Top 10 Benchmade Griptilian Knives — Best Reviews Ever

To say Benchmade Griptilian knives are among the most useful tools known to handy men and women is no exaggeration. For many years, these knives have helped us hunt for dinner, defend against crime, slice open boxes and even cut food. But why is finding the perfect product so damn hard? We compare 10 Benchmade Griptilian knife models to see which one of them really offers the best value for money.

Benchmade Knife 557 Mini Griptilian Tanto

Benchmade Knife 557 Mini Griptilian Tanto Black Handle

Born of custom knife maker Mel Pardue’s wish to have a knife with a functional design, the 557 Tanto Mini Benchmade Griptilian is built to release its ferocity with a thumb stud. At its very heart is the patented AXIS locking mechanism. In addition, the knife has a rock solid ambidextrous functionality, which is sure to tame even the most die-hard of situations. The knife can be used for general light duty tasks. It holds up well and there is absolutely no side-to-side play even when you handle difficult tasks such as whittling of hardwood.

  • 100% ambidextrous design which, ensures you get maximum impact from a small yet hardened steel bar which rides backwards and front-wise inside a slot machine that is anchored on steel liners.
  • Like the Japanese tanto, this Benchmade Griptilian knife features a high point in-line with the pivot alongside a flat grind that is applied precisely making it extraordinarily strong. The thickness helps it absolved the impact from a piercing.
  • Made of premium-grade stainless steel the Benchmade Griptilian knife was initially developed for intensive industrial applications. The metal is not only tough but also corrosion resistant.
  • Product
  • Specification

Benchmade Knife 557 Mini Griptilian Tanto Black Handle

When it comes to all around functionality, you can't beat the Griptilian. There are more shapes, sizes and colors available in the Griptilian than any other product family from Benchmade. Blade ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

8 x 4 x 2 inches ; 2.6 ounces

Shipping Weight

4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

557

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

Unless you need a blade that’s longer than 2.91 inches, the Benchmade Mini-Griptilian is the best every day carry knife around, and I say that as an owner of not only two Mini-Grips, but also one full-size Benchmade Griptilian, an occasional user of a Benchmade Barrage, a large Swiss Army folder (the One-Hand Trekker), and a nice Boker.What’s so great about the Mini-Grip? First, it’s small and smooth in my pocket. If I’m wearing jeans, shorts or khakis, it’s clipped to the inside of my right-side pocket. If I’m wearing dress trousers, the knife is all the way in my pocket; its weight pulls on the pocket and doesn’t look or feel good.I sometimes carry a full-size Griptilian, especially when going out for long walks, when I feel safer having the bigger knife’s 3.45-inch 154CM blade. But really, half an inch difference will make no difference except under special circumstances. There’s nothing that the mini-Grip can’t do during my daily adventures. (When I really want to feel safe outdoors, I carry a fixed-blade Nimravus.)The 154CM steel on the Mini-Grip is awesome. It’s strong, it’s corrosion-resistant, and it’s easy to sharpen. It holds an edge better than less-expensive steels, like the 440C stainless on my Boker. The 154CM is a little softer than the M390 steel on the Barrage II (model 581), but on the other hand, it’s almost impossible to sharpen the Barrage unless you are very very patient.Note: If you want different steel, you can build a custom Mini-Grip with D2, N680 or S30V steel at http://custom.benchmade.com/knives. Frankly, I don’t think that’s necessary unless you really want something other than 154CM.Another plus for the Mini-Grip: The knife is really light weight.Read more ›
June 1, 2015
Love this knife but... the clip is painted black and that's chipping off, as well as the blade is not centered when its closed and the handle feels cheap and for $85-$100 I expect far more. The plus, the blade quality is superb it's easily sharpened and it hold's a great edge probably the best out of any knife I've ever owned and I have well over 40 knives and it's made in America.
October 7, 2013
Awesome blade! Should of bought this sooner. I've been carrying a Spyderco Delica4 for a while and always wanted a MiniGrip. Glad I've purchased this. Razor sharp out of box. I can't say enough great things about this. Highly recommended!
April 24, 2016
PROS:
  • Handle is textured to enhance grip
  • Movable carrying clip
  • Axis lock mechanism
  • Limited lifetime warranty

CONS:
  • The handle is rather thin and if you’re not careful you may end up with a nasty blister

back to menu ↑

Benchmade Knife 551-ORG Satin Blade Griptilian

Benchmade Knife 551-ORG Griptilian Satin Blade Orange Handle

This Benchmade Griptilian is designed with a textured grip, which is molded for easy handling and premium function. Its stainless steel is firm and corrosion resistant stretching for 154CM, which is just enough to handle all manner of day-to-day tasks. To top it up, the knife has ambidextrous thumb studs for ease-of-use. Weighing at slightly over 3 oz, this Benchmade Griptilian stands out as your lightweight, go-to choice.

