Top 10 Chainsaws Reviews — Best Models Worth Buying

Looking for the best chainsaws that will make your pruning and cutting tasks much easier? Or do you wish to upgrade to a new model but don’t know the best way to go about it? Well, the market has hundreds of models in chainsaws that might perfectly match your needs and budget. However, not all of them have the capacity to deliver as advertised. We are here to help you avoid such disappointments and get a chainsaw that will meet or even exceed your expectation. But getting the best means digging deeper into the market and making comparisons among those that stand out from the rest.

This might seem an easy task for most people. Unfortunately not all of us like the idea of spending hours in front of a computer doing market research. Moreover, some of us are too busy to even get the time to do so. But all is not lost because we have you covered. We have compiled everything in one place to avoid the hassle. You may be asking yourself, how in the world did these guys go about selecting the best chainsaws on the market? Well, to provide reliable and up-to-date information, we have done our selection based on customer reviews, consumer reports and opinions from our team of experts. Read more and discover the features that make a chainsaw the best deal on the market.

Reviews of the Best Chainsaws

It’s now time to look at the models that have made it to the top of our list. The list we came up with was quite long. Therefore, we have decided to narrow down your search to the top 10 best models that perform well in terms of affordability, overall built and performance. In our review we will be looking at the features of each model and what makes them the best in the market. And to help you make a more informed decision we will also outline the benefits and drawbacks associated with the use of that particular product. Welcome, and let’s explore these top models in the world of chainsaws.

WORX WG303.1 16-Inch Chain Saw

WORX WG303.1 16-Inch Chain Saw

Tough cutting applications are no match for this chainsaw. The saw generates a whopping 3.5 peak horsepower at maximum setting. WORX WG303.1 16-Inch Chain Saw is quite light for its size weighing at only 11 pounds. The bar measures 16 inches long and works well in enhancing stability to deliver more professional cuts. Chain tension and tightening are all done automatically to save you all the hassle. The rear and front handles are ergonomically designed to provide maximum comfort while giving you full control during cutting.

Key features

  • Powerful 4.5 amp motor that generates 3.5 HP
  • Automatic tension mechanism facilitates hundreds of uses
  • Tool-free chain tightening and replacement
  • Automatic chain lubrication
  • Low kickback bar with a safety chain stop

  • Product

WORX WG303.1 16-Inch Chain Saw, 3.5 HP 14.5 Amp

The WORX 16-Inch 3.5 HP 14.5 Amp chainsaw is a cut above the rest. The WORX exclusive, patented tool-free chain replacement and auto-tensioning system eliminates the headaches faced with most other ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I recently purchased this WG303.1 saw and have already put it to good use assisting in delimbing and felling some fairly tall, large diameter trees. I have to admit that I was very surprised at how well it cuts, even when compared to my larger gas powered saw. It's also very light and well balanced, so was comfortable to use for hours at a time. The automatic oiler and tool free chain tensioner were big selling points and I like the idea of the chain brake. So far, it seems like a very well designed saw overall, at least as far as electric saws go.I don't know if this has been an issue for anyone else, but I noticed that the oil in the small sample size container of "WORX Bar & Chain Oil" included with the saw was much thinner than the stuff I normally use for my gas powered saw and didn't think anything more about it until I went to refill the reservoir. When I refilled the saw with my regular bar and chain oil, the automatic oiler no longer worked and the chain was running bone dry. I drained the tank and refilled it with ordinary 30-weight motor oil and the automatic oiler once again began to work as it had before. The outside temps here this time of year are in the mid to upper 70's, so cold weather oil viscosity shouldn't be an issue and I can't find any documentation in the owner's manual or quick setup guide as to the required type or weight of the bar and chain oil, so I will now just have to assume it uses 30-weight. I have a Remington electric pole saw that also uses 30-weight motor oil for the bar and chain lube, but at least Remington was gracious enough to mention this in their owner's manual. Other than that little fiasco, I really have taken a liking to this saw and am very happy with it.UPDATE: I have been using the Tanaka 700320 commercial bar and chain oil in my Worx saw. It is about the same consistency of regular 30-weight motor oil, so has been working well. Now no more problems with the chain running dry.
May 26, 2012
I hated my old gas chainsaw because I only need to use a chainsaw around my property every couple of years and every time I got it out, I had to deal with flushing the old gas, cleaning the carburetor, mixing the fuel/oil, adjusting the choke, and pulling the cord until I was worn out or it finally started. Enough said: I hated it!This Worx 303.1 is a dream! Plug it in turn it on. Now! Next month. Next year. Awesome. On top of that, I'm actually surprised that an electric chain saw is so light and so powerful. I was expecting to have to compromise for the sake of convenience, but this is lighter and more powerful than my old craftsman gas chainsaw. The next day after buying this, I threw that old thing out, and never looked back.I have already cut down 1 small magnolia tree, and pruned several good size ash trees, including one massive limb. This thing is amazing.I power it from my Honda portable generator so I don't worry about long power cords, but I doubt if they're a real problem. If you are running this through a long heavy-duty extension cord, you might think about running the last 25 feet with a smaller lighter cord for easier handling.The only negative is that it goes through chainsaw oil pretty quickly, so make sure to get another bottle.
May 10, 2012
Have used standard chainsaws for years. Have an acre of largely wooded land (pine), and am frequently cutting down trees, mostly in the 10-15" range. Got tired of all the hassles with small gas engines, and with my needs for cutting mainly soft wood, decided to give this electric saw a try. Was pleasantly surprised --- met my expectations.Compared with my small Poulan 16" gas saw, which is about the same size and weight:PROS- Much lower maintenance.- Adequate power, though less than gas.- Chain stops quickly when power is removed; virtually instantaneous when chain brake engaged.- Automatic chain tightener works well. Seldom need to manually adjust, and very easy to do so without tools when needed.- Tool-less removal and reattachment of chain cover.- Much less vibration than a gas saw. My hands start feeling tingly after 15 minutes with the gas saw, never with the electric.- Significantly quieter than a gas saw, although no chain saw is particularly quiet when it is cutting.CONS- Motor sticks out the the left farther than with my 16" bar gas chainsaw. Makes some flush cuts more challenging.- Chain binds quicker. Although I'm careful to avoid binding, can never completely eliminate it. When chain *starts* to bind with the gas saw, can generally keep the chain moving and remove the saw easily. Need to be much more careful with the electric saw. Contrary to what several others have said, the electric motor is less powerful than the comparable gas. However, drawing 15 amps is a good compromise between convenience and power.- Safety shutoff (chain brake) activates a little too frequently; not much room between it and the top handle.Read more ›
June 12, 2013

