Top 10 Best Self Cleaning Litter Box Reviews — An Unbiased Research

Have you ever considered the benefits of owning a self-cleaning litter box? Well, cleaning up the mess for your little cat is by no means a cute undertaking. You have to deal with all kind of mess amidst a disgusting smell, which is no fun at all. Enter the era of a self-cleaning litter box and the ordeal of cleaning for the pet has been greatly reduced. We take a look at some top litter box options and how they can help you keep the pet’s room clean, comfortable and safe.

Quick Clean Cat Litter Box

Quick Clean Cat Litter Box

Designed and developed by a cat lover, this self-cleaning litter box takes away the need to scoop daily thereby providing your pet with a comfortable, clean and safe place. Measuring 18 inches by 20 inches by 14.5 inches with 7.5 inches opening, it easily accommodates most cats. To use this Quick Clean Cat Litter Box, you just need to fill the bottom of the box with clumping cat litter. On the other hand, if you want to clean it, simply spin one turn and your litter box is completely clean.

  • Made in the USA and available in several color options to choose from.
  • It does not use any batteries, cords or even plugs.
  • Made of durable, high-quality and recycled polypropylene.
  • Cat waste is usually separated into an easy-to-empty drawer.
  • Can use any type of self-clumping cat litter.
  • Product
  • Specification

Quick Clean Cat Litter Box

The Litter Spinner Covered Cat Litter Box is the perfect cat box to own. Designed and developed by a cat lover, this new unique and revolutionary cat litter box solves pet owner's most annoying cat ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

18 x 14.5 x 20 inches ; 9 pounds

Shipping Weight

10 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

3033

The idea behind this is terrific and I think ultimately this will be the standard litter box of the future. However, I believe work yet needs to be done on this product. My main problem is that the screws don't hold the bottom and top halves together once litter is placed in the box. Not only are the screws short, but there is no nut on the other side to keep the screw in place. I did not use too much litter according to the fill line inside the box so the weight of the litter was not excessive. I also found that the drawer pulls out raggedly. It requires a good tug to start it, and then drawer gets stuck before it is all the way out. Well, I am returning my Litter Spinner. After that I have to clean up the litter that spilled when the two halves separated. (By the way, I called the company to ask for advice but they did not return my call.)
March 29, 2012
This unit is made from cheap plastic including the rollers. This made the spinning difficult. For this price you would think they would provide ball bearing rollers for smooth rolling and better over all quality of fitted plastic. The tray was difficult to remove and reinsert and we could not prevent litter from spilling out onto the floor. Sent it back.
April 28, 2012
This is the third roll-over litter box I have purchased. The first two were Omega-Paw (regular sized, then replaced with a large size). If we need to buy another roll-over litter box, I will be buying another Omega-Paw, which, in addition to working better, is half the price. Omega Paw Self-Cleaning Litter Box, PewterTHIS box works "ok", but not great. The construction is fine, I have no complaints with its sturdiness. In general, it spills less litter out when I spin it than the Omega-Paw, and certainly takes up less room (and takes less room to operate).So why 3 stars? Why will I not get another? Two things really: firstly, the drawer that you pull out with the clumps in it is a sieve itself . . . litter WILL continue to sprinkle out of it as you convey it to the trash or, in my case, the toilet (we use World's Best flushable). So it doesn't matter that less litter falls out while I spin it, it more than makes up for it when I pull out the drawer. You also have to spin it MANY MANY times, and CAREFULLY, as the litter clumps like to fall OVER the drawer, and keep going round and round, rather than being sieved out.But really, the main thing is that it is sooooo shallow!. You can only fill it up just so high before it won't sieve properly at all when you spin it, so the poor kitties barely have any "depth" to dig in, which they LOVE to do. Given the shape, the depth is obviously only in the center, and shallower out from there, rapidly.Both of my cats prefer the Omega-Paw which allows them to satisfy their natural urges to dig and bury, and I although I am not throwing this box out, I would not get another one.
October 12, 2013
PROS:
  • Built with solid materials
  • Helps in reducing the common litter odors as well as controlling litter and dust
  • Easy to use for cats

CONS:
  • It is dark inside so some cats may hesitate to use it

back to menu ↑

Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Self Cleaning Litter Box

Are you looking for an affordable self-cleaning litter box but aren’t able to find one that meets all your needs? If yes, this Self-Cleaning Litter Box by Omega Paw is just what you’re looking for. It is suitable for multiple-cat households or big cats and enables you to clean your cat’s waste in just seconds with the need of scooping. Additionally, it works great with silica and clumping litters while containing odors and controlling dust.

  • Has 9 inches by 9 inches opening while measuring 19.5 inches by 22 inches by 20 inches.
  • Self-cleans by rolling the litter box to the right and back to the upright position and the waste collects in the pull-out tray for easy disposal.
  • Features a patented grill that separates the clean litter from the waste thereby putting the clumped waste into the scoop.
  • Comes with a 1-year warranty and no expensive filters, electricity or liners needed.
  • Product
  • Specification

Self Cleaning Litter Box

The Roll Away Self Cleaning Litter Box cleans in just seconds without scooping. Inside the litter box there is a unique patented grill that separates out the clumped waste, depositing it into the ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