  • Its handle is made of orange nylon material, which is molded in such a way that it feels great in your hand. Inside the blade, there are omega style springs which give the locking bar its inertia to engage the knife tang.
  • The blade is made of high-grade stainless steel material with a thickness of 0.115 inches. Extending for a whopping 154 CM, this blade is recommended for tough industrial applications.
  • This Benchmade Griptilian utilizes AXIS lock mechanism. This is exclusive, patented technology acquires its function from a steel bar that rides forward and back via a slot machined into dual steel liners.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Knife 551-ORG Griptilian Satin Blade Orange Handle

When it comes to all around functionality, you can't beat the Griptilian. There are more shapes, sizes and colors available in the Griptilian than any other product family from Benchmade. Blade ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 3 x 2 inches ; 3.2 ounces

Shipping Weight

5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

551-ORG

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

I enjoy writing reviews (especially on knives); I'm a collector. Benchmade are among the nicest knives out there. And, their price won't break your pocket. I got this knife for $69 + shipping - a nice discount for a $90 list price. The orange looks cool, and is unique. My favorite thing about this knife is the locking mechanism (The Axis lock). ....My opinion, but this is the best lock in the business. It's ultra smooth and easy to operate, and you can flick you wrist and open and close the knife (by pulling back on the lock - find some U-Tube vids for demonstrations). You can also use the thumbstud to open, but I like using the lock - easy to master. The knife flics open with smoothness, and a very assured "click". There is also a nice detent which seems to slow the blade down nicely (seems like a lot of thought/engineering went into this locking mechansim). The blade is a very nice drop point with some belly. It came hair-shave sharp (tested it on my arm), with nice blade markings and good jimping up top. The steel is 154 CM - a mid-grade steel for now-days standards. The blade is thick enought for mid-duty tasks and the tip is thick enough wear you won't worry about breaking the tip off. For the price I'd rather have S30V. The handle is Zytel (fancy word for tuff plastic) and for tuff plastic it looks decent enough (Zytel is my least favorite handle material - it feels cheap on most knives, and this one is not a lot different); However, I love the blade, and lock so much on this knife that the handle doesn't worry me that much. In fact, the handle, despite it's plasticky feel is comfortable in the hand and has fairly good tractionl. It includes good jimping on top/bottom (with steel lined jimping to accompany. Overall, it's a very comfortable handle folks.Read more ›
October 2, 2011
I hesitate to post this review as I am not a knife geek. Browsing over the other reviews and posts, it is clear that many are serious about their knives, whether using them for utility, EDC, or collecting. Consider, then, that this reviewer is approaching this not from the perspective of an aficionado, but from a guy who was just looking for a really good, solid knife.And this knife would be it. Here's what I like about it:Pros:* Weight - This is a nicely weighted knife for its size. It is not too heavy, but still feels substantial. It feels reassuringly solid both in the hand, and also through use.* Balance - This is related to weight, but it feels really good in the hand during use, whether cutting, slicing, or just opening or closing. I'm old school, mind you, and it's taken me a while to bring myself current with knife trends. Picture an old folding Buck knife with locking blade that weighs a ton compared to this Griptilian...* Quality - Is evident everywhere you look. The steel is hard, but takes an edge extremely well. It should also be noted that this knife came fairly sharp out of the box - surprisingly so. The action is slick and smooth and begs for one-handed opening. The axis lock system is slick but positive. The pocket clip is beefy, well-sized, and well-placed. It's a bonus that it can be moved to the other side of the knife for lefties and those who just prefer it that way. Through much use, the action of the blade has remained smooth and hasn't loosened a bit. The handles are plastic, but this isn't the plastic of my kid's rubber ducky; No, the plastic sides on this knife are tough and good looking (and nicely textured) and will likely outlast other components of the knife over time.Read more ›
January 25, 2012
Great knife, but don't pay too much for it. I spent $90 on mine and I feel that's fair enough but I wouldn't pay much more. The steel is high quality but the handle..not so much. It's grippy and solid but it's still plastic. G10 would make this a perfect knife. I use it as a work knife on the Bakken Oil field and as my backpacking folder so it sees plenty of dirt, grease, water and mud and the action stays smooth throughout all of that which is pretty impressive. Good edge retention, good lockup, and relatively light. Just a hardworking, no frills knife that gets the job done. Period. I own multiple benchmade's and the quality is still the same with this knife, even with plastic.
July 26, 2014
PROS:
  • Solidly built
  • Ambidextrous design
  • Great locking mechanism

CONS:
  • The handle has a plasticky feel

back to menu ↑

Benchmade Griptilian Knife

Benchmade Griptilian Knife

This is an extremely versatile knife that comes with a premium stainless steel drop-point blade measuring 154CM. The blade can be sharpened on both sides and is amazingly sharp when you remove it out of the box. Its handle comprises glass-reinforced polymer grips with a tightly textured surface with grips that fit perfectly in the hand providing ample comfort. In addition, the knife is foldable and once it is folded it easily fits in your pocket. The most outstanding aspect of Benchmade Griptilian Knife is that it has an AXIS locking mechanism which is reinforced with ambidextrous thumb-studs.

