others, but because there are so many models, it can be hard to choose which one to buy. I hope to help in the choice of economical "Full-size" multitools, as Leatherman calls a number of models.The "full size" line of tools are all about 100mm long when folded, and include the Charge TTi, the New Wave, the Rebar, and the Wingman. The first two are much more expensive than the latter two, and I will only discuss the Rebar and Wingman.Leatherman multitools can be further subdivided between blade-in and blade-out designs. In the former, you must open the tool to have access to the knife blade(s); in the latter they are available just as they would be in a pocket knifeThe Rebar is a blade-in design; the Wingman is blade-out. If your most common use of the tool will be for cutting with the knife blade(s), then the Wingman would be more convenient.The Rebar has a much superior shear-type wire-cutter with replaceable blades. The Wingman has a butt-type or pinch-type wire-cutter. Both work, but the Rebar works noticeably better, especially for hard wire.The Rebar has two large blades, a plain blade and a serrated blade; the Wingman has only a single combination blade, but it is instantly available because of the blade-out design.The Rebar has a full-size double-sided file with a serrated edge that can serve as a hack saw. Wingman has what can only be described as a toy, a single-sided, half length file. I could consider it worthless.The Rebar has a full-size wood saw; the Wingman has none.The Wingman, however, has an excellent scissor, the best of the whole line, while the Rebar has no scissor.Read more ›
May 9, 2013
The wingman is pure leatherman quality. I love multitools. I own way too many of every brand. I like many brands Gerber, S.O.G, Victorinox), but partial to leatherman. The leatherman wingman is now going to be my EDC, until their next great creation. I actually used it today to fix one of my sons friends bike while we rode along the long beach bike path. I love that the pliers are spring loaded, you don't get that with the wave, 300, 200, blast, kick, etc. The spring loaded scissors are great. I used them to trim my beard and they work solid. The leatherman gives specs- metal type, tools, etc. on their web site. The wingman feels a little like the victorinox swiss tool-solid, yet the wingman is much less expensive and has the springloaded pliers, and a beefier knife. Good job leatherman!
October 23, 2011
I have had several Leatherman multitools over the years and have always been amazed by their quality. My most recent one is the Surge which is an incredible multitool but too large and heavy to carry in anything but my EDC bag. The Wingman has the same type of scissors that the Surge has which is generally regarded very highly among multitool scissors. I would have bought the Wingman regardless because of its choice of tools on it.I was a bit disappointed in the fit and finish of the Wingman when I got it. The finish looked pretty crude and was dirty. Perhaps it was opened previously, but in general looked more like a product from China. I am not sure where the components and assembly were done on this particular model.The blade had a pretty rough edge on it so I cleaned it up a bit and it is quite sharp. The package opener is a great idea and I think this is an addition that should be in more of their tools in the future. The pliers look decent and the spring action is nice. The scissors are much like the Surge minus the rubber thumb protector.I would love to see the Wingman in an upgraded form. I would pay more money for sure if it was done in the same quality as their other knives, or even upgrading to a Titanium model.For my choice, the low price was an added bonus. I chose it more on the tool arrangement. However, for emergency kits, the car, in the drawer, EDC etc this is an excellent choice. In my opinion one of the most important things to have is a decent pair of scissors along with pliers and this has both. The low price makes it possible to get three of them for the price of a Surge. I also don't mean to insinuate that these are as bad as a normal cheapy Chinese multitool. The quality is quite good, just not what I am normally used to seeing from Leatherman.Read more ›
November 25, 2013
PROS:
  • Lightweight weighing just 7 oz
  • Comes with most of the functional tools for all kind of jobs
  • One hand opening knife with exterior access
  • It is a high-quality product giving you value for money
  • Serrated knife is great for cutting rope and fibrous materials
  • The scissors are easily accessible

CONS:
  • The knife locking mechanism is poorly placed
  • Wire cutter is unusable
  • There is a slight side play on the pliers

back to menu ↑

Gerber Suspension Multi-Plier

Gerber Suspension Multi-Plier [22-01471]

The Gerber Suspension is one tough reliable and easy to handle multi tool. It is one of the best multi-tools that is quite easy to use when readily needed. Engineered to tackle big jobs, the Gerber suspension can handle any situation. It is a great value for money and a must check out this year. Here are some of the features that make the Gerber one of the best multi tools in the market. It comes with several unique features that are found in almost all multi-tools.

