Best Headphones Under 200 –Top 10 Reviews in 2016

There are hundreds of great headphones in the market, but they all come at a price. At the same time, everyone is looking to get good bang for their buck when buying headphones. For this reason, we rounded up 10 of the best headphones under 200 that are sure to give you your money’s worth. Read on as this guide will help you figure out how to pack quality into a lower price unit.

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Headphones

 

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Headphones

Audio-Technica’s ATH-M50x has received rave reviews from most consumer sites for a noble reason. First, it offers an unsurpassed level of comfort thanks to the supple padding on the ear cups as well as the horizontal and vertical pivoting on each cup. It also provides excellent sound quality than any other headphones at its price range. All of the sound ranges-high, low and mid have a crisp and clear sound with deep, accurate bass response. In addition, it has a circumaural design contour around the ears to block out sound when you’re in loud environments. One other thing that certainly captivates about the ATH-M50 x is that it comes with a detachable cable. If you’re at all familiar with headphone problems, you know that a cable input ensures that your headphones outlive a suspect cable.

  • Product
  • Photos

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Studio Monitor Headphones

As the most critically acclaimed model in the M-Series line, the ATH-M50 is praised by top audio engineers and pro audio reviewers year after year. Now, the ATH-M50x professional monitor headphones ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is my video review from the MKBHD YouTube Channel.The price/performance ratio is excellent, as with the previous M50s. The removable audio cable is the biggest difference, and the color choices are awesome. Worth checking out, for sure!Enjoy the video!
February 15, 2014
A lot of people are wondering what difference these headphones have compared to the ATH-M50 and the simple answer is they went with a don't fix what's not broken approach. The sound quality on these headphones remain unchanged from the old ATH-M50 which has superb quality for headphones in it's price range. What did change however is the removable cable which for some who learned the hard way can break and would require trying to fix them or picking up a whole new set of headphones altogether.The headphone cushions are also noticeably more comfortable for extended periods of use. As comfortable as the previous model was after extended use I would get this feeling that my head was being suffocated and gripped which would lead to a headache and while I don't think that feeling can ever be removed these headphones do a great job of prolonging that feeling.For those asking about the cable connection going into the LEFT headphone, it is a snug connection so you won't have to worry about the plug coming out.All in all if you own a pair of ATH-M50's I wouldn't go rushing out the door to replace them with these unless removable cables are that big of an issue to you but if you don't own the M50s this is definitely the way to go since you won't have to choose between coiled or straight cables when you can have them both.
February 7, 2014
A real world and practical comparison of Audio Technica ATH-M50 and the new ATH-M50x. This review is for people who haven't owned the old or the new ones and is contemplating a purchase between the two. I am not a DJ or audiophile, so this review is geared towards common folks who just use headphones for listening to music, videos, audio books, movies in a real world setting using phones, tablets, laptops etc (i.e. not professional equipment).Price -M50 - look for deals online and you can find a brand new one for under $100 easily (I bought mine brand new for $80) with a deal alert on Slickdeals.M50x - $169-189. Since they are relatively new there has not been any price reduction or deals yet and won't be for quite sometime.Sound quality -Same as M50, i.e. excellent and the best you can get for this money. Tons of reviews covering this so I'm not going into details.Sound isolation i.e. noise cancellation -Same as M50, i.e. very good. These aren't active noise cancelling, but its good enough for using in airplane, train, library, public transit or any other quiet environment. A very big plus compared to a lot of headphones that leak sound and renders it useless in such environments or in bed at night.Build quality -Speaker components - sameBand - samePadding - uses a slightly better material, but Audio-Technica won't give out the exact specifications.Both these are made in Taiwan.Convenience - (I found this to be a big deal)Connectors and wires - M50 comes with only 1 attached coiled/straight cable with a 3.5 mm plug and a 1/4" adapter; M50x comes with 3 cables plus its removable.Read more ›
February 17, 2014

PROS:
  • It boasts unrivalled sonic performance in its price range. 90 degrees rotating ear cups enable natural professional-grade one ear monitoring for more comfort and durability
  • As one of the top contender headphones under 200, it is well within reason for budget conscious consumers
  • It comes with a carrying bag that enables you to fold it into its most compact position

CONS:
  • Lows can be somewhat punchy but not to the extent that it compromises the overall sound quality

back to menu ↑

Bose SoundTrue Around-Ear Headphones II

Bose SoundTrue around-ear headphones II - Apple devices, Charcoal

There’s a ton of things to like about the Bose SoundTrue Around-Ear Headphones II. It’s one of the lightweight and most comfortable options in the headphones under 200 category. In fact, you can wear it for hours without having any discomfort. It also has the best set of cans when it comes to sound quality. The bass response is terrific, and the sound is rich and well-defined. It is refreshing to have an inline microphone and remote that allows you to switch to calls on your phone. It comes with a leather carrying bag that’s the same color as the headphones. Its casing is however not very sturdy so don’t expect it to safeguard your headphones completely.

