Top 10 Calphalon Cookware Reviews — Best Units Graded for You

Your kitchen experience is largely pegged on the kind of Calphalon cookware you use. Calphalon as a brand is renowned for its integrity and precision in creating high-quality appliances and is, therefore, a common feature in most modern-day kitchens. But just as any other man-made product, this highly reputed brand is also prone to making some errors. Some of their products are a far cry from what the salesmen tells us – although there are quite a few Calphalon cookware that actually meet expectations. We compare 10 products from this manufacturer and form a verdict on which one of them is really worthy of the quality-conscious buyer’s time.

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware – Omelette Pan

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Omelette Pan, 10-inch and 12-inch Set, Black

If you’re looking to introduce a sense of style in your kitchen, there’s no better way to go about it than by investing in this Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Omelette Pan, 10-inch and 12-inch Set, Black. Its surface is entirely made from heavy-duty aluminum – a feat that makes it durable and sturdy. The set is made up of two pans. Each one of them has its handle double-riveted to allow you to conveniently hold it. The pan surface is optimized for use even in high-temperature ovens of up to 450 degrees. What’s more, the interiors are completely non-stick meaning you will have an easy time cleaning the Calphalon cookware after use.

  • Comprises a set of 2 frying pans which are dishwasher safe and easy to maintain.
  • Has a riveted handle that is protected from getting hot no matter the heat the pan is exposed to.
  • The surface is non-stick thanks to its composition of three layers. The uppermost surface is nonstick and 100% PFOA-free.
  • Generally, combines performance and durability with easy low-fat cooking and fast clean-up. The manufacturer covers it with a lifetime warranty.
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Omelette Pan, 10-inch and 12-inch Set,...

Featuring a hard-anodized exterior and nonstick interior. Calphalon ContemporaryNonstick combines durability and performance with fast clean-up and easy low-fat cooking.. Heavy-gauge aluminum ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
The 12in skillet dominated my stove stop cooking for the last 5 years. And it has finally given up! The nonstick is all gone now and the pot has finished its long life. I am very satisfied with this pan, even though it gave up the ghost eventually, I got years of solid use out of it! I would suggest this to anyone, just know it will not last forever.
July 14, 2015
Good pans, with good non-stick coatings. I've been using Calphalon Non-Stick pans for at least a dozen years, and though they don't have the durability of the older-style anodized aluminum (not "non-stick") cookware, they hold up as well as any of the other leading brands. This 2-pan promotional package used to be available in the superior "Unison" line, but now I can only find it in the lighter "Contemporary" line. (For example, the 10-inch skillet in the Unison line that I'm retiring after about 2 years of regular use weighed 2 pounds, 9.2 ounces, while the same size skillet in the Contemporary line weighs 2 pounds, 2.9 ounces, and the finish on the handle lacks the same level of quality). It's still a good pan, but the lighter weight means that it won't retain heat as well, and thus won't cook as consistently on the intermittently-firing elements of my glass stove top. It is a good value for the money - the 12 inch skillet this is replacing is an All-Clad non-stick pan at more than double the price, and its life expectancy was no better.
February 6, 2015
I'm an every day cooker and probably abuse my non stick pans. I've have the pan set for 6+ year and have fried in it and probably cooked to high heat and even thrown it in the oven to put a finish on my fritta. So far the only damage (besides minor scratches to outside) is the smaller pan has a burned look to center but it still cooks fine. No bubbling or chipping up. I just bought the whole set today and am very excited. I now use http://www.amazon.com/Rubbermaid-FG1H4209BLA-Organizer-Rack-Black/dp/B0052EOP9Q/ref=sr_1_1?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1415914291&sr=1-1&keywords=pan+storage+rack to keep pans from scratching and also so I don't have to pull whole set out when I want the bottom one.
November 13, 2014
PROS:
  • Long-lasting
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Non-stick and therefore easy to clean
  • Safe for your health

CONS:
  • Improper packaging of two pans may cause them to scratch each other thus affecting their face value even before one receives their shipment

back to menu ↑

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5 Qt. Chili Pot (SA8785HP)

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5 Qt. Chili Pot

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5 Qt. Chili Pot features a classic Dutch oven like shape. Its construction combines durability and all-round heating to help the user make some of their favorite recipes with fewer worries. The interior surface is non-stick; meaning even if you burn something you won’t have to worry about cleaning the appliance later. Its handles are extremely comfortable with silicone grips that remain cool allowing for a secure hold. Besides that, you can use this Calphalon cookware in oven temperature exceeding 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

  • Has a tempered glass lid that lets you monitor the entire cooking process with ease without letting any of the tasty liquids evaporate.
  • Can be used with wooden, coated as well as nylon utensils. Moreover, you can place it on any cooking surface bet it gas, ceramic stove or even electric cooking gadgets.
  • Protected by a full 10-year warranty meaning you can use it without worrying about any part coming off prematurely. The manufacturer is evidently confident about the quality of this Calphalon cookware.
  • Can be handwashed thanks to the nonstick interior surface that offers easy food release and faster cleanup benefits.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5 Qt. Chili Pot

