Top 10 Best Futon Mattresses — An Honest Review & Buyers’ Guide 2017

While there are a few top contenders in the futon mattresses field, it’s important to research your options to avoid an unsatisfactory purchase. A happy customer is a smart customer. But with so many choices on the market, you may find yourself in a riddle trying to negotiate between a budget futon mattress and one that offers value for money. Fortunately, we are here to help you by reviewing the best futon mattresses and displaying the strengths and weaknesses for all to see. After reading this article, you will be able to find exactly what you are after, and above all, get your money worth when time comes to order.

DHP Emily Convertible Linen Futon (4.1 stars)

DHP Emily Convertible Linen Futon, Gray

Chic and elegant with its smoothed edges, tufting and chrome legs, DHP’s Emily linen futon has a contemporary look that is fitting in most rooms. The sofa-bed is as versatile as they come. It quickly adjusts from sitting to lounging and sleeping positions for convenience. Additionally, it is furnished in an eye-catching gray or navy profile and is considered the top of the DHP line due to its unique feel. The cushions are of substantial density and remain firm regardless of weight or use. In short, the sleek appeal and modern design of the Emily Convertible linen place it as a top-of-the-line futon mattresses contender in 2017.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 34 x 71 x 32 inches
  • Product
  • Photos

DHP Emily Convertible Linen Futon, Gray

Sleek and stylish with its rounded edges, tufting and chrome legs. DHP's Emily Convertible Futon has a modern look that is fitting for most rooms. The sofa easily adjusts from sitting, to lounging to ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I'm torn between 3-4 stars. As far as looks go, its a 5 star product. It seems its somewhere between Ultra and Mid-century modern. The color as others have stated isn't a bright Apple store white, but in fact more of an off, vanilla. With that said this futon is 4 feet away from a stark bright white desk but neither piece looks out of place, also incandescent lighting will cast enough of a warm light on the room that they almost become the same color. From an assembly standpoint I'd say its a 3 or a 4 depending upon when it comes time to flip it right side up. The 2 halves are tied together via a standard hinge and flipping it over by yourself can be a chore as there is so much flex it seems as if its going to break. 2 people flipping at the same time solves the issue but it can be done by yourself as well, you just can't toss it on its feet is all I'm saying. The feet, while metal, are a VERY thin gauge tubing. I can understand as other people have said the legs have snapped at the welds why. To avoid that try not to do the typical sitting adjustment where you just suddenly thrust or scoot your body to change sitting position, I'd imagine that is what puts the lateral torque that causes welds to break, sideways. Just a thicker gauge metal would resolve any worries. Not really sure how it could be reinforced other than the owner adding wood feet in other places, but that will bring me to my next point. So far I think I'm 3-4 weeks in to ownership, and while there is no sagging to the FRAME as of yet, I can see where there is a possibility for it with long term use.Read more ›
June 5, 2015
After all the rave reviews I went ahead and ordered this product. I am extremely disappointed.Maybe my product came defective, I sat on it once and I weigh 125 and in the middle it has started to sink in (in the middle) and is very uncomfortable now. I set this up maybe two weeks ago now and it is already giving me issues. Also the futon is not even, one is higher than the other. In addition you can feel the metal in between. I would not recommend. See pictures.
November 24, 2014
I purchased this and was a little worried because of some reviews I read but I'm glad I did! It's was easy to put together and I love it !! Great color and great price !!
April 14, 2015
PROS:
  • Can easily be paired with Emily chaise lounger for a queen sized sleeping size.

CONS:
  • Its metal legs are not sturdy enough to withstand prolonged use

back to menu ↑

Serta Cypress Cotton Futon Mattress (4.4 stars)

Serta Cypress Duct Cotton Queen Futon Mattress, Natural

The Serta Cypress cotton futon mattress is in the middle range of the brand’s line-up, but on the luxury end of the mattress field in regards to price. It has excellent reviews on the Amazon website with 4.4 out of 5 stars from over 120 reviewers. Its key differentiating factors include a 4-inch spring unit for more bounce and two 1 inch foam pieces surrounding the spring unit for flexible body support. With regards to construction, it boasts cottonique material which combines selected grades of cotton and polyester fibers for a durable planetary that outperforms many other futon mattresses on the market.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 80 x 60 x 8 inches and is queen-sized.
  • Product
  • Photos

