Best Watches Under 1000 Reviews — Top 10 Most Elegant Models

An excellent watch transcends trends; it is remarkably versatile and can pair well with a wide range of clothing choices and color patterns. While investing in a watch can be particularly challenging due to the overwhelming options available in the market, there are a few timeless pieces that won’t necessarily make a dent in your pocket. We know that getting as much bang for the buck is a major pot-sweetener, so we rounded up serious best watches under 1000 mark. Read on to find out which ones they are, and why we picked them.

Hamilton Men’s Khaki Field Stainless Steel Automatic Watch

Hamilton Men's Khaki Field Stainless Steel Automatic Watch

Hamilton Khaki Field Watch is a 42mm stainless steel watch with mechanical automatic movement. A great buy for the fortune hunter looking for an undying watch that can endure a bit of abuse. The price is convincing as it sits as one of the best watches under 1000. Its design is what I consider to be exemplary. While most manufacturers attempt to show off their technological prowess by cramming as many technical complications as they can, Hamilton has stripped everything to the essentials. Its beautiful symmetry with clean numbers makes it a breeze to read at a glance, and the combination of a black matte silver dial under a dark background is remarkably striking.

Since the Hamilton is manually wound, it sits closer to the wrist thanks to its leather band with continuous stitching and clasp closure. It houses an analog display, which is not only pretty to look at but also entirely accurate due to its automatic self-wind movement. Additionally, it boasts a water resistant tolerance of up to 100m. It is, therefore, suitable for swimmers and snorkelers, though it might not be suitable for scuba divers. All of this features are offered for under 400, which I consider to be excellent value for cash. And because of its surge in popularity, the value of the Hamilton in its watches under 1000 category can only go up.

  • Product
  • Photos

Hamilton Men's H70555533 Khaki Field Stainless Steel Automatic Watch with Brown Leather...

Made in USA or Imported; Round watch featuring black dial with GMT scale on inner ring, luminous hands/markers, and date window at 3 o'clock42 mm stainless-steel case with antireflective-sapphire ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Did tons of research before purchase. Most all reviews were accurate. Fit, finish, presentation, accuracy have met expectations.Regarding accuracy-----1st week met with +2 sec gains over 24 hr periods. After 10th day of ownership, inadvertently dropped it whole transiting airport. Seems to have altered accuracy to -3 sec losses over 24 hr period. Will run another month and then have regulated, if I even do that. Like most, would rather have gain than loss, but for an everyday wear watch, these gains/losses are totally acceptable. The shock of the drop did not otherwise affect timekeeping. Will admit, tho, I feared the worst as my only other automatic watch has been a Seiko diver (200 meter) and it stopped on me while digging a post hole for my mailbox.Also, the hands line up exactly with the markers, and I mean, exactly......when the second hand sweeps "12," the minute hand is exactly on the relevant minute marker. This is amazing and impresses me greatly. Nothing worse than inaccuracy in this regard.Regarding craftsmanship, I am really impressed with the overall design, display and finish. I did note a small anomaly at 11 o'clock where crystaljoins case. Specifically, the case has a depression as if the maker "over Dremeled" the fitting of the crystal to the case. Only caught it in the sunlight, but I thought it cool in the "one-of-a-kind" vs. "cookie-cutter" sense. The red tip of the second hand is a killer design feature, too. Adds panache to the simplicity of the face, but not overbearingly so. Just the makers expression and a thoughtful one, at that.Initially, too, I thought this watch had a screw-down crown, and was dismayed when I saw upon opening that it was only a push-crown type.Read more ›
September 16, 2012
This is a beautiful, well made watch. All of the superlatives mentioned in the other reviews are completely accurate. My husband loves it.As a longtime Amazon shopper, my advice is to ALWAYS BUY THROUGH AMAZON. Their customer service is the best of any retailer, by far. I made the mistake of buying this watch from JOMASHOP. The customer service rep I spoke with was rude, condescending and nasty and refused to do anything about a small issue I had with the order (not the watch itself). Avoid Jomashop at all costs!
October 24, 2012
A swiss-made timepiece, with observation back to show the ETA 2824 movement and an easy-to-read face. At 42mm, this is larger than the traditional Hamilton Khaki, but as it is not overly heavy, and lies flat on the wrist, you will not be reminded that you are wearing it. Hamilton provides probably the best cost to value ratio of automatic watches available, and this model shows off the traditional stylings, unlike some newer designs, which seem like they are attempting to show off by being unusual. I have also found that this watch looks good with any number of aftermarket straps.
October 9, 2008

PROS:
  • High quality at an extremely low cost
  • Doesn’t lose time for quite an extended period
  • Durable design and finish

CONS:
  • As a 42mm watch, it might be a bit larger for women’s wrists

back to menu ↑

Victorinox Men’s Analog Display Automatic Silver Watch

Victorinox Men's Analog Display Automatic Silver Watch

Since most of my collection of watches under 1000 falls below the 700 benchmark, I’m quite impressed by the heritage and quality of the Victorinox Swiss Army wrist watch. As a proud owner, it gets the most wrist time and occupies a reserved position in my heart. Its price point makes it a top contender for best watches under 1000. With regards to display, it boasts an effortlessly cool blue dial with silver-tone hands as well as a stainless steel case and bracelet. Its Swiss Quarts Movement and anti-reflective sapphire dial window are definitely some features to beat in this price range.

Perfect alongside darker suits styles or trench coats, the Victorinox Swiss Army is versatile with a wide range of clothing choices and color palettes. Its design is somewhat of a wonder to watch. It all begins with its luminescent hands and markers which are not only pretty but a classic addition to the piece. Then there is the fixed stainless steel bezel and the scratch resistant sapphire crystal push plus the skeleton case back. Additionally, Victorinox Men’s 241519 Infantry Analog Display Swiss Automatic Brown Watch has clear Arabic numeral hour markers with 24 hours markings that make it easy to use and read. It is only safe to say that innovation is at the heart of every Victorinox product with exciting hi-tech advancements as every piece unfolds, and the Swiss Army definitely satisfies the list of the best watches under 1000.

