Top 5 Best Buckwheat Pillow Reviews — Your Ultimate Buying Guide

What’s great about a buckwheat pillow, and why should you even consider buying one? If you want a pillow that you could rely on for support and comfort for a good night’s sleep, then this bedtime essential is what you need. Here, we look into different products to choose from, a guide to buying buckwheat pillow and benefits you can expect.

Review of the Best Buckwheat Pillows Available in the Market

Buckwheat Pillows (Comfy Sleep)

Buckwheat Pillow (Made in USA) - ComfySleep

If you are a side sleeper with broad shoulders, or you just need greater support for your neck, then Buckwheat Pillows (Comfy Sleep) is suitable for you. Among the features of this product are the following:

  • With dimensions of 20 x 26 inches
  • Weighs 8 pounds, with an option to add 2 pounds of buckwheat for a customized feel
  • Made in the USA
  • Buckwheat hulls used are cleaned without the use of fumigants or chemicals
  • Cover is made with organic cotton twill
  • Comes with invisible zipper
  • Suitable for individuals with a larger frame and broader shoulders
  • Similar size as twin-size bed or US standard pillow

This buckwheat pillow is made of the finest buckwheat hulls that are specially shaped to match the contours of your body. Thus, you are getting ample support on your neck, head and shoulders, which all contribute to a pleasant sleep. Some of the positive features that you will like about this product are the following.

  • Product
  • Photos

Buckwheat Pillow (Made in USA) - ComfySleep (20'' X 26'')

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Provides superior support for side sleepers, perfect for larger adults and those with broad shoulders; Measures 20" x 26", weighs 8 lbs 2 lb ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Like many other reviewers, I have spent many years trying to find the "perfect pillow". I am not sure it actually can be found but this buckwheat pillow comes very close. This is not my first one, however. I bought a good quality one back in the 90's and liked it but was lost during a move. Since then I have tried various memory foam pillows of various designs--they were o.k, but I still continued my search. My chiropractor suggested the "water pillow", but after reading reviews of that pillow, I wasn't so sure. At that point, I remembered the Asian buckwheat pillow from the past. I looked on Amazon and found one made by "ComfySleep that I thought would work--and it was made in the U.S.A. by a small company. I have had the pillow for a little while now and must say it is about as "perfect" for me as I have been able to find. I am usually a "side" sleeper and this pillow provides the best support of any pillow I have ever used. The quality of the pillow is first rate and the size is just a bit larger than the usual Asian buckwheat pillow--which I like. Best of all, I have not been waking each morning with the neck pain that I had in the past--in itself a reason to buy the pillow. All-in-all a great buy. These pillows are now made in larger sizes by some companies, but for me the original 15" X 22" by ComfySleep is perfect--not too big nor too small.
September 28, 2012
I have been called an insomniac. I have tried many sleep solutions to help me sleep, and have invested over $5,000.00 in my current sleep-set-up (sheets, mattresses, frames, pillows, etc.) I have owned two of these pillows for over six months now...Let me just say that reviewing this pillow is VERY VERY HARD! I you decide to get one, and feel that my reivew helped... or hurt, please be honest and let me know. However, this pillow is unlike ANY PILLOW I have ever tried before, and thus, is incredibly hard to describe to somebody who has never tried one before.Pillow stays cold all night, which I love. You don't have to keep adjusting it after you figure out where/how you want it.The product allows you to "mesh" or "Beat" a groove into the middle or side... then, for the most part, stays like that overnight. You can kind-of customize the firmness in the same fashion. That is, you can make the buckwheat dense or spread out in the section you want to put your head on.The product is kind of heavy (heavier then fluffy pillows, lighter then water pillows). I don't like using it between my legs (too heavy there).I do love it on the nights when I fall asleep on my back! I also like when this pillow is next to me when I sleep on my side (a great "hugging" pillow). Also, good as an "anchor" pillow if you ever want to sit-up in your bed and read. You put this pillow under a second pillow or two... the "anchor" won't move, and you can beat it and shape it so that other pillows fit on or around it well, and stay there so that you can prop yourself up and read.I don't use this pillow every night, and it's pretty expensive as far as pillow go. However, if you feel like you understood all of my uses for this pillow, than its probably for you.
September 15, 2013
I like this pillow because it has a Firm, not a soft feel. Let me explain. The buckwheat husks do give you a firm, not a sponge like feel. The Husks inside this pillow conform to your head and neck and give you just the right amount of support. This pillow is just what I was looking for. I have owned a Obusforme Cervical Pillow for over 5 years. I loved the Obusforme until this year.I guess all good things must come to an end sooner or later. The Obusforme started getting a little too soft for me. After reading the reviews, I decided to try the Buckwheat Husk Pillow. The Buckwheat Husk Pillow is smaller than the Obusforme but the Buckwheat Husk Pillow supports my head neck and shoulders perfectly. I am about 6ft tall and weigh about 195 pounds and I am a side sleeper(left side). I usually sleep curled up in ball with my legs bent at the knees. Other reviewers have commented on the sound of the Husks as you lay your head on the pillow, but this was not a big deal for me. After a couple of nights on the pillow I hardly notice that. I have a great nights sleep with this pillow. Wish it was a little larger. But that is not a deal breaker for me. I still like this pillow and recommend it .
February 8, 2013