  • Product
  • Photos

Bose SoundTrue around-ear headphones II - Apple devices, Charcoal

Bose Sound True around-ear headphones II were engineered with advanced Bose technologies. They feature exclusive TriPort technology so your music sounds deep, clear and full of life. Plus, they were ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have a pair of the Bose SoundTrue Headphones Around-Ear Style, Black around the ear headphones and love them and so wanted to give this newer version a try. While the sound was ok, Bose has changed the design to give more emphasis to the bass at the expense of the rest of the frequency range which is reproduced with a lack of spaciousness and muffled. I like bass as much as the next person, but not when the sound lacks balance like these headphones do. They are still better than many headphones out there at this cost, but I am disappointed with Bose for moving in this direction with a product that was amazing.AppearanceBose notes that these are slimmer than the last version, but upon inspection and checking the dimensions, the outer dimensions are exactly the same. The SoundTrue 1 had an ear cup that tapered which gave them a slimmer look than the SoundTrue 2 which are more boxy in shape. The headband for the SoundTrue 2 is twice as wide and thicker than the SoundTrue 1. While the SoundTrue 1 had a red pattern inside that ear cups that you would see if you had them around your neck, the SoundTrue 2 ear cups have a black and white pattern inside with L and R written to indicate which side goes on which ear.ComfortBose excels at making headphones which are so comfortable that you forget that you are wearing them and the SoundTrue 2 are no exception. The ear cups of the SoundTrue 2 are a soft material that feels comfortable against your skin. The headband is cushioned and barely touches the top of my head.Read more ›
September 22, 2015
I just wanted to write a review of these to give the most unbiased review I possibly can.Sound Quality:Yes, these are the updated version of the Soundtrue 1 which I owned, there is no difference in sound quality AT ALL. Which is amazing. I confirmed this by calling two local Bose stores and they confirmed there is no change in audio quality just a refresh on the design "why change something that sounds great" one of the reps told me. I mainly listen to Country, some Hip-Hop and some EDM music. These headphones perform amazing with all these genres. The bass is there, not head-rattling like some may like. But I like to listen to music, not a bunch of bass. I like to feel immersed in my music when I'm working out so I can lose myself, these headphones do just that. I can hear the details in the acoustics, mids and lows. Just trust me when I say I returned 4 headphones(one of those were the Beats Studio) I bought from Best Buy before giving these a shot and I'm so glad I did. How could I ever doubt Bose.Build Quality:These feel very well built, some may say the plastic feels cheap but it is a high grade plastic made for durability, Bose does this to maintain a lightweight headphone. The padding on the ears is a soft memory foam and conforms to the shape of your head. When you slip these on be prepared because you will forget that you even have them on due to how lightweight they are. The padding on the top of the headphones provides the same comfort the ear cuffs do. It will not feel like you bar a plastic pressing up against the top of your head. I can't stress the comfort of these.Overall this is the best purchase you can make for this price range. Save the heartache of returning a product and choose Bose first.
November 6, 2015
I purchased these from BestBuy but I really enjoy them and wanted to make sure I reviewed them here as well. First off I'll start by stating the fact that I consider myself an audiophile, I do appreciate a balanced and crisp audio experience. I own a pair of Sennheiser HD558's, Bose QC25, Audio Technica ATHM50x as well. I usually do not buy Bose headphones for their sound quality (bought QC25 from Bose for noise cancellation on flights) but the Soundtrue 2's have changed that, Bose has really improved their sound quality here. Not only is the sound quality comparable to my HD558's (Although my 558's are open back), but the comfort is unmatched across any headphone I've ever used, I mean literally these are the most comfortable pair of cans I've EVER owned, sometimes I forget they are even on, which is very important to me because I'm using them for extended periods of time. I actually returned my Sennheiser Momentums for these even though the Momentums mids-lows are slightly better the sound quality of the Soundtrue matched with the comfort and visual appeal made me switch for these, VERY rare for me, I've used Sennheisers as my default set for years now. Overall, very surprisingly awesome sound quality from Bose, great build quality, unmatched comfort IMO, even more comfortable than my QC25 imo.I never thought I'd use a pair of Bose for my daily cans due to sound quality but the Soundtrue 2's have changed my mind and really impressed me.
March 3, 2016

PROS:
  • It features a softly padded headband that ensures weight is distributed evenly across your head, plus the memory foam cushions your ear perfectly
  • The earphones are made to remain comfortable playlist after playlist; They are not wireless but detach easily for quick storage

CONS:
  • The midi sound seems a little muddled especially when listening to vocal-heavy volumes

back to menu ↑

Sennheiser HD 598 Over-Ear Headphones

 

Sennheiser HD 598 Over-Ear HeadphonesThe Sennheiser HD 598 Headphones offer impeccable sound quality as well as unsurpassed comfort. This stylish earphone features ear cups with high-end burl-wood detail against the premium metal mesh. Its innovative design delivers unbelievably detailed and balanced sound in the high, mid and low levels. A high-quality headband and ear cushions provide impressive wearing comfort for all-day listening. Additionally, its signature E.A.R — ergonomic acoustic refinement design passes audio straight into your ear to give you an exceptional listening experience while blocking out external sound. The transducers use a unique diaphragm geometry that reduces harmonic distortion while conveying high output and remarkable frequency response.