Nothing chases away the chill like a steaming bowl of chili. And whether you're tailgating or couch-warming, this generous 5 quart pan makes enough for a Super Bowl-sized crowd.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
When I bought my calphalon kettles, I failed to notice that the set included a 5 quart dutch oven - which was smaller than I was used to but serviceable.I searched on line and found the Simply Calphalon 7 quart dutch oven at a good price AND got free shipping.It is everything it promised to be - even cooking, easy cleaning, clear cover to monitor soups and stews.Problem? I was cooking 5 quarts of food and it fed my family...now I cook 7 quarts and we eat that too. Maybe I need to go low fat...
March 7, 2011
Dutch Ovens... there are plenty out there to look at and chose from. This particular Make and Model "fills the bill" nicely, so to speak. You can use it for unlimited purposes, the handles will not melt (they have a special rubberized wrapping), the Pot & Glass Top are very well made of Calphalon. Lastly the Pot cleans up easily because of its material, and the product is made in America. Hence this product is a win-win in our household, do not be afraid to purchase this product.
February 29, 2012
We've owned this pot for a little over a year now. The non-stick coating works VERY well, making cleanup a cinch! Also, it's the perfect size for cooking dinner for our family of four.The one problem we've had with it is the durability of the non-stick coating. We first noticed some of the coating flaking off a few months back. Since then, the flaking has accelerated to the point that we're not using the pot anymore. We have always used wooden or plastic spoons with it, so we don't believe it is a result of neglectful use.
November 30, 2010
PROS:
  • Excellent conductivity
  • Even heating
  • Reliable nonstick coating

CONS:
  • Ones with black colored surface tend to fade with time giving way to a silvery color. This happens after regular cleaning.

back to menu ↑

Calphalon Unison Nonstick Omelette Pan Set (8 Inch and 10 Inch)

Calphalon Unison Nonstick 8-Inch and 10-Inch Omelette Pan Set

Whether you’re looking to fry some eggs or prepare some nice chunks of beef steak, Calphalon Unison Nonstick 8-Inch and 10-Inch Omelette Pan Set will certainly not let you down. Just like its other siblings, its interior is entirely protected by a non-stick coat which makes cleaning it a breeze. The exterior is fully covered by an aluminum material which lives up to the original standards that Calphalon is known for. The handle is neatly riveted onto the pan and is specifically meant to stay cool even when you place the pan on the temperature of above 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

  • Extra smooth interior which releases food effortlessly meaning you can prepare your tender-most omelettes without worrying about having to clean stuck-on layers later.
  • Its bottom surface is flat and wide allowing for even spreading of oil and heat. This is perfect for ensuring even browning of vegetables and meats.
  • Its very design is meant to save to resources. You get to save on electricity/gas and as well use less cooking oil or butter fat in the cooking process.
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Unison Nonstick 8-Inch and 10-Inch Omelette Pan Set

At last, nonstick cookware that lets you cook like a professional. Two surfaces make the difference. Unison cookware is built with 2 different nonstick surfaces for different cooking tasks, so you ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Nearly 10 months ago I purchased this item at the same time as another product, Cuisinart FCT22-20NS French Classic Tri-Ply Stainless 8-Inch Nonstick Skillet, specifically to compare them and guide my future purchases. After extensive daily usage of both products I can share my perspective and hope it helps others. I will be comparing only the 8 inch Calphalon pan to the 8 inch Cuisinart.The Cuisinart product is a classic pro-style pan that seemed perfect for what I was after. That said, I was drawn to the Calphalon product by the attractive pricing and decent product reviews I found here on Amazon and elsewhere on the web. I am an avid appreciator of omelettes and there is no better task to test the sticky-factor of a pan than with omelettes - especially as I am a flipper, not a folder.I found both the Cuisinart and Calphalon pans to have good feel to them. The handle design and the weight of the pans is slightly different. The Cuisinart handle arcs higher which I preferred a bit more. The slope of the sides of the pan on the Calphalon is steeper leaving a larger cooking surface area on the bottom. For an omelette flipper the Cuisinart's less dramatic slope made it easier. That said, after a couple weeks of use I could achieve the same results with either.Both pans perform well as a non-stick surface product. Very little effort to keep things from sticking and it required little to no butter or oil to get that result from both. These surfaces on both pans seemed to perform better once "broken in" even though that's not generally a characteristic of this material.Now for durability.Read more ›
May 21, 2012
Let me start out by saying I hate Calphalon. I've hated it from the get go, as I have issues with the whole concept of cooking on aluminum. I have been an All Clad fan for years (except that I can't say much for their black LTD finish which died). Color me stainless with a copper sandwich.I was walking past a kitchen ware store in northern Florida, when they were offering this set at a greatly reduced price. We went in and for some strange reason, price probably, as well as the finish of the non-stick which seemed really nice, we bought the set. We were in the mood for nonstick, and our non stick All Clad omelet pan had died what I thought was an untimely death for a pan that was over $100. So we thought, what the heck. At this price, if it dies in a year, oh well. Now you can color me converted. We use this 10" on our boat (no dishwasher) and another in our condo (we don't put it in the dishwasher but maybe 1/4 of the time). We've had them for over a year now, and I can tell you that not a day (that we use it) goes by that my wife and I don't remark to one another, 'this is my favorite pan'. Even heat. Food slides around effortlessly, and a joy to clean with a simple sponge and dish soap. NO signs of wear on the non stick. I have to confess that we treat this pan with respect. We use high temp rubber spatulas, bamboo, and (carefully) metal tongs. Mostly washed by hand (why not, the difference between rinsing and washing this pan is so slight). You're already washing your good knives by hand, right??
October 19, 2012
Let me note up front: the packaging for these two pans was great, no scratches, no any defects.The price is amazing - 73% off! I guess this is some sort of promotion price, because one 10-inch Unison Nonstick Omelette pan costs around $90 and one 8-inch Unison Nonstick Omelette pan - about $77.They are made in USA, and the quality is outstanding.Last night I made chicken breasts in 10-inch pan and I was absolutely pleased with the results. I got lazy and did not pound out them at all. I seasoned them with pepper and a little of salt, fried them first in a little oil, 1-2 minutes on every side until glazed, and then placed them in 350-degree oven for 10 minutes: the result is perfectly cooked soft and juicy, and very attractive chicken breasts.The cleaning was a breeze.Then I made a two eye fried eggs. This was my first experience when those eggs actually slide from the pan with no problem at all.One more note I want to make: do not use cooking spray sold in grocery stores, because those consist other ingredients besides oil, and those can damage the pan; use oil mist or just sprinkle some oil, that's what I did.I definitely recommend these pans for everyone!
April 25, 2011
PROS:
  • Perfect choice for frying meat, fish and poultry
  • Plenty of room for cooking
  • Full lifetime warranty