  • Its blade is made of stainless steel whose grade of toughness and corrosion resistance is known for its durability and effectiveness. This Benchmade Griptilian blade is modified with drop-points and ambidextrous thumb studs.
  • The handle is specially designed for tip-up carrying and it comes straight from the factory positioned on the right side (although you can always reposition it to the left side if you wish).
  • The handle is further enhanced with a patented AXIS locking mechanism that is well advanced compared to lock back and liner lock systems in terms of strength and reliability.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Griptilian Knife

When it comes to all around functionality, you can't beat the Griptillian. There are more shapes, sizes and colors available in the Griptillian than any other product family from Benchmade. Designer: ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

What an amazing knife for EDC use, the 154CM blade takes and holds a wicked hair shaving sharp edge, from the factory it comes hair popping sharp and stays that way with even relatively heavy use.the handle is...unexpected, its a hard plastic, not as sandpaper-ish as zytel, more smooth and easy on the hands yet it grips in your hand superbly, the jimping on the back of the blade and on the handle work well, it really grabs your thumb well. The fullsize griptillian does not have full length liners, they run roughly 3/4 th's of the handle, the mini-griptilian does have full liners.As far as locks go, the axis lock is hands down the best ive ever seen or used, it locks up securely every time, is incredibly strong, theres no blade play whatsoever and its so easy to use not to mention fully ambidextrous. the blade opens lightning fast with a flick of the thumb, and if you pull back the axis lock it can be easily and quickly opened or closed with a twist of the wrist.The pocket clip is strong and the knife rides low in the pocket, a bit of the handle is left exposed but not enough to worry about. and it can be taken off and put on the opposite side of the handle for left handed/pocket carry, tip up only though.Not much to say about the serrations, theyre sharp and functional, the coating however i dislike, its a matte black coating that can be aesthetically damaged with relative ease, a TiNi (Titanium Nitride) coating would have been better suited but the rest of the knife more than makes up for this small imperfection on an almost perfect knife.For the money, this knife is an amazing deal, if it cost $150 it would still be worth it IMHO, after handling and owning one of these, i can see why the griptilian is such a popular knife with as high a reputation as it has.if your looking for a great knife with a good steel, splurge the money and get this knife, you wont regret it.
February 24, 2010
I began looking for knifes a few years back as it struck me that if I needed to quickly get my multitool out and deploy it's blade for emergency usage, that might not be quick or safe enough, especially if I needed to do this with one hand or with hands that were wet and/or dirty. I thus needed one with a thumbstud as ring openers are great barehanded, but I've had some trouble with them while wearing gloves (both work gloves as well as warmth gloves). I also needed a knife that would be comfortable enough for me to hold as my fingers are a little short for my palm size. As I'd be carrying this as an E.D.C. (E.very D.ay C.arry) like my multitool, I didn't want it to look scary and I didn't want it to attract immediate attention since the last thing that you want to happen to you when you need to do something (like make a plastic cup out of a bottled water bottle or cut the twine off of a package) in public is to have everyone around you freak out. Now if I had been considering this as a knife for just camping, then I'd have gone with a brighter colour in case I dropped it while out rock scrambling (they offer this knife with a decent variety of handle colours and the manufacturer even offers full customization where one side can be one colour and the other another colour as well as black versions of metal parts that would normally be silver). I thus decided on the least military looking, and least eye catching combination of colours that I could find. So that meant finding one with a drop point and non-coated edge with a either black or sand coloured handles. So I got it in a rather generic build of drop-point, combination plain and serrated blade, with thumb stud, and black handles.Read more ›
January 21, 2011
Benchmade knives are known for their quality. I own quite a few of thier knives, and use one every day. This is a high quality knife that is made to be used every day. The blade steel on mine is 440C and holds an edge quite well. I think that benchmade make this knife with 154CM steel as well and that holds an edge even better.Overall this is a good, functional pocketknife that will give years of service.
December 5, 2006
PROS:
  • Solid and reliable lock up
  • Perfect ergonomics
  • Grippy textured handle

CONS:
  • Loud locking click

back to menu ↑

Benchmade Knife 551 Griptilian Knife

Benchmade Knife 551 Griptillian Plain Edge Satin Finish Blade Black Handle

This Benchmade Griptilian has been a top contender in the Benchmade catalog for several years. Its reputation as a go-to EDC knife has been lauded. One thing about it is that it is an extremely utilitarian piece. It is both practical and neutral from its bottom to top making it suitable as an everyday carry knife. Moreover, Benchmade Knife 551 Griptillian Plain Edge Satin Finish Blade Black Handle is available in a wide range of sizes, colors, and options.