  • Product
  • Photos

Victorinox Men's 241591 Officers Analog Display Swiss Automatic Silver-Tone Watch

Round watch with stamped face featuring day/date window and luminous hands; 40 mm stainless steel case with anti-reflective sapphire dial window; Swiss automatic movement with analog display; ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Very Handsome watch and a great value! My previous watch was a Citizen which lasted for 15 years until I mistakenly took it diving and that was the end of it. In searching for a replacement I wanted something that I'd be happy with for equally as long. I did a TON of research reviewing option from $100 quartz pieces to high end Omega and IWC. This is the watch I decided on was the most bang for my buck and here is why.1. Craftsmanship. While Victorinox does not have the brand prestige of Tag Heur, Omega, IWC I believe the craftsman ship is the same, but for a price that is far less. Now the brand will not impress your friends with it's name alone, but if it's vanity your after then go Rolex. I was interested in a quality working product and this is definitely it. A Swiss made automatic watch with solid materials. Saphire crystal, 25 jewel automatic movement. Water resistant.2. Band type. I purchased the metal band due to longevity. I tend to wear my watch at all times. Shower, sleeping etc. I rarely take it off, so even though the leather band is nice as well, I went with the metal bracelet. This is far superior to my citizen band! It fits fantastically! I bought a watch band link remover kit for $6 to go with this. Can't believe I hadn't done that before. Much easier than bringing it to a jeweler to adjust. The watch also contains two half links so the adjustment can be made very precise.3. Price. I paid $528 on Amazon, but the day after I bought it the price went up to $618. Original price is $850, so definitely shop around to see what you can get.4. Size. The size is 40mm and I find that awesome! The perfect size for me. I'm 6 feet tall and 200 pounds, normal wrist size and this is just great.Read more ›
December 6, 2014
I purchased this watch in 9/2013. It worked great until it didn't. It comes with a 3 year warranty but since it was purchased through an amazon reseller Swiss Army will not honor the warranty and are attempting to charge me $260 for the repair. Please be careful when purchasing swiss army products. Although known for their quality, they do break and when they do the manufacturer will cite fine print of why they won't honor their warranty.PS: amazon has a 2 year warranty and has been awesome. I'm disappointed with swiss army
August 4, 2015
Love this watch, excellent build quality, perfect size and very comfortable also unique
February 10, 2015

PROS:
  • It has a top-of-the-model look and feel
  • Its 40mm size sits well among most men
  • Even with some nicks and dings from everyday wear, it still looks good as new

CONS:
  • It loses time after an extended period; which is so with most watches regardless of price

back to menu ↑

Citizen Men’s Eco-Drive Depth Meter Chronograph Dive Watch

Citizen Men's Eco-Drive Depth Meter Chronograph Dive Watch

Citizen is unsurprisingly one of the watch companies trusted by many due to their reliability and affordable price tags. The Citizen Men’s Eco is particularly one brand that turns heads and will eventually become an envied piece among your friends and business colleagues. This is why it is not just a piece of jewelry; Citizen Men’s BJ2115-07E Eco-Drive Depth Meter Chronograph Imperial Rubber Dive Watch boasts an incredible horde of features that will add value to your image. First, it features a casing diameter of 50mm, definitely not for people with small wrists. Secondly, it has an alluring high-end shiny stainless steel case that perfectly complements every kind of wetsuit or clothing for activities under water.

Its eco-drive technology assures that the watch is always fueled just by exposing it to light. This means that you will never need batteries. Its analog display along with Japanese Quartz movement is not only pretty to look at but also quite easy to read. The fact that it has a rubber band with buckle closure ensures that it will always be closer to the wrist. In fact, it is almost impossible to feel yourself wearing a watch. It is also definitely worth mentioning that the watch is a finely crafted masterpiece with smart functions including power reserve indicator and guilloche dial for both regulars and divers alike. It can withstand up to 200 m under water. As one of the best watches under 1000, you will definitely never go wrong with it.

  • Product
  • Photos

Citizen Men's BJ2115-07E Eco-Drive Depth Meter Chronograph Imperial Rubber Dive Watch

