Top 10 Stud Finders Reviews — Which One Offers the Best Results?

Whether you’re looking to mount your TV on a wall or hang a picture, you’ll need stud finders to get the job done professionally. So, what should a good stud finder be (or not be)? With so many brand options available on the market, the journey of picking the perfect one has become even more difficult. But it doesn’t have to be like that forever. We review some of the best stud finders on the market and examine the value they offer.

CH Hanson 03040 Magnetic Stud Finder

CH Hanson 03040 Magnetic Stud Finder

Inexpensive, simple and reliable; this is one of the best stud finders around for people who want to save time and some money too. CH Hanson 03040 Magnetic Stud Finder normally uses very powerful rare earth magnets to be able to locate the exact location of nails or screws in a stud. Therefore, you don’t need to worry about replacing batteries. To use this stud finder, just place it on the wall and then sweep in an “S” pattern and you will be able to locate any metal fastener around. So never again will you wonder if there is a stud behind the well, using this stud finder you’ll know for sure.

  • Boasts two-way level that conveniently helps you accurately mark up the wall for your specific project.
  • Measuring 4.6 inches by 1.5 inches by 7.5 inches while weighing 3.2 pounds only, this is one of the best compact and lightweight stud finders.
  • Great ergonomic shape along with soft grip hence fits comfortably in your hand.
  • Clings to the wall via a strong magnetic force once it detects metals.
  • Product
  • Photos

CH Hanson 03040 Magnetic Stud Finder

The Stud 4 Sure is a stud finder that uses powerful rare earth magnets to pinpoint the exact location of screws or nails in a stud. The tool doesn

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I agree with all the high praise for this low tech simple and highly effective approach to the age old stud finding task.I don't know what took me so long it find this. Oh, I know. I didn't know 'this' kind of powerful finding magnet existed. I was use to being frustrated by the always questionable(is it a stud or isn't it) and unreliable high tech electronic ones, and at the other end, the low tech low power 'floating magnet pointer' kind.Let me tell you the advantages from much OTJ experience. First, unlike the low power pointer kind, this one is much larger and there you can scan/cover an area much faster. Second, once you have located a stud nail its powerful magnet sticks to the nail providing an absolute positive ID, unlike an electronic one, and because it stays on the wall, it provides its own 'marker' until you are ready to attach your thingy. No marking on your wall.Now, keep in mind once you have located a nail, if it is not where you want to attach something in the horizontal direction, measure in multiples of 16" increments in either direction to find other studs along your wall. Then move the magnet, to that location to scan again to verify the closest stud to your desired location. Also, once you have located your horizontal location, be sure your vertical location point selected to drive a larger nail or screw is really a full length stud locating a nail above and below your vertical point using this magnet.Bottom line: Its simple, can't break, compact in your tool drawer, no marks(sticks to nail for reference point and is vinyl coated to protect wall while sliding/scanning), and can sub as a frig magnet. 🙂
March 2, 2008
A few years ago, I was installing some new pantry shelving. I went and bought one of the best electronic studfinders in the market and proceeded to make my installation. A month or two later, I noticed that there was discoloration on my pantry wall....I had drilled my pantry shelfing into a sink pipe from upstairs!!!! I had to remove drywall, fix the pipe, and redo the shelving -- horrible experience.My father-in law was laughing and mentioned that electronic studfinders are unreliable and can't distinguish a stud from a pipe. He mentioned how his father used a small magnet attached to a string and would use it to find the steel nails in the wall.This little gadget works in much the same way, only the magnets in this devices are really strong and will stick to the wall when it finds a nail and it has a level so you know what is up and down.If you own a home that has drywall, this little tool is is 100, no 1,000, times better than electronic studfinders.The concept is simple, when drywall is applied, steel nails are used to nail it to the 2x4 studs underneath. These steel nails can be found with a strong magnet.Just run this little gadget in a figure 8, box, or whatever little pattern gently over your wall and when it finds a steel nail, it'll magnetize itself to the wall: you can feel when you're close to the nail. Save $30 buy this instead - it's much more reliable. Just make sure that when you find a nail, move the tool vertical line up and down in a against your wall so you find the "line" of nails (they should be spaced one every foot or two) - that way, you're sure you have a stud and not some random nail in the wall -- there should be multiple nails along the nail line: that's where your stud will be.Read more ›
February 20, 2010
After using a variety of "stud finding" tools, I've finally ended my search. Short of high tech instrumentation not available to the general public, this stud finder is as good as it gets. It's amazing how we spend a lot of money on battery powered stud finders with all sorts of lights and sounds, when all you really need is this boring yellow magnet.
February 7, 2007
PROS:
  • Nicely fits in a pocket or any tool pouch
  • Guaranteed to last long
  • Easy to use