  • 100% ambidextrous design which taps into the Benchmade Griptilian knife’s small but hardened steel bar.
  • The handle of the knife is home to two omega style springs, each conveniently located on a liner giving the lock mechanism the tang it needs to respond to the user’s demands.
  • Has a plain blade with satin finish. Its handle material is made of black nylon material. Finally, it has a standard, reversible tip-up clip style.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Knife 551 Griptillian Plain Edge Satin Finish Blade Black Handle

When it comes to all around functionality, you can't beat the Griptillian. There are more shapes, sizes and colors available in the Griptillian than any other product family from Benchmade. Designer: ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 3 x 1.5 inches ; 3.8 ounces

Shipping Weight

4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

551

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

I got this knife as a present over 8 years ago and still carry it every day. Holds a great edge and is durable as hell. I have taken in camping, fishing hiking... you name it. It comes razor sharp and they will resharpen and tune up the knife for the cost of shipping. In a pinch I have even used it to baton fire wood. When my father gave it to me he joked that I was buying 20 dollar knives every couple months because they were breaking and that this 90 dollar knife would last me a lifetime. He was right.
November 7, 2011
Recent purchase (so I'l update if there are any reliablity issues). First impression is that the handle feels 'plasticy' when I first opened the box up. Knife at first felt cheap, had hallow sound when handle is tapped. Knife is EXTREMELY light for its size. Upon further examination, I found that the knife is very very sturdy and well balanced. Although the knife "feels" cheap, it seems extremely durable and sturdy. Blade is beautifully crafted and came razor sharp and seems to hold an edge so far quite well. Knife opens pretty easily. Not the most fun to 'flick' open, but does come open without trouble. Lock on knife seems foolproof, can't immagine it ever closing on its own. Blade is quite solid and has almost ZERO wiggle when open. knife also quite secure when closed, wont open by itself. I would not recomend buying the version with the black coating on it, the black coating on the carry clip is coming off in small amounts after the first week. All in all, Id buy this knife again. Good solid basic looking knife
April 5, 2011
Go down to the ****'s if you just want the meat for the BM 551.I finally found a store in my area that sells a very good selection of knifes. After an hour or so of looking at all of the knives I was interesting in after researching for the last week it came down to three knives. This benchmade 551, the cold steel lawman, and a spyderco which I am unsure of the model.As I was playing with the grip of the lawman my finger oh so gently brushed the edge near the grip. It split my finger open like butter. The bleeding was far worth the amusement, and the lesson. I almost thought it was a sign to buy it. I like the heavy weight of the cold steel knives.The spyderco was very quick to draw from the pocket, and was extremely light. Wisconsin is a open carry state so pocket draw isn't what I was looking for, and I like more weight.*******Finally I go around to the Benchmade section. The man showed me a mini barrage (585?), but I wanted something with a handle that has something for my big hands to really grip (I have size sixteen shoes and my hands match). He brought out a griptilian. I asked if the knife would hold up well, and I saw lots of videos of how good cold steel is and I wanted a comparison. He looked like a light bulb went off in his head and pulls out a knife he said a customer left there when he bought a new one. It was this same knife. The knife looked like the owner lived in the northern wisconsin forest for a year, george of the jungle style, and use that knife for everything, and then smashed the knife with a skid steer bucket into concert for amusement when he got back to civilization to buy a new knife. It was beat up, but the knife was still holding up. It had some wiggle that looked like it could of just been tightened up.Read more ›
April 7, 2011
PROS:
  • Solidly built, sharp blade
  • Excellent lock mechanism
  • Lightweight and easy to carry around

CONS:
  • Some users complain that the handle is too small for comfortable handling

back to menu ↑

Knife 556-BLU Mini Benchmade Griptilian

Knife 556-BLU Mini Benchmade Griptilian

 

From a glance, this looks like the right knife for serious knife enthusiasts who are looking to invest in a “daily driver” that holds an edge extremely well and is small in the footprint at the same time. Its blade is entirely made of steel offering approximately 154 CM of the surface. On the flipside, though, Benchmade Knife 556-BLU Mini Griptilian Satin Blade Blue Handle is rough and therefore cannot be sharpened to surgical precision like other VG-10 blades.

  • This is one durable knife thanks to its fairly large bevel. If you use a knife sharpening system with set levels you may find that this bevel tends to rub excessively on the sharpening tool. If not careful, that might damage the blade.
  • Its safety and efficacy are enhanced by the presence of an AXIS patented lock. This lock produces a solid click on the knife similar to the sound of a shotgun. Inside the handle are two strong springs that hold the blade steady and release it when you need it.
  • The blade edge is plain and the blade finish color is satin. The clip style is standard with reversible tip-up. The handle material is made of glass-filled nylon.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Knife 556-BLU Mini Griptilian Satin Blade Blue Handle

When it comes to all around functionality, you can't beat the Griptillian. There are more shapes, sizes and colors available in the Griptillian than any other product family from Benchmade. Designer: ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