Imported; ISO-certified watch featuring textured bezel, power reserve indicator and guilloche dial with chronograph functions and date window; Eco Drive technology is fueled by light and it never ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
This is a big dive watch with a case diameter of 50mm. It's actually bigger than the Seiko Orange Monster.I own both these dive watches. However, my choice as both a dive watch and a dress watch is this Eco-Drive Depth Meter ChronoMy Eco-Drive was shipped in the special Citizen Aqualand oxygen tank watch gift case (SEE MY PHOTOS IN CUSTOMER IMAGES)WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THIS ECO-DRIVE CHRONO:The eco-drive technology - it's a solar power watch: charges in sunlight or indoors with no batteries to change ever :))The quality black rubber strap actually complements the extremely brushed stainless steel round case and round black dial with three sub dials (24 hours, 60 minutes and 60 seconds)The rotating bezel has a shiny black finish. It looks much nicer than the photosThe bezel is of course, unidirectional50-Minute Chronograph TimerThe scratch resistant curved mineral glass crystal catches every bit of light showing off the watch's attractive black dial (and sub dials)The date window (at the 3 o clock position) is big enough to be easily readThe luminous hands (although no Seiko Lumibrite) is bright enough to tell the time in the dark (or dives in murky water)This watch has an underwater depth meter that measures your dive depth in feet.Read more ›
December 30, 2011
Let me preface this review with the fact that I am the type of guy who really researches most purchases before I pull the trigger. This is an excellent watch, it looks great, & performs well. I generally have to wear a tie to work & this watch dresses up very well. It's also great looking when I'm going casual. I've owned an Omega Seamaster dive watch & I actually prefer this watch. I actually didn't buy this watch from Amazon. I went into a local watch store to purchase Citizen Men's BJ2000-09E Eco-Drive Aqualand Stainless Steel Black Rubber Dive Watch. They didn't have it in stock & showed me two other Citizen Dive Watches (this watch being one). I have to say, I'm glad they didn't have the other watch in stock. I'll break down my thoughts into a couple different areas.**Appearance: The Amazon photo really doesn't do the watch justice. The watch is large (the largest watch Citizen makes) and, if you look at the specs, it's case diameter is actually bigger than the Seiko Monster. The case polishes up well & sparkles in just the right way for a "guys watch". The rotating bezel - the picture doesn't capture it, but it has a sort of reflection quality in it - it's not chrome/silver though. It really "classes up" the watch. The face of the watch is unique & looks great.**Comfort: What good is a watch if it's not comfortable? I own a stainless steel Omega Seamaster watch which is a great watch, but it's not nearly as comfortable. The rubber "bracelet" on this watch is extremely "soft" & comfortable. Much softer than other rubber bracelet watches I tried on. (By "soft", I don't mean low quality.Read more ›
November 11, 2011
This is a big dive watch with a case diameter of 50mm. It's actually bigger than the Seiko Orange Monster.I own both these dive watches. However, my choice as both a dive watch and a dress watch is this Eco-Drive Depth Meter ChronoSEE MY PHOTOS IN CUSTOMER IMAGES ...WHAT I REALLY LIKE ABOUT THIS ECO DRIVE DEPTH METER CHRONOGRAPH:The eco-drive technology - it's a solar power watch: charges in sunlight or indoors with no batteries to change ever :))The quality black rubber strap actually complements the extremely brushed stainless steel round case and round black dial with three sub dials (24 hours, 60 minutes and 60 seconds)The rotating bezel has a shiny black finish. It looks much nicer than the photosThe bezel is of course, unidirectional50-Minute Chronograph TimerThe scratch resistant mineral glass crystal catches every bit of light showing off the watch's attractive black dial (and sub dials)The date window (at the 3 o clock position) is big enough to be easily readThe luminous hands (although no Seiko Lumibrite) is bright enough to tell the time in the dark (or dives in murky water)This watch has an underwater depth meter that measures your dive depth in feet.Read more ›
December 31, 2011

PROS:
  • Luxury looks and futuristic design
  • Extremely comfortable to wear
  • Accurate and reliable
  • Only quality materials used to make it

CONS:
  • It is quite at the luxury end of the pricing spectrum

back to menu ↑

Raymond Weil Chronograph Black Dial Men’s Watch

 

Raymond Weil Chronograph Black Dial Men's WatchRenowned for its elegant style, Raymond Weil’s tradition is a testament to the brand’s watchmaking dexterity, and this model evidences this superbly. With a sleek stainless steel bracelet and a case made from the same material, it is clear that the manufacturer did not compromise on build or quality. Its dial plays host to an incredible array of functionality with three sub-dials at 3, 6 and 9 respectively, while the aperture for date stands at 12. Additionally, its italicized Roman numeral markers are not only pleasant to look at but also easy to read. The sophistication doesn’t stop there — it is complimented by the automatic movement that powers it making it a sturdy, comfortable and compact case.

Impeccable alongside a wide array of clothing items and color patterns, the Raymond Weil is unquestionably a legendary movement and one of the best watches under 1000. At just 39mm, this watch is a real testament to the legendary movement it upholds as far as aesthetics are concerned. First is the black dial with silver-toned hands then there is the solid back case and deployment clasp. Let’s not forget it has quartz movement and scratch resistant sapphire — further additions to its infinite list of beautiful features. With regards to water resistance, it can withstand depths of up to 50 meters or 165 feet. Inclusively, the Raymond Weil Chronograph is one of the best watches under 1000 that you should definitely look out for.

  • Product

Raymond Weil Tradition Chronograph Black Dial Stainless Steel Mens Watch 4476-ST-00200

Made in USA or Imported; Stainless Steel Strap; Chronograph Display

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Raymond Weil Is one of my fav affordable premium Swiss watch brands. This is a great looking watch in terms of price, quality, looks and substance. It was bought as a high school graduation gift for a boy and attracts a lot of compliments.
June 12, 2015
So disappointed. I purchased this watch for my Husband for Christmas. By the last week of January it had stopped working so we thought it was just the battery so I went to get the battery changed. N even with a new battery, the watch isn't working!!!!Well, it states that my return date expired 01/31/16 so I'm just out of the money that I paid AND not to mention, my Husband is out of a watch!!If this is the way that u do business, then I don't know how u sleep at night.Just wanted to warn your possible new Clients that this may happen to them also.
March 2, 2016
Good typical Raymond Weil watch. Dial size of 40 is just perfect .
March 15, 2015

PROS:
  • Luxury looks and high-tech design
  • Comfortable to wear
  • Accurate and does not lose time
  • Quality materials used to make it

CONS:
  • A bit pricey

back to menu ↑

Tissot Men’s T-Touch Black Dial Watch

Tissot Men's T-Touch Black Dial Watch

Like many other watches under 1000, I have to go with the Tissot Men’s T-Touch Black Dial Watch. I really believe it is the perfect watch for all occasions as it satisfies both aesthetics and technical desires for a well-priced timeless piece. It is a fantastic and relatively new watch with well-defined and reliable additions. It features quartz movement which is the newest and most popular movement that tells time correctly. The clean and classic 43mm lines in diameter and 14mm thick backed up by a stainless steel make it the S.I. unit of all watches — not too casual, not too small, not too big and not too dressy.

