Top 10 Best Workout Bench Reviews — Your Perfect Buyer’s Guide

Whether for commercial or personal use, workout benches make up the most staple and complete feature that every gym needs to have. In addition to laying the basic foundations and training ground for every fitness enthusiast, they also help people train and work on each and every single muscle group in the body. Before the invention of the good old workout bench, some exercises like the popular chest press had to be performed on the floor, which was very awkward and impractical. Today, with this spectacular invention, you can work out safely, effectively and without posing any risk to your muscles. Here is a complete catalogue of the top 10 workout benches as well as some insightful tips that will empower you in finding the perfect match.

Marcy Adjustable Utility Bench – SB670

 

Marcy Adjustable Utility Bench - SB670For anyone looking to work out the chest, back, shoulders, biceps, abs, and triceps, from the comfort of home, then his workout bench Marcy is exactly what you need. Offering superior support and comfort, the SB670 upholstery is made from the best grade, high-density foam. To give you an all round workout of your muscles through several positions, this bad boy has multi-position back pad that adjusts from flat back to incline than to decline. Everyone needs to feel secure while in the awkward decline position, this workout bench includes a sturdy and oversized leg holder that can be adjusted with foam roller pads. Other great features to look out for are chrome pop-pin slide track modification and a super durable powder-coated finish. The Marcy workout bench functions fully independently and even adapts to fit almost any squat or rack, Smith machines, and half cages.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Marcy Adjustable Utility Bench - SB670

Talk about well-adjusted - the Marcy Utility Bench adjusts to practically any workout. A back pad adjusts to chest press, incline press, military press, decline press, and flat positions, while the ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

49 x 17 x 7 inches ; 55 pounds

Shipping Weight

55 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Decided to buy since it got mostly good reviews, but it broke on first flat bench press attempt. Broke even before I unracked the weight. As soon as I went to push the bar off the rack the back support snapped and my head went backwards. Maybe I got a bad one but I would steer clear of this one.
October 16, 2014
I spent a lot of time researching benches similar to this one on Amazon - with prices ranging from $50 to over $200. I was happy to find one that did NOT have the foam leg / ankle holders coming off the end. I would only have ever used those in the Decline position, and hooking my legs over the end of the seat works just fine with this bench. I received and assembled this bench yesterday - and have VERY happy with my decision.Features: This is one of very few benches in this price range that will go into the Decline position AND has the ability to angle the seat to match. This is a big plus. The seat itself is nice and wide / stable. The back is plenty long enough for someone 6' tall, and perhaps even more. In addition, most of the benches in this price range only have 4 positions, this back wrest can be angled 6 different ways, and the seat can be angled three. Very adjustable. The construction is very rugged / stable.Assembly: Took about 25 minutes, and was quite a bit easier than I expected. You will likely need to provide your own adjustable wrench, but the needed Allen wrenches are included. The hardware was on a shrinkwrapped piece of cardboard with each fastener well labeled in such a way that they corresponded with the diagrams in the instruction book. I was able to assemble the entire thing looking only at the pictures.One minor negative: The spring loaded pin that you pull to adjust the seat angle is somewhat tight, and I have to tap it with the heel of my hand to get it to go back into position. It's minor, but doesn't fit quite the way it should. It is key to follow the instructions when they say not to firmly tighten bolts until you have everything put together. This helped the tightness somewhat.While not perfect,it was close, and is a super value for the money. I would buy it again in a heartbeat.
March 29, 2012
This is my first fitness bench purchase I am satisfied with the product.Good:1. All metal pieces were of stellar quality.2. It is by far the most comfortable bench I have used.3. I am 5' 10" and I can easily rest my head on all positions.4. It doesn't wobble after adjustments.5. No leg support for decline but the seat is big enough to clamp your thighs on but I would not recommend it for sit ups. There is also three seating positions.Bad:1. . Some of the nuts and bolts are pretty difficult to screw on due to spray paint. You may need to strip off the paint otherwise you wear out the screws during installation. Its a bit tough of the hand using their hex keys.2. The manual was poor and they could drawn the diagrams larger and clearer. The bolts and parts are laminated into a cardboard and some of the pieces popped out for me which may have scratched other parts.3. The seat had noticeable tear on the bottom which is not visible after installation. The back support could use another screw in the middle.Other thoughts:1. The seat did not aligned to back support design. The seat and back support wasn't perfectly leveled in the flat bench position.2. It says Marcy on the back support in big bold letters.3. They could have increased the length/width of the thin metal used to hold each position. The decline position is just metal on metal and I am afraid it will scratch with use.4. I stripped one screw for the handle and then wondered why they didn't just welded it.TL:DRIt is comfortable; It is stable after some adjustments (may need continuous adjustment); Its more than big enough; it didn't kill my wallet; and I like the large and adjustable seat. Good product that could have been easily better with a few modifications and better packaging/instructions.
February 13, 2011

