Top 10 Best Offset Umbrella Reviews — The Perfect Shopping Guide

An offset umbrella is an ideal choice when you need to shade a large area, and the popularity of such umbrellas continues to increase with time. They are preferred by many people because they are versatile, and their control mechanism is easy to operate. Investing in such an umbrella not only creates a comfortable shady spot on your patio but also adds to the visual appeal of your home. Different manufacturers produce these umbrellas in different sizes, designs, colors, and even prices. Such information is important when purchasing offset umbrellas so this review will help you choose the right one based on the description, pros, and cons of each.

Best Choice Products Patio Umbrella Offset 10′ Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella

Best Choice Products® Patio Umbrella Offset 10' Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella Tan New

Best Choice Products® Patio Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $64.95 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 76″ x 5.5″ x 12″
  • Item weight: 15 pounds
  • Color: Tan
  • Features: Waterproof polyester material, pole coated with powder, steel bottom frame, crank operation.
  • Product
  • Photos

Best Choice Products® Patio Umbrella Offset 10' Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella...

Best Choice Products is proud to present this brand new Tan 10

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I purchased two Patio Umbrella sets in spring time to be ready for summer. I set them up for July 4 party by the end of the day when I went to close the sets one of them was only hanging by its string, the plastic lip attaching it to the top frame had cracked. I contacted Best Choice products and they asked me to send pictures of the damaged umbrella set, I did so and they stated that they would get back to me, weeks go by and I hear nothing. I again e-mailed inquiring about getting a replacement or reimbursement for the damaged Umbrella which clearly had a manufacturing defect as my other one is fine. They write back that it was past my sixty day warranty so they can do nothing. I then thought if this was going to be their answer then why ask me to go thru they expense of sending them pictures. It is clear that this company does not stand by its products and can care less about its customers.
August 10, 2010
Do not buy this product!!! It is such a waste of money. I wish I would have either just bought a regular table umbrella or saved up to buy a nicer side umbrella. I've had this product since February 2011 and have used it a handful of times. It sways in the breeze which isn't too bad but if there is a gust of wind the thing completely flies up and will knock any one in the head that is in the vicinity!!!! Also, the entire umbrella will start to twist around. I've tried to tighten the pole in every place possible and it still doesn't work. Then today as I am unwinding it a pin popped out of its hole and the arm of the umbrella fell apart!!!!!!!!!! So annoyed!!!!!!!! Please please don't waste your money on this product! I would give it less than a star if I could. Remember you get what you pay for!!! I would never recommend this product to anyone. Please don't waste your hard earned money on this. Either save up for a nice one or just go w/ the umbrella that fits in the table!
May 29, 2011
So I just finished assembling this thing in the scorching hot California sun. It wasn't hard except for the fact that I bought the wrong sized pavers from Lowes (they must be less than 1.7" thick) and had to bring them back and buy other ones.Note, you definitely either need to bolt the base down or get pavers to weigh the it down. I got 6, 15.6"x15.6"x1.7" pavers and they fit perfectly as you can see from my pictures.Yes, the instructions could be more thorough but then again, there really are 4 peices (the criss cross base, the pole the attaches to the base, and the umbrella that you insert into the pole).It's slightly flimsy as in the umbrella sways around in the wind, but if it lasts, i'd rather buy 5 of these than spend $500+ on one of the other ones.It gets the job done and I like it better than the ones that go through the middle of the table. Check out the pictures I posted.
June 5, 2013
PROS:
  • Assembly and installation of this offset umbrella are easy. It comes with a clear guide from the manufacturer on how to put it together.
  • It is sold at a lower price as compared to similar products in the market.
  • With the crank operation, you can easily close the umbrella and store it away.

CONS:
  • The color of the fabric tends to fade after some time.
  • This offset umbrella is a bit flimsy, and it moves in the wind. The pole is also prone to bending if the wind blows hard.

back to menu ↑

Ace Evert Offset Umbrella

Ace Evert Offset Umbrella 8074, 10 ft, Polyester, Dark Green

Ace Evert Offset Umbrella 8074 Overview

  • Price: $87.35 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 124″ x 102″ x 108″
  • Item weight: 34 pounds
  • Features: crank open system that ensures easy operation, steel cross base, pre-drilled holes on the base.
  • Product
  • Specification