CONS:
  • Doesn’t find all studs

back to menu ↑

ProSensor 710 Franklin Sensors ProSensor 710 Precision Stud Finder

ProSensor 710 Franklin Sensors ProSensor 710 Precision Stud Finder Yellow

If you want dependable stud finders, something that should last you for a very long period of time and which won’t frustrate you at all, then this Franklin Sensors ProSensor 710 is your tool. It offers remarkable stud finding quality and can work equally great for both professionals or ambitious DIYers. It merges two types of stud finding into one tool for your convenience. It works by identifying the width of the hidden objects so that you not only know their position but also their size.

  • Uses an array of bright LEDs lights to show you the presence of an object behind the wall. This allows you to quickly visualize the location of the studs.
  • Offers deep scanning giving you the ability to punch through thicker walls up to 1.5 inches to be able to locate studs.
  • Uses advanced multi-sense technology that is able to identify the position of multiple studs simultaneously by sensing the wall in thirteen different locations.
  • These stud finders are powered by two AA batteries.
  • Product
  • Photos

ProSensor 710 Franklin Sensors ProSensor 710 Precision Stud Finder Yellow

The ProSensor 710 incorporates innovative stud sensing technology that instantly finds hidden studs. No sliding is required. This patent-pending detector senses the wall in thirteen locations ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
PROS:
  • Very accurate compared to most stud finders
  • Easy to use and faster
  • Well-built and reliable

CONS:
  • The ergonomic soft-plastic handle does not offer comfortable grip

back to menu ↑

Zircon e50-FFP Stud Sensor e50 Edge Finding Electronic Stud Finder

 

Zircon e50-FFP Stud Sensor e50 Edge Finding Electronic Stud Finder

While there are many affordable stud finders on the market, finding a reliable tool that is right for the job can be a challenge. That is why we bring you this Zircon e50-FFP Stud Sensor e50. This stud finder offers many great features and boasts a great body design thereby allowing you to hold it comfortably by hand at any angle. Being electronic, it is highly accurate hence chances of normal scanning errors are very minimal. It also features rubber over-molded grip to give you a more secure hold while using it.

  • Small LCD screen that is easy to read and requires a fully charged 9V battery to run smoothly. It shows you the position of the edges of studs.
  • Can locate the edges of metal or wood studs of up to 19 mm deep when in stud scan mode and up to 1.5″ deep when in deep scan mode.
  • Boasts patented spotlight pointer technology that normally shines an arrow-shaped light on the wall in order to mark the target.
  • Equipped with a wire-warning detection that shows the presence of any live-wire up to 2-inches deep.
  • Patented-trucal technology to show exactly when the tool has been calibrated and when ready for scanning.
  • Product
  • Photos

Zircon StudSensor e50 Electronic Stud Finder

Zircon's new line of stud finders features updated electronics in an amazing new form that's easy to hold at any angle. Two scanning modes find the edges of wood or metal studs or joists up to ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was very skeptical as to whether this unit would work for my application. I'm a bit familiar with ultrasonic and microwave technology so I expected that it was at least possible for this unit if it used either technology to work.My application was to recover an old shed roof with half inch pressure treated plywood (mineral impregnated) over 3/8 plywood covered by mineral surfaced 90 weight asphalt felt. I needed to accurately locate the rafters beneath all of that for nails and screws.Sure enough after starting in a location without a stud the unit fired up and calibrated itself and on the deep setting accurately located the adjacent studs through all of those layers. I was well pleased.Very much worth the price for getting the job done right and no putting in a buch of unsealed holes or wasting screws and nails.
June 15, 2010
The Zircon e50 StudSensor failed me on two fronts.First, the e50 incorrectly marked studs in the wall which I needed to locate for hanging new kitchen cabinets. The e50 would identify a stud with its fancy projected red light arrow only to have that area of the wall be hollow. Out of 9 studs located, the e50 was only correct on one. As a result, I used a drill and wire coat-hanger to find the rest of the necessary studs. I thought I bought the e50 to avoid wall fishing? I tried both sensor settings on the e50 without luck.Second, the e50 failed to identify a live wire in the wall. This error was the most costly. After plunging my drill bit into the wall below the kitchen soffit I was showered with sparks and smoke. The drill bit had a chunk burned out of it and I had a damaged wire in a difficult to reach area of my kitchen. Striking the wire cost me an extra day of labor to acquire the parts and effectuate the repair. The live wire sensor simply did not work. I had no indication a wire was in the area and was relying on the e50 to provide notice.I purchased the e50 from Amazon and it arrived quickly and without damage. The ergonomics of the e50 were pleasing as I tried desperately to locate a stud. It tracked smoothly across the wall and the indicator arrow was easy to read.However, the e50 failed to operate as an effective stud sensor and failed to operate as a live wire detector. I cannot recommend this product.
April 30, 2014
One of the earlier reviews urged buyers to read the instructions before using...please heed this urging! I made the mistake of purchasing a magnetic stud finder that I paid $8 for and I regretted it because it is hit or miss. With the Zircon StudSensor e50, I was able to find the studs necessary for me to hang my bike and eventually, my TV. This product may cost a few more dollars, but it is well worth it and will pay for itself in no time. Now I have to go clean or repaint the wall that got scratched up using the magnetic stud finder. Zircon's stud finder has pads that will not mark your walls.
December 29, 2011
PROS:
  • Certified to be frustration free
  • Affordable and works as advertised
  • Runs smoothly compared to other Stud finders in the same price range