CONS:
  • They don’t work on an induction cooking hob

back to menu ↑

Simply Calpalon Nonstick 10-Inch Omelette Pan with Cover

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 10-Inch. Omelette Pan with Cover

Your big sauteing jobs require a Calphalon cookware that’s not only sturdy but also wide and all-round. Simply Calphalon Nonstick 10-Inch. Omelette Pan with Cover comes with an ergonomic handle which stays cool and remains appropriate for use even in the oven. The surface if made of 2 coats with top-most one being 100% non-stick. The bottom surface is for durability, sturdiness and improved conductivity – two feats that make it ideal for day-to-day use at home. And just in case you want to cover the food as you cook it, this pan comes with a tempered glass domed cover that blends perfectly with the brushed exterior finish of the Calphalon cookware.

  • Fully constructed using hard-anodized aluminum plates which are both non-reactive and durable.
  • Has a tempered glass lid which is not only clear to allow you to watch your food as it cooks but also durable to provide you with many more years of service.
  • Its interior is non-stick, making it ideal for handwash as well as dishwasher machines.
  • Its handle is made of riveted silicone and stainless steel handles minimizing on heat transfer for safe handling.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 10-Inch. Omelette Pan with Cover

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 10 Inch Covered Omelette Pan

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have only owned it for 6 weeks, so I can't address long term qualities. It is a fairly heavy pan. The balance is good (ie the handle weight doesn't make it unsteady on the burner like one fry pan I have). The non-stick surface has worked well so far. The lid fits tight. I like the lid being glass. Someone complained the lid doesn't have a vent. I prefer no vent unless its closable. I can set the lid off center if I want it venting. The pan won't make you a good cook, but if you have some skills, it will help you achieve your goal. Compared to other non-stick pans I have used, I consider it to be decent quality. At the price, its a bargain. I sought it out after reading a cooking website review. Oh, last point. Unlike my cast iron skillet which I still continue to use faithfully, the pan's handle and lid's handle remain quite cool while in use. Very good design. Happy cooking!Update February 2013: I still have this pan and use it constantly. It is still in great condition.
June 3, 2010
I bought another pan, made in Germany, that I returned because the handle would not stay attached to the pan. Too bad because I liked the fact that it had a porcelain coating. However, this one is better built by a whole order of magnitude. It's a delight to use and even to look at. You will not be disappointed by the fine construction of this pan: handles on the pan and top are never going to come loose. The finish and workmanship is beyond compare. The nice long length and angle of the handle make wielding it very easy for my little wife (I'm very polite around her when she's holding it). As far as the nonstick finish goes, we (like everyone I know) have had trouble with the stuff coming loose or scratching. Therefore, since buying this one--and because the nonstick finish REALLY works and nothing sticks to it--we only wash it out using our hands on it. Nothing even as abrasive as a rag. As far as what we use when cooking, we only use a very blunt-edged soft plastic spatula. We've only had this a few months but the nonstick finish still looks like new.Having had several pans over the last ten years, I can say that we both like this one the best.
June 25, 2011
We love our eggs and raise our own chickens. Prior to this every pan we've tried has stuck and omelettes have been a mess. Not with this one. Gorgeous, non stick pan and we have not seasoned it once. Cleans up in a jiff with warm water and a sponge. Love it!!
January 12, 2009
PROS:
  • Non-chip exterior
  • Fast and even heat transfer
  • Effortless food release
  • Can be used under temperature of up to 400 degrees F

