10 Best Keurig Coffee Maker Reviews — Finest Models Only

If you think of a good cup of coffee the first thing that comes to mind is the best Keurig coffee maker that will provide you with that push that you need to face a long day at work. However, a cup of coffee should not only be warm but should also be good, and this is a result of its flavor and method of brewing. Keurig is the number one trusted brand globally and millions of homes use it to make that nice cup one needs to start the day.

Coffee brewing is not a new concept because people have been doing it for centuries, but the coming of the Keurig changed how we make it and also how it tastes. Not only do these machines make it possible to make a single cup as and when you need it, they do it faster than any other machine. If you are tired of wasting your expensive coffee or drinking something that you made hours ago, then you need a Keurig coffee maker.

Any coffee lover knows that there are many flavors to choose from, and if you want to enjoy your cup, then you have to try out different flavors. And this was not always possible before the coming of the Keurig but know you can have a different flavor every morning. And better still the machines also make hot chocolate and different types of tea. If this is not convenient enough then you should not expect to find anything better than this. Perhaps an in-depth look at the best Keurig coffee maker and what makes them fabulous should convince you why it is necessary to have this machine at home.

What Makes Keurig Coffee Makers Special

Keurig machines have changed how people brew coffee at home, and this is one of the things that makes it special. These modern machines give people the freedom to make the amount of coffee that they want and when they need it and hence reducing wastages. With this machine at home, you no longer have to drink that coffee that you made hours ago as your can fix a fresh cup in a minute or less. Apart from this, it will also not limit you to a single flavor like other machines that require you to buy a pound of coffee.

The K-cup brewing system and coffee pods give you the opportunity to drink a different flavor every day, and it is also cheaper since you do not have to buy a pound of coffee or more for your machine. However, these machines are not just about coffee, and this is another thing that makes them unique. You can use them to make flavorful hot and iced tea, soothing hot chocolate and many other beverages.

In addition to the flavor and other advantages that these machines offer you, they have also been designed to make clean-up easy for you. The K-cups are elegant and tidy, and so you will not need to spend much time cleaning your machine as you only need a couple of minutes to make it spotlessly clean. Another thing that may not be so obvious but still makes these coffee makers fantastic is the long term cost of coffee and the ecological impact of the machine. The manufacturer solves the two issues with a reusable K-Cup filter. This uniquely designed filter also allows you to brew any standard ground coffee on most Keurig machines meaning that it will be a long time before you need to dispose of it and hence minimizing the environmental impact of your coffee maker.

The Top Keurig Brewing Systems

Keurig K550 2.0

Keurig K550 2.0 Brewing System

Although it is still a one cup brewer, you can still make enough coffee for a large crowd or family as it offers you ten different brew sizes. Keurig K550 2.0 has an illuminated reservoir that comes with a flip top for easy access, and it hold up to 80 ounces of water, and this is what gives the machine the capability to make coffee for a large crowd. The 2.8 inches color touch screen is also fabulous, and you can use it to access the strength control feature that lets you choose the brew strength that you want. Other impressive features in the K550 include the nightlight and the vital function that allows you to get hot water on demand.

  • Product
  • Photos

Keurig 2.0 Brewing System by Keurig, Silver

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION YOUR FAVORITES. YOUR WAY. The K200 series brewer allows you to brew a 4-cup carafe with the same ease and convenience of brewing a single-serve cup

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
If you want a machine that brews a good cup of coffee then this will work for you. If you want a machine that puts all sorts of restrictions on what type of k-cups you can use this is also the machine for you. I think the Keurig is a great machine but it is a HUGE SHAME that the company decided to remove the ability to use your own coffee grounds in the home brew k-cup. I understand that Keurig is running a business and trying to keep their business operating at its best, but when you remove such a great feature and add too many restrictions "to ensure the system delivers on the promise of excellent quality beverages produced simply and consistently every brew every time", I feel like that is just a cop out. They should have just said we made these changes so our products would sell more so we could make a bigger profit. Not only did they remove the home brew k-cup ability, but Keurig has changed to appearance of their k-cups so the 2.0 will scan and read the tops of the k-cups then brew. If you have any old k-cups they will NOT work. Fortunately Keurig has a very good customer service department and will most likely send you new k-cups to compensate for the inconvenience, or they will send you a discount code to get a free pack like they did for me. I ended up returning the 2.0 because the restrictions are TERRIBLE in my opinion. On a positive note, other companies are cracking Keurig's special way of creating their k-cups which mean there will be ways to beat the system, but you still won't be able to brew your own coffee grounds. Overall, great product but EXTREMELY BAD features in my opinion. Happy shopping.
August 29, 2014
First, let me begin by commenting on purchase background, pros and finally cons.Background:I have been using the v1 of the Keurig since it was released. We used standard k-cup, third party and plastic one (for ground coffee). All worked very well in the v1 of the machine. My only issue was the machine was collecting so much scale (minerals) internally that it was barely pumping even though I tried many cleaning routines. Be that as it may, I was still happy with the machine. I seen the v2 machine and value package at my local Costco and purchase it wanting to use the new features and get a full cup of coffee!Pros:It does seem to be a well thought out and well built machine. I do like the option of using standard k-cups, Vue packs and the large Carafe packs. Each has its own options menu. (e.g. the Vue latte double k-cups can perform a coffee and a frothing cycle). There are also k-cup options for cup size and now strength! The menu interface is simple but functional. There are options for auto power on and off, energy saver options, nightlight and light color modes. The cup chamber seems easier to maintain as well as simple maintenance of the water chamber... but only time will tell. There is even a setting for hot water but this is limited to 8ozs at a time.Cons:I was thoroughly shocked and disappointed that when I made my first coffee using my enviro-friendly brand k-cups (which I love), the machine rejected them as a non-sanction k-cup and refused to start and gave me the message stating that this is not a genuine brand k-cup. I could be blamed that I did not do my due diligence in researching this purchase but I never would have guessed that DRM would be implemented on my coffee maker!Read more ›
September 29, 2014
Take a great concept, add some corporate greed, and voila...you end up with a piece of junk! Keurig's idea of shutting out other k-cup vendors has me taking my $160 machine back to Costco for a refund. I believe their thinking is that most people will not bother to return this unit...but I will! Plus, the "carafe" makes just 2 "real world" cups of coffee. And couple that with the fact that the "carafe" is a flimsy piece of junk plastic that will not keep your coffee hot for long. Too bad Keurig...great idea...very poor execution.
September 16, 2014

PROS:
  • It gives you the options to choose from 10 brew sizes and hence making it possible to get a machine that will produce the exact amount of coffee you wish on your cup.
  • This brewing system comes with an 80-ounce removable water reservoir. This massive size tank means that you do not have to keep on adding water anytime you need a cup of coffee.
  • The K550 is a very modern device that comes with a large color touchscreen display to make its operation easy and convenient.

CONS:
  • Although it has an Auto Brew option, it only works for carafes and will not function with K-cups. For most people this is very inconvenient as they prefer using K-cups.
  • Although the manufacturer markets it as a quiet brewer, it is a little bit louder than other brands.
  • This machine can only use a particular type of K-cups, and so you will probably not be able to make coffee when you run out of them.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K45 Elite

Keurig K45 Elite Brewing System

The Keurig K45 is one of the few brewers on the market that offer you the opportunity to choose from four different colors and so if the color is important to you, then you are likely to get something that is appealing to you. However, it also works fine, and you can be assured of a tasty cup of coffee every morning. With this machine, you can choose from three different cup sizes, and it allows you to brew a cup in less than a minute. And this is very beneficial since it does not have an auto start feature that you can use to program it to make coffee at a precise time. With this brewer, you also have the option to use a filter or not depending on your personal preferences.