23.5 x 21.2 x 10.5 inches ; 7.6 pounds

Shipping Weight

6.8 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

Item model number

RA20

Omega Litter Box:- Simply tilt liter box to one side and then back again! Clean littersifts back to the main compartment and clumped dirty litter now sitsin a pull out compartment that you empty into the trash. It's reallythat simple- At roughly $30 a great and affordable alternative to electric boxesthat require filter replenishmentLitter Locker II Litter Disposal System:- Diaper genie for cat litter- Pour dirty litter in, pull handle to seal below- Very convenient, saving you daily trips to the garbage- Stationary, meaning no more struggles to get litter into movingtarget (e.g., plastic bag)- Does require that you buy new bags every few weeksPetFusion SmartGrip Cat Litter Mat- Great size and softer material that relaxes litter from cats paws- Dimples and channel catch litter better than others- Multiple cleaning options- My preference is to sweep- Nice looking is an added benefit
April 22, 2012
Hopefully this was just a bad lot of plastic, because the idea is really cool and I'd love to see it refined.So it's a really cool idea and if it had been implemented better, we might have loved it. But as you can see in the photos, the plastic that holds the sifter in place started to tear after less than 3 weeks of use.Basically, the sifter appears to be designed to fold up & down. And to make that happen, a thin piece of plastic joins it to the rest of the litter box. Turns out the plastic used for this part is thin and not durable.Lastly, the clips used to hold the top & bottom clamshells together are good in theory, but you need to make VERY sure they're clipped properly -- and stay clipped properly -- throughout the rotational process. If you don't you risk getting "kitten offerings" all over your floor.
November 11, 2014
I am going to make this short and sweet, since there are MANY good reviews and just a few very bad reviews. What to believe heh?Here is the scoop (or 'roll' I should say). This product does what it says, and I have owned those automatic cat boxes for years. This is cleaner and easier to use. You may wonder about that since it is technically not "automatic". But it is SO much better that the automatic cat boxes AND LESS EXPENSIVE. My automatic cat box broke, so I bought this instead and I am glad I did. I will NEVER go back to the automatic cat boxes again!Now I have noticed a few people complaining that it either falls apart or the sand comes out when rolling or that the slide hooks (that hold the top portion to the bottom) don't fit, work or come apart. I have to agree that the hooks could be engineered a bit tougher or better, but that being said it is STILL a great produce. I have NO problem with sand coming out when I roll it, and I am a bit confused on how that would even happen (IF) done correctly.Every time I go to "roll" my cat box I just look at the connecting hooks to make sure they are secure. If I notice they are a bit to loose I re-secure them before rolling. Simple as that. Ultimately, I may drill a few holes into the top and bottom lid lip (where they meet) and just simply zip tie them together. But for now that is not something I need to do. BUT EVEN IF I wind up doing that I will still be purchasing two more of these cat boxes. (I own 3 very large cats)So even with a few minor imperfections I would STILL highly recommend this product! Just check to make sure everything is still secure before rolling if you are worried about it coming apart. (Which it never has happened to me.)
January 2, 2013
PROS:
  • Easy to put together and use
  • Affordable
  • Provides the cat with privacy with the covered pan design
  • Takes away the need to scoop litter

CONS:
  • Works only with clumped litter so clean litter is never thrown away — this may cause some inconveniences to people who want all litter thrown away

back to menu ↑

CatGenie Self Washing Cat Box

CatGenie Self Washing Self Flushing Cat Box

This is one of the best self-cleaning litter box on the market capable of working on complete auto-pilot right from disposing the waste and even cleaning to disinfecting the litter base area. CatGenie Self Washing Self Flushing Cat Box normally uses a SaniSolution cartridge which is a green, recyclable and biodegradable solution to help break down the entire cat waste in the tray while disinfecting the cat box area. Each cartridge usually holds 120-washes but when set on Cat Activation, it provides at least 240 washes.

  • Uses reusable litter-like washable granules for your cat to dig and cover instead of clay litter. These granules are 100% dust free.
  • Includes a 2-year warranty, T-Adapters for setup and an easy DIY set up.
  • Includes three different settings to start cleaning which include Set on cat activation, Preset the litter box to run automatically up to four times daily and press the start-button any time.
  • Boasts many Cat Activation choices and requires hook-up to an electrical outlet and cold water.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

CatGenie Self Washing Self Flushing Cat Box

CatGenie The world's only self-flushing, self-washing cat box. You'll never touch, change or buy cat litter again. The CatGenie Secret? Washable Granules not litter. Collecting cat waste in a box of ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

24.5 x 19.2 x 21 inches ; 26 pounds

Shipping Weight

34.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

891329001775

Material Feature

  Biodegradable Warning

This really does work as advertised. Hubby hooked it up so can't speak to how hard/easy that was, but once hooked up, the thing ran exactly as the web site says. We have three cats and two got adjusted pretty quickly. The third took several weeks. The tips they send on how to get your cat adjusted are very good.Now for the bad: the cleaning cycle takes about 30 minutes so if you have multiple cats, you better hope they don't all have to go at the same time (which happens if you feed them at the same time). If your cat doesn't have firm stools (like my 13-yr kitty), it will spread around, fall out of the scooper and generally make a mess. Sometimes Cat Genie gets it all, sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't, the poop basically gets cooked. That is the worst smell in the WHOLE WORLD. We had to open all windows, turn on fans, light matches, spray air freshener and it still didn't the get the smell out for an hour. If you have company over when this happens, you will be very embarrassed. Or happy if you want them to leave. Depends on the company, I guess.In summary:Good for households with 1 or 2 cats maximumGood for healthy cats with firm stoolsReally awesome product if the above applies to youSuggestion to Cat Genie:shorten the cleaning cycle!
September 10, 2012
I purchased this Cat Genie 120 in October of 2010, and after the fairly simple installation of hooking the splitter to the Laundry Cold Water supply and the drain hook to the Laundry Drain, it has been working near flawlessly for 2 years. I have had to on ONE occasion take the entire thing apart due to a clog. I will admit that it is quite gross if you have to do this, however not as bad as I was expecting based on other reviews elsewhere. Once I cleaned the entire unit, put it back together all was well again.Yes, if your cat's poo is not firm, it can get broken into smaller pieces that get missed by the scoop, and when heat dried, can stink up the place, but that is fairly rare if you feed your cats quality dry food. Both of my cats are older (10 and 11 years old) and they both took to it well. The 11 year old is more finicky, so if it isn't clean enough for him, he will just poop on the rubber mat sitting next to it, which I then either scoop into the cat genie, or flush it if it is too hard to be processed (if it sat over night or two before I noticed it). I put my setting on automatic, and it cleans about 4 times per day for 30 minutes each cycle. The cats don't seem to mind waiting and my finicky cat actually likes to wait until just after the cycle is complete, so he can poop in a comfy bed of toasty litter granules.I have never called customer service, so I cannot attest to their quality, but the instructions have most everything you would need in them, if you can read, you should have no issues. The one thing I must say that has made everything work flawlessly and keep it running smoothly is the maintenance cartridge, I use it every other month and it cleans very well!!Read more ›
October 8, 2012
As others have stated, when it's working everything is great! There are some marked problems with the unit that have been addressed in every possible way to the company. If you Google the product you will find the NUMEROUS constant problems that people face with the product. Every link on a google search will yield to a different person having one of 5 problems. I'll break down my problems with the company and how the unit itself works in the fairest possible assessment of this product.The pellets - When purchasing the pellets they are given an estimated amount of time they will work for. The pellets will not last that long. The pellets will be flushed down the hose OR tracked all over your house. They hurt to step on and will magically appear in places you never thought possible.The soap - The soap is pre-programmed to work a set number of times per unit. If you purchase the wrong type or you are supposed to be on the recurring delivery then your cartridges will not work. WHY NOT? Because there is a chip that is installed on the cartridges that allows only a certain soap cartridge to work for a set number of times. If the cat genie disagrees with your cartridge then it will not work no matter what. This is fixable though through ordering a circuit card, programming said card and setting up the card to reprogram the chip on the cat genie. For the average person? You are screwed to pay the money to get what you need if the company will deliver to you.The Unit - The heating element in the unit has gone out many times for me. There is no place (that I can find) that will ship you a replacement part. Only a new cat genie unit in total. I have had to re-solder and fix the electrical aspects of the unit at least 20 times since I started using it.Read more ›
February 28, 2015
PROS:
  • Features a dryer that heats and dries the granules thereby leaving them warm enough and ready for use the next time
  • This self-cleaning litter box is suitable for one to two cats and no more than three of average sizes and six months or older
  • Flushes away cat waste hence no need to dispose
  • Washes itself clean