CONS:
  • The package does not include a 9V battery, you buy it separately

back to menu ↑

Studpop Magnetic Stud Finder

 

 

Studpop Magnetic Stud Finder

This is one of the most affordable and unique stud finders on the market today. Measuring 6 inches by 4 inches by 1.7 inches while weighing 0.8 ounces, Studpop Magnetic Stud Finder is pocket-size and lightweight and hence easy to use. Its round design, on the other hand, makes this tool easy to hold and slide around a wall. To find your studs, run this stud finder along the wall and once it senses any stud, it will just pop out.

  • You can use it on tile, sheetrock, lath and plaster and produces accurate results every time.
  • It is made in the USA and is available in a variety of colors to choose from.
  • Boasts unique popper that shows once it locates the metal fasteners in studs.
  • Does not require batteries.
  • Product
  • Photos

Studpop Magnetic Stud Finder

Studpop® magnetic stud finder. Unique popper indicates when it finds the metal fasteners in studs. Invented by a contractor. Works on sheetrock, plaster, lath, tile. No batteries. Makes stud finding ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
This stud finder is a great invention for drywall, but the real test is whether it would work for my 85-year-old textured lath and plaster walls. None of the pricey electronic stud finders that I have tried work reliably on lath and plaster because they try to find the stud by looking for changes in underlying density that the plaster routinely masks. Both drywall and lath are secured to the studs by screws or nails so the key issue is whether this device has a strong enough magnet to reliably detect the smaller more distant nails used to secure the lath to the studs.I went to the hallway -- pop, mark, pop, mark, pop, mark, pop, mark; all the marks were 16" apart (the standard distance between studs). To the kitchen: pop, mark, pop, mark; again 16" apart. [Hint: Mark the center of the range in which the device stands up and keep in mind that not all the lath nails are centered on the stud.] This inventor did what he said - almost* -and my hat is off to him.*The "almost" is because the StudPop is guaranteed to work on tile but failed to work on my bathtub tiles. The stud was continually erect, probably responding to the metal wiring under the tile used to lay the grout. Tile secured in other ways may allow it to work, and this is a very minor drawback.Another reviewer claimed a problem with lath and plaster. Chances are that he didn't follow the sweeping motion shown in the instructions to zero in on the stud nail, or less likely his had a defective magnet. If you have lath and plaster walls, this device will work well on them provided you pretend to "paint" the walls with the sweeping motion shown in the instructions to find the nails.
February 17, 2014
I was originally going to purchase a battery operated stud finder with all of the bells and whistles to add to my arsenal of tools but, once I came across this little gem I knew I had to try it. I doesn't rely on batteries, instead, it uses an impressively strong magnet to find the metal fasteners used to secure drywall to the studs. When you pass the Studpop over a place on the walls or ceiling that has one of these metal fasteners, the magnet that's attached to the center pendulum is naturally attracted to the metal fastener and makes the center assembly stand at attention notifying the user that a stud is present in this spot. This product is, in my opinion, is something that most anyone can understand how to use within minutes with no instructions (they do give you instructions). Shortly after I had received my Studpop and trying it myself, I handed it to my wife and asked her to find a stud with no instructions. Needless to say, she found a stud within 10 seconds and actually took her hand off of it and hung her keys on it. We were both impressed. She, now, wants one for herself to hang pictures and such around the house. I would recommend this product to that has ever had the want or need for a stud finder.
December 22, 2013
This stud finder has several advantages not the least of which is that it has enough magnetic "stick" to hold in place while you get your tools and hardware together. Small and light it takes up very little room in the tool box.
January 6, 2014
PROS:
  • Takes up very little room in your toolbox
  • Works great thereby making stud-finding fun
  • User friendly