Ace Evert Offset Umbrella 8074, 10 ft, Polyester, Dark Green

10 ft Offset Patio Umbrella

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Dark Green

Item Dimensions

108 x 102 x 124 inches

Manufacturer Part Number

Umbrella8074 - Green

Material Type

Other

Model Number

8074

Shipping Weight

34 pounds

Tough not being perfect this was an excellent deal.Let me address some points:-the umbrella came packed very well and arrived without any damage-assembly...there is pretty much no assembly the 2 stand pieces need to be laid over each other (each less then a pound in weight) a base piece (maybe 2 pounds) needs to be screwed on with 4 bolts and 4 washers. No rocket science. The cantilever arm with the umbrella comes pre assembled, all you need to do is slide it in the base. Ok this part weights maybe 30 but still, I handled it by myself. BE AWARE: weighting down the stand before you add the umbrella part is a good idea. I bought four pavers for about 4 bucks each at the HD. Looks good and adds the needed stability. Not a good idea to use this without added weight. Think about the shear size of the umbrella and what powers wind can produce. Be safe, don't screw it down with the drill holes in the base, the stands material isn't strong enough to keep the thing up in stronger winds.usage- crank the handle....easy.Concerns: the legs are a little bit flimsy by itself. With the stones added it seems to be stable, but if you have a chance of doing a concrete base that may just be the better way to go.I see needle holes were there umbrella fabric is sewn. If that will result in braking fabric later I can not say yet. If It happens I will state it here in an update.All in all I am a very happy buyer, this thing looks great, was very cheap and as always quickly delivered by Amazon.It is in the same league then umbrellas at the big box stores with 3 times the price. In fact I have seen the exact same umbrella under a different name (OEM) at a big box store and other sellers online for up to 399$.Read more ›
June 15, 2012
Any one who is interested in getting an offset (cantilever style) 10 ft. umbrella........look no further! This is by far an outstanding product. I live in a condo complex at the beach on the sand with a cement patio. I literally took this umbrella out of the box and put it together in 3 minutes flat. I am an interior designer and bought this product for my own personal use. To my amazement, the quality is unbelieveable. I bought the umbrella in khaki and it happened to match my existing patio cushions (which was an added bonus).... But the best part is how easy it was to put together and how easy it is to crank up, you do not have to struggle with any ropes...just a slight twist of the handle and it's up. I also have a hot tub, and you can tilt the umbrella to "hide" your self from "your neighbor's view."I do highly recommend this umbrella. Heck, the whole thing cost me $90.00 and that included tax, shipping and it got delivered right to my door in less than a week by Fed Ex.The only thing you will have to buy in addition will be the 4 cement pavers to secure or weigh down your umbrella if you are not going to secure it by screws to your cement or wood patio. Small price to pay as pavers are cheap at Home Depot or Lowe's.Thanks,Debra H.
February 24, 2009
Many others had mentioned that they thought this time was cheap and was broken easily. I would not agree. I received this item a few weeks ago and have been using it daily. It is well designed and almost identical to most other offset umbrellas on the market that will cost you 3-4 time more than this one. It is 10' wide, this thing is huge. It does everything the more expensive ones do, like opens almost vertically to block that late afternoon or early morning sun. The base is steel, the rest of the frame is a polymer (plastic), but this makes the unit lite and easy to carry when needed. I can not imagine one made entirely out of steel. Fabric seems to be of good quality.Having said all that, here are a few tips that combined with some common sense, will assure you it will last for years to come.1. Go to Home Depot and buy 4 - 16" patio blocks to anchor the base of the umbrella. I bought a cobblestone pattern that matches my deck color perfectly. Do not attempt to use the umbrella without first anchoring the base.2. Lower the umbrella whenever it is not in use.3. With a few quick turns of a black knob on the stand, the entire umbrella assembly lifts away from the base and is easily stored in your garage or shed. Doing this when not in use will prevent fading from the sun and potential damage from wind and storms. Plus it prevents wasps from making it a condo during long periods of non-use.4. As with any large umbrella, do not use it on a windy day. It is not designed for that. Use common sense, if you see it flopping around in the breeze, close it.Follow these 4 steps and this will be one of the best deals ever. Take some time to take care of it, and it will last for many years. Leave it out, and open on your deck 24/7, and you will be leaving negative feedback 🙂
June 20, 2012
PROS:
  • The umbrella can move around the pole, so you can move it to follow the changing position of the sun.
  • It is sold at an affordable price.
  • It is easy to put together and crank up.
  • This offset umbrella does not weigh much and is easy to carry around when needed.

CONS:
  • The base of this offset umbrella is not stable, and you may need to reinforce it with more weight.
  • The pole is not strong enough to support the umbrella during strong winds.
  • It discolors very fast after exposure to the sun.

back to menu ↑

New Tan Patio Umbrella Offset 10′ Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella D10

New Tan Patio Umbrella Offset 10' Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella D10

New Tan Patio Umbrella Offset 10′ Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella D10 Overview

  • Price: $49.99 with free shipping
  • Item weight: 33 pounds
  • Material: Vinyl
  • Features: Waterproof polyester, adjustable opening angle, aluminum pole, attractive design, steel bottom frame, powder coated steel ribs with anodized finish.
  • Product
  • Photos

New Tan Patio Umbrella Offset 10' Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella D10