CONS:
  • A bit pricey

back to menu ↑

Hagen Catlt SmartSift Litter Box

Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

If you are looking to eliminate scooping and at the same time reduce dust and odors, then this self-cleaning litter box is just what you need. Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box has a pull and refresh system that you need to pull down the lever to dispose of the cat waste seamlessly. Clean litter is usually recycled back into the pan while waste clumps are normally deposited in a lined-collection bin for easier disposal.

  • Has a closed design with an integrated carbon filter hence no odors, no mess or even dust. This design also provides offers a private and cozy are for cats.
  • Features eco-clean technology and dual-cat pan liners that ensure easy clean-up.
  • Clear view access window and a large swinging door that enables cats to enter and even exit with so much ease.
  • This self-cleaning litter box includes a maintenance access door and an automatic litter sifting cat pan that will make you forget about litter maintenance.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

Catit Design SmartSift is an automatic litter sifting system that takes the chore out of litter maintenance. Simple yet innovative, SmartSift's litter sifting design does the scooping for you. So you ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

26.6 x 19.3 x 18.5 inches ; 18.5 pounds

Shipping Weight

16.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

50685

Material Feature

  Biodegradable Warning

First let me say that cats have been my companions for 60 years and during that time I have tried out nearly every sort of litter system on the market. Most met with little success and got a thumbs down from from either my viewpoint or my furry friends, and often both. So when I ordered this semi-automatic litter system, I was skeptical... but it actually turned out to be the best litter box I've ever bought because it works great!It shipped promptly with no delay, so the caution about that scary long shipping delay was unfounded. BIG box on arrival, but not very heavy, and it was super easy to assemble, with no tools needed, in less than ten minutes... even with the cats 'helping'. On the plus side for me, there are no electric parts and no delicate pieces to breakdown.As noted, it is generously sized and tall enough to accommodate even very large cats. To accustom my two cats, I removed the top section and secured the rotating litter pan with a couple of strips of duct tape to hold it steady while the top was off. This let my cats have an excellent adventure for a few days as they explored their new "toy" without any litter in it. When I replaced the top, I left the clear plastic door open and they had great fun playing 'king of the mountain', perching on the top of the box.After few days, I added the recommended amount of clumping litter. Don't scrimp or try use less as the urine won't have time to clump and of will stick the litter to the bottom of the litter pan and you will have to scrape it off to clean it. My cats seemed fascinated to find there was now litter in their new toy and they couldn't wait to test it out. I left the old litter pan out just in case. I still leave the entry door open as my cats don't seem to like using the clear swinging door.Read more ›
November 26, 2012
I did a lot of research before buying my latest litter box. I felt this one would work for me and my cat. Unfortunately, it's not all pull & dump as stated.I have a mature, small, female cat. I was looking for help with litter scatter, odor control, and, of course, ease of cleaning. I have back issues & arthritis so I'm always looking for ways to make life a little less painful. This box seemed like it was really going to help; no crazy motorized gadget to get caught in a noisy loop at night or weird washable toilet thing to deal with. My thoughts were that manual just might be better.Litter control: I have to say, I am thrilled at how much the litter scatter was reduced after we set this box up. I would have to sweep 3 times a day or more with other boxes to keep it under control. Now, I sweep maybe once a day, sometimes every other day. The inside 'step' seems to really help catch the litter.Odor control: This... not so great. The drawer under the box is supposed to help minimize odor, but realistically, if you keep more than 3 days of urine and poo clumps in there, it is going to start to smell. The carbon filter on top is pretty much useless. My guess is that it's just another accessory for an owner to waste money on. The limited amount of litter one can put in this box can also make it difficult for your cat to cover their business up, especially if they only potty on one side or pile litter up in one area.Ease of cleaning: Not so easy. My cat pees in the front left corner on the sifting grate. This means that there is wet clumpy litter in between the slats, which are very difficult to clean. You have to take the locked, attached-in-the-back lid off to do a decent job.Read more ›
February 22, 2013
.UPDATE:I eventually sold this product. when my cat used it, she would kick the litter around, which would make the litter level uneven so some clean litter would go to the drawer.What i mean is, you can only add so much litter, right? so if some of the litter is kicked to the other side, this causes that side to be overfilled, so the excess gets thrown to the drawer. I was buying two bags a month because of this machine. I switched to a litter robot and am very happyOriginal review:My cat likes it! It is a great machine. I had to stop using my Omega paw as it was leaking litter like crazy. I like this one because you just pull the lever, and throw out the bag when you feel like it.It uses liners, which makes my cleaning time quick. Unless your cat rips it. Which mine did the first time. But now i just grab the bag, put a new one and fill with litter. i just use trash bags for the drawer. I buy a huge box at BJ wholesale store, that has over 100 bags for Tall trash cans. Works fine, but you have to stretch it to fit.Sometimes some clumps get stuck to the bottom. This happened to me with the omega paw, and when i would have a normal litter box. I just strike the lever down hard and it usually falls off.Overall, its a great buy and i dont regret it. Oh, and its a little tall, so i bought my cat a little pink stool. lol Please look at my picture if you are interested.by the way, my cat is 11 lbs and it had enough room for her. It is quick to clean, i don't know why people are complaining. i just snap off the lid, take out the litter area, and clean that. i plan on only cleaning the whole thing when necessary. i wipe down the little chute that leads to the drawers, i also clean the drawer. i took much longer cleaning my omega paw.
January 14, 2013
PROS:
  • Ideal for cats of all sizes and all types clumping litter
  • Does not require expensive parts or motorized-pieces to replace
  • Quiet and safe to use
  • Holds up to two weeks worth of waste

CONS:
  • Can only hold cat litter of up to 11 pounds

back to menu ↑

ScoopFree Self Cleaning Litter Box

ScoopFree Self Cleaning Litter Box

With its unique system of disposable litter trays, this ScoopFree Self Cleaning Litter Box provides unbeatable odor control and hands-off convenience. It has a cat sensor that usually detect when your pet uses the litter box and 20-minutes later start the race timer so the waste is swept away into a covered receptacle. In addition, this self-cleaning litter box comes with a one disposable litter tray with a lid and a bag of original scent litter.