CONS:
  • It may leave a few scratches behind if you use it on a textured wall

back to menu ↑

Black & Decker SF100 Wood Stud Finder

Black & Decker SF100 Wood Stud Finder

This is yet another solid stud finder that stands up to tough project conditions without failing and is ideal for ambitious homeowners or even for greater professional installation. Made in China, this stud finder comes with two AA alkaline batteries for long lasting performance. Black & Decker SF100 Wood Stud Finder boasts a compact design hence it is easy to use and hold. On the other hand, it works by moving over the surface of the wall.

  • Includes a stud sensor with LED indicators that allows you locate the studs accurately.
  • Capable of detecting wood studs of up to 3/4 inch thick and is made of plastic material.
  • Its sensor normally lights and even beeps once a stud is detected.
  • Being one of the best stud finders in this review, it boasts a design that usually delivers high-availability as well as scalability and for maximum performance and flexibility.
  • Product
  • Photos

Black & Decker SF100 Wood Stud Finder

From BLACK

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The only conclusion I can draw from this fine piece of shit is that the studs in my wall are moving constantly. Like fairies watching over my family from within the walls playing a game of tag with this stud finder.
October 1, 2013
Have several stud finders - A Stanley and a Zircon, occasionally they make a mistake, both mostly right on. This Black and Decker gets it right 1 out of 100. Yes, it was cheap, but so were the others. I need several - one in each truck, one home, one tool box-because of what I do. Don't need anything fancy, but this is a joke. I have figured out how to use it though-go to the left four times and mark the beep (each one will be different). Go to right 4 times, mark as above. Find center between two outermost marks and two inner most marks. Mark each on, and measure differnce between, add difference divide by 2. mark that spot. Drive in nail. if you don't find a stud, drive nail again 1/8 inch to left. Keep driving nail at 1/8 intervals until you find a stud. This is stud edge. Meassure 3/4 in to left. This is center. Mark center. Patch holes with drywall compound.It think they have discontinued this item. Good riddance.
November 14, 2010
Black and Decker stud finder is a box that randomly goes from red to green when you push the button. It couldn't find a stud if it fell into a lumber yard! It should be brown and make bowel movement sounds to mimic the turd it is. I hate you poop tool! Now you have to waste space at the landfill! If you rated this a 5, go play the lotto cause you have some serious luck. Or you have paper for walls and need to hit the lotto to move.
December 9, 2013
PROS:
  • Simple and affordable
  • Easy to use and maintain
  • Efficient and well built

CONS:
  • Sometimes it is not accurate in finding studs

back to menu ↑

Bosch GMS120 Digital Multi-Scanner

 

Bosch GMS120 Digital Multi-ScannerFrequently mentioned among stud finders that offer consistent material coverage and deep detection, GMS120 comes across as a well built and technologically advanced tool. It features multi-mode detection for metal objects, live wiring, and wood studs with its illuminated graphical LCD display indicating the detection strength. The level of detection is simply astounding even when you use it on steel surfaces where it penetrates up to 4-3/4 inches deep. To enable this Bosch machine to meet this high level of performance is am an intuitive German-made operating system that allows one to explore across 3 selection modes namely: metal, AC wiring and wood mode.

