Top 10 Best Knee Scooter Reviews — Which One Should You Go for?

A knee scooter is an invaluable asset to help you recover once you have a knee, leg or foot surgery. But not every medical scooter out there will be ideal for you. The fact that there is a lot to choose from makes it very difficult to arrive at the best choice. You will need some sort of a guide to get the best piece out there. Well, you are in luck since this post is exactly what you need to guide you through as you decide to make the right choice.

But first things first, what are the available choice for you to choose a medical scooter from?

Medline Knee Walker

Medline Weil Knee Walker, Burgundy

 

This is a 3-wheel scooter and you can use it both indoors and outdoors. Medline Knee Walker is considerably a big size piece since it can take up to 300 pounds. It is a very innovative walking aid and best suited for injuries below the knee. Another good thing is that you can adjust it to as high as 6’4 inches.

  • Product
  • Specification

Medline Weil Knee Walker, Burgundy

Innovative walking aid provides a comfortable alternative to crutches and is ideal for below the knee injuries.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

39 x 22.5 x 36.5 inches ; 32 pounds

Shipping Weight

40.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item is not eligible for international shipping. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

UPC

080196296869

Item model number

MDS86000

Every knee walker will be a compromise, and what suits one person may not suit another. I rented two other knee walkers before buying the Weil, and I am now buying a second Weil.The Roller-Aid an others like it have the advantage of being light and easy to put in a vehicle, and small enough to turn tight corners. They are toy-like in construction. They do not have good padding for the knee, and they do not steer. You have to wrench the front end from side-to-side to turn it. The Roller-Aid another do not track well, so you might look like a drunken sailor veering this way and on the way to your doctor's office. The brakes do not work well.The mid-weight one that I tried is a bit lighter and shorter than the Weil, and tracks well. Like the Roller-Aid, it does not have actual steering; the front wheels are like shopping cart wheels, it has the same short pad like the Roller-Aid that compresses down to 1/4' when you put your knee on it. The brakes on this mid-weight were dangerously ineffective on a slope. It is solidly but crudely constructted.The Weil is the longest and heaviest of the three and by far most refined and best looking. The seat can be collapsed (watch your fingers) and the handle-bar column folds onto it for carrying in a vehicle. The seat is spectacular: 19" long, molded with a depression to cup the knee and whole leg, and made of foam of just the right density.The Weil is not as stable laterally if you lean back, because it has just one wheel in the back. However, I quickly learned not to lean back (why do that anyway?), so that was a very short term disadvantage, and the big advantage of one wheel is that you don't hit your ankle of your good leg when pushing--something that happened to me repeatedly with both the other walkers.Read more ›
October 31, 2008
I was going into the hospital for some fairly extensive surgery on my ankle, and I had been told by the doctor that I would not be able to put any weight on the ankle for 4-6 weeks. I knew that I did not want to drag myself around on crutches (I'm middle-aged, out of shape and overweight), but I also did not want to spend the money that a wheelchair would cost. What were my options?The first place I checked was abledata.com, a FREE, Federally-funded database of information about products for people with disabilities. They listed a number of products that seemed like possible helps, but the category that interested me most was "knee walkers." After looking at the 4 models listed there, I did a Google search on knee walkers and found some additional products.I kind of divided the products I saw into 3 categories --1. Small, lightweight products that kind of reminded me of umbrella strollers because they seemed lightweight, relatively inexpensive (under $[...]) and easy to fold/store/carry. PRoducts in this category included the Invacare knee-walker, the Nova OrthoMed turning leg caddt, and the Roll-A-Bout.2. Mid-price ($[...]), which appeared to be more substantial products. They were heavier, but they had nicely padded leg rests, hand brakes, and in the case of the Weil knee-walker, a basket for carrying stuff.3. The over-$[...] products, which appeared to me to be "souped-up" versions of the mid-price ones, but with few additional features. RollerAid had a product for $[...] at one dealer.I decided that the smaller, lightweight version was not substantial enough for me, at my weight (200+ pounds) and age (+55). I also didn't see a demonstrable difference between the almost-$[...Read more ›
October 24, 2008
I bought this following foot surgery. I had rented an Invacare knee walker which was a disaster--unstable, poor turning, and brakes which did not work well. I returned it and bought this Weil Knee Walker. The difference was amazing. The Weil Knee Walker is very stable, easy to turn even in tight places, brakes are very reliable. I have noticed, however, that in none of the specifications shown does it show the width of the front wheel assembly. I didn't think about checking that. As it turns out, the knee walker will not go through our bathroom doorways (house built in 60's)--a definite disadvantage.The knee rest height adjustment wasn't exactly right for me. One height was slightly too high and the next lower was slightly too low. When you look at the height increments under the seat, they look small, but as you adjust them the ratio is larger than it appears.B/c of lack of mobility (balancing on 1 leg), someone has to put it into a car for me and take it out. Folding it down to load does not seem to be a problem.I would definitely recommend this walker b/c of it ease of movement, stability, the basket and brake system. Weil Knee Walker By Medline
February 9, 2010

PROS:
  • It has locking handbrakes to keep it steady as you use it
  • Comes with a large basket
  • Relatively large capacity of up to 300 pounds
  • It is stable thanks to the 3 wheels

CONS:
  • The boot is quite bulky

back to menu ↑

Roscoe’s Knee Scooter

Roscoe Knee Scooter with Basket, Burgundy (ROS-KSBG)

If you desire a medical scooter that will offer you comfort and stability as you recover, this one comes as a top choice. Roscoe Knee Scooter with Basket, Burgundy (ROS-KSBG) comes in 4 wheels giving you stability not only indoors but in tough terrain outside. The easy folding mechanism is something you will appreciate when you store or when you will have to travel with it.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter - Green