  • Features Premium-Blue crystals litter that usually absorb urine and dehydrate solid waste thereby eliminating odors.
  • Includes a covered trap that normally locks-away waste and even odor so you never have to see or touch disgusting waste.
  • The litter box self-cleans for weeks without the need of refilling, scooping or even cleaning and is best paired with Scoop-Free Anti-Tracking Litter Mat.
  • Measures 27.4 inches by 19 inches by 7 inches while weighing 18 pounds only.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

ScoopFree Self Cleaning Litter Box

ScoopFree is the self-cleaning litter box you can leave alone for weeks at a time. It is the only self-cleaning litter box that uses disposable litter trays to provide hands-off convenience and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

27.4 x 19 x 7 inches ; 18 pounds

Shipping Weight

19.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

PAL00-14242

Background. I've always hated dealing with cat boxes and have gone through several normal ones (that I would rate as one star) and one special 'automatic' box, the one where you roll it over on the side (that I would rate as two stars). So, I've never really been satisfied, but then I saw this model, and it made me curious because it uses the blue crystals and I had never tried a rake system before. I'll go through my impressions chronologically, then I'll go over the specifics, and finally I'll present my analysis and reason for my score.1st Week Impressions. The cat is reluctant to use it at first, but eventually does. The unit is very large and the rake keeps the crystals very evenly spread. I'm happy. This may be the solution I've always needed. There isn't much spillage outside the box, which is positive, and it's easy to see the blue crystals that do spill making it easier to clean them up.1st Month Impressions. Doesn't last 30 days. On Day 14 had a *very* foul odor when I was stirring it up. Then, the replacement cartridges doubled in price on me, throwing off my calculations as to how affordable this would be in the long run. Plus, I'm thinking it needs to be replaced at least every 20 days in reality based on that odor at Day 14. I'm upset that it's going to cost me three times as much as I thought it would. The box is so large it's hard to fit in a plastic garbage bag and there's nothing to keep the lid closed so it spills out when doing the transfer. I end up using a second garbage bag to be sure. I also get the privacy hood partly for my cat and partly to see if it cuts down on the litter that spills out of the box or cuts down on odor.2nd Month Impressions. OK, maybe it wasn't as bad as I thought. This is very hassle-free.Read more ›
December 14, 2013
Nov '06--My cat is a 13 pounder, poops about 5 times a day--and boy does it stink! I feel that cleaning a cat box several times a day is a real pain, but then so is cleaning it up off the basement rug every day if I dont clean the box soon enough for "his highness"! This thing is GREAT! Ok, I've only had it for 5 days now, and it specifically says on the box that for larger cats or multiple cats, the cartrige will NOT last 30 days--the container is full (like I said, he poops A LOT) BUT!! I really dont mind taking the scoop and scooping out the container once a week--I have to do this because replacement cartriges are $15 or so (that's the really bad part) I still have to see if it will take all his urine for 30 days, but in the mean time: The smell is gone, he doesnt track litter everywhere (I used clumping before and he left a real mess--along with the smell) just a few of the crystals get on the floor, I dont have to clean the box daily (as well as the basement carpet), and it works. One thing to note, I did not realize how BIG the thing is, and I also didnt think about plugging it in--so you may have to revise where you put it. Also, it's not perfect--some of the poop got behind the rake, and got stuck, but whoopie, no big deal to take a piece of toilet paper, and pull it off. I may look into reusing cartriges (waxed cardboard boxes with scoop free crystals dumped into it) and adding crystals from a bottle, but that may not be possible, because waxed cardboard can only take so much wetness--but that may be an option. I think a bottle of the stuff is around $15 too, but you may get 2 or 3 uses out of it, rather than just the one.**update**1 1/2 months--I still love it. It lasts about 14 days, with a once per week clean out of the poop trap.Read more ›
November 5, 2006
Update, posted February 5, 2014:We've been using this litterbox for almost 7 years, including one replacement when the rake became too rusted. The reason for this new comment is to address what some people have said is the "high cost of the litter." In terms of dollars paid per year, that's absolutely true, even if you use a Forever Tray and buy crystal litter at Target.But in terms of convenience, it's well worth the extra cost. My cats helped me realize this recently, because in their senior years (they're 15), their behavior has changed. I started offering them a choice of crystal (in the ScoopFree litterbox they've been using) or clay (in a plain, manual litterbox). Both of them much preferred the clay and stopped using the crystal. And instead of checking the litterbox daily, fiddling with it a couple of times a week, and changing the litter every 10-14 days, I found it necessary to clean out the contents of the clay litter 4-6 times a day. That's a lot of time to spend on a messy chore that a machine was doing for me, and after a few days, I've switched them back to the ScoopFree litterbox with crystal litter. (And am hoping they will cooperate.) Going back to a clay-based automatic box wouldn't necessarily be any better than the manual one: that's what we were using before ScoopFree, and it was harder to maintain than a manual box.Update, posted April 4, 2009:Tip on making the litter last longer: good air circulation. Silica gel absorbs liquid fairly quickly, and releases it as water vapor fairly slowly.When used as litter, it absorbs urine and dessicates solid waste. Unless the silica gel itself can dry out (by releasing water vapor), it won't last long at all in a litter box.Read more ›
August 18, 2007
PROS:
  • Easy to use and even clean
  • Very reliable
  • Offers convenient disposable system

CONS:
  • Expensive to maintain the litter box — the pre-filled trays

back to menu ↑

PetSafe Simply Clean Litter Box

PetSafe Simply Clean Self Cleaning Litter Box

If you’re looking for a great easy to maintain self-cleaning litter box, this litter box is definitely an excellent option for you. It’s an innovative automatic box that usually works continuously to clean your cat litter-box via a ringed litter-bowl. The system works best with a premium clumping litter and is good at controlling odors from the litter box. PetSafe Simply Clean Self Cleaning Litter Box is ideal for cats weighing up to 15 pounds but not suitable for kittens under six months or cats with any type of physical limitation.