  • Thanks to its 3 consistent modes alongside a digital multi-scanner, this tool fares pretty well on wooden as well as metallic surfaces.
  • High degree of precise automatic calibration making it easier to use while pinpointing the center of the spot that has been detected.
  • This is one of the stud finders that provide an illuminated ring which indicates the detection status complete with an audible signal for improved user experience.
  • Comes with a carrying pouch and 9-volt battery.
  • Product
  • Photos

Bosch GMS120 Digital Multi-Scanner

Multi wall scanner, detects wood studs, metal objects including rebar, studs, steel

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I live in an attached home with metal as well as wood wall studs and plumbing that runs through the attic and down the walls. Just about the perfect test bed for wall scanners.The way this scanner works is a bit unintuitive. The user selects one of three modes; wood, metal or live electrical. When you select wood, the Bosch actually scans for all three. Selecting metal excludes wood, so you're scanning for metal and live electrical wire. Selecting live electrical limits the scanner to only that. Indicators in the display show what the scanner is reacting to; wood, metal or live electric.The Bosch GMS120 did well scanning for wood. Since I live in an attached home, my neighbors and I are separated by a cement block fire wall. My dry wall is attached to that using thin furring bar. The Bosch reliably found the furring bar even against that dense slab of concrete.When scanning metal, the Bosch attempts to determine if the metal is magnetic or not. That's useful to me, for instance, so I can tell if I'm detecting a steel wall stud or a copper water pipe. The Bosch gets it right most of the time, but not always. Sometimes magnetic metals are identified as non-magnetic. Still, the Bosch did a good job of finding metal studs. On interior walls, I could even identify studs supporting the wall I was scanning and studs supporting the other side of the wall. I could tell the difference by the signal strength displayed by the Bosch.This wall scanner had the hardest time detecting live electrical wire. All the wiring in my home is simple 3 conductor plastic insulated wire with no shielding. Still, the Bosch could not detect most of it even when I made sure electricity was flowing.Read more ›
June 22, 2011
I have much experience with wall scanners. As an avid handyman, I've tried them all, still searching for the golden one that actually will find wall studs with better than 50 percent accuracy. And by 50 percent, I mean 1 empty drilled hole for each one that is actually drilled into a stud.What I liked about this sensor is that it has exceptional build quality. It feels like a precision instrument. The battery compartment actually has the contacts built into the compartment instead of having those awful fragile snap clips on the red and black wires trailing out of the instrument. The display backlight is exceptionally nice. I like that you don't have to keep a button pressed while scanning, just leave it on. If you forget to turn it off, it auto offs in 5 minutes. The metal scan mode is quite nice and the best working sensing feature of the unit. The instrument is nicely made and generally well thought-out. I like that it comes with a case. The wrist strap is very thoughtfully provided and something these scanners have needed for a long time. Bosch seems to have tried hard on this effort.What I didn't like is the illuminated ring. It turns green, yellow, orange, and red but so what? It tells me nothing that I can't see on the display and it is too confusing/flashing to make any sense. You can get a particular color display and then scan back over that same spot and get nothing. You'll find, I think, that you'll ignore the light eventually and concentrate on the LCD screen which is actually reporting what is happening with the scan. The unit is nearly blind to AC wiring. Sometimes it hits, sometimes it misses. I would not bet my life on there being no live ac when this unit reports such.Read more ›
July 6, 2011
Gosh, I'm on the fence with this unit, and disappointed in myself that I jumped the gun before the Amazon reviews were in. If you buy this unit, by all means purchase from Amazon or another reputable retailer with a good return policy in the event you are not satisfied with its performance. I'm reserving the right to upgrade this 3-star "It's OK" review at a later date, but for now (after a couple weeks of ownership), this is where I'm calling it.I bought the GMS120 to replace a couple of older Zircon units that proved OK on drywall over fir framing, but I've moved to a more challenging climate of plaster walls, some with wire mesh.But first, on drywall, the unit has been hit or miss. I broke it in on a wall that's open on the back side (so the framing is exposed), and I'm not getting the precision I've come to expect with the center-finding Zircon unit I own (which has also been hit-or-miss). Where the Zircon projected a finely focused LED beam along the calculated stud center, this Bosch unit gives a LCD "bar graph" display plus a 1/2" wide lighted circle that changes from red to yellow to green -- so the user is responsible for tracing a circle, or drawing a crosshair inside the circle, to note this location. The indicated center of the stud is often not repeatable, so it takes a number of back-and-forth scans to get a good feel for where I should be drilling. And on the drywall over metal stud walls at work -- big disappointment; no usable readings.On plaster, I've been confounded by this unit's inability to locate a stud correctly. The instructions recommend placing paper or thin cardboard backing behind the sensor to assist with the uneven thickness / density of plaster walls, but the 1/4" lath appears to be too much to overcome.Read more ›
May 26, 2011
PROS:
  • User-friendly
  • Offers deep detection – up to 120mm in cured concrete
  • Protected by 2-year warranty