Serta Cypress Duct Cotton Queen Futon Mattress, Khaki

Wolf Corporation is the oldest Serta licensee, proud to say we are the sole manufacturer of Serta Futon Mattresses! Serta Futon Mattresses feature Cottonique. Cottonique combines selected grades of ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
My Serta Cypress Duct Cotton Futon Mattress came-in today (July 2, 2013). It was folded in half from left to right then rolled up & compressed by two layers of thick plastic. The mattress was to replace a thinner uncomfortable foam mattress that came with my cheap Walmart futon. The Serta Cypress mattress fit the frame perfectly and WOW what a difference in comfort! Like night and day. Now I have a very comfortable cheap couch and a very comfortable spare bed. The Serta Cypress futon mattress is listed as being 8 inches thick, but it's actually not more than 7 inches thick by tape measure. I had purchased mine used, but the mattress arrived brand new with a couple of small smudges where the plastic wrap had torn a little exposing the mattress just a bit. The mattress being new didn't give off any off-gases (surprisingly) as I'm sensitive to such things. I didn't have to open a window, didn't have any problem at all, no odor at all within a day. I took a photo of this mattress and uploaded it to Amazon for anyone interested. NOTE: My futon frame has two support brackets on the bottom (shown in photo) that completely stop the mattress from sliding out of position! I'd recommend such brackets if the mattress is to be used folded or as a couch. It was not difficult for me to drop the mattress in place on my futon frame with these brackets holding the front of the mattress from sliding. I'm pretty sure aftermarket brackets are available - made for the same purpose - if brackets didn't come with your particular futon frame.
July 2, 2013
I simply love this mattress. The ONLY down side, if you can honestly call it that, is I purchased this mattress to go on my new Bi-fold Hardwood Futon Frame.... and unfortunately, the mattress will not fold when I attempt to set the futon up as a couch.If the mattress wasn't so comfortable I would be upset ... but how can I? I enjoy sleeping on it too much.
February 2, 2013
Great mattess! Far exceeded my expectations and my guests were well please and quite refreshed after sleeping on it. They spent a week amd had no complaints, in fact they were refreshed after a good night's sleep. An excellent choice!
January 2, 2015
PROS:
  • It is covered in a khaki duck fabric
  • Has a foam, fiber top and bottom cover

CONS:
  • It is pretty stiff and does not fold up easily to form a couch, but with a little work it can be folded.

back to menu ↑

DHP Premium Futon Mattress (4.1 stars)

DHP 8-Inch Independently-Encased Coil Premium Futon Mattress, Full Size, Black

 

This full microfiber futon mattress is the definition of affordable pricing, extreme convenience, and outstanding performance. It has 522 independently encased coils that provide the needed support plus quality foam and polyester layering between the cover and the coil for optimum comfort. Available in black, brown and chocolate, DHP mattress is guaranteed to provide a slumber you never imagined was feasible on any futon mattress. It rates pretty well in regards to durability, even for people who are heavy, and can fit any standard full futon frame.

Other Specifications:

  • Measures 75 x 54 x 8 inches
  • Product
  • Photos

DHP 8-Inch Independently-Encased Coil Premium Futon Mattress, Full Size, Black

This 8" Full-size, microfiber futon mattress provides comfort and support with its 522 independently-encased coils. It is the perfect complement to any futon, and will provide a dreamy slumber that ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I would definitely recommend this mattress to any budget conscious buyer looking for just a basic mattress for themselves or a guest bed. Please see the pictures for the details. I have taken pictures of the whole process. First you have to carry what looks like a blue body bag into your house. Next, you shimmy the bag down the outside of the mattress. There is no need to cut the bag off, it comes off just fine with a little patience. I decided to go with the "stand the bag up, bear hug and squat technique" but do whatever works for you. Inside of the bag you will find a plastic wrapped rolled-up mattress inside of an outer plastic sleeve. It is okay to cut this off without fear. The magic doesn't happen until you reach the next layer of plastic. I cut the end off and then slid the scissors down the bag until it opened. DO NOT CUT THE PLASTIC UNDERNEATH!! Next you will come to the rolled-up mattress itself. It should be secured with three pieces of clear tape that hole the roll together. Cut the three pieces of tape. As you cut, you will hear a pop as the mattress is released from the pressure of the roll. You will only need to barely cut the tape pieces and the mattress will do the rest. Then you unroll the mattress where you want it to be. If you are using this for a futon, then it would be best to open the futon to the flat bed formation before you do this. Trust me it will be a pain to move the mattress later, it's pretty heavy.Okay, now here comes the fun part. Once the mattress is in place, position your cut on the side seam so that the mattress can expand fully and you can get out of the way after you cut it open quickly.Read more ›
July 22, 2015
The Ameriwood Eight Inch Independently-Encased Coil Premium Futon Mattress is a mattress with a long name and a relatively small price. As may be expected by the name, it is a futon mattress, and as such can be folded and used as a futon sofa, or left flat and used like any other mattress. As a bed, it will easily fill out a full size sheet set and can be used on a bed frame or by itself on the floor.I spent months sleeping on a pretty pricy air mattress before it (predictably) sprang a leak. I didn't want another air mattress, but I couldn't afford much with a college student's budget. After spending a few hours online reading through pages of overwhelmingly positive reviews, I settled on the Ameriwood Eight Inch Independently-Encased Coil Premium Futon Mattress and hoped that I had made the right decision. It arrived about a week later, compressed and rolled up.While the mattress was quite heavy, I managed to get it into my room without help. After getting the mattress where I wanted it, I carefully cut off the plastic and stepped back as the mattress unrolled itself and inflated. It was quite entertaining to watch, and certainly made up for all the effort I'd spent getting it into my room! The instructions did recommend giving the mattress a few hours to fully expand and give the coils a break from being compressed for so long, but after the mattress had had a little while to sit, it was ready for use.This is a wonderful mattress. Since I use mine as a bed, I have sheets on it, but the microfiber cover is very soft and probably wouldn't need sheets if it was going to be used exclusively as a sofa. The mattress is unbelievably comfortable and very supportive.Read more ›
October 14, 2011
This is a great futon mattress- HOWEVER, I ordered 2 and one of them had a very bad smell to it. I am not 'ultra sensitive' and can deal with some 'new furniture' smell for a few days, but this was the worst I had ever experienced. It gave me headaches and I tried leaving windows open to let it ventilate, closed to let it get warm and have the gasses escape, you name it- I tried it all. After a few weeks, the smell was just as horrid. I read about 'outgassing' and the dangers it can have on your health so I contacted amazon and sent back the mattress that smelled because I figured it was defective and it wouldn't make sense that one mattress didn't have a smell, and the other I couldn't even sit on because it was so bad (the smell even rubbed off on my clothes, blankets, anything I put on the mattress). I ordered another one to replace it and it did NOT have a smell. It smelled slightly for a few days and the smell went away completely. So if you happen to get one that is very stinky- perhaps there was a manufacturing defect. I suggest you send it back and try ordering another. By the way- Amazon customer service is amazing. Seriously, I couldn't believe they would take back such a large item. They have a special department that handles oversized returns. Thank you Amazon for your customer service!!
January 28, 2013
PROS:
  • It can be folded and used as a futon sofa or left on the floor and used as a futon mattress

CONS:
  • It is not washable. You will have to purchase a separate cover for it.

back to menu ↑

Serta Willow Duct Full Futon Mattress (4.0 stars)

Serta Willow Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress, Khaki

The Serta willow duct mattress is rated 4.0 out of 5 in customer satisfaction according to Amazon. This is the top of Serta’s line and is rated as unique, durable and resilient. Instead of a foam replacement pad, it is comprised of a wolf’s cotton poly bonded pad. Also, it has two more layers of finger foam, a layer of polyurethane and a layer of Visco foam for extra comfort and convenience. Aside from that, it has an elegant 9-inch profile with a beautiful box border construction for a more tailored look. All things under perspective, the Serta Willow cotton full futon is the leading contender in the futon mattresses field.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 75 x 53 x 9 inches
  • Product
  • Photos

Serta Willow Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress, Black

Wolf Corporation is the oldest Serta licensee, proud to say we are the sole manufacturer of Serta Futon Mattresses! Serta Futon Mattresses feature Cottonique. Cottonique combines selected grades of ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
This is not a $1000 futon mattress. But it is the next best thing and you will love it. We are very pleased. Fantastic. Now read on for some help on how to live with a futon.Two suggestions:1. Dear Manufacturer, Wolf Corp: Could you please add a little note in the package explaining to those who have no clue how to prepare a futon for use and also how to revive and thicken a futon mattress that has been folded or rolled up so everyone knows how to really enjoy this great product? I explain it in suggestion 2.2. When you get a new futon you can use a very easy and quick technique to plump it full of air to perfection. It's best to use two people for this but one can manage. One person on each end, quickly bend down and pick up the futon to waist heighth and let go. As it fall it fills with air and voila, brand new mattress. With one person pick up one half and drop, then do the other side, and repeat this process two or three times. That's it. We did this to this new mattress and it fluffed up to 10 inch thickness. Every other month or so you can pick up and drop the futon this way to plump it. The futon lasts for many, many years if you do this because this process releases and resets tensions on fabric and materials.
March 26, 2013
We bought this for our guest room futon, and I think my guests are sleeping more soundly than then rest of us. This is quite comfortable due to the memory foam, but also very supportive. It is just as thick as many traditional mattresses, so this does not feel or look like a "cheap" spare bed. My son slept on it for a couple weeks when we first got it and like it better than his regular mattress. I would highly recommend. Plus, with Amazon Prime free shipping, what a bargain!
February 4, 2013
This mattress is very comfortable and I have a bad back. As noted in other posts, you'll need to fluff it to get it to open to full height before using; occasionally over time there may be need to re-fluff. Place on the floor, lift up the mattress and drop it. It works best with 2 people, but I did this by myself and it worked fine, instead of lifting the mattress completely, you do one side at a time.
July 12, 2013
PROS:
  • It is incredibly thick and comfortable; you can’t tell it is a futon mattress.
  • It is very affordable