8 x 4 x 2 inches ; 4.8 ounces

Shipping Weight

4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

556-BLU

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

A great knife. After I worked it in (which was a lot of fun), it opens in a snap. Actually EASIER to open than Kershaw's "Speedsafe" Assisted Open system!No play at all. Blade perfectly centered. Locks absolutely solid. AXIS open/close is best I've ever used hand's down. Very strong steel and edge retention. Very light. I use it on my keychain with a quick-release connector!Research this knife, you will find that the complaints in a few other reviews are unfounded or flukes that a replacement would fix.SHOP AROUND EVEN ON AMAZON! The exact knife/color/blade style appears under multiple listings on Amazon, and price varies wildly. I'm reviewing this particular ad because it's crazy pricy. Shoot for the high $60s low $70s on Amazon (1/2013).
February 11, 2013
I fell in love with this knife as soon as I flicked it open. The ball bearings make this thing open so smooth and fast. Fit and Finish is perfect not a single imperfection could be found. It took the place as my EDC knife over my Spyderco Delica 4 and my Kershaw Leek. If you are looking for a razor sharp fast deployment EDC knife that is small and lightweight This is the knife you have been looking for.
July 16, 2014
Picked up this blade for $67 shipped off of Ebay. I got the black color but it's the same model. At first I wasn't attracted to it whatsoever; it's style is plain and simple...and effective. After reading about many types of EDC (every day carry) blades, I narrowed it down to 4 brands: Spyderco, SOG, Kershaw, and Benchmade. I wanted one that was of very high quality and durability, and 3" or under for blade length. YouTube reviews on the Griptilian and the Axis locking mechanism finalized my decision to grab the Benchmade Griptilian 556, plain edge. I'm very glad I did, this knife is solid.
May 26, 2010
PROS:
  • Excellent blade sharpness
  • Great craftsmanship
  • Perfecting EDC size
  • Wonderful pocket clip

CONS:
  • Handle material feels a bit stiff on the first days of using it; You may get used to it over time – as your hand hardens

back to menu ↑

Benchmade 555HG Pardue Design Mini-Griptilian Plain Edge Knife

Benchmade 555HG Pardue Design Mini-Griptillian Plain Edge Knife

 

This Mini Benchmade Griptilian knife is absolutely a fantastic EDC option. Measuring 6 inches by 3 inches by 1.5 inches while weighing 0.8 ounces only, it is lightweight, sturdy and very well made. It has all the excellent features of the classic Griptilian but in a smaller, easier to manage package. It is also a knife with a proven track record and has earned its place as one of the frequently recommended EDC knives.

  • Plain edge 3″ modified sheepsfoot blade of 154 cm stainless steel with durable titanium BP1 finish.
  • Strong axis locking mechanism with an ambidextrous thumb hole opener that works quite well hence you can easily open and close the knife with one hand.
  • Glass-filled nylon handle with a standard reversible carry clip and is made in the USA.
  • Small but the hardened bar of steel that usually houses the blade in between two steel liners allowing the AXIS to function properly.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Knife 555HG Mini Griptilian Thumb Hole

The mini-griptilian folder has all of the excellent features of the classic griptilian, but in a smaller, easier to manage package. It features a Plain edge 3 inch modified sheepsfoot blade of154 cm ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 3 x 1.5 inches

Shipping Weight

0.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

555HG

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

First off, this is a great knife. I will be using the popular and similar in purpose, spyderco delica 4 (sd4) to compare it to the mini-griptilian 555hg (mg)Steel: 154cm - mg and vg-10 -sd4. These are both quality steels and are of equal qualities in performanceLock mechanism: axis lock -mg and lockback -sd4. Both are very sturdy and can be one handed closing with some practiceOpening: Both have a thumb hole opening which allows for quick opening. The axis lock allows you to flick open the mg if you release the lock much easier than the sd4 canGrind style: Hollow grind -mg full flat ground -sd4. Both are great for slicing. The mg has less of a point so it isnt as good for stabbing, but it is also much thicker leading up to the tip making it a much stronger tip.Blade length: They both have the same length from handle to tip, the mg has a 1/4" longer edge length though.Handle length: The mg has about 5/16th shorter handle than the sd4. The mg comfortably with little wiggle room, gives me a 4finger grip in my hands that fit into large size gloves. The sd4 has a longer handle which means it will provide a 4 finger grip for people with even larger hands. This difference is probably the most important for people with hands the fit glove size XL and up.Handle width: The handle with on the mg is slightly wider than the sd4Clip: They both have a strong clip. The sd4 has the advantage with a 4way positioning of the clip where the mg is only tip up.Quality: Both are amazing and you cant go wrong with either one
February 11, 2015
This knife is of excellent quality. Smooth operation and the axis lock works better than expected. It can easily be opened with the flick of the wrist with some practice. I've become quite a fan of the modified sheep's foot blade, as well. The only reason i can't give it five stars is because it didn't arrive as sharp as Benchmade advertises.I've also owned Spyderco, Kershaw, and Gerber folders. This is a step up from any of them, and made in the USA.
November 17, 2009
I'm going to chime in on this knife and give my 22 cents.(inflation.)The mini Griptilian 555 is marvelous knife in every respect. Decidedly smaller in size, heft, weight and blade length than the full size Griptilian, the mini Grip is as fine an EDC knife as you can get.The most notable aspect is the blade shape - the modified sheepsfoot with a deployment hole and hollow ground profile.The blade is distinct yet understated. Its not a tactical, head-hunter type blade and doesn't try to be. The length of the knife blade and overall length of the knife make it nigh unto perfect in shape, size and use.The blade is 154CM, which is one of the toughest knife steels around. (A sidebar: I demonstrate a professional knife sharpener for a living - the SELECTOOL - and I've sharpened literally thousands of pocket knives over the past year. I can tell you categorically that 154CM is without question the toughest knife steel to sharpen. Period. S30V, D2, AUS-8 are all good, but the 154CM is the toughest. In fact, if you totally lose your edge with this knife, which can happen if you don't keep it up, you need to send it back to the company for resharpening. $5 fee. You won't be able to get it back unless you are very skilled and patient with a diamond hone.)I am not a fan of the deployment hole for two reasons - one, I like the stud better, and two, it makes it look like a Spyderco. (Nothing wrong with that knife at all, but the deployment hole is their signature. Very few other knife makers utilize it.) The hole works fine, but I believe the stud is a better choice.Read more ›
October 25, 2011
PROS:
  • Easy to sharpen
  • Stays put in your pocket
  • Feels solid
  • Holds an edge quite well