The silver tone luminescent hands have the chromo timing of cumulative lines and intermediate splits with precision levels of up to 1/100 of a second. Additionally, it has absolute and relative barometer functions that show weather changes via the hands and absolute or digital pressure on the digital display. Its adjustable altimeter display, on the contrary, shows altitude above sea level in feet or meters. Temperature is shown in Celsius or Fahrenheit as well on the digital display. With regards to water resistance, 100 M or 330 FT is its tolerance level. It actually elevates your sports style, especially when wearing it for its digital and analog combination. You won’t regret it — its multiple functions and rubber strap are classed under versatile and durable to compliment your active lifestyle. With all said and done, it definitely satisfies our list of the top 10 watches under 1000.

  • Product
  • Photos

Tissot Men's T0474201705100 T-Touch Black Chronograph Dial Watch

Imported; Quartz movement; Black multifunction dial; Black rubber strap; Push button deployant clasp; Water resistant to 330 feet (100 M): suitable for snorkeling, as well as swimming, but not diving

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I received this watch for an anniversary gift a little over 2 years ago. I like the watch because it fits well with dress clothes or in casual attire and it seems to be a quality precision instrument. Shortly after the 2 year mark, the touch screen began to malfunction to the point I could not set the time. I assumed the battery was getting low, so I took the watch in to the local jeweler to have the battery replaced. Two months later, I received the watch from the service center where it was sent. The time was not set, so I attempted to set it. Again, the touch screen was malfunctioning, but what was maddening was the fact the repair station did not QC the watch to ensure it was functioning correctly before it left the service center. The jeweler sent the watch in again. Thirty days later, the watch returned with a note from the service center that stated the watch was functioning correctly. After giving the jeweler a lesson on how to set the watch, he agreed the watches touch functions were limited to two-compass and altitude. He sent the watch in again and assured me he would call them to explain the issues to ensure they understood. Three weeks later, the jeweler called me to inform me the watch was defective (oh, really?). Apparently, the touch screen does not function correctly, the movement must be repaired, and the inside of the case shows evidence of corrosion due to an improper waterproof seal. They said I could send them over $325 (USD) to repair the old watch, or over $410 (USD) to replace the watch with a 2010 model.For the price my wife paid (at the time, over $700) I would expect the watch to last at least until the first battery replacement, or until it fell off of my wrist because I am a scraggily old man on the verge of death who cannot afford to buy another piece of crap Tissot over-priced over-hyped non-warranty covered junk time-piece. P.S. They are not getting any more of my money to repair or replace their over-priced junk. Have a good day!
March 16, 2012
Cons : 1. too thick for my wrist. but not heavy. 2. When I opened the box, the battery was already running low beeping low battery alam and LCD warning. So I had to chaged it with new one paying $20. The Seller was " Certified watch store" Of course, I want to claim to the store, but I ordered it abroade in Korea. What can I do now ?Pro : Still attractive multiple functions makes me happy.
February 19, 2015
The Touch Tissot is an outstanding watch! Very precise and feels good on the wrist!The only flawless was that seller di not send instruction booklet. I had to down load it from internet to get going....
February 1, 2014

PROS:
  • An array of functions for the sports buffs
  • Ideal size, good feel and easy to use
  • Made with quality components

CONS:
  • Some customers complained that it lacked durability

back to menu ↑

Hamilton Men’s Khaki Navy Automatic Watch

Hamilton Men's H77615833 Khaki Navy GMT Automatic Watch

Another watch that makes it to our top 10 list of the best watches under 1000 is the Hamilton’s Khaki Navy automatic watch. Without a doubt, one of the first names that comes to mind when asked to recommend watches under 1000 is the Hamilton Men’s Khaki Navy automatic watch. The reason behind this is quite simple; the watch has everything one could wish for: a slim case, automatic movement, and a chic dial. The case is modernly sized at 42mm and only 12mm thick with short lugs, making it a seamless fit for the wrist. I have a soft spot for nicely furnished in-house features and Hamilton’s live to this end with impressive functionality. It has silver-toned hands with solid navy blue case and anti-reflective sapphire.

Because it is manually wound, it makes for a tight fit thanks to its clasp closure and leather band. It hosts an analog display, which is great to look at and is also very accurate when measuring time. As if that’s not enough, it can withstand water up to 660 feet or 300M. As such, it is suitable for swimmers, snorkelers and scuba divers alike. As you can see, it is one of the best watches under 1000 which do not compromise on quality or functionality. And all this at an incredibly affordable price? Yes, you are assured of a good back for your buck.

  • Product
  • Photos

Hamilton Men's H77615833 Khaki Navy GMT Automatic Watch

Imported; Swiss-automatic; Case diameter:42 mm; Brown leather; Sapphire; Water resistant to 660 feet (200 M): suitable for recreational scuba diving