PROS:
  • Tool-free adjustment and removal of the chain
  • Quiet with less vibration
  • High power to weight ratio
  • Mess-free lubrication

CONS:
  • The chain binds much quicker

back to menu ↑

Husqvarna 450 18-Inch 50.2cc X-Torq 2-Cycle Gas Powered Chain Saw

Husqvarna 450 18-Inch 50.2cc X-Torq 2-Cycle Gas Powered Chain Saw

This chainsaw runs on a 50.2cc, 2-cycle engine that delivers 3.2 HP. Husqvarna 450 generates fewer emissions and boasts of increased fuel efficiency. At 10.8 pounds, this chain saw is lightweight enough to minimize user fatigue. The bar is quite long measuring 18 inches. An advanced air cleaning mechanism functions to extend engine life. Starting the chain aw is quite a breeze, thanks to its smart start technology. The LowVib technology minimizes vibrations to enable you to work in ultimate comfort.

Key features

  • 3.2 peak horsepower
  • LowVib Technology for noise dampening
  • Smart Start technology for effortless start
  • Advanced centrifugal air cleaning mechanism
  • 2-year limited warranty

  • Product

Husqvarna 450 18-Inch 50.2cc X-Torq 2-Cycle Gas Powered Chain Saw With Smart...

Exceptional Products For Exceptional Yards. Great yards demand equipment that's as dedicated and hardworking as you. Fortunately, the Husqvarna range of lawn and garden equipment offers everything ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Had need of a new saw to replace an older one that was starting to give me trouble. besides that I have been wanting a second saw and this gave me a good excuse to get one. I typically cut 8 to 10 cord per year for the past 30 years and have had experience with several types and sizes. My favorite was the Husky 55 which I still have but needs some work. I checked out the reviews on the Husky 50 with the most being very good with a few bad reviews but then I saw the same with Stihl reviews so I came to the conclusion some people don't really know much about starting or using a chain saw. Anyhow Amazon had this one for a price that couldn't be beat so I thought I would take a chance on buying it online as opposed to a dealer. I wasn't disappointed. No problem with start-up. The first job I had was to clean up some storm damage. Had a large red oak uproot. At the stump it was about 29" diameter. This saw cut through that like a knife through butter. I cut up that tree in no time. The main reason I went with the smaller saw was lower weight. As one gets older that extra pound or so hanging out there can make a difference on the the back feels afterwards. I just like the way this saw feels in my hand and am impressed with its performance. This model isn't a professional model but for the work as a homeowner on over 5 acres of woodland this saw is perfect.
June 1, 2011
In my humble homeowner opinion, there are two good chain saws on the market today. Stihl and Husqvarna. The Husky 450 is an excellent medium size saw for the homeowner like me. I like the saw because it is easy to start, quiet and powerful. I would recommend it to anyone. The 18 inch bar works for the size tree I typically cut. I keep the chains sharp and have several on hand to change in the field. The bar tool comes with the saw for easy chain changeout. My two sons also use the saw and rate it as highly as I do!
June 20, 2011
If you don't know how to start a chainsaw than you should not be using one! Once the saw fires you turn the choke off and pull the start cord. If you keep trying to start it with the choke on it will flood the engine. Read the user's manual, it talks about it in the manual. I just purchased the 450 and it cuts like a dream and has the power to really do the trick. I like the fact that I can put a 20" bar on this saw and have the power to get the job done. I'm not having any issues getting the saw to run even in below freezing temps. Make sure you use winter grade bar oil if you cut in the winter. It's only been two days of solid cutting but this machine has out preformed my last saw. Hopefully with good maintenance habits I can keep this thing around for a long time. Oh yea...wear chaps and a helmet. I love that macho attitude with no protective gear. You'd be amazed at how fast you can bleed out when you hit an artery!Be Safe...
December 19, 2010

PROS:
  • Cuts fuel consumption by a whopping 30-percent
  • Low emission level that is 60-percent less than conventional gas models
  • Easy start
  • Longer engine life
  • Quiet and vibration-free

CONS:
  • Not suitable for frequent use

back to menu ↑

BLACK+DECKER LCS1020 20V Max Lithium Ion Chainsaw

BLACK+DECKER LCS1020 20V Max Lithium Ion Chainsaw

Black & Decker LCS1020 takes the lightweight design to a higher level. This chainsaw weighs a mere 7.2 pounds, which makes it among the lightest in its class. It is powered by a 20-volt battery that has a reputation of storing charge 5 times longer than other conventional models. The cuts are smooth and fast. Chain tension is much easier and requires no tools to execute. The bale handle gives you total control and provides added comfort.

Key features

  • 20-Volt lithium battery stores charge up to 5 times longer
  • Low kickback bar and chain
  • Tool-free tension mechanism
  • Wrap-around bale handle built for great balance and control
  • Lightweight construction of 7.2 pounds
  • Automatic oiling system