Features:

  • A sleek butterfly design
  • Plus component locking system
  • Durable steel stainless construction
  • Needle nose pliers
  • Serrated and straight blades for versatility
  • Large and medium flathead screwdrivers
  • Product
  • Photos

Gerber Suspension Multi-Plier [22-01471]

Tough, reliable, and easy to handle, the Gerber Suspension Multi-Plier is engineered to tackle jobs in just about every situation you can imagine. Featuring a sleek butterfly design, durable ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I am not going to rehash what others have already said: it is a great tool, very solidly built, and strong. Metal is great.However, watch out for the two different versions, and why you should purchase this in store instead!I was at my local Target where they sell this tool. I picked one up to purchase and inspected the tool in the packaging. The metal was strangely low quality-looking with lots of pits and crevices. Overall, the quality seemed very poor: metal of poor quality, low quality bolts, and a poor surface coating where you could see pits in the paint. I looked on the back: Made in China.I was ready to purchase it anyway when I walked back to the display and too a closer look at the other ones on the rack (same model). I noticed that some other ones had much better polished metal, smooth glossy paint, and round & smooth torx-headed bolts. I thought, wait, how can these be the same item and some be made so much better. I looked on the back: Made in Taiwan.It appears that Gerber switched production some time in 2008 from Taiwan to China. The quality has greatly suffered as a result.You should be aware that most of these reviews on Amazon before 2008 are for the Made in Taiwan model. This is the model you should get! Unfortunately, because Amazon stock moves so fast, you're likely to get an vastly inferior Made in China model. This is why I strongly suggested purchasing this in the store instead so you can look for a Made in Taiwan model or at least inspect the Made in China model first before purchasing.Update on 12/23/2015: Over the past few years, whenever I go to Target, Walmart, or Home Depot, sometimes I check out this tool in the store and see where it's made.Read more ›
January 2, 2009
Pros:Under $30 (bought mine for $26)Solid, neat looking frame, very nice gunmetal looking finishSpring loaded pliers, contours my hand perfectlyNylon sheathOne handed open for major bladesIMO rivals $50-$60 leatherman products, I have owned bothNo complaints at all about craftsmanship, plier heads line upBlade lock mechanism works wellCons:inner tools are stiffwatered down phillips head is not usefull on larger screwsno fileprimary knife blade is smallOverall:Good job Gerber, I think this is the lowest price plier centered multi tool, but in no way feels cheap, does the job.
October 27, 2007
Having owned several Leatherman multitools in the past, I decided to take advantage of a deal on this Gerber. It's a nice tool, well-constructed and attractive. The gray finish on the "suspension" part is very nice. The metal is high quality, the machining is well done, and all the tools lock firmly in place. The release mechanism was a little tight at first but now works pretty smoothly.The emphasis in this tool is definitely on the pliers. They are sturdy, and the curve in the handle makes the grip comfortable. The spring-loading is very nice -- even my Leathermans didn't have that.Be aware that the pliers wouldn't work well in a small hand -- even fully closed, the handles for the pliers span 2 3/4 inches. Holding a 1/2 inch diameter pen in the flat part of the pliers, the handles span 4 inches.On the big Leatherman tools I've owned, the knife blades were nearly as long and wide as the tool itself; not so on this Gerber (or Gerbers in general, I think). The flat blade, serrated blade, and saw are each under 2 inches long. That's particularly bad news for the saw blade, of course, since you need to move it to and fro.The scissors is the worst part of this tool. The blade has a tiny 5/8-inch bite. And the spring-loading for it is too strong; it's too hard to close given that it's pressing a fairly narrow piece of metal into your thumb. Maybe that will loosen up over time. If you don't use a scissors much, the scissors may not be an issue, but if you need something like the scissors on the Leatherman Micra then this tool is definitely not for you.The two blades have little flanges to help you open them, but the leverage isn't good, so they're a little tough to open with one hand. But with some WD-40 it's doable.Read more ›
December 30, 2006
PROS:
  • User-friendly design for easier operation
  • Reliable with most tools readily accessible
  • Lightweight making it easier to carry around
  • Compact enough design
  • Lock system that ensures safety

CONS:
  • The scissors are not great like in best multi tools
  • Quite heavy when you compare to other multi tools
  • Pliers not great on small hands
  • The two blades have little flanges

back to menu ↑

Gerber Dime Multitool

Gerber Dime Multi-Tool, Black [30-000469]

The Gerber Dime is another great multi tool product from Gerber and one that will offer users a wide range of uses. It is one of the best multi tool models with a stainless steel construction giving it durability. The Gerber dime is convenient for small tasks and is easily accessible when looking for all kind of tools. The Gerber dime is one of the best multi tools when looking for something compact and lightweight to fit in your pocket. The best multi tool must nicely fit in your pocket and not cause any problems when traveling.

Features:

  • Sturdy with a stainless steel construction
  • Lightweight, compact and perfectly fits into your pockets
  • Has an overall length of 4.25 inches when open and 2.75 inches when closed
  • Comes with ten tools for performing a wide range of functions
  • Product
  • Photos

Gerber Dime Multi-Tool, Black [30-000469]