NEW Keurig K45 Elite Brewing System Single Serve Coffee Maker Brewer (Black)

Description The Keurig® K-Cup® K45 Elite Brewing System brews a perfect cup of coffee, tea, hot cocoa or iced beverage in under one minute at the touch of a button. The Keurig® K-Cup® K45 Brewer ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com

PROS:
  • The K-cups make it mess-free and also very easy to clean. Although this might look like a small advantage, people with other coffee maker brands know just how hectic they can be to clean.
  • This brewer can be used to make coffee and tea in different flavors. To change the flavor, you only need to use a different K-cup.
  • It uses the old or original K-cup brewing technology, and so it will also work with non-Keurig K-cups making it a very convenient machine to have at home.
  • The massive 48-ounce reservoir is very convenient as you can fill it in the sink. Its design and size make it easy to handle and hence you will not have to go through a hectic time when trying to refill it.
  • Keurig 45 Elite comes with a removable drip tray that makes it possible for you to use medium height mugs. The machine also allows you to choose between 6,8 or 10 ounces of beverage, and so you can fill up the cup that you want.

CONS:
  • Although it gives you the option to choose between 6, 8 or 10 ounces, this is still a limited amount of coffee for some people.
  • It is UL listed for household use only, and so you cannot use if for hospitality or commercial purposes.
  • This machine lacks the auto-start feature, and so you cannot program it to have your drink ready by the time you wake up.
  • The K45 will need regular cleaning of its exterior and internal parts if you want it to function correctly.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K130

Keurig K130 Brewing System

Some people often regard this machine as the best Keurig coffee maker due to its compact size that makes it possible to keep it in very tight spaces. Keurig K130 is a solid-built brewer, and so you can be sure that you will have it around for many years. And although it uses the more expensive K-cups rather than ground coffee this makes it very easy to clean as it reduces the mess associated with coffee preparation. It uses less power than most other home brewers, and this means that it will take longer to make a cup of coffee. And so it is more suitable for people who are patient but even with its slow speed you will have your cup ready in less than three minutes. This brewer has a small 8-ounce reservoir that can only hold enough water for one cup.

  • Product

Keurig K130 Brewing System

First cup. Fourth cup - with Keurig, it's always a fresh cup. Pamper your guests with a touch of home away from home with the Keurig K130 in-room brewer, specifically designed for hospitality. Its ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Just received my new Keurig B130 DeskPro Brewing System today.... And I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! I have already made both coffee and tea with it. Beverage comes out at the perfect temperature each time. Simple to use. Takes up little space, which is perfect if you don't have a lot of counter space like me. I ordered this brewer over the many other choices of Keurig systems because it doesn't have the water reservoir tank (I like the idea of using fresh water every time rather than water that has been sitting). Perfect for home use and my needs.I did run about 8 cycles through the system before making my first cup of coffee to avoid the "burnt plastic" taste I have read about in other reviews. I ran one of the cycles with distilled white vinegar instead of water.... This will help if you get the plastic taste.Now as far as the complaints about not being able to use a reusuable filter like the "my k-cup".... I have read the only filter that will work with this system is the newest version of the SoloFill cup. It can be found here on Amazon. I ordered one and I should receive it next week. I will let you know if it does in fact work. I would love to be able to use my own coffee with this system.Bottom line- If you are looking for a smaller cheaper alternative to the larger Keurig brewers, this will be perfect for you. Keep in mind it is a single serve brewer though and only makes 8oz cups where the other brewers have multiple cup size options.****UPDATE****Still loving this Keurig brewer.Received the Solofill reusuable kcup today and it DOES work just fine with this machine. So if your looking for a reusuable cup instead of the one time use kcups, the Solofill works just fine!
February 16, 2013
If you don't read any other reviews in full, please read mine. There are some things to be aware of before buying the B130.I don't own this model of Keurig, but I've used it at a hotel for a few days. I'm looking to buy a small brewer like this for my office, and came across the reviews here. There are many good reasons not to buy the B130, most of which are just a good lesson in doing research before buying:- On Amazon, it's called the "Keurig B130 DeskPro Brewing System". On Keurig's website it's called the "Keurig B130 In-Room Brewing System". Strange, huh? If you read the rest of the description from Keurig, this machine is clearly intended for use in the hospitality industry (e.g. in hotels), and not in the home.When a company sells products for commercial/industrial use and products for home use, ALWAYS do your research before opting for the commercial/industrial items. As is the case with Keurig, companies usually have different warranties and customer service policies for each. Hence they may not honor the commercial warranty for an individual home or office user.- Some reviews complain that the B130 brews slowly. Yes, it does. That's evident from the fact that Keurig's site lists it as consuming 700W of power. (By contrast, the similarly-sized Keurig MINI Plus Brewing System for home use consumes 1425W of power). Why is this important? If you want to heat 8 oz. of water, it will take roughly twice as long to do it using 700W of power vs. 1425W, all other things being equal. That's a matter of physics and not of product design.Why did they sacrifice speed for lower power consumption? It's not to save money, because using 1400W for 2 minutes costs exactly the same as using 700W for 4 minutes.Read more ›
March 13, 2013
The Keurig B130 worked for two months and then simply would not power on. I phoned Keurig's customer service line and was told that my brewer was a commercial brewer and never should not have been sold via Amazon. It made no difference that the brewer was still well within the 12 month warranty period. I told the Keurig customer service representative that the B130 was actually sold by Wholesale Kitchen Inc., doing business as Kitchenista via Amazon. When given the serial number of the B130, the customer service representative said it only tracked to a distributor in Las Vegas, Nevada, and that I would have to "handle any customer service problems with Wholesale Kitchen Inc." I am sending the brewer to Amazon returns and if necessary will handle the problem via my credit card company.If you are considering the purchase of this unit, B130 DeskPro, NO NOT purchase it via Amazon unless you are prepared to spend considerable time and frustration attempting to resolve any issues, should the brewer fail within its warranty period.Added 9:05 pm CDT, June 21, 2012: I just received the following message via Amazon's messaging system from the seller, Kitchenista:"Hi,We are sorry to hear about this but since it was shipped to you by Amazon.com you would have to deal with them directly.Unfortunately we can't do anything from our end.Take care,Kitchenista"......................................................................................................................And there you have my unsatisfactory experience with Keurig and Wholesale Kitchen Inc. dba Kitchenista.I will purchase another Keurig brewer, but locally, from a chain retailer who stands behind the products it sells. If I get another lemon, it'll go right back to the retailer...in person.
June 20, 2012

PROS:
  • It is a very sturdy machine that is also very easy to use and if you have any trouble it has some clearly printed instruction graphics that you can follow.
  • The K130 is light and small enough, and so you can take it with you on your travels. Its sturdy design also means that it will not get damaged as you move it from one place to the other.
  • Just like most other Keurig brewers it allows you to have different flavors in your coffee by simply changing the K-Cup
  • You can use ordinary tapped water as it does not require you to use special water.
  • It economizes on electricity as it is designed to use less power.