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos
Item Dimensions

9.63 x 8.81 x 16.7 inches

Item Weight

7.2 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

LCS1020

Model Number

LCS1020

Shipping Weight

10 pounds

UNSPSC Code

27112709

Let me start by saying I already have a 10" B&D cut-off saw and an old model electric 7 1/2" circle saw, so I was familiar with the brand.I've only had this model for a few days but am very satisfied initially after cutting up a fallen tree branch that was just too heavy and bulky to relocate on my farm.In the above project I had available the two amp/hour Li-ion battery and half expected it to run out of juice since some of the wood was 8" thick. No problem. I finished the job with juice left in the battery. Put it on the charger and was surprised it was showing all green (not flashing as when charging) when I checked later.I've since ordered the 4 a/hr battery but haven't used it yet. I've gone cordless and ordered some other B&D 20v Max Lithium Ion tools (Matrix Drill and 3 3/8 circle saw, blower, tiller, 5 1/2 in. circle saw, in line extended length pruning saw... and expect these to serve my needs for quite some time.Thought about waiting for the 40v versions to come out before buying but did a mental assessment of my expected usage and decided on the 20v versions as being adequate.
November 28, 2014
Black & Decker is a name in tools that I know and trust for making quality products. I was happy to see that they make this battery powered chainsaw. We have a gas chainsaw but like many others have noted, starting it takes more energy than using it. I really needed something easier and faster to use. We're mainly cutting Aspen and some pine for firewood.As soon as this came in the mail, I pulled out the battery and the charger and got it to cooking. It took about 5 hours as the booklet said to reach a full charge. During that time, I read through the instruction booklet and put the saw together. That didn't take more than a few minutes and requires absolutely no tools. I was impressed with the sturdiness of the saw. The saw is made of metal and plastic and is very light and well-balanced.I'm not a big, strong lumberjack, I'm a great-grandmother, so I'm not all that keen on chainsaws but doing a job without the right tool is just wrong. This is the right tool for me. I was able to cut a nice pile of logs up in the 20 minutes of operating time for the battery charge. I have a picture of my pile below.I like the weight and how easy it is to use the saw. I don't like the manual lube of the chain. It's annoying to have to push the little plunger after every cut or so to keep the chain lubed. I like that I feel safe while using the saw. It seems easy to keep it in control as it's not running anywhere near as fast as our gas chainsaw. I also like how easy it is to adjust the tension on the chain if I see it getting a little loose. I don't have to stop what I'm doing and pay attention to taking care of that.Bottom Line: The price was right and I'm happy with my purchase.Read more ›
March 29, 2015
Last week, I hired a tree surgeon to cut down an elm tree (30 foot tall, 16 inch trunk at base) close to the house in the front yard, leaving the material as it fell in order to save a couple of hundred bucks on the job by doing the haul off myself. Since my gas powered Stihl had been stolen earlier this year, and thus being chain saw poor at the moment, I decided to order the Black & Decker LCS1020 20V Max Lithium Ion Chainsaw, 10-Inch for this job. I had previously purchased a B&D 20V drill, and had been impressed with its performance using a 1.2 Amp Hour battery, and since I thought it would be nice to have a smaller chain saw on han for odd jobs, pruning, and such, I figured I couldn't go wrong with the purchase of the LCS1020.I am glad to say that I didn't go wrong with this purchase..........I wish I would have bought this a long time ago!!! It took me about 5 1/2 hours to do the job outlined above, making what I would estimate to be around 100 cuts tota , and a total cutting time of about 30-40 minutes on q single full charge of the saw's 2.0 Amp Hour battery (supplied with the saw). I almost finished the job in totalnwith just the one battery charge, but alas, it abandoned me at the end. But then, I simply hooked up the other battery I had on hand (1.2 Amp Hour), and used it for another 5 minutes of cutting time to finish off the job, with the smaller battery still have a lot of charge left to it. Now, the largest size cuts that I was made were small, the biggest being 4-5 inches in diameter, I could tell that the LCS1020 would have been up to the task, but likely without as much battery life time.The light weight of the LCS1020 at 7.2 pounds definitely made the job easier; my other saw at twice the weight would have wore me out!Read more ›
December 15, 2014

PROS:
  • Easy to handle and maneuver
  • Quick adjustments
  • Better oil monitoring
  • Relatively quiet
  • Provides fade-free performance

CONS:
  • Not ideal for heavy-duty cutting

back to menu ↑

WORX WG304.1 Chain Saw 18-Inch 4 HP 15.0 Amp

WORX WG304.1 Chain Saw 18-Inch 4 HP 15.0 Amp

WORX WG304.1 generates great power in its small size. The saw weighs at 11.3 pounds and is equipped with a 15 amp motor. This powerful motor generates 4 HP that enables you to handle tough cutting applications. It has an automatic tension system and chain lubrication is also done automatically. The saw is easier to start and generates no emissions. It enables you to work in a cleaner and comfortable environment.

Key features

  • Powerful 15 amp motor generates 4 HP
  • Automatic chain tension and tightening mechanism
  • Integrated chain safety brake
  • 2-year limited warranty

  • Product
  • Photos

WORX WG304.1 Chain Saw 18-Inch 4 HP 15.0 Amp

The 18-Inch 4.0 HP 15.0 Amp chainsaw is a cut above the rest. The WORX exclusive, patented tool-free chain replacement and auto-tensioning system eliminates the headaches faced with most other chain ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I had a semi-dead Cottonwood tree that was over 70ft tall and 21 inches in diameter. If it fell, it would take-out power, cable & phones lines. I have an old 16" Homelite XL that I've had for years that needed a chain & bar, and I realized that I only use it every year or 2, it spent all of it's time in the shed. I was tired of mixing gas & oil plus having the leftover go sour. I ran across this WORX saw on Amazon and decided to research it. I didn't find many helpful reviews as most bought this to saw-up limbs & branches after a storm, and I needed it for a monster tree. I am 65yrs old and in relatively good health. I have felled many trees in my day but couldn't do this tree in 1-shot because of the utility lines. Setting-up the ladder and climbing up & down it was the hardest part of my chore..... THIS SAW MADE THE JOB EASY!!! After topping the tree, I came down to where the trunk forked into 2 huge limbs that were each 13 inches in diameter. I know some will doubt me but this saw went through them like hot butter!!! This left me with the main trunk and like I stated earlier, it was 21 inches thru... I cut it about 6 inches above the ground and working my way around 3 sides of it, the saw went right through it. I did cut it about halfway thru and then drove a wooden wedge in behind the blade to keep it from pinching. I can not say enough about how GOOD and POWERFUL this saw is. When ordering I ordered an extra chain, a quart of bar oil, and a heavy duty 100ft 15amp extension cord. I needed the cord, but could have saved money by not purchasing the chain and oil because the tree is now completely cut-up and the chain is still sharp... and the bar oil reservoir still has oil in it (using only the oil that came with the saw).Read more ›
February 22, 2014
I'm very happy with this purchase. I've owned this chainsaw for a few weeks now and used it to take down (and slice up) 8 trees ranging from 4 inches to 12 inches in diameter. This was my first time using a chainsaw of any kind making it difficult to compare to an equivalent gas model. This chainsaw worked as advertised. I loved the safety mechanisms built in like the chain brake and the the kickback cutoff switch. Being a novice user, these features gave me some confidence. I did some research before purchasing this unit and one of the factors that made me go with the Worx was the lack of complaints about the chain tension. Other brands have models where people frequently complained the chain was hard to adjust or fell out of adjustment frequently. So far, the I've only had to turn a dial when I notice the chain feels a bit sloppy - this is very simple and happens very infrequently (only happens when I pinch the chain cutting a felled tree). Also, I love the auto-oiler.All in all, I recommend this product. Another reviewer stated the unit was unreliable without citing a case of the model breaking. I can't comment on the reliability because it hasn't broken yet. I do know, however, that I'm going to be pleased when I pull this chainsaw out in a year or two and know that it will fire up without me having to clean a gummed up carborator or create some oil/gas mix. These things I've seen cost my neighbors hours when they want to remove a tree. I consider this a plus when it comes to reliability.UPDATE 12/05/2012I just wanted to say that I used the chainsaw to take down another 8 trees this fall bringing my season total to 16 trees ranging from 4 inches to 14 inches. This includes all the limbing and bucking work as well.Read more ›
July 21, 2012
I have a lot of firewood to cut. I don't want any more hassles with gas-powered chainsaws, and I haul my wood to a convenient location with ac power accessible. I ordered this Worx 18" electric chainsaw a couple of months ago. From the start I was impressed with the power and ability to cut through anything. I have cut over four cords of wood. So, as for doing the job, I give this saw a 10 star rating. Howevver, here come the issues. Finding the correct replacement chain loops wasn't easy, but I found them and orderd two. HOWEVER, the chain housing part 50020478 Chain Housing WG303/304 broke last week. So, I called Worx to buy a replacement. I was told that there is no replacement price for this part, but that it is a covered by the warranty, since I just bought it a couple of months ago. I was told that the part would go out in 3-5 business days, and I received an order confirmation email. Well, I never received any shipping information. So, I called this morning to check on the order status, and I was surprised to be told that this part is back-ordered, with no estimated delivery date, and that I am to call back in two weeks to get an update. Meanwhile, I have six cords of wood that need cutting. I am surprised and disappointed that this part is not inventoried, since it looks like the same part that is on the 14", 16" and 18" saws. This, to me, is unacceptable. I will have serious reservations about ordering anything from Worx in the future if they have such poor, after-market support for their products.
January 30, 2013