Ideal for individuals recovering from injury or surgery to the foot, ankle or lower leg as well as below the knee amputees. The Steerable Knee Scooter is one of the most proven and trusted knee ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

26 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

609224630279

Item model number

KNEESCOOTER

Amazing product! A regular walker didn't keep me from putting weight on my ankle. My dogs bump my crutches and I fall. I feel stable and safe on the knee walker --- I'm not exhausted. It's fairly narrow, so I can go anywhere where a regular walker or a wheelchair won't fit. This is not only a great product, but it is fun to use. Everyone wants to try it! I only wish that I had it before this.The kneewalker comes almost completely assembled, but you must fold open the clamshell bracket on the steering column and tighten an Allen screw INSIDE the clamshell that engages the steering BEFORE you do anything else.The clamshell bracket is fairly tight. I needed a stronger person than me to press in the button and AT THE SAME TIME pry it open. It helps to put some WD-40 on the hinge first. Afterward, you can simply slip the seat in place and close the cotter pin at the correct height for you. It you put the seat on first, you can't get the handlebars attached to steering column properly.Fair warning: The instruction sheet does NOT have an illustration or provide a link to the manufacturer's excellent assembly video on u t ube .
July 21, 2012
After having a rather complicated foot surgery, I had to be in a wheelchair for a month even though I had purchased the scooter before surgery. In my case, I had to keep my foot elevated all the time hooked to an ice machine so was unable to use scooter. I hated being in the wheelchair. This week I am going all over the place in my home. It is such freedom and I haven't fallen once yet. It doesn't turn sharply and that is a good thing because that is the cause of a lot of falls (a family member had a rental & fell numerous times). The orthopedic foot surgeon saw this little number this week's visit and he was so impressed that he thinks he will buy some for his office for some of his patients to use. The price is unbelievable and it is so lightweight that it fits into the trunk of my car (Honda Accord) without having to break it down. The green one looks like a sports car, lol. I love it and it has given me so much freedom. I am a small person so I didn't want a heavy scooter. I couldn't be happier with it!
April 28, 2012
Bought this scooter after a fall badly broke my ankle. Crutches and walker, etc. were bulky, awkward, and hard on the rest of my body. Rented a knee scooter first to see if it was useful, and it was... VERY USEFUL!!!After 1 month of renting, decided to buy my own, and chose this one as it was the least expensive one I could find, and it has been very useful and handy to have around. It let me stay by myself much more sooner than if I had to be on wobbly crutches.Now the bad news, the scooter has dumped me off twice in the last few days. The handlebars are very narrow and wobble slightly, no matter how tightly the fittings are screwed down. Given the height of the handlebars and the lowness of the stabilizer bars (body), the scooter feels "top heavy" and is not stable unless you go slowly and are on a completely smooth surface.Overall, I would recommend this scooter if you do not plan to use it more than an assistance aid around the house, and basically you are able to put both feet on the floor if it tips.I took it across a parking lot, hit a small crack and it dumped me. I was going slowly across my yard, hit a small depression in the grass... and it dumped me faster than a fickle boyfriend! :o( The first time, I was able to avoid putting my foot down on the ground, and just collected a few scratches. The second time, my foot rested on the ground and I felt a distinct 'POP' inside my foot, so I may have damaged it again. Will see with my next X-rays.This scooter does not corner as tightly as my previous scooter did, as stated in the review above, but that is not a problem with me as I simply pick the scooter up and make a 3 point turn, or ever how many turns it takes.Read more ›
March 25, 2012

PROS:
  • It has a heavyweight provision of up to 350 pounds
  • It has an easy-to-adjust mechanism giving you easy time when you have to readjust
  • Very stable with 4 large wheels
  • Has an offset post for easy left-right adjustment

CONS:
  • The brake is so tight that you will like flipping over the handlebars
  • Not an easy piece to assemble
  • Front wheel will touch your toe as you back up while the will do the same as you go forwards

back to menu ↑

Kneerover Steerable Scooter

KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter - Green

Do you want something tested and proven to be not only effective for after-surgery exercise but also will give you a long time of service? This KneeRover is just the best scooter you should get your hands on. KneeRover Steerable is ideal for so many situations and you should not worry because it will deliver for whatever need you are buying it for.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter - Green

Ideal for individuals recovering from injury or surgery to the foot, ankle or lower leg as well as below the knee amputees. The Steerable Knee Scooter is one of the most proven and trusted knee ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