PROS:
  • Chest, back, shoulder and abs deluxe utility workout bench
  • Back pad adjusts to 6 positions
  • Easily adaptable to plenty of workouts

CONS:
  • Some customers claim that the spring loaded spring for adjusting is tight, but what better way to begin your workout than with a good tug

back to menu ↑

CAP Barbell Deluxe Utility Bench

CAP Barbell Deluxe Utility Bench

This bad boy right here turns your home into a gym by taking bench workouts to an entirely new level. The durable steel frame is well built to last and includes a pleasant array of features that are essential to traditional weightlifting exercises. In addition to allowing you to perform quite a number of upper and lower body exercises that will incorporate dumbbells, you can transform CAP Barbell Deluxe Utility Bench for core leg exercises like crunches, leg lifts twists and others.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

CAP Barbell Deluxe Utility Bench

The CAP FM-CB804DX incorporates all of the necessary features and functions found on traditional weightlifting utility benches and incorporates additional features to take advantage of other training ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

55 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

FM-CB804DX

Got today, went together fine. For the money, great buy. I paid $129, looks like price just went up - after seeing it, I would probably still buy it at the $159 price. Same bench at Academy Sports sells for $199.I am 5'10" / 205lb and it fits me good in all positions. I have wide shoulders so I wish the back didn't indent on the top half, would have liked to have the extra support on my shoulders, but since I am not going to be using it for heavy bench presses it will be fine - just using it as my dumbbell bench with 75lb dumbbells max. I don't care about it not declining, if you really want that then you can stick a 4x4 under the front to raise it - I don't think that will engage the wheels in the back. Has a good range on the incline and seat. What really pleased me is my wife is excited about using this bench with the resistance bands - my other bench, just a cheap bench, moved as you did things and felt like it would fall apart with heavy weight. Getting a piece of equipment that she will enjoy is great.Don't know about the reviewer that didn't like it. Took me about 30 minutes to put together once out of the box and the hardware off the card (and that was with a bathroom break and doing a protein mix in the blender).If you decide on this one, I think you will like. I have been a gym rat for many years - take care and happy lifting - mw
June 5, 2014
Not the best quality when it comes to engineering. If you have the bench set at anything other than 90 degrees, there is an excessive gap between the two pieces. If you look closely at the inclined pictures, you can see what I am talking about. Basically, your support drops out for about half of your glutes and tail bone, making it very difficult to hold form. I've had to stuff a bunch of towels down the gap to use it.Otherwise, this is a well made product. The bench is sturdy and did not have noticable wobble on a flat surface. The quick release handles were a nice touch. Despite the above complaint, it is still probably the best buy for a utility bench under 500-600 USD that I could find.
October 8, 2014
I purchased this bench through Amazon and ended up getting the seller to accept a return. Its not a bad bench perse, but I switched to the Body Solid power rack and as such wanted to get the Body Solid bench linked below. This CAP bench does not decline and although it has wheels, it is still much bulkier and heavier than it needs to be. I also wasn't thoroughly impressed by the quality of the upholstery. It just seemed thin and poorly anchored.My suspicions about the quality of the bench were confirmed when I began taking it apart to return to the seller. On the underside of the chassis there were several spots where the enamel was cracking and already showing signs of rust (see photos). The Body Solid bench arrived in perfect condition and in addition to having the decline functionality, it is very light and easy to move around and I really like the process of adjusting the position of the bench much better. The spring pin and selector plate of the CAP bench is just more hassle and is an outdated design if you ask me.http://www.amazon.com/Powerline-PFID125X-Incline-Decline-Folding/dp/B000R11G2I
March 22, 2015

PROS:
  • Sturdy steel construction
  • Very effective with dumbbells and resistant tubes
  • Complete, full-size utility workout bench

CONS:
  • There’s an excessive gap for settings larger than 90 degrees

back to menu ↑

CAP Barbell Flat/Decline and Incline Bench

CAP Barbell Flat Incline Decline Bench

For most workout enthusiasts, it’s all about getting that well-rounded workout that will touch on all major body muscles. With the ingenious CAP Barbell Flat/Decline and Incline Bench in your home or gym, you can now vary your workout greatly with the decline, incline and flat positions. You always need to observe safety at all positions. That’s why this particular workout bench comes with sturdy foot placement that will not only significantly enhance your agility, but also build endurance and strength fast.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

CAP Barbell Flat/Incline/Decline Bench

Vary your workout with 4 different flat, incline, and decline positions Sturdy foot placement for safety and durability Increase your agility, build strength, and improve your endurance Features ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