  • Product
  • Photos

Sennheiser HD 598 Over-Ear Headphones - Ivory

The HD 598 headphones are open back, over ear, audiophile grade headphones that combine exceptional sound and comfort. They feature luxurious velour covered ear pads and stylish burl wood parts for a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Having looked through the other reviews for these headphones, there seems to be a general lack of understanding with regards to what you're getting with Sennheiser's HD598.1. Sound Isolation: These headphones are not at all designed to be sound isolating. They are completely open - any other sound in your listening environment will come in, and anyone else around you will be able to hear what you're listening to. That being said, they are not intended to be used on the city bus or subway, or in a library, or in your cubicle at work. These headphones are for listening to music and movies in the quiet seclusion of your home or studio. The openness is what gives these headphones the unmatched sound stage they have. No closed set can even come close, on any price range.2. The 1/4" Plug: On the end of the HD598 comes a plug size that may not be familiar to many. This is not a set of headphones for your iPod or your laptop's headphone jack. Will it work with the included adapter? Sure. By doing so are you missing out on what these headphones have to offer? Absolutely. If you don't have one already, get yourself a headphone amp with the HD598. You need a good source to bring these headphones to life, and with one you won't have to turn the volume way up to hear the finer nuances.3. The Bass: Sennheiser is not known for their hard hitting bass. Think of their HD5XX line like German sports cars. Some might think they're boring or soulless, but those looking for a consistent, predictable, and balanced performance get exactly what they want out of them. They are designed to give the same output levels across their entire functional range, and the HD598 leads the group. Bassheads should look elsewhere.Read more ›
September 20, 2011
I bought these headphones during amazon's ridiculous Black Friday flash sale where I was able to nab a pair for a cool $99.99. For that price it is an absolute steal. If you are new to the open back headphone scene then these are an excellent starting pair to get yourself accustomed to the different sound signature they offer. I am coming from Audio Technica's ATH-M50 closed back headphones and boy can I tell the difference!Before I delve into the nitty gritty parts of this review let me first say that headphones are SUBJECTIVE. If you like bass heavy headphones (e.g. beats by dre) that vibrate on your head then these are not for you. Now that that's out of the way let's continue. The 598s have a higher 50 ohm impedance compared to the norm of 32 ohms so you might have trouble getting the volume you want out of certain devices. This can be easily overcome with an amplifier. I'm using an Aune T1 tube DAC/AMP combo to drive the 598s since I prefer a warmer sound.I would say the biggest difference between the M50s and 598s is the soundstage. Now if you're unfamiliar with the term 'soundstage' all it really refers to is the headphone's ability to reproduce sound in a way that tricks your ears into perceiving the music is coming from all around you. Rather than being confined to the space in between your ears and the closed back of the M50s the 598's open back design allows sound to penetrate the back of the headphones which in turn creates a more 'open' soundstage. For me, it opened my eyes to an entirely new listening experience. These things do leak sound (which they're designed to do) so if that is something you're trying to avoid then these won't work for you.In terms of comfort, the 598s take it by a long shot.Read more ›
December 6, 2014
If you're reading this review, it's probably because you've either stumbled upon the HD 598's while looking for headphones on Amazon, or you've been to head-fi.org which is a website where you can read all about the legacy of all different headphones wether each headphone has been criticized negatively, has awesome reviews or some, both. In the case of the 598, there has only been awesome reviews. For those of you who have just stumbled upon this headphone, i will spare you the time it takes to read about headphones becuase you will get hooked. Simply put, these are AMAZING headphones. Let me first off say that what drew me into liking these headphones was their ability to sonically reproduce anything i threw at them accurately and without distortion. I absolutely love acoustic recordings. These headphones will make you feel like you're actually getting a personal perfomance from any performer. If there are any other performers in the mix then there is an attribute of the headphone called soundstage that helps seperate the instruments or different sounds anyways. This helps create a mental image needed to feel the capability of a headphone. These headphones excell with soundstage and mental imaging. As for bass, it's tight and well controlled. There really isn't a focal point on the bass if through electronic music it's kind of like just there. With bass from an instrument, there is a very good focal point that adds to the headphones imagining. Brilliant. These headphones do need a minimal 40 hours of burn in and they sound good through an mp3 player. I do suggest highest bitrate possible such as 320kbps or FLAC and cd's because the 598's are so good at reproducing what is given to them.Read more ›
October 31, 2011

PROS:
  • It is compatible with many devices including phones, computers, and tablets
  • It uses premium components including Sennheiser’s engineered aluminium voice coils to deliver efficiency
  • A 2-year international warranty guarantees you peace of mind for many years

CONS:
  • Like most headphones under 200, they are not designed to isolate sound — any sound in the environment can quickly come in

back to menu ↑

Beats Solo HD On-Ear Headphone

Beats Solo HD On-Ear Headphone (Discontinued by Manufacturer - Blue)

Beats Solo is one of the headphones under 200 that’s just about as good as they can be. Filled with color in an elegant design, these earphones are the first of its kind to feature matching ear cups, headband, and cord in an exclusive matte finish. They are compact enough to fit effortlessly in your backpack and offer superior comfort. With regards to sound quality, Beats Solo has gone far and beyond to provide high-quality sound accurately by reproducing all the details of the music you’re listening to. As such, you get crisp, clear highs, lows and mids making the headphones perfect for long listening sessions. When you buy this headphone, you can rest assured that you’re buying quality, durability, and comfort in a single package.

  • Product
  • Photos

Beats Solo HD On-Ear Headphone (Discontinued by Manufacturer - Blue)

Solo HD High-performance with advanced driver design that allows you to enjoy every studio nuance of your favorite music. Deeper bass, bolder midrange, and cleaner, undistorted highs, long-wearing, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Beats are great headphones but are they worth $200?? Not really, at least in my opinion.. I have purchased several pair, few for me and a few for gifts.. I have always purchased mine on black friday for under $100.. For $100 they are amazing headphones!!! Few tips to keep an eye on1.) Some reports speak of beats breaking.. Older beats did because they didn't have a metal band inside the plastic to make them stronger.. At some point beats added this.. I believe it was right after the monster breakup but just to be sure I can promise all of the "Drenched" in color beats have this metal band!! This makes them very very very durable and premium headphones!2.) Beats are designed for heavy bass music! Meaning they will sound better with rap, pop, and poppy rock. These solo beats produce no where close to "Premium" sound BUT for $100 - $150 headphones they do produce great sound for the price!Beats are trendy, cool, colorful, and sound good.. this is why they are so popular but there are headphones that do sound much better and much lower cost than the standard retail of beats headphones.. If you can get beats on a good deal they are worth the price.. If you have a kid, friend, or anyone else who is asking for beats they probably want them for their cool factor.. I wouldn't go cheap or even buy better headphones (Even if they cost more like Bose) if you are specifically asked for "Beats".. Again this is because of their cool factor and probably the majority of their customers want them because they are coolThe new drenched versions do not hold fingerprints! My favorite part!Lastly, keep in mind that the cable that comes with them, while it works for android is designed for apple and iphone products..Read more ›
December 21, 2014
I bought my beats in February of 2015 .They broke already I took really good care of them not a scratch on them. They had great sound love them. For as much as I spent on them my old cheap 10 dollar head phones lasted longer.i took them off my neck an them broke in half. I was so upset now there in the case brand new an broken.
July 8, 2015
My brother got a pair of these for my daughter a little while ago, an upgrade from the Soul by Ludacris SL100 set she has. Of course she was happy, she had the headphones that all teens want and these sounded pretty good. Nice bass, smooth sound and of course the look and brand recognition.Here comes the surprise... 2 weeks later I saw her wearing the Soul headphones, my reaction: Oh No, the Beats got damaged! "Nope." Huh? Nonchalantly she stated "These sound better..." Huh? But the Beats are the cool headphones right? "Yeah... but... I like these better."I had to try them again myself. She was right. Although the Beats do sound pretty good (to me), the Soul has a nicer sound to it. The Bass seems fuller and the Mids and Highs seem clearer. By themselves, the Beats sound solid, but comparing it directly with another headphone set, the Beats just don't stand up to scrutiny. For kicks and giggles I picked up and compared an old set of Sonys that I had lying around, probably paid $40-$50 for them 3-4 years ago. The Beats definitely gave me better Bass but the Mids and Highs on the Sonys sounded better. That surprised me!So now my doughter is continuing to wear her one year old Soul headphones (that cost half the price of the Beats) and the Beats are her "back-up set". I may yet convince her to sell it on eBay and put some $$$ in the bank.
January 5, 2014