CONS:
  • Does not arrive as sharp as Benchmade advertises

back to menu ↑

Benchmade Pardue Design Axis Mini-Griptilian Drop-Point Blade

Benchmade Pardue Design Axis Mini-Griptilian Drop-Point Blade with Ambidexterous Thumb Studs and BK1 Coating (Olive Drab Handle)

This is a knife that is friendly enough to use in public without questions, compact enough to comfortably carry, and still big and sharp enough to slice through food, ropes, and wire with ease. Known for its outstanding bits of quality, this Benchmade Griptilian is tough and corrosion resistant. In addition to that is a molded olive drab handle that is easy to grip, making Benchmade Pardue Design Axis Mini-Griptilian Drop-Point Blade with Ambidexterous Thumb Studs and BK1 Coating a great buy.

  • Has an overall length of 6.78 inches when opened and 3.87 inches when closed. The blade length, on the other hand, is 2.91 inches only.
  • Features a sturdy, spring loaded axis locking mechanism that works smoothly for ease of operation.
  • Reversible pocket clip and a silky carrying sheath for ease of carrying and storage purposes. You can clip it to your belt or pocket and go wherever you want without worrying about anything.
  • 154 CM blade which is entirely made of stainless steel with modified drop point and ambidextrous simple push of the thumb-stud openers.
  • BK1 coating that offers great corrosion protection with higher scratch resistance beyond the spec of salt water.
  • Product
  • Specification

Benchmade Pardue Design Axis Mini-Griptilian Drop-Point Blade with Ambidexterous Thumb Studs and...

Get a grip on this compact knife, featuring a modified drop-point blade, molded handle and a smooth AXIS

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

8 x 4 x 2 inches ; 2.6 ounces

Shipping Weight

4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

556BKOD

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

I bought this at a local retailer. At first I was coming in to get the full sized Griptillian, but after playing with both the full sized and the mini, the mini was just a much better fit. I carry knives at work tucked inside my right front pocket with the pocket clip on the outside right next to a Leatherman. The full sized Grip was just too large for comfortable carry in the pocket and took up too much room. The mini is barely noticeable and fits perfectly. The only thing I don't like too much is that the grip on the handle is really rough and although it feels great in your hand it catches on jeans a bit when you're getting it out and frays the top of the pocket. It's work jeans anyway so I don't really care.The knife is ambidextrous and the pocket clip is reversible, but only in the tip up carry position. The last knife I carried was tip down carry and it took a bit to get used to it, but now tip up seems to be a lot more comfortable.The knife quality itself is what you'd expect from a Benchmade. Light yet absolutely solid. No blade play at all. The axis lock took about 2 weeks to wear in to the point where the knife can be flipped open and closed. Great construction and truly great quality. My only complaint is that the blade wasn't as sharp out of the box as I expected - definitely less sharp that Kershaw and even the Leatherman multitool knife I just got. Took a bit to touch the edge up and now it's perfect. Withstands rope, cardboard, and even wire. Couldn't be happier with this one.
February 24, 2013
This is a great knife and definitely build well, overall I'm pretty happy with it. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because it wasn't razor sharp out of the box and at one end you can see the break off points from cast molding on the outside grips. Those may be small things but for a $100+ "benchmade" pocket knife I expected a little more attention to detail.
October 1, 2013
Unless you need a blade that’s longer than 2.91 inches, the Benchmade Mini-Griptilian is the best every day carry knife around, and I say that as an owner of not only two Mini-Grips, but also one full-size Benchmade Griptilian, an occasional user of a Benchmade Barrage, a large Swiss Army folder (the One-Hand Trekker), and a nice Boker.What’s so great about the Mini-Grip? First, it’s small and smooth in my pocket. If I’m wearing jeans, shorts or khakis, it’s clipped to the inside of my right-side pocket. If I’m wearing dress trousers, the knife is all the way in my pocket; its weight pulls on the pocket and doesn’t look or feel good.I sometimes carry a full-size Griptilian, especially when going out for long walks, when I feel safer having the bigger knife’s 3.45-inch 154CM blade. But really, half an inch difference will make no difference except under special circumstances. There’s nothing that the mini-Grip can’t do during my daily adventures. (When I really want to feel safe outdoors, I carry a fixed-blade Nimravus.) See the photo for a comparison of the full-size and Mini-Grip closed.The 154CM steel on the Mini-Grip is awesome. It’s strong, it’s corrosion-resistant, and it’s easy to sharpen. It holds an edge better than less-expensive steels, like the 440C stainless on my Boker. The 154CM is a little softer than the M390 steel on the Barrage II (model 581), but on the other hand, it’s almost impossible to sharpen the Barrage unless you are very very patient.Note: If you want different steel, you can build a custom Mini-Grip with D2, N680 or S30V steel at http://custom.benchmade.com/knives. Frankly, I don’t think that’s necessary unless you really want something other than 154CM.Read more ›
June 1, 2015
PROS:
  • Excellent design — the Pardue design
  • Made in the USA
  • Holds an edge better than most Benchmade Griptilian knives in the same price range
  • Easy to carry around

