Top 10 Best Mini Quadcopter Choices — Greatest Reviews for You

Finding the best mini quadcopter can be a challenging undertaking. There is a lot of information out there on drones but authenticating that information and being able to utilize it is the difficult task. From racing quadcopters to those with 4K and HD resolution there is a gamut of options in 2016. To help you make an informed choice, we have put together a list of the strongest contenders based on user recommendations. Enjoy the reading.

Hubsan X4 Quadcopter with FPV Camera Toy

Hubsan X4 Quadcopter with FPV Camera Toy

This is a great entry level mini quadcopter for learning how to fly especially if you’ve never done so before while still enjoying the great FVP camera toy. Hubsan X4 Quadcopter with FPV Camera Toy features a lightweight airframe that is very durable. The package consists of four night LED lights, a USB charger and a 3.75-volt Li-Po battery that has an auto cut off safety PCB.

  • The camera features 0.3-megapixel sensor and captures video at resolution 640 x 480 thereby giving you good quality videos.
  • Features the latest six axis flight control system and a gyro sensitivity that is adjustable. This feature allows for super-stable flight, especially when flying outdoor.
  • 2.4 GHz 4-Channel transmitter that gives you instant video preview anytime.
  • Boasts 50meters to 100 meters control distance and around 100 meters distance for live video.
  • Product
  • Photos

Hubsan X4 Quadcopter with FPV Camera Toy

Lightweight airframe with nice durability Latest 6-axis flight control system with adjustable gyro sensitivity Permits super stable flight, flying outdoor Motor(X4): 0820 Coreless Frequency: 2.4GHz ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have been enjoying the Micro's from Hubsan and think they are great for practicing in confined areas. I have larger models and have been waiting for my IRIS from 3Drobotics. But as I wait I can tell you practicing with the 6 axis micros does help to improve your understanding and use of the controls. Hubsan from my experience has made some really great products and put so much thought into the development of these micros. They fly great, take a lot of abuse and have parts available should something break.I have become so interested in the multi-rotor and never thought they could be this much fun. I started out looking for a project or hobby that I could enjoy with my Grandchildren and this one sure hit the mark. If you are a parent or grandparent and want something that everyone can enjoy the multi-rotor copter I believe will work. Any of the micros from Hubsan would be great to start. The X4 model H107L is the lowest cost, or the H107C which now has a HD 720p camera built in or the one here the H107D with the FPV screen built into the controller.I even put on my more advanced FPV goggles and was able to connect to the H107D which was really fun watching from the copters point of view.I put up some videos for anyone that wants to see it flying or me talking about what I feel is important. You can check all my videos at Funtimegrandpa [...] or [...] and if these links are removed you can go to plus dot google dot com and search for Funtimegrandpa and then click on Grandpa Jake [...]I hope everyone has a wonderful day and please stop in to my site when you have time. Take Care Grandpa Jake
February 1, 2014
I got mine today, and have gone through two battery charging cycles. I'm writing this initial review about my initial experiences while I'm waiting for the battery to charge for my third flight series.Contrary to other reviews, I didn't have any trouble removing and inserting the battery. It's a tight fit, but manageable if you're careful.I was dismayed at how fast the control unit batteries are depleted. I've only flown it on two drone battery charges, and already I have to replace the batteries in the control unit. I guess the video takes a lot of power! There are two jacks on the left-hand side of the control unit which don't seem to be explained in the Instruction Manual. It would be nice if one of them was for power. I'll find out.Mode 2 controls (the default) seem natural for this device. Mode 1 must be for model airplanes or something.I highly recommend installing the rotor shield because I've crashed it a dozen times on my first two flight sequences. Like other reviews, I agree that there is a problem with the propellers coming off, even with the rotor shield on. It's just annoying if you like to crash a lot.I was surprised at the great video resolution. However, I'm not sure it is adequate to fly this unit totally by FPV (First Person Video) because of the relatively narrow view angle.I've seen a half-dozen larger quad drones fly. They are about 2 feet square and cost a lot more. I wouldn't recommend flying them indoors unless you don't have anything breakable in your house. This little unit which is about 4 inches square is just fine for indoors. It's fun for now, but eventually, I might use it outdoors to inspect the gutters on my house for leaves without having to climb a 40-foot ladder.Read more ›
December 20, 2013
I have another one, given to me as a (great) birthday present, so I had some practice really getting to know how to fly this kind of quad-copter. I was hooked, so I bought this one myself. Fairly soon after getting it, I decided to fly it high in the air to find out what I could see from there around us. However, I looked at the screen on the controller for a few seconds too long. Looked up, and saw that it was drifting towards the trees, which you can't see on the camera. It doesn't give you peripheral vision - it points straight forward and down at an angle. So at this point I panicked and overdid the maneuvers out of the area, which caused it to move behind me. Once that happened, I couldn't fly it by sight, since all of the controls were now backwards from how I was looking at it. If I had more experience, I would have relaxed a bit and gone back to looking at the screen on the controller, to bring it home. Instead, I hit power up to avoid more obstacles and it shot straight up, and I couldn't see (or hear) it any more. I had all but given up on ever seeing it again, when I happened to glance down at the screen again, and noticed that it was still transmitting - I could see down now from the unit, but it was now so high that I couldn't recognize anything it was looking at. I tried rotating the view, hoping to see something familiar, but to no avail. Forgetting that it was still climbing, the view looked like something you would see from a hot air balloon or small airplane, and I should have relaxed the power on it, but it didn't occur to me - I was more interested in finding out where it was, and hoping to fly it back. Just then, the screen went blank. It had either run out of power (the battery only has about 6 mins of life), or gone out of range.Read more ›
July 7, 2014
PROS:
  • Offers 30-minutes flight time
  • Easy to set-up
  • Offers great learning experience
  • Durable and offers value for your money

CONS:
  • Flying time is quite short — seven minutes only on one charge

back to menu ↑

Hubsan X4 H107C Quadcopter

 

 

Hubsan X4 H107C Quadcopter

For a cheap beginner mini quadcopter, you cannot get much better than this H107C by Hubsan. It provides 9-minutes of flight time and 30-minutes of charging time. The package comes with a user manual, one quadcopter, USB cable, a remote control and four spare props. With this quadcopter, you can gain some experience with aerial photography or even use it to improve your flying skills. Although its recording quality is not the best out there, this quadcopter is still great for a small price tag.