PROS:
  • As one of the headphones under 200, they are perfect for the busy life thanks to its flexible construction reinforced with a durable metal strip
  • It has a built-in mic for calls that lets you switch easily between incoming calls and songs

CONS:
  • It doesn’t come with a carrying bag

back to menu ↑

Sony MDR-AS20J/WHI Active Style Headphones with Soft Loop Hangers

Sony MDR-AS20JWHI Active Style Headphones with Soft Loop Hangers, White

 

The Sony MDR-AS20J Headphone is the perfect definition of comfort, durability and high-quality. It has a plethora of features which makes it stand out as one of the best headphones under 200. First, it has an excellent bass. This is because it has 13.5 mm dome type drivers unlike the regular 9mm driver of earbuds. Another thing that helps the bass is the clip design. It pushes the bud firmly but gently into the ear for clarity. Similarly, it has an exceptional ability to stay in place while you’re running. You can almost forget about it. With regards to sound quality, they offer a balanced sound that brings out an ideal frequency range. These headphones have an impedance of 16 ohms which makes it compatible with just any device under all listening dimensions.

  • Product

Sony MDR-AS20J/WHI Active Style Headphones with Soft Loop Hangers, White

The Sony MDR-AS20J Active Style Headphones make it easy to add a heart-pumping soundtrack to whatever you're doing. The lightweight headphones feature so-Feet loop hangers that fit comfortably around ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have been in search of a pair of headphones for running for about a year. I have tried primarily earbud style designs. I have not tried in-ear designs because I do not like the sound isolation provided by in-ear. I feel this is a safety issue for running. The earbuds I have tried simply lack bass. Even though the specs of the earbuds I have tried show a frequency response down to 20 Hz, there seems to be a bass roll off.The MDR-AS20J have very good bass. They have 13.5 mm dome type drivers as opposed to typical 9 mm drivers of earbuds. What also helps with the bass is the clip design. The clip design pushes the bud firmly but gently in the ear which helps with the bass response. Other earbuds slide out slightly which has a dramatic effect on bass.The MDR-AS20J stay in place while running. You literally can just forget about them. They will not budge. The cord is also very light which helps with the bouncing of running. The MDR-AS20J are very comfortable for me though they are not adjustable. Some users may have fit issues.These headphones have a very low impedance (16 ohms). That means just about any device can drive them to very high volumes, and at normal listining volumes, they will take less power.These headphonse are weather and sweat resistant. Another important consideration for running.These headphonse sound great. They have a balanced sound that does not over or under emphasize any frequency range. I used to watch movies in bed with a pair of high quality home headphones. The MDR-AS20J can hold ground even with my flagship headphones. I now use the MDR-AS20J for home listing in bed simply because they sound really good and they are so comfortable.Read more ›
June 29, 2008
I have been enjoying the Sony MDR-AS207J headphones since April and have not been happier with a pair of clip-on/in-ear headphones. Earbuds (like those included with most mp3 players) do not stay in my ears, even with the addition of optional size adjusters, especially at the gym, so after several years of purchasing earbuds of every brand and type I resorted to the less comfortable but terrible sounding MDR-J10's until this model came out. The soft rubber is flexible and comfortable, and because it goes completely around the back of the ear, the headphones stay in place. I where mine everyday, going to work or class, and run with them several times a week and they actually stay in place every time, something no other in-ear headphone has done for me. Some other advantages to clip-ons vs earbuds is that these clip-ons do not block out ambient noise, so you will be safe when out and about. They are comfortable, even after several hours, and I have even worn them to bed several times. Also these headphones sound really really good, especially for $20 headphones. My hearing is not great after years of working around power tools, but I was pleasantly surprised by the sound quality, especially after the dismal MDR-J10s. While the sound is not comparable to a pair of high-end, noise canceling headphones, I find it rather comparable to the Sennheiser PX100s, which are a mid-range headphone. So for everyday use when out and about you cannot go wrong with these. Save the audiophile listening sessions for something nicer. After 3 months of heavy use, these headphones show no wear or frays in the cord coating, and have held up to sweating in 90 degree weather and moderate rain. Speaking of the cord, I have found the length (which is pretty standard) to be perfect.Read more ›
June 27, 2008
Like many other picky runners, I have been in search of the "perfect" headphones for quite some time now. The standard iPod ear buds fall out of my ears (as do most other ear buds) and it seems as though every other pair of headphones I tried required constant adjusting while running. That's not the case with these! I wore these during about an hour of cardio (a 30 minute run and 30 minutes on an elliptical trainer) and I never had to adjust them once. They didn't even have that feeling like they're about to fall off. These take some slight mangling to put on my ears, but once they're on, they're staying.I'm no audiophile, but I feel that the sound quality is pretty decent. I've heard better and worse, but for a $20 pair of headphones, I think the sound is pretty darn respectable.The only thing I can nit-pick with these is that the cord is too long, although it comes with a cord clip to resolve this issue. Overall though, I'd HIGHLY recommend these. I've tried numerous pairs of headphones and these are by far the best.
July 10, 2008

PROS:
  • It has a light cord which makes it the best for running. It is also very comfortable
  • Unlike many headphones under 200, the MDR-AS20J is sweat and weather resistant

CONS:
  • When listening to loud volumes, the sound quality may be a little stifled

back to menu ↑

Sony MDR-IF245RK Wireless IF Headphone

Sony MDR-IF245RK Wireless IF Headphone

This infrared technology-based headphone offers an incredible battery life of 28 hours while producing superior sound output. Though not as advanced as the other headphones under 200, Sony MDR-IF245RK Wireless IF Headphone does a pretty impressive job with regards to excellent audio output thanks to its 40mm driver units. About comfort, it has a self-adjusting headband that feels super light over your head. This means you can use it for long listening sessions. Likewise, it has a muting function that helps lower the levels of noise when out of range. Inclusively, it made to our list of headphones under 200.