We took the standard keychain multi-tool and made it better. In addition to stainless steel pliers, wire cutters, a fine edge blade, spring-loaded scissors, flathead screwdriver, crosshead driver, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Purchased the black tactical Dime as I needed pliers and scissors in a small pocket-sized tool. The size is great and the design is well thought out. All the tools are accessible while closed, except the pliers/wire cutters. That means for much of the time it doesn't need to be opened.The problems began when I went to cut a piece of insulated wire (#16 awg). It just wouldn't cut it. It was more like mashing it and still not cutting. I tried several times with limited or no success. Finally just bent the wire back and forth along the crease the tool made and it broke. Not quite what I expected.On to the scissors...and they barely cut paper. Hmmmm...something is not going well.Then I tried the screw driver flat blade. Any torque at all and it started to bend. Again, not a good thing.Finally I noticed that each time I opened it up for the pliers, the two front corners scraped against each other. At first only removing paint. Then as I continued to open it a dozen times more tiny flecks of metal fell onto the table I was working on. In just a few dozen openings of the tool, significant metal had been worn away where both handles rubbed each other in leverage to open the tool. So much metal began to disappear I doubted that it would last a few months before being unusable. Paint I can live with being scratched, but when the metal starts to disappear something is wrong.I would say that the quality of materials used in the Dime is less than stellar. It reminds me of a cheaply made tool that looks nice, has nice features, but the material is so poor it will not stand up to any real use.I'm bummed because it is the perfect size and group of tools for me.Read more ›
May 9, 2012
I was in the market for a keychain multitool for hiking/camping (to compliment my main blade). It was between this and the PS4 (I needs scissors). I liked the blade and overall design better on the Dime. However, after broken plier jaws, on first use, on two separate Gerber Suspensions really left me on bad terms with the Gerber brand. Ever since, I've been loyal to LM's quality (have the Wave, Skeletool, Juice, and Wingman). But, I took the chance and got the Dime.The tool is small. Small enough to hide behind my thumb. The blade came sharp, but not shaving sharp. Polishing the edge on some ceramic and smooth stainless rods fixed that. Like I said, I like the blade profile because on a non-locking blade, it seems like a safer shape (seems harder to accidentally close the blade on your finger while doing some cutting). Also, the blade edge is V-grind, unlike the single grind edge on the Squirt.The outside tools open and lock with a satisfying solid snap. The tools are a bit hard to pull out, I'm hoping that with some breaking in, it gets easier.The scissors hinge is tight and seem sharp enough. I'll have to wait till my fingernails grow back out to finish evaluating them. But, I do wish the scissors could be opened further. They are made in such a way that it only opens a set distance.The bottle opener has three purposes in my opinion. 1) to have a much more solid attaching point rather than the dinky ring it comes with. I put a small carabiner clip on it. 2) for opening bottles 3) Extends the handle for more leverage and comfort while using the pliers.Read more ›
March 27, 2012
First off, I must say that I use a lot of these type of multitools and have experimented with a few brands in search of the best quality and I will have to say that Gerber is not traditionally a higher end product when it comes to the metals they use. I'm no expert however every single product (knives, machette, multitool) that I've used SO FAR has failed me before it's time. I was simply using this "Dime" to help another hiker separate a stubborn tent pole and the pressure apparently was too great. The plyer portion simply popped and gave out. I was just going to mail it back since it's under warranty however if you consider the cost of this item and then the cost to mail and insure it to Gerber, it's really not practical at all. I have absolutely nothing against Gerber except that my experiences have spoken clearly enough. I will say that this is a pretty handy tool if you're really not going to use it much but if you need something more dependable, do some research and see what guys say that really put their gear to the test. I'm not talking about opening a cardboard box with it or cutting some paracord folks, I mean USING it. Leatherman has been pretty good to me and when I snapped the blade on the older version of the Wave while in Iraq, they sent me the new version (they already identified the flaw) with a case and no questions asked. All I did was email them a picture of their broken blade and they didn't require the customer to pay to return their defective product. Just food for thought guys. Thanks for reading my rambling.
July 4, 2012
PROS:
  • Great design making it great to travel with
  • Compact and lightweight for easy carrying when traveling
  • The construction is sturdy making the multi tool quite durable and reliable
  • Easy to access various tools without any problems
  • The outside tools open and lock safely with satisfaction
  • The scissor hinges are tight and sharp enough to cut through sharp materials

CONS:
  • The materials used in the construction are not great as in most multi-tools
  • It is too small to fit into most big hands
  • It is not efficient in handling some of the toughest jobs in the field
  • The blades are short and not ideal for handling tough cutting jobs
  • The Gerber Dime pocket is not the strongest and might break easily if fastened hardly

back to menu ↑

Swiss + Tech ST53100 Polished SS 19-in-1 Micro Pocket Multi Tool for Camping

Swiss+Tech ST53100 Polished SS 19-in-1 Micro Pocket Multitool for Camping, Outdoors, Hardware

The Swiss + Tech is one of the best multi tool for those looking for a compact and lightweight multi tool for camping. It is the ideal camping companion with all the necessary functional tools to handle any task at the camp. It comes with over 19 functional tools making it quite reliable in accomplishing all forms of tasks. It is the best multi tool for obvious reasons. It is quite durable made of stainless steel. It can easily attach to your keychain and can easily be released when required.