CONS:
  • It uses less power than standard coffee makers, but this makes it slower than most other Keurig brewers. You have to wait for at least three minutes for your beverage to be ready.
  • The reservoir is small and only holds 8 ounces of water which is only enough for a single brew and hence you have to refill each time you want to make a cup of coffee.
  • Its setup may confuse some users as it requires an exact sequence but it will be simple once you get the hang of it.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K300 2.0

Keurig K300 2.0 Brewing System

You can almost never go wrong with a Keurig coffee maker, and if you use the K300 2.0, you will know just how good their machines are. Keurig K300 2.0 comes with a 60-ounce reservoir that will make it possible to prepare a couple of cups before you need to refill it. The 2.4 inches black and white display screen is also very interactive, and it lets you control the device effortlessly. And just like other 2.0 models from Keurig, it has a strength control that will help you get the taste that you prefer. Apart from this it also has the capability to prepare other beverages such as hot cocoa, chai and mocha.

  • Product

Keurig K300 2.0 Brewing System

Manufacturer's Description. The K300 series brewer allows you to brew a 4-cup carafe with the same ease and convenience of brewing a single-serve cup

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This review is for everyone that wants to brew there own coffees, or teas in the new Keurig 2.0 machine. I was frustrated like everyone else with the Keurig 2.0's requirement to use there proprietary single use disposable cups.BUT! I discovered the solution to using your own loose coffee of Your Choice without doing anything special to trick the machine.I found the "Perfect Pod EZ- CUP 2.0 which works beautifully with my Kurig 2.0. These cups use a disposable thin filter which slips inside the reusable plastic cups. I found this product at Bed, Bath & Beyond for 14.99, comes with 25 filters. The disposable filters are 4.99 for a 100. I have been using these for a week now, and have had about 30 cups of MY coffee with joy, and no problem with the 2.0. Very clean to use these. When your done brewing your cup, just pull out the disposable filter and throw it out. It's ready to load the next filter, and your next scoop of coffee for your next cup.There are other cups that say they fit in the 2.0, but they don't work. This one works! Works for K cups & 2.0 Brewers!No more Green Mountain cups! The skew number on the packaging of these 30816 16129.This cup is a pink cup. Be sure to get the right one. Bed Bath & Beyond skew on there price tag is 1032112. (See attached picture.)Hopefully this helps you with the Keurig 2.0.
January 18, 2015
I love the Keurig brewers but this machine is a big disappointment to me due to the fact that it completely controls and dictates what kcups you can and can't use with it. It absolutely won't accept the inserts so you can use your favorite brand of coffee; it won't accept many of the kcups currently on the market that actually may be one of your favorites (like Tim Horton, Gevalia, SanFrancisco Bay, Cameron's, etc) because they have not been approved by Keurig even though they will work in all the brewers by Keurig up until this 2.0 model and won't even accept Keurig approved Kcups purchased before about July since it will only accept those who say Keurig Brewed on the top of the cup. This brewer reads the lids - I was told if I put an "older" approved kcup in the machine it would say "oops" and I could call their 800# presumably to be able to be talked through an option that might let me use one of their approved coffees. This feels like a giant control effort to prevent people from enjoying their brewers unless you also use their coffees. Sooooo - if you happen to like a brand of coffee they don't approve of you will have to choose between their new brewer and all it has to offer or your coffee. I chose my coffee; there are a good many brewers that will still let me use my favorite brand of kcup that I don't need their new brewer. And given time, I expect the other coffee makers will also offer what this one does (like the option of making either a single cup of coffee or a 4 cup carafe of coffee with their new kcup size) without dictating what coffee you enjoy in it.Read more ›
August 30, 2014
I didn't purchase my Keurig 2.0 on Amazon. I received it as a gift. I thought, however, that I'd take the opportunity to review this product anyway because it wouldn't MATTER where I purchased it....it would be just as much a piece of crap. I had a Keurig...a nice one, with lots of features that I liked. For example, I could use any kind of K-cup out there and I found one that I really, really liked. I can't use that one anymore. Keurig has made the new 2.0 so that you can't use the little cup that held regular coffee. And it has to be an "official" k-cups because the new 2.0 reads the lettering on the rim of the new ones. As far as the carafe? It's a good idea in theory to have a little pot that will brew (supposedly) up to 6 cups of coffee (even more on some of the fancier, more expensive models). But in reality, you can only get a little over 2 regular sized cups of coffee from the carafe. Any more and it would definitely be too weak. The 4-cup setting is really pushing it...in my opinion. And I don't prefer especially strong coffee. In addition, the K-Carafes are expensive - anywhere from $16-$20 for 8 K-Carafes (which is approximately 18-20 cups of coffee.It's a gimmick...and not even a very good one at that. Keurig is trying to dominate the K-cup market and whoever buys this machine will be sucked right into it. I'm on the fence about returning mine, but I haven't quite decided yet.
September 8, 2014

PROS:
  • The 60-ounce reservoir in the machine will make several cups of coffee before you need to refill it making it a very convenient brewer.
  • Has an interactive touch screen that makes it easy for you to operate and program the machine. The touchscreen display also gives this machine a modern and classy look.
  • Keurig K300 2.0 comes with K-cup, carafe and K-carafe pods to ensure that you can brew your coffee how you like it.
  • This brewer has a strength control feature that lets you choose the concentration of your coffee.

CONS:
  • One of the biggest disadvantages with this and other Keurig brewers is that they only work with K-cups, and this can be inconvenient sometimes if you do not have them.
  • Some customers complain that although it has a strong brew setting, it still produces weak coffee or at least not as strong as they would wish.
  • It does not have an auto feature, and so if you are the types that like to wake up to the delightful aroma of a freshly brewed cup of coffee, this machine will not work for you.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K350 2.0

Keurig K350 2.0 Brewing System

The Keurig 350 uses the new Keurig 2.0 Brewing Technology to help you make a delightful cup of coffee and other beverages. It is a single cup brewer, but you can also use it to make a carafe for four servings. This brewer allows you to choose from ten brewing sizes, and you can also adjust the strength of your coffee. The K350 is also a very convenient machine to use because apart from having a large reservoir it can also be filled in the sink. Another notable feature is that you can also program it to brew carafes at a particular time.

  • Product
  • Photos

Keurig K350 2.0 Brewing System

Manufacturer's Description. The K350 series brewer allows you to brew a 4-cup carafe with the same ease and convenience of brewing a single-serve cup