27 x 15 x 9 inches ; 30 pounds

Shipping Weight

30 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

This is a surprisingly sturdy, lightweight bench to use for dumbbell exercises. Not only is it affordable, but it is easier to put together than the average treadmill. The manual's instructions for putting the bench together are clear and easy to follow, and it offers good advice on how to get started coming up with an exercise routine. The bench's backrest is adjustable (a hard-to-find but important feature), so you can do the full range of dumbbell exercises.Customers should know before buying that the bench is designed to support a maximum user weight of 250 lbs with a combined dumbbell weight of 100 lbs. So, although you cannot use this bench for lifting massive weights, it is ideal for people who are just starting out or who are focusing on fitness instead of extreme bodybuilding.(Update: November 28, 2010)Well, it has been a little over a year since I have been using this bench. I started out using 5-pound dumbbells with it at least 5 days a week. Now I am able to use 25-pound dumbbells on the same routine. Not once have I had the slightest bit of trouble with the bench. Durable? I would have to say so. My original 4-star rating still stands.(Update: April 22, 2012)Alright, I decided to do one last update for this review. What's the reason? Honestly, I still feel like you could not find a better bench to start weightlifting with for the price and quality, and I want to give you my take on what negative reviewers are saying. Here are some of the charges against the bench: a weird chemical smell, missing parts, rusted parts, wobbliness. First of all, let me tell you that any product that is shipped from a warehouse is likely to have a different smell. Ever been to the outdoors department at a retailer?Read more ›
November 25, 2009
1. ASSEMBLY GUIDELINES: Assembling this is NOT like assembling a piece of Ikea furniture. This kit does not include the tools you need to complete the job and if you've never turned a wrench before, you're gonna have a bad time. I'm moderately handy and was able to put it together in just under 40 minutes. The tools needed to assemble this easily are: 13mm, 14mm, 17mm x2, 19mm(or 3/4")x2 wrenches or sockets, and a knife. Two adjustable wrenches would work, but won't be nearly as easy. If you have no tools and can't borrow any from a friend or neighbor, go ahead and budget in an extra $10-$15 to get the basics you need to put this together. There was one review about the nuts being the type that can't tighten all the way. They are like that by design; they have a little plastic thing that keeps them from spinning freely, so you have to use a wrench to tighten them. This keeps them from loosening on their own and keeps the bench together/stable over time (they are higher quality nuts). The knife is for opening the packages and trimming away any wood in the way of the screw holes on the back of the bench. One last tip about assembling this thing: for each section, start all the bolts and nuts BEFORE you crank them down tight. If something doesn't fit, it's because it isn't lined up correctly and you need the thing to be wobbly so that you can wiggle everything into place and get all the bolts started before you crank everything down. This was most important for getting the back support all put together. This technique is really one of the basic keys to putting stuff together without troubles and should be done with everything.2. Stability and Size: I'm 6'1" weighing in at 170lbs. The exercises I've seen other benches struggle with the most are weighted incline situps.Read more ›
November 8, 2013
I'd been looking at benches for quite some time now that I've gotten more into strength training than I'd ever been before and decided the space in my workout room was worth it...Most were simply a bench. Some had ankle support...I was eyeing a $250 when I came across this one on Amazon...that had more.Now granted it has a weight limit on it, but I think that's more because you can do sit ups on this one and to support very heavy weight may require a wider bench of more weight...but this is very heavy and other than that, it seems like it would work with twice the weight limit.I LOVE the backrest moving up and down...in simply a flip of your hand...all the way down for situps, a bench, flip around with the back all the way and face the other direction laying on the seat and raise and lower your legs for core work, lean on the bench or lay on it for arm work...it was solid but I think that takes a lot of work to get to that...with a two-man building team which I'll touch on in a moment.In the photo it looks like this is red, it's actually a dark tan faux leather with ample padding and a yellow logo. What you may not notice in the photo is that it also has 4 hooks underneath that hold two dumbbells for easy access.There is even a one step way of folding this up for easy storage via one pin.To me, it's phenomenal al this has for the price...far more than the ones way more expensive. That said, I know why.You are paying for convenience to pay more...this is a two-person job putting together and that's coming from someone who puts every piece of furniture etc together in this house because I have a world of patience and ability to read directions...Read more ›
January 24, 2011

PROS:
  • 4 different adjustable positions
  • Comfortable handgrips that are covered in foam
  • Can support up to 300 pounds of mass

CONS:
  • Some assembly required and manufacturer has not included tools

back to menu ↑

Ironmaster Adjustable Super Bench weight-lifting Workout Bench

Ironmaster Super Bench Adjustable weight-lifting Bench

Sporting a sleek and futuristic look, the Ironmaster workout bench is truly a sight to behold. Weightlifters need to look no further than this beast. This particular workout bench is the epitome of superior strength, incredible versatility and the ability to take your workout through a range of positions. These include the flat, decline, upright and even decline position. We all love a comfortable gym session, that’s why Ironmaster literally has your back with stitched vinyl upholstery and ultra heavy duty padding. In addition, this workout bench adapts to accommodate an ever-expanding list of attachments such as chin-up bars, dip bars, and the crunch sit up.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Ironmaster Super Bench Adjustable weight-lifting Bench

Super Strong, Super Versatile, Flat, Incline, Decline, Upright, 11 Angle Bench! 11 lock out angles: Inclines, Declines, Flat and Upright. 0, 5,10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 75, 80 and 85 degrees. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