  • Uses 3.7-Volt 380mAh Li-Po battery. This is the universal battery-type used by RC quadcopters.
  • 2.4GHz with 4-channels transmitter to allow you to fly your mini quadcopter without worrying about any kind of interference of any person who might be flying a model similar to yours nearby.
  • Features four ways flip i.e. backward, right, left and forward and six-axis flight control system.
  • The camera features 2 Megapixels which produces high-quality video.
  • Two flying modes including the normal mode which is very stable hence ideal if it’s your first time to own a quadcopter and expert mode which gives you full speed.
  • Product
  • Photos
This small quadcopter was recommended as a great learning platform for anyone planning to invest in larger more expensive quads. I am a professional photographer and have used helicopters and aircraft to shoot aerials of buildings for 20 years. Recently clients have been asking about the capability to shoot from a drone type platform. As I write this in Feb2014 the FAA forbids commercial use of drones. While they sort out the regulations I have started looking into developing this capability.Larger platforms suitable for producing quality images range from as little as $2000 (drone, gimble, camera, monitor, etc.) to well over $20,000 (2 man Octoquad with 3axis gimble). One of my biggest concerns is the learning curve in controlling these to get the best quality results possible without crashing my expensive camera equipment, dropping it into a lake or having it lose the controller signal and fly off into the woods.After some basic research it was suggested that this model the Hubsan X4 H107C 2MP Upgrade would be excellent to train with. It's fairly cheap so damaging it would not be a hardship, but it's also quite durable due to it's low mass so it can survive your early trails. The camera is NOT suitable for making a TV commercial as someone else wrote, it's barely HD at 1280x720. It's also rather poor in low light with a lot of noise in the picture. But it is adequate to evaluate your control of the flight and could under some circumstances provide some very short B roll footage.Some have complained that the battery doesn't last long enough but this is pretty much a universal problem for any device using battery power to lifts it's own weigh plus the battery. Specs indicate about 7.5 minutes flight time for 40+ minutes of charge time.Read more ›
February 8, 2014
This is my third helicopter and my first quadcopter. My first is the thresher protocol indoor copter which is extremely easy to fly, my second is the UDI U13a copter with a .3mp camera. The UDI 13a is a little bit more difficult than the thresher but I learned it well and you can fly it outdoors with very little wind. The Hubsan Quadcopter is the toughest to learn yet. I've adjusted the trims so it will hover but when you move either stick just slightly it reacts quickly which makes it tough to use indoors. I like that the battery is easily removable, so you can charge multiple batteries and get more flight time. The camera is more detailed than my UDI u13a camera. Video is great 1280x720. Also while trying to learn the controls on this Quadcopter I've damaged blades. I had to purchase the crash kit with the extra blades. The crash kit is a must for this Quadcopter. Once the snow melts I will try this Hubsan quadcopter outdoors. If it works well I will change my rating. If anyone has any ideas how to make the controls less sensitive please let me know.UPDATE:2-21-14 I purchased the blade guard, which is incredible! Now I can fly this into a wall without damaging the blades! Because of the guard, I have learned to operate this copter much better with good control and I changed my review rating from a three to five stars!UPDATE 2-26-14: Thanks to Mary's comments, I have now adjusted sensitivity to 40% in normal mode and flying this is a breeze! Thanks Mary. Things I have learned and tips for newbies like me:1. Get the blade guard it is a must. Otherwise, you will be damaging blades and perhaps motors while learning to operate.2. Extra batteries are a must, they easily slip in and out and will give you more flight time.Read more ›
February 17, 2014
Holy cow. I knew I was going to love quadcopters, but I never wanted to invest $1000+ dollars in some huge thing with a camera and all that.So when I saw a friend had one of these, and he let me fly it for a few minutes, I was HOOKED. And at less than $100 for everything, why not try it out?!?The most important thing to know is that flying quadcopters is a learned skill. I have flown sailplanes and gliders, but quadcopters are totally different, and it takes PRACTICE to be able to control them reasonably.After a week of flying it, maybe 30 minutes a day, I have a reasonable amount of control and can fly it around the tree in the back yard, chase the dog, and - when I turn the camera on - I can usually get a shot of whatever I want an image of.I simply can't express how important it is to get a small one like this to figure out how they fly. And you should get the Hubsan X4 because EVERY SINGLE PART can be purchased separately, so no matter what you break, you can fix it!! So fly it! Crash it into stuff! It comes with some extra propellers and the VERY IMPORTANT crash bar thing to protect the blades.When first starting out, INSTALL THE CRASH PROTECTOR. This makes the quadcopter heavier, and makes the controls less sensitive, so you can more easily get used to flying it.Aw heck. What am I blathering on about? You know you want this. BUY IT. You won't be disappointed, and when you get a big quadcopter with a GoPro on it, you will be VERY glad for the hours you spent practicing with this little beauty.
April 24, 2014
PROS:
  • The frame is made of plastic which is pretty good
  • Stable and sturdy enough allowing you to fly in moderate breezes
  • Easy to fly even for children below 14-years
  • Affordable

CONS:
  • You need to shut off the camera before turning off the mini quadcopter as your videos may be lost

back to menu ↑

Hubsan X4 H107L Quadcopter

Hubsan X4 (H107L) 4 Channel 2.4GHz RC Quadcopter, Black

Finding a mini quadcopter can be a bit challenging with so many models available in the market. Thankfully there are still some models like Hubsan X4 H107L for example that manage to stand out from the crowd all thanks to its small size, great price tag, design and excellent quality. It features four channel 2.4 GHz controller and has a battery of 240mAH to give you pretty good flight experience. The camera performance is also good and will give you good quality video and images too.

  • Has a six axis gyro that makes maneuvering this mini quadcopter much easier even in very harsh climate conditions.
  • Powerful coreless motors and high-capacity 240mAh 3.7-Volt LiPO battery that is charged via a USB charge that is included in the package.
  • Measures 2.3 inches by 2.3 inches by 1 inch while weighing 1.3 pounds only hence it is very compact and light-weight.
  • Product
  • Photos