PROS:
  • Buckwheat hulls promote air flow to ensure its freshness
  • Easy to customize the pillow by removing or adding buckwheat through the zippered opening
  • Cover is made from the finest organic cotton twill that is woven in the United States
  • Durable and soft pillow cover for added comfort
  • Stays cold for hours and all night long, which is favorable to some people
  • You have the option to customize the pillow’s firmness as you want it
  • Can be used as a side or anchor pillow

CONS:
  • Quite hard unlike your regular pillows
  • Heavy and dense, which makes it uncomfortable to position in between your legs
  • A bit pricier than the rest at $125 (even with a $10 discount at some stores)

back to menu ↑

Buckwheat Pillow Lap Log Classic

Lap Log Classic - Buckwheat Hull Tablet Pillow - Good for Reading in Bed - Top Rated on Amazon - Made in the USA - Tomato Red

Do you need a good pillow to use as support for your arms and wrists each time you use the tablet on the bed? Then, Buckwheat Pillow Lap Log Classic may be just what you need. Some of the great features of this product are the following:

  • Compatible with all iPad models, Nooks, and Kindles, as long as the length does not exceed 12 inches (landscape or portrait)
  • Minimizes your risks of suffering from repetitive stress injuries to the arms, hands, shoulders and fingers
  • No need to keep holding your tablet with the pillow’s hands-free design
  • Reduce eye strain due to use of tablet for longer hours
  • Made in the USA

There are so many things you will love about this buckwheat pillow brand including these.

  • Product
  • Photos

Lap Log Classic - Buckwheat Hull Tablet Pillow - Good for Reading...

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Works with all iPads (including the new iPad Pro), Kindles, Nooks or any other tablet device up to 12", in either portrait or landscape ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
First of all, I never write reviews although I READ and RELY on other's reviews all the time. I was searching for a support pad to use with both my iPad and Kendle and looked at a few others on Amazon. After reading all the reviews on the Lap Log, this was my product of choice and so glad I did. It provides great support for both devices no matter where you are using it (bed, chair, table....it works anywhere). However, what impressed me as much as people's review of the Lap Log, was the A++++ customer service and support comments. I use a fairly thick cover on both the Kendle and iPad, so I contacted Bamboosa when I placed my order and asked if I could get the wider ledge. I got a immediate response from Mo that they would ship with the wider ledge and also received a follow-up email making sure it arrived and whether or not I was satisfied. I especially like the fact that the Lap Log is well-made and durable, but love that they are a USA company supporting jobs in our country and not overseas. For me that was justification enough for paying a little higher price than some of the competitors. Sometimes it's not only about cost!
September 13, 2012
This company is amazing. I ordered 2 of these for Christmas presents through Amazon and was suppose to pay $32.00 in shipping (2 day but I really didn't need 2 day..I had other items in my cart). I didn't mind because I really liked them (and all the other great reviews sold me and made in the USA never hurts). Well, about 10 minutes after I purchased them I received a phone call from Moe at the company. He said that he noticed I lived in VA and offered to ship it Priority (instead of express) for FREE and said it would get here on the same date. I was amazed! Of course, I said yes! He then said he owed me $32.00 and would send me the money. I decided to just take the money and apply it towards another Bamboosa ereader stand. He said he would send me 3 and call it even! Folks, you won't find a better company or a more customer friendly company than these people. When the e-readers arrived they were very nicely wrapped in tissue paper with a cute Bamboosa sticker-exactly like what you would get at a little boutique. That was a nice and unexpected touch! Even though they were gifts, I had to try it out for myself! They are very well made and not cheap looking at all. It worked perfectly and my son, husband and Mother-in-law will love them. Thank you Bamboosa!! I will CERTAINLY do business with you again...and I hope others do too! Go USA!
December 7, 2012
Easy to use and to clean. Works very well. My hands would get tired holding the Fire when reading. This allows me to rest the Fire on the wooden ledge. Initially I had some difficulty with the log and figuring out how to best use it. I wasn't as happy as I had hoped. However, the company took the intiative to contact me and did everything they could to make sure I was satisfied. We have removed some of the chips on the inside to see if that would help, and it did. Once we implemented the company suggestions and assistance with the wooden ledge, the log worked to 100% perfection. The product is great, but as importantly the follow up and follow through by the company was superior. They cared about my satisfaction as a customer. I will buy from them again-job well done Mo.
August 10, 2012