44 x 18.8 x 21 inches ; 65 pounds

Shipping Weight

78 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Item model number

IMSB

This a review of ONLY the bench; not the multiple attachments that can be purchased. See my profile for reviews of many of these items .Overall, this is a good bench, not a 5 star bench. I am curious to hear from taller people regarding the practicality of it in the upright position. It's heavy, but sturdy. It won't tip, the seat won't come out, and it's comfortable.
October 27, 2011
I purchased 3 benches over the course of a few months, returned 2 of them and am very happy with my final purchase. I'm reviewing all 3 of the benches because it was an educational experience and I hope other people don't have to make the same mistakes I did.As background, I have a small apartment in NYC and wanted a bench to use with dumbbells because I was quitting my gym membership. I wasn't trying to get a full workout machine because while that might be optimal, I don't have enough space for something like that. So the goal was a sturdy, as-small-as-possible bench that would lie flat, but also do incline, decline, and 90 degrees.I initially went with the Cory Everson FID Weight Bench. I purchased this bench because it can fold up, lean against a wall and save space. Its main selling point to me was that it seemed similar to the Danskin Space Saver Bench that I had purchased a few years ago (and later sold on Craigslist when I joined a gym). I loved the Danskin bench because even though it's seemingly made for women, it was sturdy enough for my 170 pounds and 5'9" frame but folded up neatly. It was also just $119. I would have gladly purchased another one except it was no longer available. I'm not sure why Danskin no longer makes this great bench, but oh well. Anyway, the problem with the Cory Everson is that it is NOT sturdy. It was wobbly and felt like it might break at any moment. Therefore, I returned it to Amazon.Read more ›
August 31, 2009
Well after an awful experience with the Bowflex adjustable dumbells (I returned them) I decided to order the Ironmaster Superbench and adjustable dumbells and all I can say is "Wow, what a difference!"First of all I ordered the SuperBench with the following attachments:Chin Up BarCrunch/DeclineBar Dip/Leg RaisesPreacher Curl PadAnd the Quick-Lock dumbells 75lb with storage rackEverything arrived around 4 days after ordering and everything was very well packaged. Set-up took me around 3 hours but putting everything together was pretty simple.The Super Bench is solid. Amazing quality. The way it swivels is genius. All the attachments are made from solid metal and feel real sturdy.A few nitpicks:First, I wish that you could insert the attachments from either side of the bench. I work out in front of a mirror and when I add an attachment that means I have to pick up the bench and turn it so I face the mirror.Second, all the attachments do take up some space when not in use. I know that the do sell a rack to store your attachments so maybe I'll get that at a later date.In conclusion, the Ironmaster products and service is like a breath of fresh air after dealing with Bowflex.
September 21, 2007

PROS:
  • Ideal for weight lifting and dumbbells
  • Allows room for optional attachments
  • Easily adjusts to a vast array of angles

CONS:
  • Tall people might find the upright angle a bit impractical

back to menu ↑

Weider Pro 255 L Slant Board Bench

Weider Pro 255 L Slant Board Ab Bench

It’s time to shatter the ever confusing myth that weight lifting will always hurt your back. With all the technology advancements available in the market, it’s now possible to have a serious workout session while feeling like you’re sitting on your living room couch. The brilliant Weider Pro A/B 255 L Slant Board Bench not only feels like heaven for your back but is also surprisingly versatile. You can fold this workout bench from the flat to inclined, run a couple of sets then take her back down to decline the position.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Weider Pro 255 L Slant Board/Ab Bench

Can you be comfortable while you lift weights? With the Weider Pro 255 L Slant Board/Ab Bench you can. The bench can be folded into flat, inclined, or declined positions, allowing this sewn vinyl ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

33 x 18 x 7 inches ; 38 pounds

Shipping Weight

38 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

This product is sturdy and easy to assemble, but that is where the good things stop. This bench is a pain to change position, for anyone who changes the bench position a lot, I recommend to get a bench that uses a bar to change position. Next, the foam pads in the front get in the way of the work out all the time and the things on the outside of the foam pads are plastic and broke within the day. When it broke it made the plastic very sharp and I cut myself on it a couple times. There are just many problems with this bench and is certainly not worth it.
September 7, 2012
Quality is good, positions are great, but the leg pads drive me crazy. I'm 6'1" and find the pads too close together to lock in my legs comfortably. A bit torcherous for me, especially on decline. I feel like 4-6" further apart would be better for me.
March 13, 2013
Absolutely terribly manufactured product! One of the welded seat supports was improperly welded and is misaligned by 3/4" and not even welded straight. In my 31 years as a production engineer I have never seen such disregard for quality control! This product is absolutely useless the way it was Manufactured please don't bother wasting your time.
April 20, 2016