CONS:
  • Doesn’t come razor sharp out of the box

back to menu ↑

Benchmade Griptilian with Gray and Blue G10 Handle

Benchmade Griptilian with Gray and Blue G10 Handle

Benchmade Griptilian with Gray and Blue G10 Handle knife has an overall length of 8.07 inches when opened, 4.62 inches when closed, a 3.45 inches blade, weighs 4.17 ounces and is made in America. It is almost an ounce heavier than the original Benchmade Griptilian but it doesn’t feel heavy for its size. It has a handle that is fully 3-D machined and boasts bright-blue liners and anodized blue backspacers beneath gray overlays. Though this is not a cheap knife, it is wonderfully made hence you can be sure to get what you pay for.

  • Axis locking mechanism featuring drop point ambidextrous thumb studs and a clip. This allows the blade to open and close effortlessly.
  • Plain blade edge with satin finish and standard reversible tip-up.
  • CPM-20CV stainless steel blade. This type of steel is advertised as a steel with high corrosion resistance, and good toughness as it has high chromium content.
  • Boasts integral grip texture that offers the traction which is quite essential to the Grip family.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade Griptilian with Gray and Blue G10 Handle

The Griptilian with G10. Upgraded blade steel improves edge performance and the layered gray and blue G10 enhance strength. And, of course, integral grip texture offers the traction that is ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

This is an awesome knife. Looks great and the blue accents really sets this version apart from the other griptilians.The quality is amazing and the g10 scales feel great in the hand. Also the blade is perfectly centered. The CPM-20CV is just another plus.Hopefully the images attached do the design better justice than the product images above.
January 1, 2016
The update on this knife is just perfect, Pardue's functional blade design along with the Axis locking mechanism, lightweight, tough and grip-textured surface means no slippage.The 551-1 sports a gray G10 handle scales, blue G10 accents, blue barrel spacers and a reversible deep carry pocket clip for right or left side carry. The steel has also been upgraded to CPM-20CV comparable to M390 steel but is made in the US vs Austria for the M390. It offers better edge retention but is not quite as tough to resharpen as M390. Solid win-win.
March 26, 2016
This is the most handsome knife I own and i'm a collector. It's not "beautiful," but handsome with the G10 accents and blue standoffs. And it's a s smooth as butter opening and closing. This price also beat Knife Center by ~$20. Boo-YAH!!
December 29, 2015
PROS:
  • Great for outdoor and everyday survival
  • The blue accents set this model apart from other Benchmade Griptilian
  • Blade is perfectly centered
  • Has a reliable axis

CONS:
  • Pricey but worth it

back to menu ↑

Benchmade 551-H20 Griptilian Folding Knife

Benchmade 551-H20 Griptillian Folding Knife; Pardue Design; Plain Edge Satin Drop Point Blade with Bight Orange (H2O) Handle and AXIS technology, Made in USA

With the ability to resist rust even in the worst of conditions while maintaining ample edge retention, this Benchmade 551-H20 Griptilian folding knife is a brainchild of Mel Pardue who envisions a knife that offers awesome utility for routine use. It is lightweight, easy to use and relatively slim hence comfortably pocketable.

  • Measures 8.07 inches when opened, 4.62 inches when closed, 3.45 inches blade length while weighing 3.82 ounces.
  • Blade lock utilizes Benchmade’s own Axis Lock Technology and ambidextrous thumb stud opener which consists of a spring loaded steel bar that seats itself into a notch in the blade.
  • Grip textured molded orange (H20) handle that helps in keeping the weight down and the durability up.
  • 154cm stainless steel blade with 58-60HRC hardness. It has the drop point blade shape.
  • Made in the USA and comes with a reversible carry-clip for left/right side carry.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Benchmade 551-H20 Griptillian Folding Knife; Pardue Design; Plain Edge Satin Drop Point...