CONS:
  • Non-stick surface tends to peel off after several years of usage

back to menu ↑

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 1-Quart Sauce Pan (SA8701HP)

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 1-Quart Sauce Pan

From preparing rice to trying out sauce recipes and reheating soups, Simply Calphalon Nonstick 1-Quart Sauce Pan is the perfect bet for dozens of everyday tasks. Its exterior is made of hard-anodized aluminum with relatively even width providing room for even cooking. Moreover, aluminum is renowned for being durable and sturdy – two facts that make this Calphalon cookware a good buy for a quality-conscious consumer. Generally, this appliance stands out for its durability, non-stick interior, and easy maintenance.

  • The exterior surface is made from brushed aluminum giving it a nice and classy finish on the backdrop of a riveted handle.
  • Its lid is made from tempered glass for easy monitoring of recipes. This lid has its own riveted handle that allows for easy checking of food without burning your fingers.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 1-Quart Sauce Pan

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 1 Quart Sauce Pan

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
At first I was concerned that the lid would scratch the interior of the pot. But after using this pot about 3 to 4 times every week for over 6 months I must say there are no scratches from the lid. There are no scratches of any sort. I put this is the dishwasher or hand wash. This is a very well designed pot. Would buy again without reservation.
June 19, 2014
I have had two of these. The first was replaced after about two years under Calphalon's lifetime warranty. I used only nylon or plastic utensils, but the interior of the first one deteriorated rather quickly, becoming light gray instead of the original dark gray color. It's not like I was grinding away in the pot either. I just heat foods, boil things, etc., just simple cooking. I also have several items in the regular Calphalon Nonstick line, and one of those also lost its nonstick coating, and also was replaced for free. I don't know if other brands have more durable nonstick coatings, but I would look at them closely. Just because it is Calphalon, it is not necessarily superior to others.
September 9, 2010
Unfortunately, I have to partially agree with the other reviewer who is displeased with the non stick coating on this particular saucepan. Upon arrival everything looked great, item arrived in perfect shape thanks to good packaging that protects it in shipment. However it's with the actual usability and longevity where this saucepan falls short.I had only used the saucepan about 4-5 times over the course of about a month and around the 5th time of cleaning it with a nonstick safe soft 3M microfiber sponge, I noticed scratches on the surface of the non stick coating. This was especially perplexing to me since I had put such little use on it and had followed Calphalon's explicit care instructions.I actually contacted Calphalon regarding these scratches and provided them with photos. I expressed my dissatisfaction with their product and inquired about a possible warranty replacement. They replied with this: "Based on the photos the surface markings on your nonstick Calphalon cookware is normal and to be expected under normal use and care. However the markings should not break through to the cookware core." They then provided information on how to return it for a warranty replacement, however based on their description of the marks, they are "normal". Since they don't break through to the core, it's doubtful that I would qualify for a warranty replacement and I'm not eager to spend the money to ship the saucepan back only to be told that it's not eligible for replacement.What's curious about these "surface markings" is that I see none of them whatsoever on a Calphalon Contemporary saucepan that I purchased around the same time.Read more ›
January 11, 2011
PROS:
  • Effortless food release
  • Non-reactive surface
  • Safe for up to 400 degrees F of heat
  • Low heat transfer to handles
  • Tempered glass lid

CONS:
  • The lid could be better if it were to fit in tighter and deeper

back to menu ↑

Simply Calphalon Nonstick Cookware Set of 10 Pieces (SA10H)

Simply Calphalon Nonstick Cookware Set, 10 Piece

If you are shopping for kitchen appliances on a budget, Calphalon cookware SA10H is your best bet. The set of 10 boasts a glossy black enamel exterior which is enhanced with a hard-anodized aluminum plate for even heating and excellent conductivity. This line-up provides you with the perfect blend of tools for everyday tasks such as preparation of sauces, soups and even steaming of rice. The high-integrity of construction in itself provides for longevity and durability thus giving good value for money. And for those who are worried about food particles sticking after a cooking session, this Calphalon cookware has a nonstick interior which easily let’s go of food particles making it extremely easy to clean.