Hubsan X4 (H107L) 4 Channel 2.4GHz RC Quadcopter, Black

Direct from Atomik RC - the palm sized Hubsan X4 Mini RTF RC Quadcopter. Excellent features including full 4 channel 2.4Ghz control, powerful coreless motors, high capacity LiPO battery and stunt ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I will start by saying that this little quad has exceeded my expectations in just about every way. It is fast, nimble and agile but not so much that it is difficult to control. The response from the transmitter to the quad is spot on, no delay and no lag. I received it this morning and have been flying it all day and I have had a blast doing so. Being new to the hobby and first time flyer I expected that practice and patience would be required and I was correct. But it's not discouraging not being able to fly it like a seasoned pilot could because of the excitement of what you'll be able to do once at that level.Just a few things that I would recommend to new pilots and those looking to get into the hobby. First point, DO YOUR HOMEWORK, take into account what you want out of a quad and go from there. Me personally, I wanted to make sure this was something I was going to enjoy doing and am capable of doing. It doesn't make sense to spend hundreds of dollars on a quad to find out it's not a hobby you're going to enjoy and pursue and invest the time to get better at if you don't enjoy it. Start small and work your way up, you'll be glad you did.Secondly, be smart about your purchase, yes this is something that is a heck of a lot of fun. Thus, spend the extra money from the get go and invest in the necessary upgrades and equipment to help fuel your passion for flying these little guys. When I bought this quad, I also purchased the crash pack in case something broke, didn't work etc. It gives you peace of mind knowing you're prepared for that oh s*** moment. Batteries, buy a pack of 5 batteries and the charger to juice them all up at the same time. You'll significantly increase the time you get to fly which means more practice and more fun.Read more ›
January 10, 2015
Requires a bit of trimming to get it to fly right but once there it is a great little quadrotor. Very responsive and feels like a quality product for it's price. I would highly recommend getting spare batteries for it as one battery is not enough time to fully enjoy this quadrotor. On a side note, let it cool down five to ten minutes between runs. It doesn't get very hot but it is better for the motors and PCB if they are allowed to cool between flights.
December 5, 2014
This thing is a blast. I was a total newbie, and taught myself to fly it. I am amazed at its stability. I've flown it as high as I dare (until it is just a speck in the sky). I bought the crash pack, and just recently needed to replace the four propellers. They were getting a little banged up and performance was starting to suffer. But the kit included an extra set of props, so I haven't even dipped into the crash pack yet. Except for the extra battery that it had. It's so fun to fly you'll probably want some extra batteries. I get about seven minutes of flight per charge. Everybody loves the crazy "angry bees" sound it makes. The only ding on it is the battery charger seems a little quirky. The light doesn't always go off when the charge is done. But I've learned to unplug it from the wall for a few seconds before starting the charge, and it has been working fine, if a little slow. I think it takes about 45 min to an hour for a full recharge (240 mAh). You should devote some time to reading and understanding the manual before you start flying it. The manual is adequate. There are still a couple of things I'm working through, but pace yourself, be patient, and I think you'll enjoy it.
December 5, 2014
PROS:
  • Great for both indoor and outdoor flight
  • Ready to fly it as soon as you take it out of the box
  • Has a sturdy one-piece main frame
  • Can be held in your hand very comfortably as the quadcopter is very compact

CONS:
  • No camera so you cannot do some recordings

back to menu ↑

Holy Stone F180C Mini RC Quadcopter Drone

Holy Stone F180C Mini RC Quadcopter Drone with Camera 2.4GHz 6-Axis Gyro Bonus Battery and 8 Blades

Featuring great design and quality performance, this a great mini quadcopter that is for anyone from beginners to experts who want to fly more insistently. Holy Stone F180C Mini RC Quadcopter Drone with Camera 2.4GHz 6-Axis Gyro Bonus Battery and 8 Blades boasts great stability and assertive flying capabilities too even when submerged in the water fully before flying. It also has four levels of controls hence can perform very well both outdoors and indoors and is controlled by a six-axis gyroscope that offers extra flight stability.

  • Comes with a video or photo camera with 1280 x 720 megapixels and four different sensitivity modes.
  • The battery charging time is between 30 minutes and 50 minutes while the flight time ranges from six to eight minutes.
  • 4 flying modes for 360 degrees flipping or hovering either right, front, left or back.
  • 12 blades to give you a long period of flight time and a bonus stock battery too.
  • The package also includes a user manual, USB cable, a transmitter and a 2G mini SD Card.
  • Product
  • Photos

Holy Stone F180C Mini RC Quadcopter Drone with Camera 2.4GHz 6-Axis Gyro...

Super mini drone for beginer, perfect drone trainer; A key 360° 4-ways flip(left,right,forward,backward), continuous roll for perfect action and wonderful performance; Equiped with Video/Photo ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
So far I've bought 5 of these. The first one just stopped working, so I gave Holystone another chance. The second one I got stuck in a tree, and it rained later the day so I thought it wouldn't work again and bought another one. The drone from the tree came down after 3 days of rain and still worked perfectly. Then I had 2 drones. I flew one up high and a strong wind caught it, blew it over our lake and it disappeared. My last drone I flew on a calm day over the lake. I find that anytime it is over a body of water, the signal stops working. I watched as as 4th drone plummeted into the water 5 feet from me. So don't fly it over water. If it goes up high and gets out of signal, the video will stop recording. When it comes back into signal it thinks "record" means "stop record" so I turn off and back on the drone every few minutes incase this "reverse" happens. The microSD has failed to come with the drone 50% of the time, and every time it does it doesn't last past 2 flights. Buy a new microSD has always done the trick. Love these drones and I'm about to buy another one. Get a new microSD, don't fly over water, unplug the battery every 5-10 mins to make sure it records, and you'll be fine. Also, 2 motors spin one way and 2 spin another way, so when replacing propellers, know that the front motors require different propellors. You'll figure it out. Good luck! A video of me flying it is on YouTube. Type in Unwrinked Prune Drone Adventures. The picture is a little blurry cause it's a screenshot from a video, but it goes way higher than that. KEEP IN MIND AT HIGH ALTITUDE IT IS DIFFICULT TO SEE WHICH WAY IT IS GOING. ITS SMALL! A lot smaller than it looks. About as big as your hand when you spread your fingers.
May 31, 2015
Here's another awesome flying quadcopter from Holy Stone. 4 different flying modes from 25% to 100%. Even at 25% this mini quadcopter cruises along pretty good. This mini has a "headless return home" mode, not to be confused with headless mode. "Headless return home" mode will make the quadcopter shoot back to you (the transmitter), however, you must control what altitude it is once it gets back to you. This has saved me when the wind was bad and I was actually flying in a blizzard. The wind started to sweep it away and I threw it into this mode and it brought it back close enough to me that I could regain control. Quick tip, make sure to hit record on the transmitter again when you are done taking video or there is a chance your footage may be lost! There was a few times where I completely forgot and lost my footage :(. It was some cool stuff too. Anyway, a fun flyer and a great price... I have the husban x4 too and in my opinion this flies way better.
February 6, 2015
Unbelievably amazing! You couldn't go wrong with this impressive quad copter, the range alone is made my jaw drop from flying it so far in the sky i lost sight of it. the camera is ok but its a 2 mp so its worth the price. i absolutely love the way it flys and how fast and agile it cuts and flips to your skill level. I have bought several mini quads and this is the home run of them all. its a must buy if your into the market of mini drones.
February 4, 2015
PROS:
  • Fast and durable
  • Handles very well even in windy weather conditions
  • Boasts various extras in the package
  • Compact and well built

CONS:
  • Picture quality is not very good as you would expect given that the camera is rated at 720P. Fortunately, under good lighting, the quality is better.

back to menu ↑

Parrot Mini-Drone Rolling Spider

Parrot MiniDrone Rolling Spider - Blue

This mini quadcopter by Parrot features the best technology – the Bluetooth Smart Technology that enables it to be seamlessly connected with tablets and even smartphones. Parrot MiniDrone Rolling Spider also boasts unique and expansive prop-guard that protects during rough crashes. It, therefore, can be flown outdoors but only if the weather conditions are quite optimal. The complete pack, on the other hand, includes set of stickers, one removable 3.7-Volt 550mAh Li-Po battery, a quick-start guide, USB cable, two wheels and a transmitter.