Buy this item
amazon.com
Finding a dual time automatic can be very costly. Hamilton may not have the mass recognition as some time pieces but what counts is that the watch makes the wearer happy. In that regard, this time pieces is excellent. This watch exhibits a masculine design even in the simplicity of its looks so that was a big attraction for my tastes.Finish of the watch is nice. The top and sides are evenly polished-matted. The ETA movement is also nicely done but in no way would this be mistaken for a decorated-finer finished model. The rotor exhibits some rough marks be it the casting or machining. Who is going to examine it with a loupe and at sub $1K this isn't a watch you compare to higher line time pieces.Each of the three adjustment crowns operate smoothly and the fine detents for time adjustment were easy for me to feel when pulling the crown. My Oris TT3 requires a much heavier hand to adjust so it was nice to feel the smoothness of this one.The black face with white markers and hands makes for easy reading. A quick blast from the flashlight makes the lume glow nicely. The other nice part is the seconds hand also has lume. I use the watch for evening long exposure photography and being able to see the approximate seconds go by makes this my evening watch for such sessions. (I debated tritium and the wife's Ball Engineer Master II DLC works very well but that is her watch.)The Hamilton leather strap is a quality piece and very nice on this Navy variant. The black rubber model is non-existent to find. (So if you want that configuration and find it, buy it, I searched long hard for it stateside.) Since this one has leather, I swapped it for as 22mm Italian rubber dive strap. Hamilton specs 21mm but finding other maker straps becomes a challenge.Read more ›
April 2, 2014
You expect bespoke quality from Hamilton and this watch is no exception, it's beautifully made. And very quirky. It's not really made for the 'tool watch' market. If you're looking for a true diver, this is not it, the internal timing bezel is operated by a screw in crown! Besides, no real diver uses anything other than atomic-quartz movements these days.This piece, like all mechanical Hamiltons, is art that you can wear on your wrist. Three screw down crowns, nearly illegible yet elegant city and gmt markers, an internal bezel independent from a city bezel, three levels of face interchangeability! It's a fun piece with a serious look. And it's just so wonderfully made, the caseback is not shown here but it features another sapphire crystal showcasing the Eta 21 jewel gmt movement. The stainless steel is impeccable and the deployment croc is beautifully hand stitched. In short a gorgeously made, entirely obsolete take on the mechanical, gmt diver. A rare gem. I love it.
December 25, 2011
Looks great, keeps 3-4 seconds a day fast (which is excellent). Typical loud ETA rotor sound, nice and solid feeling.Fits low and tight on the wrist - looks awesome on a rubber 22mm Marathon strap.
May 3, 2016

PROS:
  • High quality at an affordable price
  • Doesn’t lose time for quite an extended period
  • Durable and sleek design and finish

CONS:
  • Quite pricey, but comes with all the right features

back to menu ↑

Longines Men’s Hydro Conquest Dial Watch

Longines Men's Hydro Conquest Dial Watch

If you’re looking for one of the best quality watches under 1000, it doesn’t get any better than the Longines Men’s Hydro Conquest dial watch. This is one watch to look out for especially if you’re thinking about value. From an aesthetic viewpoint, the dial of the Longines is uncluttered. The subtle Arabic numeral marks at the 6, 9 and 12 o’clock positions balance with the date at 3 o’clock position and minute markers are on the outer rim. One of the things that most appeals about this watch is its stainless steel case and bracelet which are made from the same material — it is super chic making it predominantly stand out.

Technically, it becomes really hard not to give due respect to its in-house automatic system. It features L263 quartz movement and an urban black dial option with luminous hands and dot hour marks which make reading time absolutely a breeze. The case is perfectly sized at 39mm with a thickness of a little over 10mm; you can bet it’s a natural fit for your wrist. With regards to water resistance, it can tolerate well over 900 feet or 300M — a number that is yet to be beaten by other brands at its price range. As such, it is not only suitable for swimmers, but also snorkelers and scuba divers who are free to go to depths of 30 meters for 2 hours straight. Again, for such a reputable brand, their integrity to innovation within the craft of watch manufacturing really stands out. And as one of the best watches under 1000, the Longines Hydro watch is unbeatable.

  • Product

Longines Men's L3.640.4.56.6 Hydro Conquest Black Dial Watch

Imported; Quartz movement; Durable sapphire crystal protects watch from scratches; Case diameter: 39 mm; Stainless-steel case; Water resistant to 990 feet (300 M):suitable for scuba diving to a depth ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This watch receives 4 stars based on my evaluation. Longines Hydroconquest Quartz in stainless steel 39mm case, 10mm thickness, 19mm lugs on solid link bracelet.I elected to purchase at a reduced rate and forgo Longines warranty because the biggest fleecing any consumer will ever endure is purchasing a Swiss timepiece at a retail marketplace. The markup ratio was 1-3, meaning for every 100.00 dollars to produce a watch it was sold for 300.00 over the intitinal cost. So if a watch cost 100.00 to make it retailed for 300.00. Today I suspect the ratio is 1-4.The watch has a quality build, case appears to be milled from a solid piece of stainless steel as opposed to MIM- Metal Injected Molding. MIM has become more prevalent in the watch industry as the cost to produce a watch case is greatly reduce. Alloy powder heated and injected under pressure into a plastic mold. Should the case back state 316 stainless steel the chances are that the case was produced in a mold. 316 indicates the absence of nickel and this indicates alloy powder and not a solid piece of stainless steel.The watch has not gained nor lost time in a 48 hour period. The movement is advertised as a Longine cal. 263 which is really an ETA cal. 955.412. A seven jeweled gold plated movement. I doubt Longines modifies the movement other than signing the bridge "Longines-263.The dial has adequate lume on the the hands and the three numbers and dots. The date window in rather small, but the date wheel on this movement can't be any larger.The bracelet is nice, I have seen a few negative comments regarding the bracelet, the clasp is stiff, but should loosen up over time. Solid links and standard split end friction pins. Removing the links to size is very easy.Read more ›
February 21, 2016
The watch has this aura that makes you want to look at it again and again. It make you want to keep asking yourself what's the time just to glance to look at its elegant face.
November 19, 2013
very nice watch, im loving it
January 12, 2016

PROS:
  • It has a quality build
  • It has an elegant black finish which is so attractive
  • The dial has enough lume on the hands plus three numbers and dots

CONS:
  • The date window is small; but for the date wheel movement, it can’t get any larger

back to menu ↑

Victorinox Men’s Infantry Analog Display Brown Watch

Victorinox Men's 241519 Infantry Analog Display Swiss Automatic Brown Watch

 

If you’re out to find something a little under the radar, something you might have to hunt for, then the Victorinox Infantry display watch is your best bet. Artistically, this watch screams retro cool with its fab round stainless steel case. Victorinox Men’s 241519 Infantry Analog Display Swiss Automatic Brown Watch definitely checks all your boxes: trendy looks, great movement, quality build and of course, friendly price tag. Its elegance makes it a top contender for the best watches under 1000. Regarding display, it boasts an effortlessly cool brown dial with leather calfskin band material. Its Swiss automatic movement and anti-reflective sapphire are some of the high-end features to beat in its price category.

