Top 10 Best Seiko Watches for Men — Reviews in 2017

Some of the best Seiko watches for men are hard to find on the market. There exist many replicas and it’s easy to fall for a not-so-good product made by a suspicious company. Our goal is to help you make an informed choice by reviewing some of the best, original and legitimate watches from the Japan-based company.

Seiko Men’s SNK809 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch (Black Canvas Strap)

Seiko Men's SNK809 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Black Canvas Strap

This is an affordable timepiece with basic functions. Seiko Men’s SNK809 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Black Canvas Strap is one of the most popular and best Seiko watches for men. It sets a standard in terms of durability and performance and comes with the convenience of automatic movement. In addition, it comes with a sleek design and elegant black dial.

  • Boasts 21-jewel Automatic movement that ensures optimum accuracy with analog display.
  • Features a round case made of stainless steel with a brushed finish that is 11 millimeters thick and 37 millimeters in diameter.
  • The dial is covered by a Hardlex mineral dial window that is said to be more difficult to scratch, chip or dent.
  • Has a canvas band made of black nylon that comes in the standard length for men’s watches with a simple buckle clasp for easy adjustments.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SNK809 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Black Canvas...

Imported; Round watch featuring round black dial with day/date windows, sword-shape hands, and exhibition case back; 37 mm stainless steel case and Hardlex mineral dial window; Precise 21-jewel ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a nice little entry level automatic watch. Upon opening the box it came in the first thing I noticed was the size of the watch itself and the band. The watch itself is somewhat small but not too bad. its slightly larger than a quarter. The band however is much smaller than I expected. I have tiny wrists so It doesn't bother me too much but someone with a larger wrist may find it odd looking; it's really just preference and shouldn't make or break the deal as the band can easily be swapped out. The watch has a nice heavy weight to it and doesn't feel cheap like some other larger automatics I have. One strange thing I noticed right away when I picked up my watch was that the weight that spins the mainspring slides against the interior of the watch as I move it. So I can feel the weight as it moves around. This doesn't bother me but I hope its normal and doesn't mean I got a faulty watch. Everything is working fine at the moment (I've only been wearing it for a day) and I see no other problems or peeves about the watch. I'll break down the pros and cons here:(PROS)+ Overall nice looking watch. As most watches; the picture online just doesn't do it justice.+ Watch has a nice weight to it.+ It's an automatic for under $100; thats a bargain, especially for a Seiko.+ The luminous hands are pretty good and last for a good 20 minutes. (Not as good as a Seiko Monster but what do you expect)+ Comes with a 3 year warranty (although the retailer warranty card I received was not filled out by Amazon, not sure if this matters)(Cons)- Both the watch's body and strap were smaller than I expected.- Hardlex glass is not exactly the best material, it suffices but Mineral would've been better.Read more ›
July 13, 2010
Seiko offers two similar versions of a mechanical "military" watch:The SNK809 (which is black, but there are other colors). This has a 21 jewel movement (generally the 7S26B, but the earlier models have the 7S26). It has a 36mm case (excluding the crown) and18mm wide band.The other model is the lager SNZG15 (which is black, but there are other colors). This has a 23 jewel movement (generally the 7S36B, but earlier models have the 7S36). It has a 40mm case (excluding crown) and an 22mm band.Both of these watches are gray market. You won't see them for sale in US stores.I've owned my SNK809 for several months and love it. Its very accurate for the price. Mine gains about 5 sec/day. You'll have to spend a lot of money to do better than that in the mechanical watch world.Two of my friends own the SNZG15, and they seem to gain about 10 sec/day. Note: The fact the SNZG15 has 23 jewels doesn't mean its more accurate than a 21 jewel movement. It's larger, pushes more mass (bigger hands), and thus I speculate is inherently less accurate than the smaller SNK809.I got my SNK809 on eBay for $45 + $25 shipping (2009). However, it was shipped from Hong Kong. It had to clear customs, shipping takes about three weeks, and has more inherent risk. I'd expect to pay more on Amazon if it was shipped from within the US. Similarly, I've seen the SNG15 for as little as $105 with free shipping, shipped from Singapore.What I did not appreciate at the time I bought my SNK809 is that its water resistant rating is 30 meters (WR30M). 98 ft. That seems sufficient unless you're a serious scuba diver, right?Wrong.Look up water resistant ratings for watches on Wikipedia.Read more ›
March 14, 2010
I immediately changed the strap to a brown leather one with deployment clasp. Makes the watch very classy. Almost like a Hamilton. For the price, I am bee impressed!
February 28, 2015
PROS:
  • It is self-winding hence does not need battery
  • Its date window can be configured in English or Spanish
  • Water resistant up to 100 meters hence perfect for everyday wear
  • Wraps comfortably around the wrist

CONS:
  • Limited strap color options

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SNK805 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch (Green Canvas Strap)

Seiko Men's SNK805 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Green Canvas Strap

This military-inspired timepiece is perfect for any adventurous individual who loves the outdoor. Its cool and durable green fabric band that closes with a traditional buckle completes that casual and rugged style you would want. Featuring superior value, durability, comfort and trendy design at a reasonable price, there is no doubt Seiko Men’s SNK805 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Green Canvas Strap is one of the best Seiko watches for men.

  • Features a green dial that matches its strap. The dial features silver-toned hands and a date window at the three o’clock position.
  • Includes 21 jewel Automatic motion precision behind the watch for superb accuracy.
  • Being one of the best Seiko watches for men, it features eco-friendly green fabric interlaced straps with night and day functionality.
  • Has a stainless steel case, white and red sweeping second hand, a mineral crystal window and easy to read Arabic hour and minute markers.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SNK805 Seiko 5 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Green Canvas...