PROS:
  • No emission
  • Comes fully assembled
  • Hassle-free adjustments
  • Excellent kickback protection

CONS:
  • Not portable

back to menu ↑

Remington RM1025SPS Ranger 10-Inch 8-Amp Electric Chainsaw

Remington RM1025SPS Ranger 10-Inch 8-Amp Electric Chainsaw

Sometimes you have to prune branches that are far overhead and beyond reach. Such tasks require the use of a telescopic chainsaw like Remington RM1025SPS. This 2-in-1 saw extends from 10 to 15 feet to enable you to prune overhead branches. It is easy to detach from the pole allowing it to convert from a pole saw to a chain saw. The saw is lightweight (11.9 pounds ) and is powered by an 8 amp electric motor.

Key features

  • 2-in-1 design: chainsaw and pole saw
  • Powerful 8-amp electric motor
  • 10-inch low kickback bar
  • Telescopic handle extends 10 to 15 feet overhead
  • Tool-free detachment

  • Product
  • Photos

Remington RM1025SPS Ranger 10-Inch 8-Amp Electric Chainsaw/Pole Saw Combo

When you need to go that extra mile, Remington has you covered. Taking down hard-to-reach branches is one of the most important parts of yard maintenance. The 2-in-1 Ranger pole saw/chainsaw has two ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
After quite a bit of thinking about what kind of pole saw I wanted, I decided to go with the corded one for a couple of reasons. I didn't want a gas saw because of the fumes and weight. I have enough gas engines around here, I don't need another one! I decided against a cordless saw for a couple of reasons. I didn't want the battery to die while I was working, I wasn't sure about the power of a cordless saw vs. a corded one and I realized that I would most likely only use the pole saw once a year, twice at best. Because batteries don't do well if they aren't being used I was afraid that after a year or two sitting on a charger not being used, the batteries would be ruined requiring me to purchase a new pack to use the saw. No thanks.I am very happy that I bought this saw. I know that Remington makes a good electric chainsaw as I have had them in the past. They have plenty of power and last a long time. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the pole with this unit. The pole is a combination of fiberglass and aluminum. The center section is heavy duty fiberglass and is a quality build. It is stiff and feels heavy duty. Both ends are made of hexagonal shaped aluminum poles that extend/retract with locking sections on the fiberglass section ends. The saw itself can be removed from the pole easily so it can be used as a small chainsaw on the ground pole free. The pole trigger works well and is comfortable. My only concern is the plastic handle seems to be a bit cheap and I am afraid that it could break if twisted hard. If handled as intended however it should be fine. The oiler works well but is not automatic. It uses standard motor oil and has a push bulb on the cap to squirt oil on the chain.Read more ›
June 5, 2012
I was fairly skeptical about an electric chainsaw... but no longer! this thing is great. Some reviews complained about the weight on the end of the pole... well duh! you just deal with it... I found this machine to be perfect for the once a year trim job. I cut several 8-10" branches with this without so much as a peep out of the thing. It just kept on cutting. It uses straight weight motor oil as chain lube which is great and it seems to use very little. A couple of things that would make this even better 1) a chain break, just like the gas powered brethren. and 2) some kind of counter balance device, maybe an extension below the handle for leverage when fully extended.I recommend this item.
June 18, 2012
I like gasoline powered products, but I decided from a safety standpoint I am too old at 62 to climb up on a 10' stepladder or extension ladder while hauling a running gas chain saw. This saw is 'good', but if you are trying to make cuts from the ground with a bit of an angle (even with no extension at all), it is awkward, cumbersome, and a strain. I'm over 6' and 275 lbs and I would not recommend this to anyone who doesn't have plenty of upper body strength. Also I have fairly longer arms than someone who is shorter, and it is difficult even for me to hold the front of it up with my left hand to hold the pole in order to 'reach' the cut (while making a low to medium height cut from the ground) and manage to reach the safety switch and trigger at the opposite end with my right. The good thing about it is you can disconnect the pole fairly quickly and just use the chainsaw by itself and use a ladder for shorter cuts that or still out of reach from the ground. I'm not saying it's not a good saw, but if it is too heavy for you to handle, then you're wasting your money buying it. The thing I don't like about an electric chainsaw is that they just don't run with the speed that a gasoline chain saw does and as a result you get some pretty ugly unclean cuts, which is not too good for the health of the tree. I'm probably going to wind up having to go back with my gas chain saw or manual saw to get a nice clean cut that won't attract disease or insects. I still have a lot of cutting to do and experimenting to get used to it. It has two extensions and locks from both the front on the chainsaw end and from the back at the trigger/handle end. As another review pointed out, it is built sturdy and is good strong design pole wise.Read more ›
January 27, 2013

PROS:
  • Easy overhead reach
  • Non-slip grip for safe and comfortable use
  • Emission-free

CONS:
  • Heavy design not ideal for the weak

back to menu ↑

Poulan Pro PP5020AV 20-Inch 50cc 2 Stroke Gas Powered Chain Saw

Poulan Pro PP5020AV 20-Inch 50cc 2 Stroke Gas Powered Chain Saw

This is an ideal chainsaw for those that desire longer engine life. It is a saw that is designed to last for years with little maintenance. Poulan Pro PP5020AV is quite a heavy weighing at 23.3 pounds. However, the weight is compensated for by ergonomic handles that make the saw much easier to control and balance. A 50cc 2-stroke engine, one of the most powerful on the market drives the saw. This gives it unrivaled power to enable you to handle tough applications with ease.