  • Product
  • Photos

Sony MDR-IF245RK Wireless IF Headphone,

Unwind with wireless audio that sounds great, just for you. Roam free within about 26' of your TV or sound system and enjoy up to 28 hours of listening on one charge. They're also comfortable, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was concerned a little buying these because of a few bad reviews mentioning static and/or connectivity. I decided to bite the bullet anyway. These headphones are great! They are comfortable to wear, have plenty of volume to spear, and light weight.It must be noted you can't hide the base these charge on. If you block the line of site from the base to the headphones you will produce static. Static is not produced by turning your head and walking around the room, as long as nothing comes in between you and the front of the headphone base. I would highly recommend these head phones. I only wish I bought more than one pair on Cyber Monday. Thanks Sony!Side note, do not buy the package deal amazon suggest with the extra foam covers for the headset. They do not fit.EDIT: Spelling
November 30, 2012
We bought these for two reasons...... #1 my wife and I often have trouble hearing all the dialog when watching TV. Sometimes the actors are mumbling, or their voices are simply too low. These headphones give us greatly improved audio and eliminate the need to playback a scene to catch what was said; Reason #2, We can watch TV without having to annoy others with the sound. Our TV enjoyment is very much enhanced
November 24, 2012
I owe you this. I read others reviews to obtain what I thought to be the desired product. Thanks to you I have a superb product. Shipping was fast even though I used the cheapest method....may have been the free shipping order, but they arrived before I expected them.I am 60 db below normal hearing yet I put the comfortable fitting phones on and at minimum volume I had beautiful, crisp, perfect sound with excellent highs and bass.Installation took a minute or two to follow the adequate battery installation instructions. I plugged the 3.5mm connector into my Bose aux jack, gave the batteries a couple hours for an initial charge and away I went.I am sitting in a recliner chair about 20 feet directly in front of the unit. For those who lie in bed or do other things with these, other than the very clear instructions having to do with the headset receiver being in position to receive the transmitted signal, you are not going to have satisfactory reception and won't be happy......but that's your doings, no fault of Sony.It's just like your remote control. If the remote is not pointed at the receiver in your electronics, it doesn't work. Exactly the same system applies here and you need to apply some common sense.Mark
February 28, 2013

PROS:
  • Comes with a rechargeable battery so you don’t have to worry about buying an external charger
  • It is one of the economic headphones under 200, yet offers acceptable sound quality that almost matches its high-end counterparts

CONS:
  • It is not compatible with plasma televisions

back to menu ↑

Jabra REVO Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Headphones

Jabra REVO Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Headphones - Retail Packaging - Black

The Jabra Revo Wireless is an expedient set of Bluetooth headphones. It has excellent sound quality regardless of whether you’re roaming around town, enjoying a movie at home or on a flight. Its combination of high sensitivity and wide frequency range offer you a balanced sound with a strong bass and good treble. The 40mm driver on this headphone is sure to give you good sound than devices with smaller drivers. Additionally, the Jabra Revo can last for 12 hours on active mode and an incredible 240 hours on standby mode. Although its on-ear design isn’t entirely comfortable, it weighs only 8 ounces making it a much lighter and convenient option.

  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Jabra REVO Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Headphones - Retail Packaging - Black (Discontinued...

UNPLUGGED BUT STILL CONNECTED WITH JABRA REVO WIRELESS. Revo Wireless provides freedom of movement and clear sound quality that doesn

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Size (LWH)