This brand new 10' offset patio umbrella featuring heavy-duty fabric is designed to keep you cool and more comfortable than a traditional umbrella. Now you can enjoy your time outdoors on a hot day ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
For the price, this is awesome!! (Got it for $39) I first searched stores like Home Depot, but their umbrellas cost SO much more, and don't come with a base. This thing will actually stand as is. Though to keep it safe from wind, you do need to bolt or weigh it down. I got this to go with a patio chaise lounge, so I could sit and read without sun in my eyes. This does the trick, so totally worth the price. Very nice that you can adjust the umbrella height/position, and open/close it with a simple crank.
February 25, 2016
Well built product but it does not come with a stable base. To fix this problem I got little creative. Since I live in an area with high winds, conventional bases do not offer the support I need. In order to make a wide sturdy base. I took a wood pallet and a painters drop cloth (6X9) that is canvas. I stapled it from the backside, flipped it over and using wood screws. Bolted the base of the umbrella to the base. Think it looks okay for the price.
April 28, 2016
It is much more substantial than I would have guessed. It was easy to set up. I am using the bag filled with sand that was recommended for it. I'm 70 years old and had no trouble putting it up myself.
February 9, 2016
PROS:
  • This offset umbrella tilts so you can adjust it depending on the position of the sun. The tilt feature also lets you avoid prying eyes from neighbors or other people.
  • It is just as nice and offers the same services as other more expensive models in the market.
  • The fabric is heavy duty and protects you well from the harsh effects of the sun.
  • It provides a large shaded area.

CONS:
  • It does not come with directions for assembly and installation.
  • It constantly moves when the wind blows.
  • It needs additional weight at the base to prevent tilting.

back to menu ↑

Bellezza Premium Patio Umbrella 10′ Feet Patio Tilt W/Crank Outdoor Cantilever

Bellezza© Premium Patio Umbrella 10' Feet Patio Tilt W Crank Outdoor Cantilever, Beige

Bellezza© Premium Patio Umbrella 10′ Feet Patio Tilt W Crank Outdoor Cantilever Overview

  • Price: $79.99 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 5.5″ x 12″ x 76.5″
  • Item weight: 30 pounds
  • Features: Adjustable opening angle, 8 ribs construction, water repellant, UV protection, crank open system, steel bottom frame, 360-degree rotation, easy tilt operation.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Bellezza© Premium Patio Umbrella 10' Feet Patio Tilt W/ Crank Outdoor Cantilever,...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Adjustable opening angle Umbrella Height: approx. 7ft; 10 ft. Diameter, Ideal for both residential and commercial location; 8 Ribs construction, UV ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Beige

Item Dimensions

5.5 x 12 x 76.5 inches

Item Weight

30 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

014-HG-15000-TAN

Material Type

Steel

Shipping Weight

30 pounds

OK folks, this is a good inexpensive solution to shade your favorite outdoor area but you have to know your limitations. Don't try to use this umbrella in winds higher than 5-10 mph. Don't try to leave it open unattended as the wind may pickup. Don't lock the pivot on the base as you must allow it to blow with the wind as locking it will stress vital parts when the wind blows them in an opposite direction. Be sure to properly secure your base with a sand bag or simply trash the cross base that comes with it and pour yourself some concrete in a hole with L shaped anchor bolts and attach it directly to a concrete pier like pictured in my photos. When I bought this like you I was skeptical but when I received it I thought how can this company make any money as it surpassed my expectations. After watching many videos and reading up on these offset umbrellas even the expensive ones have their failures if you try to use them in high winds as they were locking the pivot point that swings the umbrella direction. If you don't want to have to worry about the wind you would be better off with a sun sail or some sort of permanent structure.
April 1, 2016
Maybe I recieved a bad umbrella, but I cannot recommend this product. I have had it set up outside for a total of 2 days and already the string (wire) that allows it to open and close with the crank has snapped. I give it 1 star due to it being a poorly made product. I am attempting to refund it now so I will update on that, but even so sending back this umbrella without a box will be a huge pain. Avoid this product.UPDATE: the company will not refund their subpar product, They claim that once it leaves the warehouse it is my responsibility and they offer no warranty. DO NOT BUY
June 9, 2016
Umbrella is huge which is great for blocking the sun but bad on windy days. Like other sellers stated, even in light winds the umbrella is moving around a lot even with the 50lb sand bag that was recommended with the product. I'm going to purchase some hooks and screw one in front of the main umbrella supporting pole and the other to the umbrella arm closest to it so that it's connected at 2 points instead of just one in the center. Hopefully this will resolve the extreme buffeting in the winds.Like another seller stated, the box came with a huge gaping hole but fortunately the only parts missing was the washers, a quick trip to the "big orange" resolved the issue. Since this will be sitting on my deck all year round, I bought some rustoleum clear paint and painted everything on the bottom support pole that the recommended cover didn't cover just to be on the safe side.If my modification works for the wind buffeting, I will definitely purchase this umbrella again.
March 31, 2016
PROS:
  • The umbrella is durable if you avoid leaving it open at night and during bad weather conditions.
  • It is of good quality, and it works well for the price.
  • It is a bit stable than other similar products and can handle a moderate breeze.
  • This offset umbrella has an attractive design.
  • It is easy to open for use and to close for storage.