Key features

  • 50cc DuraLife Engine provides many years of service
  • Super clean air filtration system
  • Automatic chain lubrication
  • Carry case for convenient storage and transportation

  • Product
  • Specification

Poulan Pro PP5020AV 20-Inch 50cc 2 Stroke Gas Powered Chain Saw With...

Poulan Pro chainsaws provide the latest and greatest features at industry leading prices. "Nothing cuts like a Pro" The Poulan Pro PP5020AV features an effortless pull start system and reduced ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Item Dimensions

22.3 x 15.8 x 20 inches

Item Weight

23.3 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

PP5020AV-ARC-RB

Model Number

966055201

Shipping Weight

20.68 pounds

Special Size Type

20" Bar Length

UNSPSC Code

45101700

Chainsaws are funny things - it is amazing and surprising the amount of brand loyalty. Stihl is a great brand (I think the best) but very expensive, and honestly the last one I had could be a real bear to start, same as many cheaper saws. After a fair amount of research, and actually holding various saws in my hand, I decided to go with this 5020AV which is their newest version saw including many design upgrades. It is a tough little saw with a quality feel overall. Note : the older model Poulans are being clearanced out everywhere, they are "AVX" models featuring a potentially troublesome finger controlled chain adjuster (plastic that can break). You can find lots of negative reviews regarding the AVX models because of that and some other durability issues. The "AV" models on the other hand have the old style chain adjuster which is tried and true. In the end, I chose this saw because of the 50cc engine,and newer, tougher design and materials, and of course an excellent price point. $179 - $199 is doable online, and my next choice would have been an ECHO but for +$100 more and less engine displacement. Husky owns Poulan and many of the parts and literature say Husqvarna on them. I spent last weekend cleaning up a lot I own, out of the box the saw performed great (nothing like a new chain with 50cc behind it). It also, comes with a plastic case to keep the mess in one place. Tips : (1) Don't ever eyeball the gas/oil mixture (measure it).(2) Order a carb adjust tool (easy access from outside the saw) to fine tune the carb to your elevation. (3)Always drain the remaining gas out of the tank and then run the engine out of gas before you store the saw for anything longer than a month.Time will tell, but this is a lot of saw for the money, and since I am only an occasional user, it should last me for many years. Yeah, if I was making my $$ cutting timber I would spring the extra $2-300 for a Stihl pro model, but for my needs this appears to be a very good deal.
November 18, 2011
I've run chainsaws for 35+ yrs, cutting firewood and cleaning up after storms. This saw's the latest- bought for $180. Runs great as delivered- just had to loosen chain a bit, and apply a small bead of silicone around the air filter.OEM chain cut fine, and sharpened just fine with Granberg file holder and 7/32" file. Any .375" pitch, .050" gauge, 70 drive-link chain is interchangeable with original. Dunno about that "old arborist" with the chain probs. My 5020 is now running a chipper chain from years back, just to wear that chain out, among other antiques.Nobody mentions here that this saw's engine is "strato-scavenged"; it's from the Husqvarna family, so that's no surprise (to me.) Results in greatly reduced emissions and mix consumption. It'll cut a lot of hardwood on its little pint tank, and rip through it. It also inherits Husqy anti-vibe, which happens to be THE best in the opinion of many. Real fatigue reducer.Every chainsaw should have a "scrench" holder like this saw, tucked under the rear handle.This saw is NOT a homeowner toy, it's very capable for felling & bucking of serious lumber, but at a tad over 15 lbs, limbing is a workout with it. (Lightweight saw advised, if doing much limbing.)The clutch cover is excellent at discharging chips; when "noodling" (longitudinal ripping) I've found it impossible to clog up with the long, stringy noodles. And it spits out a stream of them.Hearing protection and chainsaw chaps are strongly advised- it's a serious cutting tool.I bought this saw as a budget backup for my Husqvarna 455r, and was pleasantly surprised to find that it's close to being a clone. The 455r lists for about twice as much.
May 17, 2012
First a little background... I am a newb when it comes to owning and using a chainsaw, but am no stranger to power equipment and small engines. I bought this saw after we had a rare high-powered storm come through Maryland this past June with sustained gale+ force winds that brought down a lot of timber. I have a moderate understanding of gas-powered 2-cycle equipment and have learned more since owning this saw.After about an hour of research (mainly from here on Amazon) I decided on this model, but bought it semi-locally (1hr drive) for expedience-sake [out of stock on Amazon].Why I went with the PP5020AV:1. $200 + 50cc engine + 20" bar... the guy who helped clear our driveway used a Stihl MS290 Farm Boss (56.5cc) with a 20" bar, I'd seen bigger saws used, but about that size seemed right for my usage. I looked at Stihl and then Husqvarna and felt somewhat crestfallen about the prices (remember, I'm not getting into the tree-felling biz here).2. It was claimed to be made by Husqvarna... If you are carefully combing though reviews on this saw, you'll see people saying that it's made by Husqvarna. This really caught my eye since I knew a Husqy was a true pro saw, and if Husqvarna was anything like, say, a car company... I figured I was probably buying a Kia instead of a Hyundai (actually, I wasn't too far off). If this was a Husqy, I figured I was getting the Husqvarna 450's ugly step brother with a longer bar and heavier gauge chain....and?The reality is that it is indeed made by Husqvarna (the inside of the clutch/sprocket cover has the Husqvarna "H" logo on it, plus I have the original shipping label with Husqvarna's namesake on the return address to prove it).Read more ›
August 20, 2012

PROS:
  • Portable
  • Effortless pull-start technology
  • Longer engine life
  • Tool-free filter replacement

CONS:
  • The saw is quite heavy

back to menu ↑

Remington RM1425 Limb N Trim 8 Amp 14- Inch Electric Chainsaw

Remington RM1425 Limb N Trim 8 Amp 14- Inch Electric Chainsaw

Unique, stylish and lightweight, this chain saw is an ideal tool for your trimming tasks. Remington RM1425 is a compact saw that has an overall dimension of 8 x 7 x 14 inches. Combined with its lightweight construction of 6.25 pounds, this chain saw is very portable. The 8 amp motor delivers greater power in comparison to the chain saw’s size. Lubrication is done via a push-button mechanism to save you from handling oil mess. The chainsaw comes fully assembled ready for work.