Features:

  • Ideal multi tool for camping, outdoor activities, hardware, auto and hunting
  • Includes tools like pliers, a bottle opener, stripper and wire cutter, wire crimper
  • Includes 2 hex wrenches and six screwdrivers
  • Lifetime warranty
  • 19 functional tools capable of handling all kinds of tasks
  • Patent design that fits a 24/7 pocket-sized for readiness
  • Quick release and self-locking mechanism for safety and ease of use
  • Product
  • Photos

Swiss+Tech ST53100 Polished SS 19-in-1 Micro Pocket Multitool for Camping, Outdoors, Hardware

Swiss Tech Micro-Max 19-in-1 Multi-Function Tool Set, 2 hex wrenches, screwdrivers, pliers, bottle opener, wire cutter, wire stripper, wire crimper, hand drill, file, 2 rulers, 2 ruler extensions. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
There are times to carry a leatherman tool on your belt, and there are times when you shouldn't. Those are the times when this light, well-made tool can be extremely helpful. I've used it to tighten glasses, make holes in a belt, undo and tighten screws and nuts, and open bottles of beer. On that last, if you can't solve the puzzle of where the opener is, you've had too many.
February 8, 2010
I bought one of these off ThinkGeek about 3 years ago. I really liked it, especially the weight. I like having something big on my key ring, so I can feel the weight and know I have my keys. It made a first rate key chain, not so much as a tool. I thought having all the functions would increase its utility, but it actually hampered it considerably. And I'll tell you why: Its flimsy. Because SwissTech had to fit all the tools on a single small piece, each tool, and more importantly each bearing, is extremely thin: A few millimeters I'd say. Because of this, there is not enough friction in the bearing to keep it steady. When you unfold it to use the drill bit or screw heads, the tool swivels very easily on that particular bearing. The result it you can't keep your hand steady enough to get adequate leverage. The same problem occurs when using the tool as a pliers: The hinges swivel. Another problem caused by the small size is rigidity: The smaller tools have next to none. When I received it, the cork screw was already warped in such a manner that rendered it unusable in practice. After the first year, many of the smaller bit drivers were too. It the end, this story ended itself. A third debilitating flaw caused by the small size and the number of tools, is the excessive ease if opening the pliers, which lets it off the key ring. Its prone to opening on its own when it experiences a sharp impact. One day after yelling at the campus safety department on my schools campus for changing my dorms locks without telling me, while walking done the stairs I took my key lanyard out of my pocket to change put the new key on it. While taking it out I let it swing, and I guess i must have hit a wall, or table, or railing or something, causing the tool to open and fall off my lanyard.Read more ›
July 21, 2011
The "Swiss Tech Micro-Max" is a very cool multi-tool, with good pliers, a solid Phillips head and flat screwdrivers (3 of each), a "hand drill", and wire cutters. It technically has other tools, but they are mostly "filler" (i.e. ruler marks?). That being said, the real tools are well worth the cost of this well made and compact tool. The folding design also allows this to be carried in pants pockets or in a computer case, which is very convenient.Highly recommended.
December 25, 2008
PROS:
  • Great and does not take too much space
  • Lightweight making easy to carry without feeling the weight
  • Can handle multi-functions with the over 19 tools
  • Easy to store with the patented locking mechanism
  • Lies flat in the pocket and does not fill much space
  • The design is great

CONS:
  • Metal is a bit course and not well polished
  • Individual arms sometimes grind against each other

back to menu ↑

Swiss + Tech ST44444 Polished SS 6-in-1 Utility Key Multi-Tool

Swiss+Tech ST44444 Polished SS 6-in-1 Utility Key Multitool for Keychain, Auto, Camping, Hardware - Gift Tin

This is another great multi tool from the Swiss + Tech. It is one of the best Swiss + Tech multi-tools for precision cutting. The tool comes with both the serrated and straight knives to achieve a wide variety of cutting options. It is a great product to act as a gift for men. It is the best multi tool for those women looking to give their men the perfect gift. The Swiss + Tech ST44444 comes with an individual gift box so that you have everything ready to gift your man.

Features:

  • Comes with an individual gift box
  • Have both the straight and serrated knives
  • A versatile set of tools
  • Attaches securely to the key chains
  • Comes with a micro eyeglass for a flat screwdriver
  • Product
  • Photos

Swiss+Tech ST44444 Polished SS 6-in-1 Utility Key Multitool for Keychain, Auto, Camping,...