CONS:
  • This offset umbrella is top heavy, so you have to put some weight on the base to keep it from tipping over.
  • Some parts of this umbrella are plastic, and this reduces its longevity.

back to menu ↑

10′ Deluxe Polyester Offset Patio Umbrella by Trademark Innovations

10' Deluxe Polyester Offset Patio Umbrella by Trademark Innovations (Teal

10′ Deluxe Polyester Offset Patio Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $99.99 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 5″ x 12″ x 75.5″
  • Item weight: 24 pounds
  • Features: Crank operation, 180G polyester fabric, black steel coating.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

10' Deluxe Polyester Offset Patio Umbrella by Trademark Innovations (Teal

This deluxe offset patio umbrella measures 10' in diameter to provide plenty of shade on hot summer days. The canvas is 180G polyester so will stand up to the elements. The adjustable opening angle ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Teal

Item Dimensions

5 x 12 x 75.5 inches

Item Weight

24 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

PAT-UMB-TEAL

Material Type

Polyester

Model Number

PAT-UMB-TEAL

Shipping Weight

28.2 pounds

I bought one of these about 5 years ago from a local retailer for $79 assuming that it would last one season and need to be replaced. Most other "decent" offset umbrellas start in the $300-$600 range. After 5 years, I am happy to say that we still have it, although this will be its last season. In the intervening years, outside of normal maintenance (cleaning and paint touch up), I have only had to make two repairs to it. I did both at the same time but probably could have avoided the second if I had done the first earlier. The only issue with this umbrella is that there are no drainage holes in the winch that opens and closes the umbrella. As a result, after four years of filling and not draining quickly, the cable eventually rotted. Last year, I drilled holes in the casing of the spool and restrung it with paracord. I will be replacing it this year, because the fiberglass sleeve around the clamp has started tearing. I am glad that I found it here on Amazon because the old retailer where I originally purchased the item is no longer in business.
May 27, 2014
I bought this in August 2014. I have no problems with the structural members. They should last for a couple years at least. The canopy is another story, as is the thin nylon cord that raises and lowers the canopy. The fabric showed small holes around the perimeter after about 3 months of use. Now, there are not only random holes but also major tears around the top of the canopy. No, I didn't bring this ungainly thing indoors during the winter months. Yes, I tried to retract it during spells of wind. But considering the umbrella's sheltered location, I am surprised to see such dramatic deterioration in less than a year. I would buy a replacement canopy if only it was clear that Trademark Innovations sold them. The tiny little drawstring is frayed as well (I forgot to shoot this). 3 stars for structure and price, 1 star for absolutely crummy fabric. Do the math: 2 stars. ((Should I receive any consideration from the seller I will amend this review.))
March 12, 2015
Really great product and worth every dollar. Looks great. My back patio and yard is like a wind tunnel and when I put the umbrella down I have no issues with it, unlike cheaper ones I have had that have broken. Just buy a simple base that you can fill with water or sand and you will have no problems.
August 3, 2014
PROS:
  • This offset umbrella is wide, and it offers a large shaded area.
  • It is relatively inexpensive and offers value for money.
  • It has a classy and attractive design.
  • The fabric is of good quality, and it withstands different weather element.
  • It is durable if given proper care and maintenance.

CONS:
  • It does not come with a weighted base, so you have to purchase one or use sandbags.

back to menu ↑

COBANA 10 Ft Patio Umbrella Offset Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Umbrella Garden Umbrella

COBANA 10 Ft Patio Umbrella Offset Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella Garden Umbrella, 250g sqm Polyester, Beige

COBANA 10 Ft Patio Umbrella Offset Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella Garden Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $119.00 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 75.5″ x 13″ x 7.3″
  • Item weight: 27.1 pounds
  • Features: UV-resistant fabric, fade resistant, crank system, coated pole, 8 steel ribs construction, steel base.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

COBANA 10 Ft Patio Umbrella Offset Hanging Umbrella Outdoor Market Umbrella Garden...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Durable Awning-grade Fabric. The fabric is UV resistant, waterproof, fade resistant, and last for 1000 hours. It is not recommended to use in windy ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Beige