CONS:
  • Accuracy decreases on plaster

back to menu ↑

StudBoss Digital LCD Stud Finder DIY Tool

StudBoss Digital LCD Stud Finder - Easy To Use - Bonus Video Guide - 9 Volt Battery Included - Scanner for Wall Studs, Ac Wires and General Metals - DIY Essential Tool

This single dielectric tool is one of the stud finders that have made their impact known on the market for many years. On the surface, it may look like a simple DIY toy – but a closer look reveals just how advanced it is technologically. First, its outer casing is strong and diligent to protect the delicate inner parts in case of an accident. Inside the stud is the latest finding technology available on the market. Powered by a 9-volt battery, StudBoss Digital LCD Stud Finder is ready to use as soon as you receive it.

  • Offers advanced 3 mode capability which transcends metal, wood, and even concrete surfaces.
  • Has a clear LCD window which alerts you in case the battery is running low or in case there are variations in the signal.
  • For easy handling, its durable outer layer is further enhanced by the presence of an ergonomic grip. This minimizes chances of falling accidentally.
  • Protected by a 1-year warranty and can be fully returned within the first 30 days of using it if it doesn’t meet expectations.
  • Product
  • Photos

StudBoss Digital LCD Stud Finder - Easy To Use - Bonus Video...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; PERFECT for the Home Renovator or Decorator! Hanging Tvs ? Picture Frames ?; 3 MODE SELECTION locates Wall Studs, Metal Pipes

Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought this stud finder to replace the old one that I have that is about 22 years old and only has LED lights that light up while this one has a display LCD screen and sound.I thought the best way to test it out was to try it out on a piece of scrap drywall with a 2 x 4 so I could see how it works. It's a good thing I did because it works slightly different than the instructions say. If you watch my video that I included with this review it will greatly help all of you out to work this correctly.I like that it comes with a battery but it would be even better if it was a USB rechargeable device. I stll think it works great and give it 5 stars.I received this at a discount for my honest and unbiased review. If it was junk I would say it was junk.
February 19, 2016
Couldn't be easier to use and it's dead on. Made putting up a TV wall mount and floating shelf a breath. Now I don't mind putting stuff up the wall anymore. Hated to do that because knocking at the walls never worked that great for me. Handy tool with a great value.
February 25, 2016
I got this for my husband. He is the building manager at our church and does all of the remolding and repairs. He tried the Stud finder by.Studboss out the other day when he had to do some repairs to a wall at the church. The Studboss has 3 different modes to select from including locating wall studs, metal pipes, and Ac electrical wires up to 19mm. This is easy enough to use that my daughter and her roommate borrowed this and they hung a TV up in their new apartment and she didn't have to call her dad to ask how to use the Studboss. The Studboss lets you know when you have found something by making a sound with the signal identifier. The Studboss also comes with a 9V battery. I received this in exchange for my honest review.
February 26, 2016
PROS:
  • 30-day money back guarantee
  • Solid exterior finish
  • Advanced center finding technology

CONS:
  • The screen doesn’t light up. This is one of the stud finders that are tricky to use in dark areas.

back to menu ↑

Stanley 47-400 Magnetic Stud Finder

Stanley 47-400 Magnetic Stud Finder

 

Of all the stud finders reviewed in this write-up, this is one of the few of its kinds. To begin with, Stanley 47-400 Magnetic Stud Finder is a magnetic stud measuring just about 35x35x32mm. Its methodology of working is pretty simple and straight to the point. The magnet locates steel nails and screws providing dependable detection of wall studs. Its base is notched for convenient marking once studs are pin-pointed.

Its dome and harness are fixed under a black plastic browsing sled with a smooth bottom allowing you to scoot easily across wallboards. The magnet has a specific affection for the nail-heads hidden beneath hard-to-reach surfaces with the toggle quivering with interest whenever you steer it over some nails.