  • Uses a low voltage with an AC adapter and less clumping litter compared to most traditional litter boxes.
  • Boasts one year warranty and a waste bin that can be easily lined with recycled bags for an easy clean-up.
  • The bowl of this great self-cleaning litter box usually completes one rotation in an hour — this motion is continuous and slow and doesn’t disturb your cat at all.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

PetSafe Simply Clean Self Cleaning Litter Box

Get rid of the hassle of cleaning your pet's litter box with the Radio Systems PAL17-10786 Pet Safe Simply Clean Litter Box. This innovative, self-cleaning system, that works continuously and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

26 x 19 x 10 inches

Shipping Weight

14 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

PAL17-10786

I have had the Petsafe Simply Clean litter box for over a year. I purchased this product from the vendor vice Amazon.How this is a game changer:-Bottom line up front - I can't see myself with any other litter box. This is a great addition to our household. It does the job, and does it great!-I use plastic grocery bags when I go grocery shopping, and save them for the container that deposits are dropped into. This is cheaper and easier than purchasing proprietary bags or containers sold by many other manufactures of automatic litter boxes.-Because cleaning takes place on a regular basis (four times a day, for one hour - according to my timer presets), the litter contamination by deposits over a period of a month is significantly less than regular litter boxes. I find myself doing complete change-outs of the litter on a 45-60 day basis. I replenish on a weekly basis with just a little bit of litter and some Arm and Hammer Cat Litter Deodorizer with Baking Soda (available in your pet isle). This saves me money and time and makes the cats happy.-I have gone on a 7 day cruise with my wife - which actually involved myself and my wife being away for nearly 10 days if you take into consideration transit time and hotel stays. I had a friend visit once to make sure cat food and water were well stocked for the cats. She didn't once need to check on the litter box - because it did it's job. Upon our return, the bag was full, but still had room for a day or two more.Read more ›
June 4, 2009
At first, my two cats didn't want to have anything to do with this litterbox. I eventually had to remove their other box so they would use this one. While it was plugged in, the cats would only walk up and watch it. It was also noisier than expected. To get them to use it, I had to unplug it and only run it for about 20 min when I noticed it was dirty. I decided to go and get a timer for it ($5 at Wal-Mart). I plugged it in and have it set to clean for one hour every 8 hours, and it seems to be working. I would like to see the company offer a version with a timer built in. It would also be nice if it came with a lid. My regular sized adult cat throws litter out everytime he uses it. I had to get a mat to place under it. Other than that, it does work. It has yet to get clogged up. I owned a LitterMaid a few years ago, and it was such a huge hassle, I gave up and went back to a regular box. I also like that you don't have to buy special expensive containers for the waste. You really can just use a grocery bag. In all, I'm happy with my purchase and would recommend this product, and a timer, to anyone.UpdateIt's now September and I am actually buying another one for my cousin. This is by far the best litter box I have ever used. I found that the premium litter works way better than trying to get away with the cheap stuff. The cheap stuff tends to break apart and will get stuck at the bottom and stop the machine. I don't know why, but about the time I switched to the premium litter, the litter box quit making the loud cranking noise, which allowed me to get rid of the timer. I usually have to check it to make sure it is still working because it is so quiet. I would still recommend this product to anyone.
February 18, 2007
We have had this box for a week now and even though I normally have 5 cat boxes for our 4 indoor cats I decided to just use this one to see how it would hold up with 4 cats using it. It is pretty darn good! Our cats range in weight from 22lbs down to 12 lbs and though it says for cats to 12lbs our 22 lb cat has had no problem using it at all! I was kind of worried about buying this because of the weight limit thing and also because I have read some reviews of people saying it was loud and litter gets all over...I do not know what they are talking about because YOU CANNOT EVEN HEAR THIS THING RUN unless you put your head right down next to it about 3 inches away! I don't know about you but I generally do not do that with a cat box! Yuck! Also we do not have any problems with litter getting all over either. I went ahead and used some cheap scooping litter (on purpose- mind you) and with using this cheap litter it keeps it pretty clean- there are no big chunks left behind, nothing stuck or gummed up on anything- it does however leave little tiny chunks behind in the litter though- See customer pictures to see what I mean...The cats don't seem to mind though. I am not sure if that is from the litter itself or from the conveyor having slots that are too far apart which is why I gave it 4 stars for now. I will update later when I change to premium litter. Best of all it is not smelly at all! The waste container holds a pretty good amount of waste and keeps it sealed well enough so you don't smell it! Anyway, I would recommend this box- I have owned them all from the littermaid, litterfree, litter robot, catgenie, stylette, purrforma, and so on and this seems to be the best on for the money...I think most consumers will be very satisfied with it.
April 14, 2007
PROS:
  • Simple to operate
  • Offers great value for the price
  • Saves litter

CONS:
  • Some cats may get scared of the continuous rotation of the system

back to menu ↑

Litter Robot III Open-Air Self-Cleaning

Litter-Robot III Open-Air - Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

When your pet uses Litter-Robot III Open-Air, a 3 to 7 minutes countdown starts and the glove rotates in a self-cleaning cycle. The mess is moved to a receptacle which once full you only need to pull a drawer and grab the bag for disposal. Even better, the robot has a LED indicator that alerts you when the receptacle gets full so you can empty it at the right time.

  • This is a fully automated self-cleaning litter box and it, therefore, eliminates the need for frequent scooping.
  • It has an ergonomic chamber which can accommodate cats of all sizes including big cats all thanks to a larger upward facing entry.
  • For added convenience, it comes with an adjustable wait time for a cleaning cycle, ON-OFF button, filtration system, and lip extender.
  • Has a self-adjusting sensor that is calibrated to detect any weight from 5 lbs for cat safety.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Litter-Robot III Open-Air - Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

The Litter-Robot Open Air Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box makes caring for your cat easier. The first major update to the highly successful Litter-Robot platform, the Open Air is the culmination ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