Manufacturer Part Number

AS10488250B

Material Type

Aluminum

Model Number

AS10488250B

Package Height

7.3 x 13 x 75.5 inches

Shipping Weight

27.15 pounds

The Cobana 10 Foot Diameter Patio Umbrella is awesome in many ways! It's a beautiful looking umbrella.This all-in-one free standing canopy umbrella gives me a full 10 feet of coverage from the sun and also provides UV protection. The canopy umbrella includes all the hardware and tools, and was very easy to put together. Watch the video below to see step-by-step instructions on how quick and easy this high quality umbrella and stand is to assemble.The canopy umbrella has 8 strong steel ribs that includes venting for wind to keep the umbrella as stable as possible. There's also the included crank handle for folding and unfolding the umbrella to different height settings based on the amount of coverage from the sun I need.After I did my video review I did some additional research about weights for the umbrella base for extra support. Based on this research, I would also suggest purchasing fill-able weights for an offset canopy umbrella base, this will provide the extra support and stability needed to avoid the umbrella being caught by a gust of wind or being knocked over if someone were to bump into it accidentally, such as when kids are playing near the umbrella.Overall I'm very happy with the quality & beauty of this offset canopy umbrella and how easy it was to assemble on my own. This product was provided for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.
January 16, 2016
The size of this umbrella is unbelievable. It is very easy to put together. You put the base together by using 4 bolts and the rest clicks into place. You need to lift the center bar to adjust the distance of the umbrella so that you can fully open it. The shade from the giant umbrella covers our entire seating area and makes it very comfortable to sit outside in the strong sun. The base is not heavy at all and will blow down with the slightest wind. Your options are to screw the base into a wood deck or floor. There are holes in the base, but no screws are included. I have a cement patio so my only solution was to buy an umbrella weight bag. I filled it up with rocks and inserted it over the pole, as you can see in the photos. This keeps the umbrella up, even through strong wind. I gave this a 4 star because even with the additional purchase of the weight bag, this umbrella is still a fraction of the cost of others this size. Also because the umbrella it self is still very good quality only the base was poorly designed.I received this umbrella free in order to test it and to share my honest and unbiased review.
April 19, 2016
All of these 5 star reviews will change after one or two seasons when the clamp.pivot on the vertical pole BREAKS, and it willl as it is the weakest part of the support system. No repair parts can be found to replace the broken part and it is almost impossible to do a home repair on it. The part is plastic and either it is weak or the sun weakens it when the umbrella is in a closed position.PLEASE be warned that it will fail either after one season or for sure in the second season. You should not buy it. Ours broke at the beginning of the third season. It is a shame as I really enjoyed the umbrella, especially being able to open or close it as the weather changes. I have a larger base on mine with two 50 pound bags of sand on the base. I also installed a plywood bottom and attached heavy duty casters so we could move it around. I often would move it to the driveway to shade me while I did work on my vehicles.
May 8, 2016
PROS:
  • This offset umbrella has got holes on the base so you can screw it to your deck.
  • It covers a large seating area.
  • The crank system is easy to operate.
  • This umbrella has a vent at the top, and this helps to prevent mildew and mold.
  • Its construction is lightweight and yet sturdy.

CONS:
  • Extra weight is needed for stability, and this is not included in the purchase.
  • The umbrella cannot be used during windy days since it is not stable enough.
  • The main pole breaks within weeks of use.

back to menu ↑

Coolaroo Round Cantilever Umbrella

Coolaroo Round Cantilever Umbrella, Terracotta, 10-Foot

Coolaroo Round Cantilever Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $164.70 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 91″ x 23″ x 6″
  • Item weight: 43 pounds
  • Features: UV protection, mold, and mildew resistant
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Coolaroo Round Cantilever Umbrella, Terracotta, 10-Foot

Coolaroo Round Cantilever Umbrellas provide a large 10-foot diameter of shade while staying out of the way. The cantilever design keeps the pole off to the side, preventing pleasant luncheons from ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Terracotta

Item Dimensions

6 x 23 x 91 inches

Item Weight

43 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

448899

Material Type

-1

Model Number

448899

Shipping Weight

43.15 pounds

The umbrella works but before you buy it, be aware that Gale Pacific/Coolaroo does not offer replacement parts. I called their customer service to buy a bracket that snapped off and they told me that I should just buy another umbrella. Really? Buy a whole new umbrella for almost $200 when all I need is a bracket? That doesn't speak well for the company. I've never bought something of quality that didn't have replacement parts available for purchase.
May 12, 2011
I was very excited to get this umbrella. I bought it about two months ago. It was attractive. I needed help to get it up the stairs but did manage to put it together on my own.I could not figure out how to make it tilt. I used it and always cranked it down when not using it. It moves in the wind alot - even a gentle wind.One day I was nearby - it was up and I noticed the wind picked up. Immediately I ran to crank it down - the crank would not crank and it smashed my thumb. Then the umbrella - with its heavy looking metal bars blew upside down and broke off where it looked to be welded.This was a pricey luxury investment for me and i expected it to last years. Not months especially not only 2. both the person i bought it from through amazon and the manufacturer said there was nothing they could do. So off in the trash it goes and i will never purchase a coolaro umbrella again. I used it exactly as recommended... Oh the coolaro lady said it would not have broken if you kept it down - i laughed and said so how do you use it if its down? since i was using it when the wind picked up and it broke. (there was no weather report of strong wind that day) she said. hmm that's true. She was very nice and apologized but in this economy an investment like this is nothing to sneeze at. My patio is in direct sun all day - but i am going to go with a less expensive product since its going to break anyway. BOO!!!!! I did purchase through amazon - its not their fault.
June 10, 2010
Lovely umbrella. Looks good, it's portable, nice design. BUT...one of the sliding plastic pieces broke and rendered it unusable. There is no recourse...the company does not have replacement parts. We've had it for a bit over a year, so it's unreturnable, as well. Wouldn't want to, anyway, because then it's just a piece of landfill.
August 4, 2010
PROS:
  • This offset umbrella durable especially if you keep it shut when you are not using it.
  • It looks beautiful and is easy to put together. The crank mechanism also ensures smooth operation of the umbrella.
  • You can easily clean the fabric with soap and water.
  • It offers a 10-foot diameter shade from the sun.
  • It is made of breathable fabric that is breathable and provides a cool environment by allowing hot air to escape and cool breeze to get in.