PROS:
  • Relatively affordable at $49
  • Made from sustainable materials including buckwheat hull for the filling and organic cotton for the cover
  • Gives you a stable and comfortable platform for using a tablet in bed
  • Protects your device each time you use or charge it
  • Has a good size of 10.5 inches in length and 5.5 inches in width
  • Comes with a hidden zipper that lets you adjust the volume of buckwheat hull

CONS:
  • Slightly hard and heavy
  • Not the right length, according to some users

back to menu ↑

Original “Sobakawa” Buckwheat Pillow

Original Sobakawa Buckwheat Pillow SizedThis pillow called the Sobakawa Buckwheat Pillow contains 100 percent high-quality buckwheat hulls that allow you to customize the shape and the volume for ample support to your neck and head. In fact, there are numerous other features that you will love about it such as these:

  • Uses 100 percent cotton
  • Made in the USA
  • Hulls are therapeutic and comfortable
  • Requires the use of a sham or pillowcase as contents are not machine-washable
  • Durable and supportive
  • Product

Original Sobakawa Buckwheat Pillow Sized 20" x 15"

The Sobakawa Pillow is filled with 100-percent buckwheat hulls. It has been used extensively throughout the Orient for hundreds of years and is still the pillow of choice in Japan. Buckwheat hulls ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I looked up this item because I was referring someone to it. After reading a few reviews I thought I should ad mine since I have had this ORIGINAL BRAND for a very long time and can offer feedback from my long-term personal use of this pillow.1st: Wheat contents - To those who are concerned about a 'crunchy' noise. Its not as bad as what another person made it out to be- and I wonder if she used a pillow cases as recomme3nded to keep it clean. You would use a pillow case with any other pillow- right! Use 2 pillow cases if yu are sensitive the ever so slight wheat sound.2nd: Composition - The lift mentioned by another person- that is merely a preference or possibly something you are just use to having with other pillows. This pillow is NOT meant to have lift- which is not only Japanese style but also not good for your neck! Too much lift is what gives headaches and neck aches as well as contributes to reflux and issues with Asthma (which I have)3rd: Size -. This type of pillow is useless as any other size. You only need enough for your head and some room slightly around. Anything larger is a waste of space and money. Being this size also makes it perfect to take with you if you go away or just somewhere overnight.4th: Sleep position - I am pretty much a side sleeper, but do try to sleep on my back since it is better for the spine. Using this while sleeping on my side, gives it support so that the head does not sink down causing a strain on the neck. This pillow in a way cradles your head, offering great support but not in a restrictive manner. When I am sick, I tend to sleep on my stomach- with this pillow, not neck pain when I wake up.My personal use/experience:I have Asthma & severe migraines.Read more ›
October 30, 2012
In search for a "Secret Santa" unisex gift for Christmas with a limit of $20, I wanted to be creative and stray away from the typical candles, throws (blankets), and the like. That's how I stumbled upon this item (a Sobakawa buckwheat pillow). I've actually been in search for a good pillow for myself for some time now because, on top of being a very light sleeper, I am not an "active" sleeper (sometimes, I rarely change positions when sleeping and sometimes I toss and turn, but all in all, I do not move around very often during the night), so I often wake up with a sore neck or not very well rested. I would also like to note that I have a history of chronic migraines, and pillow support is critical to comfort during the times I experience a migraine. There have also been times when I've woken up with migraines because of an unrestful sleep. Sometimes I need a lot of neck support, but I don't like it when my pillows are too soft. Like "Goldilocks and the Three Bears", I was in search for something not too soft, not too hard... but something that was "just right". Typical memory foam type pillows rarely work very well for me because, although they can conform to your shape, I often find that it is uncomfortable when I move around and the pillow needs to re-conform to my new position. Softer and fluffier pillows are usually a for sure "no-go" for me because it is almost a guarantee that I will wake up with achy neck and shoulders.The Good News: Upon receiving this pillow, I tried it that very night. I woke up the next morning with no complaints in terms of the firmness. It has been about 3 weeks now, and I use this pillow every night. I will likely not be going back to any of my other pillows, though I do have many other types of pillows on the bed (at least 4 kinds).Read more ›
January 8, 2012
I've had the same buckwheat pillows for years and my husband and I love them. I made the mistake of trying to wash my husbands and it fell apart. The pillow itself is wonderful. I even take it when traveling. I have arthritis very bad and this pillow helps a lot. You do have to get used to the noise, but after that you will love it. I purchased my first pillows from Natures pillows,Inc. I bought the 20x15 and it fit the standard size pillow cases. I just ordered the same pillow size from amazon and I couldn't believe how small the pillow was. I sew and I measured the pillow and it was 17x13. The person who made these pillows needs to learn how to measure. It is so small that it doesn't even fit in the pillow case. The pillows are great it's the size that you have to watch out for. We just kept the pillow, because I got a good deal on the price, but will go back to Natures Pillows, Inc to purchase more.
December 16, 2007
PROS:
  • Promotes proper circulation of air
  • Easy to bring along when you go for a trip because of its good size
  • Excellent for side sleepers
  • Helps people with migraines and asthma