26.8 x 24.4 x 29.1 inches ; 23.2 pounds

Shipping Weight

38 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I have to admit - i could not believe it was even possible for a litter box to cost this much. When i first saw the price, i thought it had to be a typo. However, i went ahead and decided to try it anyway, based on the reviews, and I'm really glad i did. I've owned several electric litter boxes in the past - none can even remotely compare.My experience with the other styles is that the tines get dirty and have to be cleaned pretty frequently (every day or two) and that the box where the clumps are deposited isn't really "contained" enough to prevent odor. Worse, they were proven to malfunction. In THIS case, the clumps are tucked away nicely - the "cat" smell is greatly reduced; the mechanism seems to remain very clean and we've had no malfunctions.The size is a little startling - my boyfriend remarked that it looked like we were preparing to launch the cats on a moon mission - so i was concerned the cats would find it too scary to use. Fortunately, that's not been the case - as soon as they figured out that it was an unending supply of clean litter, they have been just fine with it.The device is solidly built and does what i says it will do - better than anything else I've tried out there.
November 13, 2015
I bought this off amazon because I got a 25$ coupon, but I had to order it directly from the manufacturer. I normally have one cat, but this week I have three, the litter robot keeps up. I've had to empty it once and (I may not have given it enough time) it didn't realize I had put a new bag in and was still registering as "full". I rebooted it and we're up and running.One nice thing the catch tray below holds the bags in by a loose kind of clip, push your finger in through the bag and it stays. I really like this feature. When I firs bought this I was using up some very bad litter and even the litter robot couldn't hide the smell. My last litter box was vile, so it was an improvement. One button press of a button and all the old litter was dropped into the bag below and now that I'm back to Fresh Step there's virtually no smell.One caveat, the bottom of this litter box is a thick plastic sheet that hangs when the globe rotates to an inverted position (this keeps anything from sticking to the bottom). The sheet extends to the lip of the litterbox's entry and I did have to get this back over the lip once. This seems well made and the cats all switched to it immediately. The 2 indoor cats I'm hosting (mine is indoor/outdoor) filled this up faster than I'd like, but one of the visiting cats is like a garbage disposal (She eats more than my huge 14 pound cat who's about the size of a main coon and her brother put together). When it's just my cat (who sleeps in the house at night) I probably could empty this once a month.This isn't silent, but it's not too loud either and has the ability to sleep for 8 hours starting at the same time in case you need this near the bedrooms.Read more ›
November 15, 2015
Cost: I am two months in with the Litter Robot, and I am very happy with my purchase. I know the price tag is shocking, but at least in my case it was well worth the cost and then some. If I could go back, I would buy it again and happily pay the same amount.Usage: With two cats, I empty the box once a week. One of my cats is small and fits in the box no problem. The other one carries a little more... fluff. She was not sold on the litter robot right away and took it out on my bed a couple times. Once I completely removed the old box (which I purposely hadn't cleaned for some time to encourage litter robot use) and closed my bedroom door, she gave the litter robot a chance and hasn't looked back since. The litter robot is big enough for large cats, I think mine had trouble with it at first because she was used to an open box with lots of extra space.Obsession: My cats are now absolutely obsessed with it. When they hear it start to run they take off from where ever they are (sometimes in a deep sleep) to go watch it. Other times I catch them sitting next to it, waiting for it to cycle (pictured). When it does cycle they both stick their heads in to watch it. One thing I am not fond of is that they now try to swat at the waste as it falls down. For obvious reasons, this is not preferred behavior, but my cats are weirdos, so you probably have nothing to worry about. I am pretty sure they make more trips to the litter box now than they did in the past just so that they can see it cycle.Auto Stop: The little one tried to go in right as it started cycling once and it stopped instantly. It scared her, but not enough to keep her from using the box.Noise: It is not loud, and the noise it does make is easy to ignore.Read more ›
March 22, 2016
PROS:
  • Easy to set up because it comes fully assembled
  • No clogs
  • Suitable for multiple cats
  • Can be triggered manually using push button

CONS:
  • The unit is large-sized and so it’s a bit bulkier

back to menu ↑

Litter Robot II Litter Box

Litter Robot LRII Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

From a glance, this looks like a sophisticated self-cleaning litter box. Its design has a rotating system that separates the waste from the clean litter and deposits it inside a receptacle that is found under the machine. All this is done in under 7 minutes after your cat uses the box. Best of all, Litter Robot LRII Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box can accommodate cats of up to 15 pounds.

  • Made to clean itself automatically thus eliminating the need for manual scooping.
  • Very easy to set up as it comes already assembled and no expensive trays or disposable receptacles are required.
  • Has a special carbon filter which reduces cat litter odor. Best of all, you don’t have to buy supplies periodically to keep it working.
  • Has an efficient sifting system which keeps the cat’s paw and the litter clean.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Litter Robot LRII Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

The Litter Robot is the automatic, self cleaning litter box for cats 'that really works'. When your cat enters the litter chamber (globe) a weight activated sensor detects the presence of your cat. ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