Imported; Military-inspired timepiece featuring green dial with Arabic numerals, luminous accents, and day/date functions; Automatic movement with analog display; Features green nylon strap with ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This review was originally written for the SNK803K2. The only difference is the color of the dial. But I bought this on too.For me this watch is fantastic. If you know auto-winds (automatics), then you know their little idiosyncrasies. So let's start there...Timing:It's not a chronometer, it does gain (or lose) more than 0.5 seconds/day. In fact, on some days it seems to gain as much as a minute. Gaining time seems to be a common observation with other owners and reviewers. My guess is that it is "set fast" at the factory, with the idea that "if we can't get it perfect out of the box, then it's better to be early than be late." For this, you could probably go down to your local watch repair and get the timing set. Having said that, My watch normally runs about a minute fast over the course of a month and that doesn't bother me. In fact, true to all automatics, it gains and loses a little time each day or so and it is generally the same "one minute" ahead of the current time for several months.Quality:The watch is obvious quality. Seiko is quality and they obviously get a great job on this one too. It's quite rugged. I regularly ride a both a mountain bike and road bike to work, which is 12 miles in one direction. The watch take a vibrational beating, but never really misses a beat (outside of the range mentioned in the previous paragraph).Looks:I wasn't keen on the style of the band that came with the watch, although it is tough and will probably never come apart. I went a got a leather band, and this thing is beautiful. No kidding, totally styling.Trivia:The numbers on the watch dial are definitely unique: minutes on the outside; hours on the inside...Read more ›
April 10, 2010
I'm giving this a five star rating for the watch itself. The strap is a steaming pile. I'm new to this whole mechanical watch thing, so I was looking at bang for the buck. I like military/aviator style watches and this one seemed to fit the bill on the checklist. I have to say, when it arrived, I was surprised for so little money you'd get such a nice timepiece. The box and little pillow are nice. This would make a great gift for a nerdy kid. There are a ton of other reviews, so I'll just get down to what I like: The lume is powerful enough that I can read the watch all night long without having to charge it under a light. If I wake up at 4:45 am, I can see that's what time it is. The watch is quiet in operation. I do hear the jingle jangle of the rotor in the back swinging around with my arm when I move sometimes, but it's not annoying. My particular watch is very accurate. I've had it running for three weeks now and it has lost 14 seconds. I took the strap off of mine as soon as I got it and made one out of leather, so my photos are not representative of the strap that comes with it. The strap that comes with it is really thin and cheap feeling. I'd feel guilty using the strap that came with it as a collar for a feral cat, let alone my wrist. My only personal complaint of the watch is that it seems a bit small on me, but fashion comes and goes and changes. It's big enough that it doesn't look goofy. If I wasn't married, I'd immediately buy the other colors so I had one to go with every outfit.
April 9, 2015
I've been wearing this watch everyday for about a week now and I'm very impressed with it so far. Here is my own breakdown of the watch, in no particular order:Size:I have a 7 inch wrist and this watch fits me very nicely. It's such a relief to find an affordable, reasonably-sized, automatic watch these days when every new watch design coming out seems to be 40mm in diameter or larger. I would consider this a "mid-sized" watch for anyone with a medium to small wrist. Also, in case anyone is interested, the width of the lugs and strap for this watch is 18mm.Fit and Finish:The quality and craftsmanship of this watch is pretty outstanding considering it only cost $60. The dial is sharp and the lume is totally useable. Make no mistake, this watch was most likely assembled entirely by robots, but I don't necessarily see that as a bad thing (they did a pretty good job on mine). The watch strap leaves a little to be desired, feeling a bit coarse on the skin; I'll probably replace it eventually, but for now, it's doing just fine.Accuracy:I've been keeping track of my watch's accuracy compared to the US atomic clock for the last week and I have to say I'm impressed. It's been consistently 2-4 seconds fast per day, which is even more accurate than its officially stated specifications. In other words, it's overachieving in a big way. To get more accurate than this you are going to have to shell out at least 5 times the cash.Automatic Mechanism:This watch employs a Seiko 7S26C movement, which, in my humble opinion, is an absolute marvel of modern engineering. It is rumored that this mechanism costs all of $10 to produce, which, if true, is simply amazing.Read more ›
March 28, 2013
PROS:
  • Its strap is well built, sturdy and long lasting
  • Can be an everyday accessory and can stand rough conditions
  • Water resistance up to 30 meters
  • Provides an excellent value for a relatively low price
  • Dubbed as one of the best Seiko watches for men

CONS:
  • Timekeeping may become less accurate so to maintain the accuracy and precision of time, you need to wear the watch for 8 hours or more per day

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SSC081 Adventure-Solar Classic Casual Watch

Seiko Men's SSC081 Adventure-Solar Classic Casual Watch

If you enjoy an active lifestyle and need a watch with a rugged style, comfortable and water resistant, then you should consider Seiko Men’s SSC081. It is one of the best Seiko watches for men featuring Seiko’s classic brown leather strap. It features a compass with markers, subdials displaying three alarm settings, a date window, and luminous accents. With its added features and functionality, you can definitely not find a better watch in this price range.

  • The watch face is covered by protective curved hardlex crystal that is anti-reflective and incredibly clear.
  • It is water resistant up to about 330 feet which makes the watch ideal for typical water sports such as kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, etc.
  • Run by eco-drive solar technology which means you will never run into a situation where you will inconveniently find your watch dead.
  • Includes alarm chronograph, classic polished stainless steel case and Japanese quartz movement with analog display.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SSC081 Adventure-Solar Classic Casual Watch