CONS:
  • Can be a bit noisy because of the crunchy sound it makes when you move around
  • Does not offer much of a lift
  • Not your regular fluffy or soft pillow

back to menu ↑

Zen Chi Organic Queen Size Buckwheat Pillow

Buckwheat Pillow - Zen Chi Organic Buckwheat Pillow Queen Size (20 X 30)- 100% Cotton Cover with Organic Buckwheat Hulls

Are you tired of dealing with your regular, soft, and not-so-firm pillows? If you have been experiencing some discomfort in your neck and back when you sleep, then it may be time to switch to buckwheat pillows. When it comes to top notch buckwheat pillows in the market, Zen Chi Organic Queen Size Buckwheat Pillow is among the best because of these features:

  • Ensures proper air circulation to cool you
  • Made from 100 percent organic buckwheat hulls
  • Can be refilled to meet your preferred size and volume
  • Great for relieving headache, tension, stiff neck and muscle pain
  • Adjusts to your desired position for the spine, neck and head
  • Perfect for people with allergic reactions to feathers
  • Product
  • Photos

Buckwheat Pillow - Zen Chi Organic Buckwheat Pillow Queen Size (20" X...

Enter your model number above to make sure this fits.; Filled with 100% Organic grown Buckwheat Hulls - Allows air to circulate for natural cooling comfort; Will naturally adjust to your your ideal ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I intentionally waited until sleeping on this pillow for one full month before coming back to review it. My thoughts:Price: It is a bit pricey, but not too bad. Most pillows aimed at side sleepers have bizarre shapes/functions and can get pretty expensive. It seems like good quality for the money.Smell: Many people have mentioned the smell of the pillow as being a huge con. I left it out for one afternoon but was impatient and wanted to sleep on it right away. It did have a funky smell, but it was not too overpowering or chemical at all, and in time I even started to enjoy it. Now I bury my face in it occasionally to see if I can still get a whiff of it. It's become a very soothing feature.Size: I went for a Queen size pillow even though I have a full sized bed. Because these pillows are so moldable, it fits the full size pillowcase with no issues.Noise: Yes, it is a bit noisy. I was used to it by the second night, but it still sometimes disturbs my boyfriend if I move too much. However, I toss and turn so much less now that he's willing to deal with it.Comfort: Okay, here's the big one. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is NOT a fluffy, squishy pillow. It's VERY firm, and holds its shape strongly as you sleep. My (poor guinea pig) boyfriend tried it out for just a few minutes and he couldn't stand how firm it was. This is the exact reason why I fell in love with this pillow so completely: I can lay on it, shift it around a bit, and it forms itself *perfectly* to my neck and shoulder area and supports me throughout the night (I imagine I must look like one of those cartoons showing "proper sleep alignment"). If I need to turn over, I just shift it again and it reforms to my new position.Read more ›
October 26, 2012
I read about buckwheat hull pillows a long time ago, and always kept half an eye open for them in the bedding section of retail stores. I couldn't figure out why I never found them, and eventually just purchased this one on an impulse.I now understand why they don't exist at target. The box that arrived was three feet tall and weighed about ten pounds! That's not how pillows are supposed to work.The pillow arrives a bit overstuffed. I think you're supposed to open it up and scoop out some of the hulls to be added back in when the pillow eventually starts collapsing. Scooping, storing and remembering