PROS:
  • Suitable for an array of dumbbell exercises and lifting some serious weight
  • Superior comfort with vinyl seats
  • Includes a complete guide and exercise chart-certified by a trainer

CONS:
  • Some customers claim leg pads are a tad too close together

back to menu ↑

Marcy Black Flat Utility Weight Workout Bench

Marcy Flat Utility Weight Bench, Black

When it comes to working the hell out of your arms and core, only a flat bench will do. Once again, Marcy delivers excellence in the form of the Marcy Black Flat Utility Weight Workout Bench that will allow you to break free even in the most compact of spaces. Designed to help you improve on strength and muscle toning, the Marcy Black Flat Utility Weight Workout Bench is great for hitting the abs and couple other fitness goals that are now well within your reach.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Marcy Flat Utility Weight Bench, Black

The SB-315 multi-purpose utility flat bench allows you to perform a variety of exercises within a compact space. Increase strength, tone your body and flatten your abs. Add free-weights or exercise ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

44 x 13.5 x 4 inches

Shipping Weight

17.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

Item model number

SB-315

(For latest update, see update below) I thought I would take a chance on this bench since it was so cheap, and I couldn't be more satisfied. It was packed well and went together in about 5 minutes. It is a testament to the effectiveness of this bench that even during the assembly stage I could already feel substantial gains in my lats. A quick mirror check confirmed this to be true. All the parts were there, and an Allen wrench was included. Just make sure you have a regular wrench for some of the bolts and some bourbon for overall health and well being.I hopped on for a few quick reps to test it out and found that it was incredibly solid - absolutely no wobble at all. My other FID bench has a tiny bit of wiggle that is a constant bother. With the indicated 600lb limit, this should be fine for heavy lifting for just about anybody. Unfortunately my compression socks were at the dry cleaners or I would have tested that limit. Maybe next time I'll update on the max capabilities. Finally, the padding was nice and thick and firm. I couldn't feel any bolts underneath, and it gave nice support - not too spongy.One thing I noticed was that the user limit was 300lb, but the max limit was 600lb. I don't know how the bench knows if you're a 400lb guy lifting 200 or a 200lb guy lifting 400, but you probably wouldn't want to get those two hypothetical scenarios mixed up. If you're 305 and want to a bit of iron hoisting, I would suggest doing a bit of cardio and maybe some sauna first to hit that 300lb limit.(Update: 09/30/2015) I see that some people have been having issues with the durability and/or stability of their units.Read more ›
May 24, 2014
Serves its purpose but after a couple weeks of light usage I noticed it was a little wobbly. Discovered that weld on one of the legs is failing. Need to contact manufacturer.
July 15, 2014
This is a great start out weight bench for the price. The bench is rated at 300lbs. I have 70lb dumbbells that I bench with and I weigh 180lbs, making the weight 320 total. Though my feet are on the ground so Im sure not all of my weight is on the bench. It feels sturdy when using it. It is light which makes it easy to move around, yet if you sit all the way on the edge it may tilt.Putting the bench together was quick and easy. Make sure to tighten the lock nuts (like a skateboard nut). The polymer insert helps to keep the nut in place, and makes it seem as if it will not tighten further.I give it four stars because although it is a great bench, it is just a starter due to its weight capacity. I have read that heavier customers have used this with no problem, yet I'd be cautious. If it holds up over time I'll adjust it to 5 stars. I'd recommend to a friend.
September 22, 2015

PROS:
  • High-density foam exterior with boxed upholstery for ultra comfort
  • Can be used with other workout bench equipment
  • Highly durable coating finish to protect against rubbing

CONS:
  • Assembly instructions are pretty tough to decipher

back to menu ↑

Bowflex 5.1 SelectTech Adjustable Workout Bench

Bowflex SelectTech 5.1 Adjustable Bench

All hail the king of home workout. If you’re looking for the product of expert craftsmanship and the ultimate luxury gym equipment, then the Bowflex 5.1 SelectTech Adjustable Workout Bench is exactly what you need. Rarely you find such detailed and breathtaking features in one single workout bench that are designed to combine an impressive number of all strength building equipment found at your nearby gym. With this muscle-building monster, you get efficient performance and even removable leg braces for more workout bench options. You can also adjust this bad boy through 6 different positions to give all the muscle groups in your body a thorough work over.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Bowflex SelectTech 5.1 Adjustable Bench

Transforms any space into efficient and effective weight fitness center Includes removable leg hold-down brace for decline position Excellent muscle-building results with free-weight design 17 degree ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