  • Set comprises 3-qt, 6-qt, 2.5qt, 1.5qt sauce pans with cover as well as 8-inch and 10-inch omelette pan.
  • Its interior is double-coated with the uppermost surface being nonsticky. The entire surface is non-reactive.
  • The saucepans have tempered glass covers which allow for easy monitoring of recipes.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick Cookware Set, 10 Piece

Perfect for dozens of everyday tasks from steaming rice to reheating soups and sauces. Hard-anodized aluminum construction provides even heating across the bottom and up the sides of the pan. The ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
First, I did not receive these products for free, I bought them. The Simply Calphalon was rated a best buy by CR and I thought that the specs for the Kitchen Aid KitchenAid KCH1S10KD Hard Anodized Nonstick 10-Piece Cookware Set - Black Diamondmade them worth consideration. I have been in the restaurant business for over 30 years so I have a lot of experience with pans, mostly professional sets. So that is my point of reference. The Calphalon and Kitchen Aid were in the same mid-range price point (170 - 220) in November of 2015. Truthfully they are very similar but not equal.First thing I noticed was that the Simply Calphalon were slightly smaller. Especially the Saute pan. The Kitchen Aid set is dishwasher safe, Calphalon is not. For better or worse (as you'll read better in this case) the Kitchen Aid are heavier. The Calphalon are double-coated nonstick, the Kitchen Aid are triple-coated. Packaging for KA says oven safe to 350 degrees and Cal. says 400. Amazon says 500 for KA vs 400 for Cal. Being curious I had both in the oven at 425 for 15 minutes with no issues. Both are Hard Anodized aluminum. If you have an induction cooktop only KA is compatable.What is Hard Anodized and does it matter? Hard Anodized pans are naturally nonstick, and completely chemical-free. These pans are made with an aluminum base, which essentially gets submerged in a sulfuric acid bath that has low electrical charges running through it. As it cools, it causes the pans exterior to anodize. A hard anodized pan is extremely strong, has a long lifespan, and because it is virtually non-porous, it resists sticking.Read more ›
December 15, 2015
I invested in this set almost 4 years ago. I had this set for less then 2 years when I noticed that some pans were showing signs of peeling. I never washed the pans in the dish washer and I only own bamboo and plastic utensils so I knew the peeling was not from my neglect. I called the Calphalon customer service number and was told I would need to ship the entire set back (at my own expense). I was told it would take 6-8 weeks before I would be notified whether or not the cookware was going to be covered under the warranty. If the cookware was not going to be covered I would be responsible for return shipping on the cookware set. NOT the kind of customer service I would expect from a company as well known as Calphaon. I have purchased cheaper cookware at a big box store and had it last longer then 2-4 years. I will have to replace this cookware and will not be doing it with any products in the Calphalon line.
July 18, 2010
the inside of the pan has a bubble that will get bigger with heat and they say it is OK as is. I want a replacement pot NOW.
April 22, 2014
PROS:
  • Wide variety of Calphalon cookware
  • Excellent conductivity
  • Non-stick
  • Excellent handles

CONS:
  • The glass lids are not dishwasher safe

back to menu ↑

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 12 Inch Jumbo Fryer

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 12 Jumbo Fryer

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 12 Jumbo Fryer is one of the Calphalon cookware that brings durability and performance to your kitchen. Made of a long-lasting aluminum surface, this appliance consistently delivers great results followed by the easy cleanup. The durable aluminum construction further promotes fast and effective heating. Its handle is made of silicone and is intelligently riveted onto the pan to minimize heat transfer. Moreover, the pan provided is deep and spacious enough to hold large quantities of ingredients allowing for trouble-free cooking. What’s more, the handle is relatively short allowing one to slip the deep skillet into an oven without any hassles.

  • This Calphalon cookware comes with a tight-fitting stainless lid which keeps your ingredients moist during frying and braising giving your chicken breast a crisp exterior and tender interior.
  • The long-lasting surface which offers great cooking experience even after many years of use.
  • The spacious pan that holds hot oil and certain sauces alongside a shorter-than-normal handle for easy insertion into an oven.
  • Thanks to its medium-gauge hard anodized aluminum surface, this unit can be used under temperature levels as high as 400 degrees F.
  • Covered by a 10-year full warranty.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 12" Jumbo Fryer

Deep-fry a few chicken wings, saut

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I'm actually doing research to replace this pan,and was surprised to see it got such high reviews. I've had it for three years and as all the other reviewers said, it is awesome for function and nonstick-ness in the beginning. I love it and use it at least once every other day. However I feel it didn't last very long at all - for the last 6 months it has been performing poorly and is no longer nonstick. Not peeling, just the layer of coating is very thin, discolored and sticks horribly. I never put it in the dishwasher, don't use abrasive pads/cleaners, never use anything but plastic/wood/silicone utensils but the coating just didn't last. I don't see anything else out there that seems to perform better so I may just buy this pan again and consider it is the price to pay for 2 years worth of use. Just wanted to add this review as someone who's had it for a while. It is the exact same "Simply Calphalon" but I bought it from Bed Bath and Beyond.
August 23, 2011
for those of you with glass or ceramic stove tops: this pan does not stay flat! It is fine when cold, but once heated (even to medium), it starts warping. Still fries fine, but the heat will not be distributed as evenly as one would wish...Otherwise nice looking pan and seems like a nice non-stick surface.
August 13, 2009
I never thought I would be writing a review for a frying pan, but this pan has inspired me to do so. We needed something in our kitchen that could be at home on the stove or in the oven and clean easily. This pan fits the bill and then some. I have been using it now for about 3 weeks and so far it has perfectly cooked anything I have put in it. Pork Chops? NO problem and NO sticking. Turkey Legs? Tender, juicy and again, NO STICKING at all. I have not had to use ANY oil or grease to aide in browning. The lid fits like a glove and let's you see the food on the other side. This pan is deep enough to trap all the meats natural juices and using the cover you can get a good self basting action out of it as well.The only thing so far that surprised me is how HOT the handles get. This is only true of oven use, but bear in mind the handles STAY HOT long after the pan itself has cooled and you need to handle them with a pot holder, or two as was the case for me. I also am not attempting to clean the pan until it has fully cooled off so ensure no warping or buckling of the metal or premature flaking of the non stick surface. Speaking of cleaning, what used to take me 5 minutes of heavy scrubbing or much longer with other pans, is now a non issue! This beauty cleans in less than one minute and looks brand new afterwards.So is this worth the asking price (currently 50 dollars) ? You bet it is! I consider it a bargain and if this skillet lasts more than a few years then I will have got my money's worth many times over. HIGHLY recommended!REVIEW UPDATE 11-21-2010: After using this pan for more than a month I am still 100% satisfied! I have cooked whole roast chickens to perfection in this with enough room to use the lid.Read more ›
October 8, 2010
PROS:
  • Excellent product quality
  • Ergonomically designed
  • Good performance on most basic recipes
  • Aesthetically appealing
  • Non-stick layer does not peel