CONS:
  • It is a little heavy

back to menu ↑

D&D Futon Furniture Japanese Futon Mattresses (4.5 stars)

D&D Futon Furniture Traditional Japanese Floor Futon Mattresses, Foldable, Black

D&D floor futon mattress is a traditional Japanese mattress made of cotton batting, a layer of polyester fiber and a layer of foam. It can be rolled up to be kept in a safe and convenient place so it can be rolled out on the floor when you want to sleep. This makes it an efficient mattress in terms of convenience and storage for small rooms especially when you have visitors. What’s even more intriguing is the fact that it can be the perfect companion in picnics or when playing games outdoors. It is also ideal for use in guest rooms, living room, exercise rooms, patios, dormitories, mobile houses and massage studios.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 80 x 30 x 3 inches
  • Product

D&D Futon Furniture Traditional Japanese Floor Futon Mattresses, Foldable, Black

This traditional Japanese futon mattress is made of cotton batting and able to be rolled up to keep in closet and rolled out right on the floor to sleep on. This makes for an efficient use of living ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I bought the queen size version of this exact futon on eBay for $125. Amazon did not offer bigger sizes. I wanted more room for me to sleep and if I had company over they could share it with me. It fits two people very well. These are the dimensions to the futon I bought 3" thick x 60" wide x 80" long.My sister lives in Japan so she gave me advice on what kind of futon to get and this is the one I picked.PROSPECTIVE BUYERS:-These are very comfortable. This is so close to a bed I can't feel the difference.-Skip the inflatables, cots, and what-nots. You don't have to worry about pumps and punctures.-I highly recommend them for ANY usage (everyday, when company is over, college, camping trips etc.)-Easy to store and transport. Just roll it up and bam! done. You can carry it alone.-I tested my futon on carpet and on hard floors. It's just as comfortable either way.-A lot cleaner than beds.-It's really affordable and you will have it for a long time.CONCERNS I HAD BEFORE I MADE MY PURCHASE:-I didn't think it would be comfortable:**It's very comfortable and the closest I could get to a real bed.-I thought the material inside would be saggy and it would be like sleeping on the floor or a sleeping bag:**The padding keeps its thickness and doesn't sag at all. It is very supportive and plush.-I was concerned about the toxic chemical smell some reviewers mentioned:**My futon did not have a toxic smell. It has a very light woodsy scent due to the cotton. It goes away and you can just air it out if it really bothers you.-I wanted it to be authentic:**The style is authentic and it's traditional. But they obviously aren't made in Japan or shipped from Japan.Read more ›
February 4, 2012
I bought this futon with the intention of sleeping on it every night and being able to roll it up at night. I'm 6'2 and I sleep on it perfectly fine without my head or feet dangling off of the thing! The other reviews are correct in the sense that when you first open it, it does have a factory-plastic scent, but it dissipated after a few days. I didn't think it would, but it did. For whatever reason, I sleep better on this futon than I did on my mattress so I give it 5 stars. If you need a mattress that's easily foldable/rollable, this is it!
November 25, 2012
A lot of the other reviews comment on the smell. It is true there is a smell from it, but it is the smell of the cotton batting--an earthy, organic smell that I find slightly pleasant. When you unzip it and look inside, the cotton batting is minimally processed, which in my opinion is a bonus. Once a put a sheet on it, you couldn't even smell it.The main reason I'm writing this is I don't want people to miss out on a great mattress because they are afraid of what it might smell like. Me and my cat absolutely love it.
November 10, 2011
PROS:
  • It is very comfortable, the inside padding keeps it thickness and prevents sagging

CONS:
  • Upon opening it, the size will be shorter for a while, but after use its original size will be regained.

back to menu ↑

OctoRose Full Size Bonded Classic Soft Micro Suede Futon Sofa Bed Cover (4.3 stars)