CONS:
  • This offset umbrella moves in the wind a lot.
  • It does not rotate freely.
  • Some parts break easily, and the manufacturer does not provide replacement parts.

back to menu ↑

TMS Banana Umbrella

TMS Banana Umbrella, Red

TMS Banana Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $72.75 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 11″ x 5″ x 72″
  • Item weight: 23.6 pounds
  • Features: 360 degrees rotation, adjustable opening angle, aluminum pole with anodized finish, 6 steel ribs for support
  • Product
  • Photos

TMS Banana Umbrella, Red

Premium offset umbrella featuring heavy-duty polyester, specially designed to keep you cool

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
It works, but the stand needs to be strenghthened. I put concrete blocks on the stand, but it kind of defeats the purpose, making it look unattractive.
March 15, 2015
You get what you pay for. Cheap umbrella equals cheap construction. We had it less than one day before sending it back. The main pivot parts are all plastic, and cheap plastic at that. The main pivot at the top of the shaft twisted at a 45* angle like it was made out of warm butter! Granted this was in the sunny South where temps were in the upper 90's but this is an outdoor umbrella meant to shade people in the sun!IF you can baby it and IF you can keep it away from any breezes or twisting movements then it may last you a while. Otherwise it is a totally disposable item that isnt worth the hassle. You could buy 4 of these and replace once or twice a season or you can spend the same and get a better quality umbrella that will last.
August 10, 2016
A reasonable quality at a good price, I have it for about 1 month and have 4 concrete tiles to hold its base down and so far it's working really well. The instruction is minimal and there's a little piece of silver insert between the base tube and the umbrella which doesn't even mention in its instruction and I just figured it out how it supposes to be used. I said reasonable quality not good quality because the 2 drilled holes that define how the umbrella is mounted are not well aligned to the base's longest arm (you want the umbrella to be right above that longest arm to it to be more stable) so that makes the center of gravity not acting on the longest arm and less stable. Overall it's still a good buy.
June 6, 2016
PROS:
  • This offset umbrella pivots around such that you can adjust it to the position of the sun.
  • It is sold at a reasonable price for the value it has to offer.
  • The attractive design of this umbrella adds to the appeal of your home.

CONS:
  • The base is unstable, and the umbrella can tip over even during light weeds, so you need to support it with additional weights.

back to menu ↑

Giantex 10ft Outdoor Patio Sun Shade Umbrella Hanging Offset Crank W/Cross Base Garden

Giantex 10ft Outdoor Patio Sun Shade Umbrella Hanging Offset Crank W Corss Base Garden Beige

Giantex 10ft Outdoor Patio Sun Shade Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $54.99 with free shipping
  • Available colors: Beige, brown, green, red
  • Features: 10-foot umbrella diameter, steel pole, 180g water-Proof Polyester
  • Product
  • Specification

Giantex 10ft Outdoor Patio Sun Shade Umbrella Hanging Offset Crank W/ Corss...

This Is Our Hanging Offset Umbrella, Sun Tent, Rain Shelter, And More All In One, The Parasol Gives You Instant Portable Protection From The Elements Regardless Of Your Activity. The Beach Umbrella ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Beige