CONS:
  • Its flat bottom isn’t that large

back to menu ↑

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Square Griddle Pan- 11″

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Square Griddle Pan, 11-inch, Black

Designed for even heating and easy clean-up, Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Square Griddle Pan, 11-inch, Black boasts heavy gauge aluminum construction for long lasting performance season after season. It boasts stylish and modern design while providing reliable everyday performance. It also has a low-profile design that is perfect for preparing your favorite breakfast meals such as French toast, pancakes, and crepes. You can use this square griddle on glass ceramic, electric, halogen, gas or electric ring stove-tops.

  • Long and comfortable handle featuring brushed stainless-steel finish that remains cool on the stove-top.
  • Flat surface that is large enough thereby providing maximum cooking area hence can easily accommodate various servings.
  • Boasts three non-stick coating layers — the first two are meant to provide enough durability and the third provides high-performance release.
  • Backed-up with a full limited warranty and slender lip that allows easy access especially with a spatula.
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Contemporary Hard-Anodized Aluminum Nonstick Cookware, Square Griddle Pan, 11-inch, Black

Give homemade or even store-bought frozen pizzas a perfectly browned crust. The perforated pan helps evenly cook the crust while preventing soggy bottoms. Calphalon Nonstick Bakeware has interlocking ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I had one of these for several years and it finally got so bad I wanted to replace it. The no-name cheaper griddles always warp - I love it when I crack an egg on a warped griddle and it slides into the corner!Anyway, I ordered this new Calphalon griddle it was exactly the same size, shape, same handle, and even had the same P/N on the back. However, I immediately noticed the metal was much thinner than my earlier one. I weighed them both and sure enough the new one was several pounds lighter. Well after only a few uses the pan is now warped as bad as the $8 pans you can get anywhere. A straight edge placed on the back shows almost a 1/8" bow in the center. It's really a shame that name brand companies feel the need to cheapen their products, unless of course this was a cleverly packaged knock off -- it didn't look like one.I won't be buying this one again.
May 26, 2015
This is the second Calphalon griddle I have purchased; the first was purchased over 15 years ago and still works great. This griddle will reside at a vacation home. The griddle is exactly the right size for four slices of bread (conventional bread size), and it has a slight lip along the edge to keep liquids from running over.
January 25, 2014
For the price, I'm pretty disappointed this griddle does not sit flat on my glass top stove...it's warped and I have not used it yet.
February 8, 2014
PROS:
  • It is oven-safe up to 450-degrees Fahrenheit
  • Dishwasher safe
  • Lends a very elegant aesthetic to your kitchen
  • Allows you to use less oil or butter

CONS:
  • With this Calphalon cookware, you should never use the aerosol cooking spray as it usually leaves a gummy-like residue that is hard to clean

back to menu ↑

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5-qt Saute Pan and Cover

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5-qt. Sauté Pan & Cover

If you’re looking for a Calphalon cookware that is easy to use and care for, you have got to try this Nonstick 5-qt Saute-Pan and Cover. Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5-qt. Sauté Pan & Cover is designed for everyday use and has a lot to offer including sturdy handles and the non-stick interior that allows for easy clean-up and food release. In addition, it is oven safe and cooks evenly. Therefore, if you want the best there is, simply get this Calphalon cookware.