Key features

  • Lightweight design of 6.25 pounds
  • Powerful 8-amp electric motor
  • Push-button lubrication
  • 2-year limited warranty

  • Product
  • Photos

Remington RM1425 Limb N Trim 8 Amp 14- Inch Electric Chainsaw

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; This compact, lightweight design is easy to use for all your small limb trimming needs; 14-inch low-kickback bar and chain with 8-amp electric ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • Minimum user fatigue
  • Comes fully assembled
  • mission free
  • Easier to start

CONS:
  • Has oil leaks

back to menu ↑

Poulan P3314 14-Inch 33cc 2-Cycle Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Poulan P3314 14-Inch 33cc 2-Cycle Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Poulan P3314 is specially designed for light tasks around the home. It is powered by a 30cc gas engine that generates enough power to cut trees up to 28 inches in diameter. The saw has a bar length of 14 inches and weighs at 16 pounds. It provides the convenience of automatic oiling and automatic chain tension. The saw is equipped with a chain brake for added safety. It comes fully assembled.

Key features

  • Powerful 33cc gas engine
  • Gear-driven automatic oiling system
  • Large cutting diameter of 28 inches
  • Super clean air filtration system
  • Prime start mechanism
  • 1-year limited warranty

  • Product
  • Photos

Poulan Pro P3314 14" Reach 33cc Gas Chain Saw Chainsaw- Manufacturer Refurbished

Factory renewed to original condition Poulan P3314 gas powered chainsaw is ideal for homeowners looking to do some light cutting jobs around the property. Poulan P3314 is a equipped with a 14-inch ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The saw arrived sooner than predicted in a new box. Upon opening I saw a new bar and chain and thought that was good. Picked up the saw and it was well used and dirty. Went to install the blade as per the instructions and the adjustment screw was bent so bad it was nearly impossible because it was bent so bad. I'll probably have to replace it to use the saw for long. Following the instructions for starting I was immediately disappointed. It didn't start. I followed the troubleshooting guide and it still wouldn't start. Relying on experience I had ordered a spare spark plug with the saw. Unfortunately It wasn't shipped with it. The spark plug appeared old since it was very dirty on the outside. The spark plug connection inside the boot was corroded. The plug didn't want to come out because of the carbon built up in the combustion chamber. The plug was solid black with carbon, not soot. I sandblasted the plug and blew the sawdust out of everything before putting the cover back on. It started right up and cut the one small tree up I had just fine.
August 20, 2014
I have been using chain saws for decades and have used just about every major brand out there, so I can say this with authority... this Poulan is no better and no worse than most of the others. It starts, it runs and it uses gas and oil about the same way. The one real gripe I have with this saw (though honestly I have to say that most other big-name brands have the same flaw) is that it uses proprietary hardware. That means if you lose a screw somewhere, you must order one from the company to replace it (or jury-rig something) because the local hardware store is not going to have one like it. Now, with that said, I will also tell you that the first chainsaw I ever used was a cheap little Poulan number with a 12" bar, and that tiny thing worked like a charm through intense cutting for so many years that by the time it finally gave up the ghost it was completely held together with baling wire. So... in a pinch, jury-rigging does work and it is not to be feared! ;-)Two other things about the proprietary parts that I absolutely HATE, however, are #1 - the filter. Way back a million years ago, when chainsaws first came out, the filters were simple sponge-like things that you could replace by cutting out a hunk of foam in the same shape -- no problem. Now, they all use specially shaped plastic filters with flocked surfaces that ONLY fit one, particular saw. These things are expensive to replace and do not work anywhere near as well as the old-fashioned foam ones. I hope ALL of you chainsaw makers are listening because I am not the only chainsaw user to hate this particular part of your saws!!! #2 - those stupid #@!*%&$!!! gas and oil caps!!! Why did you replace the simple screw on metal caps which worked perfectly well with plastic and rubber 3-part caps with fancy designs that break apart and won't open? ANSWER: because you can sell more replacements. I hate that obvious ploy for more money and it makes me want to avoid your products in the future. Please take note.
February 28, 2015
I have had chain saws before but this is one has a few new twists. I had a heck of a time getting it started,(read the book) but finally got it going and enjoyed the feel of chips flying everywhere. It does not have a trigger lock so when you start it the choke has a pre set that acts kind of like a trigger lock. It ran good and I cut many limbs off our palm trees YA HOO!
June 19, 2014

PROS:
  • Simple set up
  • Quality and sturdy construction
  • Longer engine life
  • Easy to start

CONS:
  • Generates lots of vibration

back to menu ↑

Husqvarna 455 Rancher 20-Inch 55-1/2cc 2-Stroke Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Husqvarna 455 Rancher 20-Inch 55-1 2cc 2-Stroke Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Husqvarna 455 Rancher is a chainsaw that provides great fuel economy. The saw uses 20-percent less fuel. Not only that, it cuts harmful emissions by up to 60-percent. This saw derives its power from a 55.5cc engine and is fitted with an air cleaning mechanism to extend engine life. The chainsaw is easy to start and generates low vibrations for added user comfort. It has a bar length of 20 inches and weighs at 12.8 pounds.

Key features

  • Reduced fuel consumption by up to 20-percent
  • 60-percent less emission
  • Centrifugal air cleaning mechanism extends engine life

  • Product

Husqvarna 455 Rancher 20-Inch 55-1/2cc 2-Stroke Gas-Powered Chain Saw (CARB Compliant)