  • Controlled through the Free-Flight 3.0 App that can be downloaded for free on a smartphone or even a tablet with Bluetooth Smart technology.
  • This mini quadcopter usually performs acrobatic 360-degrees front and back flips and can turn 90 and 180 degrees.
  • Embedded vertical mini camera that takes photos of 300,000 px resolution allowing to take great aerial shots from the sky.
  • Product
  • Photos

Parrot MiniDrone Rolling Spider - Blue

Parrot Rolling Spider - Bluetooth 4.0 Controlled Robotic Toy

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
PROS:First let me say that I love my Rolling Spider. It's a ton of fun to use. There are few things that give me as much joy as flying this thing around. It's Fast, incredibly stable, and easy to use. However it's not a perfect model by any stretch of the imagination. While using it INSIDE it is very responsive.It also has a camera, which is fun to use, even if the photos are low-res (see cons).CONS:1. Short battery life - This thing is a TON of fun but only for 6 min or so.It also takes a long time to charge.2. Bluetooth Range - You will want to keep the drone close to you. If it gets to high you will lose the ability to reach it well with the bluetooth. This caused me to get it stuck in a tree (not fun). Thankfully I was eventually able to get it down.3. Phone only control - You will need to have a smartphone to use this. This makes it a toy that my wife and kids have difficulty setting up. If you don't know your way around the bluetooth settings you will get frustrated at times. This really is a toy best used with strict supervision with parents, unless you want $100 stuck in a tree or smashed against a brick wall.4. Photo quality- The photos taken on this drone are of such low quality that they aren't really useful for much of anything. I have included one that I took for reference. I will probably use it from time to time to get an interesting shot.OVERALL: This Parrot is a mixed bag. If you have the money, it's really fun. It's not particularly functional for anything. I get a thrill using it, but it's deficiencies are evident every time I fire it up.
October 26, 2014
The issue with the battery is that you cannot charge at 1A even though it says you can. Find a charger that provides a max. of 0.7 A or less and you will find the battery will last much longer (e.g. phone charger with micro-USB plug). Also mind the battery temperature. Shut it off and let it cool down a bit before charging. The fly-away issue has to do with the way it behaves when it goes out of Bluetooth range. They should modify the software to freeze when out of Bluetooth contact like it does when you take your hands off the controls. Instead it just keeps going. I would fly in an area enclosed with bushes until you understand the range limitation (about 75 feet). It takes quite a beating. You can usually bend propellers back into a level position or snap them back on after a bad crash. I would recommend getting spare propellers as it doesn't fly as precisely when they are nicked too much. Press the leveling button after a crash. It can go a bit crazy sometimes after a crash if you don't. I recommend using the wheels indoors to minimize damage to everything. I would also recommend limiting the max. angles, etc. when starting out. The thing can accelerate pretty quickly if you don't, resulting in exceeding bluetooth range or causing a damaging crash. Flying over furniture or other sudden changes in distances to the ground confuses it and causes it to shut off. Once you learn it's limitations, you will find it to be fairly precise. Only takes low res. pictures. No on-screen video or video capture due to low bandwidth Bluetooth. Controls aren't great as it often doesn't follow your finger at first try. With all the caveats, it is still a pretty amazing. Just be careful with it. You can end up with $100 worth of garbage pretty quickly if you don't.
October 4, 2014
This thing is just great fun. If you've ever played with / seen one of those mini helicopters from Radio Shack, this is very similar, with a couple major differences --1) it's MUCH easier to fly than the mini choppers, because it stabilizes itself, and2) you can use your own phone to control this, so there's no separate controller to worry aboutUnboxing this item requires care -- you don't want to damage the drone, and you also really don't want to damage the axle (which is easy to miss, because it's so small and inconspicuously mounted). Setup takes about a minute -- pop in the battery, setup and install the axle / protective wheels -- and go. You definitely want to install the wheels if you're inside. They really do a great job protecting this from impacts / falls in close quarters and you'll probably have a few of those as you figure out the controls.The phone app is free, something like 20MB, and intuitive. Just download it, turn on your bluetooth, then open the app while the drone is powered on. It automatically syncs. From there, it's just a single button press to connect to the drone, and a few seconds' wait for the app and drone to start talking.You 'takeoff' with the press of a single button -- wow! This thing really spins up to power quickly. It's almost cartoonish how nimble and quick this thing is. Altitude and orientation are handled with your left thumb, and your right thumb controls movement. It wasn't clear to me at first -- but to move the drone, you need to press and hold the right thumb, then tilt your phone. I kept trying to just move my thumb, with no luck. Press and hold, then tilt the phone.Read more ›
November 15, 2014
PROS:
  • Easy to pilot and provides great indoor flights
  • Can be customized using the 12 set of stickers
  • Offers incredible acrobatics and 8-minute flight time

CONS:
  • The battery of this mini quadcopter takes one hour to fully charge which is quite long

back to menu ↑

Horizon Hobby Blade Nano QX RTF Quadcopter

Horizon Hobby Blade Nano QX RTF Quadcopter

Thanks to this compact and light-weight mini quadcopter, flying just got a whole lot easier. The flight controller of this quadcopter features SAFE technology which means there are more sensors that can be easily configured to allow for more freedom of movement. This makes it a great choice for beginners and pros as well. Although Horizon Hobby Blade Nano QX RTF Quadcopter looks like such an over-sized bumblebee on the outside, this mini quadcopter has some of the best advanced features especially in terms of mid-flight stabilization.