Perfect for darker suit styles, this watch is versatile and timeless complimenting a broad range of clothes and colors. Its case is perfectly sized at 38 mm in diameter and 11 mm in thickness. You can almost already see how it’s designed to naturally fit your medium–sized wrists. Additionally, it can tolerate water well over 100M or 330 feet deep. As such, it is only safe to say that it’s suitable for swimming and snorkeling but not diving. As a Victorinox Swiss Army product and one of the watches under 1000, you can be certainly assured of quality as all pieces under this brand boast of attention to user’s quality needs. Once you buy it, you can enjoy a 3-year warranty offer from the company.

  • Product
  • Photos

Victorinox Men's 241519 Infantry Analog Display Swiss Automatic Brown Watch

Swiss Automatic movement; 38mm Stainless Steel case; Swiss-automatic Movement; Case Diameter: 38mm; Water resistant to 330 feet (100 M): suitable for snorkeling, as well as swimming, but not diving

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought this watch for my boyfriend for Christmas as he has been wanting this Victorinox since last Christmas. It's a very handsome watch, picture doesn't even do it justice. The only complaint is the face is smaller than he expected, so we are returning it for a different Victorinox. No other complaints at all.
December 22, 2015
The watch is amazing looking and fits very comfortably, it also kept time well. In less than a months time of causal use the watch stopped working, winding didn't restart the watch so I'm assuming a mechanism broke.
October 16, 2014
Built like a tank.
January 3, 2015

PROS:
  • It looks amazing and fits comfortably
  • It has a subtle movement at its price point
  • Its elegant brown straps are very attractive

CONS:
  • Some consumers complained of a small face, but this is by no means a deal breaker

back to menu ↑

Movado Men’s Circa Stainless Steel Watch

 

Movado Men's Circa Stainless Steel WatchFirst of all, Movado Men’s Circa watch is a fascinating brand. It was created in 1881 by a 19-year old entrepreneur Achille Ditesheim in his village La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland. Arguably, it has entered its own watch group of elite quality and remarkable functionality. This brand of watches boast precise in-house movements, and when they call it in-house, it actually is. The art of Movado is the art of design. Since its inception, it has been able to earn over 100 patents and 200 awards for artistry and innovation in watchmaking and time technology. Its patented innovative movement built on three planes to fit a case and curved to follow the wrist is one to beat in the coming future.

This watch has got a decent set of complications — an award-winning timer functionality. Defined by a single dot at 12 to represent the sun at noon, the Museum watch dial’s accuracy is on-point. Then add that to the fact that it is made of a stainless steel featuring a white dial with date window and three other sub dials. Its case sits comfortably at the 42mm mark in diameter with 14mm thickness. Moreover, its analog display with Swiss quartz movement makes it pleasant to look at and easy to read. All this under 1000, and you have pretty incredible value. There are a few things that I wish could be improved including the 30m deep water tolerance level. But this is a pretty minor point, and overall it is still one of the sweetest watches under 1000.

  • Product
  • Photos

Movado Men's 0606575 Circa Stainless Steel Watch with Black Leather Band

Stainless steel watch featuring white dial with date window and three subdials; 42 mm stainless steel case with synthetic-sapphire dial window; Swiss quartz movement with analog display; Leather ...

Buy this item
amazon.com
Really pretty watch. I will agree with the other reviewer; the band is kind of short but still works. Its very tough when new but I think it will wear into the wrist well with some use.The face is exquisite. Very bright with just enough silver accents ; glimmers in the light very nicely. For a business casual to dress-type watch, this fits well.
February 27, 2014
My wife got me this watch as a Father's Day gift. I had seen it at a few department stores and had like it but was not ready to pull the trigger on it. All of the sudden my gift give it to me and I love it. It fits nice and it arrive in a nice gift box. Great looking watch it gets a lot of compliments.
October 21, 2015
fit and finish are outstanding, as you would expect of a watch of this quality. Large second hand only moves in chronograph function, so to read seconds, you have to look at the smaller dial. One of the smaller dials reads fractions of seconds in chronograph mode; the large hand only moves in one-second increments. Bezel is thin, which gives it a more elegant look than the standard chronograph with tachymeter numbers engraved or printed on the bezel. Here, they're on the watch face itself, which allows for a larger dial without looking chunky. Chronograph buttons are a little stiff, but that helps prevent you from accidentally running down the battery by inadvertently starting the stopwatch. Black leather band pairs very nicely with the white face and polished steel case.
December 27, 2014

PROS:
  • High-end artistic looks and design
  • Extremely good value for money
  • Accurate and reliable timing functionality
  • Made of high-quality materials

CONS:
  • Can only tolerate up to 30M deep of water

back to menu ↑

Hamilton ‘Khaki Aviation’ Stainless Steel Dress Watch

Hamilton Men's 'Khaki Aviation' Swiss Automatic Stainless Steel Dress Watch, Color Silver-Toned Model H64615135

There are a variety of watches under 1000, but my favorite at the moment has to be the Hamilton Khaki Aviation Steel Dress Watch. Although there are a number of Hamilton models out there, none fits the bill quite impressively like the H64615135 model. It’s the whole package honestly-the 42mm case, the top-drawer in-house movement and the drop-dead gorgeous luminescent hands over a stylish black dial — this is an absolutely fantastic level of quality for a watch at its price level, and you probably know this because you can find watched ten times pricier but with little to offer. The effect of the second hand contrasting against the minute and hour hand is worth the price by itself.

But what offers more bang for the buck is the attention to detail that accompanies this watch. At just 42mm, this watch is a true testimony to its historical movement as far as movement is concerned. It features Swiss automatic movement that makes it really accurate when measuring time. Its date display is at the 3 o’clock position and day of the week display is at the 12 o’clock position. With regards to water resistance, it can withstand up to 330 feet of water and is, therefore, suitable for swimming and snorkeling. In short, it is only safe to say that it definitely fits the bill as one of the best watches under 1000.