Imported; Men's sports watch from the Seiko Solar collection; Powered by both natural and artificial light - no battery change; Pilots alarm chronograph, Date window, 100m water resistance; Stainless ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is one of those watches that I had to have as soon as I saw it. I bought this watch almost a week ago from an Amazon Marketplace seller and have to say I am very pleased with the purchase, no regrets whatsoever. I wanted to check all the functions thouougly before rating, a task which I've finished. First of all, the photo on the website makes it appear the watch has a dull or matte finish. Actually the entire case minus the tops of the lugs are a shiny yet quality stainless steel. Personally I would prefer a matted finish, but it still looks great, the glossy metal will give it a dressier appearance to wear with a suit or whatever.The watch has two buttons and two crowns. The main crown is for setting the time and date basically as any other analog. The crown at the upper left is only used to move the compass besel directions one way or the other. One negative about this crown is that it won't "lock" into place and cannot be pulled out, it merely spins freely, actually too easily or freely so you will find it moves the compass points around while wearing it. I believe it would have been wiser to have a clicking rotating besel rather than fixed for this function and eliminate the crown. Not a real big deal.The upper right button is used to start and stop the chronograph. The lower button is used to reset the chronograph and to set the alarm time. The alarm is 12 hour based and is not very loud, it may not wake you but you might hear it if used as a reminder. The alarm graph at the bottom of the face is also used as a duplicate current time, the small minute hand moves, actually "jumps" once every minute, this is a cool function.Read more ›
September 4, 2012
This is one top-quality watch. It has a nice heft to it, has a good size, and I love the overall look of the watch face. While I'm partial to automatic watches, I was looking for a cheaper, sporty, well-made outdoors-type watch, and this watch fits the bill. Also, because it is powered by the sun, hopefully this means it will never need a battery replacement (like regular quartz watches) or servicing of the movement (like automatics require). Upon receipt, I wasn't too crazy about the color of the band. It's a well-made leather band but the color was just a little too light for me. I replaced the band with an Orange Breitling Style Rally Stripe Strap 125/85 band width 22mm and also a 22mm Premium Nylon Military Watchband Watch Strap Red/White/Black, both of which I purchased here on Amazon. The watch has 21mm lugs, but the 22mm straps fit perfectly. I've uploaded pictures of the watch with these straps so you can get an idea of what these customizations look like. I can't speak to the long-term ownership of the watch, but I'll update my review if I encounter any problems. I highly recommend this watch for purchase.
April 15, 2014
This watch is absolutley gorgeous. The photo does not do it justice. It looks much more expensive on my arm. It is a blend of the classical flight chronograph, but with updated features not found on most watches in this price range. The typical Seiko craftsmanship, and materials are what one would expect from this manufacturer; Second to no one. In this price range you won't find a better watch in my opinion. The band looks really cool in brown. However, if you wanted you could easily change it to any other color or material. Such versatility, comfort, and beauty. The displays are easy to read and the lume is great. You can wear this watch with your best suit or a pair of jeans. I love it.
September 22, 2012
PROS:
  • Great for everyday wear hence you can match it with your rugged/casual look
  • Features reliable and accurate time measurement
  • No need to worry about setting the time because the watch can unwind itself automatically and display the best time – just like some of the best Seiko watches for men
  • Features 3 years warranty

CONS:
  • Quite expensive

back to menu ↑

Seiko 5 SNK793 Automatic Steel Watch For Men

Seiko 5 Men's SNK793 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Blue Dial

This is a classic steel-cased watch with fold-over clasp band that makes it a great option. Seiko 5 Men’s SNK793 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Blue Dial boasts a bold, blue dial with accented indexes alongside silver tone hands. For those looking for extra precision in timekeeping, this timepiece comes with an outside minute track that allows for the perfect reading of time. That’s of course in addition to a polished stainless steel bezel which is slightly offset by a case that is gently contoured.

  • Durable rust resistant bracelet that fastens easily and securely all thanks to a well thought-out deployment clasp.
  • Unique exhibition case back alongside a two-toned dial which is not only classy but also fashionable and functional.
  • The automatic self-winding watch never needs a battery and it is water resistant up to 100 meters.
  • 35 mm stainless steel case complemented by a Hardex dial window.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko 5 Men's SNK793 Automatic Stainless Steel Watch with Blue Dial

Imported; Classic stainless steel bracelet watch with exhibition back featuring blue sunray dial and day/date window; 36 mm stainless steel case with Hardlex dial window; Automatic movement with ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
From what I can tell, this is the same seiko automatic I wore for a quarter of a century, with a very minor difference in the wrist band latch. I loved it. About the only time I didn't wear it was in the shower each morning. It kept very accurate time, and wound itself with flawless reliability. I received mine as a Christmas present when I was a sophmore in high school. Young men being what they are, I sent it through the washer more than once in my jeans pocket. I also wore it caving through a number of exceptionally muddy passages. I whacked the crystal innumerable times on door jambs and had to replace them twice. I wore it with confidence on dates to elegant restaurants, weddings, business meetings and hikes in the Mountains. We got rained on, snowed on and broiled in the summer sun from Christmas of '76 until sometime after 2001. I've since tried a string of battery operated quartz watches. Every time the battery dies I am reminded that I never had to experience that inconvenience with my seiko automatic. None of the quartz watches have proven to be as durable. Unless you are just trying to impress others with your ability to spend ridiculous sums, this is what I would buy. It is the maximum bang for your buck: rugged, good-looking, insanely reliable and very reasonably priced. It is what I plan to buy if my current Christmas present ever wears out.
January 24, 2011
I just got this watch recently so I can't comment on reliability over time, etc. However I can give you my first impressions, which are excellent. This watch really looks much better in person than in pictures. It's not a overtly "manly man" watch like the legions of Submariner clones and military watches out there, but instead it's simple, elegant, and understated. I was a little concerned that the mirror-polished bezel would look too blingy or jewelry-like, but it actually balances nicely with the deep blue face and brushed-steel band. The watch itself is a good size if you are, like me, small-to-average in build. The exposed mechanics on the back side are an added bonus, especially for those of us who are relatively new to the world of automatics.The bracelet is also good quality for the money. It's put together well enough that I was easily able to remove a few links to resize the bracelet on my own. The last watch I got, an Orient diver model, was so stubborn that even the professional watch repairman had trouble with it. It's convenient to save yourself a trip to the watch shop and reassuring to know that you can modify the watch band however you like, whenever you like.As far as actual time-keeping goes, I'm sure it's losing or gaining a few seconds each day, but nothing noticeable, and I haven't had to reset the time yet. I haven't had any issues with it in the short time I've owned it.If you're looking for a big, complicated, eye-catching watch, keep looking. But if you want a simple, mid-sized dress watch with timeless good looks, or are just looking for an entry point into the world of automatic watches, this might just be the one for you.Read more ›
June 11, 2011
I purchased this about a month ago. My dad and grandfather both had self winding watches decades ago. I was putting about my fourth battery in another (nice) Seiko when I decided to look on Amazon. I targeted Seiko since I had received one 25 years ago for a gift. It has been fantastic for a quarter of a century. It is quartz and has about a five year battery cycle, but I digress. This one came in and after reading the reviews I decided to take it to a jeweler to have the band adjusted. This is a relatively heavy watch, so if you don't want it flopping around on your wrist and pulling out hair I suggest a decent fit. After wearing it one full day it was wound significantly and has kept excellent time since. The only adjustment I've made is the date setting when we flipped from September to October. The time has not needed set in the three weeks I've worn it. It is keeping pace with my quartz models and is within a few seconds of the time tag on my cell phone (usually pretty close). I have not tested it with the standards board radio broadcasts on shortwave radio, but it has been close enough I haven't felt the need to do so. If you want a stylish watch that never needs a battery and keeps good time, consider this model. I give it five stars as I've had some compliments on it. If you think going to have it fitted is a hassle, then knock off half a star, but not for the watch itself.
October 10, 2010
PROS:
  • Can be worn almost everywhere from outdoor hikes to weddings and meetings
  • It is automatic and you don’t need to worry about replacing a low battery
  • It is good looking, rugged, very reliable and reasonably priced