Compact, convenient, versatile tool set securely attaches onto standard keychains or key rings to carry in pocket or bag. Features micro eyeglass flat screwdriver, flat screwdriver, Phillips ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The Utili-Key has to be one of the most convenient multi-tools out there. I don't go anywhere without it, and it gets a lot of use in all kinds of circumstances.It's the size of a large car key. When it is locked on the keyring, it isn't going anywhere unless and until I am ready to use it. The screwdriver heads are fully functional and sturdy, although there is a risk of getting cut on the knife blade if it is handled carelessly (not like I'd do that, but this isn't a kid's toy). The blade is sharp and stays that way very well.If you like being prepared for anything that might happen, this is a must-have tool for you. Check out the rest of Swiss-Tech's product line as well.One warning: Do _not_ carry a Utili-Key in anything carried on a plane. Scanners do know what they are and how to find them. Stow it instead because it will be confiscated otherwise. I hate taking it off my keychain when I travel, but it must be done.
March 10, 2004
I've had this attached to my key ring for a number of years. I don't need it often but when I have it's been useful as long as I am very careful while handling it. The knife is extremely sharp and because the key is pretty thin it can rotate easily in your fingers. It's not incredibly easy to close around a key ring with one hand, and does with a bit of a snap, so you need to make sure your fingers are well out of the way when you do. The Phillips screwdriver on the end of one of the tines is helpful for things like tightening eyeglasses, but it is slightly offset from the opposing blade and I've nicked or jabbed myself with it more than once while it's in my pocket. You're supposed to lock it at either 90 or 180 degrees when using it, but when you close it from 90 the keyring end easily grabs at your fingers. This isn't a product for kids, and only should be used with extreme care.
July 7, 2008
When I first noticed the Utili-Key at my retailer, I thought the $10 price was a little high for something so small and simple, but the stainless steel finish seemed well done, and it looked like a high-quality tool so I bought it anyway. I have since found out that the tool also comes in a gold color (titanium nitride) at some retailers.Now that I've had it for a while, it seems well worth the money. This product was made in China and unfortunately I have seen some low quality steel tools that were made there, thankfully this one is an exception. The tool opens and closes precisely and seems to have tight tolerances. The serration's on the lower knife portion seem to have been carefully cut. It looks as though one side of the Utili-Key is slightly more polished than the other, probably for marketing reasons as the more jeweled side was facing up in the retail box. This is a minor point as the other side still looks just fine.When I first bought the Utili-Key, it was not clear to me that it would open up a full 180 degrees. That would have been okay since the tool is completely functional when opened 90 degrees. There are no springs involved, and it appears to be made of out of exactly 3 pieces of steel. It clicks into either of the two open positions with a bit of pressure and stays in place fairly well, but it is not locked into position which means that it can still close up on your finger if not used carefully. The knife is very sharp and it could cause an accidental injury during the use of the philips part of the tool since the blade is opposite the philips head.The tool is so small and unobtrusive that I cannot imagine why anyone would not want to have the easy convenience of it right on the old key-ring.Read more ›
February 26, 2006
PROS:
  • Great packaging
  • Lightweight allowing you to carry it on the key chain
  • Sharp serrated and straight knives for precise cutting
  • Quite sturdy and reliable
  • Flexible when in use and doesn’t bend

CONS:
  • Difficult to use without both hands
  • The blades are too short
  • The eyeglass and screwdriver are too large for two pairs of glasses

back to menu ↑

Leatherman Skeletool CX Multi Tool

LEATHERMAN Skeletool CX Multitool

 

When it comes to keeping weight as minimal as possible, the best multi tool to use is the Leatherman Skelotool. Weighing a mere 5 ounces, the Skelo tool is one of the lightest multi tools in the market. It is a great pick for adventurous races and mountain hikers who want to keep their weight as minimal as possible. This is done the unique way that does not sacrifice the true quality and functionality of all Leatherman multi-tools. It is quite durable with stainless steel handles and tungsten DLC scratch resistant coating.

Features:

  • The handles are all stainless steel for durability
  • The outside blades are easily accessible
  • Easy to operate and can be opened with just one handle
  • Comes with the bit driver technology that allows users to customize it with any tool
  • Lightweight weighing a mere five ounces
  • Backed by a 25 years warranty
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

LEATHERMAN Skeletool CX Multitool

Adventure racers and hikers want to keep weight and volume to a minimum without sacrificing quality and true functionality. Enter the new Leatherman Skeletool