24 x 22 x 29 inches ; 24.2 pounds

Shipping Weight

29.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

LRII-Beige

I've been a cat mom for over 20 years and have worked in animal rescue almost as long. This thing does exactly what it says it does. No hype. When I downsized into a 300 square ft condo so I could work and go to school full time, I needed a miracle. Four geriatric kitties and a mostly absent mom in such a small space... I needed some help with the cat box. I tried the competition--Littermaid Mega--for a month with poor results. No odor control (despite their glowing claims of an automatic ionic air cleaner and carbon filters), constant clogging of the rake, and numerous yucky bits left behind. I was constantly coming home between work and school to disasters, spills, you name it. Littermaid Mega was less effective than a regular litter box.Money is very tight, but I recklessly splurged on the Litter Robot when a neighbor complained of the smell from an open window (next to the cat box). It is hands down the BEST money I have ever spent and all my issues with regular boxes and the Littermaid Mega are solved!-- No more tiny litter granules in my bed because Litter Robot lets me use the alternative types of litter like Swheat Scoop.-- No lingering odor because waste is deposited in a truly sealed container *** hint: using odor fighting trash bags make things even better ***-- No more being a constant slave to the litterbox. I can empty the tray every 3 days if I need to (great during term paper crunch times) and fresh litter gets added every other day without problems.-- Hooray, washing and sanitizing is a breeze! Out back with a hose, the inside is easily power washed. Since most of the litter area is lined in heavy duty rubber, even the gooiest blobs don't stick and hang around to smell up the house.Read more ›
April 18, 2007
After going through 4 of the rake-type automatic litter boxes (DON'T EVER BUY ONE) in less than two years, I decided to try the Litter Robot. I should have done it two years ago and saved myself a lot of money and frustration!To give you some specifics, we are a 5 cat (adults) household, males & females (all neutered), ranging from 6 to 15 pounds. They all took to it with very little or no trouble at all.This is a GREAT product! It requires hardly any attention, uses clumping type litter and can be left On or Off. In the On setting, it cycles approximately 7-10 minutes after the cat leaves it. If you wish to keep it in the Off setting, you can switch it On for immediate cycling or "Flushing". The cycling noise is fairly minimal, kind of a loud hum, but if you are a light sleeper, you can switch it off at night and then turn it on first thing in the morning for immediate "flushing".Although the manufacturer recommends using plastic wastebasket bags, it isn't necessary. I use the plastic bags from the grocery store, WalMart, etc., and just cut them a bit at the seams.The only complaint I have about the unit is my own fault! Since the thing works so well and any smell is pretty much undetectable, I have, on more than one occasion, forgotten to empty the collection drawer in a timely manner... Yikes!My only suggestion to improve the product would be to add another rubber grommet to secure the bag at the front of the drawer, but even without one, I am still ordering a second unit for the house.Lastly, the customer service people at Litter Robot are amazing! They immediately respond to inquiries and sincerely care about their customers.Cat Lovers!! Step away from your hand-scoop or rake type litter boxes and order a Litter Robot immediately! Once you see it in action, you'll slap yourself for not doing it sooner!
January 21, 2007
I've had the Litter Robot LRII for about 2 weeks now and while I am happy enough with my purchase that I will not take advantage of the generous return policy, I do feel that there are some elements of its design that need to be greatly improved upon when they eventually release an LRIII.First, as many others have mentioned, the grate system of the step that is designed to allow litter to fall into the waste area really defeats much of the purpose of having a hidden waste area. The same openings that do allow some litter to fall into the waste chamber as opposed to covering your floor allow more odor to escape than I would like. This is rather easily fixable, but when you're paying $300 for a litter box you shouldn't have to DIY something this basic.Second, while the LRII is very good about pausing its cycle when a cat steps up onto it, something to prevent cats from being to enter it at all while cycling would be sorely appreciated. And this, unfortunately, cannot be fixed by the home user. I'd noticed that over the past few days the odor from the LRII was a bit stronger than it had been, despite having recently put in a new scented trash bag and a liberal dosage of litter deodorizer. Last night I came across one of my (2) cats exiting the LRII while the main chamber was upside down, not quite halfway through the cycle. He knew that was where he was supposed to go, appeared rather frustrated that there was no litter in there with which to bury his waste, but went ahead and relieved himself on the bare plastic. It took 2 manual cycles to get his waste off the side of the chamber and into the waste area below, and the smell since then has been rather powerful.Read more ›
August 17, 2007
PROS:
  • No contact with waste
  • Good odor control
  • Quieter than most other self-cleaning litter box models

CONS:
  • It has to be manually operated for cats that weigh less than 5lbs

back to menu ↑

Littermaid Classic Litter Box

LitterMaid

This classic machine looks much simpler than other robots that we’ve seen in this review. First, it comes with a detachable rake mechanism which is designed for easy cleaning and efficient use. Secondly, LitterMaid is enhanced with extra-high sidewalls that prevent litter spillage thereby reducing the amount of manual scooping one needs to do around the house.

  • It comes with 4 waste receptacles and 4 carbon filters all which ensure the room is clean, easy-to-maintain and odorless.
  • It has natural corn-based grains which camouflage the litter scatter and play a role in keeping the house consistently odor free.
  • Its manual litter boxes are built with heavy gauge plastic which is both light-weight and durable in addition to being easy to shake out.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

LitterMaid

Eliminates the chore of daily scooping, keeps homes smelling clean

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

17.7 x 9.8 x 28 inches ; 13 pounds

Shipping Weight

15.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

LM980

So far I am very happy with this model of Littermaid!I owned an LM 500 for about 5 years. I am handicapped to start with and 5 years ago, I broke my wrist, which left a dear friend coming over every night to clean the litter box. I had and still do have 2 cats. A week in, it occured to me that the Littermaid might be worth a try to keep her visits to a minimun.My LM 500 died a few weeks ago, after 5 years. I was very reluctant to replace it with the "Mega" 9000,or whatever it may be called, based on very bad reviews on Amazon.Then I found that there was an LM 980, which is very similar to the older models and had great ratings. It is a tiny bit longer and a tiny bit wider than my old LM 500..but still not humungous like the Mega 9000.As I said I am disabled and have many limitations. The week that I spent waiting for the new LM 980 was hell on my body. But I have now had the LM 980 about 2 weeks and I am very happy.I will give some advice as a long time Littermaid owner.1. Use World's Best (Regular Formula) Cat Litter (or the more expensive "improved version" which costs a bit more and has a strange aroma. ) No other clumping litter is better than this for a Littermaid. It is not a bit sticky and not a bit messy. Its made totally out of dried and pulverized whole corn kernels. Trust me its great. It may cost more and you may need to go to a pet store (in my case I go to PetPals, which is a discount Pet store), but since you use so much less, it lasts a very long time. I have to admit that it is not the best for covering up ca ca odor, but given the fact that it is not sticky and difficult to remove, it is worth the trade off. After a smelly ca ca, I use a spritz of PureAyre Pet Odor Eliminator, which eats right into the odor.Read more ›
March 5, 2011
This is my 5th or 6th Littermaid. They normally last me anywhere from 2-4 years before they have some issue that causes them to be replaced. My last unit, the Mega lasted less than 2 years before the sensor stopped working. I tried to work around this by adding a lamp timer to cycle the rake every 1/2 hour, but that didn't work very well, as the clumps got too hard or not hard enough, so it didn't work properly in the end.Ordered the "New" LM980 from Amazon. It arrived as expected and I swapped the old unit for the 980. First thing I noticed was it is slightly longer and wider. The length is maybe 1 inch longer than past models. The width is maybe 1/2 an inch. This impacts our litter box hiding cabinet, as the doors do not close fully. Modifications will be needed on the backside of my cabinet to allow for the doors to fully close. Not a huge deal, but be fore warned.This unit didn't last a week. It started getting stuck after a day and within a few days couldn't pull through the entire cycle before becoming stuck. Sounded liked a stripped gear or something. Got an RMA # from amazon and ordered another right away. That one arrived quickly and has been working without any issues for the last week.What's changed:Rake removes easily with the push of 2 buttons.Box is longer,wider & deeper. I think it's an improvement over the older units because there's a bit more litter depth, which was always an issue with past units in that you MUST never overfill litter, and the amount that I found best was just a the lower fill line.Read more ›
May 9, 2011
I have four cats, with four cats you need more than one litter box. I already have the LM980 Mega and the 9000MB Elite Mega Ultimate Edition. This purchse was made to replace the 9000MB Elite Mega. In my opinion the LM980 more than does the job, the rake on the machine may not be easly removed but it has better scoping ability. The unit is easy to clean and maintain I found that the box material itself is better than the 9000MB. Make sure not to get the sensor eye wet it can damage the machine. I have one cat that had stood on the side of the box and urinated hitting the sensor eye which affected the operation of the machine and I had to replace the machine. I am more than pleased with this product have used it for four years. Have found it is important to use good clumping litter and not to over fill the box. Over filling puts a strain on the rake and motor. The rake doesn't always pick up every thing but I feel it is still healther for my Gar, Sissy, Moe and PB. My cats don't use the ramp so I just took off, thus taking up less space.I always get a raised eyebrow from company when they first hear the noise, but like anything else you get used to it. It can get costly replacing the litter recepticals all the time so I line the receptical with a plastic shopping bags, Littermaid LM980 Mega Self-Cleaning Litter Boxbut you need to make sure that the receptical fit exactly under the lip. It would be nice if the cost of the product was cheaper but I have found for me it is worth the cost.
March 13, 2011
PROS:
  • Easy to set up as it comes ready to run
  • Maintains an odor-free environment
  • Well built