CONS:
  • May not be a perfect bet if you’re looking for pinpoint time accuracy. Normally, some of the best Seiko watches for men may gain or lose a few minutes after a couple of years of usage.

back to menu ↑

Seiko SKX007K Men’s Automatic Watch For Divers

Seiko Men's SKX007K Diver's Automatic Watch

 

SKX007 is probably one of the best Seiko watches for men at its average price point. It is part of an incredible lineage of diver’s watches that date back all the way to the 60s when Seiko initially launched the 150-meter water resistance technology.

  • Secured inside a round stainless steel case which is 13 millimeters deep and with a diameter of 42 millimeters – perfect for a standard men’s watch.
  • Has a black dial with a handful of silver details with hours marked in oversized circles that automatically activate night vision features.
  • Has a black band that is made of polyurethane which is perfect for divers as it is water resistant.
  • Like other best Seiko watches for men, its dial is well covered by a Hardlex crystal window. The crystal comprises several elements that are combined to provide solid protection.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SKX007K Diver's Automatic Watch

Imported; Quality Japanese Automatic movement; Functions without a battery; Powers automatically with the movement of your arm; Hardlex crystal; Case diameter: 46 mm; Stainless-steel case; Black ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
My uncle had been wearing the Seiko SKX007 (although his may be a different model number) since the early 80s. I was a little kid back then and I may not have consciously noticed his watch, But his watch must have left some impact, because I've always been partial to divers watches, and currently own several. These include two quartz Bulovas, one quartz Swatch, and most recently an automatic Omega Seamaster Professional (the James Bond model). The Bulovas were OK, the Swatch is a piece of garbage, and the Omega is just a delight to own.And yet, none of these ever seemed to match my mind's idealized image of what a divers watch should be.A short time after buying the Omega, I came across the Seiko on some watch aficionado website. I recognized it as the watch my uncle has worn all these years and was surprised to realize that this very watch was the image against which I judged all other diver watches. I wanted it badly. But having just spent a bundle on a watch I couldn't justify the purchase.Until the end of December. Out of nowhere, my not-a-year-old Omega started gaining close to an hour a day!! A bizarre circumstance followed by an immediate delivery to the local Omega authorized dealer. It would take nearly a month until my watch was repaired and returned.What's a guy to do? I knew .... I went to Amazon and bought the Seiko I always wanted. An automatic and the less expensive model; the pricier model has square number markers, not circles.Always the pessimist, I prepared myself for disappointment. I hadn't seen my uncle's watch for some time and just expected a let down of some sort. I was concerned the face would just look radically different from what I hoped for, and I'd be stuck with a watch I didn't want to wear.Read more ›
February 8, 2008
This is my fourth Seiko diver. I really like the 007/009 lines since they look and wear great and I don't have to worry about them. Indeed these guys seemTo look better with age as they gain a little patina. They also look great on NATO, zulu and leather straps. I haven't grabbed a bracelet yet but that's another way to go. These watches seem to have a cult following and punch above their weight in terms of looks and value. No, they're not a Tag or a Rolex but these can be worn in the garage, mowing the lawn and to work. People seem to really like it when I wear it and I'm often asked to take it off so they can look at it. It's an automatic watch and will stop ticking after about 48 hours of non wearing. If this bothers you then grab a watch winder. I just set mine and pop them on. Easy.
March 6, 2015
Prospective buyers should beware that when purchased from Mr. Watch this watch is a gray market watch and will not include a box, manual, manufacturer's warranty, or any proof of authenticity. I have done my best to verify that what I received was genuine and everything seems correct, but the watch itself came in a plastic bag shoved in a non-branded box and a "warranty" certificate from Mr. Watch, not Seiko. Given the frequency of fakes these days buyers who care about making sure their product is genuine probably want to look elsewhere.
January 1, 2012
PROS:
  • Made of luminous material making it easy to tell the time even when it is dark
  • This is one of the best Seiko watches for men which needs no battery replacement
  • Incredibly water resistant – you can dive as deep as 660 feet

CONS:
  • Though the watch is perfectly built, its replicas exist and it’s easy to be duped into buying one. To avoid this, only purchase from a verified seller. The best Seiko watches for men come in original packing inclusive of a warranty.