  • Features potent brushed motors that offer a powerful but very smooth lift.
  • Stability and agility modes that enable you to do the most basic acrobatic flight.
  • Four in one sensor unit that consists of the SAFE unit, multiple ESC drives, a DSMX receiver, and mixers.
  • Airframe that is light-weight but very tough with blade guards.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Horizon Hobby Blade Nano QX RTF Quadcopter

The tinyThe tiny Nano QX is RC flying fun you can take with you everywhere. The Nano QX weighs little more than half an ounce and is small enough to fly in spaces no bigger than an office cubicle. ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Shipping Information

View shipping rates and policies

I have a nephew who is immersed in RC flying. He bought a Blade Nano QX (herinafter, "quad") before he left for a trip, during which he knew he would have a fair amount of free time. He emailed me on the first or second day of his trip and told me that this might be a fun way to introduce myself to the RC experience. We're both pilots, so he knew I was intrigued. Because the price was so reasonable, I ordered one after doing a little more reading about it. The next day, I ordered a couple of extra batteries and the separate battery charger (Celectra 4-Port 1S 3.7V 0.3A DC Li-Po Charger; see separate review).Both orders arrived on the same day, which was nice ... I had multiple batteries and therefore longer flying time. In addition to the quad, the package, which doubles as a carrying case - with handle - comes with a transmitter, one battery, and a USB charger. This allows for one flight (about 7 minutes, give or take) before recharging, which takes about 30-40 minutes. I learned this from my nephew; it would have been a little disappointing to learn this by myself. I think it's much easier to learn with the minimal interruption of changing the battery than it would be with the interruption of the charging time.Out of the box, the instructions were simple and easy to follow. Li-Po batteries are NOT charged before shipping, so the first thing to do is charge the battery(ies). The battery slides into a simple plastic bracket on the bottom of the quad. Pushing it all the way forward places it in the correct position for balance. AFTER turning on the transmitter, assure that the throttle is at its minimum setting (fully back), connect the battery, and place the quad upright on a flat surface. The red LED blinks a few times while it syncs with the transmitter.Read more ›
January 7, 2014
A few years ago, I got into RC Helis. I started with cheap toy coaxials and worked my way up to full hobby collective pitch helis. There never was a good middle ground as the helicopters were either boring to fly because they were so tame (coaxials) or expensive to fix for the more "fun" collective pitch. With the SAFE mode which combines stabilization with auto correction, this quad is essentially 3 quads in one.Standard rate with SAFE: Fairly tame and very good for relatively new pilots and indoor use.Dual rate with SAFE: Very agile but still very stable and easy to fly (just a lot quicker and better for outdoors).Agility mode: Essentially behaves like a collective pitch helicopter (no training wheels) and hovering is up to you and not the magic of the little chips inside. Can do stunts (no gimmicky buttons, you have to learn to do them yourself).The small size makes it great for indoor use but where small light aircraft usually suck outside in anything but the calmest of conditions, this tiny bird will hold its own even in a brisk breeze (you will still need to fight but it will fight as opposed to being carried away). The light weight, simple but rugged design makes it very crash friendly. Crashes don't seem to faze this thing at all with the only issues being that threads or other fibers will occasionally wrap under the blades and prevent the propeller from turning freely (just pull off the blade, remove the obstruction, push back on and continue). It's quieter than my other quads (sounds like 4 bumble bees inside but much quieter outside).Cons (not many):No navigation LEDs so low light/night flight is poor for orientation.Read more ›
January 7, 2014
I love the Nano QX. It's fun to fly, responsive, and a great beginner package for someone who just wants to have fun, or who intends to get into the RC hobby. my reason for not giving 5 stars, however, is due to issues with quality control.Issue 1: Out of the box, all 4 props rub against the prop guards built into the body of the Nano QX. This rubbing not only causes a lot of noise, but also very quickly wears out the end of the props themselves causing you to have to replace the props more frequently, but will also cause your trim adjustments to be useless, necessitating constant adjustment to the prop guards. Luckily they are bendable and you can just bend them out a little bit, but there should have been more clearance given to the props when the Nano QX was designed.Issue 2: Within the first hour of logged flight with my brand new Nano QX, it began to pull forward immediately upon takeoff. For a few minutes I was able to adjust trim to counter this, but quickly became so dramatic that I was unable to correct for it. I also discovered that the same motor was running extremely hot, while the others felt cool to the touch.After contacting their tech support, Blade replaced my front left motor, free of charge, but warned me that any future issues with any kind of component failure would be my responsibility to pay for and repair. Although the rep who helped me was very nice and quick to resolve my issue, it is disappointing that the motor failed so soon, and that the props constantly are rubbing against the body of the Nano. If it weren't for these quality control issues, or possibly design issues, I would give this an easy 5 stars.I hope that Blade works to resolve these issues promptly!
February 19, 2014
PROS:
  • Perfect for indoor use
  • Offers mid-flight stabilization
  • Very fun to fly

CONS:
  • Not ideal for outdoor flying

back to menu ↑

Estes 4606 Proto X Nano Quadcopter

Estes Proto X Nano RC Quadcopter, Green

4606 is more than just any other mini quadcopter. It is simple and to the point and has a LED light that indicates its front and back. Of course, this plays a big role when flying the copter in a dark room or at night. Estes 4606 can also fit in your hand, making it the smallest RC drone on the market today. But that notwithstanding, it has a sturdy frame that survives well against normal wear and tear forces. All in all, it has a beautifully understated design.

  • Sturdy frame with 4 micro motors that power the propellers efficiently. In addition, it comes with a remote control that operates at about 2.4 GHz minimizing interference during flight.
  • Its average flight time is 5 minutes although there are some users who claim that it can clock up to 8 minutes. Keeping in mind that some of the larger quadcopters clock in around 7 minutes, it makes 4606 even more remarkable.
  • Estes 4606 mini quadcopter standard charge time is 50 minutes. Taking into consideration charge time and flight time and comparing that with the full sized drones, the 4606 outshines them all. Note: Charged via USB.
  • Product

Estes 4606 Proto X Nano R/C Quadcopter (Colors Vary)