7 inches, 8.66 inches, 3.22 inches

Weight

11.04 ounces

I've evaluated quite a few headphones on Amazon as of late from just about every category. My every day headphone is a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-ANC7B QuietPoint Active Noise-Cancelling Closed-Back Headphones headphones, but I will use my Motorola S11-Flex HD Wireless Stereo Bluetooth Headset - Retail Packaging - Black/White for jogs and P90X workouts. I recently had a chance to evaluate some Monster® Inspiration Active Noise Canceling Over-Ear Headphones -Titanium, Diamond Tears Edge On-Ear Headphones (Crystal), and several other makes and models. With that, I was eager and excited to try out these Jabra Revo headphones. A lot goes into my headphone reviews, so I hope you'll read through the whole thing to understand my 4 star rating for these headphones.ConstructionThe headphones are predominately plastic over the top head-band, with cups on the end of nice metal arms that fold inwards for storage. The inside of the top-head band is a soft silicone rubber that conforms nicely to the head. The ear cups themselves are a leatherette cover over a memory foam.Read more ›
March 27, 2013
[EDIT: Happy New Year!!!]I suspect that those who give them 5 stars, they never compared them directly with other better bluetooth Headphones.I compared them with:Sennheiser MM400-XBose Soundlink On-EarPhilips Fidelio M1BTSony MDR-10RBT[EDIT: even if not anymore on a side by side context, I later tested MANY more BT Headphones. Something which somehow became between a Hobby, a passion, and an obsession. In this moment I have tested more or less 25. I can give you a list if you write me a comment. I will not completely rewrite the review but I will update my impressions and wrie down which other Headphones could be more interesting in this or similar price range]I understand the emotional aspect of buying something you like, but, there is a difference between somebody who buy his first and only BT headphone and give 5 stars, or the same 5 stars given by somebody who tested all the best BT Headphones available.So, putting tastes aside, and keeping it as much objective as possible, the Revo ARE good. But not soooo good to deserve 5 stars!They anyway really deserve attention for the sound and features which they offer. And I keep suggesting them all the time over other similarly priced options (and even over some more expensive ones).JABRA REVO WIRELESSThey are beautiful, I liked their mix of discrete Olive and lively subtle Orange lines. But I prefer the Bose for discretion and the Fidelio for elegance.They sound warm, yes, but somehow a bit muffled. Probably because they lack a bit highs and upper mids.It is something you may not notice if you do not come from a bright sounding Headphone, and very probably something you can get used to.Read more ›
December 2, 2014
I know these headphone get rave reviews and I understand why. My review is a little less of a rave, and I'll try to explain my reasons. I did professional audio for quite a few years; I ran a studio and did remotes for local public radio. This is both good and bad--- while I think I have a good understanding of audio, I'm a little particular about quality. This review is a bit long; please bear with me.The headphones are lightweight and generally comfortable, a giant plus factor compared to heavier, bulkier cousins. They're "on the ear" design, which is smaller and lighter than "over the ear" but the Revo design is so good that they seem to have the passive noise-reducing benefits you usually associate with the larger over the ear models. This is very impressive.The headphones don't sacrifice durability to get their light weight, either. They look and feel like they are going to last for a while and stand up under heavy use. (In pro audio, this was an absolute must-have.) This is another example of the high quality of engineering that went into these headphones.Bluetooth pairing was really easy, just about as easy as it gets. Recorded audio walks you through the steps. It's just about no-fail simple. Headphone range depends on your bluetooth source as much as it does the headphones, but I found that walking around our condo provided little problem. There was the occasional dropout when moving quickly at some distance, but during normal use the signal was rock-solid. The headphones also offer NFS pairing to newer devices but I couldn't test this.You can control your audio remotely (nice feature) and answer phone calls.Read more ›
March 27, 2013

PROS:
  • It has a turntable touch control which gives you the freedom to play, skip or pause music while managing calls at the same time
  • It is designed with a sturdy aluminum frame, steel hinges and shatterproof headband for extreme durability
  • It has a foldable design for compact storage plus a detachable cord and USB charger for convenience

CONS:
  • Like many headphones under 200, it doesn’t provide noise elimination; you can hear noise from outside

back to menu ↑

Monster DNA On-Ear Headphones

Monster DNA On-Ear Headphones (White Tuxedo)

The Monster DNA On-Ear offers a clearer, tighter sound that lives up to its celebrated popularity among the average consumers. It has a bassier, warm sound that isn’t stifled in the mid-range. Its treble is also significantly brighter, cleaner and crispier, almost next to smooth. It is designed for a high level of comfort thanks to its padded ear cushions. Additionally, it is made of ultra-light materials which are surprisingly very durable and suited to withstand use and abuse. It also features a dual jack audio input that can be linked to your headphones to easily share any audio you want. The most interesting part is that you can entirely customize its look with any skin you want.

  • Product
  • Photos

Monster DNA On-Ear Headphones (White Tuxedo)

Advanced noise-isolating design reduces ambient sound; Ear cushions for comfort during extended listening sessions; Dual audio input jacks let you link your MusicShare headphones together and share ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I looked at all the reviews for these headphones and there's an obvious trend. People who give them positive reviews get insulting emails and negative replies to the reviews, plus the reviews get a ton of "not helpful" votes. Why is this? What is everyone so afraid of? People with negative reviews get a pat on the back from fellow Monster haters, and positive reviewers are treated like pariahs. It's simple - these headphones sound great. They are not all plastic, as some have claimed (making an all plastic headphone is impossible.) The "guts" of the hinge and ratchet mechanism for adjusting the size are stainless steel. I've yet to see plastic coils anywhere. Read the negative and positive reviews - you'll see the trend. People with negative reviews claim to know the manufacturing cost, always have "better" headphones, and the reviews sound similar - to the point of being scripted. People obviously despise the Dr. Dre history (that ended years ago) and seemingly over-priced cables. Many of the negative reviews are by people that admit to not owning or even using the headphones! Use common sense. Don't listen to the headphones on your iPod when the EQ settings are for your in-ear headset.I tried these with my THX certified computer sound card and my 7th gen Nano. Both sound fine. I have a couple of pairs of in-ear Sennheisers, and these sound just as good. No, I did not measure the frequency response, and, no, these have not been broken in yet. If you try a pair at a retailer, you can pretty much take it for granted that they were played way too loud, way too long without being broken in. So that's not a fair test. I listened to classical, rock, dance, opera, you name it. These headphones are designed with bass in mind. If your iPod has the EQ preset, you may have to adjust it.Read more ›
February 25, 2013
These are honestly the best sounding headphones I've heard in a while. I've tried beats and thought the bass was too overwhelming. I tried a good pair of sennheisers and thought they sounded great, but didn't like the way they looked or felt. Then I found Monster DNA's and knew these were the ones to get. It's truly an all in one package: DNA's sound amazing, look hella sweet, and they're comfortable as a tempurpedic pillow. And for all the people who rated this 1 star because of the price.. you guys need to relax. They're still dope as hell even if you've "heard better". I'm happy with my investment because I'm gonna be using these every day and I know for a fact that they out perform anything else that I've tried. And the white on black tuxedo style is freakin sexy. 'Nuff said.
July 22, 2013
I am not an audio expert but I think these earphones are great. I have a one hour commute of the train and these headphones give me great sound. For my ears they have great range and I enjoy listening to them to and from work. They also fold up and are real easy to carry in my work bag.
June 20, 2013

PROS:
  • It offers advanced noise isolating features meaning you can listen without disturbances
  • It combines all of the features you can find on headphones under 200- clarity, sound quality, and aspect resolution

CONS:
  • The ear pads can’t be replaced. If it gets torn, it can become a problem

back to menu ↑

AKG Q 701 Quincy Jones Signature Reference-Class Premium Headphones

AKG Q 701 Quincy Jones Signature Reference-Class Premium Headphones (White)

Conceived with deejays in mind, the AKG 701 Quincy Headphone will get you mixing like a DJ in no time. This set of quality headphones boasts sparkling harmonics and unrivalled realism in the lower frequency range. It offers huge, airy, three-dimensional sound quality that’s only produced by the finest high-end headphones under 200 category. Lately, it has been engineered to be the most accurate and responsive headphones ever created. For this reason, you get to hear music exactly the way the artist intended in true surround sound systems. Additionally, it employs flat wire voice coil technology and the AKG neodymium magnet system for vibrant high-frequency signal tracking and superb bass response.