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SGG711 Titanium Watch

Seiko Men's SGG711 Titanium Watch

If you’re in the market with a limited budget but want to feel the titanium technology on your wrist, then you might consider one of the best Seiko watches for men — the SGG711 Titanium watch. It is geared with many awesome features and designed to compliment your any sense of style. In addition, it includes a 40 mm titanium case and a stationary bezel all crafted from strong and light-weight titanium to provide a more luxurious feel and look.

  • Powered by Japanese quartz movement with the analog display that has a simple date/day bar at three o’clock.
  • Its case boasts three-link bracelet measuring 20 mm wide with a fold over clasp for safety.
  • Includes a black dial with Arabic numeral indices that mark every hour and small white indices as part of the outer dial that marks every minute.
  • Being one of the best Seiko watches for men, it has a hardlex crystal known to be water resistant for about 165 feet, 3 trim hands and a dial window that displays day and date.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SGG711 Titanium Watch

Made in USA or Imported; Titanium watch featuring round black dial with day/date window, luminous hands, and Arabic hour markers; 40 mm titanium case with hardlex dial window; Japanese quartz ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have had this watch for about 3 weeks and I love it. I was looking for a nice analog watch to wear to work that had a metal band so it's easy to sterilize (I work at a hospital), a black face, day/date function, a slim case that isn't obnoxiously oversized like most 'fashion' watches, and numbers all around the dial. Overall, I wanted something with simple styling that I could wear with just about anything.When I was waiting for my watch to arrive in the mail, I was worried that it wouldn't look very good in person or that it would be too big (I have smaller wrists) or that it would look like an old man watch (I'm in my 20s) or that I simply wouldn't like it, but when I opened the box, my worries were instantly assuaged. It looks better in person. It has slightly different coloring than in the picture. Since it is made out of titanium, it is a little darker in color, like more of a medium gray. Definitely not the standard silvery stainless steel that most watches are made out of. Also the face isn't dark inky black like in the picture, but sort of a 'light black' if you will, or a very very dark gray. I think all this makes a very cool looking watch, and in my opinion makes it look better than in the picture. The titanium gives it a lighter feel than you would expect. One cool thing I read about titanium is that due to its heat conductive properties, the metal doesn't feel cold when you first put it on like steel does. Although I don't have a steel watch to compare it to, I would still agree with this statement. Just some food for thought.Function wise, this watch is flawless as one would expect from a Seiko. Do a search on Seiko's reputation and you will see what I mean.Read more ›
September 6, 2011
I couldn't be happier. I got this watch for daily use and it has held up well to the knocking about.The titanium gives it a nice light feel and satisfies my inner metallurgist.I especially like the combination day-of-week and day-of-month display and was relieved to find out that they could both be adjusted separately from the time.While this isn't a very stylish watch I have worn it with a suit and didn't feel like a dork with a digital timex -- If you are limited to only one watch this is it!
September 12, 2008
After years of buying crappy Timex watches at Kohls, I decided to splurge on a Seiko 6 years ago and I have never looked back. When that one finally tanked, I wanted another Seiko for sure, but was intrigued with the lightness and durability of titanium. So after reading the other reviews, and deciding that I didn't need a chronograph or alarm, I settled on this one. I've been wearing it for several days 24/7 (I even sleep with it) and I'm delighted with my purchase.First, the titanium case and band are amazing; the watch is so light, you'd think it was made of cheap aluminum or something. Completely catches you off-guard if you are used to the the heft of stainless cases and bands.Second, the watch is simple in look and function, which I like; a previous reviewer here who complained that he couldn't get the watch to keep the right day/date probably didn't realize the watch operates on two 12-hour cycles. So, for example, I received the watch at 11:00 AM and set the date and time. By 12:30, the date had changed. Clearly the watch 'thought' it was midnight, so I reset the date again, and that's all it took.Third, the "Z" band that comes with this watch does not require the universal watch band link removal tool that is often offered on Amazon to those of us perusing watches here. The links were easy to remove and add with a small screwdriver or punch, and the clasp has additional incremental settings that allow fine tuning to your heart's content. I will caution, however, that any one with a desk job and a computer may find the "Z" band clasp will dig into your skin if your wrist lays flat on the table for long periods. Was a bother initially, but over the last few days it is no longer noticeable.Read more ›
August 9, 2012
PROS:
  • Simple in function and look
  • Has its highest acceptable quality, easy to read and use and comfortable to wear
  • Keeps good time hence one of the best Seiko watches for men
  • Perfect to suit any men’s wrist

CONS:
  • Though water resistant, it can only withstand short periods of recreational swimming

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SNEO42 Stainless Steel Solar Watch

Seiko Men's SNE042 Stainless Steel Solar Watch

Seiko prides itself on simple yet sustainable designs, and the Seiko Men’s SNE042 is a prime example of it. It is great for a more formal look but also fine for casual wear too because of its classic yet versatile design. Though slightly unusual as it draws all its energy from a form of light, it is one of the best Seiko watches for men out there.

  • Uses quartz motion with the analog show and is solar powered by any type of light including light from an electric bulb.
  • Boasts a stainless steel case measuring 37 mm with hardlex crystal dial window to protect the grey dial, fold-over clasp secured with push button closure and a two-tone stainless steel bracelet.
  • Features luminescent hands and markers, charcoal dial with luminous gold-tone hands and stick hour markers, fixed gold-tone bezel and minute markers on the outer rim.
  • Waterproof to 99 feet hence can withstand rain and splashes of water.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SNE042 Stainless Steel Solar Watch