26 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

609224630279

Item model number

KNEESCOOTER

Amazing product! A regular walker didn't keep me from putting weight on my ankle. My dogs bump my crutches and I fall. I feel stable and safe on the knee walker --- I'm not exhausted. It's fairly narrow, so I can go anywhere where a regular walker or a wheelchair won't fit. This is not only a great product, but it is fun to use. Everyone wants to try it! I only wish that I had it before this.The kneewalker comes almost completely assembled, but you must fold open the clamshell bracket on the steering column and tighten an Allen screw INSIDE the clamshell that engages the steering BEFORE you do anything else.The clamshell bracket is fairly tight. I needed a stronger person than me to press in the button and AT THE SAME TIME pry it open. It helps to put some WD-40 on the hinge first. Afterward, you can simply slip the seat in place and close the cotter pin at the correct height for you. It you put the seat on first, you can't get the handlebars attached to steering column properly.Fair warning: The instruction sheet does NOT have an illustration or provide a link to the manufacturer's excellent assembly video on u t ube .
July 21, 2012
After having a rather complicated foot surgery, I had to be in a wheelchair for a month even though I had purchased the scooter before surgery. In my case, I had to keep my foot elevated all the time hooked to an ice machine so was unable to use scooter. I hated being in the wheelchair. This week I am going all over the place in my home. It is such freedom and I haven't fallen once yet. It doesn't turn sharply and that is a good thing because that is the cause of a lot of falls (a family member had a rental & fell numerous times). The orthopedic foot surgeon saw this little number this week's visit and he was so impressed that he thinks he will buy some for his office for some of his patients to use. The price is unbelievable and it is so lightweight that it fits into the trunk of my car (Honda Accord) without having to break it down. The green one looks like a sports car, lol. I love it and it has given me so much freedom. I am a small person so I didn't want a heavy scooter. I couldn't be happier with it!
April 28, 2012
Bought this scooter after a fall badly broke my ankle. Crutches and walker, etc. were bulky, awkward, and hard on the rest of my body. Rented a knee scooter first to see if it was useful, and it was... VERY USEFUL!!!After 1 month of renting, decided to buy my own, and chose this one as it was the least expensive one I could find, and it has been very useful and handy to have around. It let me stay by myself much more sooner than if I had to be on wobbly crutches.Now the bad news, the scooter has dumped me off twice in the last few days. The handlebars are very narrow and wobble slightly, no matter how tightly the fittings are screwed down. Given the height of the handlebars and the lowness of the stabilizer bars (body), the scooter feels "top heavy" and is not stable unless you go slowly and are on a completely smooth surface.Overall, I would recommend this scooter if you do not plan to use it more than an assistance aid around the house, and basically you are able to put both feet on the floor if it tips.I took it across a parking lot, hit a small crack and it dumped me. I was going slowly across my yard, hit a small depression in the grass... and it dumped me faster than a fickle boyfriend! :o( The first time, I was able to avoid putting my foot down on the ground, and just collected a few scratches. The second time, my foot rested on the ground and I felt a distinct 'POP' inside my foot, so I may have damaged it again. Will see with my next X-rays.This scooter does not corner as tightly as my previous scooter did, as stated in the review above, but that is not a problem with me as I simply pick the scooter up and make a 3 point turn, or ever how many turns it takes.Read more ›
March 25, 2012

PROS:
  • 2 choices of great colors i.e. pink and green
  • Gives you control and stability as you use it
  • Will be ideal for so many uses so you are not buying a single-use scooter

CONS:
  • You have to be careful as you use outside since stones and rugged surfaces make it unstable

back to menu ↑

Deluxe Knee Cycle Scooter

Deluxe Steerable Knee Walker Knee Scooter Knee Cycle Leg Walker Crutch Alternative in Blue

 

Contemporary designed, this medical scooter has all that you may need. Deluxe Steerable Knee Walker Knee Scooter Knee Cycle Leg Walker Crutch Alternative in Blue is a beautifully crafted machine that will take on a number of challenges. It will come in handy for situations such as broken bone case, after surgery as well as for someone with ulcers. Its compatibility with both left and right legs makes it even a better choice.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Deluxe Steerable Knee Walker Knee Scooter Knee Cycle Leg Walker Crutch Alternative...

Ideal for individuals recovering from injury or surgery to the foot, ankle or lower leg as well as below the knee amputees. The KneeRover® Deluxe KneeCycle is one of the most advanced knee walkers ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

28.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

700175818218

After viewing all of the availalbe knee walkers on line, this one appeard to me to be the most practical and safe. I liked the fact that it can be easily broken down for transport although my wife, who has a broken heel, has been just using it at home. Since I'm a bit of a gear head, the steering mechanism on this scooter caught my attention. The front axle, which can be easily removed (no tools required) for transport, is normally rigid when locked in place. The direction of the front wheels, which pivot on king pins, are controlled by tie rods, just like an automobile. Most of the other steerable scooters use the same type steering as the little red wagons we all had as kids which would probably make them less stable when turned sharply. I believe the steering on this scooter would be far superior and much safer. The only other scooter we saw with similar steering costs over $100 more. The narrow rear wheels is an advantage, allowing the operator to easily push the scooter along. The brakes are of the disk type, again, like an automobile. The only drawback I can find is that the brakes don't have a locking feature like most wheel chairs and wheeled walkers. In general this is a very good product which was well thought out and cleverly designed. My wife loves it and we both highly recommend it.
February 17, 2013
I only wish my joints were as tough as the Knee Walker.After several years using either a wheelchair or a walker on and off, I got tired of the wheelchair's clumsiness and the walkers clop-clop pace - especially after a 'no weight' surgery. Walkers are also notoriously prone to tip and crash if they hit a bump, crack or sleeping twig. I've destroyed two walkers after they tipped and I landed on top.Right out of the box (after assembly) the Knee Walker feels much more stable. This is on a par with some of the best sport equipment I've had - tough frame with nice welds, quality fold clamps with screw-down latch, disk brake (not 'none' or 'drum') and glorious 7.5-inch Solid Polyurethane Rubber Wheels that soak up bumps and make it easier to climb curbs. And it adjusts without tools. But the key feature is the steering: by using a linked system (like your car), stability is greatly enhanced and falls from tips & spills reduced. This also limits turning radius - which is a bit wide - but since the Knee Rider will hit some pretty good speeds, too much turn would guarantee a flip and spill.Such are my initial reactions. Will update as I use it more.One gripe: the 'Instruction Sheet' is standard typewriter size covered with lice-type (VERY small type). The largest illustration (2-5/8 inches - of the entire unit) is smaller than the logo (3-1/8 inches) and the parts illustration - 8 items - is an inch and a quarter. It's a Very Good Thing that it comes mostly assembled - just insert a few nuts and bolts - and that the parts each have a unique destination - hard to fit the wrong part in the inappropriate hole. If you have ANY knowledge of tools, the Knee Rider can be assembled and adjusted in 15 minutes.Read more ›
July 24, 2013
I did a lot of shopping before settling on this unit and chose it due to the good reviews and the widest front wheelbase, hopefully making it more steady. Have only had it for a few days, but offer the following observations: I thought I was relatively handy at small do-it-yourself projects, but had a devil of a time getting this thing together properly. The instructions are absolutely awful. Even using the few pictures as guides was not helpful since they were all blurry. Initially, I found that I was missing parts, i.e., a washer and the supposedly included allen wrench. No big deal about the washer, but trying to find the allen wrench was wasted time. After a 23 minute hold on the phone with the manufacturer/seller, a rep finally came back on and advised no allen wrench was needed. He said that part of the instructions was for a different model. ^*%&*%$!!!One important thing to know about this unit is that unlike a lot of the other knee walkers, the front wheels are not axle-mounted, meaning they connect with tie rods. It is very tricky trying to make the needed adjustments so the front wheels are parallel (and the instructions say absolutely nothing about how to do that or the importance in doing so). Turns out the tie rods are adjustable, but it takes a lot of trial and error, assembly and disassembly, to get them fairly lined up. Again, that won't be an issue with the wheel axle-mounted knee walkers. Also, although not mentioned in the instructions, it does make a difference where/how you mount the tie rods. The one that is relatively straight goes on the right. The one with a slight bend in it goes on the left. Again, a lot of time/trial and error was needed to determine this.Read more ›
September 27, 2013