CONS:
  • Produces some noise, which makes some cats hesitant to use it

back to menu ↑

Pet-Zone Smart-Scoop Litter Box

Pet Zone Smart Scoop Automatic Cat Litter Box

This self-cleaning litter box is built with special sensors that are capable of detecting when the pet uses and leaves the box in a 15 minutes cycle. If the cat re-enters before the cleaning cycle ends, the system automatically detects and turns on a red light to engage another 15 minutes delay leading to another cleaning cycle. Such genius and intelligent operation makes Pet Zone Smart Scoop Automatic Cat Litter Box one of the best self-cleaning litter box options available on the market.

  • Operates quietly despite housing one of the most powerful motors systems among the 10 units we’ve reviewed so far.
  • It comes with 6 no-touch bags and a cleaning scoop. Moreover, no expensive crystal cartridges or replacement receptacles are needed.
  • Has carbon filters that keep odor under control – thanks to a modular construction that comprises removable parts like a motor, rake, waste unit, and deflector.
  • Product
  • Specification

Pet Zone Smart Scoop Automatic Cat Litter Box

Rugged and reliable with sturdy metal gears in drive train and more powerful motor unit for smooth operation; Uses any clumping litter and scoop and dispose action does not waste clean litter; Over 4 ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

26.5 x 16.9 x 7.6 inches ; 9.3 pounds

Shipping Weight

14.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

1550012613

UPDATE TO PREVIOUS 5 STAR REVIEW;I bought this box on January 9, 2015 and it started malfunctioning in August. Intermittently, the box will rake to the end, and then do a little dance and error out with the box held wide open (talk about smelling bad). The rake will not return on it's own, requiring me to power cycle the unit. Even that doesn't always work, you have to repeatedly power cycle it until it finally decides to return the assembly to the ready position. At first, this would only happen about once a week, but now it is multiple times a day. Being a fairly mechanical person, I pulled it apart to see if there was something stuck or perhaps debris stuck in the gears. No such luck. Also, the advertising of metal gears is very misleading. Yes, there are some metal gears, there are also some plastic gears. I considered buying another one, but after skimming through the reviews, it appears this is not an uncommon issue. I will purchase another Littermaid instead as my previous Littermaids lasted years instead of the months I got out of this unit!---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------If you have use a LitterMaid, you know the pros and cons of automatic litter boxes. This box is far superior to the LitterMaid variation in the following ways; It is FAR quieter, easier to empty, and feels much better made. Instead of using bins that you have to properly align with tabs, this unit uses a permanent bin that you put a trash bag around. When it is time to empty it, you simply remove the bin using the handle, then peel the bag from one end of the bin and roll it down to the other end.Read more ›
January 17, 2015
I love automatic litter boxes. They allow me to go on vacation without having a cat sitter every day. I've had this one for less than 4 months and then it broke. It wasn't my favorite to begin with since my cats tend to enjoy peeing behind the scooper and thus large clumps stay in the box. However, that is not the fault of the litter box. What is the fault of the litter box is the fact that despite filling only to the fill line with light weight litter, no less, the motor broke anyways. It made a cracking noise and then the scoop stopped following the upward curve at the end to put the clumps into the bin. I tried to reset it by pulling it back to the beginning and turning it on and off, but it still wouldn't work. I'm afraid some piece in it cracked and the entire thing is useless now.UPDATE:I figured out what was wrong with it. A tooth in the gear broke off. Even without litter, the scooper doesn't raise. Attached is a picture of the broken tooth.
December 2, 2015
Love this Litter box! We are going on 20+ years of being a Multi-Kitty Home. We've tried them all and this one is Extremely Effective. It has a large litter area. The rake is very heavy duty (like the metal closet organizer shelves). Measure the bags that come with it and don't pay $10 for 24 of them. I measured my bag and bought a case of clear food grade gusset bags in a case of 1000 bags with free prime shipping for $10 here on Amazon. This litter box will save you alot on litter as well!!
June 24, 2015
PROS:
  • Hassle-free assembly
  • Much quieter than other models of similar make
  • Can use any clumping cat litter
  • Easy disposal of waste

CONS:
  • Occasionally some clumps may pour onto the floor when the unit is cleaning

How to Choose the Best Litter Box?

The foremost aspect you should consider when looking for a self-cleaning litter box is material. Ideally, plastic is a good material to go for because it is light-weight, odor absorbent and easy to clean. If you are raising a small cat, consider going for a box with lower sides (not more than 3 inches). For big cats consider going for a box of at least 24 inches long and 4-inch side walls. Self-cleaning robots are better at sifting out waste and storing it in disposable containers. Litter pans, on the other hand, are preferred because they typically cost less but they are a bit tricky to clean. It is, therefore, a good idea to consider an option that meets your standards and needs.

Competition – Which One Is The Best?

Having considered all factors that matter in the purchase of a litter box, the ScoopFree Self Cleaning Litter Box seems to take the overall position. This is because it offers hands-off convenience and above-board odor control. In addition, it comes with a disposable litter tray which is dexterously filled with crystals which dehydrate the solid and reduce the odor. In the end, you get odorless litter against a dust free box with no need for frequent cleaning.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

  • Pingback: pvp()

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password