This is the Electric Powered 2.4GHz Radio Controlled. Ready to Fly Proto X Nano Quadcopter from Estes. For Ages 14 and Above. For Indoor Use Only. . FEATURES: Plastic body with window and trim ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I am a dedicated flyboy and subscribe to the all the RC helicopter magazines. I have built my own "large scale" multirotors including a 700mm Hexcopter. I say this so you know that I consider this a serious hobby and I have a lot of experience in it.This is the smallest and one of the most fun multirotors I've every played with. It's 2"x2" and flies WAY better than you'd expect anything that size has a right to. The gyro keeps it very stable yet it's very quick when you press on the sticks.The controller is a full 4 channel 2.4ghz digital radio transmitter. This is not some cheap infrared transmitter that you can't use with the blinds up. It responds quickly to the controls and there is a "trim" option on the right stick (Though with the gyro you'll actually never want to use that.) The sticks are very stiff, but with a bit of working them in you should be able to loosen them up.Flight time is about 4-6 minutes and charge time is about 40 minutes with the included USB charger. There is no removable or replaceable battery so you can't swap batteries to keep flying. However, anyone with soldering experience could modify it for a micro li-po battery such as used in the M-cPX enabling you to dramatically increase flight opportunities. (Do not try this if you're not sure you're capable of it because Li-pos can be dangerous.)It has some very bright LEDs to provide orientation. Red in the back and Blue in the front. They also serve to warn you of dead batteries and will flash when it's time to land.Some Caveats:This is a toy, there are no replacement parts available, when you break it (and trust me, even complete pros will eventually) your only option is to buy a whole new one.Read more ›
November 11, 2013
This was my first experience with a quadcopter, and it was a good one. The little Nano model weighs only 0.4 ounces (12 grams), but it flies remarkably well after you've gone through a short learning curve. The controls are fairly easy to get used to, but here are a few tips I learned that may make flying the quadcopter easier:* There's a kind of ground cushion effect when the quadcopter is very close to the floor or tabletop that you're flying from. It makes it feel like you're trying to control an air hockey puck. Increase your altitude a bit, and it's easier to control.* Rotating the quadcopter to point in a given direction is a little tricky, so don't try it until you've gotten a little experience.* When I first started flying the quadcopter, it was sliding to one side and wasn't very controllable. After adjusting the trim, it was easier. Yours may not need trim adjusting, but if it does, it's a trial-and-error process that takes a few minutes.* In one of my crash landings, a propeller popped off. When you put the propeller back on, don't push it down too far, or it will bind the motor and won't spin right.Once you've mastered the controls, a good test is to fly the quadcopter around your home while you follow behind it. I don't know what the maximum range is, but we sometimes had the quadcopter as much as 10-12 feet away with no problem.I noticed that the tiny circuit board on the underside of the quadcopter is made by Estes Industries. Estes is well known for their model rocket kits that were very popular during the early days of the space race. A few years ago, the company was acquired by Hobbico, a company known for their radio controlled aircraft.Read more ›
September 22, 2014
I really liked this device when it worked. I never crashed it hard or abused it, nor had it been exposed to any damaging elements. I absolutely was thrilled by it, and that's what makes it so hard to leave negative feedback.But, I must. Only three days into ownership, the right rear motor suddenly crapped out mid flight, and it hasn't flown since. I've tried replacing the batteries in the controller, resetting the gyros, making sure there is no hair wrapped in the motor, but it's simply dead.The worst part about it all, is that I've been ignored by Hobbico (the people responsible for the 90 day warranty). Estes responded to say that they don't manufacture this device, and that I should call Hobbico. The seller, RC-City-Online, refuses to replace the unit because I was honest about it working when I received it, but suggest I contact Great Planes warranty repair service to get help with it. I will try that, and update this review if possible with better feedback, but right now, I'm very disappointed with the whole ordeal.I can only say that this is one of the coolest toys I've ever owned, but it was entirely too short-lived to earn its price tag with the limited use I got from it, and not getting any help regarding the 90 day warranty from Hobbico, Estes, nor the seller is beyond frustrating. I'd love to have another of these, but I won't drop another $40 for a potentially frail product, and I definitely will steer clear of RC-City-Online in the future.****EDIT 1/6/2014****Thanks, Tim Kimzey, for your suggestion, didn't think of that, but I imagine it would probably amount to a refund? Was hoping for a replacement.Reason why I'm editing is that I've found a hobby retailer near enough to get to and bought a second Proto X.Read more ›
January 4, 2014
PROS:
  • Straight forward
  • Simplistic
  • Suitable even for beginner flyers
  • Good stability

CONS:
  • Not ideal for flying on a windy day

back to menu ↑

Cheerson CX-10 Mini 29mm Quadcopter 4CH

 

Cheerson CX-10 Mini 29mm Quadcopter 4CH

CX-10 Mini Quadcopter may be tiny, but it can outperform some of its bigger competitors on the market. It comes fully equipped with a USB cable, transmitter, spare blades and manual. Out of the box, there’s no assembly required – it’s ready to fly once you unpack it. The mini-copter is designed to use a 100 mAh LiOn battery which comes together with the machine. This is a strong battery and it is usually enough to sustain all the four motors and give a bit of speed to the machine.

  • 6 axis flight control board providing better stability and smoother flights. Basically, because this is a small quadcopter, the extra axes provide it with the ability to resist turbulence and maintain stability.
  • Its frame is produced by ABS plastic which is strong enough to last against all forces of nature. Its blades are, however, made of light plastic and can be damaged much more easily.
  • Has an average flight time in the range of 4 and 8 minutes. It can be charged in about 15 minutes using a phone or charger.
  • Its transmitter uses a 2.4 GHZ frequency which means you can comfortably control the mini quadcopter over a range of 65 to 165 feet.
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Cheerson CX-10 Mini 29mm 4CH 2.4GHz 6-Axis Gyro LED RC Quadcopter Bright...

6-axis design makes the gyroscope adjustable, promoting flying stability; Flight time will be up to 4-8 minutes; 3-level adjustable speed flip function; Powered by a piece of rechargeable 3.7V 100mAh ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