PROS:
  • It is tough and stable way better than walkers
  • It is for both inside and outside use
  • Easy to maneuver once you put it in use
  • It is ideal for very many situations making it better than any walker out there

CONS:
  • It is a bit tricky when it comes to assembling
  • Maybe a bit sturdy for someone who wants a medium sized medical scooter

back to menu ↑

All-Terrain Kneerover Scooter

All Terrain KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter Knee Walker Heavy Duty Crutches Alternative in Blue

 

Technologically, this is the most advanced scooter you will find in the market. It is versatile giving the freedom and stability even for a serious case that may put you down. All Terrain KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter Knee Walker is compatible with both legs and you will appreciate the ergonomic aspect coming from it. Good news is that you will use over any terrain of your choice and such is the value for every coin you are spending on this one.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

All Terrain KneeRover Steerable Knee Scooter Knee Walker Heavy Duty Crutches Alternative...

The All Terrain KneeRover Knee Walker is the most versatile and advanced kneewalker in the industry - establishing a new level of durability and freedom of mobility for individuals who cannot bear ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Weight

32.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

799475580734

After talking to people who have used a knee walker, my husband was not sure it would be worth buying one. People would tell him that the knee walkers are only good for getting around in your home or on sidewalks. We live in the country so we do not have sidewalks. Then we discovered this gem. My husband can go outside and get anywhere he wants to go. It handles uneven ground fantastic. His orthopedic surgeon said it was the first one with large wheels that he had ever seen and commented that that is a smart design. My husband is very happy with this product!
August 4, 2013
I just received this today and have yet to put a ton of time in on it, but wanted to give it a quick review with initial impressions. This thing is terrific. Well built, sturdy and will get the job done. It's pretty heavy so don't expect to pick this up and throw it in your backseat without some effort, but that weight makes it heavy-duty and stable.I first purchased the Medline Weil Knee Walker and that thing is toy compared to this KneeRover. The Medline had a wide frontend with very limited turn radius and felt like it wouldn't last through continuous use without some issues. The KneeRover rolls easy and makes transitions over carpet, rugs, hardwood, etc.... with ease due to the large air filled tires. It feels super sturdy and I feel like it will stand up well to heavy use indoors and out. Even with the wide front base it seems to corner sharper than the Medline and since only the tires turn (not the entire front axle/fork) it is much more stable when turning than most other models out there.If you have a small home or tight quarters it might be too big for your in-home use, but I am having no problems in that area. The cost is higher than most, but it varies a lot so if you watch for a sale you should be able to get it in the $400 range.Edit:After two solid weeks of use, this thing is still amazing. I did perform a slight brake adjustment so the rear wheel would move more freely when not braking. Easy to do. No other issues at all and I love the mobility this scooter has added to my life.Everywhere I go I get thumbs-up, smiles, questions, etc..... and every little kid in the market says "mommy I want one of those." 🙂
July 19, 2013
I had ankle surgery and will not be able to put weight on that foot for a long time. I am a very active person, and the idea of not being able to get around was difficult for me. Other knee scooters do just fine indoors, but I wanted one that would work on sidewalks... pavement... gravel roads. I want to get out and about! It's summer in Colorado, and I can't stay indoors.This scooter does the trick. It's heavy duty, very stable, and easy to use. I've tried it on gravel roads, on pavement, on grass, and it handles them all. It was easy to set up and easy to use. One wheel in back means that my good leg can swing, so I can be quite efficient getting around. And I love the basket; it looks kind of goofy, but what the heck—it's useful!Indoors, I am using crutches, and they are fine. But now I am taking mile-long scoots with my dog, and we are both much happier. Happier me means faster recovery.This wouldn't be good for inside, though. The turning radius is very wide, as is the scooter itself. Outside, the wide base means it's stable, and the wide turning radius isn't a problem—in fact, it keeps you from getting too aggressive and tipping over! Inside... get something else. For outdoors, get this; you won't be disappointed.
June 22, 2013

PROS:
  • It is built to last and won’t relent on giving you the best service
  • The all-terrain feature makes it good on any surface you want to choose it; This is a diversity that hardly comes easy in other options
  • The large tires (5 inches wide) make it stable. You will be stable on bumps so do not worry if you have to get rugged surface
  • The seat is super comfortable and you will love being on it

CONS:
  • It is sturdy hence may present a problem if you are using it indoors
  • The brakes may not lock as instantly as you may desire

back to menu ↑

Walker Cum Knee Scooter

Knee Scooter Walker - wMost Sought Features -Silver - Removable Basket, Non-Scuff Wheels, Locking Brakes---and one just for fun---a Bell

 

Honestly, this one scooter has features that everyone would be looking out for. Knee Scooter Walker – w/Most Sought Features has a basket but you can remove it if you do not have any need for it. Other pleasant properties are bell, scuffles wheels, and instant locking brakes for parking. You will not need any kind of tools to adjust it making even better for someone who just had surgery and not lots of energy to do the hard stuff.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Knee Scooter Walker - w/Most Sought Features -Silver - Removable Basket, Non-Scuff...