a big bag of buckwheat hulls is a tall order, and you're not going to do it. It's okay. More hulls are easy to order online once the included hulls start to lose their elasticity. Scoop out a quarter of the old ones, add in a similar amount of new ones, mix it up and you're set. These pillows are much more upgradable and futureproof than $10 pillows with synthetic filling. From what I've read, it takes a couple years before replacing the hulls is something you have to worry about. One point buckwheat.Sleeping on the pillow is a little bit strange for the first night, but you quickly get used to the texture and sounds that it brings to your bed. It supports you much like a memory foam pillow, but with a more breathable filling that provides nice ventilation. The sound of the hulls is by no means loud, and shouldn't keep anybody up at night. It's a lot like that beanbag chair that you used to fall asleep on as a kid. There's a bit of rustling when you reposition your head, but it's otherwise silent and supportive.My first night sleeping at a hotel after getting this pillow was a little bit disappointing.Read more ›
September 16, 2012
Ok first of all, I don't even know what buckwheat hulls are, nor can I be bothered to Google it. This pillow could be filled with dead cockroaches and I wouldn't care. Its that good.As a chronically depressed single adult, I spend most of my time in bed. Therefore, the value of a good pillow cannot be underestimated.This pillow contours and cradles the head, like the ideal mother's bosom. but without all the guilt and shame.Plus, as an added bonus, its organic! But as I don't intend to eat it, I find that point irrelevant.Normal people, please do not be dissuaded from purchasing this pillow based on its marketing for the "alternative" crowd. Don't let the hippies ruin it for you. They ruin everything.If you want to sleep all night like the lifeless corpse you aspire to be, this is the pillow for you.Just make note that its adjustable -- you can unzip it and remove as many buckwheat hulls as needed to conform perfectly to your oddly shaped head.
June 11, 2013
PROS:
  • Molds according to your desired shape and size
  • Provides a firm support
  • Ideal for side sleepers
  • Can be customized according to the volume you want (simply remove some buckwheat hulls)

CONS:
  • A little pricey at $39.95
  • Comes with a strange smell, although nothing caused by harsh chemicals
  • Can be rather noisy
  • Not ideal for people who prefer a softer and less firm pillow
  • After a single wash, the case may shrink
  • The opening when you need to empty the cover is a tad small

back to menu ↑

Beans72 Japanese Size Organic Buckwheat Pillows

Beans72 Organic Buckwheat Pillow - Japanese Size

Experience sheer comfort during bedtime with Beans72 Organic Buckwheat Pillow – Japanese Size that promotes a restful sleep. This product boasts of a number of outstanding features such as these:

  • US-made product
  • 100 percent cotton fabric for the cover
  • Conforms to the shape of your head, spine, and neck
  • Weighs between 4 and 5 pounds, but can be customized by adding or removing some hulls
  • Supportive and comfortable
  • Product
  • Specification
  • Photos

Beans72 Organic Buckwheat Pillow - Japanese Size (14" x 20")

Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate that you are taking the time to look here. In Japan when we want pillows we go to a pillow maker. Unfortunately for me, while living in this country I found it ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
Product Dimensions

20 x 14 x 4 inches

Shipping Weight

4.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

UPC

885349476224 895794002039 885431389678

Item model number

Japanese Size (14 x 20)