Buy this item
amazon.com
This review is for everyone that wants to brew there own coffees, or teas in the new Keurig 2.0 machine. I was frustrated like everyone else with the Keurig 2.0's requirement to use there proprietary single use disposable cups.BUT! I discovered the solution to using your own loose coffee of Your Choice without doing anything special to trick the machine.I found the "Perfect Pod EZ- CUP 2.0 which works beautifully with my Kurig 2.0. These cups use a disposable thin filter which slips inside the reusable plastic cups. I found this product at Bed, Bath & Beyond for 14.99, comes with 25 filters. The disposable filters are 4.99 for a 100. I have been using these for a week now, and have had about 30 cups of MY coffee with joy, and no problem with the 2.0. Very clean to use these. When your done brewing your cup, just pull out the disposable filter and throw it out. It's ready to load the next filter, and your next scoop of coffee for your next cup.There are other cups that say they fit in the 2.0, but they don't work. This one works! Works for K cups & 2.0 Brewers!No more Green Mountain cups! The skew number on the packaging of these 30816 16129.This cup is a pink cup. Be sure to get the right one. Bed Bath & Beyond skew on there price tag is 1032112. (See attached picture.)Hopefully this helps you with the Keurig 2.0.
January 18, 2015
I love the Keurig brewers but this machine is a big disappointment to me due to the fact that it completely controls and dictates what kcups you can and can't use with it. It absolutely won't accept the inserts so you can use your favorite brand of coffee; it won't accept many of the kcups currently on the market that actually may be one of your favorites (like Tim Horton, Gevalia, SanFrancisco Bay, Cameron's, etc) because they have not been approved by Keurig even though they will work in all the brewers by Keurig up until this 2.0 model and won't even accept Keurig approved Kcups purchased before about July since it will only accept those who say Keurig Brewed on the top of the cup. This brewer reads the lids - I was told if I put an "older" approved kcup in the machine it would say "oops" and I could call their 800# presumably to be able to be talked through an option that might let me use one of their approved coffees. This feels like a giant control effort to prevent people from enjoying their brewers unless you also use their coffees. Sooooo - if you happen to like a brand of coffee they don't approve of you will have to choose between their new brewer and all it has to offer or your coffee. I chose my coffee; there are a good many brewers that will still let me use my favorite brand of kcup that I don't need their new brewer. And given time, I expect the other coffee makers will also offer what this one does (like the option of making either a single cup of coffee or a 4 cup carafe of coffee with their new kcup size) without dictating what coffee you enjoy in it.Read more ›
August 30, 2014
I didn't purchase my Keurig 2.0 on Amazon. I received it as a gift. I thought, however, that I'd take the opportunity to review this product anyway because it wouldn't MATTER where I purchased it....it would be just as much a piece of crap. I had a Keurig...a nice one, with lots of features that I liked. For example, I could use any kind of K-cup out there and I found one that I really, really liked. I can't use that one anymore. Keurig has made the new 2.0 so that you can't use the little cup that held regular coffee. And it has to be an "official" k-cups because the new 2.0 reads the lettering on the rim of the new ones. As far as the carafe? It's a good idea in theory to have a little pot that will brew (supposedly) up to 6 cups of coffee (even more on some of the fancier, more expensive models). But in reality, you can only get a little over 2 regular sized cups of coffee from the carafe. Any more and it would definitely be too weak. The 4-cup setting is really pushing it...in my opinion. And I don't prefer especially strong coffee. In addition, the K-Carafes are expensive - anywhere from $16-$20 for 8 K-Carafes (which is approximately 18-20 cups of coffee.It's a gimmick...and not even a very good one at that. Keurig is trying to dominate the K-cup market and whoever buys this machine will be sucked right into it. I'm on the fence about returning mine, but I haven't quite decided yet.
September 8, 2014

PROS:
  • This brewer has an important energy saver mode and an auto shut-off feature that ensures that it will use as less energy as possible.
  • The customizable setting makes it possible for you to brew a personalized carafe or cup.
  • It is compatible with more than 400 varieties of coffee, tea, iced beverages and specialty drinks. These beverages are from the most recognizable brands in the industry, and you only need to look for the Keurig Brewed seal to know whether you can use them with your K350 brewer.
  • With this machine, you can make a 4-cup carafe with a single touch of a button and with the same ease of making a single cup.
  • Keurig 350 2.0 has an adjustable strength control that will make it possible to brew bolder coffee.

CONS:
  • Does not work with reusable My K-cup filters or any others from different manufacturers that are used to brew ground coffee.
  • The brewer cannot accommodate the height of travel mugs, and so this will be very inconvenient if you want to carry some coffee to work.
  • Although you can program your machine to turn on at a particular time, you cannot program it to make a single cup. However, you can program it to make a carafe at a precise time.
  • It is UL listed for household use only and not intended for commercial or office use.

back to menu ↑

Keurig Platinum Single Serve Brewer

Keurig Platinum Single Serve Brewer

The Keurig Platinum Single Server Brewer features four programmable cup sizes and although it has many similarities with other machines from Keurig what sets it apart from the rest is the reduced noise when brewing. This coffee maker allows you to adjust the brew temperature, and it has an amazing blue backlight LCD that lets you monitor the brewer. You can also program the machine to switch on/off at specific times of the day, and the best thing is that it is ready to make you a cup of coffee three minutes. The other notable things in this machine are its 60-ounce reservoir and removable stainless steel drip tray.

  • Product

Keurig Platinum Single Serve Brewer for Keurig K-cups KUB70

Single-cup home brewing system for use with K-Cups (For best results only use Keurig patent K-Cups) One-touch control panel; blue backlit LCD display; digital clock; programmable on/off 5 brew-size ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
My wife's Christmas present this year is a Keurig B70 coffee maker. We have a B100 at work that I was very impressed by and we decided that a home machine would nicely fill the need when we might want a cup or two, but might not want to make a full pot.Long story short: we love the machine. So far, our favorite coffee is Timothy's Kona Blend -- but we haven't tried more than a handful of the scores of varieties of coffees and teas available for the beast. We got the extra filter for when we want to grind and use our own coffee in the machine, but have not yet had the opportunity to try it yet. It is a nice option to have.We'll still use our Zojirushi thermal carafe brewer when we need a full pot, but the Keurig is wonderful for lesser amounts. Highly recommended.I learned today that one of the coffee roasters that supplies the K-cups, Green Mountain, just bought Keurig (an American company with a Dutch name). I hope this won't limit the variety of coffees available for the machines -- that would be a major bummer if other roasters bowed out and would cause me to pull my glowing recommendation.UPDATE 7/30/07: The B70 died today after 8 months of yeoman service. A call to Keurig revealed that the symptoms matched a "bad element" (one would assume heating element). A replacement machine in on its way (arrival in 3-4 days). Keurig doesn't want the old machine back, just a part. Keurig customer service was extremely pleasant and professional. Assuming the replacement machine arrives in good form, the five star rating is intact. I do wonder if there is a generic problem with heating elements in this model -- I'll have to look through the newer reviews to see if I should worry.UPDATE 1/12/11: The replacement B70 is still going strong 3.5 years later. Still very happy with the unit.UPDATE 11/16/12: The same B70 is now at my wife's workplace and is still going strong. No additional repairs have been needed.
November 30, 2006
I recently purchased the new Keurig B-70 Gourmet Single Cup Home Brewing System that was released on October 1st, 2006 and have been very happy with it. The machine is extremely well designed, simple to operate, aesthetically pleasing, and most importantly, brews an excellent cup of coffee. I am very impressed with how quickly it is able to brew a cup of coffee, the selection of brew sizes, and how simple clean up is.There are a variety of single cup brewers on the market now, many utilizing pre-packaged coffee "pods" for brewing. Personally I was not comfortable purchasing a product where I would be locked into the selection and pricing of a specific manufacturer, or one that would only brew coffee and not tea and cocoa. This is just one area where Keurig really shines above their competition.Keurig has gathered support of a variety of gourmet coffee, tea, and cocoa manufacturers and there currently there are over 140 different types sold pre-packaged in K-Cups including Green Mountain, Diedrich, Gloria Jean's, Timothy's, Van Houtte, Tully's, Coffee People, Newman's Own, Celestial Seasonings, Bigelow, Twinings, and Ghirardelli. Not only is there a large selection to choose from, there are a variety of resellers online offering K-Cups, and pricing is extremely competitive.In addition to the pre-packaged offerings, Keurig offers the My K-Cup Reusable Coffee Filter allows you to use your own gourmet ground coffee in your Keurig home brewer. This option provided the extra level of comfort I personally needed to make the jump into a single cup brewer. Frankly I don't find myself using it very often as I had originally thought, as there are so many options available in pre-packaged K-cups.Read more ›
October 9, 2006
Being one who loves convenient, but great tasting coffee, I've bought several single-serve coffee machines. The Home Cafe, My Bunn Cafe, and the most recent, Tassimo.They all worked quite well, considering how "new" they were to the field, and how fresh the field really was at the time, for consumers. I was happy with each purchase(save the Home Cafe, which had a serious mechanical flaw).I'm not going to spend all my time just comparing the Keurig machine; I'm simply going to say "I wish I'd bought one of these[any Keurig machine] earlier". It meets almost all the desires I had in a single-serve coffee machine.- Tons of variety in K-cups (which actually can be difficult, I didn't know where to start or what to try!)- Simple to use- Beautiful, functional design- 4 brew size choices- Keeps water hot for the next cup instead of waiting until you fiddle with the machine- Can be used with a custom filter K-Cup so you can brew any coffee you like (I'm looking forward to using this with tea too!)- Much quieter than some machines I've used (the Tassimo is freakishly loud in my opinion)Those are just some reasons I love this machine. The fact that it makes very good coffee is a big plus too, right? It seems as if the coffee from the Keurig machine tastes less "burnt" than most single serve coffee I've had in the past.My biggest complaint is the cost. Whether it's worth $200 to you or not, is entirely up to YOU. If you're as obsessed with quick, easy, tasty coffee like I am, maybe you'll agree that it is worth it.I'm a happy customer, either way. 😉
October 5, 2006