We created our Deluxe model with the features people asked for most: Comes a removable basket, non-scuff wheels, a locking parking brake and, just for fun, a bell! Our steerable Knee Walker, a.k.a. a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

I had surgery to fuse two fractured bones in my foot and have to live without putting weight on my foot for a few weeks. I'm a very active person (run marathons) and wanted a scooter that was easy to use in the house and durable for taking to the office, shopping, etc, especially in parking lots and uneven surfaces. I think I read the descriptions for every scooter listed on Amazon and decided on the Isokinetics because it looked durable in the photos, I liked the price and the company makes other products for PT patients. I was a little nervous because its new and there were no reviews. I am extremely happy with this scooter. I've even used it for a couple hours at the mall. It folds nicely for the car, the basket makes life even easier. The only negative is I found I do have to work with the latch that releases the steering handle to fold the steering down for transport. It's a little bulky, but I think it needs to be for its sturdiness. I've had it in my back seat and in my SUV trunk. The knee cushion is comfortable except or the day I spent a couple hours at the mall. I highly recommend this product, especially for active people who need to get around inside and outside.
May 8, 2014
Love it. This was a great purchase for me since I fractured my ankle and will be off my foot for about 8 weeks.Sturdy, easy to put together and a life saver for me. I can empty the dishwasher, do laundry and some other small jobs to help around the house and can go shopping. Crutches are difficult and extremely dangerous on slick surfaces. I love the basket on front. Its an attention getter, kids and adults take a second look! I am on week two and am very satisfied with the purchase and prompt shipping from this company. I was going to purchase the all terrain type but once I saw their customer service policy and return policies I was very turned off. This company has a wonderful return policy for this rather pricey item. Its very nice quality, smooth riding and very sturdy. The brakes work great and I can hold onto them with my right hand to keep it still when getting on. The cushion is very comfortable and I do believe this is going to make my recovery faster as I am using the upper part of my leg. I would purchase this item again and would recommend it to others.
May 30, 2014
I have been dealing with a Jones' Fracture for around a year now. This was my second surgery for it. I hate crutches. I do not think that you understand, I HATE crutches.I did a ton of research on options and came to the decision to get a knee walker. Looking at some other models I was turned away by the "old person" feel to them. Meaning that they appeared to be for people who are NOT as mobile and active as I am. The brakes were a big thing. Other walkers have the clip that clamps down on the outside of the wheel. The reviews said that this eventually led to nicks and dents on the wheel making it hard to use. This one has a disk brake system and I am very fond of it. Works great. The basket is a little childish, but imperative for carrying s***. It is just they way it is.My ONLY complaint is in the steering. There is a bar at the bottom that limits the turning radius, this could be expanded a few inches I think to open the travel area up some more. When negotiating turns or corners in my office I am often times having to use my good foot as base, and pick up the front wheels with the handle and turn it on its back wheels. This is an inconvenience, but not a deal-breaker. It also needs a stiffer hold on the handles. Its "alignment" pulls to the right (on mine anyway) so you either HAVE to use both hands, or if you are carrying something else go really slow or you will eat s***.The wheels are hard rubber, I guess they could have made it out of soft rubber to make it a little easier on concrete or asphalt, but again, not a deal breaker.Bottom line: This is a great product and way better than crutches.Did I mention how much I hate crutches.-only
May 6, 2014

PROS:
  • As you can see this medical scooter has the most sought-after features. You are not wrong to follow the lead
  • The braking system is advanced and will be at your service when you need it
  • It is a very stable piece
  • Adjusting it is easy; no tools are required

CONS:
  • It will leave marks on your floor
  • You will need an extra cover for the seat

back to menu ↑

DV8 Steerable Knee Scooter

Drive Medical DV8 Aluminum Steerable Knee Walker Crutch Alternative

The best way to take care of your knee, leg or foot injury is giving it the mobility and support you can get. DV8 is the scooter that will effortlessly hand that down to you. It is as comfortable as a cushion and will give you a long service probably beyond the time you get well. If you want to travel it is easily foldable and takes only a minimum space. Safety is a priority for this one and you can bet your life on it.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Drive Medical DV8 Aluminum Steerable Knee Walker Crutch Alternative

Ideal for individuals recovering from foot surgery, breaks, sprains, amputation, and ulcers of the foot; Knee walker can be steered for increased maneuverability; steering column folds for storage; ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

24 x 17 x 33 inches ; 22.7 pounds

Shipping Weight

24.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

UPC

727908142006 822383125596 811032486577 785923776026 822383183589 639767652469 797619802919 610696367358 086011247214 073551828676

California residents

Click here for Proposition 65 warning.