Includes 55.5cc Gas 20-in Rear Handle Chain Saw - 9650302-98

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is my second full season with my 455 Rancher. We have been having a huge issue here in Colorado with pine beetle infestations of lodgepole pine trees. I have been felling and bucking pine for firewood. I've been putting in about 15 hours per week with my Husky saw. It has performed well. The cutting I have been doing has been at 9000 feet elevation and even at this altitude the saw has adequate power for what I've been cutting. Most of the trees I've been dropping are 12" to 24" in diameter. The only negative issues I have encountered can be traced immediately back to the operator of the saw (me!). The biggest problem I've had is that I filed way too much off of the chain rakers. At that point the saw was no longer cutting, but tearing through the wood. I filed the teeth heavily and that problem was solved. The carburetor adjustment takes some learning, but is pretty simple once you get the procedure ironed out (learned) in your head. At 9000 feet I can get it to run sufficiently rich so as to prevent engine damage, but still not smoke much if at all during operation. The last tree I fell was 22" DBH and around 110 feet tall. I felled the tree and bucked it into 18" lengths for firewood in about 1.5 hours. I cut every part of the tree down to 2" in diameter for heating wood. Not bad at all. I would buy this saw again for sure. I had a chance during the late summer to cut about a cord of hard maple into firewood with this saw as well. This was at an elevation of 2000 feet. With a carburetor adjustment the saw was off and running. It did seem to be a bit on the lean side at that elevation, but it never overheated or lost power. This maple was 14" in diameter and the saw had absolutely no problem with the heavy, dense wood.Read more ›
October 6, 2008
Pros:- Easy starting, cold, hot or in between- Powerful and fast cutting- Easy manual chain adjust- Sensitive chain brakeCons:- Loud- Won't load the wood into the pickupWhere I live, dry ponderosa pine goes for about $125 per cord blocked and delivered. I've cut about a dozen cords of mostly dead-fall ponderosa in the 11-months I've owned the 455. The trees have ranged up to 32" caliper but most are 24" or less and I harvest the entire tree down to 2" branches. My wood stove happily consumes all. If one evaluates the effort required to block, load and unload a tree, it goes something like this: 25% cutting into blocks up to 14" long, 5% handling before cutting, 65% loading the blocks and limbs, 5% unloading. Splitting the large blocks into suitable firewood is akin to Tom's fence, ponderosa splits so easily with a 7 lb splitting maul that I look forward to the sessions.In the dozen plus hours of actual cutting time I have these observations:- the 455 is not overpowered, having the 20" bar buried its full length in a log and you wish it had more motor.- the 455 is light enough such that only when cutting at shoulder height or above is weight an issue.- the 455's spring mounted motor/bar/chain makes vibration a non-issue.- In hindsight, I would NOT be willing to pay an extra $300 for a lighter more powerful "pro" saw.A chainsaw is a high maintenance machine, sharpening the chain frequently pays big dividends, you can tell by the chips, big chips = sharp chain, sawdust = dull chain. Chain adjustment is needed with each load along with flipping the bar occasionally. Be sure to clean the bar oil hole when flipping the bar, I didn't once and I could believe how poorly it cut.Read more ›
February 7, 2009
I just picked up a 455 Rancher about a month ago (today is 4 May, 2006). This is a great saw. I had been using for more than 20 years, and still use to some degree a Stihl 028; another excellent saw.There are some pros and cons to this saw as with all things.Here's what I like. It's easy to operate and maintain. Accessibility of the under-cowel components such as the air filter, spark plug, and clutch housing is a no-brainer. It starts easy. In fact, you really don't need the pressure valve. It "pops" after a few short and fast pulls. Remember, once the saw "pops" with the choke, un-choke it and pull it again. You do not need to warm a two stroke with the choke on like you would a 4 stroke engine. Attempting to warm with the choke is the biggest cause of two stroke engine flooding.Here's what I do not like. The low/hi mixture settings are limited by EPA regulations; a complete and total joke. If you remove the controls to optimize your settings, the warranty is void. But, I think it's better to do that than cook engine from lean settings. There aren't enough chainsaws running in any given period of the day to justify this regulation. So if you are a casual user, really pay attention to the break in procedures. Since the saws run lean, you need to make sure to break them in with extra care. If you use them much more frequently, remove the EPA limiters and richen out the hi/low mix, otherwise you will cook your engine.Overall this is a great saw. The chisel chains do well for heavier applications. Be careful of kickback with these style chains. You can get low-kick back chains from any dealer. It's all a matter of personal preference.I have outfitted my saw with an Oregon 20" Bar, chain, and rim sprocket.Read more ›
May 4, 2006

PROS:
  • Ideal for heavy duty applications
  • Much easier to start
  • Less user fatigue

CONS:
  • The saw is quite loud

back to menu ↑

BLACK+DECKER LCS1240 40-volt Cordless Chainsaw

BLACK+DECKER LCS1240 40-volt Cordless Chainsaw

Exceptional power and longer runtime are what you get from Black & Decker LCS1240. The chainsaw is powered by a 40-volt lithium battery that has the capacity to hold the charge for up to 18 months. The 12-inch cutting capacity makes it ideal for light cutting applications. The saw provides the convenience of a fade-free performance and a lightweight construction of only 10.4 pounds. There are no hassles when it comes to chain lubrication and tension as they are done automatically.

Key features

  • Powerful 40-Volt lithium battery stores charge for longer up to 18 months
  • Automatic oiling system
  • Low kickback technology
  • Tool-free chain tension and adjustment
  • Lightweight for easy maneuvering
  • Fade-free performance
  • 3-year limited warranty

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos
Item Dimensions

9.63 x 8.81 x 28.56 inches

Item Weight

10.4 pounds

Manufacturer Part Number

LCS1240

Model Number

LCS1240

Shipping Weight

11.45 pounds

UNSPSC Code

27110000

Great product. I cant even begin to explain how impressed I am with this product. I spend a lot of time off road riding a Canan SxS. I do a lot of trail maintenance. This saw acts much bigger than it is. and it is is very light weight and easy to carry on my SxS. The battery life is great. On numerous occasions I have cut down and cut into firewood trees that are 10 to 12 inches at the base on a single fully charged battery. The chain does turn slower than a gasoline powered chain saw, but this actually has an advantage to it. It is much easier on chains and bars because it does not build as much heat, which will drastically reduce chain and bar life. I've been using it several months now. I would estimate I've cut the equivalent of about a cord of wood with it. A mix of hardwood and soft wood. GREAT SAW!!!!!!! I can't say enough good about it. I have the 40v Hedge Trimmer also. It is just as good and impressive. Shares the same batteries.
April 30, 2015
A 40V chainsaw?? Yes, we just made short work of some 4 to 6" limbs from a Pecan tree lost last year just minutes after receiving this small workhorse. It was filled with chain oil for the automatic chain lube system and we had a fully charged battery(They are the same battery, only white in color) from our excellent B&D 40V mower. We also love the fact that it is so easy to keep proper chain tension without having to find a tool. So, we started with the B&D 40V trimmer when our old gas one gave up, and then the 40V mower to handle the grass and have not missed our old gas ones in the least. The B&D 40V tool line is a winner!
December 9, 2014
The first electric chainsaw I ever tried was, coincidentally enough, a little Sears that my father bought back in then1970s or 80s. It had a 10" bar, a two-wire cord, no exterior insulation, no blade guard, no trigger interlock, and threw the chain every time you tried to use it- which was probably a good thing. In short, it was an accident waiting to happen. This new saw from Black and Decker is the product of a few decades of improved technology and design, and it's a lot better than that little Sears. It's not perfect, but it's a lot more useful.At first glance it looks just like one of the little two-stroke gas powered saws- there's even a chain bar oil reservoir that can easily be mistaken for a gas tank. No oil pump trigger, either- it's auto-oiling. (I didn't have any chain oil on hand, so I used two-stroke Casterol oil) There's a real 12" Oregon cutting bar with a real chain, just like you might find on a 50cc chainsaw. There's even what looks like a safety chain brake- but more about that later. It's powered by a hefty 40 volt lithium battery and promises to be able to cut through the equivalent of 60 pine 4x4s, so that was my first test. I clamped a scrap 2x4 in the B&D Workmate that lives in my garage and started cutting.It did a good job of cutting through the 2x4 quickly without lugging or slowing at all. Not as fast as a similarly sized gas saw, but fast enough for the typical homeowner's yard and firewood tasks, I think. I didn't saw enough to run down the battery, so I don't have a good idea on battery life in actual use, but right out of the box it made a dozen cuts without any additional charging. Next step was a little trimming on the maple and the locust in the back yard, and it cut through a number of 1-2" pieces without complaint.Read more ›
December 2, 2014