Years ago I was given a buckwheat pillow of the sort that appeared in infomercials. It was as large as a regular pillow but the buckwheat rustled noisily and was not particularly comfortable. Recently I visited Japan and had the opportunity to use authentic Japanese buckwheat pillows that were much higher quality, comfortable, and *quiet.* I searched many websites to find this buckwheat pillow, which is essentially identical to the pillows in Japan and the best value I came across during my search.The chief benefits of buckwheat pillows are good support and excellent breathability. The buckwheat husks in this pillow are small enough to feel smooth and densely packed enough to provide thicker support than feather pillows. The pillow conforms to the shape of your head or can be easily smoothed out by hand to the desired shape. There is no odor.Moisture and heat dissipate very well through the pillow. I did not feel the need to flip the pillow over during the night and I awoke to a dry pillow unlike my experience with feather and polyester-filled pillows. Good riddance to waking up to a clammy pillow.The size is markedly smaller than standard pillows but works well when I position my face near the edge of the pillow. Assuming there are other pillows on your bed to fill the decorative sham(s), the only disadvantage of the size is having to put a pillow case on sideways and folding it over. In Japan, they covered just the top side of the pillow with a cotton cloth that had ties to hold it in place. (Picture an apron with strings on both top and bottom.)The directions call for occasionally washing the pillow covering. This will require emptying the loose buckwheat into some kind of container, which I don't look forward to, but ultimately, will make the pillow a better value than conventional pillows that eventually stain and are never the same after laundering.
January 2, 2007
I have had sleep pain in my neck and shoulders for more than 20 years. I've tried every type of bed. I have an astronaut foam bed now. I have tried every type of special or orthopedic pillow I could find. I have a useless collection of them now.Usually when I get a new pillow I have relief for a night or two, but then the pains come back. I was pretty sure there was just something wrong with me (arthritic deterioration?) and I was going to be living with this pain for the rest of my life. But not having given up hope completely, I recently tried a very well reviewed pillow with a water base that could be filled to suit. But that too turned out to be a disappointment after several nights use, experimenting with water fill levels. I mentioned all this to a friend and he told me about his great experience with buckwheat pillows. He added I should be sure to get one with a zipper and to experiment with the amount of fill to find my own comfort level. I wasn't highly optimistic because I already have a synthetic version claimed to be like a buckwheat pillow but with little soft beads in it. It was a disappointment. (I now recognize these are nothing at all like real buckwheat pillows)But figuring the chance of getting rid of pain was worth one more gamble, I checked what was on Amazon and I read up on the Beans72 product. Reviewers commented on the good quality of the product and reinforced the concept of experimenting with the fill level, also praising that the Beans72 product gives you more buckwheat than you need, so you can take some out and save it for later use if needed. I also noted some people said you don't need more than the Japanese size, their smallest and least expensive. (I later found that to be true for me.) I was convinced enough to try one.Read more ›
May 14, 2012
We've used buckwheat hull pillows for many years, but ours had finally worn out and needed replaced. I ordered two of these pillows from beans72dotcom and could not be more pleased!The outer shell is very high quality: thick, durable muslin fabric with fine stitchwork and a good zipper. It is obvious that these pillows were painstakingly made and will last for many years.The buckwheat hulls also seem to be of high quality: little to no broken pieces, no stems or debris, and nice and clean. Also, the seller offers additional plain buckwheat hulls for sale if/when the hulls compact over time (this is called polishing, it is explained in detail in the flyer that came with the pillows). This shouldn't be necessary for quite awhile, buckwheat hulls are very durable and we have had the mass-marketed and produced pillows we own for almost ten years.These are very comfortable pillows and if you are in the market for a buckwheat hull pillow, I'm sure you will be very satisfied with this purchase.
August 7, 2005
PROS:
  • Cleaned using special formula to eliminate dust and debris
  • Comes with a high quality and unbleached cotton fabric for the cover
  • Promotes moisture and heat reduction
  • Firm quality
  • Odor-free

CONS:
  • Smaller than your regular standard pillows
  • Tedious task involved when washing the cover

How to Choose the Best Buckwheat Pillow?

The best buckwheat pillow can give you a different kind of experience each time you sleep. This type of pillow is quite well-known in most parts of Asia, but now, it is gaining more and more popularity in other parts of the world including the US and the UK. The material used in this pillow is not like what is found in regular pillows that contain feathers or other stuffings. Instead, it comes with buckwheat hulls that give you a similar feeling to what pillows with microbead content offer. These pillows can be molded according to your desired shape, and these offer ample support and comfort at the same time.