The Griptilian is born of custom knife maker Mel Pardue's passion for functional designs. You release the creature's ferocity with a thumb stud. At the very heart of the Griptilian, is the exclusive ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 3 x 1.5 inches ; 3.2 ounces

Shipping Weight

5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Item can be shipped within U.S.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Item model number

551H20

Discontinued by manufacturer

Yes

This is a great knife. The steel is harder and more durable than that of the Spyderco H-1 knives, of which I have several. I like this one better. The corrosion resistance seems to be quite similar. I don't oil this knife and it has not rusted anywhere. My only complaint is the cheap feeling scales. They don't seem that durable and ould keep my from trusting this knife in a "life or death" scenario. Thankfully there are folks that make G-10 scales for these knives. With those scales, this knife is perfect, much sturdier and with better grip traction. If only they didn't cost an additional $75 to $100.
February 7, 2016
It's funny...initially, I opened the box, played around with the Orange X15 Griptilian and thought...'wow, this feels cheap.' I even contemplated returning it for a little while. This was my 2nd Benchmade, my first being the 915 Triage which is just an outstanding knife that screams quality.Based upon all of the positive reviews of the Griptilian on Amazon, youtube, etc, I was a little confused since the Griptilian just felt cheap and flimsy compared to the Triage. Fortunately, laziness won me over so rather than going through the hassle of returning the knife I just threw it into my EDC rotation.After a month of carrying the Griptilian as my EDC knife, I can honestly say that I'm a Griptilian convert! I love this knife! I'll admit that I jumped the gun and rushed to judgment on the Griptilian. Cheap and flimsy have now been replaced with super-lightweight and flickable. This Griptilian just has an awesome feel in the hand...surprisingly, much more comfortable than the Triage, and the AXIS lock of the Griptilian just exudes a loud, solid snapping sound as it locks open. The Griptilian flicks open with ease without any adjustment to the pivot screw and the AXIS lock just seems to be a safer locking mechanism compared to the liner locks of my Spyderco's. I've never been a fan of thumb-stud opening knives, but the thumb stud on the Griptilian sticks out just far enough and is cut so that it grabs on to your thumb.The Noryl GTX orange scales provide a nice texture and grip to the knife, but the orange is more of a muted, darker orange rather than the bright safety orange of the Triage. I think the Griptilian would look awesome in the safety orange color, but it is what it is.Read more ›
November 29, 2011
Great knife. People have recommended benchmade products to me for years. After finally ponying up the cash to buy one, I am definitely not disappointed. Very durable knife. Easy to open and close with one hand. Ive only had my knife for a couple of months but use it at least once a day and it has retained it's sharpness. One great feature about purchasing a benchmade product is that it comes with LifeSharp. Meaning that if your knife happens to become dull after prolonged use, then you just send it in to LifeSharp with $5.00 to cover the return shipping, and they will resharpen your knife to a razor sharp edge.My only disappointment is I was under the impression that I was ordering the combo serrated edge due to the picture that is being used, and I received the plain edge blade. I decided to keep this knife anyways, and like I said, still extremely happy with my purchase.
October 2, 2011
PROS:
  • Easy to maintain
  • Uses one of the safest locking designs in the world
  • Lightweight and easy to carry
  • Well built

CONS:
  • Sometimes the locking mechanism gets stuck when flipping it open but this improves with time

back to menu ↑

Benchmade 556S-YEL AXIS Lock Mini Griptilian w/Partially Serrated Blade

Benchmade 556S-YEL AXIS Lock Mini Griptilian w Partially Serrated Blade Includes FREE Smith's Sharpener

If you are looking for a decent EDC knife that is made in America, this Benchmade Griptilian 556S-YEL blade is a great choice. It is reinforced with a resin handle a feat that makes it a solid performer which is convenient to carry with you anytime.

  • Features a reversible pocket clip, textured glass fill Noryl GTX yellow-colored valox handles and ambidextrous thumb stud.
  • Boasts Benchmade Griptilian patented Axis lock for easy opening and closing. It works for both right and left-handed individuals.
  • Double 410-stainless liners which add more strength to the handle of the knife.
  • 154CM drop-point blade with a partially serrated edge and free Smith’s sharpener.
  • Product
  • Specification

Benchmade 556S-YEL AXIS Lock Mini Griptilian w/ Partially Serrated Blade Includes FREE...

The mini Griptilian features textured glass fill Noryl GTX yellow colored valox handles (which are very strong and very lightweight). Double 410 stainless liners add strength to the knife handle. The ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

Benchmades are awesome. The problem seems to be the same on most models though. The clip will loosen up within the first couple of weeks. Remove screws and put thread locker them. I like the color of this one because it's a lot harder to loose.
December 7, 2015
Very nice, very sharp
June 17, 2016
PROS:
  • Backed by Benchmade Griptilian lifetime warranty
  • Has a solid feel
  • Lightweight

CONS:
  • The clip may loosen up with time but can be easily fixed

Tips on How to Choose a Knife

You need to consider the following things:

  • Functionality — what do you need the knife for
  • Handle material
  • Fixed blade VS folding blade
  • Type of locking mechanism
  • Blade shape
  • Types of blade steels

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

Our top pick is definitely the Benchmade Griptilian knife 551. This knife is available in wide range of color options and sizes and is an extremely utilitarian piece featuring 100 percent ambidextrous design. In addition, this knife’s handle is home to two Omega styled springs each conveniently situated on a liner and is budget friendly. It stands out of the pack because of its intelligent combination of features, well thought-out craftsmanship, and excellent finish.

Sources:

Wikipedia.org

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password