Two-tone solar-powered watch in stainless steel featuring shimmering charcoal dial with logo and day/date window; 37 mm stainless steel case with hardlex dial window; Quartz movement with analog ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I've been wearing Seikos since I was a teenager and a titanium kinetic Seiko for the last ten years. I was intrigued by the solar concept but concerned that the stainless steel case would be objectionably heavy. Turns out the watch is surprisingly light and comfortable to wear. The blend of the two tones is attractive and the charcoal face is distinctive yet classy. It's been running since it came out of the box! I highly recommend the watch if it meets your selection criteria. And Amazon's price was VERY competitive (a third less than a national warehouse retailer)!
May 19, 2011
This Watch is exactly as advertised, keeping perfect time right out of the box. Only problem is Charcoal Dial background makes it difficult to read in low light levels. If your eyes are getting old like mine, I would order the SNE032 with white dial next time.Seiko Men's SNE032 Two-Tone Solar White Dial Watch Order a link removing tool with the watch so you can adjust the band.SE Watchband Link Remover Tool or SE Watch Band Link Remover Set (5 Piece Set)
May 18, 2012
My husband lost his watch, so for his birthday I bought him this one. It wasn't very expensive but I thought it would be functional and attractive. Well, he LOVES it! Now he wants to buy another watch for every day use because he doesn't want to mess this one up when he's working around the house. I have to admit, it is very elegant looking, I didn't expect it to be as nice as it is.
January 26, 2011
PROS:
  • Perfect for virtually any occasion
  • Very masculine
  • Provides both English and Spanish day/date calendar
  • Very well made

CONS:
  • Not ideal for swimming

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SSC017 Prospex Solar Stainless Steel Dive Watch

Seiko Men's SSC017 Prospex Solar Stainless Steel Dive Watch

Whether you want one of the best Seiko watches for men for semi-professional diving, casual or formal wear, Seiko Men’s SSC017 Prospex Solar Stainless Steel Dive Watch is definitely the go-to model. It is built to be water resistant to 200 m hence great for serious surface water sports. Additionally, it is solar powered so no need to worry about swapping batteries.

  • Features a hardlex crystal window that is both scratch and shock resistant and a stainless steel bracelet with a secure double locking mechanism based on two clasps.
  • Includes black dial with silver tone hands, minute’s markers on the outer rim, luminescent hands and markers and dots hour markers.
  • Boasts a Japanese quartz movement, date display between four and five o’clock position and three sub-dials displaying 24hrs, 60 min and sub seconds.
  • A large unidirectional bezel that runs smoothly and stays exactly where you set it making it one of the best Seiko watches for men.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SSC017 Prospex Solar Stainless Steel Dive Watch

Made in USA or Imported; Solar-power bracelet watch with black dial featuring luminous hands and markers and three chronograph subdials,; 43 mm stainless steel case with Hardlex dial window; Japanese ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
DESCRIPTION: The Seiko SSC017 Eco-Drive watch is a diver's style quartz/electronic chronograph (a watch with stopwatch functions) that is water resistant to 200 meters and whose battery is continually recharged by any strong light source. Available in three color variations, the cal. V175-0AD0 version presents a dark black dial with large white, luminous hours and minutes hands and large white, luminous dot, dash and keystone-style hour markings, under a simple, uncoated tempered glass ("Hardlex") crystal. The unmagnified date is shown as small white digits on a black background, between the 4 and 5 o'clock positions on the watch face and requires resetting for any month that is not 31 days in length. The crystal is recessed very slightly below a surrounding beveled timing bezel, which helps to protect it against scratches. Three smaller sub-dials in the lower half of the watch face display seconds, elapsed minutes (for the chronograph function) and 24-hour time (locked permanently to the main hour hand). Since the 24-hour time display is NOT INDEPENDENTLY ADJUSTABLE, this watch does NOT support a second time zone (so-called GMT function). The seconds and 24-hour indicators are stark white and the former also has a luminous dot, making them readable despite their small size. The chronograph minutes indicator in the center sub-dial is sky blue, which blends in with the black watch face, and is more difficult to see. The large second hand on the main dial is used for the chronograph function only, to display seconds/fifths of a second, and is finished in sky blue, also blending in with the watch face. Surrounding the watch face is a 120 click-stop, ratcheting timing bezel, beveled so that the inside circumference is slightly higher than the outside.Read more ›
June 13, 2012
I love this watch for all the reasons already stated. The solar charge lasts and lasts even when out of the sun for weeks at a time. Since no one else mentioned this, I will: this watch is extremely accurate. It has stayed within 1 second of the USNO atomic clock for over 6 months straight. I know that many folks don't care about such accuracy in what is mainly a piece of jewelry, but for those that care, it is amazingly accurate! I have never had a watch that was this accurate. I've owned solar atomic watches that self correct every few days, but those were off by several seconds a day. Sometimes, depending on location, those watches would fail to synchronize with the atomic clock in Colorado.I don't know if all of these watches are this accurate, but mine is a gem and a real keeper. What a time piece!
January 4, 2013
Stylish and substantial and solar powered, this Seiko Dive Chronograph meets my professional needs , working in ,both, TV studios and Classrooms, and does it with a contemporary and masculine look. It's a heavy watch (and big enough to be seen from the International Space Station :)So far, a few weeks in. I really like it!!!:)
October 4, 2013
PROS:
  • Very solid construction
  • Reliable for divers who do not accept compromises
  • Fits most wrists
  • Made in the USA

CONS:
  • Maybe quite big for people with small wrists

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SKX007K2 Diver’s Automatic Watch

Seiko Men's SKX007K2 Diver's Automatic Watch

Backed with unparalleled versatility, legibility, comfort and durability, this watch is one of the best Seiko watches for men ideal for those who are always on the go. It is powered by Japanese automatic movement and operated by the movement of one’s arm. The watch combines environmentally friendly technology with a rugged and stylish design. So if you are set for swimming, school or for work, this Seiko Men’s SKX007K2 watch is a sure bet.