PROS:
  • Less user fatigue
  • Smooth and fast cuts
  • Holds charge for long
  • Easy monitoring of oil level

CONS:
  • Quite slow compared to gas models

Features of Best Chainsaws

The design and performance of chain saws vary from one model to another. But why is that so? Well, the features in a chainsaw is what brings about the difference. The competition in the chainsaw industry is tight. Therefore, each brand tries its best to create something unique that will appeal most to customers and edge out other competitors. This has led to the emergence of new features that have greatly revolutionized pruning and cutting tasks. Without further ado lets take a look at this remarkable features and what benefits they have in store for us.

  • Lightweight and portable
    Weight matters a lot in a chainsaw. You don’t want a chainsaw that is too bulky to handle. Instead, you want something that you can maneuver and carry with ease. A lightweight chainsaw will help you achieve that. It balances well and is much easier to control. Less bulk also means minimum fatigue. This allows you to work for long hours and increase your productivity at work. A lightweight saw will be much easier to lift and carry from one job site to another.
  • Greater power to weight ratio
    The efficiency of a chainsaw is largely dependent on the power that it generates. However, there should be a perfect balance between power and size. A chainsaw that provides a better combination of compact design and unrivaled power is most desirable. With it, you benefit from minimum fatigue and less cutting time. The power of a chainsaw can be determined by looking at the type of motor that drives it.
  • High level of comfort
    A chainsaw may excel in many areas but fail when it comes to user comfort. Great user comfort is key to achieving great productivity and professional results. There are several comfort features that are a must-have in any ideal chainsaw. Excellent padding on the handles makes for a good chainsaw. Some of the padding incorporate textured surfaces that create a non-slip grip for great confidence during handling.
  • Automatic adjustments and lubrication
    Nobody loves the idea of handling oil mess trying to lubricate the chain. There are many models that provide a relief to that. They are equipped with an automatic lubrication mechanism that will save you from the mess. Furthermore, they provide the convenience of an automatic chain tension system for hassle-free operation.
  • Low noise level
    The noise generated by a chainsaw can be quite irritating. It can be a nuisance especially to the people around the neighborhood. Therefore, if you desire to work in peace you need a model that scores well in terms of noise level rating. Inspect the chainsaw and see if it is equipped with any noise reduction technology to provide a more bearable working environment.
  • Durable construction
    The durability of any product is crucial. Chainsaws are no exception. You need to consider a model that has a longer motor life. Inspect the chain since most of them are more prone to wear. The longer the life of your chainsaw the more benefits you will be able to derive from your investment. So opt for a model that is built to transcend years.
  • Ease-of-use
    An ideal chainsaw doesn’t need to be too complicated. It needs to provide the convenience of a user-friendly design. It shouldn’t give you a difficult time when trying to start it. Look for a chainsaw that incorporates a quick-start mechanism to save you all the hassles.
  • Warranty
    Imagine the frustrations you will go through realizing that the chainsaw you have bought has defective parts. Or even worse, the craftsmanship employed in its manufacture is not up to the standards. Well, such inconveniences can be avoided by purchasing a chainsaw that comes with a warranty. This will provide an option of returning the product for replacement in case of any issues. A generous warranty ensures that you get great value for your money and also guarantees the superior quality of the product.

How to Сhoose the Иest Сhainsaws

Well, it would be good if I show you how to select the right chainsaw for your needs. This will help you save time while on the market and make an informed selection that is worth every penny spend. Without further ado, let me introduce the factors that you need to keep in mind while out there on the market.

  • Price
    Price is the main deciding factor when purchasing any given product. Chainsaws are no exception. They have different price tags based on the model and the performance it provides. Most people have the belief that quality is expensive. However, that is not always the case when it comes to chainsaws. You can still get a quality chain saw at a much lower price. Therefore, you need to first look at your budget and determine the amount of cash there is to dispense. It is advisable that you get the best in that particular price range.
  • Brand
    Have you ever asked yourself how many chainsaw brands are there in the market? Well, they are quite many and the number keeps on increasing by the day. Each brand boasts of delivering the best both in their products and the service offered. However, not all of them keep their promises. Some of them manufacture inferior products that end up being a disappointment during use. Getting the right chain saw requires you to opt for top brands that are globally known for their superior quality products and excellent customer service. Examples of brands to choose include Black & Decker, Poulan, Husqvarna, WORX, and Remington.
  • Warranty/guarantee
    Does the chainsaw you are planning to purchase has a warranty or a money back guarantee? If not then it’s better to keep off and go for an alternative model that is covered by a warranty. A warranty shows the confidence in which the manufacturer has for the product. It goes a long way to cover you in case of any defects in parts or poor craftsmanship.
  • Customer reviews
    What are other people saying about a particular chainsaw model? Well, you can get that by going through customer reviews posted on the various websites. The experience they have with the product ensures that the information provided in the reviews are quite reliable. From these, you can know the pros and cons of the different models of chainsaws and decide which one provides the best performance at the lowest possible cost.

Competition

Before winding up it would be wise to conclude by mentioning the best model that stands out from the rest in our top 10 list. We know that all these models are top performers. However, there is that particular model that scores very well in all areas. BLACK+DECKER LCS1240 40-volt Cordless Chainsaw is my top pick in the list. This saw provides a perfect combination of design and technology. It has great power to size ratio and is priced well to match the budget of the average consumer. Customers give it many positive reviews making it one of the best-rated chainsaws on the market.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

Sears.com

 

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password