OctoRose Full Size Bonded Classic Soft Micro Suede Futon Mattress Sofa Bed Cover (Black)

Also in the upper range category, the OctoRose sofa bed earns good reviews, with an average of 4.3 out of 5 stars from over 130 reviewers. This model has a bonded microsuede futon cover which is stitched for sturdiness, so you don’t have to replace covers regularly. And even though it is resilient, you can feel the softness of the material. For ease of use, the futon cover has a three-sided heavy duty zipper which is not only durable but sturdy.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 14 x 12 x 2.5 inches and can fit a 6-8 inch thick futon mattress
  • Product
  • Photos

OctoRose Full Size Bonded Classic Soft Micro Suede Futon Mattress Sofa Bed...

The softness of our elegant bonded micro-suede set will make every trip to the futon a wonderful experience.

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
One thing I kept noticing when reading reviews is that no one actually post the dimensions of their mattress. Apparently not all "Full" sized mattresses are the same. So I measured mine. It is 75" x 51" x 7.5"(thick). I immediately washed the cover when I pulled it out of the bag. I read many people state that it needs to be washed so it does not bleed. I washed it in cold on regular cycle, then tumbled dried on delicate heat. It sat in the dryer overnight. I was amazed to see that it had zero wrinkles when I pulled it out.No damage was suffered in the wash and the cover came out extremely soft. I left my old cover on since I did not want to deal with the messy mattress inside. The thickness was right on the money. The width I had to force the mattress to tuck in a bit, but no biggie. You just need to use some muscle to get it tucked in. Once the cover is on, it stretches to the size of the mattress.This futon serves as a couch in my workshop. It appears that it will hold up well to my 7 year old also.When putting the cover in, I can see it would be much easier to do with 2 people, especially if your a smaller woman. If doing it by yourself, you'll have to man handle it a bit to get it on. My mattress is a good 45 pounds of dead weight.EDIT: It's now May 4th 2016. This cover is still holding up well. Someone threw up on it and I had to wash it. No problem. It held out well in the washer and dryer. No fading or wrinkles at all.
March 15, 2016
I bought the cover to go on a full sized futon, (Serta Futon, 8" Spring Comfort Futon) and it fits just fine. The cover is not overly loose or baggy nor is it a very skin tight fit, see pictures. It has nice rounded corners, and the zipper and seams, are fine. When zipped up - the zipper tucks into a an area, so you don't see the zipper foot - see picture. Remember when you look at pictures, this futon is wedged into a van and isn't perfectly flat. The wrinkles in photo come from wedging the futon into a space that's not quite wide enough near rear wheel wells. I don't have a futon frame, so can't tell you how it would look folded in half. I like the brushed suede feel and look. Lint and other clingers brush off easily, which was what I was looking for - a material that would clean up easily. Seems like good quality material, for what I am using it for. I ordered the olive green color and it looks about the same as the online photo. I had no trouble putting it on the futon by myself. Now moving the futon mattress was a different story. We put this on the futon, and put the futon (flat) in the back of a Ford Transit Connect Cargo Van on a plywood platform for camping/road trips. If I am able to update this review I will let you know how the cover/zipper/seams held up to the abuse of climbing onto the futon, and moving it in and out of the van. So far so good.
February 14, 2015
I purchased this to replace a previous futon cover that barely survived a few changes/washes.This micro-suede unit is great because:+ Solid stitching+ Reasonable price+ Acceptable zipper+ Thick material+ Larger size with some slack for a standard futonThe *previous* cover that came with my futon barely survived 3-4 washings before the zipper pulled from the fabric and the stitchings were coming out. The problems were partially attributable to the fact that the old cover was a tight fit - this caused a lot of stress on the cover.This unit has survived the last month very well and was much easier to put on my futon.
May 23, 2011
PROS:
  • It has solid stitching, thick material, quality zipper and is priced reasonably

CONS:
  • Its color is not durable

back to menu ↑

DHP Aria Futon (4.2 stars)

DHP Aria Futon, White

Sturdy, durable and stylish, DHP’s aria sofa bed is an ideal choice for anyone looking for a small, elegant futon that can fit in a tiny space. It has tufted, faux leather upholstery with detail stitching for class and sophistication. And since it is a sofa bed, it converts easily to sleeping, sitting and lounge positions. With regards to cleanliness, cleaning the DHP sofa bed is a breeze. You only have to wipe it down with a piece of damp cloth. Overall, it is a sleek, modern choice and can fit with most room decors.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 69 x 32 x 29 inches
  • Product
  • Photos