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

I think there is a lot of confusion about what advantages the CX has over the cheaper (-$20) stainless version. I hope this review will clear some of that up. Some reviewers are advising you buy the stainless version because the only difference is a slither of carbon fiber. That is simply not true. The CX has a lot more going on for it than that!1) The metal used to make the blade in each model is different. The stainless version uses 420HC steel, which is a decent metal with good hardness and good edge retention. The CX version uses 154CM steel, which is considered by many as a "super steel" because of its good corrosion resistance and excellent toughness and edge retention. Imho, this is worth the $20 price difference alone.2) The blade styles are different. The stainless version has a plain edge whereas the CX has a partially serrated blade. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages. The plain blade is much easier to sharpen because you dont have to deal with maintaining any serrations (if you dont know what you are doing, serrations tend to get ground away when you do any sharpening). The partially serrated blade, however, is much more versatile in terms of cutting. In a pinch, you can used the serrated part of the knife as a saw or just for more cutting power. Additionally, if you learn the proper technique, sharpening a serrated blade is not that much more difficult, albeit a bit more time consuming. Personally, I like the partially serrated blade.3) The tungsten coating isnt just for looks. True, it makes this tool even sexier than it would otherwise be, but it also adds a layer of corrosion/oxidation protection. This is a big deal to those of us who intend to use the tool in humid or moist conditions.Read more ›
June 25, 2008
-Backstory-One of the criterion for a great multitool is versatility, and for the longest time I thought that meant more blades, attachments, and enhancements. While that's partially true, that also means a bigger, heavier footprint. When I finally upgraded to the heavyweight behemoth that is the Leatherman 830160 Surge Pocket Multitool with Leather Sheath and found myself leaving it at home more and more often because of its weight, I realized something was wrong.The reality is most blades/tool-blades seldom see the light of day outside of camping, and the added weight and size only serve to discourage daily carry. Barring camping or novelty, when was the last time you used your pocket-knife's can-opener? Wood saw? Awl? Corkscrew?? Is there anything you absolutely need scissors for that can't be accomplished with a blade or wire cutter? Do you unconditionally NEED eyeglass-sized screwdrivers on you 24-7?Most daily applications can be accomplished with a simple blade, a couple drivers, a good set of pliers, and a bottle opener ;). And that's exactly what the Skeletool standard and CX multitools offer.-Carryability-What makes the Skeletool CX great isn't the *number* of tools, it's the *versatility* of its few, well thought out tools, allowing for a 5 ounces overall weight, slim form-factor, and not one but two carry clips.Read more ›
April 21, 2010
I've had this tool for a few years. Right until last month I considered this the best tool I ever had. I used it for camping and freshwater fishing mostly. The blade was one of the sharpest I had ever tested, with the serrated portion adding a whole deal of functionality by allowing the blade to cut through some very tough materials. I've used it anywhere from Houston (where I go out on short camping trips) to North Cascades (where I spent a week fishing trout and salmon using this constantly to cut fish and work with my fishing materials). I couldn't have been happier ...until a week ago.I feel compelled to publish this review, because never before had I had such an overwhelming 180-degree shift in my opinion of a product.The fact is I went on vacation to Destin, Florida, where I decided to use this tool all week while kayak fishing. Granted, saltwater is one of the nastiest things there are to put any metal through, no matter how good. Even most stainless steel has trouble with saltwater. It is basic chemistry. The salt gives it higher conductivity, and then chemically induced currents go to work on the metal surface ultimately leading to rust/corrosion. That is why you wash any reel you've used for saltwater fishing in freshwater right after you finish using it. And that is the practice I followed with this tool. Still then, it was useless. Within 6 hours of using it for saltwater fishing, I started noticing signs of rust. So far so good. I thought to myself I culd live with a little orange here and there. Just wash it well in freshwater when you're done, use a little rubbing alcohol to eliminate moisture, lubricate again, and voila.Read more ›
June 28, 2013
PROS:
  • Very light allowing users to carry it easily without much trouble
  • Quality is maintained despite the small size and little weight
  • Very durable with the stainless steel construction

CONS:
  • Has rust or corrosion issues when in contact with salt water
  • Not ideal for bigger tasks

back to menu ↑

Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier

Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier, Black [22-01545]

Gerber once again has one of its multi tool in the list among the best multi tool in the market with a wide range of features. The black rugged Gerber Diesel is a great option for individuals looking for a multi tool capable of handling numerous tasks at a go. It is lightweight and weighs just 8.5 ounces making quite easy to carry around. This device has countless applications and will save you precious time accomplishing small tasks when on a trip or some venture. The Gerber Diesel is an indispensable tool that every soldier or DIY fanatic must own to deal with smaller issues that arise when accomplishing various activities.

Features:

  • Super versatility
  • Easy handling
  • Needle nose pliers
  • The knife has a partially serrated blade
  • Cross point screwdriver
  • Can opener
  • Comes with scissors and a saw
  • Product
  • Photos

Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier, Black [22-01545]