  • For your peace of mind, it comes with a full 10-year warranty against defective material or workmanship but only if put to normal household use.
  • Silicone handles that feel very comfortable and remains cool on the stove-top.
  • It is oven safe up to 400-degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Boasts durable hard anodized aluminum construction hence heats up pretty quickly and the exterior resists scratching as well as chipping.
  • Product
  • Photos

Simply Calphalon Nonstick 5-qt. Sauté Pan & Cover

Simply Calphalon Enamel Nonstick cookware is designed for everyday use, with a durable nonstick interior for easy food release. The aluminum core evenly conducts heat porcelain enamel exterior ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I usually work with a 5 qt saute pan for the workhorse nonstick pan in my kitchen, and I don't usually spend a lot of money on them - figuring that they aren't really going to last too long anyway. The last one I got was about twenty bucks from Costco and it did ok. When it finally died, I went looking for a new one. I found this on sale someplace and remembered that America's Test Kitchen liked the Simply Calphalon Nonstick 10-Inch Covered Omelette Pan, and figured it was worth a shot since it was from the same line. It was more money than I'm used to spending for this item, but I got a nice deal on it, so I went for it. I have been very happy with it. I love the big 5 qt size as I can make just about anything in it.I love the helper loop as that makes it much easier to move the pan when it's full of food. Also, the handle, helper loop, and lid handle all have some silicone on them, so you can handle the pan even when it's hot. The handles do get warm, but I don't usually need to get pot holders.The other thing I love is that this pan can go into the oven to 400 degrees. My only wish is that it could go all the way to 500 degrees. (I recently noticed that another pan from Calphalon can do that: Calphalon Unison Slide Nonstick 12-Inch Covered Omelette Pan, which I got for my son. But I really like the size and shape of the 5 qt saute and they don't do the Unison Slide in that pan - at least, not yet. If they do, I will get one!Read more ›
September 9, 2010
I've owned this pan for a few months, but tonight I decided to stop using it. For the last couple weeks I've been noticing a "chemical" smell and taste in meat cooked in this pan. Tonight I divided some pork chops in half and cooked one half in this pan and the other half in a cheap non-stick frying pan. The portion of the chops cooked in the Calphalon pan came out with the flavor and odor I've noticed before, whereas the portion cooked in the cheap non-stick pan was fine. Delicious, really.I've owned a five quart pan like this one for many years. It is often used to cook meat over medium high heat with the cover on. This is more convenient than broiling, and produces juicier meat. I use the technique for pork chops, steak, and chicken. In the past I've used inexpensive five quart pans I mostly bought at a big box store. They'd last a couple years before the non-stick coating wore off, at which point I'd buy a replacement. I thought the Simply Calphalon pan would be worth the extra cost if the non-stick coating lasted longer, but after tonight's experiment I'm going back to the kind of pan I've used before. Most recently, that was a T-fal pan.Otherwise the Calphalon pan has been a bit annoying. Compared to the cheap pans I'm used to, the handle is too long and too thin. So the pan doesn't fit in my sink, and it is uncomfortable to hold, especially when transferring a lot of food to another container. There's no vent in the lid, so steam escapes around the edge. When meat I'm cooking starts smoking (not a rare event for me), much of the smoke escapes the exhaust hood because it's coming out the side of the lid instead of through a vent on top. But the non-stick coating works well and I expect it is more durable than most. Doesn't matter. If it is giving off chemicals that get into the food, then I don't want anything to do with it.
February 16, 2013
Unfortunately, they don't make 'em like they used to. Got this as a gift. It warped within one week of use. Sent it back to Calphalon under warrantee, they shipped a new one. It warped too. I am a standard home cook - these pans shouldn't be so weak.EDIT - to the people who have commented that pans should not be heated on high heat and then submerged in water: I am not an idiot and did not do that. This was normal wear and tear usage only.
December 24, 2012
PROS:
  • Long-lasting non-stick cookware surface
  • Flat bottom that is wide enough to provide you a large cooking area
  • Boasts fast and oven heating
  • Easy to clean

CONS:
  • If washed when it has not completely cooled, it will warp

back to menu ↑

Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13 Piece Cookware Set

Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13-Piece Cookware Set

Crafted with polished, satin-finished interiors and stainless-steel exteriors, Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13-Piece Cookware Set comes with all the essentials for everyday cooking including boiling, searing, and simmering. It comes with a 6-quart stock pot plus a cover, 2.5-quart saucepan plus a cover, 8″ omelette pan, 3-quart saucepan plus a cover, 12″ omelette pan, 3-quart chef’s pan plus a cover, 10″ omelette pan and 1.5-quart saucepan plus a cover. It is also designed with three layers including one layer of the aluminum core and two layers of stainless-steel for even and consistent heating.