6 x 3.1 x 3 inches ; 5.6 ounces

Shipping Weight

5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

712411812874 885766622822 705409714588 885199633396 171209959816

Item model number

010101-01018

In actuality I give this 3.5 stars.LEARNING CURVE AND SUGESTIONS FOR BEGINNERS:I have flown rc helicopters since 2009 and can fly rc airplanes. prior experience with rc models let me fly this without a problem but for a beginner it may be more difficult. if you are getting this for a beginner or are a beginner you would want to do one or some of the followingA) get extra blades (they break when you hit things hard enough)B) get the prop protector ring (if you are a beginner it will save props when you crash into thingsC)make a prop protector ring ( if you have the skill to make one then you don't need to buy it)back to the quadFLIGHT PERFORMANCE: It has 3 flight modes that limit how far the quad will tilt with stick imput (does not affect yaw rate)to swich between modes the left stick is clickedmode 1 lowest manuverabilitymode 2 medium manuverabiitymode 3 high manuverability flip mode is enabled with the right stick by clicking itthe throttle is somewhat sensitive and the yaw rate isthe gyro stabilizes the quad copter wellfor any advanced pilots who want something to play with while they're in the house, it is possible to flip the quad without using the integraded flip mode however it is difficult and i would not suggest trying it in a room with a hard floor (unless you want to face the possibility of gunning the throttle while it's upside down. it can also do funnelsDURABILITY:As mentioned above the blades break when the hit something hard enoughthe frame will also crack if hit hard enoughafter some crashes the motor will sieze up.Read more ›
February 11, 2015
This is the coolest toy helicopter I've ever seen. It only about the size of an Oreo cookie but it can really go. I'm a complete novice but I purchased the Cheerson CX-10 Mini 29mm 4CH 2.4GHz 6-Axis Gyro LED RC Quadcopter Bright Orange along with the Eagle Pro Helipad. The two products really compliment each other and my entire family had a blast trying to land the quadcopter on the helipad. It came with 4 replacement blades a usb charger and the remote. Everything was super easy to use and I really can't say enough about how cool this thing is for the money, I could see myself being equally as thrilled with this purchase had it been double the price. I highly recommend this if your just looking for a fun toy for a teenager or an adult. Its a little too delicate and complicated for young kids, but they will probably still enjoy watching it buzz around the house. With just a little practice you can do flips and a few other maneuvers, we can't put it down at my house. If your interested in the helipad you can find it here https://goo.gl/FZtOj7
July 23, 2015
EDIT: 5 stars most definitely.My one tip - calibrate the gyro. Don't bother trimming.I assume you start in beginner mode (press left controller until 1 beep)- put it on level ground- switch to advanced mode (press IN on the left controller twice until you get 3 beeps)- move left stick to lower left and hold- move right stick to upper left and hold- it will flash when the calibration is complete after a few seconds- switch back to mode 1 (press IN on the left controller once to get back to 1 beep)It flies MUCH better after calibrating.Also - Flipping is a blast.- Press IN on the right controller stick until you get a beep- The next left or right movement on the right stick will flip the quadI think it does forward flips too.---- original reviewFun little quadcopter.You charge the copter with USB, the controller has 2 x aaa batteries. The controls are reasonable and responsive.I wish it was a bit more stable, but it's way better than "regular" copters. I may try calibrating the accelerometer, there are instructions to do it.Very tiny, relatively quiet, and a blast to play with.
October 31, 2014
PROS:
  • Stable in flight
  • Light in weight
  • Quick battery recharge time
  • Cheap spare parts

CONS:
  • No guard cage for delicate blades is provided

back to menu ↑

Holy Stone HS170 Predator Mini Quadcopter RC

 

Holy Stone HS170 Predator Mini RC Helicopter Drone 2.4Ghz 6-Axis Gyro 4 Channels Quadcopter Good Choice for Drone Training

This astounding drone boasts a set of features that highlight it ahead of other entry-level quadcopters. Holy Stone HS170 Predator Mini RC Helicopter Drone 2.4Ghz 6-Axis Gyro 4 Channels Quadcopter Good Choice for Drone Training has a headless security system that prevents it from veering off course or flying backwards. Besides that, its frame comes with additional protection to prevent the propellers especially from breaking down under the impact of day-to-day use. The mini quadcopter moreover executes four-way flips meaning that it can make 360 degrees turns in all directions – few entry-level drones can surpass this maneuverability. Holy Stone F181 further comes with two 750 mAh batteries which recharge in 1 hour 20 minutes. If properly recharged, this battery can achieve a flight time of 10 minutes.

  • Has a user-friendly transmitter with adjustable settings based on LED display. The transmitter is designed to operate the copter’s Headless Security System making sure the pilot has full control of the drone.
  • Comes with a relatively strong 720, 2 Megapixel camera that allows the drone to capture some nice photo shots from an aerial view.
  • Mini quadcopter is further enhanced with a 4CH 6 axis Gyro which provides it with much-needed stability such that it can do both clockwise and anticlockwise flips without the pilot worrying about it veering off control.
  • Product
  • Photos

Holy Stone HS170 Predator Mini RC Helicopter Drone 2.4Ghz 6-Axis Gyro 4...

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; HEADLESS SECURITY SYSTEM enable Any Level of Players to fly the drone easily.; 2.4GHz Technology Adopted for Anti-Interference; More Stable and ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
A ton of fun for everyone. This quad handles amazing. It has 3 different modes for beginners to more advanced flyers and really is a lot of fun to fly. The last week it has been past around to several friends and they were mostly new to flying. It holds up well after countless wrecks. - haven't even bent a prop. It's very stable and responsive and the lights on the bottom are bright enough to identify front and back from a ways away. This can be a indoor or outdoor quad and it's pretty quick in the highest speed. Recovery from flips and rolls is pretty quick too. 100% recommended, you won't regret it!
October 26, 2015
This quad is all the way awesome! Crazy fast, responsive and extremely stable. I love this quad so much, Holy Stone sent me one to test and I bought another one after flying it 3 times! It's sooooooooooo much fun to fly.So it has 3 speeds and the yaw changes with each rate. In low it's very docile and the yaw is painfully slow. This is great for beginners though and in mid rates and high rates this quad is a little beast! The yaw is still on the slow sdie but the pitch more than makes up for it. Because of it's deep pitch in high, it can turn on a dime even with the slower yaw. This micro quad is FAST. So fast and fun!This quad has no camera or any extra weight to hold it back. It's a rocket in high and still very controllable. It has nice LEDs and the under body is white so it makes a great night flyer! (check out my YouTube channel for night flight videos!)Flight times are great, with about 8 minutes of flying. The TX is a bit odd but the sticks feel great and it has really good range.Overall this is my favorite Holy Stone quadcopter and one of my all time favorite toy grade flyers ever! Highly recommend it for any level of ability.The video is some fast flying with it. Please check out my YouTube channel for more flight videos and reviews of this and many more multirotors! Thanks.
November 8, 2015
EDIT: Reduced to 2 stars, see below.This is one of a growing number of low-ish cost, micro-sized (about 7" diameter) quad-copters that are available from various Asian manufacturers. Holy Stone, for what it's worth, seems to be one of the more reputable of these many resellers.I've flown a number of these small quads and this one seems to rank on the higher-end in terms of quality. The whole thing is assembled using very small phillips screws, instead of plastic rivets, which is nice from a repairability standpoint.The controller has three rates, none of which affect yaw, but should provide a nice spread of easy-handling and high-maneuverability.At the lowest rate, the quad can be easily controlled indoors, and at the medium and highest rates, the quad performs well outside.The battery last for a solid 7 minute flight on a full charge, but seems to take unusually long to charge off the included USB charger - over an hour.The quad's control board appears to have some kind of battery-drain protection built in. As you reach empty, the LEDs will start to blink and it will refuse to take throttle. This is a bit odd at first, but actually lets you come to a stop gracefully (sorta.)Headless mode (relative orientation control) is a feature on this, but never worked correctly for me. The Engrish manual isn't really all that great, but I've flown enough of these to be sure I was enabling it correctly. I've deducted half a star for this.The controller is very odd. It's rather large, bulky, and uncomfortable to hold. The beeps it emanated when making adjustments or using "headless" mode are also obnoxious. Half a star off.Read more ›
January 2, 2016
PROS:
  • Easy to assemble
  • Good camera quality
  • Easy piloting due to added flight stability
  • Long battery life