PROS:
  • It features a single touch mode of operation that lets you make your favorite tea or coffee in less than 60 seconds.
  • This brewer has a programmable water temperature and automatic on and of feature making it a very convenient machine to use at home.
  • Platinum Single Server brewer is as quiet as it can get and in fact, you will probably not hear any sound coming from it when it is making the coffee.
  • The removable drip tray allows it to accommodate larger cups or travel mugs making it ideal when you want to take more coffee than what is on the standard size cup.
  • The 72-ounce reservoir capacity is sufficient for most people as it eliminates the need to keep on refilling the machine anytime you want to make a cup of coffee or tea.

CONS:
  • The plastic casing makes it very vulnerable to damages in case it falls or when you bump it into other hard things in the kitchen.
  • It’s an expensive machine when compared to other brands on the market. However, this is probably because of the high-quality services that it will offer you.
  • You must run a cleansing brew through it every time you use it to make cocoa and other milk-based beverages. Although this is a simple thing to do, it will take up some precious time, and so you have to wait before you can have your fresh cup of coffee.
  • Some of its removable parts are not dishwasher friendly, and so they will give you a hectic time when cleaning them.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K450 2.0

Keurig K450 2.0 Brewing System

Keurig has been in business long enough to know what customers look for in a brewer. And so just like most of their other machines, the K450 comes with everything that you need including K-cup and K-carafe cups. And so you can start making some nice coffee immediately you take it from the box. The 4 cup capacity allows you to make enough coffee for a small group of people in a single brew, and it has programmable controls and a 2.4 inches color touch screen. The 70 oz reservoir allows you to make several cups of coffee or tea without having to refill, and it has an auto shut-off feature for added safety. Another thing that will impress most people with this machine is that it remembers the frequently used settings and hence allowing you to make your favorite cup of coffee quickly without having to reprogram the device.

  • Product
  • Photos

Keurig K450 Brewing System, Black

Manufacturer's Description. The Keurig 2.0 K400 brewing system is the first Keurig system that allows you to brew a piping hot 4-cup carafe with the same ease and convenience of brewing a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Danger spontaneous CombustionExploded into flames and would have burned down my house if not for my daughter bravely fighting fire alone.Burned cabinets and countertop and could have killed my daughter.Thank God no one was seriously hurt.
July 15, 2015
Have to agree with the others that this device is a loser.I really like k-cup coffee but I don't want to be fighting my machine for the right to make coffee if my k-cup doesn't have a new ink marker on the foil top. Yes, you can "hack" it, but you shouldn't have to hack your own coffee machine and that creates other problems (like when wanting to brew a carafe but it's been hacked for regular k-cups). This is just nonsense and unless enough consumers stand up to it then they will get away with it. I highly recommend buying another machine that doesn't verify that you have the right to make a cup of coffee before making it.I read an article about how "Keurig has been busy striking exclusionary agreements with suppliers and distributors to lock competing products out of the market". Not good. Obviously they are hard at work trying to figure out how to lock out competition and extract more money from consumers since September 2012 when some of their key patents expired.Making coffee should not depend on having the rights to do so.By the way, this new system also prevents you from using your own coffee grinds unless you hack it.Also, just because the maker of your k-cup paid some money to Keurig to use their special ink & top doesn't mean it's better quality coffee, as Keurig would like you to believe.1 star until they address this totally unacceptable anti-consumer policy.UPDATE 2015-02-17: Be mindful of the reviews where the reviewer has received a free Keurig machine or free coffee for making the review. I noticed there are a lot of them.
September 27, 2014
Keurig makes a good brewer, and of course, they invented the K-Cup, the first single-serve, self-contained coffee pod.But success has apparently twisted their perception of appreciation and humility. Keurig thinks that their customers need to be protected from the evils of using any coffee, tea or hot cocoa for which the maker did not pay licensing fees for the privilege of compatibility. To restrict the use of equipment owned by their customers, they have added slick spyware to peek on their customers after they buy a machine!Imagine a car that tests each tank of gasoline--not for quality or compatibility, but for legal compliance with a licensing authority. Or how about a Samsung TV that blocks any program that fails to include a broadcast license from Samsung? That's what Keurig has done. But it is *HOW* they do it that is really troubling...Keurig has placed a spy camera INSIDE the brewer (no kidding!). Using DRM technology (Digital Rights Management), it analyzes special inks on the K-Cups & Vue pods to prevent owners from using their coffee of choice, unlicensed pods, and even Keurig's own K-Cups (They are still within expiration!) In fact, you can no longer use the My-K-cup adapter that Keurig continues to sell for owners of their legacy brewers. This is an astonishing marketing blunder. Was anyone over 25 was in the room when CEO Brian Kelley decided to add a spy camera into a coffee maker?! Somehow, he missed the lesson of DRM with iTunes, Sony, and DVDs. It shows profound contempt for the customer, rather than respect and appreciation...When I inserted my Green Mountain K-Cups into this brewer, a tiny TV screen informed me: "Oops! That coffee isn't compatible with our incredibly high standards!Read more ›
September 22, 2014

PROS:
  • It comes in three different colors (red, black and white). Although the color does not affect its performance, it still matters a lot to most people.
  • Just like most others in the 2.0 edition, it has strength control that lets you personalize how you want your coffee to taste.
  • The 2.4 Color Touch Display not only makes it look modern but also comfortable to operate.
  • Keurig K450 2.0 allows you to choose from 9 brew sizes that start from as small as 4 oz to a 30 oz cup.
  • It has a programmable language option and High Altitude Mode to ensure that you can use it anywhere you wish.