DHP Aria Futon, White

Sturdy, durable and chic, DHP's Aria Futon Sofa bed is a perfect choice looking for a small futon to fit in tight spaces. The Aria futon has faux leather upholstery that is easy to clean with only a ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
this futon was a beautiful addition to my space. It's not that soft but it works perfectly for my tiny 1 bedroom apartment. For more pictures, follow me on IG @ hunni_i_slayy or my facebook it's open to the public @ Tanija Cockerham hope this review helped someone
April 1, 2015
I will try to give a good unbiased review on this as personal tastes vary.It is a cute and stylish futon. It will not sag overtime nor require constant adjusting of the pad. It has been designed in such a way that there are two halves of a mattress that hinge in the middle on the topside. This is great if you are used to the old style futons.The faux white leather is wonderful. It looks real and feels fine. No plastic feel to it at all. It is a bright white color. The buttons and trim work are also well done. It seems that it will hold up for a while. Hopefully deep lines and crack won't develop over time. There was not a great set of care instructions included. But it is so easy to clean with a damp cloth.The frame is sturdy. There are 4 legs on each corner that you have to screw on to assemble. That's all there is to it. It was that easy. The legs are a lighter than the photo color. They are more of an antique white to slight yellow tone. Even in a darkened room the legs look lighter than in the stock photo so be aware of that. They are also made of a hard plastic with simulated wood grain texture. I may upgrade the legs to real wood in the future. Or maybe these 8" legs would replace the 7.5" ones that it comes with. http://www.amazon.com/Choice-Parts-Tapered-Pyramid-Replacement/dp/B00L2XO7IA/ref=sr_1_2?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1424393415&sr=1-2&keywords=wood+screw+on+legsIt does sit a little low and it is a bit undersized to replace a full size sofa. So be aware that it may not be as big as you would like. However if this is going in your kids playroom, they will love it. Or if you are fitting it into a smaller area or live in an apartment you may also love the size.A 6'0" person can lay on it.Read more ›
February 19, 2015
Even with the positive reviews, I am pleasantly surprised at how much we like this piece. It works just as it should, is easy to assemble and transform from sofa to bed, and looks great in our small-ish apartment living room. We purchased it as a space-saver, especially for guests to sleep on, and I think it will work out perfectly for this purpose.Notes: The legs are a bit lighter in color than expected (not important to us). The one note that I will make is that this is definitely NOT microfiber, (it says "microfiber" right on the box it was shipped in), but a very soft faux leather. As it turns out, this was a very nice surprise for us, but it wouldn't have been so nice if it had happened the other way around. This is easy to clean and is very soft, so no complaints here.As for the size, it is true to the dimensions listed. This is definitely not a full-size sofa, and is a bit low to sit on -- but just a bit. My husband is 6' and I am 5'10", and we are both comfortable on this (though we don't mind a foot or hand hanging here or there, so take note). Overall, this is a great piece for the money and I would absolutely purchase it again.
July 14, 2014
PROS:
  • It has sturdy wooden legs that can fit in small spaces

CONS:
  • Even in a dark room, its yellow legs are quite lighter than the stock

back to menu ↑

Lifestyle Covers Black Full Size Futon Cover (4.1 stars)

Lifestyle Covers Black Full Size Futon Cover

With over 1000 customers agreeing that the lifestyle futon cover is a 5-star product, we are definitely not alone. This futon mattress cover has an excellent style that is finely crafted to accent any room. Additionally, it is perfectly designed to fit any standard full-size futon mattress. With regards to convenience, it can comfortably be used as it has a quick zipper removal design which can be easily hidden when covering Lifestyle Covers Black Full Size Futon Cover.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 75 x 54 x 7 inches
  • Product

Lifestyle Covers Black Full Size Futon Cover

Black Futon Cover

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I wanted a cover for my futon. I wanted it to be black. I ordered this. Its a black futon cover. People that complain its a little rough/stiff..thats how its supposed to be just like a sofa. if you want to use it as a bed, you put a sheet on it, like a bed.
May 31, 2012
This futon cover was just as I expected-the fabric is twill and serves as a functional decorative cover. It washes and dries perfectly and after 2 full months of use has been vacuumed, washed, spilt upon, etc. Absolutely no complaints.
February 10, 2012
I purchased this cover for my Ikea beddinge Lovas futon. If you own the same futon most likely you noticed that ikea doesn't have the cover anymore. At least the ikea I went to don't have it. Since I needed a new cover, I wanted something not so heavy and easy to wash. This is great for me. The fabric feels like any other cotton/polyester bed sheet, al little thicker maybe. I bought the burgundy one and I am happy with the color. At first I thought it wouldn't fit the mattress, but it's a very tight fit. This is great because it seems like it came with the futon. The slip covers the whole mattress, so if you own the same ikea product you know their mattress cones with velcro to hold it in place with the frame and avoid slipping. In order to avoid it to slip, I just placed one of those anti-slips that are sold for area rugs. I just happened to own one already. You can purchase one on amazon or any store like target.***Notice that this doesn't come with pillows/pillowcases***
April 18, 2014
PROS:
  • It is washable and can last for up to five years without losing color