If you want a pillow that provides additional support, and you want to minimize stress on your shoulder, back, and neck, then this type of pillow is ideal for you. By simply customizing the shape and volume whenever you remove or add husks, you can achieve your preferred height or size requirements for this pillow.

Importance of Buckwheat Pillows

To give you some more details about this type of pillow, here are key facts you may want to know about it:

  1. Made from Sustainable Materials

These pillows are eco-friendly as these are made from a 100 percent plant material that is all-natural and safe for your health. Buckwheat, for instance, is a crop plant that is commonly found in North America and Asia. In most Asian foods, this material is often used as a cheaper alternative for flour in preparing noodles and similar products. Since the seeds of buckwheat are tough and hard, these components are often used to fill up pillows.

  1. Supportive

For the most parts, you can rely on the support that this type of pillow offers. Unlike standard fluffy pillows, this pillow remains firm and adjusts according to the contours of your spine. So, if you are suffering from painful neck, back, and shoulders, you will find it comfortable to use this pillow each time you sleep.

  1. Breathable

A common quality of buckwheat pillow is its breathability. In fact, these pillows promote excellent air circulation while reducing moisture and heat. So, if you tend to sweat a lot or feel a bit suffocated when you use your fluffy pillows, then it may be worth switching to this type of pillow for a good night’s sleep.

Buying Tips to Consider

Now that you know more about the importance and benefits of this pillow, you may need some guidelines to consider before you purchase this item. There are a few things to think about when shopping for this pillow such as the following:

  1. Know the source.

It is necessary that when shopping for a pillow made of buckwheat, you need to be familiar with the source of hulls used for the filling. Good quality hulls are ideal, and you should go for organic ones that are dust-free and cleaned thoroughly. Otherwise, you may suffer from allergies caused by dust and debris if these elements are not completely removed during the milling and cleaning process.

  1. Make sure there are no mold spores.

The milling process is a crucial part of manufacturing these pillows. You may want to inquire from the supplier if the hulls are 100 percent free from harmful mold spores, which may be found in cheaper quality products. Since hulls are natural by-products of plants, there is a huge chance that these may come with some allergens including mites, dust and mold spores. So, be sure the product you purchase does not have these harmful elements to get a bang for your buck.

  1. Consider the price.

These pillows vary in cost, depending on the size and source of the product. For instance, the price may range from as low as $20 to over $100, and this is due to the hull quantity and size of the pillow. More expensive pillows are usually your best bet, as long as you make sure the hulls are organic and free from harmful elements, and the cover is made of durable and organic cotton fabric.

  1. Check the support and comfort level.

Pillows made from buckwheat are known for their exceptional support and firmness. These are least likely to become flat or to sink throughout your sleep. Hence, your neck and head can maintain a neutral and comfortable position. In case you want to customize the overall feel of the pillow, it is best to buy one that comes with a zipper for easy removal or adding of hulls. By doing so, you can attain the right firmness level that will impact your comfort when you use the pillow.

Generally, these pillows can be easily molded and contoured according to your desired shape, height and size. This is important when you want to ensure ample support, so you can get a relaxing sleep. Just remember that there are some issues that may come along, which are not usually present with standard pillows such as the noise of the husk each time it is compressed. The good thing, though, is that the sound decreases and even goes away in time once the hulls are compacted.

In the end, you can expect more comfort and support from these pillows even if there are some slight limitations including the noise and heaviness. The fact that your neck and head are properly supported, and that the pillow promotes air circulation are all factors that contribute to an amazing sleep.

Competition — Which One Is the Best among the Products Reviewed?

While all the five products presented in this review are quite spectacular as they offer interesting features and benefits to users, one item outshines the others. Considering the price, more features, positive feedback from users and overall customer satisfaction, the Beans72 Japanese Size Organic Buckwheat Pillows is the best among the rest. This product is 100 percent US-made, and it comes with organic buckwheat, top quality organic cotton fabric cover, and free from harsh chemicals or odor. For a reasonable price, you will love the fact that you can enjoy every single moment in bed with a supportive, comfortable and great quality buckwheat pillow all night long.

Sources:

Amazon.com

ConsumerReports.org

Wikipedia.org

 

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password