CONS:
  • This brewer does not have a nightlight mode and reservoir light, and this may make it hard to use under poor lighting conditions.
  • The K450 is a modern brewer with many features, but it also lacks some essential things that you would expect to find on a machine of its caliber like the hot water on demand feature.
  • You cannot use other K-cup brands on the brewer, and so this means that you will not make coffee with the machine if you cannot find those from Keurig.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K250 2.0

Keurig K250 2.0 Brewing System

The ease of use and the convenience that the K250 Brewing System offers you is way much better than a regular coffee maker. Whether you want to make a single serve or a carafe you can do it all with a single touch of a button. This coffee maker features the impressive Keurig 2.0 Brewing Technology that reads the lid of each K-cup to ensure that you get a perfect cup of coffee each time. It also has a separate setting for other beverages such as mochas, chai and hot cocoa. The machine has a 40 oz reservoir, strength control, and a 2 inches display screen.

  • Product
  • Photos

Keurig 117644 2.0 K200 Brewer, Black

Keurig K2.0 K200 Brewer allows you to brew more with over 500 varieties from 60 plus brands available. Enjoy both K-Cup Packs and K-Carafe with the convienence and quality you expect from a Keurig ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Note – Keurig appears to be bowing to the adverse reaction to the fact that their new machine does not accept K-Cups made for their older model or those made by other suppliers. They say that they are going to rectify this problem, but so far I can find no details on this. It is not clear if this is to be a new machine, or a modification to this one and if so if current machines can be so modified. Thus, I suggest that any prospective buyer check this out, lest they purchase a machine that, as the review below states, is not compatible with older K-Cups or those of other manufacturers. Readers are also directed to the comments section as various workarounds are suggested to solve this compatibility problem.Original review -I found that this machine made a good cup of coffee and was easy to use with the capability to control the coffee strength. I found several good features, but several that I did not like and that these resulted in lowering my rating for the machine.Pros –· Ability to control the strength of the coffee and to make cups of 4,6,8 or 10 ounces.· The machine will also brew a 40-ounce pot of coffee, but you need a special carafe that is NOT supplied.· According to the instruction the machine will also make hot chocolate, but I have not tried this feature.· The machine comes with a charcoal filter to remove water impurities, thereby eliminating a source of variability and poor coffee.Cons –· You need special K-cups that are made for especially this machine. According to Keurig there are other brands of coffee that make compatible cups, but not all cups will work, including those made for earlier model Keurig machines.Read more ›
June 3, 2015
We got a Mini Keurig for Christmas in 2013 and we use it almost daily. When the new 2.0 became available through Vine, we thought we'd upgrade, especially since this new model can brew a carafe as well as single cups. We've used the new one 5 or 6 times and we're going back to the Mini. Here's why:1) The 2.0 requires you to wait for it to pre-heat before you press the start button to brew your coffee. This takes about a minute or so of standing around. You can likely busy yourself, but it's just stupid. With the Mini, you press the start button and it preheats and then automatically starts brewing when it's hot enough (neither coffeemaker gets the coffee hot enough, though, and it cools off quickly. I almost always heat mine up more in the microwave, especially if I've neglected to grab it right away.).2) The 2.0 makes loud ticking noises as it heats up and brews. Imagine a grandfather clock on your counter. It's annoying. The Mini isn't overly quiet, but it only makes noise while it's dispensing.3) When you're done making your coffee, the 2.0 stays on. You have to specifically turn it off. I didn't realize this until finding the unit still on 3 hours after my husband made his coffee yesterday morning. I've never had to turn off the Mini. I would imagine it staying turned on for hours will shorten its life. Our teens use the Keurig too and they never turn anything off.4) The reusable K-cups we bought for our Mini won't fit the 2.0. It costs $20 to buy one. Um, what? And the carafe is $20 as well (a travel coffee mug does not fit underneath it). So if you buy this and don't want to waste money on disposable K-cups, you'll be investing $130-150 to brew a decent amount of your own coffee.Read more ›
June 1, 2015
So I received this product for free from influenster for trial and review basis only. I was not given any sort of money to write this review.I absolutely love my keurig!! I've always wanted a keurig but never brought myself to buy one and luckily I was one of the chosen ones to test this product out.My box came with the keurig k200 in black, a big box of the green mountain coffee kcups in a variety of different flavors and a small box of 6 coffee varieties as well that also had some tea samples. Then there was a cleanser and descaler bottle, a water filter starter kit, and an insert to be able to brew your own coffee brands.This model has the added benefit of being able to brew larger cup sizes with the additional purchase of a carafe which is not included with the keurig. And without the carafe you can brew sizes from 4oz to 10oz.I must say that I love everything about this product and the only negative I have is not being able to brew the larger cup sizes without the carafe. I didn't realize how small of an amount 10oz was. Which I guess means I drink a lot of coffee but it's not enough to even fill up most of my coffee travel cups that I have. But besides that, this product is absolutely perfect!
June 23, 2015

PROS:
  • It is a beautiful brewer that also comes in several colors making it easy for you to find one that is appealing to you.
  • This brewer is lightweight and compact, and this makes it not only easy to fit in tight kitchen spaces but also convenient to move from one place to the other.
  • Keurig K250 2.0 is a fast brewing system since it can make a single serve in less than one minute and a carafe in about three minutes.
  • The removable drip tray makes it possible for the brewer to accommodate different cup sizes and hence it is a suitable machine to use when you want to make some takeaway coffee.

CONS:
  • The pods are costly and so making coffee with this machine is expensive when compared to others in the market. And the worst thing is that it only works with a particular brand of pods.
  • Refilling the water can be hectic especially given the fact that you cannot refill it in the sink. However, the reservoir is large enough to make several cups in a row and so you do not have to keep on refilling.
  • Although it might not be the loudest, it is still quite noisy especially if you compare it to modern brewers that are super silent.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K40 Elite

Keurig K40 Elite Brewing System

Keurig K40 Elite Brewing System has simplicity as one of its principal features. With this machine, you only need to place the K-cups in the holder and close the lid, and there are no filters to worry about when making coffee. Its 48 oz reservoir and drip tray are removable for easy refilling and cleaning. You should also not worry if you forget to switch off before leaving the house since it has an auto shut off feature that will do it for you after two hours. This 1500 watt brewer also has a descale indicator that will let you know when it needs descaling.

  • Product
  • Photos

Keurig K40 Elite Brewing System

The Elite Brewing System is Keurig's gourmet home brewing made affordable. The Elite Brewing System, the most affordably priced Keurig kitchen brewing system, offers K-Cup