CONS:
  • It is not soft, and as such is ideal for use in a couch rather than a bed

back to menu ↑

Serta Chestnut Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress (4.0 stars)

Serta Chestnut Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress, Khaki

This chestnut duct cotton full futon mattress from the Serta collection is another great recommendation for anyone in search of a fanciful lace tufted mattress at an affordable price. Serta Chestnut Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress features high-quality foam and cotton futon plus a layer of polyester fiber for a unique, long-lasting upholstery that outperforms traditional cotton batting. The mattress is surrounded by two 2 inch foam core and wolf cotton blend in an 8-inch profile. Inclusively, it is one of the best futon mattresses you will come across.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 75 x 53 x 8 inches
  • Product
  • Photos

Serta Chestnut Duct Cotton Full Futon Mattress, Khaki

Wolf Corporation has been creating Sweet Dreams since 1873! We are the oldest mattress manufacturer in the USA under continuous family ownership. In addition, Wolf Corporation is the oldest Serta ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I have two futon mattress one with a spring core and this one (foam core) Bottom line: spring core is better for sleeping on, foam core is much better for sitting on. I sit on mine more so prefer this. I hope this helps.
April 2, 2015
I gave up on normal mattresses years ago, I saw how some traditional japanese homes just have a futon(known as a Shikibuton) that they pull out of the closet and lay on the floor for bedtime. So I went and got this!It's definitely been great for my back, and I can roll it up in case I need more room for exercise or if I need to vacuum underneath it. I'm not short on space in my room, but if I was, it would be great to have this and roll it up to make room for furniture I'd need during awake hours.My only complaint about this particular mattress. The ties that tie the two sides of the mattress together become undone fairly easily and fall out, nothing major, but it is something.Other than that, it fits a standard queen size sheet set, and it folds up pretty easily.
April 17, 2013
I've slept on futons for over 30 years, all on a cherry wood slat futon frame which I built and stained, with two storage drawers which slide out. The frame is designed as a bed only so the futon is never folded to make a couch. My specs: must be firm futon, queen sized sheets must fit well (regular queen, not the ones w. deep pockets) and must go harmoniously with a 4" featherbed atop my futon, a sort of "East meets West" solution which has served me well. I am a side sleeper.This futon mattress made by Wolf Corp for Serta fit all my specs. I did allow the mattress to "relax" for over 3 days. Nice and plump about 7" high and full to each corner - a true 60x80 inch Queen futon. The sturdy cotton khaki cover is an appealing light neutral shade. Queen sheets fit perfectly - over both the futon and featherbed.The support is absolutely wonderful, better than any other futon I have used in over 30 years. I cannot feel the slats beneath- would never know they are there. The support is consistent at the middle, ends, and sides- no valleys, ridges or lumps. Great night's sleep from the very first night. I do like to read in bed propped up on large pillows and there are many comfy positions using this futon. It's met all my expectations.My cats like it too. They want me to tell you they endorse it unconditionally.This Serta Futon is extremely comfortable, supportive and breathable. If you like a firm futon this is a great pick.
August 23, 2014
PROS:
  • It has a box border construction for an attractive designer look

CONS:
  • It needs a cover as it has a rather unfurnished look

back to menu ↑

Brand New Real Denim Jean Full Size Futon Mattress Cover (4.3 stars)

Brand New Real Denim Jean Full Size Futon Mattress Cover, Thick and Durable Dark Blue Denim.

The real denim jean futon mattress cover is a work of art and has been chosen over covers that cost $100 plus numerous times. The team behind this innovation has taken their time to develop a thicker, more durable futon cover that can not only fit on full-size futon mattresses but is easily washable as well. Its real denim jean profile makes it a leading contender in the durability field. Even when under maximum use, it can still withstand the test of time. For convenience, it is zippered on three sides to make it easy when covering a mattress or taking it off.

Other Specifications:

  • It measures 75 by 54 by 8 inches
  • Product

Brand New Real Denim Jean Full Size Futon Mattress Cover, Thick and...