  • Offers a cheaper alternative that doesn’t disappoint as far as providing dependable detection of wall studs is concerned.
  • Its method of operation is relatively straightforward making it pretty easy to use.
  • Weighing just about 1.6 ounces and spanning 35x35x32mm, this tool is easy to hold on the palm meaning that its secure and chances of accidental falls are minimal.
  • Covered by limited lifetime warranty.
  • Product

Stanley 47-400 Magnetic Stud Finder

Stanley 47-400 This Magnetic Stud Finder is 1-3/8" x 1-3/8" x 1-1/4"(35mm x 35mm x 32mm). Provides dependable detection of wall studs. Magnet works by locating steel nails and screws used to hold ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
As best as I can remember this tool has been around for at least 40 year. Best tool for finding studs. It just takes a little practice and technique.Most walls have a little bump in a couple of places where there is a nail; this is the easiest place to start. The next best way is 4 feet off the floor using a circular motion to about 3 above and 3 inches below the 4 foot elevation, as you move either left or right. Studs are mostly on 16 in centers, older homes could be on 24" centers. It will work on walls that are not smooth; just hold it ever so slightly off the wall, as you move it. I hold the finder at a slight tilt left to right so my hand motion does not let the magnet rock. (False indication).The reason it does not seem to work well for most is; unrealistic expectations, unfamiliarity on how it works and a lack of patience. Today everyone wants instant success.P.S. The nail or screw in fairly near the center of the stud.
May 18, 2011
It's a magnet on a pivot in a clear plastic dome. It finds the metal studs in teh walls of my apartment like no amount of tapping or even exploratory drilling would. Be aware that True Value will charge you more for the shipping than item actually costs, but that could be because it is so cheap. Am I the only person in the world who would order something so ridiculous from the internet instead of just going to the hardware store? The shipping delay meant I didn't have to hang those shelves for a few extra days, and New York City hardware stores truly suck anyway. If you buy this, buy something else for the home improvement project from True Value so that the shipping doesn't seem like a rip-off.
January 7, 2004
I picked this little thing up from Sears, for the sake of redundancy after my digital stud finder gave me some trouble. It has a strong little magnet and found drywall nails perfectly.
October 21, 2010
PROS:
  • Deep detection of wall studs
  • Notched base for convenient marking
  • Simple design
  • Easy to use

CONS:
  • Performs poorly on imperfect wallboard

back to menu ↑

Diamond Resource 10129-ST Stud Thud Finder

Diamond Resource 10129-ST Stud Thud Magnetic Stud Finder

Lauded as one of the most professional stud finders in the industry, 10129-ST provides two magnets which are pretty effective at locating studs in ceilings and walls. It is a relatively inexpensive way to eliminate guesswork in identifying positions behind different surface thicknesses or internal materials in your home. It’s correct to call it a professional-use stud, but a closer look at it reveals that it can actually be used by any DIY enthusiast – thanks to its simplicity. And what about accuracy? It’s highly accurate compared to other stud finders.

  • Optimized for professional work making it one of the most effective tools available out there.
  • Highly sensitive and super strong offering superior detection.
  • Works effectively on all types of surfaces be they walls or even ceilings.
  • Product
  • Photos

Diamond Resource 10129-ST Stud Thud Magnetic Stud Finder

Finding studs has never been this easy on sheetrock, tile, plaster, lath and plaster, floors or ceilings. An extremely powerful moving magnet makes finding the studs in the walls, ceilings and trim ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
PROS:
  • Affordable
  • Easy to operate
  • Great precision
  • Excellent detection

CONS:
  • Its top cap is delicate and it easily comes off in the case of a fall

back to menu ↑

Precision Sensors Stud Finder (Profinder 5000)

 

Precision Sensors Stud Finder (Profinder 5000)

Profinder 5000 looks a tad different from other stud finders. First, instead of detecting studs in a single sensor window, it scans the wall along its entire 7-inch width thus increasing its scope and making locating of studs much easier and faster. Once the hidden studs are detected, a series of LEDs light up. Another difference from other stud finders is that Profinder 5000 can detect multiple studs at the same time.

  • Seamless detection of metal, wood, and other hidden items.
  • It’s very easy to operate as you only need to hold one button down to switch on.
  • Boasts an intuitive LED display which showcases the location of hidden objects.
  • Has a wider sensor pad area making detection more accurate even in places with difficult features.
  • Can easily be initialized on any position along any surface.
  • Product