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I read every single Amazon.com review for this item. And then read them again. I went to the Keurig website and researched the B40. Came back to Amazon and read the reviews one more time. If I was going to pay $100 for a coffee machine, I wanted to be sure I knew as much as possible about it. I finally purchased the B40, and after getting it today and having brewed four cups of coffee so far, I offer the following review (from a BLACK COFFEE drinker, no milk, no sugar):I think the people who claim this machine is too loud and complain that it vibrates too much are your normal "Mr. Coffee" people. Yes, the machine makes noise. It's pumping pressurized hot water into the K-Cups. Of course it's gonna make noise. I counted each time the noise was made. It lasts five seconds each time, at most. And it's MUCH quieter than my Melitta Mill & Brew, which grinds the coffee beans with a high shrill. This machine also vibrates. But again, it's well worth the minor noise and moderate vibration. You shouldn't be shelling out this much money for a coffee machine if you expect a Mr. Coffee coffee maker. You are buying a "gourmet" coffee machine, and it has some cool features that require hot pressurized water to be pumped through the machine. Not a big deal!I think a lot of the negative reviews that I read, and maybe all of them, referred to an older version of the B40 that only had one cup size setting. Indeed, when I purchased this machine at Target today, the display model for the B40 had only one cup size. I had to triple-check the box to make sure I was getting the B40 with the TWO cup sizes (and I was). So maybe they have improved the machine since that version.I read negative reviews about this machine making weak coffee.Read more ›
June 5, 2009
I have been using the Keurig B-40 for over 7 months now and have been very impressed with it. It heats up very quickly, and the auto shut-off feature allows you to have your machine shut down after 2 hours of inactivity. You can use the B-40 for brewing tea by buying tea in K-cups, but I simply and frugally put my tea (either loose in strainer or in a bag) in a cup and run the Keurig without a K-cup in the holder. I use the Keurig in a similar manner to add hot water to cups of soup.As mentioned in other reviews, the 7.25 oz brewing size is fine for a single regular cup, but small for a big mug or travel mug. Furthermore, the strength of the coffee that you get with the regular K-cups is too weak for my taste. The regular K-cups are better suited to one of the other Keurig brewers (B50 or B60) where you have the option of changing your brewing volume to 5.25 oz. The caveat is that you have even less coffee. The Extra-Bold K-cups that vendors are now selling actually do brew a great cup of coffee in the 7.25 oz size and I would recommend that you order Extra-Bold versions of your coffee if you like your coffee stronger. K-cups are a fantastic convenience - easy to use and easy to dispose of. Maybe too easy - I blasted through my first box of 25 in the first week at work. They are not cheap either, at between 40 and 50 cents a cup if you search for deals. However, the Extra-Bold varieties are fairly limited in availability. An accessory that I highly recommend - the Keurig 5048 My K-Cup Reuseable Coffee Filter - allows you to fill its reusable basket up to the rim with your favorite ground coffee. If you fill it all the way it makes a very strong cup of joe - just the way I like it.Read more ›
July 6, 2006
The Keurig B-40 makes excellent, well flavored coffee... in a snap! It tastes just as good as a brewed cup with a traditional coffee maker, it does NOT taste like it came from a vending machine.The only con is minor: the 7.25 ounce serving size. This is perfect for a coffee cup, but a large coffee mug will require you to brew 2 k-cups. But brewing is so quick, that you can brew both K-cups within 30 seconds.The B-40 is an excellent choice for a model. Because brew cycles are so fast, you do not need the timer option that comes with the B-50 or B-60. The B-50 also offers a smaller cup brew option, but trust me - you won't need it. The B-40 also comes with an auto-off feature that will turn off the machine 2 hours after the last brew, which is great if you worry you may forget to. (If you drink coffee throughout the day, you can disable this feature too.)I joined Green Mountain Coffee's "cafe club". Check it out on their website. Huge variety of coffees and teas. Free shipping and automatic deliveries of your favorite flavors set up on a schedule you choose.Great coffee maker, highly recommend.
February 28, 2006

PROS:
  • The brew speed is impressive as it takes less than a minute to make a perfect cup of coffee. However, what is even more impressive is that it is ready to brew in just one minute.
  • Keurig K40 Elite gives you the freedom to choose from Starbuck pods, K-cups, reusable k-cup filters or even coffee and filters from several other manufacturers.
  • If you like powerful Brewers, then the 1500 watt in this machine will impress you. All this power makes it a very reliable brewing system.
  • It allows you to choose from three different cup sizes, and the removable drip tray also makes it possible for the brewer to accommodate travel mugs.

CONS:
  • If you want a stronger cup of coffee, you will need extra bold K-cups as there is no other way to increase the strength when using this system.
  • Another disadvantage that is also common with most Keurig systems is that the K-cups are very expensive. Making a cup of coffee with this brewer is by far more costly than using typical coffee makers.

back to menu ↑

Keurig K10 Mini Plus

Keurig K10 Mini Plus Brewing System

The most remarkable thing and perhaps also what gives the K10 Mini Plus an edge is its ease of use since anybody can use it to make a cup of coffee regardless of whether they have an experience with brewers or not. This single serve machine has a small reservoir that holds enough water for one cup that can be 6, 8 or 10 ounces. It is a very easy system to use that also has some LED lights that indicate the step of the setup and brew cycle that the machine is on. K10 Mini Plus comes in a compact and portable size that makes it perfect for small spaces such as offices, dorms and RVs and it also available in several lovely colors.

  • Product

Keurig K10 Mini Plus Brewing System, Black

The Keurig K-Cup MINI Plus brewing system brews a perfect cup of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, or iced beverage in under two minutes at the touch of a button. With the choice of three cup sizes, the MINI ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is an amazing little coffee maker! I'm the only one in our home that drinks coffee so it didn't make sense to buy a large 6, 8 or 10 cup coffee maker. I have to admit that I was a bit reluctant to buy a "mini" coffe maker but I'm sure glad I did. I purchased this one when Amazon had it on sale for $89.99 and I couldn't be happier. To be honest, I would have paid much more. The coffee taste great, it's ready to drink in less than two minutes and the red mini k10 looks amazing on my kitchen counter. Thank you Keurig for making a product that I can stand behind as I recommend it to all of my friends and co-workers!
May 12, 2015
My teens have been begging for one of these and I didn't want to spend $200-- plus I wanted to avoid the BIG problem of the Keurig 2.0 requiring use of Keurig only branded K-cups. That's a deal-breaker for me that you will avoid by getting this machine. The single cup size is perfect to enjoy a cup and keep the teens from overdoing the caffeine.I saw a recall for the minis, but I bought this one at a local Dept Store for under $100 and was assured it was not the problem models (they'd removed them). It has a small footprint so we can set it up on a small cafe table where the teens hang out. I bought a Cafe Europa K-Cup assortment and trying all the different flavors of tea/coffee/cocoa is fun. I also bought a Gold Tone refillable K-cup system to use any ground coffee and it works great.Keurig offers a buy one get on free K-cup offer with the registration card in the box. You can get a really good deal on K-cups from their site, as little as 33 cents per cup for official cups.
January 7, 2015
I received this product as a graduation gift shortly before leaving to college three years ago. As a heavy coffee drinker (4-6 cups a day), I have had the chance to use the coffee maker many times. The criteria I find most important in a coffee maker in order of importance are convenience, cost, variety of coffee, appearance and maintenance.ConvenienceWhen I decide I want coffee, I can have it in my mug and ready in less than two minutes. I bring my mug to the sink, fill it up, pour in the reservoir, slap in a K-Cup, press brew and my coffee is pouring out in 45 seconds. With that said, for only $20 more I could have had a Keurig with a multi-cup reservoir that pre-heats the water for faster brewing.CostIf you find you normally throw out extra coffee from their pot, this brewer will probably save you money. However, if you drink a lot of coffee, then expect to see spending go up; these K-Cups are expensive. $109 for the Keurig certainly is a fair price for a brewer, but I find a box of 24 cups priced at $13-$25 fairly steep compared a bag of traditional coffee. You can find bulk boxes for a better price on Amazon, at Costco and at Sam’s Club.Variety of CoffeeThe variety of coffee is not a problem. It seems that all major coffee distributers have realized they must sell a Keurig version. I personally prefer the “Donut Shop,” brand.AppearanceThis coffee maker fits in with any style. It’s sleek, small, and comes in 11 colors. Trust me, it matches.MaintenanceThree years of heavy use and it still works great. Cleaning the machine is easy and quick. I can simply get a rag and wipe it down most times.Overall, I love this product and would recommend it to anyone that wants a cup of coffee or two a day. If you drink more than that, but want the convenience of the Keurig, I suggest you consider the larger reservoir options.
February 26, 2015

PROS:
  • Although it is not a perfect machine, it is very reasonably priced. With a price tag of less than $100 this brewer is very affordable for most people.
  • Comes in several color options, and this makes it perfect for individuals who value the look of their coffee maker.
  • Just like with most other Keurig systems it guarantees you consistent performance. As long as you keep the machine in good shape you can be assured of a high-quality brew even as it grows old.
  • Using it couldn’t get simpler as you only need to turn it on, insert a K-cup and then press the big brew button. In approximately 1 minute and 45 seconds, your fresh cup of coffee will be ready.