Item model number

790

About 4 weeks ago, I had foot/ankle surgery. This surgery involves no weight bearing for 8-16 weeks. Needless to say I was really concerned how I would continue to work and maintain some kind of active lifestyle using crutches or a traditional walker. I was pathetic and scary on a crutches and possibly would have broken another appendage. A traditional walker makes you hop on what is left of your good foot and so it also not practical. I asked my doctor, prior to surgery about the knee walker and he had limited knowledge of it , but said for me to try local medical appliance places. I ended up purchasing the Drive walker from Amazon after finding prices locally of $700-+$1000!. I have had dozens of people come up to me asking me where I got it, and how it looked so much better than crutches. Even the doctors office had never seen a steerable one. I tried the one that doesn't steer at a local store, and it was horrible. I can say without this device, I would be homebound. It has allowed my to return to work after less than a week from surgery ( no stairs, flat floors). I can still do most of my housework, laundry, making meals. I can go shopping, out to eat and even still go to the Y to roll on the indoor track and do upper body weight lifting. It is awesome for helping me get into the shower. I lock the brakes, balance on my bad leg and lift my good leg with the help of a shower handle(also purchased from Amazon), over the shower threshold, and sit down on a shower stool (also purchased from Amazon). The knee walker is incredibly stable, it has never tilted or tipped with me achieving this task. I also purchased a LED flashlight that attaches to the handle bars for late night trips in my house and also the Sunlite mesh bottom removable bicycle basket ( from amazon).Read more ›
May 15, 2011
I purchased this knee scooter about 3 months ago, in anticipation of foot surgery. I wanted to use it for several weeks before writing the review. This review will also compare this type of knee scooter to those that do not have adjustable steering. For my previous foot surgery I had used one of that type. I thought it might be useful to you to have a comparison from someone who has used both types.In general I am quite satisfied with this product. It has some nice features.1. adjustable knee pad. Now having used two different kinds of knee scooters I can say confidently that you do not want one unless the knee pad can be adjusted to your height. The other one I used had a knee pad that could not be adjusted, and it was a bit too low to the ground. What this did was put strain on the knee that I used to scoot around with.2. two brakes. It may seem weird to need two brakes, because it's not like you are going all that fast. But you do. For the speeds most people will travel on these, no brakes are really needed. You can slow down with your good foot. The brakes provide stability when getting onto the scooter. And if there is only one brake, then if that particular wheel is riding high even a little bit because your floors are uneven, then it will roll.3. "two-way" knee pad. I don't know what else to call it. But you can see in the photos that there are two cut outs in the knee pad running both ways. The cut outs perpendicular to the scooter are useful for getting dressed, getting into and out of a shower, etc. I was surprised at how often I was glad this one had that.4. steerable versus not. For around the house or for use inside (at the office, etc.), the steering is really nice.Read more ›
February 28, 2011
I recently came into the world of "assisted walking" after a foot injury made me undergo surgery and strictly no weight bearing for 3 months. The traditional crutches I got from the local ED were adequate at first, but then, like many, I realized their true nature - medieval torture devices.Enter the knee walker - I now own two - both by Drive Medical - and both bought here on Amazon. I have this 790 Steerable Knee Walker and the other best seller, Drive Medical's Universal Knee Walker. Both were SUPER easy to setup, both came well-packed in factory packaging. Most importantly, both of these are VERY SOLID and well built. I am 43yo, 240lb, and 6'0", and these knee walkers always feel solid and stable.I thought I would add the reason I bought both - and it has to do with the steering. The non-steerable Universal Knee Walker is awesome for me to use around my home. It is a smaller profile device - great for smaller/tighter spaces, and is SUPER easy to use with one hand. This way, I can use my other hand to move and carry stuff and have been able to "get back in the game" with helping my saint of a spouse with our two kids, getting dinner on the table, etc. You can't really "steer," but you just stand up on your good leg and redirect the device in a new direction. The pad on the Universal is a bit thinner than the Steerable, but it's fine for daily use, and could easily be beefed up with a towel or extra pad if you wanted.I use the Steerable 790 model to get around at work. I work in a hospital, and me and several colleagues have found the steerable model to be GREAT at covering long distances QUICKLY - you just always have to have TWO HANDS on the handlebars (I switched from a briefcase/messenger bag to a backpack for my laptop.) I can easily navigate the twists and turns of our hospital hallways, and I saved a BUNDLE here on Amazon compared to the same models in the brochures in my orthopedic surgeon's office...
September 4, 2011

PROS:
  • For adjustment, you will not need any tool
  • It has a leg pad that gives you both stability and comfort
  • Will support a considerable weight limit of up to 300 pounds
  • It is physically appealing with a stylish vein finishing
  • Durability comes with every part of it

CONS:
  • There are complaints that some cannot be adjusted making the too low for any comfortable use

back to menu ↑

Dual Pad Drive Medical Scooter

Drive Medical Dual Pad Steerable Knee Walker with Basket, Alternative to Crutches

The double pad option is one thing that should be making Drive Medical Dual Pad Steerable Knee Walker a must-buy medical scooter. The wheels are will give you stability giving, even more, conviction that you are buying the right product. You can steer it thus you are fully in charge. The seat has a pad to provide more comfort on your knee as you move.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Drive Medical Dual Pad Steerable Knee Walker with Basket, Alternative to Crutches

Dual Pad Steerable Knee Walker with Basket, Alternative to Crutches

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

30 x 16 x 31 inches ; 22 pounds

Shipping Weight

27.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

UPC

794628292243 822383509341

California residents

Click here for Proposition 65 warning.