  • The lids boast clear tempered glass allowing you to easily see your food while it is cooking without having to remove the lid.
  • Brushed stainless-steel handles that are long so as to always remain cool on the stove-top.
  • Oven and broiler safe at temperatures of up to 500-degrees Fahrenheit. It is also dishwasher safe for quick and easy clean-up.
  • Boasts a reflective cook surface hence you can easily monitor your foods while cooking.
  • Product
  • Photos

Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13-Piece Cookware Set

Classically styled with a polished stainless steel exterior and a satin finished interior, the Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13-pc. Cookware Set features pots and pans designed with three layers ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
It was finally time to get rid of the old cookware now that the kids are out of the house and I didn't have to worry about ruined cookware anymore. My plan was 3 mil copper cookware or All Clad. But after seeing this in the store, feeling the weight and quality and then reading a lot of reviews ... I decided to give it a try. My final price with coupon was $320 at BB&Beyond.First, this cookware is excellent but you have to know how to use it. Put the empty pan on the heat at the temperature that you want to cook at. Wait about 2-3 minutes and then add a little oil or butter (but have your food ready or your butter will burn) and heat for about 20 seconds (butter) to 1 minute (oil). Then add your food. Eggs work excellent this way and just slide off the pan. I have also used chicken broth to cook the egg in (just wanted to see if it would stick) and it did not. So as long as your pan is at the correct temperature and you add some kind of liquid you will be ok.I like that the lids fit a lot of different pans so if you break one you probably have another on hand. I like that you can see through the glass but I do prefer unbreakable lids. They are heavy and have stood up well.The fry pans have all been used several times and are the right sizes. The sauce pans have been used a lot and I did a chocolate sauce test between the smaller one and a copper pot I have of the same size. Cooking 1 cup heavy cream, 3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips and 1 tbsp. vanilla in both pans at the same temp ... the copper pot was 40 seconds faster to completion. That was with pre-heating both pans. Starting with a cold pan the copper pot won by 3 minutes 35 seconds. This was very acceptable as I also used one of my old cheap pans and it took much longer and did not cook evenly.Read more ›
March 30, 2011
My wife and I bought this set from a different retailer and have been very happy with the product so far. I have always used stainless steel and my wife non-stick. We were looking at some non-stick sets, but heard from several sources that regardless of the brand you can't count on the non-stickiness to last more than two to three years. Faced with buying a new set every few years, we opted to go for the stainless steel. It can be harder to clean, but lasts much longer.We looked at Calphalon and All Clad, but opted for the Calphalon due to the lower price and more complete set. A store clerk told us that the All Clad is ultimately a better crafted product (Barefoot Contessa uses All Clad, after all), but for the average home cook you won't see too big a difference. Also - we liked the glass lids so that we can see things cook without letting the heat escape. The All Clad sets we looked at all had stainless steel lids - probably to hold more heat, but again not a difference we are likely to notice.I like how substantial these feel. They have some heft. My old stainless steel set was the Wolfgang Puck collection picked up several years ago at Costco. They were fine, but the Calphalon set feels better and seems to heat more evenly. The metal is thicker on this collection. I like it.Some tips - use lower temperature. You will rarely need more than medium heat on an electric range. Don't force food to flip - proteins like chicken or beef will stick to the pan but release when they are ready. Don't use aerosol oil sprays - buy an oil spritzer or let the pan heat up and apply a thin coat of oil with a paper towel. Buy Bar Keeper's Friend - this powder cleaner will take care of spots, scorch marks, and burned spots and keep the pieces looking like new.
June 28, 2012
We've had the set about three week now, long enough to know it works great with our new induction stovetop. At first it was impossible to cook eggs or sauté anything at all because everything stuck to to bottom of the greased pans.Then we spoke with a chef who recommended pre-heating the pans for about 2 minutes, medium high, and then use a little oil until it shimmers before placing anything in the pan. Also, any item you place in the pans must be as dry as possible. This was not difficult at all and results were remarkable. Note: This process works great but is not recommended by GE.Having said this, the induction stove gets much hotter than electric and reacts as quickly as gas to temperature changes so everything we made is much, much better that on an electric stove.Now that its so much easier to clean the pans, we love the stainless steel set instead of hating it.SIX MONTHS LATER - The combination of the induction stove and this great set of cookware has made a significant different in out outcome of all our cooking, and we cook a lot. Every thing we make now cooks faster and tastes much better than with our electric stovetop and coated cookware. After a while, you learn how to cook with stainless steel without anything sticking to the surface which makes cleanup simple. Rarely have we made a purchase with such long standing and consistent benefits.
April 27, 2012
PROS:
  • Backed by a full lifetime warranty
  • The nonporous stainless-steel cooking surface can be used with all utensils
  • Offers good cooking performance

CONS:
  • The handles don’t offer a comfortable grip as they are a bit thinner compared to other Calphalon cookware

Why Choose Calphalon Cookware?

Every cookware brand out there has their own signature formula to make great cookware sets and Calphalon is no different. Calphalon cookware product line covers everything in the kitchen. Everything that ranges from their clad stainless-steel cookware to their nonstick cookware features precisely crafted elements to stand-out from the competition. Even the exterior of all Calphalon-cookware has not been neglected. Their cookware boasts a clean exterior with a smooth finish that ensures great durability as well as visual beauty. Additionally, Caplphalon-cookware is durable, easy to manage, reliable and you can easily buy them online.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

Most of these units are good in one way or another. However, the Calphalon Tri-Ply Stainless Steel 13 Piece Cookware Set seems to offer the best bargain. Its wide range of appliances coupled with the fact that its aluminum surface can take up to 500 degrees F makes it a decent choice for any quality conscious buyer. We’d therefore highly recommend it.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars ,
(1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password