Item Weight

0 pounds

Material Type

Other

Umbrella works great, just as well as the ones that are three times the price. Since we move our patio setting around the deck alot, we used large paver stones and additional sand filled weight bag, (also found on amazon) to hold base solid. It will take a tornado to blow it over! Customer service worked awesomely to remedy a small complaint we had about a flaw in fabric. Could not be happier!If we only get a few seasons of use from it, we feel it will still be worth the money spent!
April 19, 2015
First and foremost, I can't review the entire product as I decided to skip using the T bar to mount this to my deck. Instead of using the metal T frame, which overlaps and suggests being drilled into your wooden deck. The metal mounts are a shade under 39.5" long, and overlap. The picture doesn't do it justice, but with a small deck (10'x10') that came with the house, I definitely could not afford to have some metal frame occupying almost 40" of space in two directions.My fix for this was as follows: Grab a 2x8 or 2x10 and cut it down to about a 4' length. Stain one side (the side that will be facing up) and allow it to dry. If you're using pressure treated lumber, make sure it's dry before applying the stain or you're potentially wasting time. I drilled about 24 holes in it in 2 rows of 12 down the entire strip using a 1/8" bit, and used some #10 2" screws. I sank all the screws down thru the 2x8 flush, leaving the remaining 1/2" ready to go. I had an assistant help me mount this under the deck flush with the support beam. After securing the 2x8 under the deck floor, I then drilled thru the 2x10 support beam and used some 3" wood screws for extra security. After my base was firmly secured under the deck floor, I marked the 4 holes for the umbrella mount and used a 1/2" bit to drill thru the deck floor and the 2x8 mounted underneath. I went to my local hardware store and picked up four 5" x 3/8" bolts and washers to accompany. Locked it down nice and tight, and there's no wiggle whatsoever.The umbrella does stand a bit shorter than 8'4" when mounted directly to the deck. I'm guessing they assumed you would use the metal T bar to mount, and figured the height of the T bar into the total height of the assembled unit.Read more ›
June 29, 2015
Purchased this to get by a couple of seasons. We will see how it performs. Assembly was easy, and overall the quality seems fair given the price. The umbrella material is thin and seems delicate compared to the more expensive options. The frame seems okay, but the plastic sleeve that supports the angled arm is probably the weak link. Can't see it withstanding any stress. As other reviewers have mentioned, you will definitely need to anchor the base, it will not support the weight of the umbrella. I secured mine with screws right to the wood deck. Each leg has a hole for that purpose. Otherwise you will need sandbags or iron weights.
May 24, 2015
PROS:
  • Assembly takes only five simple steps which are outlined in the instruction sheet.
  • This offset umbrella is lightweight, so you will have no problem transporting it when needed.
  • It does not wiggle during soft breezes especially when you mount it on the deck.
  • It is quite wide, so it provides a good amount of shade.
  • It works just as well as other more costly products in the market.

CONS:
  • It needs a cover to make it last long, and the cover is not included in the purchase.
  • It does not tilt.
  • It has a thin fabric that is not durable.
  • The base is not strong enough to support the weight of the umbrella, so you have to anchor it.

back to menu ↑

Abba Patio 11-Feet Aluminum Offset Cantilever Umbrella

Abba Patio 11-Feet Aluminum Offset Cantilever Umbrella with Cross Base, Tan

 

Abba Patio 11-Feet Aluminum Offset Cantilever Umbrella Overview

  • Price: $349.00 with free shipping
  • Dimensions: 107″ x 17.7″ x 7.1″
  • Shipping Weight: 70.85 pounds
  • Material type: Olefin
  • Features: Fade resistant fabric, UV protection, powder-coated ribs and pole, crank system, tilt function.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Abba Patio 11-Feet Aluminum Offset Cantilever Umbrella with Cross Base, Tan

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Olefin fabric-high sun resistance, long lasting, fade resistant, easy to clean and 98% UV protection; 11' Shade Diameter-Shade square dining tables ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Color