  • Product
  • Photos

Hamilton Men's 'Khaki Aviation' Swiss Automatic Stainless Steel Dress Watch, Color:Silver-Toned (Model:...

Imported; Pilot Day Date Automatic Black Dial Stainless Steel Men's Watch; Luminescent hands. Date display at the 3 o'clock position, Day of the week display at the 12 o'clock position; ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
As an ameture horologist and SciFi Lover, the Interstellar watch exceeded my expectations.I was looking for a watch between the $500-1,000 range for quite some time, and then I saw Interstellar.I've seen it about five times now, and as a wrist watch aficionado I was glued to Matthew McConaughey'sHamilton watch in the movie.Moving aside from the future this timepiece has in the hearts of SciFi nerds like myself, let's focus on a fewother key points about the watch.1) Hamilton was originally an American Brand that was sold to the Swiss during the Quartz crisis and maintaines theclassic American look with Swiss precision. The ETA 2834-2 is a stunning high beat movement that actuallyfipps the date and day wheels at the STRIKE of midnight. How cool is that in a movement under $1,000?!2) The size and style won't be going out of style anytime soon, even at 42mm the watch wears large. (43-44 to me)Even though I'm a huge fan of Chronograph (mostly due to complications) the dial is exceptionally SIMPLE, however,upon closer inspection looking deeper and deeper, you'll see more.3) Very high quality Luminescent minute / hour markers and hands with (non-illuminated) an incredibly smoothsweeping seconds hand. (If you hold the watch up to your ear you'll hear the higher bead rate than compared toa cheap Japanese automatic) The hands lighn up so perfectly with the inner (and outer) minute/hour registers.4) The price isn't for everyone out there, however, if you've got less than a thousand to spend on a QUALITYSwiss Made watch with an American touch, do your research and order from Certified Watch Store on Amazon.Read more ›
February 19, 2015
This watch was personally chosen by Nolan and McConaughey to represent the gear used by of one of few men who had what it took to bring his family through a catastrophic global event and adapt to life on the other side. A good farmer, a pilot, and an engineer.Cons: no screw-down crown like the H64611135/H64715135 200m models, small hour lumes.Pros: Immortalized in fiction, Sapphire x2, ETA Chronograph certified. Can be used build a tesseract with which to communicate with loved ones through the event horizon of a black hole across all of time and space.
March 21, 2016
I prefer my watches to fall in the 'understated elegance' category, and this Hamilton more than delivers.I like the simplicity of the face. Even though the hour hand can sometimes block out the hour markings on the inner ring (though there is a gap in the 'arrow' of the hour hand to address this exact problem - zoom in on the photo to see what I mean) I find it simple and easy to read the time and date - which is the primary function of the watch. If you want to do interval timing or desire more complicated features - don't bother.Ultimately, it's the simplicity that sells it for me. Clean design, no extraneous knobs or dials - just beautifully crafted. It's my first Hamilton, and likely not my last.
December 18, 2014

PROS:
  • It has a simple yet easy to use face
  • Clean design, no unnecessary knobs or dials
  • It is pleasant to look at and easy to read time

CONS:
  • No screw-down crown plus it has small hour lumes

How to Choose the Best Watch

Even though watch selection always comes down to personal preference, here are some of the main factors to consider when looking for a watch:

  1. When Will You Be Wearing Your Watch?

If you’re buying a watch, you should first ask yourself when you will be wearing the watch. For instance, a watch to be worn with a suit or tuxedo should be very different from a watch worn on a construction site or during a heavy workout. With that said, the world of watches is divided into three separate categories-dress, sport, and dive. The selection of any of these choices becomes much easier when you’re fully aware of the occasion you are going to wear it to. Additionally, if the watch is going to be your only watch, then you should consider one that can transcend through various occasions. If you’re at the beginning of a watch collection search, then consider having a variety of different watches for different occasions, rather than an everyday watch. Let’s break them down even further:

  • The Diving Watch

A diving watch is primarily designed to function in the depths of water. It is characterized by luminous dial and hands, rugged construction and unidirectional bezel. Its case sits on top so that it can be easy to read and tell how much immersion time is left. Most diving watches owe their design and functionality to the Rolex Submariner — the first 1953 watch to work at a depth of 100m. As far as aesthetics is concerned, this is one watch that will definitely win your heart. It is not only versatile but an all-rounder of sorts.

  • The Dress Watch

While many people associate dress watches with Roman numerals, simple faces, and minimal adornments, the dress watch is one of the trendiest timepieces available. It is specially designed with a super-thin leather strap so that it can remain unnoticed under the wearer’s clothing until the need arises. As much as they are mainly used to perform only one primary function — to tell time, they tend to be the most precious jewels on one’s body. This is because many people love to have their everyday timepieces plated with expensive metals like gold and silver.

  • The Sport Watch

Sporting watches have an irresistible glamor that makes it irresistible for sports buffs not to own them. Sports watches usually have a chronograph complication — especially for those in motor-racing. Others have a tachymeter on the bezel — like the omega speed master. A tachymeter is a device used to measure the amount of speed. Perhaps, most runners would appreciate such a device in their favorite timepieces. Sports watches range from below 20 on the lower end, watches under 1000 for the middle range to the extremely exotic pieces above 1000. Furthermore, sports watches are famous for their incredibly attractive features. They are just seriously too damn good.

  1. What Physique Do You Prefer?

Even though watch enthusiasts tend to go for the finer details of a watch rather than the physical look, other people will look at their watches from the perspective of how it looks. While you would wish there were more people to scrutinize your watch and admire every single detail, the only four elements that will matter from a distance are — size, shape, dial color, and material of casing. So like the four items that define a diamond, these are the four features that describe most watches, at least from afar.