54 x 19 x 9 inches ; 63 pounds

Shipping Weight

63 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

I bought the Select-Tech 552 dumbell set w/stand, so I needed a bench to go with it. I saw this was the 'matching' bench and had good reviews, so I went with it without much shopping around. I think I paid $150 with no tax or shipping. As I did not shop around, I don't know if this is a good 'value' compared to other brands.As far as the bench itself, it is very sturdy. No wobbling while you are using it - this is a big plus. It also looks very nice and obviously matches my other equipment.The adjustment options are nice to have, but to me they are mostly unnecessary. I only use it in the flat position and one incline position. I can't imagine what one would do with all the other positions, but maybe someone who is more sophisticated in their work out could utilize them.The leg attachment, again, is very sturdy. I didn't buy it for sit-ups, nor would I recommend this to someone who wanted it solely for sit-ups, but if you want a bench primarily for lifting that gives you a sit-up option, this will work just fine.As to the negatives... This was mentioned by another reviewer, but there is a opening in the bench where it folds up. It is really in a bad place (atleast for me, I am 6' 3") - right on the small of the back. It is uncomfortable and seems like it could cause injury. I am able to get around it by scooting my rear as close to the end of the bench before I lay back. Still, it seems like this could have been designed better.The assembly was simple and consists primarily of using washers and bolts. On mine, on the bottom end, the welds were in the way of one of the holes I needed to put a bolt/washer through. The washer would not sit flat and it was very difficult to get this one tight.Read more ›
March 30, 2007
Feels cheap, took a few weeks for the smell of the plastic to go away. Seat wobbles a little when I bench regardless of how tight the nuts are attaching it. I use this with my select tech dumbbells. Next time I'd look for something with a solid, welded frame with cushions pre-attached.
October 28, 2012
I was looking for a decent bench to go along with my SelectTech dumbbell set and have found the 5.1 to be the best for the price. The construction is very sturdy and it took me about a half hour to put together. Contrary to one of the other reviews here, the bench travels from a decline position (with an excellent feature that allows the seat to be raised, preventing any back pain) to a 0, 30, 45, 60, and 90 degree incline. The detachable leg support allows for crunches and situps, one of my basic requirements. Construction and functionality-wise, this bench reminds me of the higher quality equipment I've used at health clubs but this is actually better due to the detachable leg support.One complaint I have is that when I move the bench, the bench has to be lifted high in order for the wheels to catch the floor, otherwise, I end up dragging the bench on the legs. It's not that big of a deal now that I know this needs to be done. Overall, I am extremely happy to have purchased this bench.
January 24, 2007

PROS:
  • Corrects your posture and stabilizes workout position
  • Includes a 30-year warranty o the frame
  • Adjusts into 6 different and effective positions

CONS:
  • The gap between the cushions could be a tad uncomfortable when workout bench is flat

back to menu ↑

Body-Solid Powerline Incline/Flat/Decline Folding Workout Bench

Body-Solid Powerline Flat Incline Decline Folding Bench

We all know how fussy it can be to assemble a workout bench from scratch. That’s why this multi-purpose workout bench can decline and even sit flat or decline for dumbbell and barbell sessions. The superior versatility in the Body-Solid Powerline Incline/Flat/Decline Folding Workout Bench is simply unbelievable since it can be taken through 7 adjustable positions. Nobody wants to lug around a heavy equipment and get tired before the actual workout session; that’s why the manufacturer included transport wheels to move things smoothly along.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Body-Solid Powerline Flat/Incline/Decline Folding Bench

Multi-purpose incline and decline bench perfect for barbell and dumbbell training Comes fully assembled and ready for immediate use; simply take it out of the box to get started 7 easy-to-adjust ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

57 x 22 x 10 inches ; 60 pounds

Shipping Weight

60 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Others have pointed out why this is a great bench, and some have pointed out some negatives. Here's my take:Pros:Easily folds up in 2 quick steps to be only about 6 inches thick, and is easy to stand in a corner since it isn't too heavy and has wheels on the rear support (the wheels don't touch the floor when in use, only when folded and stood on end).Sturdy and heavy enough to support a lot of weight.Comes preassembled, just folded in the box.Has 7 positions, from decline (-17 deg) to upright (85 deg), including flat (0 deg). I don't know what others are talking about when they say it doesn't go truly flat. My digital bubble level doesn't lie.Has a locking bar for the feet (yes, it's a little too close to the floor, so that the feet don't completely clear it, but it works).Looks good with silver metal and black vinyl.Decent price and free shipping with Amazon (at the time of this review).Cons:The cushions are stapled to the wood, which might come loose at some point, but as long as you're just lying on it and not playing tug-of-war with it, it probably won't be a major issue.The styrofoam that cushioned the bench in the box left some adherent residue that I had to scrape off with my fingernails, but it did come off.Conclusion:After looking and looking for a versatile bench that was compact and easy to store away when not in use, I think this is as close to ideal as I'll get. I'm happy I bought it.
July 8, 2011
It started off as a great bench, however it started to fall apart after 5 months of moderate use. The cushions have torn at the seams so I'll need to invest money on either replacing or repairing them. The frame is pretty solid, however the bench itself missed the mark on quality. I've contacted the manufacturer regarding the lifetime warranty on the upholstery as indicated on their website. UPDATE: Customer service responded to my email regarding the warranty within 20 minutes and shipped out a replacement seat cushion without any hassles. Very impressive!
March 5, 2015
I don't have a lot of space for equipment, so I was looking for a bench that could fold up flat so I could lean it against the wall when not in use. I also didn't want to feel like I was going to break it when I sat on it with weights. This is the only bench I could find that met my criteria. I was impressed by how sturdy it actually was. For the price I thinks it is pretty unbeatable, but I can understand some of the complaints about it. I am 6' and have big feet and the foot pegs are a little awkward, but not unusable. A taller person might have more trouble, but I'm not going to fault the bench for that as it is impossible to design a one size fits all bench. I could also see someone taller complaining about the height, but I think this is also a consequence of being designed to fold flat. All in all, I couldn't find anything that would work better so I have no cause for complaint. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is more casual with their work outs or without a lot of space for equipment.
October 5, 2009