Item model number

796

Surgery on foot required crutches or one of these scooters. After much research on amazon i chose this one over the 790 model because i could see the benefits of a front basket and the day i needed to order this it was prime. It arrived the day i got home from surgery. I had to get i to house using crutches. But have been using this since thursday. It and my husband are my best friends right now. I have read many of the reviews on the 790 with people saying they fell with it. I have not had any problems. I would have fallen with crutches. It is very sturdy and well put together. Husband had it put together within a few minutes. It does have a turning radius that with a little backing up should get you just about anywhere. I have not tried it outside yet. But do plan on taking it with us to dr appt this coming week. I would definitely recommend purchasing this model. It will become your best friend.
May 25, 2014
So This review is for the drive medical 796..... This thing has saved my sanity!!!! grant it I feel foolish using this but for the last month I've been rolling around on this thing I'll do a fast cut easy review of this thing...Pros:Rolls smootheasy to control with both hands on the handle barthe resting knee pad is comfy (not the greatest if your over 220)Can get over ruff parking lots small cracks and bumps in the roadRemovable basketthe handle bars fold downCheaper then insurance or renting oneCons:brakes are lousy when you rolling at a faster pace.if your not holding on and hit a bump your handle bars will jerk and you might or might not fallfor older individuals or smaller females., this thing has a little bit of weight to it (as my wife says) Something to consider if you need to grab this in and out of the car... For me its lightwhen folding the bar down you need a key or something to depress the pinmight be more then rentingOverall ImpressionI love this thing for now., I cannot put weight on my foot, and with this knee roller I was able to get out and do some of the things I needed to get done. Just Use common sense and you'll never have any problems with terrain. Loads better then crutches but if I only need to be on crutches for 3weeks, I would of used crutches. If your like me and need this for 8+ weeks look no further than this knee roller. Since I needed it for 2 months maybe more this route was cheaper. Its a good buy if used correctly and within its limits.UPDATE---------------------------------------------You do not need a key or a pin to fold the handle bars. Today I realized all you have to do is when unlatching the lock push the bar over and it releases.
August 18, 2014
My wife fractured her ankle on 7-5-14 and needed something to help get around. Based on positive reviews per Amazon, we bought the Drive Medical 796 knee-walker through ThanxMama (good vendor). She's used it for 3 weeks now. If you're looking for a high-quality product, pass on this one.QUALITY CONTROL PROBLEM1. User manual/assembly instructions not included (had to download, no big deal)2. Defective product – on opening box, front axle/wheels were askew and didn't line up with handlebar. This is a safety issue, especially for an injured user. Called Drive Medical and provided photos as requested but rep never got back to me (after 2 emails). We needed to somehow loosen the 2-1/2" nut below the “Tiller Lock Lever” so we could square-up the handlebar with the front axle. Took two of us using a heavy-duty Crescent to loosen it enough to re-align things. Maybe Drive uses Locktite on this part.3. Brakes: the “lock” mechanism is worthless; rear brake caliber dislodged from its assembly; other parts have loosened and fallen offDESIGN PROBLEM1. Brakes inadequate, even after adjustments made per manualPOOR CUSTOMER CARE1. Never heard back from the repOverall, meh. After the ankle heals, we’ll get rid of this thing.
July 29, 2014

PROS:
  • The braking system is super reliable
  • Can support weight up to 350 pounds
  • The height adjustments do not need any tool at all
  • The frame is durable and made even better in appearance by the vein finish
  • Front wheel steering gives you all the control you need

CONS:
  • It has one hand brake
  • The alignment will present some problems

back to menu ↑

Free Spirit Knee Scooter

Essential Medical Supply Free Spirit Knee and Leg Walker

 

The engineering put into this piece is one thing you cannot ignore. This is what makes Essential Medical Supply Free Spirit Knee and Leg Walker a state of the art scooter. It is pretty sturdy and can take up to 400 pounds of weight and a height of 6’6″. Light frame and easy folding are tow properties that give it an edge over the rest.

  • Product
  • Specification

Essential Medical Supply Free Spirit Knee and Leg Walker

THE CRUTCH ALTERNATIVE! Superbly Engineered and Designed, the FreeSpirit knee and leg walker is a truly

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

32 x 15 x 18 inches ; 22.5 pounds

Shipping Weight

30.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Shipping Advisory

This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.

UPC

754756640002

Item model number

P4000

I have rented one of these for $120 per month. I have a foot injury which just won't seem to heal. I tried using crutches and they're so hard on the rest of your body. This device puts a little stress on the good foot, but nothing like crutches, and very little strain on your upper body. It has sturdy, wide wheels that roll very smoothly. The rear wheels being placed close together leaves space for the foot that you are propelling yourself with. The front wheels turn pretty sharply, but due to the length of the unit, the overall turning radius is still pretty big. The front tiller folds down for transport, although it doesn't lock in place in the folded position, so it can flop around when you try to pick it up to stow it in the car. The mechanism to lock/unlock the tiller in the upright position is a little cumbersome, but workable. When I got the unit, the tiller was unstable when I leaned on it, but I was able to tighten various joints to eliminate this problem. In addition to resting your knee on the pad to move about you can sit on it to do tasks. The brakes are pretty effective and the unit feels quite stable, so I have no fear of gliding down a long decline. It's possible to go up or down a short step, but a little tricky. The unit is very solidly built, with heavy duty welds at all major joints. It is also a little heavy for getting in and out of the car.
November 5, 2008
I'm writing this first of my Amazon reviews because I am a huge fan of this product. I had ankle surgery four weeks ago. For the first week and a half I had too much pain to lower my leg and return to the world. Once the pain was gone, remembering life on crutches from earlier broken bones, etc., I dreaded making my way around. My doctor recommended a knee walker, and Mayo Clinic rented me one of these. Amazing. I scoot down the halls where I work, through grocery stores, anywhere with a smooth surface, even sidewalks outside. Not much effort to it, and it's no trick to balance. I did test drive another at a clinic where I live--a kneebop, I believe, and found it much less substantial and stable that the Essential Medical. If you're interested in having a knee walker, this is the one for you. My only complaint is that when you take the brakes off lock they spring up hard. One whack and next time you'll keep your fingers out of the way.
March 9, 2009
I purchased this for use after my foot surgery. I am not strong enough for crutches, and due to an old back injury I can't hop with a walker. The knee walker is perfect. I lock the wheels and use its handle bars to help me stand from a sitting position. When sitting in a chair, I can use it to elevate my foot. It easily supports my weight (>200lb) and clears the smallest doors in my house. It took a little practice, but I can now maneuver in the smallest places.
July 17, 2009