  • Product
  • Photos

AKG Q 701 Quincy Jones Signature Reference-Class Premium Headphones - Black

Music producers depend on studio headphones for their success, and with an unprecedented 79 Grammy nominations, no music producer has achieved greater success than Quincy Jones. Here at the home of ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Quincy Jones is a musical legend! If he puts his name on a product, one can expect this product to be of the highest quality.In my search for the best headphones for the bucks,I was looking into buying a headphone from AKG to see what that famous brand has to offer. What decided me for this model was the endorsement by Quincy, alongside with the nicely discounted price.I have had the phone since just about a week. I have already started to take it through a burn-in phase but right out of the box, the set impressed me and also my colleagues. They have had a few occasions to try the headphones I buy (I own more than a dozen) and they told me this set impressed them the most.So what's to like?Let's start by the first impression when putting them on. They feel extra light. The cups are huge, so is the set; yet the weight is not really felt. The pressure is not on the ears but around it and it is highly bearable. I almost feel that my medium head and ears are too small for this headphone.It is still a bit early to judge the quality of the sound but yet, the first impression was of detail, clarity and more specifically of a large soundstage.I have read on some other models that the bass is lacking; not here... Fans of exagerated bass should keep on searching, actually, I could advise them the Ultrasone HFI-780S which has a powerful and still clean bass. In any case, the Q701 do provide a nice bass which I believe will get better with time.I rejected previously the Sennheiser HD-595 because of the lack of bass and the open design and yet, the Q701 are very reminiscent of this model. Same amazing comfort, same leaking sound but better bass, much better bass...Right now, I put them in competition with the ATH-A900 for first place in my collection.Read more ›
October 28, 2011
[UPDATE 02/2014]: It's confirmed on Head-fi that some (all?) copies of these headphones are now manufactured in China instead of Austria and there is a noticeable difference in sound quality. There are similar reports on here as well. Personally, that would have deterred me from buying them. Do your research and consider that a factor in shopping around if it's important to you.[/UPDATE]So everyone around me is getting Beats by Dre. I tried a pair and thought "Well, this sounds nice." Thus I began my hunt for my first set of stylish 'cans' that sound great. After tirelessly picking through reviews on every corner of the internet, my search led me to the Q701's. (And led me to stay far away from the Beats.) And I am very glad it did! They're less expensive, and sound better for my preference! I purposely waited a few months to write a review so make sure I could thoroughly experience them. I'm no audiophile (yet?) but I've learned some things. So take this as a detailed, "not quite yet an audiophile" review. 🙂 If anything is inaccurate, please let me know!Get these if:You listen to all genre's of music. Not just bass.Are willing to buy/carry around an external amplifier.Have room on your hard drive/mp3 player for high quality music (300mb to 700mb per album.)Want stylish headphones.DON'T get these if:You intend on using them with 128k bitrate mp3's or youtube.If you want 'hella bass' in your headphones.If you want high portability.AMPLIFIER: Now I ordered a ...Read more ›
February 6, 2012
I'm addicted to audio and did have a pair of Sennheiser HD555 prior to purchasing AKG Q701.The Sennheiser was OK, but didn't quite cut it for a lot of music I'm listening to.I've compared Sennheiser HD555, HD600, HD650, Beyerdynamics DT880 and AKG Q701 on a wide range of tracks, from classical to jazz to rock to blues.All Sennheisers sounded similar, progressively better from model to model, but not drastically better.DT880 lacked mid range, leaving the sound lifeless.AKG Q701 hit the sweet spot - it has the widest sound stage amongs them all, crisp and clear, have good base (not overly bassy though) and are very comfortable.It shines with blues, jazz, classical music, but I did find that I prefer Sennheiser sound for music like Placebo.That's why I decided to buy AKG and keep my Sennheiser HD555. Amazon price for Q701 was a nice bonus - amazing ~$240, while HD650 would cost nearly twice as much and it doesn't even sound as good.A highly recommended purchase if you like your music.Few notes:- These headphones are for proper stereo or headphone amplifiers. Don't buy them to be driven by an iPhod- These headphones leak sound and you will hear noises from outside. Home use only, next to your good stereo. I use them to enjoy music while the family is asleep.
July 16, 2012

PROS:
  • Its ear pads bear a 3-d form design that ensures perfect fit and comfort
  • One of the best headphones under 200. Produces sparkling highs and more than accurate bass response

CONS:
  • Have tiny bumps on the headband which make it slightly uncomfortable especially for long-day use

back to menu ↑

RHA MA750 Premium In-Ear Headphone

RHA MA750 Noise Isolating Premium In-Ear Headphone- 3 Year Warranty

With RHA’s Aerophonic design, the MA750 has been carefully constructed from individual machined stainless steel components. It has a handmade driver and over-ear fit that ensure exclusive sound output, comfort and noise isolation. The sound is efficiently channelled from the high-performance dynamics into the ear of the listener. The shape of the earbuds also plays a huge role in delivering full frequency and authentic sound production. Its over-ear fit cable supports are specially made so that the cable rests over the ear to give the user a secure fit that’s comfortable and noise free. It’s undoubtedly one of the best headphones under 200.