PROS:
  • Bottom has transport wheels for easier movement in the house
  • Can be used for chest presses, dumbbells, and more similar workouts
  • 7 different position to adjust and choose from

CONS:
  • The cushions seem a bit weak and prone to coming undone; just don’t go too rough on the workout bench

back to menu ↑

Universal 5 Position Weight Workout Bench

Universal 5 Position Weight Bench

When you want a light and ultra portable bench, this is the right choice for you. Straight from the box, you can tell just how light Universal 5 Position Weight Bench is. If you prefer to get down and dirty with the dumbbells, this particular bench has more than everything you need to help the process along. Instead of focusing on making the frame super heavy, the manufacturer incorporated some ingenious engineering that resulted in a sleek, excellent and lightweight workout bench without all the extra weight, but with all the strength and durability required.

  • Product
  • Specification

Universal 5 Position Weight Bench

The simple, effective challenge of a free weight workout remains one of the most efficient ways to build strength and muscle mass. The Universal Five-Position bench, from parent company Nautilus, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

51 x 17 x 25 inches ; 21.5 pounds

Shipping Weight

41 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

003-9069

A weight bench is a simple enough thing but the exact details of making a good one are very important. Universal / Nautilus studied each one and really got it right with this one. I looked at many benches around this price point and felt like they all fell short somehow and I looked at more expensive benches thinking you get what you pay for and a more expensive bench must be better, but Universal really knocked this one out of the park and got it right. If you use dumbbells and maybe situps (no barbell*) this bench has everything you need and nothing you don't (which would mean excess size and weight!). Speaking of which, if you don't want the leg supports the bench is designed and painted such that you can leave that off and it looks equally sharp.*see edit/update at the bottomPros:Solid- when the box for this bench showed up I was surprised at how light the box was. It actually had me worried as I've tried out benches that felt like they had give and of course when you've got weights up and you need to focus on perfect form the last thing you want is the chance of feeling a slip or flex underneath you. All fears were gone after setting it up though. This thing is SOLID. The design is clever - the supports extend from your CG at an angle to the floor supports and rest directly on the foot piece rather than being bolted to the side. This is akin to holding a weight overhead instead of out from your body - it will just transmit the weight with nothing to flex. Benches where the supports are bolted to the side have to sink in as the shear force is absorbed and the repeated loading will loosen the nuts.Read more ›
July 12, 2011
I had concerns before I buy it because some people gave negative feedback to this product. I am 5'11" and it fits good. In order to help you how it fits to my body I've added a photo using this product, so that you can have an idea how it will look like when you use it. Even though it seem like my head doesn't fit at the top of the bench, it fits properly and it doesn't bother me at all. In a nutshell, I love this product, very useful and made with a quality material.
May 16, 2013
For only ~$100, I don't know if you can do better. I heard bad things about the cheapo Apex bench and wanted something that wouldn't kill me. It was between this or the Bowflex benches. Since I hear bad things all the time about Bowflex products and they're all horrendously overpriced, I went with this one.Pros:- Sturdy (430lb weight limit). No qualms about stepping on this holding dumbbells.- Very comfortable. Wide enough for an average person to lie down comfortably. Good height and length. Foam is dense but not hard and the surface feels VERY nice to the touch. Higher quality than I'd expect from a $100 bench.- Easy enough assemblyNeutral:- Item is slightly different than bench pictured. There is no rounded cushioning under your knees, it's just a flat cushion. It also appears to be lower than the one pictured.- I'm 5'11" and the top of the bench hits my very upper neck. If supporting your head is important, be weary if you're above 6ft tall.Cons:- Foam rollers aren't the most comfortably thing in the world. I wish they had a vinyl cover or something.Overall I'm very pleased. I don't like making compromises on quality but as far as a cheap bench goes, you can't go wrong with this one.
July 12, 2011

PROS:
  • Over 5 different positions for a ton of unique exercises
  • Works on your entire upper body and core
  • Light and very portable

CONS:
  • No assembly instructions on this workout bench

back to menu ↑

Universal UB100 Decline Bench

Universal UB100 Decline Bench

That’s right. Universal did it so nicely, we had to do it twice too. The Universal UB100 Decline Workout Bench allows you to purposefully define your core muscles with a set of different exercises like never before. With this workout bench in your gym or home, you can go for sit-up, aim for some twists and even do some more core-building exercises with the dual incline positioning. This particular workout bench measures 17 by 45 inches and will comfortably hold a 200-pound person.