CONS:
  • It takes more than two minutes to make a single cup and although this might sound faster than the standard brewers it is slower than other Keurig brewing systems.
  • The manufacturer had to recall the machine recently, and this just shows that there was something very wrong with it to warrant this action.
  • Its water reservoir is its biggest disadvantage since it holds water that is only enough to make a single cup of coffee. You cannot also see the level of water left in the reservoir or detach it to refill on the sink.

Categories of the Keurig Coffee Makers

The Keurig brand has been around for less than two decades, but it has revolutionized how people make coffee both at home and commercially. Although they have been in business for a shorter time than most other companies, they now have more products than the older companies. However, all their coffee makers can be classified into the following broad categories.

  • K-Cup: The K-cups are the original brewing machines from Keurig and were introduced in 1998 when the company started its operations. Since their inception, they have become convenient and versatile brewing machines that come in different colors and various applications such as office, home, and commercial use. Apart from coffee they can also be used to brew spiced cider, tea, cocoa and iced beverages. All of them feature a one-touch operation, and they have the convenient auto shut-off ability. Their other features include multilingual on-screen instruction and the Quite Brew technology. Most other features may vary from one machine to the other.
  • Vue: Vue represents the second generation of Keurig brewing systems, and it came into the market in 2012. Just like its predecessors, it includes machines for use at home, office and for commercial purposes. However, the Vue systems do not offer brewers for use in a hospitality setting. Some of the things that make this category different from the K-cups are that they include user adjustable beverage temperature, sizes, and tastes. Some of the outstanding features of Vue machines include a removable water reservoir for easy cleaning and it also has an increased storage capacity for water. Other features include removable drip tray, programmable functions and an LCD touch screen that gives it a modern control.
  • Rivo: The Rivo line of coffee makers also came out in 2012, and it is designed to brew espresso-style coffee using similar technology as other Keurig machines. It can serve hot or cold drinks and also includes an attachment for milk and non-dairy liquid frothing. This brewer is not compatible with Vue and K-cup products, and it requires the use of Rivo disposable cups. Its main features are a disposable drip tray, five operation buttons, and dishwasher safe parts. What makes the Rivo special is its speed as it can make an espresso drink in under a minute, and it is also very easy to clean. Although it does not have as many accessories as the other Keurig brewers since it has not been around for long the caramel, vanilla and chocolate flavor syrups will be enough for most people.

How to Choose a Keurig Coffee Maker

There are many Keurig brewing systems under the above three categories, but each one of them is different from the other in one or a couple of ways. Although they all make excellent coffee, you still need to choose one that will work best for you whether you intend to use it commercially or at home. For this to be possible, there are several things that you have to consider but by looking at the following essential features then it will be easier for you to make a decision on what to buy.

#1 UL Listing

UL listing is something that most people tend to overlook when shopping for a coffee maker, but it is vital as it determines where you can use the machine. Most Keurig brewers have a UL listing for use at home, and so if you intend to use yours for commercial or hospitality, you should make sure that it has the correct listing. It is important to acquaint yourself with UL listing before buying your single cup device as it will help you choose the right one for your intended application.

#2 Machine Size

Although the size of the machine also determines other things such as the performance and storage capacity, it is also important to choose one according to space availability in your kitchen. Keurig tries to make their brewers as compact as possible, but they still come in different sizes, and so it is important to consider this feature when shopping for one.

#3 Cup Size Options

One of the main selling points for Keurig brewers is that they allow you to make a single cup size. However, this is not the only option as there are others that can make larger cup sizes that are up to 12 ounces and hence meaning that you can have enough coffee for more than one person. It is important to note that the larger the cup size, the more the water and hence the milder the brew. And hence, you should consider how concentrated you want your cup before choosing what to buy.

#4 Walter Filtering

Tapped water in most places is not the cleanest. Apart from this, it is treated with different chemicals to purify it. Although these chemicals make it safe for human consumption, they also give it some odd tastes. A Keurig machine with a filter will help you eliminate some of the foreign tastes and smells of the water and hence making your beverage taste much better.

#5 Programmability

If you want your hot coffee to be ready when you wake up, then a programmable model will be the best for you. Although a programmable machine exposes the coffee to too much oxygen and hence changing its taste, this is a compromise you have to make if you want the convenience of waking up to a ready cup of tea/coffee. This feature is very common with modern Keurig brewers, but there are still some without it.

#6 Quiet Brew Technology

Although some people love the sound of coffee makers, for most people this is a nuisance. However, you should not worry about since most devices from Keurig use the Quiet Brew Technology, and so they are very silent. However, the OfficePro and K10 Mini Plus do not have this technology, and so they are louder than the others.

#7 Drip Tray

A drip tray is one of the best innovations that you can ever wish for in a coffee maker. A drip tray helps to minimize the mess caused by spills and also makes cleaning easy. Apart from this turning or removing the tray will allow you to brew into taller cups if you wish to have a bigger cup of coffee than the standard one. Although it does not affect the performance of the machine a drip tray is a very convenient feature in a brewer.

#8 Brewing Times

Most Keurig brewers will make coffee in less than one minute since they have a hot water reserve. However, some like the Mini Plus do not have the water reserve and hence will take between two and three minutes to make the coffee. Although this is still faster than most other brands in the market, you still have to consider whether you want to go through the process of adding water every time you need a cup of coffee.

There are still many other things that you should consider when choosing the best brewer, but the above eight are the main ones. The other important things that you should consider can include things such as your budget since you cannot buy something that you cannot afford. Considering customer reviews and ratings is also important as it lets you know what other people who use the machine have to say about it.

Which Is the Best of Them All

It is hard to think of any Keurig brewing system that has not recorded impressive sales. In almost two decades the company has not produced a product that has not been a success, and this makes it difficult to determine the best of their many brewers. However, of the above ten machines the K45 Elite Brewing System, K350 2.0 and K10 Mini Plus have an edge over the others. The K45 has the highest ratings, and it has also sold more units on Amazon than any other Keurig brewer. Most customer reviews also favor the K45 because it uses the old k-cup brewing technology and so it will work with non-Keurig K-cups. The K10 Mini may not have fancy features like other brewers, but coffee lovers prefer it due to the lightweight and compact size that makes its perfect for tight spaces such as in the office and RVs. K350 2.0 also has impressive sales and positive reviews mostly due to its Keurig 2.0 Brewing Technology. The K350 is also very easy to use, and you do not need manual instructions and it also does not have the conventional coffee maker problems.

Sources

 

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

PCMag.com

Wikipedia.org

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password