  • Product
  • Photos

RHA MA750 Noise Isolating Premium In-Ear Headphone- 3 Year Warranty

RHA MA750 noise isolating premium in ear headphone. Handmade dynamic drivers, machined stainless steel and a premium oxygen free copper cable; The MA750 epitomizes quality and performance. Using ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
These headphones just rock with superior quality in every area. The product comes with a three year warranty. The kit comes with a stainless steel mounting plate that holds 9 extra sets of silicone, double seal silicone and memory foam ear plugs. There are large, medium and small silicone ear plugs and two sizes of double seal silicone ear plugs. Please see my video for more details on the sizes.The construction of the head phones set is just excellent. It starts with a gold plated 3.5 mm stereo headphone plug that assures no corrosion of the connection to minimize signal loss due to changing impedances in the wiring. The cable is a nicely insulated and is a larger sized cable made from oxygen free copper to also reduce internal corrosion of the wire. The headphone's wire set is 58 inches long and it comes with a snap on clothing clip to clip onto your shirt and protects you from dropping them. There is a slide at the wire split to adjust the two earphone wires to suit your comfort and satisfaction. The body of the ear phones is made of Stainless Steel and they are marked for your left and right ears.Every connection point along the length of the headphone wires is professionally connected and has a very good strain relief to prevent the wires from breaking by being pulled or flexed to many times at a weak point. The ear buds are mounted on the end of the wire that has a permanent curve in it for an over the ear mounting that is simple yet nicely designed and comfortable. The set comes with a very nice bag for carrying them and for storage. The bag is nicely designed and has a side that will accept the stainless steel plate of ear buds and a pocket for the earphones. There is also an instruction manual.Read more ›
October 10, 2013
I am a headphone geek. I have headphones that cost upwards of $1000! I have been looking for a pair of in ear on the go headphones for the gym. I bought and tried a number of headphones in the $150-250 category. Then a knowledgeable friend suggested that I would like these. They are the lest expensive of the ones I tried, and they sound as good as headphones I have tried that cost upwards of $400. They have a very crisp clean sound, very good highs (some people have said they are a bit bright and can get harsh in the lower treble, but I don't find that), air, big soundstage, transparent midrange, and then there is the bass.The bass really does go down to the lowest levels, I have played some organ music with notes as low as 20hz, and these are one of only a few phones that have reproduced that. The other phones I have heard that get down that low cost way more than $500. Unlike a lot of headphones for 'bassheads' these phones have just a little bump in the mid-bass, but but then they go strongly down all the way. They may not stun you if you are used to rap music etc. where the bass is mostly mid bass, since they don't cheat and bump up that range like a lot of phones (i.e. Beats etc.). To get the best bass use the foamy tips provided because they seal your ear canal, which is essential for an in ear headphone to get good bass. You can also use the Comply T-200 foam tips which sound even better.They work really well with my iPhone 5, not needing any amplification to perform. The mic is decent, though a friend complains that he needs to hold the mic right up to his mouth to get good sound quality.The build quality is truly excellent. A friend said they looked like what headphones on the Space Shuttle should look like.Read more ›
March 1, 2014
I have a set of Bose MIE2i which are not noise isolating but sound pretty good and are very comfortable. I also have a set of Logitech Ultimate Ears 600vi which sound different to the Bose but still good. The 600vi are clearer at the high-end but not as good at the low-end and are not as comfortable. I prefer noise-isolating for use on the treadmill and when flying (the Bose are not very good for either of these).In my quest to find a set of comfortable, noise-isolating in-ear headphones that sound better than both the Bose and Ultimate ears, stay in place on the treadmill and cost something in the
November 26, 2013

PROS:
  • Included is a premium carrying case for storage and a clothing clip that attaches to the headphone cables
  • It has six arrays of RHA’s ear tips for excellent noise isolation

CONS:
  • Mic sound is quite not up to the mark of superb sound output

How to Choose the Best Headphones?

If you’re looking to get the most out of your headphones, there are several factors you should consider. We discuss them in detail below:

  • Excellent Sound: A good headphone should be able to deliver sound that’s correspondingly balanced across bass, treble and midrange frequencies.
  • Comfortable to Wear: Regardless of whether you intend to use headphones all day long every day or just occasionally, comfort is very critical.
  • Noise insulation Properties: If you’re looking to drown out external noise, you should look for earphones that offer noise isolation.
  • Frequency Range: A wide frequency range usually means you get to hear more from the music. Anything within 10Hz to 25,000Hz is recommended.

Types of Headphones

There are three main types of headphones. The type you opt for will depend on various factors, although personal preference is always the prime element.

  • Earbuds: These are small and cheap headphones that often come with smartphones and MP3 players. They don’t fit into the ear securely and are susceptible to sound leakage. They have the poorest sound quality.
  • In-ear Headphones: They are the most common type and are often associated with music players. They’re light, portable and cheaper than over-ear sets. They fit snugly into the ear and have minimal sound leakage. Their sound quality is poorer than over-ear headphones. Most headphones under 200 are in this category.
  • Over-ear Headphones: These are large headphones with cushioned pads that cover the whole ear. They are very comfortable and deliver splendid sound quality. However, they’re generally bulky and are therefore suited for home use. A few headphones under 200 are in this category.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among Reviewed and Why?

All the headphones under 200 are great choices; it becomes so hard to single out a winner. However, we have to identify the one headphone that won the hearts of most music buffs. And the award of honour goes to the Sennheiser HD 598 Over-Ear headphones. It has all the features one could ask for at its price range. From impeccable sound quality to unsurpassed comfort, you can never go wrong with it.

It has an innovative design that delivers unbelievably detailed and balanced sound in the high, mid and low levels. A high-quality headband and ear cushions provide impressive wearing comfort for all-day listening. Additionally, its signature E.A.R — ergonomic acoustic refinement design passes audio straight into your ear to give you an exceptional listening experience while blocking out external sound. Inclusively, it conveys high-quality sound and remarkable frequency response.

Sources:

Wikihow.com

Amazon.com

Ebay.com

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars ,
(2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password