  • Features a 660 feet water depth resistance and 200 bar water pressure resistance which means you can wear even during scuba diving.
  • A black dial adorned with luminous hour and hand markers around. This dial is protected by a hardlex crystal dial window that features date/day functions at its four o’clock position.
  • Equipped with a silver 23 mm wide stainless steel bracelet that boasts a stylish five-link construction secured by a fold-over clasp with safety clasp.
  • Designed with a 40mm stainless steel case and black toned unidirectional stainless steel bezel that can only go counter clockwise.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SKX007K2 Diver's Automatic Watch

Imported; Quality Japanese Automatic movement; Functions without a battery; Powers automatically with the movement of your arm; Hardlex crystal; Case diameter: 42 mm; Stainless-steel case; Black ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I first learned of this watch via a brief review in a blog titled "This $180 Dive Watch Puts Rolex Submariners On Notice". That certainly got my attention since I enjoy interesting watches across a range of price points. The link in the review led to the item here on Amazon and I was impressed by the consistency of the positive reviews and the scarcity of negative ones. By the way, thanks to the reviewers who shared such detailed comments on this watch's physical metrics as well as their objective and subjective comments.Based on the strength of the reviews (mostly here but also on other sites around the web), I ordered it that day. Despite selecting free shipping I had it a mere 3 days later through seller E Watch Stock. I had read of other buyers receiving non-Seiko packaging and documentation but mine appeared to be fully authentic and original. I was not cheated out of the fun of unboxing this excellent timepiece.This watch has met my expectations, meaning that a) it is as good-looking and functional as I had hoped, and b) I agree with those who feel the band's heft--or lack thereof-- doesn't match that of the watch. The Jubilee has a nice look but I can't get past the light weight and the play (nice way of saying rattle). So I ordered a Super Oyster from Strapcode. My wrist measures a shade under 8" and the stock Jubilee bracelet required only minor adjustments to the clasp to achieve a comfortable fit until the replacement arrives. I took a photo of it in my office and added it to the image gallery.This is a timeless watch design and the automatic movement gives it interest and quirkiness including that enjoyable (to me) smooth sweep action of the second hand. One big intangible of this watch is the pride of ownership.Read more ›
February 22, 2014
Intro:In my opinion if you like dive watches, this model is a must have. Dive watches aren't just for diving, they make the best beater watches because they are built extra tough and the Seiko line of dive watches are built extra-extra tough.Watch Model:The watch being reviewed is the SKX007K2 which is the black dialed black bezel version. There is another model called the SKX009K2 that has a blue dial and pepsi colored bezel.Watch Movement:This model has an automatic movement in it as opposed to a battery operated quartz movement. The automatic movement, known in Rolex circles as "perpetual" has a pendulum and clutch that moves when you move your arm. This is unnoticed by the wearer. The wearer's motion keeps the main spring constantly wound. This particular model uses the Seiko 7S26(A or B) caliber movement. I suspect that if you purchase this watch now you'll get the 7S26B version. The B version has a couple of improvements over the A version and you can read about them if you do a search on it. The 7S26 caliber movement can be compared to the Miyota (Citizen) 8215 movement found in the Invicta line of watches like the Invicta 8926 Submariner homage. Both movements have 21 jewels, and both are non-hacking. But, the Myota can be manual wound and the Seiko cannot. The Seiko will wind in both pendulum directions and the Myota only winds in one pendulum direction. Both movements have about the same accuracy and same power reserves. For those of you that are environmentally conscious, this is the "greenest" type of watch movement.Watch Bracelet:The bracelet is a stainless steel jubilee style bracelet.Read more ›
January 10, 2012
This watch has the cleanest, most readable face of any watch on the market today. Even for middle-aged eyes, the time is easy to see at a glance in almost any light. The metal band, often maligned by reviewers, is actually a very attractive copy of the Rolex-style "jubilee" band, with large side-links in brushed stainless steel and inner small links of mirror-polished stainless steel. The case is a flowing sculpture which alternates brushed- and polished-stainless surfaces. I own two: one is a dark-blue face with blue and red bezel, and the other is as pictured here, with a black face and bezel. The blue-face watch, I have had for four years, while the black-face watch is a recent purchase. I retained the steel bracelet with the first watch, but with my new black watch, I fitted a German-made Hirsch waterproof black leather strap. Both get compliments. The older blue watch is a galloper, gaining approximately seven seconds per day. After a couple of weeks of "break-in" wear, the new black watch has settled-in slow, losing about four seconds per day. YOU WILL NOT GET "QUARTZ ACCURACY" FROM THESE WATCHES. They WILL run, when fully-wound, with a 36-48 hour power reserve, and they will run year after year without any servicing. Once broken-in, these watches will run CONSISTENTLY fast or slow, without detectable variance. Learn your watch and adjust it accordingly at strict intervals, and you will be able to navigate by the stars for weeks at a time, even without an outside time reference. Pictures do not do justice to this watch - it is beautiful, functional, and spare of style so that it won't be out of fashion when you pass it to your heir.
February 29, 2008
PROS:
  • Provides ultimate comfort
  • Offers value for money
  • Functions without a battery
  • Designed to last long

CONS:
  • Not very accurate

back to menu ↑

Seiko Men’s SKX173 Stainless Steel and Black Polyurethane Automatic Dive Watch

Seiko Men's SKX173 Stainless Steel and Black Polyurethane Automatic Dive Watch

This 21-jewel automatic watch is no doubt one of the best Seiko watches for men who are active outdoors, in the gym and near the water. This is because it is capable of withstanding rugged environments with functions that complement its design. Seiko Men’s SKX173 Stainless Steel and Black Polyurethane Automatic Dive Watch was built for long lasting function and durability and has delivered on its promise.