  • Product
  • Specification

Universal UB100 Decline Bench

Define core area with a variety of exercise options Ideal for sit-ups, twists, and more core-strengthening exercises Features 2 incline positions Manufacturer's warranty included: see complete ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

46 x 16 x 6 inches ; 21 pounds

Shipping Weight

21 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Awesome. all parts brand new. Esay to put all parts together. I m 6'2, my body fit great in the bench. This a great bench to work out your abdominal. It is exactly what you are looking in the picture.
January 3, 2013
This is a great decline bench. Folds up for easy storage. I'm 6' and thats about the height limit for this bench. The roller pads provide plenty of cushion, but the plugs that hold the roller pads on come off easy. That was fixed with a little black tape wrapped on the ends of the plugs. The bench has enough padding to make it comfortable to use. Should last a long time with proper use. My son and I have been using it for a few weeks now and see a big difference in muscle gain compared to the conventional floor sit-ups. It arrived quickly and was easy to assemble. But, like all excercise equipment ambition is NOT included.***This bench DOES have 2 positions. Obviously the decline position, but also a flat position if you fold the bench up and lay it on the floor. Hope this helps the people who couldn't find the second position, or where struggling with using the decline position.
May 30, 2010
I like this UB 100 Bench. I am 6 2" & weigh 184Lbs & is just what I need for doing setups. Although I can't so 100 setups as I did in the Marines, I am Ok with 20. This bench is easy to assemble & well made. So for the price you can't go wrong.
May 15, 2015

PROS:
  • Allows for an array of core building exercises
  • Superior comfort thanks to eight-inch foam padded rollers
  • This workout bench is freestanding and declines in 2 positions

CONS:
  • Some assembly required

How to Choose a Workout Bench?

Every workout deserves to be as fun as it is effective. Whether you are training for the Olympics or just getting buff for the hell of it, you have to do it right and you have to do it the way it was meant to be. Why spend a ton of money on gym membership and yet never even get time to show up? Here’s how you get yourself totally sorted with the perfect workout bench for you.

Identify the Different Types of Workout Benches

  • Flat Benches

These are the most simple and straightforward type of benches in the market. They have no moving parts that need to be adjusted, just a plain, flat surface for the weightlifting beginner. You gotta crawl before you walk grasshopper, same applies here. Start off with a flat bench to assess your strengths and verify what your restrictions are before moving on to the big boy class.

  • Multipurpose Benches

By far and up to date, multipurpose benches are the most versatile workout equipment you will ever spend your money on. After mastering all the workings of a flat bench, you can now get yourself a nice, solid multipurpose bench that will let you flex your muscles a tad more. Not only can you use these benches in the flat position, but they also let you advance to incline and decline positions. Some specialized models even have military positions for the core training junkie looking to get ripped.

  • Adjustable Bench

Neat Features

For weight lifters looking for a well-rounded and highly effective workout, then you need to get a workout bench with as many adjustment positions as you can manage to cram in there.

  • Safety

Always go for a workout bench that puts your safety first above all other factors. Safety features like racks and safety catches should be the most important feature to look out for. Weight lifters working with especially heavy weights should opt for the safest model out there.

  • Quality Craftsmanship

Effective weight lifting requires a solid base and a stable environment free from minor disruptions. When choosing the ideal workout bench, go for the best quality and renowned brands that have passed the grueling test of time. Sacrificing quality for cheaper prices could get you a poorly made bench that wobbles or even comes apart after a while. The best benches are made from solid steel with very comfortable upholstery for the back.

  • Portability

Today, most workout benches are not only sturdy, they also offer surprising levels of portability. They are designed to take up little floor space and the best ones even fold up for convenient storage. Utility benches are the most portable and even demand less room than racked ones.

Competition

Our list of top 10 best workout benches is very close this time round with some very stiff competition between even the same manufacturers. Benches like the Body Solid Powerline did indeed make a solid attempt to satisfy the customer.

However, there is one workout bench that caught our attention and deserves a very honorable mention for putting comfort and performance above all else. The Bowflex 5.1 Select Tech Adjustable Workout Bench. All hail the king of home workout. If you’re looking for the product of expert craftsmanship and the ultimate luxury gym equipment, then the Bowflex 5.1 SelectTech Adjustable Workout Bench is exactly what you need.

Rarely you find such detail and breathtaking features in one single workout bench that is designed to combine an impressive number of all strength building equipment found at your nearby gym. With this muscle-building monster, you get efficient performance and even removable leg braces for more workout bench options. You can also adjust this bad boy through 6 different positions to give all the muscle groups in your body a thorough work over.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

[Total: 1    Average: 5/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password