Like the men and women who carry our gear, Gerber is Unstoppable. Decades of innovation and dedication have put us here. Renowned as a master of knives and tools, Gerber's problem-solving, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
My father gave me my first Gerber multipliers when I was a teen. Now as I soldier I have upgraded to its larger, more durable cousin, the Gerber Diesel. There are three things I never want to be without: my weapon, my wits, and my multiplier.This device has countless applications that will save time looking for another tool and wear/tear on your hands. Disassembling your rifle and you do not have a cleaning rod within reach? Pliers head. MRE heater belching hot gases and you want to retrieve your meal? Pliers head. Find a little annoying string on your ACUs or your need to cut 550 cord? Scissors. Need to smooth a piece of metal on your gear so it does not rip clothing or skin? File. Cardboard needs to be cut into a sign? Knife blade. Need to get into an electronic or mechanical device riddled with phillips head/flat head screws? Phillips head/flat head screwdrivers. Alcohol beverage crimp top needs to be taken off? Bottle opener. A thick branch you want to use as shade or camouflage? Saw.Other soldiers routinely come to me to borrow this indispensable device. Opens with the flick of a wrist. I would not always carry a knife, but I will never go anywhere on mission without a Gerber.As the review title states, you will never own anything more useful.
March 21, 2009
I had been searching for a replacement for my Schrade Tough Tool, which while giving me many years of reliable service before being stolen from a jobsite I was on, was a little heavy and clunky for my purposes.Gerber multi-pliers always seemed very 'handy', but seemed a little lightweight for my purposes. But I asked around among my trusted friends and associates and I decided the Gerber Diesel had the strength and the features I was after. And after testing this bad boy in the field, I can truly say it performed without flaw.My main concern was the strength of the pliers themselves (the Schrade was extremely strong and stable). I put this to the test immediately upon getting to work. I'm not sure what the reviewer who claimed the pliers had a design flaw was cranking on, but I cranked hex bolts/nuts, wing-nuts and all kinds of other fasteners with NO PROBLEMS! The needle-nose pliers were perfect for tight spots and sensitive moves with electronics, and I snipped everything from fishing-line to heavy-gauge wire and metal banding like butter with the snips.The other issue I was concerned with was the 'one-handed' plier operation. This is really the key feature with any Gerber multi-tool, and I had NO problems at all getting the pliers to engage by flicking my wrist while holding one side of the two handles as instructed. It was a little stiff at first, but after a dozen or so flicks, the action was perfect.Lastly, I was worried about all the reviews of the black coating coming off on the user's hands. And right out of the box there was a small amount of black residue left on my hands after handling the tool for the first time. But I've had this problem with ANY black coated tool I've ever owned (try handling impact-driver sockets).Read more ›
May 28, 2008
So, every day, I put this multi-tool on my belt and go to work. I can almost always count on finding a use for it. Whether it's cutting through a zip-tie, or getting a stuck screw out with the pliers or cutting through something with the scissors. I literally uses this mulit-tool every day. I've never really liked multi-tools, but a guy I work with has a Gerber multi-tool that he got 18 years ago. It is definitely an older model but basically the same idea (the pliers slide out of the tool) He said that his multi-tool is still serving him very well after 18 years of use (we work in an auto parts store, so we use tools a lot.) I think the most useful tool on the actual multi-tool are the scissors. They fold up so conviently and they are both strong and sharp. I probably have used them the most. I've had the Multi-Pliers for about four months now, and I can't put into words how much easier they have made my daily life. I never go anywhere without them. You get a lot of confused and interested looks from people when you whip the Mulit-Pliers out and slide the pliers out.The Leatherman mulit-tools are good, they're a classic and all, but seriously, I can't stand the pinching of the hands when you fold them and go through all the work to expose the pliers. With the Multi-Pliers, you take it out of the pouch and with a simple snap of the wrist, you're ready to us it in any way you can think of. I think the best feature about the Multi-Pliers is that they are easy to use. You can be lazy and use one hand to open them up (I can take out and tool with only one hand.) It's so easy and fun to use. When I first got the Multi-Pliers in the mail, I ripped it out of the box and immediately started practicing with them. I must have spent three hours opening and closing them.Read more ›
November 17, 2011
PROS:
  • User-friendly with a unique design that gives peace of mind
  • Safe to use with self-interlocking mechanisms that improve safety
  • Bigger and stronger handling some more specific functions
  • Refined lock and sliding functions
  • Nylon ballistic sheath for storage

CONS:
  • The black coating does come off in some multi-tools

back to menu ↑

Leatherman Style CS Multi Tool 2015

Leatherman Style CS Multi Tool 2015

 

The Leatherman Style CS Multi Tool 2015 completes our review of the top ten best multi tools in the market. It is another great multi tool with great features found in most Leatherman products. This six-in-one multi tool features a unique clip-n design a feature that distinguishes it from all the other Leatherman products. The Style comes with CS to ensure your most important tools are with you at all times. It can easily fit into your pocket or clip on your bag for easy clipping. The Style CS multi tool has a good design that makes you want to show it off.

Features:

  • Carabiner or bottle opener
  • Stainless steel body for optimized strength
  • The nylon handles are all glass filled
  • Bit drivers to work with other tools
  • Feature six functional tools
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Leatherman Style CS Multi Tool 2015

The Leatherman Style CS is a handy Six-in-One tool that features a unique clip-on design. All of the tools that come in the Style CS ensure you will never be without your most necessary tools. Easily ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Item Weight