Tan

Manufacturer Part Number

APRC330T

Material Type

Olefin

Model Number

APRC330T

Package Height

7.1 x 17.8 x 107 inches

Shipping Weight

70.85 pounds

At the time I ordered this umbrella it was not clear if it rotated or not (it does not) but based on the construction of the pole in the close-up photos I had assumed it would not. While I would have liked a rotating umbrella, I ultimately chose this model for its strong pole and solid reviews. This umbrella is currently placed a few stories up on my roof deck that can see high winds. I spent a lot of time researching options around this price point or less, and there were a lot of stories of bent or snapped umbrellas. The idea of my umbrella snapping and flying off the roof onto a car below was enough to pass on a rotation option in favor of this umbrella's better than normal pole and mechanism structure. When not in use I keep it covered with the included, and pretty easy to put on, protection cover. It's been up for a few weeks through boughts of wind, rain, and brutal sun, and it is holding up nicely. Note that you must have your (not-included) weights before you attempt to put this umbrella together. It needs at least the weight of an adult opposite the cantilevered umbrella or it cannot stay up. The instructions will tell you to put Square pavers at 18.7x18.7 and 66lbs or Triangle Pavers at 18.7x18.7x16.5 and 33lbs on the base to secure the umbrella. The closet pavers I was able to find at my local hardware store were 18x18 at 43lbs, so I placed 8 of them on the base for a collective weight of approx 345lbs. Not only was this increased weight better for the windy days, but the umbrella felt wobbly until at least 6 of the stones were in place. I do not consider this umbrella easy to move, so consider the lack of rotation, and pick your spot in advance. I would recommend this umbrella. Sitting on the roof with the strong Denver sun beaming down, it is cooler and I am able to avoid a sunburn while using this umbrella. See my pics for how it looks in a real-world use.
August 6, 2015
Umbrella is built well and adequate, however, my problem is with false advertising and I don't know if it is Amazon or Abba. This product was described as follows "Ideal for covering large patio dining sets, conversation seating, or pool or spa areas, this 11 feet Offset Cantilever Umbrella offers so much placement versatility . The fade-resistant Olefin fabric can keep the color well and offer UV protection. The strong pole is made of aluminum with a cross base to make your umbrella stay firm. With the rotating device and vertical tilt mechanism, this large shade can offer multiple tilts so you're always in the cool." However, this umbrella does not rotate. I contacted Abba and they simply said "sorry." If I had known I would have purchased something else that did meet my need. "Sorry" isn't an adequate response. Buyer beware of this company or perhaps it is an Amazon problem. Someone falsely described this product as stated above and I'm now stuck with a product not completely meeting my need. I also believe it is 'overpriced' because it doesn't have a rotating function and there are many other umbrellas with these limited functions for less.
July 22, 2015
I ordered this product and was so excited for it. I had done research and decided on this one based on the reviews and the price. I set it up on my terrace and within 15 minutes with a nighttime breeze (we quickly googled to see what the wind was and it was 5 mph) the entire umbrella snapped. I had 200 pounds of sand on the base. This thing should not have snapped so easily. I am so disappointed.
June 13, 2016
PROS:
  • It does not rust easily because its pole and ribs are coated with bronze powder. This also keeps it from chipping and peeling.
  • The storage cover is included in the purchase.
  • It is suitable for commercial and residential use.
  • It has a vent to keep the shaded area cool by allowing in some basic wind.
  • The tilt function ensures that you are always under the shade even with the changing position of the sun.
  • The fabric of this offset umbrella is fade resistant, so your umbrella will retain its attractive look for long even with regular use.

CONS:
  • To enhance its stability, it needs to be weighed down with pavers, stones, or sandbags, especially during windy days.
  • The fabric is not as thick as some other models available

How to Choose an Offset Umbrella?

Getting to learn about different options in terms of sizes, types, frames, and adjustability options is important before you embark on shopping for an offset umbrella. Some of the factors you need to consider before making your selection include

  • Size

Offset umbrellas are available in different sizes and to get the right one, you need to have actual measurements of the area that you intend to cover. Once you get the measurements, it is important that you add an extra 2 feet on each side of the space. With this, you will not end up with an umbrella that is too small to effectively provide the shade you need. Regarding height, ensure that the umbrella is tall enough such that you don’t need to duck underneath to access the shaded area.

  • Umbrella Base

The base is a very important factor in the functionality of your offset umbrella as it keeps the umbrella from being blown away by the wind. Aim at buying one with a large base especially if you live in areas that experience winds often as this increases its stability. It also helps to check whether the manufacturer has drilled holes on the base so that you can anchor it to the deck. For umbrellas that need additional weight on the base to keep them stable, lighter models will require more weight than their heavier counterparts since they can easily be blown away.

  • Fabric

The fabric determines the durability of your offset umbrella. A good fabric should be waterproof, UV resistant, and thick enough to withstand seasons of use. It should also be easy to clean with just soap and water. This will not only make the umbrella last longer, but it will ensure that you are more comfortable and well-protected from the sun’s glare and harmful UV rays.

  • Tilt Mechanism

Shade from directly above is not always the ideal position, and you will often need to adjust the tilt of the umbrella as the sun moves across the sky. Not all of the reviewed umbrellas have the ability to tilt, yet you may want to buy one that has this mechanism because it is more effective. It will ensure that you can use the umbrella regardless of the time of day. The most common tilt mechanism is crank tilt because it is easy to adjust, and it lets you block the sun without having to move the umbrella around.

  • Frame of the Umbrella

There are 3 most common types of material used to construct the frame for an offset umbrella, and these include aluminum, wood, and fiberglass. The choice may be determined by personal preference and the physical environment in which you are going to use the umbrella. Aluminum-pole umbrellas are usually a favorite of many because they are cheap, can withstand all weather condition, and can be rust resistant if well coated and taken care of. Wood frames are expensive and not durable under harsh weather conditions, but they give a sleek appearance to the umbrella.

  • Price

It is important that you stick to your budget when shopping for an offset umbrella. There are many price ranges depending on the design of the umbrella and the manufacturer. At times, cheap umbrellas are considered weak, less durable, and more prone to breakages. However, there are some expensive models that have the same problems, and you don’t have to pay more for these while you can get the same service from a cheaper model.

Competition

Among the 10 reviewed products, 10′ Deluxe Polyester Offset Patio Umbrella by Trademark Innovations (Teal) is the best offset umbrella because it is sold at a fair price and has a smooth operation. Its ability to stand through all types of weather place it on a scale higher than other umbrellas, and so does its attractive design. People who have used it in the past have also left positive feedback about how effective it was. Although it does not come with a weighted base, this is only a small setback that one can overlook compared to the benefits that you get by using this umbrella.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password