PROS:
  • Can take weight up to 400 pounds
  • The frame is durable
  • The frame comes with a limited life warranty
  • It can turn up to 30 degrees radius

CONS:
  • Quite narrow so you feel less stable
  • It is not very light and if you are weak you may need some help with it
  • It will prove difficult to find your balance

back to menu ↑

ROS-KS2 Knee Scooter

Roscoe Medical ROS-KS2 Economy Knee Scooter

This economy piece is affordable and the best medical scooter you can bet on for mobility. If you are lacking on space for storage you should not worry as this one is foldable and taking even lesser space. The knee space and handlebars will be easily adjusted offering a chance for different heights. Roscoe Medical ROS-KS2 is specifically manufactured with your comfort in mind so you can rest easy on that.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Roscoe Medical ROS-KS2 Economy Knee Scooter

The Roscoe Economy Knee Scooter offers an affordable choice in mobility for those suffering from an ankle or foot injury. The Roscoe Economy Knee Scooter can easily be folded down for transportation ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Item Weight

19.5 pounds

Shipping Weight

23.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Domestic Shipping

Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.

International Shipping

This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More

Item model number

ROS-KS2

Just had foot surgery and my doctor recommended a knee scooter. In my area rentals are quite expensive, so this was a perfect compromise. It's very basic but definitely does the job. It's well made and sturdy. It required very little assembly and, if I use it for two months, will end up being less expensive than a two month rental. I'm very happy with this purchase
February 21, 2016
The scooter was delivered in two days - a plus for Amazon. The scooter is sturdy and well built, easily adjustable, a breeze to use indoors. It can be used outdoors with extra caution simply because of sloping grades and different surface textures - definitely NOT recommended on grass or other soft surfaces. I strongly recommend the lambswool cover (extra) because the basic cushion is a tad slipery and could cause injury to a patient if the knee slips off the seat. Overall, it met my expectations, however, I downgraded the scooter one star because of its tendency to tip over if the steering is turned too sharply. Little stability is provide by the rear wheels that are only about 6" apart. The front wheels are about 18" wide for better stability, but when turned sharply so the front axel nearly parallels the frame, there is no lateral stability and a surgical patient may not have proper balance or self stability to avoid falling on top of the scooter. With caution, the scooter is very functional and beneficial.
March 14, 2016
With a broken foot on one leg and a bad knee on the other-this piece of equipment is a MUST HAVE. This has saved me from repeatedly falling while on crutches. It is extremely well made and breaks down easily for transporting.
February 18, 2016

PROS:
  • You can steer it for easy maneuverability
  • Quick and easy adjustments to allow for different heights
  • It is foldable hence occupies less space for storage; It is also easy for you to travel with it

CONS:
  • The weight limit is too low at 250 pounds
  • Not recommended for soft surfaces and grass
  • Lacks lateral balance
  • The brake does not work well

How to Choose a Knee Scooter?

Not every other medical scooter out there will be ideal for your needs. In fact, something that works for another person may not work for you. You will have to specific with what you want if you are to get your desire. To help you make the best decision for you knee scooter here is how to choose one:

  • Wheels are very important: one of the features you should get right with the medical scooter you are buying is the wheels. Wheels make you device stable. For wheels the bigger they the better. They will be stable in different situations and you need that if you will use your scooter outside.
  • Steering option: this is a crucial feature and you should ensure it is there before you make a final choice. For the best of it go for the automatic option since you may not have enough energy for the manual option.
  • How easy does it fold? Folding is a necessity you cannot miss. It makes it easy for you to store or carry your scooter wherever you go.
  • Does it have a knee pad? Yes, you need all the comfort you can get from your knee scooter. The pad makes it easy for you to have you knee placed on the seat for quite long.
  • Weight capacity: you should consider the weight limit for the medical scooter you are buying. Most of them come for a weight range of 300-350 pounds. This is adequate for most users but if you weigh more than this you should look for one that will give you your weight range.
  • The price you are paying for it: you have a budget before you even decide to buy your knee scooter. There are pieces ranging from cheap to expensive and each comes with particular attributes. What matters is getting something that will be good for you. Do not pay much that your pocket since there pieces out there that are affordable yet they give you all that you desire.
  • Will you need tools to assemble it? Easy assembling is something that you should not look down upon. You need to purchase a device that will not take most of your time and effort. The ones that you will not need a tool will best meet this criterion.
  • Adjustability: your medical scooter should be able to adjust for your height. You should go for something that is easy to adjust.

Competition — Which of Them Is the Best Reviewed?

Customers have had their say on the best-reviewed medical scooter. The best-reviewed piece and one that enjoyed maximum purchase from use is the Deluxe Cycle Scooter. Its stability and ease of use made it a top spot piece. It has all the modern features you can ask for. To be honest it is a piece worth every dime you are spending on it.

Kneerover Steerable Scooter takes the spot for the competitor reviewed piece. It is an innovative knee scooter that was designed with a diversified mind. As such it will offer good exercise and support for a number of situations. It is the easiest choice you can make given that other buyers have given it thumbs up. On the downside, you do have to worry about that since it is something you can get an easy solution.

Do you already have a choice for the knee scooter you are going to buy? You must have arrived at this decision since everything has been made easy for you. Each of the reviewed pieces here was thoroughly vetted so if you are buying one of them just know you are making a right decision. But the room is all yours to choose what is best for your needs. But whatever purchase you settle for, make sure you follow the guidelines on how to choose the best knee scooter. Happy shopping!

Sources:

Amazon.com

Wikipedia.org

Ebay.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password