1 pounds

Shipping Weight

1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I bought this tool, to be a companion with it's big brother, an skeletool, witch I carry everyday. I need a tool with me all the time, because I work with computers. But I needed something smaller, just for the times I don't wish to carry a heavy tool. This is NOT a heavy duty tool, just for emergency use. I feel that the supposed screwdrivers are not for even moderate use, and the bottle opener doesn't feel very tough, but it does its job well. Anyways, my skeletool, doesn't have scissors, and these are excellent. The tweezers are somewhat difficult to take out, but I hope will get easier as time passes. The blade is small, but feels very sharp for what it is supposed to be (a small blade) and is a very nice complement to have.If you need to have a scissors, small blade, bottle opener, and a nail file with you all the time, in a very small tool that can be even clipped to your key chain, but easily detached, and you don't mind about the screwdrivers (or may be used for occasional light use), this tool is for you.If you want to complement your actual tool (like the skeletool), witch doesn't have a pair of scissors, this tool is for you (they look like brothers together, I'll post a picture)if you are looking to have screwdrivers with you for something more than a very light use, or you want a all in one small tool, this tool is NOT for you.Pros:Very small and light.Excellent scissors.Looks (at least, for me)Blade, is nice for its size.File is nice.Can be clipped to your key chain, and unclipped easily.Cons:Screwdriver are not very strong.Tweezers are difficult to take outBottle opener doesn't feel very strong (but it works)All in all, a very nice key chain tool.Read more ›
May 29, 2010
This is, to me at least, an interesting product. When I think of Leatherman, I generally think of tools that include pliers and have a reasonable amount of heft to them. So, let's start by saying that this tool is not.It is not a beefy multi-tool. If that is what you are looking for -- look elsewhere. I would disagree with the pictures that seem to suggest that this is backpacking tool. It is not. It is too small for outdoor use.It is clearly aimed at the Victorinox small pocket knife collection -- like the classic or the manager series. It is a little longer than either the classic or manager and slightly thinner. The individual tools are easy to access and use. Each tool works as advertised, except, IMHO, the flat head Philips isn't worth much.However, the primary reason for purchasing this tool is to have quick access to a pair of spring loaded scissors. The scissors are quite nice. Good leverage for dealing with thick items and reasonable sharp.I use a pair of scissors multiple times a day and think this will work out well for me. I attach my car key fob to a S type mini-carabiner on my belt loop. (I wear jeans every day.) The carabiner on the Style CS easily attaches to the one on my belt loop. Giving me easy access without a lot of weight or bulk.I recommend this tool. Just keep in mind that it is not for everyone. However, if you need a good small pair of scissors, with a few extra tools, that actually work, it is a little hard to beat.Cheers.
May 28, 2010
I too have to compare the CS with the Micra. Both are about the same size, shape, and weight. They both have exactly the same scissors as the main tool- to me the most useful tool to have, much better than a pliers head. The CS has two things that work better than the Micra while the Micra has one thing better. The knife is easily got at on the CS while it was such a pain to get to on the Micra. The quick release clip lets the the CS come off of the unwieldy key chain. The Micra's Phillips type screwdriver head tool is much more useful as a strong screwdriver than the CS's but the CS can do smaller screws (like on eyeglasses!). The Micra has a couple more tools than the CS but I don't remember EVER using them so no loss. The tweezers are slightly better on the CS (and on mine they DO come to a sharp, beveled point (good for small slivers)). Both the CS and the Micra comes with the blade beveled on only one side and are dull as hell. 30 seconds with my diamond plate fixed that but still... The scissors are great on the CS and are plenty sharp. Getting the knife out on the CS is a pain as the small slot for thumbnail is way towards the back. The file/screwdriver comes out easily. The tweezers are well designed so as not to come out without some effort (usually the tweezers was the first thing I lost on Swiss army knives- right after the toothpick!). The C5 has hex headed screws at the pivot points so I can adjust the tension while the Micra has knurled rivet type screws. All in all, CS by a nose (but only if the quick release clip does not let the tool fall off of the key chain- only time will tell). The CS also looks a lot cooler, heh.EDIT EDIT EDIT 10/15/10 another half star for the CS.Read more ›
September 28, 2010
PROS:
  • It is one tool with a thousand of uses making it quite versatile
  • Durable and long lasting
  • Portable and easily fits into pockets
  • Comes with a 25 years warranty
  • The scissors are excellent
  • The blades are great for its size
  • File is nice

CONS:
  • Not very strong screwdrivers
  • Tweezers difficult to cut out
  • Bottle opener not very strong

How to Choose the Best Multi-Tool?

Consumers need to look at various considerations when choosing the best multi tool for the needs. Most of these multi tools have almost the same tools with variations in the number of tools being reflected in the weight. When choosing a multi tool the following need to be considered.

The tools in the multi-tool influence the type of multi-tool to purchase. Depending on what you do most, choose a multi-tool with all the functional tools attached. Here the choice comes down to what you require most in various adventures.

  • Weight of the Multi-Tool

In choosing the best multi tool, consider if you must sacrifice weight for an extra tool. The type of adventure taken might also influence your choice of the multi-tool chosen. Races and hikers might have to go with a lightweight multi-tool have they need very minimal weight with them.

  • Brand

The brand of the multi-tool can also influence the type of multi-tools bought. Some brands are known to produce high-quality multi-tools than others. If you want the best multi-tool, and then choose the best brand in the market, this will give you a multi-tool of high quality and good value for money.

  • Durability and Warranty

You want something that will serve you for years. Consider the material used to make the multi-tool know if it is durable and will last you for long periods. Look at the warranty to see what it covers and the duration it covers the multi-tool. Selecting the best multi-tool might appear difficult, but when you know what you want and what to check, the process is quite easier.

  • Price

Depending on how much you want to spend; don’t go way too high paying for the multi-tool if you have a better option. If you have to pay much more, then ensure the quality is there. Always look for a multi-tool that gives you the best value for your money.

Competition — Which One Comes Out Top?

Well, it is a difficult choice to select the winner between the Gerber and Leatherman multi-tools, but I have to go with the Leatherman multi-tools for their wide range and unique extra features. The Leatherman multi-tools seem to edge out all of its competitors when it comes to design, portability and range of tools. Their multi-tools are many allowing the user the opportunity to choose one that perfectly suits their needs. There are multi-tools with up to 17 tools while others have six tools.

The Leatherman had the lightest multi-tool, but the quality was not compromised at all. Their design was also much better with some multi-tools coming with a clip design that allows the user to easily carry the multi-tool with easy. Leatherman 830039 Wave Multi Tool with Leather/Nylon Combination Sheath takes the number one spot, but this does not mean the others aren’t as great as the Leatherman.

The brand Leatherman is also well-known when it comes to quality multi-tools. When buying a multi-tool, always look at their features on the multi-tool, the price, and your need.

Sources:

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars ,
(1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password