Precision Sensors Stud Finder Professional Deep Scanning LED Profinder 5000

The Profinder 5000 has innovative stud-sensing technology that instantly finds hidden studs. No sliding is required. This advanced stud finder senses the wall in thirteen locations simultaneously, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Several months ago, I was in Costco and came across this item. I thought it was a great idea for a stud finder to have a wide indication of stud vs. space. As I do with all Costco’s weirdly modified products, I Amazon-searched it on the spot and came to the conclusion that it was the same product as the Franklin 710 which had fantastic reviews. So I gave it a try since it was significantly less money, I think around $30 or $35. However, I have NOT actually used the Franklin 710 for a direct comparison.I have now used this stud finder in several projects, including wall mounting 2 large plasma TVs and wall mounting speakers where wires needed to be run inside a space between 2 studs only 2 inches wide! (edge of wall). I was able to drill bullseyes on any stud or space I was going after. And when putting in lag bolts to hold an 80 pound TV, you really want confidence.PROS:--It’s like having x-ray vision. This stud finder really gives you a visualization of what is going on behind the drywall that I have never had with any other method including using magnets on the original screws/nails. A quick swipe around your walls will easily let you know exactly where the stud starts and ends, NOT JUST ROUGHLY WHERE THE CENTER IS.--All the other stud finders I have used, requires a calibration on a space where no stud is present, and then you drag it over to find the stud. This product seems to calibrate itself regardless of my starting point, which I’m sure is possible due to the wide sensor. I find this much more pleasant to use. It will also work in the vertical position if you detect a horizontal 2x4.--In spots where 2 studs are very close,
February 24, 2015
I saw a display demo unit for this device and was SUPER impressed. It's like having a radar screen showing EXACTLY where the higher density material (i.e., a stud) is behind the wall you're scanning, displaying the full width of the stud clearly on the screen-not just where it "kind of" starts and ends. And you can turn it on against the wall, or not (unlike most other stud finders, which must be activated ON the wall, but NOT near a stud).Having owned a half dozen stud sensors (the best one was up until now still one I bought 30 years ago at Sears compared to the newer Zircon units I purchased several types of- some very expensive), this ProFinder is light years BETTER.Unfortunately, the one I bought has the far left two LEDs sometimes lit when there's nothing behind the wall board (as verified by the rest of the display). Sometimes they are NOT lit as well, so who knows?I attempted to contact the manufacturer for help, but there's NO contact information on the package, in the instructions, or on their minimal website at http://www.precisionstudsensors.com/products/profinder_5000.php.Evidently this is their ONLY product (that's fine), but they SHOULD have an email address, a phone number, or SOME way to contact them other than using the physical (snail-mail) address on the package in Boise, ID.I'm not sure if mine has a problem or not, but it would be reassuring if there was a way to ask someone, like a Tech-Support person. In this day and age, I'd have expected better support, or even a warranty policy (1yr) with a way to contact the company. I ended up calling Franklin Sensors, who I found out makes an identical-looking Model 710 stud finder, and he said that the 2 left LEDs illuminated means I got a defective unit.Read more ›
April 28, 2015
I had seen the Profinder 5000 several times in Costco but I ignored it because the previous stud finders that I have used in the past were useless. More often than not I would never find the stud. I had to resort to using a small nail, which was very frustrating. Even when I found the stud it was not certain that studs were evenly spaced. I happened to watch a video on hardwood floors on YouTube and noticed a link to the best stud finder ever. I clicked on and it talked about the Franklin 7000. I was impressed so I Googled it. A lot of people liked it. However, a number of people said that the Precision Sensor Profinder 5000 was the same, but just packed for Costco in a different package. I can’t say definitely whether that is true, but it might be.I researched the Profinder 5000 and found that people really liked it. The one problem seemed to be on older homes because they used lath and plaster it had problems. Based on the reviews I bought one. I brought it home and tried it out. I can only say it was unlike any other stud finder I have ever used. I found the stud every time. After a few tries I had complete confidence in the Profinder 5000. I stopped wondering if my penny nail would hit anything after the dry wall.I have used it on 5/8th inches plywood and it has been accurate every time.I'm not saying this is the best stud finder for every situation. But for the price you simply can't beat it.
May 18, 2015
PROS:
  • Soft and comfortable grip
  • Advanced technology
  • Intuitive LED
  • Simultaneous detection of multiple objects

CONS:
  • Complicated framing

Do I Need a Stud Finder?

If you handle any home or office improvement tasks, you need to have a stud finder. Whether you are planning to embark on some heavy hanging artwork or you are just looking to install a new chandelier from the ceiling – stud finders can be your best bets. Otherwise, you could end up banging the entire wall and leaving marks all over the surface as you try to locate studs. Using these cute tools makes the whole job much easier and helps you save a lot of time.

Competition

Competition for the top spot was pretty stiff especially with the likes of Profinder 5000 and Bosch GMS120 in play. The overall top position, however, goes to Zircon e50-FFP which is renowned for its accuracy, great grip and above all the patented spotlight pointer technology.

Sources:

Wikipedia.org

Nytimes.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password