Are you looking for a thicker and more durable futon cover? It ought to be this real denim full size futon cover, the material is a strong one like your jeans. For sure, this material will last ...

Available: In stock
Buy this item
amazon.com
I was looking for a good, but cheap replacement for my old futon. It needed to be able to stand up to dogs, as I have 2. The installation of it was easy and only took myself about 5 minutes to get on. It fits on nicely just by opening it up completely, put the futon in it and then zip it up. It looks great (just like the pic which is always nice) and is easy to clean. I usually have to vacuum it about every 2 weeks, depending on the season, only because my dogs love it and sleep on it every day now.I would recommend this, especially if you have pets or kids and are worried about wear and tear. It holds up great.
March 18, 2012
Zippered on three sides so very easy to take off and put on. Well-made and durable.CAUTION: Wash this cover as soon as it is delivered! It was sitting against a wall, which resulted in blue marks on the wall from color transfer. No problem after washed and dried (the cover, that is!).
April 2, 2013
This is a beautiful cover, nice, thick denim (not the cheap wannabe denim you so often find in covers). It zips on three sides, so it's easy to put on and take off. It fit perfectly to the dimmensions it described. I highly recommend it this product.
February 14, 2012
PROS:
  • Its dark denim color perfectly complements most room decors

CONS:
  • It wrinkles a bit after washing

How to Choose the Best Mattress?

For something that you’re going to sleep on a third of your everyday life, you want something that’s not only durable but high quality. There are so many mattress types and sizes, so you should be fully primed before you go shopping. Here is a guide to help you navigate the buying stage with confidence.

  1. Consider Support

Support is undoubtedly the first thing one should consider when buying a mattress. Here, you can choose from four popular types — latex, foam, innerspring and air-filled.

  • A foam mattress doesn’t sink beyond the topmost layer when you are sleeping or sitting on it. The best foam mattress has a thickness of 4-6 inches and an equally high density of 5 pounds per cubic feet.
  • Air-filled mattresses are made of vinyl or rubber and filled with air. The top surface is similar to that of innerspring and has a remote which lets you control the amount of air inside depending on the number of people sleeping on it.
  • A latex mattress is similar to foam models regarding density but is a bit springier. They are generally resistant to a wide variety of forces and as such are a pricey but durable option.
  • Innerspring mattresses have a beautiful bouncy feel. They are typically made of fiber or foam outer layer.
  1. Consider How You Sleep

Beyond the construction, there are other factors that you will come into place. They include:

  • If you sleep on your side, you may want to look for a mattress with the ability to distribute your body weight while conforming to your shape. A foam mattress will serve this purpose perfectly.
  • If you sleep on your back often, you need to look for something that is firm but has some give to protect your spine. Any mattress will do, but choosing one which gives you the most comfort should be your priority.
  • If you sleep on your stomach, you’ll want a surface which is not so firm. An innerspring or air-filled mattress will do.
  • If you are allergic to dust mites and mold, you should consider purchasing foam or latex as they are dust and mold resistant. Innerspring and air-filled mattresses can be encased in allergen-resistant covers in case you want to buy them.

Why Choose Futon Mattresses?

  • Interchangeability: Futon mattresses break down into three separate parts: the frame, the mattress, and the cover. You can always customize them to meet your needs. Also, the covers are particularly easy to change by simply unzipping to unravel a whole new look.
  • Comfort: Erase the image of a paper thin mattress. Modern futon mattresses are made of compressed layers of organic cotton, latex, and wool. For this reason, futon mattresses can last between 10 to 15 years.
  • Versatility: Futon mattresses are very easy to take apart and reassemble. They can double up as a mattress and a sofa for when guests visit. Additionally, futon mattresses are very light and can be comfortably moved around.
  • Price: Unlike other mattresses that cost up to $1000, futon mattresses are generally a great bargain in terms of the comfort they offer. With futon mattresses, you can hardly ever notice that you are sleeping on a cheap mattress. Although not as durable as the others, they can last up to 8 years.

Which One Is the Best Among All Futon Mattresses?

After all the searching, our review was able to identify the ten best futon mattresses that satisfied the expectations of most customers. As expected, the ten are great, but we have to determine a favorite. Our search identified the Serta Willow Duct cotton full futon mattress as the top choice. Its key differentiating factors are quality, durability, and support. It is incredibly thick and comfortable than most other futon mattresses. Best of all, it folds nicely and stays in place in couch mode. You won’t ever go wrong with it; the mattress is excellent, the reviews are superb and the price is great.

Sources:

Ebay.com

Amazon.com

Pinterest.com

Search
Register New Account
Reset Password