CONS:
  • May not hold up to gusty winds

back to menu ↑

SYMA X5C Explorers Gyro RC Quadcopter

 

SYMA X5C Explorers 2.4G 4CH 6-Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter With HD Camera

Measuring exactly 12 inches (length) by 12 inches(width) and 3 inches (height) and weighing about 2 pounds, this mini quadcopter is kind of agility and strength. Each unit comes completely assembled such that it is ready to fly right out of the box. In addition, there is a screwdriver included which you can use to replace any parts that get worn out with time. Below each propeller arm there is a LED light with the forward arms spotting orange and rear ones spotting green lights. All of its blades are white which unfortunately makes tracking SYMA X5C Explorers 2.4G 4CH 6-Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter With HD Camera down much more difficult especially on a sunny day.

  • Comes with a 500mAh lithium battery that takes about 100 minutes to recharge from ground zero. Once fully charged, the average flight time ranges anywhere between 6 minutes and 10 minutes.
  • Has a remote control that uses 2.4GHz 4 channel frequency control through spread spectrum technology. The pilot, therefore, enjoys a wide control area of up 1o 150 feet.
  • This mini quadcopter is highly sensitive to controls which make for some agile maneuverability with no land between hitting a control and the copter reacting. In addition, it has the anti-interference capability which blocks out other devices in the area.
  • Product
  • Photos

SYMA X5C Explorers 2.4G 4CH 6-Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter With HD Camera

Main Features: 6-axis Gyro stabilization system makes the helicopter more stable and flexible when flying. Wind resistant and can be flown indoors or outdoors Modular design structure is applied, ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Best Quadcopter to date for the money! The picture attached shows the SYMA quadcopter up about 200 feet or more. The house on the left with the orange roof is on a hill about 75 feet above me and my transmitter and as you can see I am way above that roof. I have 2 helicopters, 2 hubsan quadcopters, 1 with a 2mp camera and one without. I purchased the SYMA x5c from an Ebay seller who was in Calif. Didn't want to wait the 30-45days from China. The Syma came with the landing gear attached, I didn't need to install the blade guards because I am a veteran RC pilot. I used one of the already charged batteries from my hubsan. Yes they fit fairly well but flight time is less because they are only 380ma. The SYMA X5 flies great, better than the hubsan x4 and it is twice the size so you can see it better in the sky. Camera works great, the directions say to use the top right button but that is incorrect, the SYMA X5c is the newer model and there is a slide button on the front panel, slide it up to take a photo, slide it down to turn on the video. Video is 1280x 720 avi files. Same as the hubsan in HD. Here are my Pro's and Cons:Pros:Copter handles beautiful, love the feel, fun to flyMore stable than any $60 quad I have flown.Read more ›
January 9, 2015
I'm not a quadcopter expert by any means, but I have flown a number of different models. The Syma X5C-1 is the best handling and easiest to fly of any of the entry level quadcopters I have flown. I like the UDI U818A and have three. They are fun to fly, forgiving, and have survived many crashes. However, since I bought the Symas, I now have two X5C-1s, I rarely fly the U818A. The X5C-1 is more stable, easier to hover, handles the wind better, and can survive some rough treatment. It will carry an 808 Keychain camera if you want upgraded video, but will not fly well with a Mobius or anything heaver. With a little practice, it can be flown inside or out.It can be equipped for first person view. I recently mounted a Spektrum Ultra Micro FPV Camera & VTX (SPMVA1100) atop one of my X5C-1s and I'm getting some great FPV video through a remote monitor I mounted atop the Syma transmitter. I highly recommend the X5C-1 as a great beginner quadcopter!
June 3, 2015
First off, this product arrived on time and undamaged.Overall Impression:This Quadcopter is a great little R/C "toy" for it's price.History (What I Use It For):I bought this product for my father (a retired pilot) who has Parkinson's Disease and Heart complications (replaced aortic valve, etc), so you can imagine he is not the most mobile or coordinated anymore. However, that being stated, he has no problem flying this in our fields. My reasoning for buying him this product is that he use to be heavily into R/C flying and had a workshop specifically built for building planes (both R/C and real planes). Before his health started to fade, he flew his R/C planes daily (weather permitting of course) and frequently built models for local clubs and aviation museums. However, after his first surgery, he no longer was able to accurately fly and he sold all of his planes (which you could tell broke his heart). Recently, I found this product and thought, what the heck, it seems stable…and indeed it is if there is no wind and the trim is adjusted properly. He was originally opposed to trying it, since he feared crashing it via his health symptoms, but after I finally made him take the controls, he fell in love with it. You could see the spark reignite his R/C aviation flame. As such, for the price, it is a wonderful and stable product. To top it off, I pressed the down button for him to record his flight and he was very impressed to see the farm from such a vantage point later on the computer. He always wanted to do that with his R/C planes, but never got around to it.Pros:1) This Quad is very stable in calm winds (no wind is best) and with proper trims set, which is easy to do (check your manual).Read more ›
June 10, 2015
PROS:
  • Built with specialized anti-collision blade guards
  • Has an HD camera that captures incredible photos and videos
  • 6 axis gyro stabilizer makes it incredibly agile and fast

CONS:
  • Battery takes too long to recharge
  • Its LED lights tend to deplete battery life

How to Choose a Mini Quadcopter?

Perhaps the most important factor to consider when investing in a best mini quadcopter is flight time. Usually, a flight time of between 5 and 10 minutes is suitable. At the same time, you want to take into consideration the amount of time it takes to recharge the battery. The ideal recharge time is between 45 and 90 minutes. It’s also important to consider the camera. Ideally, the best camera for a mini quadrocopter is one with 720p and at least 2MP. However, if a high visual quality of images is your goal, consider going for a 5.0MP.

You should take into account the type of controller provided as this is what determines how far you can fly it. The ideal controller for a mini quadcopter is one with 2.4GHz band. If you can find one with GPS sensors then that would definitely be a big advantage. The last and possibly most important factor to consider is your skill level. Beginner flyers should stick to smaller quads with ready-to-fly features.

Competition

Comparing these 10 quadcopters, it is possible to identify one of them which offers the best deal. Our pick is Parrot Mini Quadcopter which has an extra smart technology and above average battery life. Parrot Mini-Drone offers great aerial shots and is optimized for outdoor flights all thanks to its prop-guards, added agility, and stability.

Sources:

Amazon.com

Wikipedia.org

Ebay.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password