  • Exceptional black dial with three-hand function, easily readable bar markers, date window located at the 3 o’clock position and English or Spanish day.
  • Water resistant to 660 ft hence suitable for scuba diving and meets ISO standards.
  • Stainless steel bezel and case that perfectly complement the black dial, white markings, polyurethane black band and indices of the watch.
  • Features a scratch resistant hardlex crystal, a screw-down case, and an off-center crown.
  • Product
  • Photos

Seiko Men's SKX173 Stainless Steel and Black Polyurethane Automatic Dive Watch

Imported; Automatic self-winding diver's watch featuring gear-edge unidirectional bezel with off-center crown; Black dial with day/date window and luminous hands and indices; Hardlex dial window; ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
....a short and sweet story about this model (formally model 6309)of Seiko watch. In February of 1978 I was in a specialized unit of the Air Force and had just arrived at Clark Air Force Base in the Philippines. I needed a good watch as my old Timex had just broken. I went to the BX and bought this watch for $110. Most expensive watch I had ever owned but I needed a good one and figured this was it. I wore that watch on my left wrist everyday, all day for 22 and a half years! There is no embellishment here. I sent it in every 5 years or so for a cleaning and adjustment and that's it! How many bands did I replace? I couldn't tell you how many bands and band pins I replaced on that watch. It went with me everywhere through my youth to middle age. It is truly like an old friend - the things we had done and the things we had seen - death, destruction, sea depths, high altitude, girl friends, wives, marriages, divorces, child birth, child graduation. Incredible! The day the jeweler told me it was wore-out and could no longer keep good time was the day I put it in my safety deposit box. ---I bought the same model watch the next day. It has been on my wrist, ticking away, since June, 2000 - just as faithful as my old friend who now lies resting after a long and storied career.If you need a good watch and one that will last, I can recommend this one.Update...12.20.15 The Seiko SKX173I bought in 2000 is still going strong after 15 1/2 years. This watch will take me into old age. I'm slowing down now and not nearly as active so I believe this watch may last longer than the last one. My kids can have it when I'm gone - to do with it as they please. They do know what these watches mean to me.There are other watches out there. Some are digital and others are bigger and still others are more expensive. But, in my book, you can't buy a BETTER watch.
May 12, 2009
I felt the urge to clarify some points after having read the complaints from those that apparently know nothing about mechanical watches. No offense, but a little research before purchasing your first mechanical watch might be a good idea.An automatic watch will not be as accurate as a quartz. These watches (with the Seiko 7S26 caliber movement) usually gain or lose around 15 seconds per day on average. That is absolutely normal. If you desire improved accuracy, you could have the movement regulated (which should cost under $10). But, if you expect to set the time and not have to re-set it for a long time, then a mechanical watch is not for you. A mechanical Rolex usually won't be as accurate as a Casio quartz on a monthly basis. That is simply the nature of a mechanical watch.These watches have about a 48 hour reserve, when fully wound (which takes about a full day of wearing it). You'll either want to wear it at least every other day, or get a winder, or expect to have to re-set the time & calendar within 2 days of not wearing it. You also can't manually wind this watch. You gently shake it for about 30 seconds.Another important thing to know is that you should not change the day or date when the watch time is between 9PM - 4AM (when the calendar is in transition). Doing so can damage the calendar mechanism. This is mentioned in the manual, but not everyone reads manuals. The date should change at midnight, but the day slowly changes till about 3AM.All of this may sound negative, but it's not. It is exactly what is expected from an automatic watch (of any brand) in this price range.Some people feel they have been ripped off if their Seiko watch, which they assume must be made in Japan, is made elsewhere, such as Malaysia.Read more ›
February 17, 2009
I've been a fan of divers watches since college days. I first ran across a Seiko 150m model about 1988 and I've since come to regard this SKX173 200m as THE classic dive watch. Not only is it great for water activities and sports, but it's also great for dry land functions such as telling time and looking cool.The automatic mechanical power isn't just some outmoded watch technology from the past. It's fascinating to have this intricate and accurate time-machine on your wrist. And the auto-winding mechanism is a real plus. If, like me, you find yourself the owner of multiple watches in these days of expensive batteries for quartz models, replacing power cells can become a high-priced hassle. All you have to do is wear this watch and move around normally and it runs without a thought. The only downer for me is that I want to give my other watch models some wrist time too, so then things tend to run down. But then, just pick it up, set it, strap it on, and off you go. I have always found it quite accurate enough for my ordinary time-keeping purposes.One of the classic and attractive feature of diver watches is the rotator elapsed time bezel. If you like the countdown timer feature on your digital watch, this rotator simply does the same thing in an analog way. Just turn the 0 indicator to the preset position of the minute or second hand and WATCH (yes, pun intended) how much time goes by. There is also a a version of this elapsed time ring in red (from 0 to 20 secs.) and blue (from 20 to 60 secs.). If you want a slightly different dive-watch look, I've found that these replacement rotators are readily available on the net.Read more ›
May 14, 2005
PROS:
  • Easy to read in both light and dark conditions
  • Has a lot of room in terms of versatility
  • Functions without a battery
  • Has a classic and stylish design

CONS:
  • Not very accurate in keeping time so you need to wear it every other day to keep it running

Tips On How to Choose Watches

Consider the following factors:

  • Versatility
  • Comfort
  • Your lifestyle
  • Size of the watch face
  • Water resistance
  • Color of the strap and face
  • Automatic or quartz style
  • Material
  • Budget

Why Choose Seiko Watches?

  • Seiko has a rich history of quality and performance.
  • The company makes watches fit every lifestyle and personality from high-end luxury watches to affordable sports watches.
  • Seiko is the leader in revolutionary new design features, therefore, you can be sure to find the best Seiko watches for men.
  • Designed to last long in your collection — water resistant.
  • Available in both automatic and quartz-style.

Competition — Which One Is the Best Among Reviewed and Why?

With its modern and distinctive design, the Seiko Men’s SGG711 Titanium Watch is one of the best Seiko watches for men. The combination of titanium case with three-link bracelet and a stationary bezel is alluring and captivating. Another thing that makes this watch one of the best Seiko watches for men is its unique hardlex crystal that is water resistant for about 165 feet. What’s more, it is reasonably priced and designed to complement your any sense of style.

Sources:

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

Wikipedia.org

[Total: 3    Average: 2.3/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password