  • Shape

Most sports watches have a round case, but rectangular, square and cushion shapes can offer more distinct looks. The best advice when looking for a watch that fits you is to focus less on fashion trends but concentrate more on the look and feel of the watch after you wear it on your wrist. Again, instead of paying much attention to the size of your wrist, you’ll do much better paying more attention to your height and weight, and therefore look for one that perfectly matches your size without looking dwarfed.

  • Size

Today, a watch is said to be large if its case measures 45mm and above, medium if its case measures something around the 40mm range and small if its case measures something around the 35mm range. The thickness of the case is also a great factor to consider when choosing a watch. For instance, if you’re looking to find a slim watch, the thickness of the case should be around 8mm. For something bigger, you would want to consider case thickness of around 15mm.

  • Case Material

In the olden days, watches used to have two primary materials — gold and silver. Golden watches used to be gold plated, 14 karats or 18 karats; silver watches used to be stainless steel or chromium plated. Back then, golden watches used to be considered dress watches while silver watches used to be sports watches. Today, materials range from titanium, black PVD, ceramics, and plastics. All of these materials are ideal for everyday use, but the choice lies squarely on aesthetic preference.

  • Dial Color

Gone are the days when dials used to either be black or white. In recent years, people have embraced more colorful choices with dial colors ranging from charcoal and chocolate gray and blue. Sports watches, for instance, offer a broad variety of color options, with bright orange and yellow colors for dive watches. Dress watches, on the other hand, have colors ranging from pearl, lacquered and guilloche.

  1. Which Movement Do You Prefer?

Having determined how the watch should look like and what occasion you will be wearing the watch to; we should now advance to the finer details of the watch. Here, we are going to focus on the movement of the watch. This simply means understanding the basics of what makes it tick. Movement is the mechanism inside the watch that powers it. There are two main types of movements — quartz and automatic.

  • Quartz

Quartz watches use an oscillator, regulated by a piece of quartz and powered by batteries to keep time. Most watches use quartz movements because they are cheap to make and are still very accurate. The second type of movement is the automatic movement. This is where things get a lot more interesting.

  • Automatic

An automatic watch works by utilizing movements of the wearer’s wrist to wind the mainspring which powers the watch. Great watch brands like Rolex and Omega all use this type of movement. If you take off your automatic watch from your wrist, it will gradually stop. This is because it can no longer run without powered by the movement of the wrist. The time it takes for this to happen depends on the type of watch — others will take 48 hours while others will go up to five days.

  1. A Quick Introduction to Straps

The thing that binds your watch to your wrist is also a tremendously significant thing to consider when choosing an elegant timepiece. Generally, metal bracelets look great and scream masculinity while leather watches are an excellent choice for dressy timepieces. The NATO Strap is famous in the world of Esquire, mostly worn with Rolex Submariner. If it suits James Bond well enough, it might suit you too.

  1. Accuracy Shouldn’t Be a Bother

A quartz watch is the best watch for keeping time accurately, but a good automatic watch should only lose about 30 seconds in a single week. If you’re out to get a super-accurate watch, then look for one that’s certified by a chronometer. These watches account for only a small percentage of all mechanical watches, and that’s the main reason why their prices are a bit on the luxury end of the spectrum.

  1. What About the Brand?

Some people prefer to buy a brand that is well-known, while others may want to have a particular brand name on their timepieces. If a brand name is widely known, then be ready to pay for the name. But then again, is it really worth it? If you really feel that the added benefit of a brand is well worth the cost, then go for it. I know how satisfying it gets to floss around a well-known flashy brand. Otherwise, it wouldn’t hurt to know that there are many other watches with a quality comparable to the leading brands, but at half the price.

  1. Would You Prefer a Little Bling?

When choosing a watch, one of the most important criterions for selection is whether you would like it to be straightforward and clean, with minimal decoration or with something more elaborate. Perhaps, the most common styles of decoration include jewels, engraving, open dials that exhibit movement or those that let you see all the way through to the case. If you’re a beginner, and you want to add some bling to your watch, you should ask yourself whether you will love the design five years later or you might become tired and bored with it. If the answer to the latter is no, then feel free to choose a design that you’re sure will endure the test of time.

  1. How Pricing Works

Have you ever been in a situation where you see two apparently identical watches but one is 15,000 while the other is 200? Well, it all comes down to materials, brand heritage and length of manufacture. Quartz watches are generally cheaper because their movement costs a lot less. You can get one at just $10 or even below. Automatic movements, on the other hand, cost more because they are made in-house and undergo a lot of rigorous tests to ensure they are functioning well. Additionally, they are made of more valuable materials and come fully equipped with rave reviews; you dare not have an ounce of doubt when buying them. Many watches under 1000 have automatic movements.

Now You’re on Your Own

After reading through all of the above, you should now have a better idea of what watch to buy and why some watches demand a high status in terms of price tags. Regardless of your budget, you will be able to work through the maze of watch brands and select the watch of your dreams. Of course, a chunkier budget will give you more choices and better quality, but no matter how much you want to spend you can get just the perfect choice that suits you. Soon, you will come to realize why you ditched a dream holiday with your partner in favor of a small thing on your wrist. Huh! No words to say.

Competition — Which One Is the Best Among Reviewed and Why?

After our review, we were able to identify ten fantastic watches under 1000 that made most customers happy. As expected, the ten are great, but we have to choose our favorite. Our review identified the Hamilton Men’s H70555533 as the best of the watches under 1000. First, is the classic stainless steel case with an anti-reflective sapphire window then the striking luminous hands and markers. And as if that’s not enough, it has an analog display with the automatic self-wind movement that makes it a breeze to read time. Additionally, it has an attractive leather strap and can withstand water up to 100 meters. You can never go wrong with it — it is among the best watches under 1000, it has terrific reviews on Amazon Website, and its price is downright affordable!

Sources:

Wikihow.com

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password